The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: February 2009 Parents # 55

Essential Baby > Parents' Groups > Join a parents' group here > 2009

http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/forums/ind...howtopic=791140

leita
Ohhh GOLD!!!!

Just coming in for a quick rant

mad.gif aannoyed.gif rant.gif rant.gif rant.gif rant.gif

We were supposed to have settlement this afternoon on our new house- pick up the keys etc. Everything at our end has been ready for weeks. But the SELLER's bank decided they weren't ready to recieve our money- and are HOPEFUL that they'll be ready on Monday. rant.gif Of course DH is working right through for 12 days from Monday, so our chances of getting in to paint etc have suddenly been limited. Bugger.

Oh well, not so important in the grand scheme of things, just a shame its Friday and we now have to wait all weekend instead of being productive.

I'm just going to seeth quietly and eat pie.

fallen~from~grace
Silver cool.gif

Leita, that would be so frustrating! I hope the bank lets the money go through on Monday and settlement goes through.

LittleDCJ
Bronze!!

Hope things get sorted on Monday Leita. Settlement never seems to go smoothly.

I had 11h sleep last night and Jarvis slept through after 3 nights of teething problems so I feel like a new woman. If only DH didn't have to work it would be a perfect day.
pink
oh Leita that really sucks!! I hope the pie helped happy.gif

Tina - yay to so much sleep!! Jarvis will feel like a new little man today too. Hope you have a great day

me - I feel amazingly refreshed after sleeping in the recliner chair huh.gif I woke up at about 1am with a really severe pain in my right hand side. Its the ligaments and the baby refuses to sleep any way but sideways!! cry1.gif one of the worst pains ever! I'm sure it ends up with its head right in the ligament. I wear a tight tummy band to support my giant belly during the day but like to take it off to sleep, dont think its a good idea cos the last 3 nights I have woken in so much pain. Sleeping on my back fixes is but of course thats no good so the recliner was my idea last night. So glad it worked, I got to sleep on my back but still sitting up a bit.

Jack has been 'fragile' all week sad.gif had a coffee meet with the local EB mums yesterday, lots of toddlers in the group and Jack is the only boy. His name is now Mary!! cos he is the biggest girl out of them all!! roll2.gif my poor boy has been so sensitive and cried every time I looked away. He came home for a huge sleep and was better last night but has woken with a runny nose so I think something must have been brewing. Hopefully it passes quickly!

Hope everyone has a lovely weekend biggrin.gif
india732
Day sleeps- someone was asking in last thread- Sijb has just the one sleep normally unless we are out and he falls asleep in the car....normally he sleeps from 1pm-4pm so anything from 2.5-3hours and then he will still sleep at night eventually- he gets put to bed at 7pm and normally by 8 he is asleep and sleeps most of the night until 6.30 7am

Tina- glad you got a good nights rest...I'm making DH get up more to Sijb, coz when new bub arrives I will be relied on by them and may not beable to get Sijb.

Leita- good luck on Monday, I hope all goes well with the bank- Painting is good to be done before moving in, but we just had to paint Sijbs new room and did it over a day and night and then left the window open for most of the week to get rid of the smell....we moved Sijb in after the week.

Pink- so understand about pain....Mine started yesterday and is the pelvic area, I can no longer get up and down off the floor it is that painful!! Panadol did nothing for it

AFU- Gotta make DH a cookies and cream thickshake...but making him do some washing up first...even though he had Sijb all day to himself as I went to a womens event run by our church- DH even managed to do the food shop and get Sijb to have a big afternoon nap!!! So proud of him DH that is cool.gif

Best go check on Sijb he is chatty and coughing tonight so better check he hasn't chucked- still got reflux(even with reduced dairy)!

Ineke
LEGs-R-US
greetings!!! woohoo I made the first page!

Seems like ages since I've been in here and actually posted. I've been catching up with some of you on Facebook but every time I come in here to post this silly reply bug that I get annoys the hell out of me. I'll have to let DH fix it for me because it is getting beyond a joke!

Heaps on this week - still no car :-(... we get it on June 4th, so I have two weeks of no car. I rode the bike home from preschool yesterday... it was exhausting and i think I flopped last night. Went to SILs house and used her new spa - it was devine! I so want one now.

This week I'm off on a work offsite with Mark. It is going to be fun as they are plying us with alcohol on Wednesday night - bring it on! Even arranged babysitters so Mark and I are staying onsite. Woohooo - is all I can say.

Leita - OMG... I'd be so p*ssed. I mean can banks really do that? I am such an impatient person and once I know I'm this close to something like that I'd be heartbroken. You seem surprisingly OK.

Ineke - I reckon something must be going around. Liam is never spewing but he has even had the odd up-chuck today. He has a cold and I think can't get the plem up. Yay for DH and the milkshake - you have him well trained! Sounds yummo

Pink - gotta love Mary! Isn't it strange that in a big group you can have such a gender inbalance.

Tina - so glad that the sleep is on the up.. a couple of days of not sleeping through and you feel like a truck has hit. 13 hours though is phenonimal. I've gotta get me some of this.

OK hope you feel the love. I've missed you gals.
Teresa
Leita - How frustrating for you, vent away. I would be as mad too. But as a bankie I will have to defend the bank! LOL Usually it is the customer (or in your case the vender) who delays things and then turns around and blames the bank. For example maybe they were slack about returning the signed discharge of mortgage form, or their conveyancer tried booking in settlement at the last minute instead of giving them prior notice. Usually all settlements take place in a central location and all the banks meet up and swap titles and bank chqs and transfer forms. It isn't as if they have to send someone especially for yours, they are there anyway if that makes sense. When I was a lending manager I could have a scenario where a customer would want to purchase a property, I was all ready to go contracts signed settlement booked and the customer comes in 2 days before settlement and decides they don't want a 3 year fixed rate, wants the 5 year rate and wants me to discount it to match that other bank. This all takes about a week normally but then I am pressed for urgent docs and this still takes time and the customer turns around and blames the bank for not being ready for settlement even though they have had 6 weeks to be ready. LOL wink.gif I hope all goes smoothly for you tomorrow though.

Jen - oohhh spa, sounds lovely!!! When we are loaded and have money to burn we can invest in a spa hey?

Jo - ah the memories, I remember many nights sleeping on the recliner when pregnant. My reasons were mainly restless legs though.

Robyn - gorgeous picute of Noah, I love the beanie, should be more selfish posts like that. I love looking at how all our little babes have grown up

ok, well that is it from me, I have a 6 year old to get to swimming lessons today and then later this afternoon we are off to look at houses. We are starting to toy with the idea of selling up and building a new house. Loving some of the big homes with 5 bedrooms, family room, rumpus. Drooling with the idea of all that space.

catch you later
summerbub
HURROOOO!!!!!!!!!!

OMG Sunday night tugged at my heartstrings tonight - I was sitting here bawling my eyes out looking at those premmie babies.

