The
Essential Baby forums cover all areas of
parenting and stages development for
babies,
toddlers and
kids as well as
parenting lifestyle areas including
Family Travel,
Finances,
Nutrition & Wellbeing,
Recipes and more!
If you'd like to post and interact with EB's
parenting forums read more articles about
conception,
pregnancy,
babies,
toddlers,
kids or more please visit
Essential Baby for the full site experience.
09/05/2010, 08:34 AM
luckyaussiemum
09/05/2010, 08:52 AM
GOLD
That's what you get for working on one's Sunday off!
kgbird34
09/05/2010, 09:29 AM

. I must formally congratulate LAM on achieving gold on this, mothers day. I hope everyone is having a marvellous time! My poor DH isn't. He's cleaning up madly for all the inlaws are coming for lunch and he is cooking

. Mind you, I have folded some washing on MOTHERS DAY! What's going on!!? xx
hopeforthefuture
09/05/2010, 11:07 AM
Thanks for your congratulations everybody.
Owen is just beautiful. I think I am in luuurve! Hevis much more placid than Annabelle ever was. He has been sitting in his basinett looking at me, barely uttering a peep, for the last hour. He is just the quiet observant type I think.
He is feeding 2 hourly day and night which is a bit exhausting.
I am still in hospital. DH and DD should arrive soon, to hopefully spoil me for mothers day.
Happy Mothers Day to you all.
winelover
09/05/2010, 12:44 PM
Happy Mothers Day Ladies!!
Hope - wow I am in awe - how absolutely beautiful!
LAM - you poor thing having to work on Mothers day
Hello and birthday wishes to the 2 year olds I have missed. I have to go and catch up on the end of the last thread.
I got some lovely cuddles and a card in bed this morning for Mothers day. A huge improvement from my first mothers day last year when I got the return of AF!!!! No such chance of this happening this year. This morning we went to the markets and the cemetary to visit DH's Mum and Grandma. Now DH has racked off to the shed with his mates - he couldn't stand the whinging from a nearly 2year old who is teething and has horror nappy rash and a fat heavily pregnant wife!! Don't blame him really - wish I could escape too!!!! lol
Hope mothers day is finding everyone spoilt rotten!
winelover
09/05/2010, 01:00 PM
Blessed – To upload your pics, go to your photobucket account (just create a new one if you can’t remember old ones details). Upload the pics to there, resize the images (can’t remember if they are medium or small) Once the pics are on photbucket – right click on the bottom link of each photo (will say something like copied) then paste into your reply in EB. Hope all this makes sense. Looking fwd to seeing your pics.
Paddy – How gorgeous to be at home with baby Sam J
Hope -
So much harder when you are leaving an older child at home for a week
. Guess I will find out soon enough – any tips?
Lisa & LAM – those divorce dates will be here sooner than you think!! It is so liberating when all divorce crap is finalised!! Woo hoo for both of you!
Manhattan – thinking of you – we are due similar times
Rach – Wow – a new house! OMG it is all happening for you. How are you feeling? If one more person tells me – “you are still carrying really high” I am going to go into a pregnant woman tanty rage at them. The only room I have left for this baby to “drop” is when it god damn falls out of my fanny. Sorry for my rant.
luckyaussiemum
09/05/2010, 01:44 PM
Happy Mothers Day to all,

everyone is fairing better than i at present, even Winelover

!
Still at work, until 4pm. This w/end is the kids w/end at their dads so thought I'd work and get much needed extra $$ whilst they aren't around anyway, but they are coming back earlier than usual for Mums day (they usually stay until tea then come home 6-7pm) and my Mum is coming for tea for mothers day!
Rachel u are fairing well for mothers day, lovely DH you have!
HOPE & PADDY have the best Mothers Day pressies, newbies to share it with!
Back to work!
winelover
09/05/2010, 04:44 PM
everyone is fairing better than i at present, even Winelover
what????? can you hear me trying to restrain the cranky pregnant woman in me??
winelover
10/05/2010, 12:32 PM
hello ..........
luckyaussiemum
10/05/2010, 02:21 PM
Winelover, hope I didnt offend you and you were just a cranky pregnant woman angry at her hubby!
Mum came over for tea last night. I got some chocolates that has been my lunch today

