The
Essential Baby forums cover all areas of
parenting and stages development for
babies,
toddlers and
kids as well as
parenting lifestyle areas including
Family Travel,
Finances,
Nutrition & Wellbeing,
Recipes and more!
If you'd like to post and interact with EB's
parenting forums read more articles about
conception,
pregnancy,
babies,
toddlers,
kids or more please visit
Essential Baby for the full site experience.
ToodlePopsMum
24/05/2010, 02:17 PM
HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY TAYLA!!! I hope your mummy gave you a new baby for your birthday

Happy belated birthday to
LAM's not-so-little man
Hope: your photos are beautiful - except the epi photo

OUCH!
Rach: hope the sellers do the right thing with the septic tank for you!
Me: nothing much

same old. I caught up with Blessed on Friday. Rian is just delicious! full of smiles and gurgles. Just beautiful. Other than that my weekend was pretty slow. A friend of mine is in hospital at the moment. She has a fever, sweats, feeling unwell and a tight feeling in her chest so she went to our local emergency room and was transferred to a different hospital and ended up having open heart surgery on the weekend. They said she has a virus in her heart which is affecting the valves. They had her on antibiotics but decided that the surgery couldn't wait. Poor thing. She is still listed as critical at the moment. It is heartbreaking as she has a 2 year old little boy as well.
blessedwithblueandpink
24/05/2010, 02:59 PM
Hi All
Yes caught up with TPM on friday. It was great to see her and little Aley is very very cute too!! She looks great with her weight loss!
Hope : Lovely pics. He looks super cute.Glad all is going so well.
Rach : Great news about the house. Not long for you either wow!!!
WL : MMMMMMMMMMmmmmmmmmmm where are you!!!! exciting - your next! if bub isnt already here!
All good here.gotta go
blessed
xxxxx
*~Lisa~*
24/05/2010, 05:19 PM
Still here My surgery got put into the afternoon now which is a bugger cause I hate being hungry the morning I could deal with but now I wont get done til after 1pm and cant eat after 6am.
If I dont eat I get dizzy and headaches even though I explained that not much they can do. Oh well going to be great fun getting an IV in another pin cushion here I come. On a good day where I drink heaps only takes 1-3 on a bad take the record is 18 yep 18 it was on the morning of being induced with Ellie. 5 different people and I only had fasted since the nice before.
Not freaking bout surgery itself just the general I suppose its the feeling of going to sleep and fear you make not wake up. Irrational for some but very real for me.
winelover
25/05/2010, 11:23 PM
still here - mainly reading.
Sitting upright for too long is uncomfortable
Lisa - all the best for your surgery xx
kalita
26/05/2010, 09:45 AM
Happy Birthday Emma
kgbird34
26/05/2010, 02:30 PM
HAPPY BIRTHDAY beautiful Emma, hope you have a wonderful day xx. I would write more but I'm eating an icecream at the same time and it's messy! Thinking of you Lisa, hope the surgery goes well xx.
ToodlePopsMum
26/05/2010, 04:41 PM
HAPPY BIRTHDAY MISS TANTRUM (aka Emma!!)dont really have much to say today

hope everyone is having a nice day.
*~Lisa~*
27/05/2010, 03:40 AM
Hi girls 3:30an cannot sleep surgery went well but having chest pain and my pulse is racing at 130bpm has done since I got out they are worked bout clots I'm just worried bout everything I thought I'd be in done go home tomorow without issues never happens with me oh well here's hoping it gets sorted and I can go home
luckyaussiemum
27/05/2010, 08:44 AM
Happy Birthday Emma! Hope you had a great day!!
Lisa You will be fine, another day in hospital to rest and regain some strength wont hurt you! Glad surgery went well!
Me Moping around, kinda at a bit of a loss today, not sure what to do. That explains half of my life at present. I started the Advance Diploma in Disability, related to my work and promotion BUT my heart isnt into it, it is boring and I want out of this field not a promotion in it! I have just been going around in circles for last 3-4 years career/study wise. I cant seem to committ to anything, make myself get past 1st base- IE stick at study or actually get a new job, or even apply for one! Ho, humm! One of thos days where sleeping in sounds good BUT for a little fella who needs my attention-little devil too. He is into everything and anything nowaday, he is like sand or salt!
Winelover How is the babies position going?
HOPE How are you going at home alone now with the two on your own?
TPM How are things? Hope you are okay!
Rachel How's Eddie going? You wont know yourself with 2 little ones at the same time, will be different for you, but beautiful too!
*~Lisa~*
28/05/2010, 06:40 PM
Evening girls. well I'm home thank god so much better in your own space.
They found no clots or any other probs so not sure what was causing the chest pain.
Now to work on getting better and not to push too hard and take it easy.
winelover
29/05/2010, 02:31 PM

