The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: October 09 Parents # 36

Essential Baby > Parents' Groups > Join a parents' group here > 2009
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4
Happy Mother's Day everyone

http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/forums/ind...howtopic=789753

honeyfly
GOLD!!!!

So don't deserve that I'm too slack!!

Happy Mother's Day to you all, and Happy 1st Mother's Day to many of you! Your kids and bubs are very lucky to have such wonderful and devoted Mum's!!

Have a wonderful day!!

Luv Brooke and Hannah xoxo
jemso
ah bother brooke got in before me! SILVER

HAPPY MOTHERS DAY LADIES hope you all have a better day than i am expecting. DH doesnt really believe in mothers day, so i very much doubt he has organised anything, and seeing as he is still in bed...

at least emily gave me a bit of a pressent, she slept through til 8:15, but she did wake up a few times inbetween, though i got extra sleep so i dont care.

hope everyone has a great day.

Iammum
BRONZE

Just checking in!

Happy Mothers day yet another day that doesnt mean much to me........ DP is at work so I didnt get a sleep in or a cooked breakfast, I think Jake bought me something from school but his forgotten laughing2.gif anywho hope you all enjoy your days wink.gif
koiles
Happy Mothers Day everyone! I hope you've all had a wonderful day, especially those first timers! I got nothing...I really didn't think it would bother me but it did, I got upset and had a teary. DH has been sick and said he just ran out of time to get me something. Poor excuse, he's had ample opportunity. I don't care about a present, that doesn't bother me in the slightest, but I really would have liked a card. For my first mothers day for DH to just come out while I'm feeding E his first bottle and say 'sorry I didn't have time'...it hurt.

On a brighter note my mum and dad flew in today to stay a week. So excited! We're having them and the IL's over for dinner at our place tonight so I've been doing some cooking this afternoon.

Better dash, just wanted to come in and wish you all a happy mothers day and have a little vent about DH...apparently I can't say anything in front of him anymore because 'you're making me feel worse than I already am' ...least he knows he did wrong! He keeps saying he'll make it up, but really he can't, it's over and done with now.
harpsichord
Happy Mothers Day!

I hope everyone cuddled their babies extra hard today! We've had a nice day here just spending time together. original.gif
jemso
kylie hugs. i am feeling exactly the same way as you. i dont care i didnt get a present, but ANYTHING to make my 1st mothers day special would have been appreciated. at least your DH feels bad, mine is still adamant it is my fault for not telling him i wanted him to do something to celebrate mothers day, and he keeps saying it is emilys fault cos SHE didnt get me anything rolleyes.gif

when we went to see my mum, my mum had a go at him, and about half an hour ago my dad turned up with a box of choccies for me (he was at soccer when we saw my mum) and i am pretty sure my mum sent him, even though he said she didnt. and to be SO nice i am NOT sharing any of my choccies with DH even though they are his favourite ones!

to make my day though emily has been saying mum mum mum ALL day long. it is so fickle, cos yesterday all she would say was dad dad dad, so was very appreciated when she keeps saying mum mum mum today.

anyways, cant be bothered with personals, i think i am up to date anyway.

SOOOOOO exciting afm we did a massive clean up yesterday, we left emily at my parents house for 5 hours and got stuck into all the cleaning jobs we needed to do, and now our unit is ready to be put on the market! i am going to call the real estate first thing tomorrow. our unit looks awesome, and i LOVE it being so clean.

hope everyone has had a good mothers day and kylie and leish hope you got lots of extra special cuddles from your boys.
**Foxy82**
wub.gif Happy Mothers Day Everyone!! wub.gif

Hope you have had a great day with your bubs and families!!
We are all still sick which isn't much fun but I've had a nice day yyes.gif
Jayniepoo

Sorry to hear there have been a few of you that havent had good mothers days sad.gif I hope that it IS made up to you somehow!! And Jess, i hope you enjoy those choccies!! I would so do the same thing! dev (6).gif laughing2.gif

We have had a really nice day. Its always a bittersweet day for me, not having my mum with us anymore, but having the girls and DH who is really great makes it a lot easier wub.gif

Hope all the bubs go to bed without a fuss for their mummies tonight xoxox
MnM
Hi guys, Hope you all had a lovely mothers day - especially the first ones.

I had a lovely day.. yesterday DH had a lie in so today was my turn, althougu i couldn't sleep becuase Miles was running in every few seconds to see if mummy was awake yet laughing2.gif but i stayed in bed about an hour extr and had a little read of my book... then got up and Miles and i went for a little swim while Greta slept.. then we were gonna have bacon on the BBQ for brekkie but didnt have enough bacon left so decided to pop to the cafe up the road and have soem brekkie out - then came home and cracked on with the house a bit more and its looking so much better biggrin.gif

Im gonna get lynched but i don't beleive in pressies for Mothers day - just like to spend the day with my 2 little ones.. Funny, someone asked DH what he was getting me for Mothers day and he said "nothing, she's not my mother" laughing2.gif totally agree, but thats just us... a perfect day.

Oh Miles did make me a home made bookmark thats very lovely wub.gif his scribble drawing on a purple peice of paper ... i promised him id use it to mark my page wub.gif

Did anyone get the free box of ferrero rochers from Woolies ? i did a little shopping there yesterday and got a box biggrin.gif DH is allergic to nuts so got them all to myself tthumbs.gif
hope everyone ele got lots of cuddles from their little ones.

Gave Greta a bowl of mashed potatoes and sausage for dinner tonight - she loved it. i did giver her a spoon but she tossed that and got stuck in with her fingers, it was so sweet to see her lovimng it so much and grabing handfulls from the bowl.

Miles is walking around the house with his nappy on, his teddy bear under his arm and playing his rocl guitar laughing2.gif quite the little rocker!

Ok well best go - got to e-bay a few itmes that no longer fit in our house.. bookcases and dressing table and some tiles

ETA: Jayne bbighug.gif Awww thats so sad.
koiles
LOL Jess our days sound exactly the same...after I got upset DH was trying to defend himself by saying 'it's not me that didn't you anything it's Evan' and 'you're not my mum'...I don't want anything and the thought of him buying me something is silly because I'm not his mum...but I am the mother of his child and until E is old enough to know what's going on I think it's his responsibility to do something on behalf of E...I don't think that's so wrong is it? I didn't want a present, a card would have been nice, but even with neither of those things, it just would have been nice for him to acknowledge it, that's all I wanted. So when he just came out with 'I didn't have a chance to get you anything' instead of 'Happy Mothers day' it just really hurt me especially as it's the first time I've got to celebrate mothers day.

My mum also went out and bought me choccies and was making snide comments to DH all night lol laughing2.gif. The choccies are gooooddd and they're all MINE!
Bluey04
HAPPY MOTHERS DAY EVERYONE!!!