, and a new telephone set- 3 cordless phones, last ones died- well 1 got lost one I threw in a fit of anger a

, and the other died! And a cutsie pic of Dempsey from daycare

Homework day to day, this TAFE thing is stuffing around my schedule, must get more organised!! Today is usually house cleaning day as Dempsey in daycare, but is now homework day, well is today anyway. Anyway must get back to it, got until 3pm to try and finish then a few errands to run before kids pick up at 4.15pm!
And away.....
blessedwithblueandpink
10/05/2010, 04:04 PM
Thanks winelover
It wont work. I think it must be my laptop. I can get to the right click to paste but it isnt highlighted so I cant click on it for some reason??
Joined weight watchers to shift the last 7 kilos, so hard not eating chocoalte and yummy stuff as I am starving all the time!!!
cheers
Blessed
xxxx
*~Lisa~*
10/05/2010, 08:05 PM
winelover
11/05/2010, 04:12 PM
LAM - I could never be cranky with you!!

With dh YES!! All the time - don't start me on him
Blessed - maybe it's not a right click - I seem to remember doing something, maybe just a normal click over the code and it said image copied. When you try to paste it into EB can you use the "edit" tab at the top of the page and "paste". Maybe Kalita our IT whiz can shed some light for us.
Lisa - You poor thing. I have been eating plenty of chocolate today - now I realise it was all for you

Can you please drink my share of vodka?
Us - same old, same old. Mustering up the strength for aqua aerobics tonight. But the instructor is a cranky gay middle age man, who thinks its funny to constantly harrass and pick on everyone. I like to have fun and chat when I exercise - makes the time go quicker. Don't know if I am up for his belittling humour tonight. I have only been doing aqua for 6 weeks and the novelty is wearing off.
luckyaussiemum
11/05/2010, 06:33 PM
Just lost post due to Dempsey switching computer off, he has been a right little devil today! I am exhausted.
Winelover Have fun at aqua aerobics
Lisa Bummer re the swimming! Is there anyway to renew your nursing qualification? Can you still work as a PCA perhaps? Get into DHS or the likes in the disability sector (its what I do) as a casual then maybe you can find an ongoing position.
Well my tww is over 5 days early. AF arrived early darn it. Well at least it cuts the waiting time I guess, but 5 days early sucks too. Hopefully it is just my cycle getting back to normal after D&C and hysteroscopy I had mid April. Maybe next month for a BFP!

I hate waiting!
blessedwithblueandpink
11/05/2010, 10:40 PM
Thanks winelover. Will give it a whirl
x
*~Lisa~*
12/05/2010, 08:11 AM
winelover
12/05/2010, 03:36 PM
Lisa - woot woot

to signing divorce papers - hopefully it goes through smoothly with no hiccups
LAM - bugger those little people who switch off computers just when you are doing stuff.

A child proof gate for our study door was the best money I ever spent! Fingers crossed for next month
Blessed - waiting and hoping you can get some pics up for us all to go awwwww over!
US - woot woot.

Aqua was awesome last night. Regular instructor was away - so we had a lovely lady filling in. I feel so much more positive. Don't know if it was because of that OR this bub is just sitting in a different position,

but my body feels SOOO much better today, compared to the discomfort I was experiencing on the weekend. Feeling like this - I am quite happy to last another 4 weeks. Feeling like I felt on the weekend - I was happy for this baby to exit my body.
luckyaussiemum
12/05/2010, 10:53 PM
Lisa I just talked to EX today about divorce, he said he hadn't really thought about it but he guesses it is a natural progression. I gotta wait until end this month. If you do it jointly you dont have to attend court, but do when one spouse serves another, so hoping to avoid court and get EX to do the online application together- that should be interetsing!