The outlaws have left rolleyes.gif ... still as annoying as ever.... but I survived without drowning myself in alcohol which is my old faithful strategy laughing2.gif

Teresa - how exciting at the prospect of building a new home!

LEGs - I did have a spa in TSV and funnily enough haven't missed it at all! They are fabulous though for when you can be bothered to actually get your swimmers on. We used to live in ours before Noah came along... bottle of bubbly in the spa with our patio TV on.... aaah bliss!

Ineke - please don't mention yummy things like that again without warning! Cookies and cream milkshake!! mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Pink - I have been very tempted to sleep in the recliner for the past week or so - I'm having problems getting comfy, tossing, turning, and my legs are never in the right spot... nor are my hips.... boo hooo!
Poor Jack I hope it is a passing phase - too funny that he has been nicknamed 'Mary'. What a crack up.

Tina - Yay for your gigantic sleep! How's the rockstar going? Gorgeous as ever I bet!

Ali - waves.gif

Leita - Oh no I'm so sorry about the settlement. That happened to us too. They mixed our documents up and sent them to Brisbane rather than Townsville so 15 mins before settlement was supposed to happen I got a phone call from the bank saying that they had it all prepared and ready to go but were in the wrong bloody city. They were only receiving the money too! I was ropable. I hope it all goes through for you tomorrow.

I'm watching masterchef now so am going to go and concentrate on that now. I'm going to try those Sticky Ribs that they cooked the other night sometime soon. Faark they looked great.

I hope everyone has had a good weekend.
White-Lily
Well, we have made it back to the land of the living. Shae is much better, tho she will still cough for weeks. we didnt end up back in hospital but we did stay home for a few days from work and daycare last week until her wheezing stopped and spend almost everyday getting check ups from Dr's etc. She is back to sleeping mostly thru and only wakes to cough and/or vomit both of which is happening less and less each night thankfully!

Leita hopefully settlement goes thru today and you can get started on painting and moving in. How exciting!

Robyn lovely picture of Noah, gorgeous hat!

Tina glad that Jarvis' teething has settled down and you have managed to get some sleep

Teresa enjoy looking at the houses this arvo, hope you find something you love

Jen enjoy your night away on Wednesday! The spa sounds lovely. DH and I have always wanted one too... just need to wait for the lotto win

Day Sleeps vary a bit with us depending on what time she wakes for the day. If its early then she will sleep 2 x 2hr sleeps if she wakes up later the it is only 1 x 1.5-3hr sleep. If we are out at sleep time the she has 45mins. She is so unpredictable
leita
Hi All!
Still no settlement today.... Grrr. Aparently the seller's bank doesn't have the title deed, don't know where it is, but they are waiting for it to arrive in Perth..... and of course still no reply from the owners, so still no early occupancy agreement. So yep, still sitting here testing my patience. Which is none too good today thanks to my 5am wake up call wacko.gif wacko.gif wacko.gif wacko.gif

The pie helped immensely. Chocolate is helping today. I am thinking Zen thoughts. And hey, I got the oven clean and the exhaust fans cleaned today- all those things that will need doing before our final inspection here, so at least the time wasn't wasted.

Uh Oh, my little princess has just discovered I"m on the computer, which means we now need to go to youtube and watch Elmo's ducks a dozen times........ blink.gif
tashimoo
I have a very grizzly boy on my hands today. AND is it such shocking weather

Any ideas on how to keep him entertained??

White-Lily
Sue crayons are a huge hit! Shae loves to draw! Also we have a picnic in the lounge when the weather is yuck and climb over pillows and play with boxes, chairs, cars etc. If she is grizzly i find if i am on the floor with her doing what she is doing she is happier. Usually i just cut away anything i had planned and we laze around on the floor ph34r.gif

leita oh no! I hope the deeds are found quickly and settlement happens soon. At least your time was put to good use
leita
Zen. Calm and peaceful. cool.gif

If we don't get settlement tomorrow, we are allowed to start charging penalty fees of the vendor. ohmy.gif Never even knew this was possible. Don't care really, just want the keys to my house!!!

Theresa, no offence, my ex was a bankie, and I know bankies are overworked and underpaid, but it turns out that in this instance the bank has lost the certificate of title, and there is apparently a complicated process involved in reporting the loss and having a replacement certificate issued. So I am happy to rant at the bank a little longer- sorry, just ignore me.

Hmpf. Double Hmpf.

Tashimoo, I sometimes give Amalia a big plastic mixing bowl with some dry rice or pasta in it. Messy, but easy to sweep up at the end. Ha ha ha, and dare I say it, a Wiggles DVD does the trick if she's really grumpy and can't focus on anything else!! Hope your little man regained his composure.

Whitelily- welcome back! Glad to hear Shae is on the mend, fingers crossed for the rest of winter for you.

Legs- that long without a car would drive me nuts, especially where we live atm, public transport not so good. Hope you can survive! Good on you for getting the bike out instead of a hire car!!

Is it quiet in here today, or am I just spending too much time trying to be Zen? rolleyes.gif
Teresa
Leita - definately no offence taken. When I read what had taken so long I thought OMG! That is really bad, definately charge the vendor the penalty, you will find they will probably go to the bank and have them pay those fees anyway. Losing titles is awful and it is a bit of a drawn out process to get them redrawn. Usually letters need to be sent to a few different places and a few stat decs have to be signed declaring they can't be located. Good Luck! I hope someone suddenly finds them in a pile of papers.

oh goodness, my little grumpy bear isn't quite as easily amused as some of the other bubs. sad.gif But that is just Oliver for you. Really he is a very quiet and serious little thing, but when he is grumpy or angry boy do we hear about it. Luckily he has the cutest little smile and a lovely little chuckle.

Looking at houses was lots of fun. Oh my goodness though, some are just gorgeous but come along with a gorgeous price tag. I said to John, well we could both work two jobs to pay off the mortgage to say we have a house like this and never see it. But anyway, there are definately a few out there, I don't know, it would be such a big upheavel for us all.

Counting down the days now to Oliver's ENT appt. Monday next week. I have the Medicare Cheque on the bench for the last ENT we saw, I figure I will post it when I get around to it. I don't feel inclined to send him any more money at the moment even though it isn't my money. I think I deserve that chq more than he does. tongue.gif
pink
very late attempt at personals. Please excuse any babble Tounge1.gif

Leita - I hope they get things settled soon, that would be so so frustrating!

Teresa - I dont blame you for hanging on to the check, its the principle of the matter!! lol. I have everything crossed that this new ENT takes their time and really thoroughly checks your little man out. I know what its like to know there is something not quite right with your child and no one believes you sad.gif

Suzanne - so glad to hear Shae didnt have to spend time in hospital. Hopefully the rest of it clears up soon.

Sue - how did Spencers day go? Jack had been so grizzly for days, ended up with a runny nose for half a day and today seems fine again! I think he must have been fighting a cold we couldnt see. Hopefully Spencer is not coming down with anything.

Jen - you are super Mum for getting on the bike let alone having the kids with you! lol. The spa sounds like the perfect reward for that effort. I hope you get that reply bug sorted, that must drive you nuts!