Just big hugs to those that didn't have a good day. ((hugs))

I had a lovely day - even got a sleep in (although thats mostly cos Alex is sick and he didn't get to be till 1am last night but i'll take the 8.30 am sleep in regardless). Got chockies, flowers, hand made cards from both boys, and a book and card from DH and spent a lovely day wth Dh, Dh's mum and boys - picnic in the park and then a zoo trip for the boys which they loved. So all in all, very nice original.gif

helenn82
Happy Mother's Day to everyone! Hope you have all had a lovely day with lots of cuddles from your bubs.

For the first timers whose partners didn't get anything....(apart from bub cuddles) there is hope! My hubby was the same but the second year I got a card. I got my first present this year...third year in (though I think it's because he would be up the creek if he didn't as he didn't get me anything for our 5th wedding anniversary a couple of weeks ago! lol)

Just reading again....as usual these days. Sorry. original.gif

Iammum

Kylie - nawwwww sucks aye! I know how you feel, I didnt get anything for my first mothers day from DP on behalf of Jacob either and nothing thing year on behalf of Lucas.

Ok so I did get a gift, which Jakey got me from the mothers day stall at school on thursday.... and it was only because when DP dropped him off at school he seen all the other kids up there buying pressies for their mums and DP didnt want Jake to be left out LOL so lucky DP took him that day hehehehe sucker! and Jake also made me a card in class which says he loves me cause I give him lots of presents and cuddles and kisses, he drew some smiley faces on it and wrote his own name and glued some colour shapes on the front that look like flowers in a flower pot hahaha very cute!

The rest of my day was good. My sister came over and we were bored so we made cupcakes then watched a movie then mum and my other lil brother and sister came over. My brother was in a bad mood cause mum wouldnt let him eat cake before he came so I was a nice big sister and made him some toasties (cause he reacons he doesnt like cupcakes) then after 2 toasties he ate 4 cupcakes hahahaha bratt! so it was nice to have everyone over and DP got home at 330pm to a full house! hehehe he was disappointed when he came out after his shower to find everyone had left and Jay ate all the cupcakes laughing2.gif
Naomi*
Hey everyone,

I too had a wonderful Mothers Day. DH made me breakfast in bed while me and the kids just laied in bed watching cartoons. Then we had a lazy morning then we went out for lunch. When we came home Levi was due for a sleep so when he slept I laid down too and he slept for 2hrs SWEET! Then we got another takeaway for dinner and a movie. So it was a perfect day.

For all those slacker first time fathers give them a quick kick up the bum, TBH I would prefer my birthday to be forgotten but definietly not mothers day.

Better run its towels and sheets washing day today!!
honeyfly

Sorry to hear some of you didn't have a good day yesterday, bad Daddy's!!! I was really not expecting anything, but ended up having a big breakfast made for me, and was surprised with a Pandora bracelet (DH got the idea off a friend of mine), with a little gold dummy as my first charm to always remind me of my first Mother's Day (this was his idea, wow, or maybe the shop assistants!! lol). So I was very lucky, although I didn't really know what all the big deal was with this Pandora stuff, but it will be a nice keepsake to keep adding too. Next to get is a little dog.

Then we went to my Mum's for lunch and Sam's Mum's for dinner, so a busy day!!

Hannah too has a cold at the moment, such a fight to wipe her nose, and she missed swimming and immunisations today, bummer.

Have a happy Monday, bbl.

Luv Brooke
Lohsmummy
Hey ladies,
nice to hear some people had a lovely mothers day, and im sorry to those who didnt sad.gif

Jess
thats so nice of your mum and dad!! my parents would have done the same. were so lucky to have such thoughtful parents. Sorry DH was being a DH (d**k head)! hopefully he realised he has upset you though!! awesome about your unit!! where are you moving to?? moving house is such hard work but its so exciting!!

Foxy82
Sucks that you are all sick! but glad to hear you had a nice mothers day. hope you are all feeling much better soon!

Jayne
Glad that DH and the girls made your mothers day special. im sorry about you mum. your so brave, i dont know what id do with out my mum! hope your day was special bbighug.gif

MnM
i totally agree with the whole no need for presents on Mothers/Fathers day, i always brought my mum a box of choccies or flowers coz she does so much for me and its basically just to say thanks! but i didnt expect anything except help from DH! he was sweet, i think its just coz it was my first so he made it special original.gif

Kylie
Dont you DARE share any of those choccies with DH!! if he doesnt believe in mothers day then he doesnt get to enjoy the gift lol! glad your parents thought of you!! gotta love mum and dad sometimes hey xox

Leish
Glad your day got better!! i cant wait for Loh to go to school and bring home cards like that!!! thats awesome!

AFM
i had a lovely mothers day!! Loh slept through again and woke up around 7.30 so it was nice to get a full nights sleep for the 2nd night in a row! then DH got up to get her and brought back my present! (wrapped in a plastic bag - i think its funny but why are men so hopeless with things like wrapping or getting cards LOL) anyway, my card was so gorgeous it read...

"To Mummy
you are the best mum i could ever ask for.
I know things arent always easy but none of that matters because i have you.
thank you for being so loving unselfish and chubby (we all call each other chubbs - mumma chubbs, papa chubbs and bubba chubbs LOL)
I cant wait until i can talk and let you know how much you mean to me
Love Shyloh"

AWWWW bless DH and i got a carlton Jumper!! we are blues fans, i also got a box of choccies from my gran, 2 new mixing bowls from my mum, a bag of cookies from my SIL and my sis brought me a slow cooker recipie book!! how spoilt was i!! and i didnt expect to get anything lol it was like my bday!!
but DH made breaky and we had my neices 1st bday as well so we had lunch at DH's mums and then neices Bday which was nice but it was SOOOO cold!!!
Loh also slept through last night, so thats 3 nights in a row, its awesome. i dont know whats going on but im loving it!! shes still not sleeping nicely during the day though!! but i better go, DH is home sick today and i gota get Lohs and his lunch ready.

hope everyone is well

Love xoxox

MnM
Aww Chantal, now thats a beautiful mothers day gift wub.gif id love something like that too. Hope you got your rental let biggrin.gif We had a couple in the UK and keep meaning to get one out here but we're too lazy to get around to it. I think we will once we get settled here. Its quie close to you so you can keep an eye on it by the sounds of it. we were wondering whether to get one close to us or in a different state so we could use it as a holiday home type of thing in Cairns or something - but the ones in the Uk that we had were a pain once we moved over here, so probably easier if you are near them. We ended up selling them anyway.. wish we hadnt now but it seemed too hard to manage them from over here.