All the best for the divorce party!
Winelover Was gonna say I hope the instructor called in sick, and he did! Glad it was a good workout!
ToodlePopsMum
13/05/2010, 09:43 AM
hi girls,
sorry about being MIA for a while. Have had some medical issues that have been pre-occupying my mind and spare time. i have just been diagnosed with pcos (polycystic ovarian syndrome) so i am trying to find out as much as i can about it before going to see my ob/gyn for his opinion. it has also got me thinking that we may not have any more kids so i am starting to think about how i feel about this.
no brain space for personals at the moment but i am reading
*~Lisa~*
13/05/2010, 04:58 PM
I've had a mixed day today.
I have a very bad mummy moment Ellie was playing with the car keys when I was putting her in the car seat I took the keys threw them in the front seat and closed the door only to find out the car was locked. I panicked keys in car Ellie in car phone in car no-one wanted to help all I wanted was some wire but finally someone took pity on me and lent me their phone to call RACV 25 mins later they rock up unlock the car and I'm relived. Never have I had keys locked in car with kids. I've locked them in cars but its always being a old car and I can jimmy the lock the new cars have silly protection to stop stuff like that.
After I calmed down and had coffee I get a call from the hospital a date has finally been set for surgery to remove my gall bladder. Thank god for that I've been having mass trouble last 2-3 months with not being able to breath and mass attacks. DP was going to call am Ambulance on Saturday night cause I couldn't breath and had so much pain but I didnt want to go. After seeing a surgeon last week he said it could be another few months so I went back to my GP yesterday after not being able to breath properly and he must of called them again so 26th May 7am I'm booked for.
And I have 90% sold my go kart guy is coming tomorrow for pick up well I hope he comes. Means DP can get his new kart and I get to have his old one.
Being having a rough time with my mind lately I'm on a few different medication to help with gall stones and the vomiting etc but also trying new anti inflammatories for my pelvis and a few natural stuff too so I'm kinda in a daze with not thinking 100% all the time.
Pain can be a real nasty thing and can be very distracting. But hoping that when gall stones are sorted then I can get off a few meds and really concentrate on my pelvis issues.
luckyaussiemum
14/05/2010, 10:14 AM
TPM Sorry TPM re your diagnosis, BUT never say never, you do not know what the future has in store so dont give up just yet re dreams of more children, but it must be a blow and for that I can only empathise that it must be hard to grip the reality of! Best wishes!
Lisa Re the car keys, at least it wasnt MID summer on the bright side

! And i hope re surgery goes ahead as planned and isnt cancelled!
Working all weekend so and exciting one for me planned!
winelover
14/05/2010, 03:20 PM
LIsa - what a frightening ordeal with your keys. Glad it didn't happen in the middle of summer.
TPM - bummer about the "female issues" one of my friends is going through similar stuff and she doesn't have any kids yet - and I know she has been trying for a while.
LAM - think of the positives work=money $$
Us - well I was booked for a pedicure this morning at 9 at TAFE. (tight a*se me - it's cheaper there because the students are learning). Anyway I got there and the girl who was going to do it had called in sick. Bummer - so they offered me a facial instead. And the best bit - they didn't want me to pay for it!! woot woot!!!! HAve re-scheduled pedi for next week. Provided this baby stays in place. I jokingly told them it would probably be me ringing cancelling next week!
Have a good weekend girlies.
PS. Today 2 years ago was my due date with Tayla!! Kalita and I were "hanging in there"
luckyaussiemum
15/05/2010, 10:14 AM
Winelover Lucky you re the free facial. And the $$$ aren't enough for working the weekend, they cut my hours so now down $180 for the w/end basterds!!! And what date is Taylas bday?
Soon I will be alone in here, well me and Lisa, everyone else off playing, or should I say to sleep deprived to come in here! Kalita to busy studying to chat!
I want a Blueberry muffin from McDonalds they are yummy!
winelover
15/05/2010, 08:34 PM
Tayla's bday is the 20th.
mmmm blueberry muffin from Maccas - make mine an orange poppyseed one while you are there!
I still hope to pop in and chat once this bub arrives - I just might not lurk here as much as I do now!!
This morning we went to an awesome "free" day put on by family daycare - pony rides, BBQ, face painting, sand paintings, tractor/train rides, jumping castle etc etc. All good and great fun until I took Miss TJ over to the jumping castle to hop on - because it was "quiet". Tayla was in the middle of scrambling in - and I thought the lady was just making polite conversation with me when she asked "how old is your little girl?" I said - "she's nearly 2" - well then the lady turned Nazi on me and abruptly stated she can't go in there