I'm still here
luckyaussiemum
29/05/2010, 05:44 PM
Lisa Glad all is okay, blod clot wise etc! Hope your man is being a good boy and helping out where it is due!
Winelover Of course you are, 8 days to go + 2 I reckon!
winelover
29/05/2010, 09:43 PM
Winelover Of course you are, 8 days to go + 2 I reckon!

yep, well, atm it does feel as if nothing is going on - IYKWIM
Not sure I am mentally prepared to give birth yet! Not pumped like last time.
*~Lisa~*
29/05/2010, 10:02 PM
sending labour vibes WL
Dp has his first race meeting for go-kart tomorrow So be out all day not feeling too bad which is good too.
very much over not feeling normal lol I want to sleep on my tummy and roll over without feeling like my insides are fall over themselfs
6 week of taking it easy will be hard I reckon another 2 weeks should be ok stitches come out next friday
winelover
30/05/2010, 01:10 PM
Lisa - take it easy whilst you are out watching race today - don't overdo it!!
More lovely rain here today!
luckyaussiemum
30/05/2010, 04:39 PM
WL I wasnt prepared at all for Dempsey, wasnt really in a good head space with him, was fine with other 2! 6th June is a good day for a baby!
Lisa Have fun at the go-karts. Take it easy!
kgbird34
30/05/2010, 08:50 PM

If one more person tells me I'm 'not very big' I'm gonna knock their bloody eye balls out! I feel like a heffa and oh the pressure!! FGS.
KATH good luck darling, can't be too long now