Shell: nope not against buying our mums pressies.. i always buy for my mum - i did her a digital photo frame for Mums day in the UK which was in March - its husbands buying for their wifes that i dont get really, he doesnt know if my kids think im a good mum or not so id rather wait till they can express it themselves IYKWIM.. they might think im a terrible mum ohmy.gif I do love a nice painting though and got one from Miles wub.gif he loves to draw and paint for us. Glad you got spoilt.. sounds like all the family got you something laughing2.gif
Great that Loh slept through for you, she must have know it was Mothers day tthumbs.gif

Well my washing machine just broke oomg2.gif and i have a mountain of washing to do... im so far behind cos they have been in storage forever and only just got them out - i have bedding and towels and the kids are down to their last few items of clothing oomg.gif so not impressed... its only 5yrs old, thats not old for a washing machine is it ? dman thing - and funds are down to 0 what with moving house, renovations AND we fly out to the UK/Thailand in 7 weeks for a 5 week holiday oomg2.gif

Ok question about swimming pools for those that have them Marina biggrin.gif so we are hopeless and clueles so have to get someone to come out and help us for the first few months - so we called the pool guy and he came out with a contract for use to sign unsure.gif should we have to sign a contract for a pool guy thats coming out once every 4 or 6 weeks for 3 or 4 months? Seems weird to me?

Killer day, Greta has bee SO clingy its untrue, every time i put her down she has screamed, and i mean full on scream - wouldnt sit in her bumboe even right next to me.. just wanted to be held, oh dear i havent sat down all day, this has been the first time ive sat since 6.30am when i got up - my feet are killing.. and even when she has been put fo bed for her sleep i havent had a chance to catch my breath as Miles has taken her place and been even more clingy, oh dear me! I started sitting at one end of the lounge and have ended up right at the opposte end while ive been typing this as he has been sitting so close to me ive kept inching up to get a little space and he has followed me rolleyes.gif sometimes i just crave space!
Think i have dressed and undressed Wags the dog 10 times while ive been typing this ...
They are both so adorable but so clingy .. and both together is like overload! One of them has to be touching me at all times.. insane little people wacko.gif
ok whinge over.. moving on.

Ive cooked Greta up a bath of food for the freezer. Trying her with Miles all time fave, pear and blueberries.. ive pureed it for her, see how she goes with it.
Ive also cooked her some fish and mushed it up with some sweet potato and a tomato, see what she makes of that.

Ok got to go on a hunt for Miles Teddy Bear cos he cant find it and apparently he can't function without it .

honeyfly
Mandy - we have always looked after our own pool, but it seems weird that you have to sign a contract? Considering over winter you won't really be using the pool, you won't need to do much to it. We just put water in a water bottle and take it into the pool shop where they analyse it and they will tell you what to do. We haven't done anything to our pool for about 2 months! The filter runs about 4 hours during the day and 4 hours at night, we clear any leaves, and that's about it. We should probably get it checked soon, but all should be ok. Summer time is another story and you need to add a lot more to it more often due to frequent swimming and rain.
jemso
mandy i dont really care much about pressies on mothers day either, if emily was old enough i would have loved a special scribble drawing! i just thought my DH would have made my 1st mothers day a bit special for me. ah well, im sure he will get emily to make me something next year, or get her to pick out some choccies for me!

roll2.gif at the thought of greta grabbing handfuls of her potato and sausage! you should have filmed it. sounds like it would have been SO cute!

kylie how long are your parents here for? and are they staying with you? i bet your dad would have been happy to see evan!

leish glad you had a nice day in the end, and you got a house full of visitors. sometimes it is just what you need when you are feeling down.

brooke aww, your DH is so sweet. i have never been a fan of pandora bracelets, just cos they are too chunky and heavy for my taste, BUT if i was bought one i KNOW i would love it.

shell i cant believe you got such a beautiful card from shyloh (that your DH wrote laughing2.gif ) did you cry? i got teary reading it and it wasnt even to me! what a sweetie!

we wont be moving far, max 10 mins away. but swapping our unit for a house! it is SOOOOO exciting!

afm had another busy day. the real estate lady came this afternoon, so spent the morning clearing the last of the clutter. then went for a walk to the post office to post some stuff, then came home and did some cooking (for emily) then did the last bits of the cleaning - seriously dont know how there was still so much to do after the massive effort we put in on saturday.

then we had the real estate lady come at 4pm and she went through all the stuff to sign etc with us, and she forgot her camera so has to come back tomorrow to take the pics but that ended up being a good thing cos our unit gets all the afternoon sun so the pics would have looked crap if she had taken them today.

everything is so clean and tidy and all the rooms are echoing cos there isnt piles of clutter and stuff everywhere! our place looks so fantastic though, and we were told that we should probably get at least $10k more than what they thought when they came out in feb!

just a question if anyone knows. we have to organise a contract for sale with a conveyancer so we can sell our unit, and the conveyancer we picked told me it was $450 but then emailed the bill through telling us to sign an agreement that we will pay $1400 in total for conveyancing fees (of which $450 is for the contract for sale). i was told by 2 different RE agents that we would only have to pay for the contract for sale, so does the buyer of our unit have to pay the rest, or have i been misinformed by the RE agents and we DO need to pay $1400?

i would have called them but by the time i saw it they were closed.
K~and~A~plus~7
I wont even start about mothers day...what a farce! Lets just say he picked it to be a day to whinge about fathers day...fathers day last year was 4 days before Riley was born so i was in and out of hospital daily and heck the kids still got him presents form the stall at school!

But enough of that....can you believe missy is 8 months old!!! ohmy.gif 4 months til she turns one and i cant believe it. she doesnt seem like she is that old. Well i guess it is more like it doesnt seem like she has been here for that long, if that makes sense. Today we have had to remove the mobile from the cot, she had played with it but was leaving it alone. Today she decided would be a good day top tear the whole thing down!

Sorry for no personals....flat chat here with sewing (my new tags arrived so i am way too excited!) and Jack has his portfolio shoot on Wednesday and it seems like all his clothes are too big for him now rolleyes.gif
Lohsmummy
is raky still in our group? im not sure ive seen her post in a while, but i just read this...

http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/forums/ind...167&hl=raky

it think its outrageous! and some of the comments are nasty!!

im with you raky, hope oliver is ok! xox
Lohsmummy
on another note...
dont you hate it when people call your baby "my baby" as in THEIR baby
like my shyloh....

grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr
rrrrrrrrr rant.gif rant.gif rant.gif rant.gif rant.gif rant.gif rant.gif rant.gif rant.gif rant.gif rant.gif rant.gif rant.gif rant.gif
MnM
Oh wow that thread is bizarre ohmy.gif why would people have a go at Kylie when the store has been negligent... id be fuming too rant.gif
Im shocked at some of the comments - se strange.
I'll be checking dates from now on - its not something i ever think to do, i just trust its within its date - as Kylie did. Poor Ollie sad.gif

shell: rant.gif Oh i HATE that.. only person who doest that is my MIL.. its 'MY' little man this and 'MY' little girl that.....dh and i created them i gave bith to them ... they our OURS rant.gif yeah winds me up too rant.gif

Brooke: yeah thanks i thought it was odd re the pool contract.. and as you say we wont even use it now for months..wish we knew what we were doing with it laughing2.gif
awww that bracelet will be lovely with a puppy chain on it wub.gif

Well G is asleep in my arms wub.gif woke herself up again coughing... might be a trip to the Drs soon if it doesnt clear up soon - about to perform the transfer to her cot!