- OHS safety regulations - she must be 2." I then said she will be 2 on Thursday - but this was not good enough for her. She wasn't backing down. Can you believe that???? I told Tayla if she wasn't born 6 days overdue she would have got to go on the castle.
*~Lisa~*
16/05/2010, 02:31 PM
Hello ladies sitting back after doing a 6km walk for the RSPCA million paws walk.
Not something I recommend with 3 dogs, 1 on heat, 1 thinking his the biggest stud and 1 who is the smallest but has big dog syndrome. 4 kids 1 nana 2 loopy adults and a pram plus a few hundred other dogs.
Made for an interesting morning lol.
Top that off with maccas and I'm buggered.
Been a very physical weekend took the kids swimming yesterday and I went horse riding the kids all had a ride too. I've struggled a bit not being able to breath but all in all an ok weekend.
Car is booked in tomorrow for yet another problem so over this car. Had it 8 week been in the shop 5 times already.
kgbird34
16/05/2010, 08:59 PM
Good evening chickens!
Sorry I haven't been posting much, I'm sure you are all very sad about that and missing my posts like mad. I've been reading, my life is just a bit of a bore at the moment so haven't had much to say! Lets put it this way... facebook scrabble is my new best friend! Our offer on the new (old) house was accepted but we've added a few conditions to the contract as it has been vacant for over 2 years and want to ensure the major appliances won't explode the minute we turn them on, so waiting for some news tomorrow and hopefully will get something signed. If it should fall through we will all be devastated, DH and I love it, and Grace is so excited there are trees to climb and just loves it. Bell seems to love it but I'm sure she'd survive either way! So fingers crossed. We keep visiting it all the time, it only takes us about 7 minutes to walk there. Should only take a few really but me waddling and Bells dawdling adds a little time! 6 weeks and 3 days to go... and counting. Well that might be it from me tonight, sorry for lack of personals but I am avidly reading! xx Rachel.
paddington13
17/05/2010, 08:48 AM
Rach - is that the one on Howe st? It's huge! Would be great if you got it, fingers crossed for you! One thing I am glad to have lost is my waddle. Ha ha.
Toddles Hope you are ok re the PCOS. I have it and still have two munchkins, infertility attached to PCOS is a bit old school. One thing I would recommend is having a glucose tolerance test when not pregnant, as one thing associated with it is insulin resistance which results in weight gain. It took me a long time for someone to tell me that, but it made sense once I worked it out.
Lisa - you are craaaazy. Was the walk around the 'lake'? I used to do that walk when I was there at uni and it killed me then.
Winelover - I would have pretended that you didn't hear the crazy woman. Do you have plans for Thursday? B's party nearly killed me.
LAM - darn you and the mention of muffins! How is Bridie going with her sleep now?
Heidi - where are our pictures?
[b]Kalita - how is the study going? Is E behaving herself?
Us[/b] - Sam is beautiful, I just want him to stay little forever. Little miss 2 year old is gorgeous but cracks it over everything and I can't work out how to deal with it. Hitting, biting, the works. Lovely!
ToodlePopsMum
17/05/2010, 11:13 AM
hi girls,
i am here too!!! just reading, not replying much at the moment as I tend to read from my iphone and it is a pain in the butt to reply on that thing. it's only when i turn on my laptop that i can reply properly but then time and children are always conspiring against me!!
paddington: thanks for the words on pcos. i know it isn't all doom and gloom and i really just need to ring my ob and get onto to see where to from here. a friend of mine, who is a doctor, has also recommended to the fasting glucose test so i will bring it up with my ob and hopefully he sends me for it. she also recommended a particular drug which can help and she said that once i am on the right medication etc that my weight loss with be much easier - YAY!!! i have been struggling with the last 10kgs at the moment so hopefully this is part of the reason (oh and being part chocolate monster doesn't help - wonder if there is a drug for that!). Would love to see a photo of Sam if you want to share his deliciousness with us?
Rach: ohhhhh fingers crossed about the house! i had a look on the web as well and it is MASSIVE!!! loads of room for three kids to run an absolute muck!! Very jealous! We can barely kick a ball in our back garden without risking it going over to the dark side (ie: horrid neighbours) never to be seen again (they kept one of our brand new balls recently which has p'd me off to no end!).
Winelover" stupid mole! i would have ignored her and let Miss T jump till her hearts content! i hate how one person can put a real dampener on what was otherwise a beautiful day! Woo hooo - she will be 2 in a few days and then she can stick to the jumpy castle witch!! what have you got planned for her birthday?
LAM: Grrrrr to your work cutting down your hours! That sucks - not because you LOVE work so much but because of the big chunk of money that is now no longer in your pay !!! If work was so much fun, why do they have to pay us to go?