. Hope you're getting pumped and ready!
LISA how was the go karting? And you have stitches to come out!? every time I have had a lap something or other the stitches were dissolving ones under the skin. Hope you're continuing to recover nicely.
LAM good luck with all your working and studying decisions, it's a PITA sometimes when you're not sure what you want to do. Gotta be sure to invest that time, money and effort. Ed's going well, thanks for asking, I'm sure he's doubled in size in the last 2 days.
Well I'm off to see if it's my turn to play scrabble again on facebook xxx Rachel.
winelover
30/05/2010, 11:04 PM
Hey Rach---
OMG your not very big, OMG you are SO big, so high, so low, so wide, you haven't dropped yet, is it your first? I reckon your having a...., are you STILL HERE?? You're really compact aren't you? You're heaps bigger than last time....it must be a boy. blah, blah, blah
Like I give a ......
Just keep smiling sweetie - I still love ya xx
*~Lisa~*
31/05/2010, 07:55 AM
WL- My lab sites are a little bigger in 2/4 so they put some inside dissolvable ones and a few outside ones that need to come out apparently. I've never had stitches removed so dont know the different just doing what I'm told.
Karting went well. Dp came in 3rd and it was a great final race no-one believed it was his first time out racing but his done other sorts of racing motorbikes & speedway so he knows what to do.
Everyone wanted to know why I wasent out racing some little birdy had told them I brought a new kart and it was quick lol In a few months boys I'll be out to beat your pants.
I didnt get a chance to rest yesterday was up walking round all day am certainly feeling it. I pick up the kids today so no chance for rest from here one. My mum has been great having them since Tuesday night so I could recover. I missed E like crazy. DS not so much I know thats prob mean but the kid just takes so much out of me give me twin newborns any day over him.
Ok must go pick up some flowers for my mummy.
paddington13
31/05/2010, 09:28 AM
Hey Rach -
you are not very big
Don't people know not to mess with a pregnant woman?
hopeforthefuture
31/05/2010, 02:15 PM
Sorry I have not been around much lately. Not dealing with this all as well as I had hoped.
I am arguing constantly with DH. He is an inconsiderate, self absorbed, unappreciative so and so.
We have all been sick. Including Owen. Poor wee thing. Such a big bad cough for a gorgeous tiny boy. And it is hard to have 2 kids while you are sick yourself. Thankfully DH's aunt took DD for the day today to give me time to rest. But alas, I have done nothing but housework. If I didn't, we wouldn't eat and noone would have clean clothes.
I feel like both kids are being neglected (attention wise). I don't pay enough attention to DD as I am always feeding, settling DS. I don't pay enough attention to DS, because I am either controlling DD or trying to get housework done. But hey, I have 2 beautiful kids and I am sure I will work it out in the end. But I think I will fall back into PND before it gets better.
On a brighter note. It was Annabelle's birthday yesterday. I have a big 2 year old. We took her on a lunch cruise, she is a little obsessed with boats. Some friends and family came along which was nice. She got lots of lovely gifts and was thoroughly spoilt rotten. She got up this morning saying 'Party?', 'Party?'. She was expecting another party today. Very cute.
I will try and come in more, especially to watch out for news of winelover. Good luck Kath!!
ToodlePopsMum
31/05/2010, 02:28 PM
Hey Girls,
am doing this from my phone so excuse the typos and the lack of personals.
I just wanted to say to Heidi......be gentle on yourself. You have a huge adjustment in your routine and no matter how much you think you are prepared for it, it is still an adjustment. Your DH is probably feeling next to hopeless as he can't feed Owen and as we all know newborns are VERY dependant in their mummy. They know your smell, they know th rythmn of your heart so even if DH did try and settle him it may make thig worse. He can help with Miss A though but inly when he is home and only Miss A will let him (we all know how a 2 year old can be at times!).
So I guess what I am saying is let things take time to fall into place, it will get easier and you will fall into a routine where DH can help more BUT you have to talk to him and tell him how you are feeling. Also recognize yourself how you are feeling and if you feel you are heading towards PND then please see someone as soon as you can.
Stay with us, talk to us and we can listen and give you some advise if that's what you need or we can simply listen

XXXXXXXX
winelover
31/05/2010, 11:20 PM
O Hope, I wish I lived closer to you so I could come and give you a hug.