DH has gone up to Ikea so i was bathing and putting kids to bed and honestly, one yelled then the other yelled louder then they set each other off! i was split in half!

ok best put her back to bed

how insane is this, we sold a couple of doors that we had left over on e-bay, and said PICK-UP ONLY, so someone bought them and then sent us a message saying can we deliver them as we live too far away for them to come to us ohmy.gif WHAT THE... of course we cant! So now we will have to relist the doors for someone who will come to collect them as per the listing - and not to mention pay for the listing again rant.gif what a waste of my time!
barx_twins+1

Glad to hear that most of us had a great Mothers Day.

Sorry to Jess & Kylie, that your DH's didn't think to do anything for you. As others have said at least your parents came thru in the end. Hopefully next year will be better.

Chantal - What a lovely gift to get. Homemade is always the best.

Shell - How lovely is that card you got from shyloh/DH - so thoughtful. One to treasure wub.gif

Mandy - How Stupid are some people on Ebay, I swear they don't read listings. Check that you don't have to pay double the ebay fees if you have to relist. Sometimes you don't. How frustrating that your washing machine isn't working. Hopefully you can get it fixed or a new one ASAP. I don't know what I would do if mine broke. I would be stuffed. Also, hope Greta gets better real soon and she can shake that darn cough.

Brooke - How lovely is that present, very thoughtful. I have a pandora and DH & Loch went and got me another charm for it.

Jess - Good luck with selling your unit, hope it sells quickly and the photos taken for the listing turn out lovely.

Kylie - Hope you are enjoying having your parents here.

AFM - Had a great day yesterday. Went out for breakfast and lunch. Got woken by Loch wishing me a happy mothers day and giving me 2 bags of gifts. He had bought me a few things from the mothers day stall at school and on Saturday he wanted to go shopping with DH. Turned out he wanted to get me another charm for my pandora bracelet. He got me an owl, which I had looked at for my birthday, but had already spent all my birthday money. He than gave me a card he had made at school. It said Happy Mothers Day, and he loved me cause I care about him. wub.gif It so made me cry, it was so sweet. Oh, and I got my much needed and wanted new pair of slippers!!!! grin.gif

Today we went to the plastic surgeon about the mole on Loch's thumb and he is going in for day surgery at the beginning of June. Dr doesn't think it is anything bad, but will send for testing just to be sure. Not looking forward to the day, but it must be done.

I can't believe tomorrow the girls are 7 months old............where has the time gone. I can't believe we are closer to them turning 1 to when they were born. Makes me a little sad. Feels like me babies are growing up to quickly. sad.gif
babywannab
Hi All waves.gif

I've been ninja.gif but pretty crazy busy.

Sorry to the girlies that didn't get much on Mother's Day.

Kylie - glad your Mum got you some choccies! I should think you of all people deserve an effin trophy for your efforts this past 7 or so months! I don't know you or Tony all that well BUT (and tell me if I'm being silly here guys) I think he has grossly under-appreciated what you have been through since Evan was born!!

Jess - I hope you are appreciated too original.gif How cool about your house being worth more than you thought!

Barx Twins - I love that Loch wanted to choose you a bead original.gif so sweet! I bet you feel like time has gone so fast! With twins you must not have much to spare!

Mandy - Grrrrrr Ebay dumbasses. Hope Greta is better soon. I think Grace has got my sore throat poor love has been coughing today. Just a dry one so far though.

Michelle - great card!! Your DH sounds a lot like mine original.gif

AFM
I got a card too original.gif DF filled it out from Gracey!
He drew little cartoons of himself and Grace too LOL
He also got me a tin of the yummy wafer straws in choc mint and the lady gaga CD biggrin.gif
PRESENTS ON MOTHER'S DAY ARE NOT A NECESSITY but they are nice biggrin.gif

BUT THE AWESOME NEWS::::::

Grace is better

Grace is going to sleep on her own

DF is better

My life is better!!!!

Can't wait to see all the Perth Girlies tomorrow biggrin.gif

Thank the lord I sucked it up and was brave enough to listen to her whinge to teach herself how to go to sleep!!!

QUESTION
WHO DOES A DREAMFEED??
MnM
morning, just put Greta down for her nap but i have plumbers in the ensuite which is on one side of her room, a building crashing and banging in the main bathroom which is the other side of her room and painters talking at the tops of their voices right outside her room while painting the outside of the house so see how we go!

Well last night was different - took almost an hour to get them both to settle as one of the them kept waking the other, my reading to Miles was waking Greta, then when i left Miles for a 2nd to check on her he threw a tanty rolleyes.gif oh the joys - finally got them both to sleep and had just sat down after making a well earned cuppa tea and Greta woke up.. so off i went to get her, just got to her door and heard her sucking on her dummy, id attached it to her wondersuit so she must have found it. So off i went again, just say with my cuppa and Greta had a huge coughing fit and woke up screaming.. so off i went to get her. Picked her up took her into the lounge room and she fell asleep in my arms, kept her there 20 mins or so then popped her back into her cot. Just got her settled and Miles woke up and burst into tears so i ran to get him before he woke Greta.. he was doing a funny sort of cough so i thought perhaps he had woken with a sore throat but he said his throat didnt hurt unsure.gif so perhaps a bad dream.. really not sure, anyway i took him out to the lounge room and he sobbed for a little while, got him a drink of water and that seemed to help, then he settled down and went to sleep in my lap - so im sitting there thinking if Greta wakes again and im wedged here on the loune with a toddler on my lap ive got no hope wacko.gif thankfully Dh walked through the door 5 minutes later and carried Miles to bed.. neither of them woke again so all good.