Just before I sign off.........I am seeing Blessed and her beautiful babies on Friday! Cant wait to have cuddles!!!
Happy waddling to the belly ladies! i have to get aley up, changed, dressed and fed all in 15 minutes as we need to leave to go to Joshy's swimming lesson at 9.30am! EEEK!
winelover
17/05/2010, 12:15 PM
Afternoon girlies! - Gosh Monday morning has flown by already! and I thouoght the next 3 weeks were going to drag on!
Had to take dh to Drs this morning for festy sty thing in his eye. eeeuuuugh.
For MIss TJs bday on Thursday the celebrations will be "low key". She is in daycare, so I will take a cake there for her to share with her little friends. On Sunday, we will celebrate at an indoor play centtre with a few friends and another cake. Haven't planned too much - just in case it needs to be cancelled at short notice should this bubs decide to make an early entrance into the world.
TPM - gosh, you must be good to get everyone ready in 15 minutes for a swimming lesson!! It takes me that long just to get myself up off the lounge these days!! lol
Paddy - I am so hoping you put some pics here for us soon to ogle over. Treasure your special newborn times with Sam.
Rach - I know you put the link for your house somewhere for us to have a sticky beak at. Was it here or on FB? Any chance of re-posting the link please so I can have a bo-peep. Every time you talk about the house I think - "I wish I had of had a look before."
Lisa - OMG your post exhausted me - you crazy thing!!
Us - Having Tayla's 2 year check up at Community Health this arvo. I am fully expecting them to tell me I have bred a midget with a loud mouth who is nearly 2, but is the size of a one year old!! Wonder how close to the mark I will be?
ToodlePopsMum
17/05/2010, 03:59 PM
More baby news......(in case you didn't see or aren't on FB).
Psychobabble had her baby girl
This is her announcement from FB:
Psychobabble and Mr Psychobabble
(I changed their names
) are thrilled to announce the arrival of Amaya Grace 7 pounds 4 ounces (3.28 kgs) at 8.56 am Friday 14th May by successful vbac!

mum and bub doing well x
kalita
17/05/2010, 05:24 PM
Hi guys. I am round, just not in here. Best for my mental health to avoid it with all the baby news and Claire's birthday coming up. I know you understand

TPM is keeping me up on the goss anyway

huge congrats to those who've popped and belly rubs to those who haven't
luckyaussiemum
18/05/2010, 12:01 PM
Well life is even more interesting, and NOISY, here now. My Mum and sister are now living with me as they are having a granny flat built in my back yard and until that happens (4-5 months) then them and their 2 dogs, along with my 2 dogs, 1 cat, 3 kids are all living together! Yippee
VERY NOISY, the dogs keep barking at each other and they follow me everywhere- one of Mums dogs is my old baby girl who is 14, who I got many moons ago as an 8 week old before I was even married and living with my ex boyfriend, but she is still crazy even though a lot slower nowadays (Kelpie cross)!
Kalita hugs to you! How is the studying going??
Psychobabble and hubby and big brother CONGRATS on the new bubba- Amaya!
Winelover LOL to the midget with a loud mouth!

