The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: December 08 Parents # 38

Happy Mother's Day everyone

http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/forums/ind...howtopic=771697

mayahlb
gold laughing2.gif
hope everyone had a nice mother's day.
bbl
maya
samshine

Maya - can't believe 3rd trimester, it seems to have flown by. Don't worry, you will cope. Have you started wording Tristan up on the new baby. We did that with Charlotte, talked alot in the months leading up about baby coming. I think it did help, she was so thrilled when she first saw him. Mind you she still had adjustment problems but I think that's inevitable. Thanks for sharing your muffin recipes. How did DH respond to your letter?

Fraggles - So you have a Dora fan too? Much as I tried to discourage it, we have a Dora nut here. Was the concert good? The photos are gorgeous.

K-A - Oliver sounds adorable. Although I cannot beleive you mention him making you want another Tounge1.gif You sound as though you're going really well. Has H been clingy since O arrived or is it just a recent development? Don't worry I found F got little attention in the early months as it was all dealing with C - you wonder how you were ever busy with one newborn! Maybe it will settle will down when he is able to communicate a bit better.

Nic - Hope you had a Happy Birthday. Did you get a sleep?

Cris - Hi. Another Dec 11th baby here original.gif

F is good, still not walking. He can stand unsupported and walk holding hands but just doesn't want to. He is incredibly lazy, if he wants something he sits and points and kicks his legs on the floor like mad and his sister gets it. I'm trying to teach her not to be his slave. Despite not walking, he's discovered a fondness for climbing so I think I'll be in for it when he does get going. I can't believe these guys are 17months. I find it hard to think he is only a month younger than his sister was when he came along... He seems much younger and more baby-esque. I wonder if that is a 2nd child thing or the fact he's not on the go?

His sister is 3 soon, and despite succumbing to the terrible 2's, the last few months have been delightful, it's like having a little girlfriend to hang out with! Though have been warned 3 is worse so I shouldn't tempt fate by saying how great she's been.

As for me, theres not much to say as I have no life right now wink.gif I am hanging out for uni hols in july. I am absolutely wrecked and wonder how I'll last the next 12months but still loving it.

Well I should go. I really should be doing assignments but yesterday I had child health prac placement all day, then went to work to do a night duty all night, had 4 hours sleep today and am giddy with tiredness tongiht so ditched the study for EB & a glass of wine.

I hope everyone's well. Have missed hearing from everyone in here.

mayahlb
sam - wow you are amazing is all i can say. i hope you enjoyed your wine and got some good sleep grin.gif oh and i can't believe how fast it is has gone either, though to be honest today, i wish it was july and the baby was here already laughing2.gif i ahve been trying to get tristan interesting in that there is a new baby coming and a baby in my tummy but i don't think he "gets" it. but i have been trying to introduce that info to him.

hmm well tristan has gone up again. i have noticed he can almost reach the door knobs in the house. hmm that will be fun, i don't think it will take him too long to figure out how to open them. he's put on weight too, he feels so heavy to pick up now and of course he insist that i do a lot. well poor baby has had to learn i jsut can't carry him all the time, esp after i pulled a muscel next to my tummy from it. but he is now happy to hold my hand and walk into daycare tthumbs.gif he is getting better with being dropped off. yesterday he didn't really want to leave as he was having great fun playing in teh sand, which is good sign. cool.gif i can't believe how big our babies are getting though. tristan still seems like a baby to me in a lot of ways though. probably because he still doesn't have well words i can understand. he makes lots of noises though currently everything is "meh". who knows what he is really trying to say. but he is stringing sounds along now in baby gabble sentances to i am sure as soon as i click into what he is trying to say it will get better (i have a hard enough time understanding some people speaking english sometimes though laughing2.gif )
on the Dh front things are better. i think he has realised he can't just keep going the way he was, and that he was not thinking of anyone but himself and that yes i might be pregnant and hormonal a bit but i have feelings too and he wasn't paying any attention to that fact rolleyes.gif the PIL are still booked in to stay a month glare.gif BUT of course ryan rang them and said i wasn't happy about that (great just make me the one to blame for it) and MIL rang and said that as soon as i have had enough tell ryan and they will organise to fly home asap. pity i am not the sort of person comfortable doing that, but maybe i will just have to grow a spine then and do that. am still planning to fly to perth for a week mid sept too, so i get to see mum, do some city retail therapy grin.gif and be pampered a bit.
well better go, am at work but tired and well cranky (have noticed it i get woken up before 6 i am miss cranky pants laughing2.gif )
maya
Nic&Al

Wow, we've got 17 month olds now! I can't believe how fast it's gone - guess we all have the 18 month immunisation to look forward to next month. I've been so AWOL lately, have no idea what I've missed sorry.