Carly: oh wow thats so good that Grace is better - the poor little luv, it was so sad to hear how much she suffered with her skin ...so glad she is getting better.
Dreamfeed: nope never done one for either of my 2, but they have both been really good sleepers - i could never go pick them up and try to feed them while asleep it just seemed wrong to me. Greta has never really woken for a feed at night since she was 7 weeks old. Miles used to wake at midnight, everyone used to say i should've done a dreamfeed for him at 9pm the he wouldnt wake at midnight which may have been true but id much rather get up at midnight to feed him when HE wants to feed rather than my telling him when to feed IYKWIM... but he dropped that feed around 12 weeks so that was all good biggrin.gif

Ok well its my turn for kids morning tea at mums group tomorrow so best bake some cupcakes waves.gif
koiles
Just a quickie from me...severely lacking energy or motivation, I could normally chat all day but the past few days I've just been exhausted and internalising everything...that sounds more like the PND though. Am still getting major pg deja vu, if I hadn't got AF this month I'd be swearing I was pg. Am loving having my folks here, although still feeling pretty flat...sigh.

Will come back for persies later. Hope everyone has a lovely day.
Iammum
Jess - I was an assistant to a conveyancer years ago. The $450 fee will just be the conveyancers fee, as far as I know the rest will be disbursments, water, council fees but they just take 1 lump some fee from you and then at settlemnet time when they have all the latest rate/water notices they devide them up so that you only pay for what you have used and the purchaser pays the rest, so no doubt you will get a payback of the remaining monies after settelment. It should really state on your invoice what each payment is though...... like it should say convayancing fee $450 water rates $100 etc etc. Hope that helps! If your concerned call them and ask.

Carly - so glad Grace is better! original.gif

Sorry for sh*tty personals.....

Kylie - Are you on the pill?? Why I ask is.... after I had Jake and went back on the pill it actually made me quite ill pregnant sickness ill so I havent been able to take them anymore.....and I was fine taking them before I feel pg
koiles
Iammum yep I am. Wow I've never heard of that but it would explain a lot. How long after you started taking it again did you start to feel sick? I'm on month 5 now I think and it's only been this month I've felt like this. Maybe it's worth a trip to the gp to see whether I can swap pills or something...I'm just using the same brand I have been since I was 17.
Iammum
I would start feeling nausea about a month in.... I also took the same as when I was a teen. The pill actually tricks your body into thinking its pregnant, did you know that? thats what stops you from ovulating. lol DP and I are so bad very bad Im not on any contraception at all, and we dont use condoms either we go on the ovulation cycle very dangerous....... blush.gif I jump for joy whenever I get my AF hahahaha
thetuckers
Hi Mumma's and Bubba's,

I hope you are all going well, just popping in to catch up with you all. Have been ph34r.gif for a little while, but I find it incredibly hard to keep up with you all.

I know that it is late, but I hope you all had a great mothers day and got beautiful cuddles from your bubba's. To the girls I am friends with on Facebook, your bubba's are amazing, I love seeing all the pics and vids you upload, they are great, Gee we gave birth to a beautiful bunch of bubba's.

Life has been a bit hectic for us of late, DH is stil working 80+ hours week and Benny is cutting his 3rd & 4th teeth at the same time, He isn't sleeping during the day really unless I let him scream the house down, which I am just not prepared to do, at night he is still feeding twice (Is that normal?). He is a decent sized boy at 6month I had him weighed and he was 9kg and 74cm long so is it just that he is a big boy or do I close down the Milk Bar (I am breastfeeding).

Lots has happened outside of that and I think it has taken a toll and I have been struggling for a while with what I think is a mild PND, am not one to go to the Dr's, I have just started some Natropathic liquid and started at the Gym and seem to be feeling a bit better, so I hope it is the change that makes a difference.

I was wondering too if anyone else has been struggling with Fissures? I have been having an awful awful time with them every day for the past 5½ months and was wondering if anyone else was the same and what they did to help it?

Sorry about the me post (I feel very selfish for doing that) but thanks for reading.

xox
MnM
I was wondering too if anyone else has been struggling with Fissures
Yes terribly so. i have put it down to when i had Miles, he was born posterier (as was Greta) but he was stuck and was distressed and HR dropping off to nothing so we had to get him out fast so had the forceps in there to literally drag him out.. so of course with me pushing for dear life to get my baby out of there and the foreceps, i tore badly and up into my bottom area too - of course he was ok after he was whisked off for some oxygen and a visit with a paed but my bottom however wasn't blush.gif .. Im not sure if Miles'toublesome birth is the reason for it - although my OBs spent a good couple of hours stitching me back up, it was a total mess. I also have terrible trouble with controlling my bowl too - including wind, if its there i just cannot keep it in.. or if i need to go to the toilet - peeing is totally fine, i can control my bladder with no problem at all but my issue is by bowl i just cant control it, so not sure if its to do with the problems i had getting my little man out or not.
My Dad also has issues with Fissures, so perhaps thats hereditary?? He's had problems for years.. but mine has just been since having Miles - and then the other probblem of no bowel control.. one of these days i'll go to see my GP and find out whats actualyl wrong with me!

Anyway best get on, i am on kids morning tea for Playgroup tomorrow so have to bake some cupcakes waves.gif

jemso
i was going to not post cos i seem to be lacking energy today. i have had a pretty crappy morning (and i was really bad and had 2 cigarettes!) it started with emily waking up too early (she took an extra 1.5 hours to go down last night, so you would think she would sleep later) then the real estate lady was supposed to come at 9:30 and didnt get here til 10:30 which wasnt that big a deal, just a bit annoying.

then DH calls me and tells me that the guy he is working with at the moment just sold and bought a new house and THEIR fees were only $1800 for the selling and the buying. so he got me to check with the conveyancer we were going with and nope, they were charging $1400 for selling and $1500 for buying! so DH has a hissy fit and tells me i have to call around and get it cheaper.

so i end up calling about 9 places, and they are all more expensive than his workmate told him it cost and DH is just cracking it at me and telling me all the ones i got quotes from are too expensive (i found 1 just down the road from us that is $1100 selling and $1000 buying) so we ended up having an argument cos he seems to think i sit ar home and do nothing all day and have all this free time to spend just calling every conveyancer in the area.

anyways, he goes into the office and sits down in front of the computer and finds out that all the prices he can find are similar to mine. so we end up we are going with the one down the street. i am just sick of having to do everything with selling our unit. he made me do the same with the real estate agents too, he made me call around and get the best price on their fees. it just sh*ts me cos he is such a tight a*se, but i have to do all the work AND i never get thanked for it.

then before i am about to go out i get emily changed when she woke up and she just screamed and screamed and screamed. for no reason. i had to get all her stuff ready cos she woke too early so had to listen to her SCREAMING for 15 mins before i was ready to go (she was fine once we got in the car) and after all the crap in the morning i just had no patience left and felt like smacking my head against a brick wall.

and we got all the paperwork sorted at the new conveyancer, and DH tells me oh, he is going to QLD tomorrow till friday night. and i am pretty sure emily is getting more teeth so i am going to be stuck with a teething, whingy baby on my own for 3 nights. just a really sh*tty day all round.