Robyn - how is Fergie going? any bigger kicks yet? Pudding is still kicking very low most of the time but is definitely getting stronger, hopefully it stops kicking me in the cervix real soon tho blink.gif lol

Me - OB and Paed apt tomorrow original.gif should be all smooth sailing. Must remember to tell OB about the BH that I was having just in case thats important. I have never had them this early before and went in to labour with Sophie at 32 weeks and had no idea!! lol thought I had gastro. Never found a reason for it but am a bit more careful with things like that early now.

Question - How much food does your toddler eat?
Jack eats so little and is tiny and pale looking but still putting on weight and I have no idea how with the amount he eats!! this was his day today (same most days)

morning bottle 8am - 150mls
breakfast 9am - 2 pieces of peanut butter toast
lunch 12noon - 1 petit miam yoghurt + 3 chips (refused sandwhich and muffin)
afternoon snack with big kids 4pm small sultana muffin
tea 6pm - (refused omlette) 1 tbs beef and vege soup (almost always eats 1tbs or less)
bedtime bottle 8pm - 150mls

its the tea that really worries me. He eats a good breaky, 2 weetbix or porridge or toast. Lunch is hit and miss at the moment too but tea is a shocker. take the soup for example, he seemed to love it. Ate about 6 spoonfuls in 1 minute and then refused anymore sad.gif same with apricot chicken and rice last night. DP thinks he might have a really small stomach?? have the health centre check up at 18 months and will keep weighing him until then and take him earlier if I am worried. He is now 10.2kg on my scales (up from about 9.8kg a month ago) so I know he is still putting on weight. Hmmm parenting is just full of worry isnt it?!

on that stressful note! I am off to bed. Should have been in bed ages ago but drank a lovely hot chocolate earlier and have been peeing ever since laughing2.gif oh the joys of pregnancy!!

summerbub
Hi Girls

I won the Mother of the Year award yesterday. Got back to my desk at 5.15pm after back-to-back meetings all day and had 3 missed calls on my mobile. It was the daycare trying to call me (at 1.30pm) to let me know Noah had a high temp. Didn't I feel just freaking delightful about that.

Then I won it again this morning - I had been up and down all night running in and checking on Noah's temp and he was breathing really heavily, so about half an hour ago I went into his room and turned th elight on and saw spew in his bed. I had the monitor on and I was in there at least 6 times last night but didn't even notice sad.gif

Anyway, so my award is that I get to stay home from work today which is delightful.... except that Noah still has a 39.4 temp and has two new molars! He is just miserable. Poor monkey. I would love it if he would just sit and watch telly or lay down on the mattress and watch telly but he is just not interested. He'd much rather be outside playing or taking lids off things than staring at the telly. It sounds really bad but I would love for him to just watch telly once or twice a day, especially with the newborn only 2.5 months away. That way I could put freaking Makka Pakka or what ever the hell that is on while I feed miss piggy!

Anyhoo.....

How much does your toddler eat? Ahem.... well Noah has a little problem with food - he has a food obsession and I just don't think people understand what it is like until they experience it. People say to me 'oh you are so lucky that he eats everything' but believe me, it is quite difficult at times. He tries to steal food from everyone, he is like a seagull. People say 'he must be hungry' but he just doesn't have a stop button.

Yesterday was a pretty light day for him he ate:

Milk: 150ml
Brekky: 2 weetbix with fruit on top
Morning tea: a yoghurt and a piece of watermelon and rockmelon
Lunch: Sandwich and fruit
Afternoon tea: cruskit with vegemite and a cheese stick
Dinner: sausages and veggies.
Milk: 150ml

Pink, it sounds like Jack is still putting on weight so maybe every second day you could try to switch out something new for brekky, like veggies or fish fingers or something? Just an idea... there's no rule to say that you have to have cereal or toast for breakfast!

Leita, best of luck for the settlement today. From what you and Teresa have said though it might not happen for a little while. I agree with Teresa - charge them that fee thing cause they'll get it back from the bank anyway.

Fergie is doing great. I'm not sure if I updated after my OB appt on Friday, but the little ratbag had her feet up infront of her face with her bottom down! How funny. No wonder I'm uncomfortable. I'm getting a lot more movement now so that is comforting.

Alright off to catch up on the real housewives of atlanta. god they are a bunch of ferals - but I love it! haha
tinkster23
ello
Robyn pointed out to me I'd been absent from here a while and I thought I should stick my head back in.

I'm still alive, kids have been sick, we're looking at building again and all the crap that goes with that, the usual! Hannah is better now and jacks mostly better, just a little chesty still

Ahem.... well Noah has a little problem with food - he has a food obsession and I just don't think people understand what it is like until they experience it. People say to me 'oh you are so lucky that he eats everything' but believe me, it is quite difficult at times.

I get it! I had a huge throwhimselfonthefloorscreamingandkickingandfightingmewhenitriedotpickhimup tantrum the other day cos I wouldn't give him some of my lunch (a curry!) Jack eats and eats and eats

Brekkie- a sachet or porridge and milk, same amount as his sister plus he usually grabs half a piece of toast off me, or some eggs
Snack- a banana
lunch- a good cup of lunch, pasta and veges, meat and mash, etc PLUS maybe half a cup of yoghurt/custard
snack- more fruit, a cheeesestick and a cracker or two (yesterdays snacks, ALL of them) oh- and half a krispy kreme bought back from sydney cool.gif
dinner- a meal about the same size as lunch, plus dessert
plus milk in a cup before bed

He eats the same, if not more than hannah, and you can't eat around him unless you plan to share. Its great, cos hannah is really fussy and jack will eat anything but its just constant, all day and VERY messy!

Anyway, as I said to robyn, I'm always reading, just don't often get the chance to post anymore, and don't always wanna do quick all-about-me posts.

Robyn- if the spew didn't bother him it shouldn't bother you! kids deal with things different ways, and spewing isn't always a bad thing. But I do hope he's feeling better today.

jo- what does the health nurse/gp think? some kids are just smaller eaters and smaller kids. its hard to compare across the board because of this, especially at this age. don't get too caught up on it, unless a health professional tells you there is a problem, just accept that your food bill is not going to be as high as mine and robyns original.gif

leita- hope you get settlement soon!

ok, must go now, life as always beckons cool.gif
Teresa
Robyn - I have had days like that, and after 10 years I assure you I have many more awards than you. ddown.gif Monday I forgot to organise for the boys to go to OSH after school. I was at work and it was 3.50pm. I was in a flat panic thinking of the boys standing at the front of the school waiting for someone to arrive. I rang the school and as it turns out the boys decided that since I wasn't there they would go to OSH. My work hours have been all over the place so I am so unorganised with everything. But hope little Noah starts feeling better soon. It is definately easier looking after sick kids when all they want to do is rest. Alex was like that, he would just lay on the floor and sleep or watch Teletubbies. When Jacob gets sick he gets really naughty and ratty. He would run a 40 degree temperature and be running around the backyard fighting with his brother. William and Oliver just scream and want to be held, not that it helps because they just keep on screaming anyway.