Hope everyone had a beautifully spoilt Mothers Day - I got pancakes and croissants for breakfast and some lovely (and interesting...) gifts. Em got to pick sonething all by herself from the mothers day stall at school, so I ended up with rose-scented hand cream in a little tub with a big pink ribbon - so typically Em to pick that! Sweetheart.

Maya - OMG, 3rd trimester - how did that happen? Gosh, bub will be here before we know it. I can't remember sorry, but did you find out if it's a girl or boy? Hayden doesn't talk much either - it's frustrating isn't it, for both of you. We get a lot of 'meh meh' too, means about 1,000 things here.

Sam - if there was a little worshipping smiley, I would put it in here now - I don't know how you're getting through all your uni stuff on top of work PLUS two little people, I really admire you and your dedication! I hope you're getting a little bit of rest somewhere in there, and I also hope you're planning to do absolutely nothing during mid-sem break. Had a lovely birthday thanks Sam,

Hi Fraggles - waves.gif glad the Dora concert was a blast - how are things looking on the job front for you?

Kate - need new pics of your boys! hope things are going smoothly with your little family of men. when are you coming down to the sticks? Tounge1.gif

Cris - missed your post sorry, but am assuming you're a new one to the group, so welcome original.gif

Big waves to anyone else still snatching a glance in here every now and again waves.gif

Us - Haydie is at the same time gorgeously adorable and lovely, and hideously angry and agressive ohmy.gif He's taken to hitting, biting and pulling hair which is just lovely - of course it's mostly directed at me and Em, doesn't do it to Al. And having MASSIVE revolting tantrums with screaming and kicking feet... Sleeping is still hit and miss, not expecting any great changes there for some time, he's all over the cot - found him completely horizontal the other night, totally wedged sideways with his masses of curls poking out between the bars of the cot. Still, he slept all night so it can't have been too awful for him. Weirdo.

Anyway, I'm procrastinating over doing an assignment so better get going - it's such a boring one, plus have one more to do then exams - yuck. Thankfully only 2. I'm a bit like Sam at the moment, have no life whatsoever outside of uni and family committments. Oh well, it's not forever.

Hope all is well, will try not to leave it so long til next visit original.gif
fraggles
Just a quick one from me tonight.
Still no change on the job front sad.gif
Nic&Al
Happy Birthday Maya!

fraggles
Happy Birthday Maya.

Hope everyone is well. I start a new full time job next week, feeling very nervous. Hope my kidlets will be ok without me spending those extra days with them.
mayahlb
thanks for the birthday wishes. it was a nice quiet day though tristan did start it off with a temper tantrum within 5 mins of getting up rolleyes.gif

fraggles - i hope you new job goes very very well and that is a a great workplace for you.

so i was wondering what sort of strange and cute behaviours out munchkins have started doing?

tristan is well strange in some ways, the other day he was given a slice of orange with the peel left of at daycare just before he left and he ate the whole thing, rind and all blink.gif he won't even touch orange for me at home shrug.gif and now he has decided to be mummy's little helper when it comes to the washing. if you give it to him he will put his washing in the laundry basket (wonder how long that will last laughing2.gif) and this morning he insisted on helping me hang out his wet nappies on the clothes horse. well i hung them out and he went back and forth from the washing machine carrying batches of nappies grin.gif then he got very frustrated not being able to reach the last lot as it is on a stand to save my back and he couldn't reach in far enough. then he helped me get washing out of the dirty clothes basket and put it in. it was so cute and he seems to love doing it so i will keep him at it as long as he is finding it a fun thing to do with mum. he gets to press the button to turn the machine on for a reward (i think he jsut likes the noise it makes when it starts up). and he has started this very cute little brush the teeth dance, where he shakes his head and bops around with the toothbrush in his mouth. i don't know how much actually brushing gets done but he is learning and at least now has stopped screaming when we brush his teeth before bed.
well better go, hope everyone is going well even though everyone is busy
maya
floss22
Hi Girls and toddlers biggrin.gif

Just popping in to say Hi!

I am sorry that I don't visit much anymore. Life is just soo busy! I do have a lurk sometimes!

Hope you are all well!