sorry for me post, just cant be bothered today. AND i have to go cook dinner.

hahaha, and DH had the sh*ts last night and didnt want to talk to me when i refused to share my mothers day choccies (from my parents) with him. i told him on sunday that i wasnt sharing, but i dont think he thought i was serious.
chntlrose
QUOTE (jess869 @ 11/05/2010, 03:36 PM) *
hahaha, and DH had the sh*ts last night and didnt want to talk to me when i refused to share my mothers day choccies (from my parents) with him. i told him on sunday that i wasnt sharing, but i dont think he thought i was serious.

cclap.gif laughing2.gif tthumbs.gif

Good one Jess!
MnM
Chantal: yeah it was a killer, all the pain was in my back, ive heard its worse for posterior births but ive never had anything else so have no clue.. i got a epi after a while and that helped - then i think thank goodness i did cos id have needed something for all the stitching up the poor obs had to do blush.gif
I think like any mum you dont really care what happens to you as long as your little one is ok - its just now that i wonder if its to do with the troubles i have down there - DH keeps telling me to go see my GP, but its not my bladder which is the problem as is usual after you have a baby, its my bowl so im a bit embarrassed blush.gif
Greta was also born posterier but got the epi in early for her biggrin.gif and her birth was just a dream she was so easy to birth and very quick too with only a tiny amout of tearing and no assistance required - i was so hapyp to do it on my own after all the help i had to have with Miles'birth...thank gooness for agood obs hey laughing2.gif
Yep i so agree about your 2nd getting older quicker, it seemed to take forever for Miles to sit up and eat solids etc and i was dying for him to do it but it seemed to come around so quickly for Greta ddown.gif and i want to keep her a baby forever!
I think its a great idea to do the rental stuff yourself, im sure we will get around to it at some point again.
Yay on renting it thats a weight off your shoulders.

Jess: Oh dear, not a good day hey.. id have made DH ring round, its SOOO hard ringing companies when you have a bub cos they get bored and whinge so you end up jugling a baby under your arm and cant hear what the person ont eh phone is saying .. oh its a nightmare i hate doing that and get so grumpy with DH when he nags me to call companies.
Least you got a reduced fee out of it with the other company i guess.
We have never used to conveyancer, DH HATES them, so we use a lawyer.. she's been great we've used her a couple of times now. She charged us $2000 for both.
Good luck with selling, i hope it sells quickly.. moving in with a baby is a lot easier than the toddler thats for sure laughing2.gif

Miles had his photo taken at day care today and they took his teddy off him and he cried so they had to give it back to him, so he has his photo with teddy in it wub.gif cute - he also tried to wrestle the Elmo from the photographers assistant laughing2.gif Elmo is his hero!

Ok best go eat dinner :wave"s:
thetuckers
MnM -
I also have terrible trouble with controlling my bowl too - including wind, if its there i just cannot keep it in.. or if i need to go to the toilet - peeing is totally fine, i can control my bladder with no problem at all but my issue is by bowl i just cant control it
Me too! I have the same issue with control, It is so frustrating especially when you are in the car on the way to somewhere. Your birth experience with Miles sounds awful you poor thing the recovery from that would have been agony. I honestly cringe to think. Mine started a month after Harry was born & went on for 16 months and then they just went away, with Benny they started 2 weeks after he was born and i have about 3 at the moment and some days I just want to cry with the pain. My DH is the same he wants me to get it checked as there is a fair bit of blood but like you I am just so embarressed. The thing is I am just not sure if I can hack it much longer, thankfully once it's over I am not in so much pain after about 5 mins or so. Also Bowel incontinence is almost a big as Bladder weakness it is just that we are all too embarressed to talk about it . That is so cute about Miles having a teddy in his photo, Harry is holding a Ninja Turtle in his and I still love that picture of him to this day. Actually back to you comment to Chantel about being embarressed it is the same thing for me too,

Chantel
- Hi, Thanks for your reply. Kydin is a really nice name. I am comforted to know that it isn't just Benny that is doing it. He is the same he absolutely cracks it if I make him wait for it (Undoing my Bra etc so I ususally am usually getting prepared on my way to his cot laughing2.gif Aww that is so nice you got to catch up with some of the girls, I see on FB that their catch up's and photo's and it is so sweet.

Iammum - You're too funny about jumping for joy when AF arrives. I am not on any contraception either but DH & I suffered with infertility so my OB, FS & GP have all said they were pointless for us cclap.gif

Jess
- So sorry you had a bad morning! I hope the rest of your day improved.

Jayniepoo - So sorry about your mum, my heart goes out to you. My Gran just passed away end of March and it felt like for me a piece of my heart was missing all day (and every day) but just really highlighted on Sunday, so I can't begin to imagine your pain not having your mum hhugs.gif

Shell -
I hheart.gif the name change. I completely agree with you on the hating it when people call your baby their baby. I have a huge daily struggle with that, long story short at times I feel like I am just a surrogate for my SIL's Nephews instead of a mother to my sons.

**Foxy82**
Morning Girls waves.gif
What a nightmare last week was! H ended up screaming for 5 days straight oomg2.gif(DH works night shift so I was on my own) by Saturday I was so tired I could hardly stand up straight so Saturday night I stayed at Mums with the kids (DH Starts work at 4am Sunday mornings) and was finally able to sleep. yyawn.gif
We all seem to be recovering now,the kids are much better.I was pretty sure H was teething at the same time and then yesterday his top tooth popped through so no wonder my little man screamed so much! He was sick,had an ear infection and was teething sad.gif

Have a really busy week.We are having a garage sale on Saturday,the first one I've had so I'm hoping it goes well!! I'm selling all of M's baby clothes ddown.gif and some of H's that he has grown out of.I just have waaayyyyy to much and I can't keep storing it all so it's a bit sad to be going through it all,I think it will be sadder on Saturday when someone walks away with my babies clothes laughing2.gif
I need a new video camera my old one broke when H was 4 months so I guess it's for a good cause shrug.gif

Best be off,sorry for no personals just catching up after my disaster week wacko.gif

Have a great day biggrin.gif
thetuckers
Foxy - That is sad selling some of the clothes sad.gif Good Luck with your Garage sale, I hope you get lots of good $$ as a silver lining. I work for the Baby & Kids Markets (just as staff etc) if you need to sell your baby stuff they are a great place to go to sell stuff too. Poor little H, I am glad that the tooth finally popped through, hopefully he will have some relief now for a little while. I hate teeth, They have been giving Ben an awful time he has been the same just really off and crying so much and this morning has a green nose so I am off to the Dr's for some AB's for him. My DH is away most of the day. he leaves home at 4.00am and gets in at 7.00pm 6 days a week and he doesn't get up in the nights either (I don't want him to cause of the hours he puts in IYKWIM).