Havent taken Dempsey to child health since he was 12mths, so I can't compare his growth to his siblings which is sad not having same 2-6mthly records to look back on. Hope the parties go well! And eek to ya DH's eye, I remember getting stys all the time as a kid then never had one since.
Paddington Dempsey is going thru a stage where for no real reason he seems to crack it over the littlest things- minus the hitting and bitting though! And Bridies sleeping is getting better, slowly, school is our latest problem

!
TPM Too true about working- if it was so great they wouldnt have to pay us! Give Rian a cuddle for me too please!
Better get a move on, work in 2 hrs and still in PJ's.
*~Lisa~*
18/05/2010, 02:22 PM
Anyone want to buy a car? Sell it cheap????????????????????????
I am so bloody over my car. I'm scared to get in it now.
Yesterday in the shop for the 5th time since owning it for a rear rocket cover leak.
Today a bloody flat tyre. Of course in the middle of school peak and in a busy intersection I notice it so I pull over only to relise that to get the spare out from under the car have to pull have stuff out of the boot to get to a bloody bolt.
And you know all these people walking driving past me swearing at the car with my a*se hanging out my jeans cause I couldnt find my belt not one person offered to help. plenty of school kids laughing at the mad crazy women.
Maybe if I was skinny with a face full of make-up dressed like a hooker people may help. Not that I care I can change a tyre on my own but whats the world coming too? I've stoped to help women fix tyres cause lets face it most women would rather not change a tyre and get crap all over them ( and their white shirts like me this morning) Just sucks people dont help anymore.
So now I have to get a new tyre maybe even a new rim cause I drove while flat until I relised a few km down the road.
I swear this car is more problems than any car I have ever owned. My $500 bomb first car never missed a beat yet a $17000 is in the shop every week.
hopeforthefuture
18/05/2010, 06:13 PM
Just a short post from me, as I am about to head out to uni, Owen in tow.
Owen is just gorgeous. Such a calm, relaxed baby. So very different to his big sister. Sleeping well now. Has 3 feeds overnight, each feed and resettle takes about an hour. So not too bad. I manage to get about 7 hours sleep a night (I go to bed when DD does), which is not too shabby when I have a 12 day old.
DD sick today. Some sort of virus. She has been sleeping most of the day, the poor wee thing. So unlike her. She normally doesn't stop the whole day. I am a little off colour myself, but there is no time for me to be sick, I have a sick DD and a newborn. Happy days.
I have missed the last 3 classes at uni, so I have to go tonight, regardless of everyone being sick. My brother is in town to visit me, so he is driving me to and from uni (I still can't drive due to c/s). Owen is coming, as BF and plus, I don't think I could be without him for nearly 3 hours. I don't want to leave DD, but this is the price I pay for trying to make a better life for us all.
BF is going well. So much better than with Annabelle. My nipples are still a little tender, but you expect that. Milk is flowing freely. Owen is now putting on weight. He does dribble a lot of milk while he is feeding though. I feed him and have wet clothes afterwards. Very sticky.
Well, I have to go. Can't be late.
luckyaussiemum
18/05/2010, 08:01 PM
HOPE Glad all is going well! Maybe, like me, parenting seems a bit easier/comes more naturally 2nd time around! Or, maybe its having a boy, or both, who knows, but DS1 was so much easier than DD. I think I was just calmer, knew what I was doing, what had to be done etc! Best wishes with Uni and DD's b'day coming up- date??
*~Lisa~*
19/05/2010, 10:34 AM
ok girls need some reassurance here.
This time next week is my surgery day and I'm started to get a bit scared by it doesnt help I just read the kid going under GA thread.
I've never had a GA had plenty of locals never even had an epidural.
I honestly dont know why I'm so scared (yep I admit I'm bloody scared)
So can someone give me a run down how long to go to sleep? To wake up? Any side effects nausea etc?
How long til DP is allowed to see me?
Apparently the procedure is only about 45 mins.
so just some kind words be good please
kalita
19/05/2010, 11:02 AM
Well I made it until E was almost 2 before having to call poisons information