Love Floss and Mia original.gif
fraggles
Hi.
Floss great to see you pop in.
Well I survived my first week full time in my new job although I am so exhausted tonight. Will be back tomorrow.
mayahlb
waves.gif floss

farggles - great to hear your new job is going good even if itis exhausting. hhugs.gif

i'm jsutplodding along and am very over being pregnant. ds is sick again from childcare, i am so tired of all the bugs.
well he's screaming and thrown his breakfast, have to go
maya
fraggles

Very quiet in here lately. Hope everyone is going well. I can't believe my baby is almost 18 months time is flying and he will be 2 before i know it. E is going well, she is very excited about Kinder next year and even more excited about school because she wants to wear a school dress every day laugh.gif

Otherwise not much happening here, feels like i am never home at the moment. Enjoying work though.

BBL hubby is making me watch some strange movie with him about a guy on the moon and it would appear i have to concentrate on it because i am getting confused already and it's only just started!
Nic&Al

Wow, so quiet in here, anyone would think we have 18 month olds to deal with!!

Fraggles - well done on getting through your first full time week, it's so draining isn't it. I worked full time in between having Emma and Hayden and it used to tire me so much. GOt very organised though, with prepreparing dinners and freezing them on the weekend, and also having lots of lunch box stuff ready to go. Is the job more rewarding than your last one - I hope so!

Maya - OMG, you must be due very soon. It's gone so amazingly fast. Hope T is well again soon, damn daycare germs are a big pain the first year. Haydie has been getting cold after cold too. Are you well, besides feeling over it? Hope these last few weeks go smoothly for you.

Big waves to anyone else who's ph34r.gif

Not much to report from here, I've got exams on at the moment (one down, one to go!) so have been trying to study my butt off. Just procrastinating taking a little break now before getting back into it. Hayden is really great at the moment, very sweet and loving - runs up and gives me big cuddles while saying 'mine, mine' awwww, and he doesn't say it to Al so I'm a bit special tongue.gif And on the other side he's a grumpy little bugger! Screeches if he doesn't get his own way, and throws things when he's cross blink.gif Had forgotten how much effort you need to put into these little people when they're this age.

Anyway, better get back to it - have managed to pass everything so far this semester so if I can get a pass for these exams I will be very happy!!

Hope everyone is good,
Nic
mayahlb
waves.gif everyone

7.5 weeks to go grin.gif

unfortunately am so over it. i don't remember being this sore or huge last time, could ahve been don't remember it though wink.gif t is going well except for being sick yet again, oh and teething his 2 year old molars on top of it (as least i am assuming so from the bright red cheeks and nasty nappies). BUT something is up with him and this time i am making a dr actually sit down and listen to me!!!!! he's definately lost weight just in the last week (the CHN at my 18 month appointment was USELESS!!), you can see his ribs so easily and his sternum which isn't right, even his collarbones are starting to show through and i jsut noticed you can see his little pelvis more, but will anyone listen to me, oh no all i get is, he looks fine and healthy, um yes but you haven't seen him without his clothes one and his clothes give him the illusion of having more substance then he does. i think he likes to worry his poor mum and dad. sorry about the rant but am sick of people not listening to me, so am making sure this dr's visit is with my gp (she is very very hard to get to see) as at least she listens to her patients. though if he keeps dropping weight like this i think we might end up at the er.
gtg stuff to do while T is sleeping
maya

NIC - i completely understand the whole loving side then the gurmpy little super monster comes out wink.gif

FRAGGLES - glad to hear your new job is going alright

ETA - came to post a cute pictures of T and bump
fraggles

Nic - its great that you are going well with your study. There is no way i could be organised enough to do it. Yes this job is much more rewarding biggrin.gif

Maya - Oh i love the pic of T with your baby bump. I hope you can get a doctor to listen to you soon about T.
mayahlb
waves.gif everyone
well i ahve hit that crazy pregnancy energy surge today rolleyes.gif where has it come from? well only 7 weeks to go.

am tossing up whether to cancel T's dr's appointment as of course now i have booked one he is stacking on weight and eating properly rolleyes.gif actually if anything i think he is about to go through a growth spurt as the maount he ate before dropping him off at daycare was huge. am suddenly getting visions of being eaten out of house and home by my toddler. i mean he ate 3 weetbix for breakfast alone. let alone the cup of walnuts for a snack, and the 2-3 cups of rice/curried lamb/baked beans/peas and baby corn spears for lunch (and then proceeded to steal 1/2 my chips when i had maccas for lunch). and this is on top of then downing 250mls of milk oomg.gif
gtg
maya
floss22
Hi again girls

Wow I might actually keep up at this rate!