Hi to all the mumma's and bubba's.

MnM
Morning,

thetuckers: oh so yours cleared after a while, thats good to know, perhaps its just a matter of time then - or so i can now convince myself. its so embarrassing isnt it, ive hardly ever mentioned it on here, but i really need to get it checked out - i do now have hope it will clear up.

Jo: awww so sorry you had a bad time of it of late - sounds like a nightmare, so glad you got some rest at your mums. Must be so hard with your DH working nights bbighug.gif

Well i woke to good news biggrin.gif the Tories are back in power in the UK ddance.gif im very pleased, almost makes we want to go live back there ... then i think of the cold.. yeah ok maybe not laughing2.gif but im so happy for England. biggrin.gif

Ok on that happy note, i best get on - im on kidds tea for Playgroup and im not even showered and dressed waves.gif
Bluey04
Just quickly doing a sneaky post from work.. All good at the moment – Alex is so close to crawling it’s not funny. I just wish he’d hurry up and do it as he’s getting really frustrating at not getting anywhere. Liam is transferring to Senior Kindy room at childcare atm and we’re having some issues as he’s now exposed to much older kids and is adropting some unacceptable behaviours from them. So it’s interesting around our place with lots of tantrums and talking back.

Mandy – we haven’t had a monthly maintenance thing by pool shop as I do it all myself (would be pretty pathetic if I couldn’t considering water quality is what I do at work). Like Brooke, we just take a sample every week or two and get it tested at the pool shop, and then add various chemicals to water. We have a salt water chlorinator so it’s really very little work (apart from cleaning the skimmer box and leaves etc which is annoying). Having said that, I would have thought that it being a business etc, they would want a contract even if it is an irregular 4-6 week thing.

Carly - nope, no dreamfeed here...

Question – has anyone given schools a thought? The reason I ask is cos the private schools here in Brisbane get booked out very quickly and you basically have to put your kids name down at some even before they’re born to get in. Obviously we haven’t done this and kids are not on waitlist for any of them. We always through we’d send kids to public school (our local one rates in the top 3 public schools in the state), but I’m worried kids might miss out on something if they don’t go to private school so am looking into it now.
The trouble is: 1. The good private schools are around $20-25K per year per child (all inclusive) which sounds excessive and although we could manage it, I don’t particularly want to be struggling to pay bills for 2 lots of private school, if the public school is good enough, 2. We are not catholic and kids are not baptized/christened and most schools require this for entry into them and 3. I’m worried kids would become pretentious by attending one of these fancy schools (but I think this is just in my head…lol) and 4. I don’t want the kids to be travelling 1 hour form our house to school on public transport (is this being selfish?) when there is a school that’s 2 mins walk from the house.
There is a closer local private school which is cheaper (around $8K-$12K per year all inclusive) – I guess you’d say it’s second tier private school, but the Naplan results for it are not as great as our local public school. So I’m thinking, why pay for something that’s inferior than the cheaper alternative (does this make sense)?. The other issue with it is that although ti does have a good sports programme (this is what Dh is most concerned about) and great music programme, it is not part of GPS system in Brisbane, so not sure if there are benefits at all by sending kids there. Honestly, I really don’t know what to do. I don’t want the kids missing out, but I don’t want to be paying for application fees for several private schools as it will add up to a fair bit and there is no guarantee they’d get in anyway (as in they’d go on waitlist first). Sigh… decisions….
MnM
Marina: yeah both my kids names are down for school, have been for a couple months now. We even have Greta down for highschool as we want her to go to a specific one and i know it gets filled up quickly so were advised to get her name down now. So they are both on the list. They are going to private school too. Neither of mine are christened/baptised or whatever its called so wouldnt get into a catholic shool - not that id want them to anyway but yeah private here biggrin.gif

Miles was playing shop at Playgroup today and charging all the kids $6 for a cup of tea and a slice of watermelon laughing2.gif quite the little capitalist laughing2.gif

Ok best get on...got to bake a choccy cake and got a stack og DH's jeans that need to be dropped off at the tailors - oh to be crafty like a lot of you guys on here and be able to take them up myself sad.gif
So wish id have paid more attention to my mum and Grandma, im paying the price now!

Oh and a grumbly baby, she only slept for half an hour i think it was... the builders are banging and crashing and the poor luv cant sleep for them.
babywannab
Bluey

I am looking at schools too - it's a tough one!
I decided after umming and arring for a few months NOT to get Grace christened as we aren't religious. Which eliminated a lot of private schools.
I am a firm believer that children will do well at school because of their own motivation and application and that test scores aren't such a great indication. I went to a terrible crappy school but I cared and worked hard and got great scores...
Good luck deciding!

Mandy and Ali

I'm not sure what fissures are but I had blood and stinging for a while. Now it sort of feels like there are a couple of little lumps and bumps down there. Not sure if it's scar tissue or what but I'm not having any pain or bleeding anymore so I'm not going to be bending over in front of my doc any time soon!

Foxy

I hear ya! Grace and I both have the flu and her ear smells like someone shoved some prawns in there about 2 weeks ago lol I am taking her to the hospital to get a script when DF comes home with my car.

Jess

What a pain in the bum! I hate being on the phone too. WHen the work mobile rings I swear Grace knows and just chucks a fit!!

Chantal

Emil was soooo good yesterday with Nina! He's going to be a great big brother! Nina is such a kid friendly bubba isn't she!!

AFM

hmmmmsss I thought more people were doing dreamfeeds.
I try to DF grace as if I let her go until she's hungry for her first night feed then she tends to wake up very upset for some reason.
Her 3am feed is fine she wakes, I feed her and put her straight back down and she goes straight to sleep.
For some reason that 9:30 10ish time she gets upset.

Well as I said before Grace's ear smells like off fish!!
She smells like the bins out the back of the fish shop!!

I have called 5 doctors around here as I don't have my car and they all said a 4 month wait for new patients! What the?!?!? I have NEVER in my life heard of a GP having such a long wait list lol
I called my doc too but she isn't working today.
So we'll head over to emergency and wait until someone can see her.
I was told by healthdirect and the chemist that their ears need to be tended to as soon as possible as their ear drums are very delicate.

