The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: October 08 Parents # 51

Fabulous
Sarah- so good to hear from you. original.gif

Bec- hopefully Ethan is over the worst of it.

Mel- I would love to live in the inner city but DH's work is unfortunately 70km south of the CBD. If we were in the inner city we would probably have to get a 3 story terrace style place so as to get enough room. I can't imagine living in 3 storeys though and it would cost a bomb.

Curry mmm.

We had DS's highschool interview today and we had to sign all of these 3-way agreements. I have to provide DS with nutritional meals, shelter etc ohmy.gif and DS has to wear school uniform and behave himself at school and so forth and the school has to provide him with a good education etc. We also had to sign all of these forms agreeing not to bring mobiles, ipods and the likes into school into the school. It's a public school.
bec8112
Ethan is still miserable and he did not eat any dinner and feel asleep in my arms at 5.50pm after his shower! Hopefully a long sleep will help!

Mmmmmm curry! I want some now. Curry sausages sound yummy, would love the recipe too.

Mel - yeah Dave always gets the sniffles when Ethan gets sick, I am usually pretty good which is lucky. Our local chemist sells Moo Goo products, I will have to check it out.

Nat - I am so jealous of your daytime movie with Paul!

Hi to everyone else.
meeskamouska
My curry sausages aren't traditional style with sultanas etc. They're more stew style.
For mine...
I boil up the sausages, cool, skin & chop into rings.
Then I thrown them in the pot with potatoes, pumpkin, veg etc.
Stock cube or two.
Teaspoon or so of curry powder.
Cover with water & simmer till the veg is soft.
Then I thicken with gravy.
Easy cheap eating....especially as Paul makes all our sausages. He's a slaughterman & butcher by trade.

Gotta go put Charlz to bed.

Bec - Poor Ethan. Hope he gets better soon.
themelster
Ros - sounds pretty full on! Especially for a public school. At least you can hold them accountable if they don't hold up there side of the contract. I also like how they won't allow iPods, mobiles etc at school. I think schools can be a bit lax on things like that (and piercings, hair styles, uniform wearing etc). Call me old fashioned.....

Bec- poor wee man. Sleep will do him the world of good.
Check out the moo goo website. There's some interesting reading on there.

Nat - you are lucky having Paul make your snags. Hard to get good snags these days that aren't pumped full of rubish. I'm lucky too - we have a good organic butcher near us who makes his snags in-store. 100% meat. They're pretty good.
When you say thicken with gravy, do you just mean add a spoon or two of gravy powder??
meeskamouska
Mel - thats all I do. I make a bit of a runny paste before I put it in so it doesn't go lumpy.

Hi Sharna. I c u reading. Hope your day is nice.

Off to Toowoomba for a day out for myself. Been making sure I do this every time Paul is home so I don't resent him & the girls. I don't get much free time so it will be just lovely.

Enjoy your day girls.
Small Potatoes
Nat nappies covered has just got in bamboo/ hemp terry
bec8112
Nat - enjoy your day!

Us - Ethan is still not well this morning so his Nana is going to take him to the GP at 11am, fingers crossed he gets the all clear that it is just a cold. I have a bit of a stuffed up nose but feel ok so Ethan must have passed something on to me sad.gif
bec8112
Ethans got some antibiotics as he had a slight chest infection and fever. Chemist also recommended some Kids Inner Health Plus stuff for him so his Nana bought that too. Fingers crossed he gets better now!
Small Potatoes
Bec I strongly recommend kids probiotics. I know as soon as I forget to give some to the kids they get something. Not so bad now that they have been at kindy for so long though.
themelster
I've never even thought if pro-biotics. Do you use the inner health ones too Mands?
bec8112
Thanks Mands, if it works well we might use the probiotics all the time. Are there other brands or just Inner Health?
meeskamouska
HA!! Always the way Mands - I brought 10metres of white bamboo fleece early this morning from SnapsAu. Decided to change to size 20 snaps too. They do work better.

Had the best day. Must of had good Karma today cause I found 6 chenille quilts in perfect order. Also picked up an amazing vintage white wicker bassinet complete with the old fashioned net bars. I'm so thrilled. Will give it a spray up with some white paint, take off the bars unfortunately & use it for the markets. Will be good for my clearance basket. Might even line it with some shabby fabric.