Great to hear T is putting on weight! Mia is going through a funny eating stage as well. Some days she doesn't eat much at all (she has always been a great eater) but then every few days she will make it up and eat a lot. She has definitley slimmed down in the last month or so though. Hope it is just the same sort of thing with T. Not long till your bub! My cousin just had a baby two weeks ago and he is sooo gorgeous- very clucky here!

Hi Nic, Good luck with the exams! Hayden sounds just like Mia, they are hard work but so gorgeous at the same time!

Hi Fraggles and everyone else!

Bye waves.gif

fraggles
BOO!

tongue.gif where is everyone hiding, very very quiet in here lately.

Not much happening here. Trying to organise DD's birthday for next month. She wants a mermaid theme laugh.gif
mayahlb
waves.gif am here just hiding out as tired and cranky and ds has learnt what a mega temper tantrum is wink.gif and i hate teething, esp 2 year old molars lol.

fraggles - oh a mermaid theme, sounds fun grin.gif

maya

6 weeks to go thank god
samshine
Hi girls, so quiet in here.

Maya - 6 weeks to go - on countdown now. Hear you on the teething, I thought Charlotte was bad, but boys & their teething is ridiculous! My MIL said on the phone in F's early days, 'just wait until the teething if he's anything like his father'.... I am seeing what she meant.

Floss - Nothing like having a newborn in the family again to bring on the cluckiness. How tiny do they seem next to our tots?!

Fraggles
- Mermaid theme, how cute. Hows full time work going? Is the new place better than your last one? Hope everythings going well.

Nic
- Hope you're enjoying your holidays, you've earnt it. I am hanging out for results time...

Well, on uni holidays here. Between painting the lounge, DH and I getting a stomach bug, and Fintan undergoing a personality transplant, its not exactly the relaxing time I imagined biggrin.gif Not sure if it's teething or some other obscure reason, someone stole my 18month old and replaced him with an irritable grumpy old man for the past 2 weeks. I look forward to my work days to experience a lull in the neverending crying!
fraggles

Maya - Saw your FB status hope all is ok. Not long to go now, can't wait to hear your baby news in the next six weeks or so.

Sam - Hope you and your DH are feeling better soon and whoever swapped your boy swaps them back again, lol. H has been pretty good with teething really although i do find him ALOT sookier than E ever was.

Work is going well so much better than the previous place, although i am exhausted and missing the kids but i do love having my lunch break in peace and i don't always have someone following to the toilet or hanging onto my legs all the time.
floss22

Super slow in here!

Well I have just been posting in the TTC group as DH and I have sort of been trying for two month- not really full on but this time I made sure we BD'd a few times around O. Well i POAS this morning as I am only 9dpo so very early and got a very very very faint line, like you have to relly look closely. I am not convinced and will try again tomorrow. Excited if it is but didn't expect it so quick. Anyway I'll keep you informed!

Maya- You must be ready now! I remember the last few weeks and just being sick of being pregnant. I think you forget all that so that you will have more!

Fraggles- Glad work is going well! I am working part time but can do most from home and only go in one day a week. It is busy but good.

Sam- I feel like you. Mia got sick and turned into the devil child. Luckily she is getting back to normal after about a month of hell! Hope Fintan is back to normal soon.

Hi to everyone else Got to go!! biggrin.gif

samshine
Floss - A line is a line, I say. At 9dpo it's only going to be faint so I'm going to say..... CONGRATS original.gif
Nic&Al

Terribly slack at getting in here as usual - and no excuse either as I'm on holidays!

Floss - that's so exciting, congrats and hoping it's a lovely sticky one for you!

Fraggles - so glad your new job is working out well for you - it's super tiring doing full time isn't it. But yes, nice to have a lunch break all to yourself, not to mention the toilet! Great news that you got the Kindy you wanted for E as well, nice feeling of relief.

Sam - nearly results time, fingers crossed for us both! I hope F is feeling a bit better and is more fun to be around, grumpy kids suck. Hope you and G are better also, not what you want during the break! Fingers crossed for the 7th huh!

Maya - I saw your FB post too, are you ok now? Must have been a bit scary for you. Not long to go now though, and good that you can go to your hospital if anything does happen soon. How is T going?