Men just have NO IDEA. I am convinced of this.
You are doing a fantastic job raising 2 beautiful kids - be very proud of yourself. It is not an easy job, but rewarding in the end.
I hope you can come in here and talk to us, like TPM said. We will listen. Hell, it will probably be me asking for your advice on the very same issue in a few short weeks.
blessedwithblueandpink
31/05/2010, 11:46 PM
Hi All
WL : Soooooooooooooo funny with your comments re pregnancy - I was TOTALLY over all the comments at the end, so I feel your pain!!! Labour vibes to you!
Hope : You are doing great. Take it easy and it is an adjustment. In a few weeks you will forget what it was like to have one kid!!
all good here
Dreaming of a full nights sleep - one day................... lol
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
winelover
01/06/2010, 01:31 PM
here's another comment I got today
.... "your sitting in a different position to last time"
I wanted to say..... "still feels like a head stuck in my fanny"... but I refrained... I do have manners sometimes you know!
*~Lisa~*
01/06/2010, 02:27 PM
LOL winelover I probably would of said it instead of thinking it.
Hope chin up it will get better
E has been a real horror today she doesn't understand I cant pick her up and cant play horsey etc. She is just being a typical 2 yr old I suppose.
not much else going on.
kgbird34
01/06/2010, 04:16 PM
Hi girlies!
KATH you made me laugh with all your comments too; it's amazing how many you get!! And all the variations too! I'm sure people think it's rude NOT to say anything. Are you any more pepped up for labour yet? Hope so!
LISA yes I'm sure little E is just being a typical 2 year old! How are you feeling? Soreness improving? Hope so.
BLESSED good sleeps are coming... one year! I am sleeping horribly too at the moment, very uncomfortable and Bells keeps coming up to our room all the time; last night I got her back to bed about 2.30am and then DH rolled on to her Elmo Loves you doll and it started singing! Poor Elmo got thrown on the floor. If it's not bubba keeping me awake it's the bladder, Bells, DH snoring or the cat. aaaaaahhhhhhhhhh. How is dear little Rian going?
TPM hello darling, have you had an appointment with the gynae yet? Hope you're feeling marvellous. Still cooking up a treat I see on facebook, you make me salivate nearly every day!
HOPE chin up darling, it will improve. Those early weeks are hard; so hard; I'm getting nervous! Hormones all over the place and no sleep don't help. As everyone else has said vent away, we'll all listen and commiserate with you xx.
KALITA thinking of you in this difficult month; are you doing anything for your darling C's birthday? Don't answer me if you don't want to, but know I'm thinking of you all xxx.
PADS you are naughty. Hope things are going well with little Sam!
OOH I didn't tell you what happened on the weekend. Grace got a sliver of glass in her foot and was going hysterical as only a 9 year old girl can when DH tried to get it out with a needle. So he took her into emergency. A doctor in there got it out and G was still in pain so they did an xray to make sure it was all gone and found a needle in her foot, right up between her toes near the bone! So she had to have a general anaesthetic to get it out!! Lucky she stood on the glass, might never have known about the needle. I watched her get the anaesthetic and walked out of the theatre and started crying; wasn't nice to see my little girl all drugged up and gimpy