Do u your bubbas eat much yogurt?? Another good way to get good bugs into the gut. Clearly not as good as probiotics but just good for everyday. CR lives on it.
Thank goodness we only had a bug here for a couple of days cause its DC tomorrow & I don't want to miss out on a sewing day...lol.

Hope everyone enjoyed their day.

Natty
bec8112
Nat - your day sounded like it was great with alot of great finds! Well done.

Yoghurt - yeah Ethan eats it most days, not sure on quantity though as we buy big tubs and I put it in a container for him.

Does anyone feed their little ones low fat stuff yet? Dave only like Vaalia Low Fat yoghurt so that is what Ethan eats too.

Had my (almost) 36 week appointment today at the hospital and all is good. BP a little high but nothing to get concerned over yet. Bub is still head down so did not have to book in for the c-section! Woo Hoo! Next appointment is in 2 weeks so hopefully still head down then.

Ethan is a little better today but still loving his sleep ( which I cannot complain about )!
Small Potatoes
Hey Bec there is a site called Spinning Babies that shows you how to get bub in a good possie for birth
themelster
Hi Bec, I used "optimal fetal positioning" theories and the spinning babies site when preggers with Tom. It is great information and makes total sense in my opinion.

Just a short one from me sorry. I'm at a work conference.
Small Potatoes
I used that too as Will was ROA and had to turn to LOA to be born and as he did he ended up turning so he was posterior. With Olly I had done things and slept a certain way to make sure he was LOA which he was but still had the c/s
meeskamouska
Wow can't believe its friday already. Not sure where that week went.
Hope everyone is well.
Not much happening here today.
Enjoy your day.
themelster
Bec - Tom has Trim milk in his porridge in the morning as I make it for both of us in a big bowl and then just decant his. He has full fat yogurt and full fat milk in a cup though. I think they need the fats at the moment but if he is getting it from other sources than low fat yogurt won't do any harm.

We've had to go pick Tom up from kindy today. He had a restless night last night and although he didn't seem to have a fever when Mark dropped him off this morning, they rang about 10am and said he was running a 37.7 fever. Poor fella. He's seems happy enough now though. There goes my afternoon off with hubby! dang!
bec8112
Mel - hope Tom is ok and not coming down with something. We are getting better here but I was up about 5 times last night as my throat was so sore! Thanks for the info about low fat, yeah Ethan has full fat everything else so I do not think yoghurt would be a problem.

Nat - yeah I agree, the weeks just keep going so fast!

AFM - we have about 15 people coming over tomorrow for drinks/nibbles in the afternoon for a pre-baby/housewarming celebration! I have got people bringing things so not too much to do thank god as I cannot be bothered doing anything!
There is a Baby and Kids market on Sunday morning that I am considering going to, then I have a baby shower on Sunday arvo for Daves cousin who is due 10 days before me.

bec8112
For those who have more than one child in nappies - do you have a change table in each childs room???? I am thinking of just having one in the babies room and changing Ethan in there too. Do you think that would work ok? Eventually when we buy Ethans big boy bed we can change him on that.
Small Potatoes
we tried with one change table and gto the sh*ts so bought a second one
bec8112
Thanks Mands, I am trying to avoid getting another one as do not have the money to spend unfortunately sad.gif . I have been looking on ebay but nothing really cheap.
Small Potatoes
We got our second one on eBay for about $90. It isn't urgen, we didn't get a second one till olly was about 3 months old
themelster
I don't have two kids, but was just thinking about logistics. Hopefully the bubba will be doing lots of sleeping during the day in the beginning. What if Will needed changing whilst bubba was asleep? Having said that, I'd prob just use the bed or something. Maybe do what Mands said and give it a crack with one and if it's a pain, then you can go buy a second one.

Have fun at your afternoon tea this arvo Bec. I'm off to one too. For my girlfriend who is due next month.

Hi everyone else.
bec8112
Mands- something your not telling us? Saw you posting in the trading room on small nappies :-)

Small Potatoes
No Bec, But have been given the green light for TTC no 3, but that won't be till Jan. but DH doesn;t want me spending a ton of money so if I buy the occassional thing now and then hopefully he wont notice
bec8112
He he he mands! That's funny! I
need a few more but Dave is telling me to stop buying!!!
themelster
That's fantastic news Mands!