AFM - not much going on really, which is nice. Think I'm going to get slammed at uni this semester, lots of contact hours but at least the subjects mostly sound interesting, except for some wanky sounding sociology unit... Haydie is going well - chatting up a storm and running around getting into everything. He has some lovely tanties, usually around not getting his own way, but a bit of ignoring followed by some distraction usually works. Em is great, but I think he ears are purely for decoration - seems I have to say everything 100 times to get anything done!

Oh - and it's Al and my 6th wedding anniversary today which is lovely!! He's going fishing with Em, and I'm hanging out with Haydie... romance at it's best LOL.

Take care girls,
mayahlb
bbl just wrote a huge post and tristan hit the computer and killed it all.
maya
mayahlb
ok i will try again wink.gif

floss - congrats tthumbs.gif. as they say a line is a line. mine was pretty faint as well (then it turned out i tested at 8dpo not 15/16 like i thought). here's a picture if it helps rest your mind at all. you can jsut see it if you squint

nic - congrats your wedding anniversery. sounds like there might be some interesting subjects next semester. i am sure you went great with your results too. thanks for the wishes

fraggles - thanks for your thought about last week too wink.gif i am glad to hear your work situation is going much betterc hhugs.gif

sam - maybe it is the age or somethign as i swear tristan woke up one morning and had grown horns. atm he is either the most adorable cutie pie or the devil child. it is driving me crazy lol

well had a scare last week, was getting contractions (as per facebook status). turned out to be doing nothing but ended up in another hospital 250kms away with a tranfer with rfds at 3am in the morning and 3 nights in hospital. am still getting random conractions but am ignoring them, though i am completely over being pregnant and would like it to ahppen anytime now wink.gif probably won't until august knowing my luck though. oh the baby is measuring 2-3 weeks ahead via fundal height and the 2 u/s i have had, so being having a minor freakout about that rolleyes.gif another reason i would prefer it to come sooner then later. oh and my DIG (16-31 july) has had about 8-9 babies yet and we are only just into july oomg.gif

tristan as said earlier is being very cute or the terror child. he is really testing the boundries of what he is allowed to do, oh and the lovely headbanging tantrums have come back esp after i disappeared for 3 days. all he wants now is dad, mum is just not good enough if dad is there or around so if he is outside doing stuff that tristan shouldn't be around well i get to deal with the screaming and head banging on the glass door/floor etc etc. am very over it but no dh won't let me just ignore it like i did last time we got these, despite me telling him over ad over again that if we jsut give it attention he will just keep doing it. also does anyone have any tips on stopping them throwing things? it's getting bad and he is getting to be a better aim. food wise he is getting to the point where he will be back to being spoon fed again, as i am constantly cleaning up stuff off the floor (he always managed to get throw it away from whatever i have put down to contain the mess). on the other hand he has a huge amount of curiousity. he had jsut figured out how to take the cord out of the vacum and has being pulling it around "vacuming" the floor making brm brm noises, and he is obsessed with the washing machine laughing2.gif i ended up packing up most of his toys as they didn't get any notice, so i will re-introduce them again later, maybe after b2 has arrived. oh and vocab wise he still doesn't ahve a lot of words but is starting to string 3 word sentances together? the one i get most is "i like that" and he told daddy "i wuv oo" (of course not mummy rolleyes.gif i don't know why they say boys are mummy's boys he is such a daddy's boy). oh and he has names for the dogs, "bye" and has jsut added "car" to the list.
well better go before he destroys something else
maya
samshine
Maya - What a scare for you, hope everything has settled a bit and your little one stays put for a week or two yet. Getting close now, no matter what happens! Fundal height - measured 4 weeks ahead with F, from 30 weeks, (according to u/s it was a combination of increased amniotic fluid and big baby and he was 9lb 9oz), I know how easy it is to get worried about it, but dont freak yourself out too much. At least if s/he does come early they'll maybe have a bit of extra padding. BTW, my moneys on a blue one!!

Nic - Glad you are having a quiet spell, you deserve it. What subjects do you have this semester. Happy wedding anniversary!! 2004 was the year great couples married wink.gif I have a daughter here with painted on ears. I can't tell you how many times in the past weeks I've yelled/asked (whilst trying desperately to speak calmly) 'Charlotte but why don't you LISTEN to me?' And I thought you didn't pull out that line until the teen years *sigh*

Floss - Have you tested again yet?

Us - We had a week of horrid Fintan, and then a complete turn around. He had a massive developmental surge this week. Talking and talking and talking, so many new words. At uni, we have had a bit of learning on the concept of wonder weeks, basically sh*te weeks that are followed by developmental progress that happen at certain points - I think we were having one!