Jo - lucky for us my GP agrees there is something wrong, it is just trying to get the specialist to agree. Do you get an ultrasound with every OB visit? I hope it is a good visit for you.

Well I typed that bit 4 hours ago. PMSL and have only just had a chance now to get back to it. I have run out of time though because I have just managed to get Oliver and William down for their afternoon naps and now I have to log in to works computer and put an hour or so in there.

But just wanted to say first that Jo, Oliver is all over the place with his eating too. I do things a little different though. He has weetbix then toast then a bottle. I figure I will get more food into him this way as he isn't filling up on milk first thing in the morning. Lunch is hit and miss and he refuses to eat a sandwich in the highchair, but if I put him on the floor he will eat it off the plate off the floor without any issues at all. In fact he scoffs the whole thing. He just makes a mess all over the floor which isn't really ideal. Teatime is a nightmare. He is so fussy, last night he ate all the spag bog but the night before refused chicken and veg soup. Some nights he just ends up with a yoghurt and banana because he refuses to eat what the rest of us were having. They are all different. I am used to fussy eaters though, William was my only little one that ate anything and everything on his plate (and mine)

ok, I had better get this work done

seeya
LittleDCJ
Anyone been to Hamilton Island before? We have just booked a week stay there in the Oct school holidays with 3 other families. We'll be staying in self contained apartments. Any tips on what to do, where to eat, day spas etc? Did you use kids club and nighttime babysitting service? I've heard that ordering supplies online through Coles is the cheapest way to stock up on food and alcohol.

We're all good down here. Jarvis is another baby the eats non stop. Monday afternoon after school with Deakin and Carter were playing in the school playground he ate all the crusts of Carter's kindy snack sandwich and then the half a roll that Deakin didn't eat for lunch. So we don't have food wastage here, he's our garbage disposal unit. He'll have 2.5 vitabrits with 1/2 mashed banana for breakfast and then whatever I'm having so either a piece of toast or 2 scrambled eggs. I've now learnt to double the size of my breakfast or it all gets taken. He's still little so I have no idea where it all goes??

Off to do school run, ciao!!
July Baby
Hey!

Leita - Gosh I hate settlements, surely there is an easier way that is a lot less stressful for the folk who have no control. Finger crossed you get the keys so you can get in the house.

Jo - We have an excellent eater here too. He will eat anything he is given and he's still a tiny tot! I agree with Teresa about not giving him a bottle in the morning before food. That way he might just be hungry enough to eat something.

Teresa - Busy busy... It's great that your boys knew to go to OSH. I SO would be holding onto that cheque for as long as possible too. Here's hoping this visit gets you some answers or at least on the path to get some answers.

Robyn - Your weekend away sounds splendid! I have won a few mother of year awards too. I ride a scooter (like a vespa) to and from work and one day I missed 4 calls from daycare just in my trip home. rolleyes.gif I was so worried when I got home to have so many calls in less than one hour I dreaded actually hearing the news but it was also a high temp. Your poor spunkrat is really having a bad trot isn't he.... Let's hope he gets it all out of his system before Fergie arrives!

Suzanne - Welcome back and yay to Miss Shae on getting better. What a shame someone has spoilt your enjoyment of facebook. I have heard of this a fair bit and it sucks that you can't just offload the culprit but sometimes it's just easier to turn it off. My GF found that someone (her MIL) was copy and pasting pics of her son from facebook and emailing around to her friends and family. They then came back to my GF and commented on the photos and she was furious that they could be so sneaky so she killed her facebook too!

Jen - you're a real trooper.. Riding your bike with the kidlets tagging behind. Luck you got the trailer thingy I bet you have got some good use out of it! Spa.... Love it!! tthumbs.gif

Tina - Yes their loss about the job. You would have killed a job like that! Sure you may not have experience but using the computer as often as you do using this and ebay etc it's not like you would have to learn much. We had a temp turn up at our work the other day and couldn't work out how to turn the computer on oomg.gif. Needless to say she didn't see past midday before given her marching orders. Have you thought about hooking up with an Agency? They still have school hours jobs and then you can be really specific about what you want to do and if anything tickles your fancy then go from there. Good staff are VERY hard to come by.

Hey Robyn, how's the new car? Are you loving it sick?

Food..... umm

Breakfast - 2 weetbix, milk and yoghurt
Morning tea - Fruit and if DH is around a couple of biscuits (grrh)
Lunch - Sandwich, toast, baked beans and if he's at daycare 2 serves of whatever hot meal they are serving. Then he has a bottle and a sleep for a couple of hours
Afternoon tea - only gets this if he's at daycare which is usually fruit or yoghurt
Dinner - sausages and lots of veggies, or bowl full of spag bol, or bowl full of lentils etc
Then he has a bottle before bed.

When do you stop giving the evening bottles? It's a bit of a ritual for us that bottle (Wil calls it Botball) means quiet time and nearly time for bed. But lately now he has all three teeth oomg.gif to brush I wonder what the process is with brushing teeth and going to bed?

Just been scanning through you-tube and playing some Wiggles and elmo for Wil. He loved it and was glued to the screen and even clapped at the end of each song. Someone on here mentioned it a while back and I had never thought to do it so thanks whoever it was that mentioned it! tthumbs.gif

At home today... wwhistle.gif Got conjunctivitis and it's really nasty. Thankfully Wil has missed getting it, he had a bit of funky eyes over the weekend but never got worse. I was happy enough to go to work but doctor reminded me how contagious it was and so I'm taking one for the team today.

Then get a call from daycare after Wil only being there for 2 hours. He's had a massive spew can you please come and get him. He was really quiet when I got there so we came home for second bath to get rid of the residual vomit stench and thought he'd sleep it off. He's been on the go since. I think he has just eaten too much. He had a late breakfast and then would have had lunch not long after then some milk and time for bed. The ladies at daycare were wonderful and it was lucky I was at home and only 5mins away. They bathed him and scrubbed all the vomit off his clothes. tthumbs.gif

How do I get Wil to sleep with his head up one end of his cot? Tounge1.gif Some of you ladies are ditching the cots for beds but I'll put Wil in the bed and 10mins later his feet are at the end I put his head and he tosses and turns and sleeps sideways it's amazing he can sleep moving that much. Need to start thinking about it in preparation for bed.

Ok I've probably killed the thread with this post but I couldn't resist the extra time to catch up on things seeing as I'm home and now Wil is fast asleep - Good BOY!

Catch ya

ETA......Oh yeah.... Thank GOD they finally got rid of Carie from Masterchef... I was so sick of her 15 different accents! Go Marion!!!
mummabubba
Leita - hope you are in your new home soon - how frustrating! Hope the penalty rates are good!

Sue - I just open the cupboard with all my plastic kitchenware and Harry goes crazy for at least half an hour. lid on, lid off, lid on, lid off. He'll be the Tupperware Kid instead of the Karate Kid.