. Bells has a referral to see if she needs her tonsils out as they are massive and she snores like a trouper; I'll have to make DH go with her if that needs to be done! Well must be off xx Rachel.
*~Lisa~*
01/06/2010, 05:59 PM
Rach- recovering somewhat got ouchie bits but I'll live.
God knows if I ever had to have a ceaser I'm struggling to cope with not being able to bend or lift now.
I have something to share.
I've decided to go back to uni next year and complete my Div 1 nursing and do a post grad in midwifery.
Something I've wanted to do but put off cause I didnt want to study but I realise what a waste doing my nursing was to begin with. I wont go back to Div 2 I'm out of whack now and dont have my medications anyway so I'd be no better off than a PCA.
I should be able to go straight to yr 2 by doing a 7 week course over summer to bridge the gap.
And for practical reasons too more job security there is always a need for nurses and the pay is not that bad. Only reason I give it up it because I hated age care.
So here is hoping I get in and do well and in 2.5 yrs just before E hits school I'll be div 1
blessedwithblueandpink
01/06/2010, 10:52 PM
WL : Yes . I had to hold mt tongue at the end - " are you sure its not twins" - I wanted to say F&^k off its a nearly 10 pound baby!!!! what do you expect me to look like!!!
I was clever and told people at school I was due a week later than i was, so i kept saying " not due for another week"
I do hope you go on time though! fingers crossed xx
Rach : Lol I hear you on the lack of sleep! Rian is a pure dote. He is full of smiles and giggles and really is quiet a cute little baby and I call him my little maneen ( said with a strong irish accent!!) It is alot easier now he is awake for longer and can sit under the things he bats and is in bed around 7pm ish.. he does wake twice a night, but he is right beside me and i dont even have to get out of bed and I often fall asleep while he is feeding and find my head hanging down and it is agony to lift it back up!! He is very quick to feed and goes straght back to sleep almost always (touch wood).
Hope you get a few rests during the day before Edward comes!
Kalita : Also thinking of you as Claires birthday comes up . big hugs to you xxxxxxxx
Best go
love
blessed
xxxxxxxxxx
*~Lisa~*
02/06/2010, 03:59 PM
Had my stitches out today bloody tool of a student doctor who did it Yeah I know it was a student cause she come into my room with the other docs and told me and she was quite proud of herself.
Put in 9 stitchers far too many but did them so tight nurse had trouble getting them out and they also put the dissolvable ones in to close to surface so while taking out others nurse accidentally cut 2 internal ones. and opened the wound.
my Gp was far from impressed his never seen such dodgy work even from students. Not much we can do just cut them off and he put some more steri strips to close it again.
He made comment on how rough them seem to be but no-one my my GP office had even heard of my surgeon so he must be new or a blow in, just adds to my theory he was already an a*s*hole with no bedside manner and treats you like a number never a person. Glad I never have to see him again.
But considering its a week today since it was done I'm feeling pretty darn good I'm off all pain meds even panadol still get the odd niggle when bending but its getting better.
AND I've lost 4kg! WWWWHHHHHHHHHHHOOOOOOOOOOOOO in the week. Probably all fluid but hell its still 4kg!
winelover
02/06/2010, 09:56 PM
Rach - I always love reading your posts - they cheer me up. I think I am ready for this baby now. Although, it would be nice to have another Thur/Fri to myself while T is in daycare. Yayay about your house. OMG you are crazy moving now. I certainly couldn't do it whilst very pregnant.
Lisa - good for you on making the decision about uni. and given the gusto and determination that you did your swim instructors course with - I am sure you will be just as dedicated with uni. Why do you always score the dodgy medical practioners?? rotten luck!
Blessed - your doting on Rian is making me clucky! (lucky I am already seriously up the duff)
Well, no movement at the station here. I have threatened that if I am still in one piece next Tuesday at baby bounce at the library I will actually do the "hokey pokey" with the kiddies instead of just watching as I have been for the last month! lol Going to see Wog Boy 2 tomorrow. Then on Friday there is a craft show in town. O, I do have an appt with the midwife at the preg care clinic at 8:30am Friday morning. Hopefully sometime after that I will have a baby!!! waiting waiting waiting
Hi ladies - just trying to catch up.
Been MIA again - wish I could say it was something good distracting me, but quite the opposite.
One of my brother's died about 10 days ago. Sudden, but I guess not unexptected - he had been a severe alcoholic for the past 5 years. Coroner's finding was hypothermia which is just really sad. He was found on the floor of his apartment. Perhaps he fell and couldn't get up (he had a realy bad back as well), and just lay there getting colder and colder.......
So, I've been to sydney and back for the funeral, and now just trying to get back into routine again and go on with life.
Will keep an eye out for the new arrivals - go WL!!
winelover
03/06/2010, 03:18 PM
O lib, I am sorry to hear about your brother. That is not very nice. Take care xx
blessedwithblueandpink
03/06/2010, 04:16 PM
Oh Lib I am terribly sorry to hear about the tragic loss of your brother.
luckyaussiemum
03/06/2010, 06:56 PM
Been reading, but no time for posts will catch up soon! 6th I tell you WL!
LIB So sorry re your brothers death, find comfort in the good times! Take care!
*~Lisa~*
04/06/2010, 08:06 AM
Lib so sorry to hear about your brother. Hope your family is coping.
Anyone want a nice hacking chest rattling cough? Had it since I left hospital but its getting to the coughing so hard my chest is aching and not sleeping very well.
its just on winter and already I'm over colds and flu. DP is sick as well he seems to have Man flu.
Kids off to their dads tonight where I'm hoping I get the divorce papers back hasn't even signed them yet but we go to court in 25 days!
hopeforthefuture
04/06/2010, 08:31 AM
I'm so sorry Lib.
Winelover- baby day today? Keep us posted.
winelover
04/06/2010, 01:14 PM
Lisa - Trade you the cough for labour and a VAGINAL delivery??? Now there is a word we havent' used in a while VAGINA VAGINA VAGINA VAGINA!!
LAM - THe 6th is Good for me.
Hope - Any time now!!
Had midwife appt at preg care clinic this morning. Had a different midwife. It was nice, got some helpful advice. No more preg care clinic for me - she has booked my 41 week check-up at maternity on the 15th June. But, she doesn't think I will make that.
Been to craft fair this morning. Might go and have a flutter on the pokies (that will spruk Rach's interest) this arvo. Have to pay membership for a club, so why not? Might be my last chance for a while.
*~Lisa~*
04/06/2010, 01:51 PM
Winelover I would happily trade. At least there is something at the end!
I have pain galore and I'm not sure if I should go see the doc or not. My cough is annoying and hurting but now I have back pain between my shoulder blades just like I used to when I had a gall stone attack had it for a few hours after doing Dr Google seems quite common but I remember when I said I had this pain in hospital that its what started the whole blot clot thing.
Nurse on call is useless cause they always say go get checked out.
winelover
04/06/2010, 08:14 PM
Lisa - have you thought about calling Health Direct advice line 1800 022 222 ? They might be able to give you some more specific advice
At least there is something at the end!
ummmmm, sore swollen fanny!!
O yeah - and a baby!!
*~Lisa~*
05/06/2010, 09:44 AM
I have a chest infection its why I feel so crap ended up going to see the doc yesterday
When you do again WL? Cant be long I keep
kgbird34
05/06/2010, 10:56 AM
OMG I feel like a goddamned elephant and I thought to myself at the start of all this, 'this baby is such a miracle I won't complain even ONCE!!!!'. Well I forgot what it was like. Even rolling over in bed hurts and DH is jesting that I am crying wolf... ooh I'd like to set a wild wolf onto him!!! He has gone up to the new (old!) house to clean out all the gutters; of course that couldn't wait one minute longer, leaving me with the kiddies and Bells has emptied half a bottle of conditioner all over our suede couch and after much telling off went to do it again! I was a bit grumpy and dear Grace went and spoke to Bella and told her to be good and gave her a cuddle which made me feel a tad guilty. Grace is a dear little thing, she can be a real ratbag but when the chips are down she really comes though most of the time... I guess it's a survival instinct!!! Anyway it's not all doom; MIL is coming up today so 'D'H and I might get out to gold class tonight