Ok, bed for me need to be up in 7 hours & at work in 8, but the lure of a wine was too much.

mayahlb
sam - we think tristan is going through something similar at the moment, though i think it will be a growth spurt as he has chubbed out blink.gif . hopefully something soon. aren't too freaked out about b2's size as i figure tristan was pretty long really so this one might jsut be the same.

anyone got any tips for getting kids to sleep past 6 am?? the sun isn't even up then but tristan is. am tired of getting up at dawn for him even an extra 1/2 hour would help. oh and have been getting mild contractions all night so hopefully something is happening and it isn't just this new child deciding to deprive me of sleep before it is born. grin.gif
maya
floss22
Hi Girls

Maya- Yay on the contractions, hope it continues for you. I go with the just ignorning the tantrums and trying to distract her with something else. Mia loves throwing food as well especially to the dogs. I just take the food away. I have found that she is nearly had enough of the high chair but likes to sit at her little table and chairs. Only problem is that she can get up whenever she wants. It is a struggle but I figure if she is really hungry she will sit and eat. I will not chase here around trying to get her to eat. laughing2.gif

Samshine- Wow that explains a lot- I had heard of wonder weeks but totally forgot. Mia is talking so much now. I think she would have about 200 words and when in the mood with just copy anything you say. She is putting a few words together and can associate things as well. Hope work was OK. grin.gif

Nic- Congrats on the wedding anniversary! ddance.gif

Hi everyone else (where has the waving icon gone)

AFM- Well my curiosity got the better of me and I have tested 3 more times over the last few days, two of them first thing in the morning and all BFN.gif so not sure what happened. I am not due for a few more days yet so will see whet happens but not holding my breath. Hope everyone is haveing a nice Sunday- it is soo cold! ddown.gif

fraggles

Floss - Strange about the BFN's are your first test with a faint line. Let us know how you go when you test again.

Maya - What a scare, glad you are home and baby is staying put a little bit longer.

Hi everyone else, i am mega tired so can't think straight enough to type anymore. Will be back later for a proper post soon. DH has been getting some shifts on both days of the weekend so at the moment i have no time to myself.
mayahlb
floss - oh no. maybe it was an evap line? i hope you ahve much better luck soon

waves.gif fraggles hope you are getting some rest

well 37 weeks today. would like the baby to come now, though after having 1.5 days of contractions it all disappeared and feels like am going to be pregnant forever. at least now i am finally sleeping a bit better.
tristan has tunred into a monkey. apparently at daycare he will poke and push and sit ont eh other kids until he gets a reaction (normally screaming on their part) then run away laughing. the little bully. i have noticed he does things at home for the reaction too lately. but we finally seem to be getting somewhere. probably has something to do with if he does somethign wrong i make him clean up the mess or whatever he has done to make it right or he gets ignored. he got made to put all his clothes back in the drawers yesterday after having a hissy fit and throwing them everywhere.
gtg he's screaming about something
maya
ssorrrento
Hi there waves.gif

Long time no post – have been lurking occasionally, but nothing much to report really.

Things are good with us. Oliver is gorgeous. Has teeth and everything! He has over 30 words, and last week started repeating the last word in every sentence I said to him. I always thought he could say more than he actually did. I just think he was teasing us. He will string a couple of words together – ‘more please’, ‘more banana’ – generally anything that involves more food!

He points to the chair or floor or anywhere he wants me to be and says ‘mummy’. So I have to get my backside over there.

He loves drawing and playing with Play-Doh. Not sure where he gets it from, but he’ll say ‘finished’ when he’s done, put the lids back on the pens and put them back in the box, all facing the same way up. And he puts his Play-Doh back in it’s pot, puts the lid on and the cutters and rolling pin away. I’m sure that won’t last. He knows a few colours now too.

And around 4-5 times after we walked somewhere new to feed the ducks, we were driving down the same road and he started saying “Quack quack’.

I know those of you with other children will have already been through this, but he constantly amazes and astounds me with his development.

On the down side, he still doesn’t do too well with food. Anything that requires chewing, he will keep in his mouth for long periods, sucking the goodness out of it. We have a referral to a clinic to hopefully look at the issue. But – he’s tall for his age, and isn’t underweight, so we’re not amazingly worried. TBH, I wouldn’t have taken it further had the CHN not suggested it at his 18mth check up.