Jo - sounds like he's putting on weight, so maybe he's just being fussy with his food? FOr lunch and tea I normally have at least three meals lined up for Harry - he starts with one, then on to the next when he gets bored, then yoghurt, then back to the start again. He loves self feeding, so handfuls of pasta and other finger food are a hit. Another trick is to start with a meal, then when he gives up try adding tomato or cheese sauce or gravy - complete new taste and he might start eating again...?

Harry is still under 9.5kg and only about 73cm, so am off to the child health nurse tomorrow - hoping they will be nice. He's still not walking and only saying Mumma (and one another word - see below), so he's a bit behind where Jackson was at the same age. I think he was just set back a bit with the chest infection he had at 6 months - hoping it's nothing more, and that he's not going to be a midget or anything. He has a gorgeous temperament at the moment - all smiles and giggles and little koala cuddles nestled into my shoulder.

H is a good eater - probably not as piggy as Noah and Jack, but still HEAPS more than Jackson ate at this age (and most nights he eats more than Jackson does now!)! I took the kids to a new park today (it was AWESOME, until I got bitten on the leg and neck by big bloody ants and then some feral kids came so we had to leave), and it was convenitenly located about 5 mins from Ikea. So we went to ikea for lunch (sausage & mash and I don't have to cook it - yum), and Jacks went to the playcentre for an hour and I pretended I had just one little baby (I pretend Harry is only 10 months because he's so small - saves all the explaining) and had a brilliant time! H would sit on all the sofas and laugh and laugh, and I taught him to say Ikea! ha! His second word (after Mama). love it. Woody is going to be so p*ssed off! ANyway, I explained that the seatbelt thing on Harrys high chair is broken, and the lovely lady gave me another one for free. I was stoked, and spent the extra money on a hot dog and soft serve cone instead.

Teresa - your boys sound like a crack-up! Must be nice to have such a big family. If I found a big bag of patience I might even consider having more too... Oh - and I won't forget you when I come to Adelaide! Looks like I'm coming down twice now - I went to Concordia and Immanual and their reunions are 3 weeks apart. Honestly - why didn't they have a nice reunion in spring and we could all go to the Barossa dna drink too much wine? Not sure about Adeliade in the middle of winter. I threw out my winter coat when I left London...

Tina - Hamilton Island is great! I've only stayed in the marina (we were sailing with a bunch of friends in 2005 before we had kids), but the whole island is great fun. Make sure you have a golf cart to get around, or it gets a bit tiresome. The seafood buffet is brilliant - OMG the prawns were divine. The restaurants at the marina are cheaper than in the resort, but it's all pretty $$$$, so the more you can take the better. Definitely try and stash alcohol in your bags rather than stock up there, if you can.

Wilsmum - we normally do bottle, then brush teeth, book and bed. Good tip on the lentils - I'm thinking of making some dahl after watching Rick Stein in Sri Lanka last night - yummo. Hope Wil's feeling better - poor thing. Re the bed - I've never managed to get Jackson to sleep straight in a bed. He's 4 in July and sleeps in a toddler bed, but still turns around, sleeps sideways etc... Will be watching for some tips!

Gotta run - am making sticky lamb shanks for tea and need to go make sure they're more sticky than stinky.

Lisa
india732
What does Toddler eat?

7-8.30 (depending on when he gets up)Breakfast- 1-2pieces of toast either peanut butter toast or cheese slice on toast or fruit and cheese or egg and toast or today was egg and bacon and cheese!!!!
10amMorning tea- biscuit or cheese stick, or rusk- cheesymite thing or fruit or yoghurt or homemade picklet or homemade cake
11.45-12 (depending on mood)Lunch- cheese sandwich (if lucky!), fruit or baked beans or sausage or pasta or half a thing of 2 min noodles or whatever we are eating
3.30-4(depends on when he wakes)Afternoon tea- similar to morning tea or nothing, depending on his mood
6-7 (depending on the night normally 6)Tea- same as us, so tonight was cheesy mash and veal/chickpea strew...he only ate the mash and chickpeas...tomorrow is slow cooker pea and bacon rissoto...he loves it. If he doesn't eat what we eat then he has baked beans or fruit. We also give him sweets- chocolate picklet and custard or ice-cream and banana or yoghurt or whatever is going....plus his reflux med!

He tends to have milk in the morning around 9- 150mls and then one at 12.30 of 150mls before nap....but today I forgot his morning bottle so he had 200mls and that was it..he gets plenty of dairy in other foods...he survived!

We forgot to put Sijbs gate up at his door when we put him in bed tonight and i was asking DH to go check he is in bed when i turn around and see him walking (in his sleeping bag) up the hall to us..i start laughing and DH tells me to be quiet..so when he got to the end of the lounge he goes Boo to us!!!! I laugh and he turns around as DH gets up and runs back to his room!!!!! cool.gif biggrin.gif Lets say the gate is now up!!!!

Sorry for the me post...Going to relax now...been three either wet and or cold days so been inside and am tired from chasing a boy around the house

Ineke
pink
sounds like my Jack might just be a picky eater/tiny man. He is very happy most of the time so I am not too worried, was just wondering how many different eaters we have and it seems they are all or nothing kinds around here LOL

ok 3 times I have edited this and I keep pressing the wrong button and losing it all!!! LOL I should be in bed!!... wanted to say, I havent taken away the morning bottle as he refuses milk in a cup and doesnt eat cheese or custard so he needs the milk for a little bit longer. He always eats a good breaky tho so I'm sure it doesnt fill him up too much... yay, now to press the right button!!! lol

OB apt went well today, blood pressure was good. My belly is measuring 27cms but I always measure big so I am not worried. Scan in 3 weeks to see how big bub is. Also I was right and bub is sideways most of the time! getting very hard for my pelvis to support it that way so I hope it gets head down soon.

oooh DP has just made me a warm milo wub.gif I know I will be up till midnight peeing every 5 mins but he makes the best ones so it will be worth it!! lol
Skyjay
Hi All

I've been MIA lately. Been sick then we spent an extended weekend in Port Fairy for our nephews birthday. They are catching so much Tuna over there. I hate 4 hour drives, however the kids were great.

So much going on for me.

* I've had a cold & of course Indi has had it too, for over a week and it still wont go away. We are keeping Kleenex Tissues in business!!!

* I'm no longer breastfeeding. I decided last week that she is happy to drink from a sippy cup so I will try all her milk in her sippy cup. Now she has decided that she really doesn't want to drink milk gggrrr cause I have a 3.5 year old who refuses to drink milk too. I've tried toddler formula but they both hate it. Indi has about 50 - 100 mls 3 times a day plus her yogurt & cheese so Im sure that is enough.

* 8 Years into our new house & we are doing some renovations. We don't use our front lounge room so we are semi enclosing it in for DH's tv room. There is plaster & crap everywhere, just have to paint it when the builder is finished. (sad I know but I enjoy painting).