. We got the keys to the new house yesterday but can't move in for a while yet, it needs some electrical work done to get the power on but can start to move bits and pieces in; I was a little nervous at first as there's a lot of work to be done to 'modernize' it but essentially it's a lovely old solid house that really needs nothing done yet but to make sure the heating etc works and we can gradually do it over the years. Even just a touch up of paint would make a world of difference, just a lot to think about with another bubba looming but we did it to ourselves!! Must keep thinking about the block; it makes me feel all peaceful.
LISA sorry about your chest infection, hope you get better soon! And your DP is good looking isn't he

KATH your posts make posts make me happy too, thanks for that

. Hope you are feeling okay, you sound like you're coping somewhat better than me and I've still got 3 weeks and 3 days to go!! Hopefully you're at the hospital now, pushing a big head out of your VAGINA.
HOPE your ring is beautiful, hope you are getting some sleep
LAM hello petal! Hope this is your month!!
LIB very sorry to hear about your brother, take care of yourselves xxx.
Okay I'm going to tackle some more cleaning now... ta ta!! xx Rachel.
winelover
05/06/2010, 11:38 AM
Hopefully you're at the hospital now, pushing a big head out of your VAGINA.
I wish!!!! Tomorrow is officially due date!
Girl from work who is due 2 weeks after me has her c-sec booked for Wednesday - I'd better go before her.
Rach - yes, I am feeling good at the moment. I had a good nights sleep. I was v uncomfortable a few weeks ago - but that seems to have passed. Wow, a new house to move to is very exciting. Your hubby sounds like mine - avoiding the fat, cranky pregnant wife at all costs!
Lisa - hope you are feeling better soon.
Kalita - thinking of you this difficult week
Thought there would have been a new thread now to claim gold on!!