Sleep is still an issue, but we have good periods too.

Work is pretty dull. Never enough to do, so I just want to be home. Hubby starts a new job in the intelligence section with the police, so we’ll hopefully get to spend more time together. Sharing care has been great for Oliver, but it’s something I’ve started to struggle with recently.

But – we did have a night out last week. I keep daydreaming that we could have another this week, but it isn’t gonna happen any time soon.

We go back to the UK in September (thanks for the travel advice, Sam), which I’m looking forward to. We’re having Oliver baptised when we’re over there, so it’ll be a lovely time to get the family together and celebrate the ‘new’ addition to the family.
floss22

Well I have officially joing a new DIG as I am pregnant and due in March! So weird as I have one BFP.gif followed by two BFN.gif then a few days later another two BFP.gif Anyway I am definitely pregnant as I have all of the symptoms and just know tongue.gif

Maya- Hope it happens for you soon! When did you start showing with this one? I feel like I look about 3 months already and I am not even 5 weeks yet!

Ssorrento- Glad to hear everything is well with Oliver. I can related to the sleeping issues as we have some really good weeks followed by some really bad weeks! How exciting fro your rip!

Hi to everyone else biggrin.gif
ssorrrento
congratulations Floss!
mayahlb
will come back tomorrow for a better post but need to lie down. urg back pain

floss - i had a deinfate bump by 12 weeks. congratulations!!!!

ssorrento - oh o sounds so cute and great to hear from you. sounds like your trip is going to be great fun
maya
fraggles
Congratulations Floss

ddance.gif

E is 4 tomorrow ffear.gif she is so excited
Nic&Al
Congrats Floss, I hope you have a nice smooth 8 months or so!

Happy birthday to Ellie, 4 is a lovely age Fraggles original.gif

Nothing to report here - screeching tantrums are frequent, sleep is mostly good except for last night, and uni is so full on I have no time to scratch myself. Don't think I'll be getting a repeat of the marks I got last semester this time around! Good news in that I got my prac placement at a hospital in Hobart, was worried because we can get placed anywhere around the state and that would have been vey difficult with the little people.

Anyway, must get ready to take Em to mini golf with her cousin - going to be painful, she is not coordinated at all!!

Maya - hope something happens for you soon original.gif
mayahlb
happy birthday ellie. hope you and your mummy and eeryone are having a lovely day

urg am over being pregnant and over bouts of contractions going nowhere. also tristan though mostly great has turned into teh screaming tantrum chucker from hell whenever ryan is around. probably because ryan jsut gives in to him all the time rolleyes.gif
gtg he jsut woke up from his sleep - can i jsut say too i hate the 1 sleep a day. 2 was sooooo much better
maya
samshine
Maya - Hope something happens soon for you. Just think, those contractions are hopefully getting some of the work underway and it will be nice and quick when it happens. Good luck with it all.

Fraggles - Hope E had a lovely birthday.

Ssorrento
- O sounds delightful. Nice to have your trip home to look forward to - we did C's baptism when we went over for our trip back too. Its so nice for the family thats not always around to feel involved. I laughed at your description of Oliver and his 'more' when it comes to food. F is exactly the same. I think he says more one thousand times a day. We went away on the weekend and in the restaurant we went to for tea, F polished off my bread roll, his own huge childrens meal of chicken and chips, some of my salad bar (all followed by bellows for more) and then when he finished a bowl of free ice cream and said 'more peez' the lady at the next table, who had been finding his eating habits fascinating judging by her stares said out loud to us 'surely not?!' roll2.gif

Nic
- THats great that sleep is good these days for you, you've waited long enough. I still have your woombie, am so sorry didn't give it to you the last few times I've seen you, do you want me to post it? Delighted you're coming to HPH for prac, fantastic news. Hope you're with us!

Floss
- huge CONGRATS! Thats great news. lol on the baby bump comment. I think its the not-so-A1 tummy muscles. We told people around the 10-11wk mark with no 2, and at work I got a few 'weeeelll, we had wondered' comments with eyes looking at my pot belly. Mind you I had already had to open the skirt buttons by about 9 weeks!

As for us - Things are pretty good. I hated this age with Charlotte but am finding it more enjoyable this time round. F is determined, knows his mind and is liking squawking to express that but doesn't have the grand mal tantrums his sister did at this age, which is a massive relief. He's very much a mummys boy and I am enjoying getting smothered by kisses cuddles and affection. The talking is hilarious.