* I had my meeting with work last week only to find out that I was infact entitled to 12 weeks maternity pay, BONUS, so now I have to work out the best way for them to pay me without having problems with overpayments with centrelink & our family tax benefits. Who would have thought money coming in would be such a problem!!!

* Indi has been having some bad nights since going away. She refuses to go to sleep & then keeps me awake during the night. I'm not sure if she has just been unsettled from sleeping in a new environment or if she's changing her sleep pattern. Oh well lets hope for a better sleep tonight. I cant feel any new teeth plus she has never usually had problems with teething.

* Booked flights to perth in oct/nov, cant wait. This time we will base ourselves at my cousins place but actually get out & see a bit. Any of you ladies in Perth want to recommend me places to go???? I want to go down to Margaret River this time.

Food Another good little eater here, but then she does go thru days of just nibbling.

Day sleep
Last week I would have said guaranteed 40 mins on the dot. This week I've had a 2hr sleep & a near 3 hour sleep but I had to wake her cause it was getting close to 5pm.

Jo - glad you apt went well. Cant wait to see more pics in 3 weeks time!

Ineke - hehehe at Sijb, what a cheeky boy you have, how could you not laugh.

Danni - Which child care centre des Wil go to? I was thinking of putting Indi in 1 day a week more for socialisation. SJ goes to Pelican but they change their pre kinder teachers so much lately. I'll have to check out their other rooms.

Thats way too much from me, will try to get back soon for more personals. (I have a bit of reading on my hands)
tashimoo
mmm - I think I may be giving Spencer way too much milk after reading your replies.

Our day goes like this

Breakfast - 2 weetbix or porridge with fruit and half piece of toast with vegemite
morning tea - biscuit
Bottle - 300mls
Sleep around 10.30am for a couple of hours
lunch - protein (either sausage, chicken or egg), half cup of veges and some pasta then yoghurt with fruit
Afternoon tea - biscuit of piece of fruit or sultanas or fruit bun
Dinner - same as lunch but usually with a lamb cutlet or veal and egg custard with fruit
Bottle - 300mls before bed

He just loves his bottle and if I give him less than 300mls he cries.

Lisa - not many words here either. Occasionally he will say mumma or car and that is it other than babbling in his own language...

Ineke - so funny to hear about Sjib... I cannot even imagine spencer in his own bed

We had a shocking night last night. Awake from 1am - 3am.. needles to say I was a Zombie today.

Pink - hope all goes well at the OB

Gotta go and have my dinner and then get an early night. DH is in canberra tonight so have the house to myself

x

leita
We have keys- we have keys!! cclap.gif ddance.gif cclap.gif ddance.gif

Settlement finally went through yesterday, only a week late! We tried to get early occupancy (in return for not charging the penaly fees) but the owners couldn't get themselves organised, so we charged them the fees. Fair I say, because it has put us a week behind schedule, so that's an extra week of rent i have to pay.

But, enough of that- let the painting, scrubbing, and clearing out of crap begin!! Woo Hoo!!

Until last week, I would have said I have a huge eater, but Mali has been a bit fussy this week, I think its her teeth, she's just cut two new molars this week. She'll normally have

6.30am BF (Mummy likes an early morning cuddle in bed now its cold!!)
7.30am piece of fruit toast, or yoghurt and fruit, or pancakes- her favourite!
10ish- piece of fruit, and a plain biscuit
11.30 Bf before bed
2pm bowl of soup and piece of bread
4pm snack- sultanas, cheese, crackers
6pm dinner- half a cupish of whatever we're having
7.30 Bf before bed

Hmmmm, so my problem is that I want to start weaning the divine Miss A, but I don't because it calms her so nicely before bed. She doesn't feed to sleep anymore, but I still think the transition might be rough, specially now she says "Mok" (milk) when we go into her room at night! Ha ha ha, I always anticipated BFing for about 9 months........ oh well, at least we're down to just a few feeds a day now, we've been so lucky to have a positive experience (and she still doesn't bite- phew)

OK, so that's enough about me- sorry blush.gif

Got to go clean for our rental home open...

original.gif
LEGs-R-US
firsty personals...

Tashimoo - I don't think you are giving him too much milk. My liam could never consume 300mls in one sitting but by what you have written that is only 600ml in total which is what Liam would consume in 3-4 meals over the day (iykwim). I'm a believer if he isn't complaining then don't change it.

Leita - yay on the keys - one week after when they are due but atleast you have them so you can decorate/move things around all weekend. VERY exciting.

Jo - woohoo for a good appointment! three weeks will fly and then the pictures will be good.

Lisa - we aren't a great talker here either. He has mastered the hi/by/ta/mum/dad/lee (for himself) and fish but other than that we don't seem intested. I figure he has ages to become the chatter box and for now I'll enjoy the peice and quiet.

Tina - I've heard that hamilton island is expensive too but I think you would get that with any island in australia. I don't think I need to write that I'm jealous.

Me...
Well my week at work went well and the offsite was pretty good. I think our work got a major reality check by it. We had heaps of tormoil last year with people getting the sack and then going through the courts I don't know why they didn't think we would be so poor. I have another offiste next week and I know by then I am going to be completely exhausted.
I have also been a bit down because I have now another two weeks with no car (was going to only be one week) and that makes it even worse because my parents are here and I can't go over and see them sad.gif. Mark doesn't get it... and told me to stop crying because it was just silly and I we can't change it.
I think I'm just tired, cranky, grumpy and upset that I feel trapped in my own house for another two weeks.

Jen
summerbub
Aww Jen, sounds like you need one of these bbighug.gif . Stupid cars. Stupid men. Sometimes they don't understand!

Leita, congrats on the handover! Well done with charging the penalty. Enjoy the painting etc!

Skyjay, you certainly have been busy!

Tina, Hamilton Island is awesome. I have been there a number of times (only a quick boat trip from where I grew up) and you might remember I spent the previous two Christmases at H.I. with 7 course lunch! Wooot!
Now the prices are expensive, but not OTT if you know what I mean. I would do a shopping order from Fausts IGA in Proserpine and they deliver straight to your room. They are the local family there so I think it is nicer than using Coles original.gif .
I would take some alcohol - it depends how you are going to get there too. If you are driving from the Proserpine airport to the ferry then I would pick up my grog in Proserpine and take it on the ferry. Everyone does it. If you are flying in, then I would cut my losses and by the alcohol at the bottle shop there. You'd probably pay $50 for a carton of beer and add $5-$10 per bottle of spirits or wine.
There is a supermarket, lots of little restaurants... and I totally recommend that you get a babysitter for one evening and eat at the Beach House - the top restaurant there. They do a brilliant job at spoiling you!
Lisa is right, make sure you have a buggy. We like to personalise ours for a bit of fun when we get there - we used to 'tinsel it up'.
In October you'll need stinger suits for swimming in the ocean.
There is so much to do - sunset cocktails, pools, food, bars, kids clubs, walks, golf, driving range, hang glider, lots of watersports (but you pay for most of these), and lots of little walks you can go on. While you are in the area if you can, jump in a helicopter / on a boat and go for a day trip to Whitehaven beach. It is just incredible! That whole area is just awesome, I love it and you will too. original.gif

Ok doing baby's room now so better get back to helping the Prawn. Supervising is just exhausting! laughing2.gif
tinkster23
I want to go to hamilton island!
sad.gif

shame the airfares from here make it obscene!!
LittleDCJ
Ha, the airfares from Adelaide are obscene as well and we don't have direct flights anymore cry1.gif . At least we don't have to pay for Jarvis but will need to put up with his wriggling and demands while sitting on my lap and I'm sure he wont sleep either. I'm starting to get really excited about going, 5 of the adults went to high school together and have been best mates since. We all have kids aged 10 and under and they get along really well. Poor kids have no concept of time and think we are going today or tomorrow.