Devil child was eating sunscreen when I got out of the shower, put a chair up to the shelf it was on to reach it. Sneaky.
Lisa you will be fine. Every time I have been put under they made me count backwards from 10 and I never got past 8! Waking up you will probably feel groggy and maybe disoriented, I am always fine but my sister always has a chuck and then feels better.
My sister also got a morphine drip when she had her gallbladder out so make sure it gets a workout

She told me the hardest bit was the nurses wanted her up and moving ASAP and because it was abdominal surgery (maybe TMI) she felt like she had to pass wind all the time but nothing was there.
Good luck
LAM I kind of lost the studying plot there for a few
weeks months but am back on track now. Final essay written and I just have to
catch-up study for one more test. I have been getting very good feedback which kicked my butt into gear to keep going.
luckyaussiemum
19/05/2010, 07:23 PM
Lisa bummer about the car, looks like a Tarago or Carnival might be the go!

No car for me until 2011 anyway at the rate I am going!
Kalita Glad you are still studying! What was it you were hoping to get into next year?
blessedwithblueandpink
20/05/2010, 04:17 PM
Hi just a quick one
Lisa : I am a nurse and look after people loads and loads of times after keyhole and open gallbladder surgery. I imagine it will be keyhole. Yuo will be fine. You will have a drip with fluids and about 4 to 5 "stab sites" on your tummy. you might feel windy as they put air into you to get better visibility. Pain relief wise is usually just oral stuff and you can normally eat and drink that evening and go home the next day. We normally get you up in the evening to walk to the toilet, mainly to make you wee!!You will go home with pain killers and see your gp for follow up normally. You usually dont feel too nauseaus, but would recommend only eating a small amount that evening even if you are hungry as if you over do it it would come back up.
Hope this helps
blessed
winelover
20/05/2010, 09:40 PM
My little girl is 2 today - Happy Birthday Tayla!!
Blessed - I reckon you would have beautiful bedside manner with your reassuring words for Lisa. Any chance of a quick trip to Griffith, NSW to nurse me whils i'm in maternity?? Just thought I'd ask!
Kalita - Yay for getting back into uni - "just do it" is what I always tell my students!
Lisa - I have had no experience with GA and have only had stitches "down there" after giving birth - so I am afraid I am not much of a help. I hope your op is a success and brings you some long term comfort
LAM - hello
Hope - you sound very well for someone with a new bub - hope I can manage as well as you. Think I will be listening to your advice about going to bed early etc
Us - Had a nice day today. T thoroughly spoilt - had a cake at daycare. Me - had midwife appt early this morning - midwife gave me a very good poke and prod - she thinks baby might be posterior. Ouch!! Can anyone offer any tips??? Also had eyebrow wax and eyelash tint, then had hair done!! So I am "good to go" IYKWIM!!! Having a pedicure tomorrow. By the end of today, my body felt buggered! Think it was the grocery shopping that killed it - feels very sore where midwife poked!
*~Lisa~*
21/05/2010, 08:00 AM
HAPPY BIRTHDAY TAYLA!!!!!!!!
Blessed, thanks all my nursing was done in aged care only did 2 week acute care for study but it was a while ago lol.
Surgeons said it will be lap but apparently my gall bladder has moved up and is quite inflamed so he said he might have to change to open but probably not I suppose they have to tell you that.
Trying not to worry bout it all they do 1000's of these surgeries every day
kgbird34
21/05/2010, 09:08 AM
Hello girlies! Happy belated birthday Tayla!! Kath, any forward leaning upright positions will help turn your bubba from posterior, so will lying on the same side that the bubbas back is facing. Try googling too, you might get a little more information than that. I hope you have some luck, Grace was posterior and the back pain hurts! Then again, any labour does. They can go one of two ways being posterior - take a long time to turn thus a long labour, or can be born direct OP with the little eyeballs facing up to you instead of your bottom! I've seen a couple of those and it's weird, but they come out just the same