I have some tickets to an international bullriding comp at the entertainment centre tonight if anyone is interested. I can't get rid of them!
Small Potatoes
Mel As much fun as that sounds I think I will pass biggrin.gif
themelster
I just spoke to my sister on the phone. My nephew has overdosed again. I'm not sure if I have ever mentioned, but he is a drug addict. He is addicted to opiates and benzo's. He has been in and out of rehab but never stayed the full course. The difficult part is that he is 20 years old so not a minor. It means she can't enforce rehab etc. She is looking into how/if she can have him committed, before he hurts himself. I'm not sure how she even goes about doing something like that. It's such a sad waste as he was a beautiful little boy. And now he is just a shell of his former self.
Small Potatoes
How stressful for you and your family Mel.
meeskamouska
Oh Mel - thats no good. Drugs do so much damage not just to the person but their family as well. Your poor sister. She must be sick with worry.
Bummer on the tickets. Paul & I would of loooovvveeed to go to that but is impossible for us tonight.
Bec - we got an ikea change table. From memory it wasn't expensive. I can't remember exactly how much but I thought it only around the $50 mark. Not a fancy one but it works fine.

I got deleted from someones facebook account. Feeling a little rejected bout it. I know I'm being silly but I have a terrible fear of rejection. Keep thinking bout it. So dumb cause I hardly know her.

Hope everyone had good days today.

themelster
Yes, it's not nice and I feel so useless. I've no idea of how to help her, or him. I have posted for some advice here so hopefully someone who has been through it might have some advice.
themelster
Oh, forgot to say, Nat, I know it's hard, but try not to take it personally. I know I have to do a clean out of my facebook friends. I feel like a bit of a fraud being friends on there with someone I don't even talk to. Plus, I get sick of trawling through all of their posts to get to my friends posts.
themelster
Poor Tom is still sick. High temp that I can't get under control with nurofen and panadol and really miserable and letargic. We've got the doc coming to see him.
bec8112
Mel- that is terrible about your nephew, don't really have any advice so hope you find some on here. Hope Tom is ok, hope the doc can shed some light on what it is.

Nat - yeah I went through and did a facebook friends cull recently as there were alot of people I did not know all that well. I probably would not be too offended of it was some one you did bit know all that well.

Mands - I forgot to say earlier, yeah on the TTC in Jan, time will fly by!

Sharna - how you going?
Alis Volat Propiis
Just quickly as I have to go to work this morning.

Mel - hugs honey.. i dont have time for a reply but am thinking of your family. Hope T gets better soon.

Nat - I get deleted alot from FB, lol, what does that say. Then I find people ask to be friends with me again. I try not to worry about it too much and agree with Mel, I have too many 'friends' on there and probably should do a cull.

Bec - Not sure what we are doing for a change table as N's chest of drawers is her change table. For this bub I might do the same again. A tall chest of drawers and put the change mat on top... two pieces of furniture for one. Good luck in the hunt.

Mands - so happy for you and your plans to TTC!

AFU - I am sick, i have a terrible cold, dry cough, sore throat... and this morning my snot is all green... TMI? Bleah! I am sure I picked this up from my sisters kids in brissie as they are always sicks. N had it for a few days after we got home, and I have it now. I probably shouldnt go to work but it is a catch 22, we need the money, and I am the senior nurse this morning. Oh well.

Will try to be in more often.

Sharna
meeskamouska
Colds & sickness all rond it would sem. No ggod.

Mands - had a chuckle to myself about the little nappies. Cute. Am happy for you. I know u realy want another.

Thanks girls for your thoughts with the FB deleting thing. I know I'm being silly.

Got organised & went thru our nappy stash this morning. Completely organised & no boosters here there and everywhere. Every nappy is filled ready to go. Feel so good about it.

Bugger...argueing coming from the bedrooms. Time for nap time I think.

themelster
Anyone wanna do the bridge to Brisbane with me this year? It's a great cause!
bec8112
Mel - when is it?

Nat - yeah on the getting nappies organised.

Sharna - yeah I hear you on the work thing, I am still not feeling 100% but it's my last week so would love to work the 3 days.

Changetable - we have decided to get a chest of draws in ethan's room which we can put a change mat ontop of. Will buy it soon from a furniture shop so we can buy a matching single bed.
themelster
It's the 29th of august - I think you'll have your hands full Bec! biggrin.gif
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.