My mum just bought a Wii for when the grandkids come to stay and she's lent it to me to set up and get the kids used to the games. Deakin and Carter (and possibly me?? tongue.gif ) are all addicted to Super Mario Bros. I love playing it on Deakin's DS and this is so much fun. It's pouring with rain today so we're all having a pj day and playing on the Wii.
pink
just a very quick one for me tonight. I have had a shocking day with showoff kids sad.gif why do they always think their worst behaviour is something to show off!!! grrr. and poor little Jack is so miserable. I think he is coming down with something.

I just wanted to say I have finished Sophies story and would love to know what you think of it if you are interested in reading it. I am hoping its not too long but I seriously could have written a novel!! I am hoping it gets published and will let you know if it does.

http://casoja.wordpress.com/2010/05/30/sophies-story
password is jack
india732

hope all is well....we have a sick boy on our hands....not really sure what the issue is, he had a 30min sleep on me this afternoon before dinner and then an hour later he is fast asleep in bed..we gave him panadol before bed so I hope that helps him....I am not sure if it is teeth or a sore throat...he has been picky about eating but is still eating?! he hasn't slept much during the day this weekend..and has been clingy....just hope I get a nice easy week with him!!!

I am going to go and have some time out before heading to bed after BONES!!! Love that show original.gif

Night all
Ineke
leita
Hiya,
Yep, sick little munchkin here too, snotty nose, cough, temp, diarrhea, poor little darling. This is the first time she's been sick with a cough, its so cute though, she coughs and pats her chest (cos i've been patting her back!)

Absolute shocker night, kept waking herself coughing, then couldn't get comfy again. Kept crying for "Mok" (milk), I think she had a sore throat.

DH and I have it too, but the cleaning and painting must go ahead, so we're pretty shattered. Oh well, nearly bedtime!!

Hope everyone has a fab week, sorry, too tired for personals.

cool.gif
mummabubba
Jo - glad your appt went well. My boys both measured big as well throughout my pregnancies, but always came out completely normal (7'7 and 8'7). I remember a Russian sonographer doing a 32 week scan for me in London, and she said: 'zee legs are zmaller zan normal, zee abdomen iz largeer zan normal, and zee teesticals are ENOURRRRMUUUZ." So I spent the rest of my pregnancy looking forward to a short, fat, red head boy with huge balls. was a lovely surprise when he arrived with normal sized balls (although the ginger hair was there from day 1, and no signs of fading yet...)

Skyjay - well done on such a long time breastfeeding! Ending is always a bit cry1.gif for me. You've made an awesome effort.And it sounds like your girls are getting plenty of calcium. I've moved Harry from his Goats milk formula on to a normal gold formula for babies at risk of allergy, and he seems to be tolerating that. I was on rice milk, but apparently (according to that oh so reliable source - my CHN wink.gif ) has zero health benefits, so back onto formula for us for now. Am hoping he's outgrown his cows milk allergy, and all the attempts of giving him normal milk so far have been positive, but I'm taking it slowly. Oh - and well done on the maternity leave! Good score!

Sue HAPPY BIRTHDAY for Thursday! sounds like Spencer likes his bottle. If he's eating lots of other food then I wouldn't worry too much. He's still a baby, and Jackson (who is nearly 4 FGS) still has a bottle and if he was allowed to he'd have milk ALL DAY and nothing else. He's one of the reasons I've moved Harry on to a sippy cup - it doesn't seem to have the same attraction as the bottle.

Leita - another awesome breastfeeding effort. and congrats on the house! Hope the cleaning wasn't too bad (and well done for charging the penalty fees - I would have too).

Jen - being without a car sucks. Woody has taken to cycling to work because I refused to let him have the car on my days off (we only have one car) and he had to catch the train. I don't mind, because if he gets knocked down he's covered by WorkCover (hahaha). When is your car back?

Theresa - you are NOT allowed to complain about the cost of airfares to Hamilton Island when you can fly to Bali from Perth for about 5 dollars.

AFU - saw the CHN on THursday and she was fine with Harry's weight. He's tiny (74cm), but looks chubby, so that's fine. He can be the next Gary "Whatcha talking 'bout Willis" Coleman (RIP) without the drugs and the unhappy ending. THe CHN referred us to a spech pathologist, but of course since THursday Harry has started saying lots more words, so we might just go along and see if they have nice coffee there...

Gotta run - off to read Jo's story.

Lisa
mummabubba
Jo - just having a quiet little sob - your story is beautiful, and Sophie's bravery is amazing. Am just going upstairs to give my little boys a hug and pray that they stay healthy. What you have been through with Sophie is too much for me to even contemplate - I'm so glad that it's been a happy ending for your family. bbighug.gif

JoRiCo
Hi everyone waves.gif

Just dropping in to say to Jo- What an amazing story and an amazing little girl you have there. I have tears in my eyes reading your story, just beautiful original.gif

Will drop in tomorrow and catch up!

Dannii
LittleDCJ
Thanks for sharing your story Jo. What an amazing little fighter you have and I am so glad to hear that she is doing so well. It must have been a challenging time for you but now you are being rewarded by your gorgeous girl.

poss71
Just dropping in quickly to say, Jo, your story was so beautifully written. The time of the transplant came back so clearly. I remember you telling us a little about what was going on at the time, and then the stepping down of Sophie's meds...

Wow. What a strong little family you have. I'm all choked up again, reading the details. I used to think about Sophie a lot when we were pg! I am so glad it has turned out so well.

AFM I have been reading and trying to keep up, but personals are a big job by the time you've read two threads in a row blush.gif - I am thinking about you all though! biggrin.gif

We are well, just busy.

Take care everyone. waves.gif
tashimoo
jo - a great story, beautifully written. What an amazing girl Sophie is

AFU - had a terrible weekend.. was my birthday on Saturday and EVERYONE was sick so spent the whole day looking after everyone else. Had a huge fight with DH on Satuday night. So had a shocking birthday ... hope it is not a precursor of things to come

Raining here in Sydney so another day inside.

x
happinesswith2blue
Jo- That was so well written. You did a wonderful job. I cry1.gif cry1.gif also. You truly have a little fighter on your hands wub.gif Sophie is just beautiful..
My heart goes out to the grieving parents also.What amazing thing to give wub.gif
I remember this too
The time of the transplant came back so clearly. I remember you telling us a little about what was going on at the time, and then the stepping down of Sophie's meds
I hope it get's it published. Well done.

tashimoo- Sorry to hear you didn't have the best birthday.