. Good luck! Lucky you, still 5 weeks and 5 days to go here

LISA good luck for next week, you'll be great! Hope you got my message of FB.
Better go, organizing a heap of crap. xx.
luckyaussiemum
21/05/2010, 09:47 AM
BELATED Birthday wishes to Miss Tayla!! I trust you enjoyed your cake and play date and got some great presents!
LISA I have had a few GA's and cant say I have had any trouble at all, they say they are going to inject you with something and you lay there, the world starts getting very heavy to look at next you know you are waking in recovery! You will be fine, accidents are VERY few and far between and things happen are usually with patients with long lists of medical problems!
Winelover Did you get anything else waxed, need to to be all NEAT for the baby pushing!
My big baby boy is 9 tomorrow, I remember his birth as if it were yesterday, skinny little chook he was, and still is!
luckyaussiemum
21/05/2010, 08:12 PM
hopeforthefuture
22/05/2010, 01:03 PM
paddington13
22/05/2010, 04:13 PM
Awwwwwwwww! Soooooooooooooo cute! Cluck cluck cluck cluck!!!!

You make cute babies!
Paddy.x
luckyaussiemum
22/05/2010, 08:14 PM
Happy birthday to my Baby boy Riley who is 9 today, actually technically in about 10 more minutes he pushed his way into the world -8.20pm!
Great Pics Hope, tried to comment on FB but FB is playing up for me, so need to get someone to sort things out and get it working properly, not sure what the problem is! Love the MEET the world Owen pic as he has just been pulled out! And the proud big sis, bring back memories, except Bridie got the chicken pox the next day and I had to ispoate her from bub for 5 days- my b'day boy!!
siemp
23/05/2010, 07:47 AM
Hope - you just managed the impossible! I want a newborn baby now !!!!!!!
Back to
kgbird34
23/05/2010, 12:29 PM
Hello chickens
HOPE your photos are lovely, I particularly love the ITS A BOY, it looks very arty and spiritual! Owen is lovely. Hope you have a great 30th birthday!
LAM happy birthday to your boy! Hope he had a great day. Grace is reaching the double digits this year, scary how fast time goes. Hope you have a fantastic few days off.
KATH I am suspicious of your absence; we need news! NEWS! find some time to send us a message, even if you're in labour please.
LISA not long now! You'll feel like a new woman without all that pain. We must catch up after that, in the next 5 weeks! I'll be holed up at home for bloody weeks after that!
We have finally signed our house contracts, have till Monday afternoon for our cooling off period. The sellers are very slimy developers; we met our neighbours yesterday and they informed us that they would like a new fence! So there's another $3000 or so to find. Slimy bastards (the sellers, not the neighbours!) Anyway what can you do, we love the place. Settlement is 90 days but we can move in as soon as it is unconditional and we have paid the deposit, so hopefully next week sometime, then we can get this house cleaned up to sell so we don't owe the world too long. Only thing is the septic is full at the other place and the sellers as part of their contract need to make sure it is all working properly and this will be done in a 'timely fashion' so technically they have 90 days still! We will have to either drive back here for a toilet stop or appeal to their good nature for a quick resolution. I can just imagine coming down here when the real estate agent is showing someone through when I am on the toilet! Well must be off xx Rachel.
*~Lisa~*
23/05/2010, 03:25 PM
Rach we'll do the catch up super soon, Where is your new place?
We are so desprete to move from where we are so sick of feral bogans but we're kinda stuck for a while at least.
Not much going on here doing a big of reno to the house well pulling down a built in robe in our bedroom the thing is massive and we barly use half of it so we pulled the middle section down (goes along entire wall) and fit the bed head and 2 side draws in there so we're kinda sleeping in a cuboard lol.
Makes the room so much bigger and I have side draws again!
And it frees up a wall that we can mount the TV on so another thing fixed. Eventully we'll pull it all down cuase we found out its be done by Dodgy Brothers & Co but we didnt have the plaster or the time to fix it.
Must go more cleaning to do.