MAN those steam mops look good lol
I am so in love with the girls on the Circle. They make me laugh so hard I pee my pants. Which doesn't take much laughing these days lol

Carly
Bluey04
Mandy – yeah I don’t’ really want to send them to catholic school but unfortunately there are no independent private schools even remotely close to where we live. I was tlakign about high/secondary schools too btw.
Too cute about Miles. He’s going to be an entrepreneur
MnM
Oh Carly, not sure if its the same but for the last 4 night now in a row Greta has woken at 9pm VERY upset, no idea whats wrong, i jsut go in and pick her up and she falls to sleep in my arms in seconds then i put her back to bed - i wonder if its a growth spurt thing.. she doesnt seem to want anything, and she sleeps through till 7am like normal - its just weird cos she never usually wakes after she goes to bed about 6.30pm.. so if Grace is doing it too, perhaps its a phase or something, i seem to remember Miles doing the same thing, then it just stopped. Is Grace hungry then cos Greta isnt, well i dont think she is, i just pick her up and she just instantly snuggles her head into my arm and closes her arms and goes to sleep.. but she wakes up and screams her little head off when she wakes.
I just go in and pick her up and im just waiting for it to pass, asumming its a phase.

Marina: Miles isnt enrolled for highschool yet but Greta is. Not decided where we are sending Miles yet. We are lucky around here there are a few independant ones around here, one of the reasons we moved was to get closer to the shchool the kids will both go to when the turn 5.. i cant beleive how early you have to apply for them, its insane! Greta was about 3 months old when a friend who's little girl is going to the same high school told us we need to apply for Greta - insane!
Mind you, i had miles booked into day care before he was even born.. madness!
Bluey04
I am a firm believer that children will do well at school because of their own motivation and application and that test scores aren't such a great indication. I went to a terrible crappy school but I cared and worked hard and got great scores...

carly - i so agree with this statement. And ditto - both DH and i came form average public schools...

oh and Carly and mandy - it's probably a growth spurt!
MnM
Yeah i agree too, i went to a way below average school and most people did really badly as it was a poor demographic too but some that really wanted to, me included, did well.. but it was a struggle. DH on the other hand went to one of the best schools in the UK and there are some from his school who did really badly, you'd think everyone would do great in a good school but nope.
I just believe education is extremely important and to get the very best you can for your child.. i dont want them to have to struggle in a bad school like i had to, thank goodness there were a couple of really great teachers who helped the few of us who wanted to make something of themselves. I see old friends on FB who say oh ive not done much but our school wasnt very good so its not my faullt - well no it wasnt a good school but i went to the same and i did well enough to go onto college etc...
My parents are lovely people but the don't believe in education im afraid... anyho, i could waffle on but i wont wink.gif

Promised Miles we'd bake a cake so best get moving waves.gif

P.S: thanks marina - im hoping thinking growth spurt too unsure.gif

speaking of growth spurts, Miles has had a major one - he is now 90cms oomg.gif I think he has gone up to the 12th percentile oomg2.gif all his pants are suddenly/overnight too short, ... he might be in size 2 clothes before he turns 3 at this rate laughing2.gif
Iammum
school- Lucky for us the private school jake goes to is also a high school original.gif we had to enrol him 1 year in advance to when he started kindy. His tuition for kindy was $1600 so not too bad. Its an anglican school and he didnt have to be baptised. I think by the sounds of it your better off having the kids goto the public school sounds like you like the school and I agree with Carly too. We only sent Jake to private school because we live in a ruff area and private is the best around here because we dont get the riff raff kids there. We plan to move in the next 3 years to a better area.

Ive been so tired lately I have no idea whats wrong with me...... Lucas has been waking 3 - 6 times a night crying doesnt want anything just me to pick him up and hug him til he falls alseep again. So I suppose that maybe the reason my eyes feel like they are gonna fall out of my head, But its doing my head in I need sleep!!! Jake has a cough..... well a cough in the morning and at night when its cold, DP says he had the same when he was a kid. So I have no idea whether his ok to goto school or not I dunno if its contagious or not he seems fine otherwise still his rat bag self! Might just keep him home tomorrow and he will be well again by tuesday next week. Just gotta keep an eye on him to make sure if it turns into broncitis i take him to the doctor, dont want him to get phneumonia again! I keep putting Lucas' immunisations off, I hate them for one and two id hate to get them done and then he get this cold thing jake has and end up with a double wammy..... so Ive cancelled today and hope next week we can do it just get it over and done with. Not much else to say....
MnM
Well FWIW Lammum, i think you are doing the righ thing in sending your boys to the local private school if the public ones aren't great - i grew up in a not so great area and begged my folks to let me go to a school that was a 20 minute bus ride away but they wouldnt let me cos they thought it was silly to get on a but to go to school when i had one 15 minutes walking distance from our house - even that local school was pretty bad, so they wouldnt let me get on the bus to the much better school rolleyes.gif
Im lucky now to live in a very good area, the house prizes are going crazy here and everyone is desperate to get into the public schools around here that are fantastic - but still i will be sending both my kids to a local private school as they are even better than the great public shcool here and i want them to go to the best schools i can possibly get for them - just because i went to a poor shcool and my parents wouldnt try to get better for me... oooh how bitter do i sound Tounge1.gif Im not really i just know i will do things differently for my little ones and its hard to fight with parents that just dont beleive education is important rolleyes.gif

OMG this shool name thing is so cunfusing blink.gif In the UK private schools are called Public shcools and its not very common at all to do to a Public School (private shcool).. its the rich who go there only.. so calling public private is confusing the heck outta me.. but im getting there.

Also Lammum, just wanted to say hang in there with Lucas' waking.. Greta (and Grace) have been waking around 9pm.. not sure about Grace but Greta doesnt want anything other than cuddles either - so thinking its a growth spurt.

Well Miles is chasing the cat round the house with a bowl of her biccies he just poured for her going "here you go Amber" and she's running away going LEAVE ME ALONE!!!! Its a love hate relationship.. Miles loves to torment her and she hates him roll2.gif

I went up to the tailors just now and bought a little wooden clown for Miles, so he hands it to Greta in the car and says to her "its not Miles' its Miles & Gweta's, I shware" wub.gif
Bluey04
Can I just say that it seriously feels WRONG to be having to make a decision about which high school our boys will attend this early on??? They’re only 2.5 years and 6 months old!!! It’s really doing my head in.
I think we have basically decided to enroll the kids in our local state High school which has a really good reputation and results atm but to put them on waiting lists for two private schools (BBC and St Peters) as a back up (in case we move out of catchment or need to transfer the kids to another school for whatever reason, or the local school becomes crap). Neither is Catholic (they’re Presbyterian and Lutheran) but you don’t have to be that particular denomination to attend those schools so I’m happy with that. BBC is a GPS school so that goes in it’s favour and is a bit closer to us (about 30 min bus ride) wheras St peters is about 45 mins bus ride away. The positives for St peters is that it’s co-ed whereas BBC is boys only. The down side of both is that the annual fees are in the order of $15K (fee only plus other levies etc) per child.
Now to shell out $700 in application fees for the 2 boys (non refundable...)

LOL Mandy – good on Miles!. he’s still a shortie – Liam is in size 3 and some of them are too short already – I’m buying size 4 for winter atm!
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.