Oh, and just when we thought about investing in a crane, we have a walker. He's not going to make any olympic records, but at least he now knows his legs aren't decorative. It's very different (actually in a nice way) to having an early walker. When DD started walking it was full on from day 1 with no sense of danger or sense of purpose. 'Cause F is that bit older, understands consequence a bit more, aware of danger and knows a bit more of what he wants to do he is cautious and a little hesitant about it all, and really thinks about where he's going and what he's stepping on. Its all been very civilised really.

Anyway, I came in after work to drop a quick response and have managed to dribble on. Time for bed! Hope everyone is well.
Nic&Al
Hi everyone waves.gif

Scuse the typing, but I've had a full-on day at uni and am enjoying a few wines and a pizza so I don't have to cook dinner original.gif On the plus side, I can now take your BP, pulse and respirations, oh and change your bed while you're still in it, so all is not lost laugh.gif

Sam - ah don't worry about the woombie, it's not like I need it right now! Don't worry about posting it, we'll just sort it out over a coffee one day - am sure H and F would love to have a play too , specially now your little man has found his feet original.gif Fridays I have both kids at some so am only out of action between 11:30 and about 2:30 if that suits you at all. So funny you're commenting on the difference between an early and a late walker - Em (18 months) walked later than Haydie (13 months or so) and certainly took things more cautiously, like Fintan is. And is still quite physically hesitant to some extent. She's starting jiu jitsu lessons tomorrow night to see if that helps improve coordination or anything.

Maya - Oh No, I am loving the 1 sleep a day instead of 2 - I can get things done in the morning! Not great that T is chucking a wobbly whenever R is around - so many people dont give these little guys credit for what they're capable of at this age. Lilke Sam says, all those contractions have to be doing some good for your - when you get to hospital you';; probably be like me and be 9.5cm dilated (hopefully!).

OK, I need to have an early night! SO cute, Em's school is having a disco in the next week or two, she's beside herself with excitement!!

Take care girls,
Nic

mayahlb
waves.gif everyone
popping in to post that Rowan Colin was born on the 21st july after 26hours. kg, 50cm and hc was 36 just like his brother. will post some pics tomorrow, just got home an hour ago.
maya
Nic&Al
Maya - huge Congratulations on your little man's arrival! Hope everything went beautifully for you, and that little Rowan settles into your family smoothly. What was his weight, the number didn't show up.
mayahlb
nic - he was 3.93kg, so almost 4kg which was a bit of a shock to say the least. thank god he came 2 weeks earlier then tristan.
here are a couple of photos while he is sleeping and i ahve time. he looks very like tristan did when little

maya
samshine
huge congrats Maya & family - he's gorgeous!!
fraggles
Congratulations Maya he is gorgeous. wub.gif
lafonda
Hi all.. thought I would join this group.. My DS was born 10/12/2008..
fraggles
Hi Marmeg86.

My DS is Hamish and was born on 16 December 08
floss22
Congratulations Maya, He is gorgeous! Hope you are getting some sleep. biggrin.gif

I am in a new DIG now but it is so not the same as with you guys! I suppose I have less time to post so all the girls with 1st bubs are on a lot and i am getting quite left out! I have pretty bad MS so not well for most of the day but have to keep on going with Mia!

Hope everyone is well xx
~Fuzjuz~
waves.gif Ladies

Long time no see.

Maya, congratulations on the arrival of Rowan. wub.gif He is gorgeous.

Floss, congrats on #2. Hope m/s leaves you soon.

Hi Sam, Nic, Fraggles & marmeg. original.gif

Has been a sh*tty year for us so far. sad.gif Dh step bro & business partner of 18yrs died suddenly last month ddown.gif at 40yrs of age so we've had to start our own business. Registering it, getting a ABN, trying to get his licenses (yes he needs 2 aannoyed.gif ), me learning accounting etc etc. huh.gif blink.gif Dh gets his final payment from old business on friday so we can move on with our lives. They've treated Dh awfully. cry1.gif Good ridance to them.

Anyways, Kane is a joy. 20months old already. huh.gif Going way too quick as you all know. wink.gif
He's down to a morning b/f. Bit sad but had to be done. He has a bottle before his lunch nap & before bedtime at night. Have had no troubles transitioning him from boob to bottle & laying with him to just putting him to bed thankfully. cclap.gif wub.gif
Older 3 are great & entertain Kane too. He loves them.

Enough from me, more business stuff to do. Will pop back soon, fingers xed. tongue.gif
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.