Hi Jo. Glad your back biggrin.gif How are your gorgeous girls?

Jo- I got told heaps of times that I was having bigger babies. Even at a 32 wk scan with Aston the sonographer told me he was a bigger baby . How wrong they were both times. Cohen was 6 pound 12 (3.06kg) and Aston was 5 pound 13 oz (2.65kg).

Leita-Congratulations on the house. Isn't painting a pain in the bum. But it feels good to know you did it all yourselves.Hope you all feel better soon.

Lisa Excellent news on Harry saying some more words.

We all have cold still. Ryder is off work cause he is sick.
Aston has been a real sook today he just wants mum.We are going to the ENT for Cohen tomorrow so hope that goes well.
Should go clean the house since I feel semi normal,but can't be bothered.Might go watch Gossip Girl instead...I know how tragic laughing2.gif
summerbub
Jo, I just finished reading Sophie's Story.... what an amazing story it is - you have written it beautifully.

Sue, so sorry to hear about your sh*tty birthday. sad.gif It's hard to think positively when you are so upset, but try to get into a more positive head space if you can. Are you all feeling better now?

Poss, nice to hear from you!

Sandra, XOXO laughing2.gif I haven't watched it but I know that bit laughing2.gif

AFU, Noah is back on the steroids for asthma again. I'll keep him on for 4 days this time. They think that the cold weather has triggered it this time sad.gif Bugger. It looks like it might be recurring.... ARGH!

Off to have a nap. Love Mondays.
White-Lily
Robyn what steroids is Noah on for asthma? Shae was put on Redipred for her Brochiolitis but the DR said he couldnt diagnose asthma until she is older. even tho they used asthma puffers/inhalers and ventolin to treat her. Cold weather is a b!tch, thats what started Shae off, one cold night and 3 weeks later she is still coughing but thankfully the wheeze is gone

Leita congrats on settlement!! hope the painting, cleaning and moving goes off without a hitch. Shae asks for milk when her throat is sore too. Im unsure about how dropping the bedtime BF is going to go too as it calms Shae down, let me know how you go! Im planning to wean Shae sometime in the next 2 months or at least drop down to one feed.

Jo Sophies story is so well written, you should be proud of that and you little fighter wub.gif

AFU All sick, Shae gave us her bug. So over coughing but otherwise im feeling good. Saturday was the worst of it for me but DH took Shae out for the morning so i got some time to rest.

Hope everyone that is sick is on the mend soon
leita
Jo, that story is wonderfully written, I can't beleive it's been 18 months since Sophie's transplant. I hope everyone who reads it puts their name on the transplant list, so that there can be more happy outcomes like yours (sadly of course from tragic circumstances). Congratulations.

original.gif
tinkster23
robyn- three days missy moo tongue.gif

All i have time for sorry, back later
summerbub
Theresa - hmm okay well I"ll give the Doc a call. Last time the piece of paper said 3-5 days so we did three... this time there was no paper so I asked the pharmacist and he said maximum of 5 days. He didn't ask how old Noah was though!

WhiteLily - yep he's on Redipred too. They call it 'upper respirtory wheeze' or something till they are two, but today the Doc just called it asthma. I used to have childhood asthma and my sister still does. I'm really hoping it's another one-off but it wasn't triggered by anything - he hasn't been sick!! Just teething which wouldn't have triggered it.
pink
thanks for the lovely feedback girls. I am really proud of how the story turned out. Even I shed a tear reading the finished product lol. I am going to look in to sending it to the donor family, apparently we can contact them first and then they can decide what they want to do. I think it would be sad if they wanted to hear all the stories from the recipients and no one wrote to them sad.gif

Robyn - I hope Noah feels better after a few days on Redipred. Its good stuff Tounge1.gif If he is anything like I was as a kid, the change in seasons will set him off. Especially the start of winter and then again at the start of summer.

Suzanne - sounds like the coughing bug has been a tough one to get rid of! Hope you're all feeling 100% really soon.

Leita - congrats on settlement! hows the packing going?

Sandra - your boys were tiny! lol I wouldnt mind a tiny one this time (not that mine have ever been very big!)

Sue - bbighug.gif so sorry you had a sh*tty birthday. I hope you have a fantastic week to make up for it original.gif

almost school pick up time already. The days seem to fly by at the moment! Have Sophie home today with a tummy ache but shes heaps better now. Jack has been nicely entertained with her putting cartoons on all day and playing with him so I have had a nice productive day.

Have even packed my bag to go away on Thursday ddance.gif cant wait. I am taking Jack with me to stay with my Mum until the following Tuesday. Bit worried about DP and the big kids but I am sure they will survive without me laughing2.gif apparently they have all sorts of fun things planned!!

better scoot! have to get to school early to get a good park! Its down right dangerous with people parking wherever they like glare.gif even in the school crossing zone or just in the middle of the road!!! grrr they make me so angry. They would be the first ones laying blame on others if their child got hit!!!
NurseGladys
Jo - Just beautiful hun, definate tear jerker!!!

Still here, always reading, not always time to post.

Have had a couple of weeks feeling down with work etc but am hopfully on the up and will be posting more often.

Hi everyone!!!

White-Lily
Robyn Shae was on Redipred for 5 days which was the longest they would let her take it for just because of all the other things you have to watch out while they are on it. GP only wanted her to have 2 doses but after a trip to the hospital and oxygen the ED Dr said 5 days.
I hope this is a one off for Noah too! I think im going to have an asthmatic on my hands tho. She gets a slight cold and we are off to hospital with breathing difficulties which develops into bronchiolitis almost straight away now. Change of season started the last bout sad.gif so i hate to think what its going to be like when it gets really cold over here.
happinesswith2blue
Aston is on Redipred again at the moment also. I took him to the doctors yesterday. Sounded like he was getting croup again. I hate hearing him cough like he does. He sounds like a seal the poor thing.

I hope it's a one of for Noah also.Not a nice thing at all.
Hope Shae is feeling better.

Jo- Have a great time away with your mum.Is it a long drive to get there?
I would love to have a great relationship with my mum,but unfortunately I don't.
The boys were tiny, each time I've been prepared to see massive babies when they pop out. 00000 were massive on Aston for ages,but he porked up real quickly laughing2.gif
Actually, one of my friends asked did I eat when I was pregnant blink.gif

Robyn laughing2.gif yes XOXO oh how I could forget. I get sick of hearing it every episode

The girl down the road (17years) is like a little sister and she brings the HILLS, Gossip Girl and just dvd's up for me to watch. She comes up every morning and sees the boys before and after school. We actually call her aunty kass. Cohen calls her ass laughing2.gif

Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.