The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: October 08 Parents # 50

Pages: 1, 2, 3

http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/forums/ind...howtopic=788222

bec8112
GOLD !!!

Meet-up - yeah what about one weekend morning Mel?
themelster
Yep, I could do a weekend. Let me check my diary!
meeskamouska
Haven't been in today. Stupid Bigpond has been down the entire day. Don't they realise the internet is my lifeline. I've been lost all day.
So just a quick read & catch up tomorrow.
bec8112
Just been and visited the little bubby in the nursery and she is going great! Still under the 2kg mark but only in there until she is feeding on her own, no cuddles for me as it is Mummy and Daddy only.

Just found out a good friends bub who is 6 months old has been diagnosed with a lung disease! Got to have a biopsy to find out what sort of disease and how serious!

Scan tomorrow to see how BIG bub is so will keep you updated!

I am in Noosa for the weekend starting tomorrow night so might not be around much.
Fabulous
Bec- I hope your friends 6 month old baby is okay. It sounds serious. I just saw a newborn yesterday. They are such amazing little creatures. I could stare at one in awe and amazement for hours. wub.gif I just realised that you are due next month. ohmy.gif What is your due date?
bec8112
Ros- due on the 27th but I have a feeling I might go early again. Or if bub is breech a c-section will be booked for 39 weeks ( if I make it that long ). Yeah newborns are just amazing, so innocent.

Friends bub should be diagnosed soon but apperently he will need oxygen support for a few years, if they think it is the disease they have told her about it is extremely rare but it does work itself out usually by middle of primary school age. Very scary! Makes me grateful to have a healthy little boy.

What are everyone plans for mothers day? We are having a family lunch in noosa which will be good as my parents go to Europe next thurs for 6 weeks and my grandma is not well (cancer back) so always nice to see her.
meeskamouska
Bec- Enjoy your trip to Noosa. I love it that way. Every chance I get I like to head to coolum. My GF had a premmi that needed oxygen for 12months. I think they're really suseptable to catching every little germ going around too. Hard work for the mumma bear. Taking oxy cyclinder everywhere you go is a nightmare. Can't believe how close you r now. Is the nursery all set up ready t ogo??? Bag packed etc. So exciting!!!!!

Easy day here. Bit tired. Paul has been out hunting every single night he has been home. We'll b having words today. I'm over it. Nothing is getting done around here & he's making me tired. Have only just started sleeping a little better & now I feel back to square one. Alls good though with everything else. We seem to b geting along...yay.

Better head. So much to catch up on all over the net with bigpond wifi down yesterday.
bec8112
Nat - yeah really should pack my hospital bag! Cause you never know what might happen. The nursery is not really ready but the sheets on the bassinet are clean so baby can sleep at least. Yeah on you and Paul getting on better but not so great that you are tired.

I had a dream last night that I gave birth to TWINS! Not sure what that is supposed to mean.

meeskamouska
Oh thats too funny with the twins. I used to dream before CR was born that she had black curly hair....actually it was more nightmarish....rofl. Its your sub concious thinking about the impending birth.
~Annika~
Heya girls! All this talk about you catching up has me really looking forward to seeing you laugh.gif when we come over for our holiday in July-Aug. Hoping you are all doing well these days! Sorry I haven't been in for a while again - another one of my extended absent periods, hehe! Don't worry I will be back in the swing of it again soon!

Just to keep you updated about what's been going on here lately, I have been pretty busy during the weeks, now I am doing a month course in the Triple P program (Possitive Parenting Prog). It has been really good, will set me up nicely for when Bryce gets to the more contraversial age, but for now it's mainly for Tyler. He has really good days and then some very difficult days with his behaviour so it's hit and miss as to how he is at Kindy for his teachers. The insentive chats are working better than the time-outs for him, so he has a possitive reward to work towards during the day!

Bryce is so funny these days! He puts smiles on our faces and makes us laugh constantly! laughing2.gif Love him to bits!!! Talking heaps more, saying things like the animal sounds and then the name of the animal, and "Where is Mormor and Farfar?" (my mum n dad), "Glad ee day" (Norwegian for I love you). "Nana" "Poppy" "Look, water!!!" "Car" "Tractor" "Lets go" "Shoes" "Walking" "Shut the door" "There you go" "Drink" "Dinner" "Night night" etc.... I have lost count now!

Matt and I are going away this Sat night for two nights while his parents come to look after the boys for us! Matt has booked us in to a gorgeous spa suite at Abbey Beach Resort in Bussleton, yay, I am so excited, can hardly wait!!!!!! wub.gif Going out to dinner, spending some quality time alone etc!!! Aaaaahhhh, just bliss!
bec8112
Just a quick one, scan was all good today. Measuring about a week ahead and bub is approx 2.2kg at the moment so not huge but will be a bigger than average baby if that makes sense. Bub is laying with head at my left hip and feet under my left ribs, they said there is still heaps of room to move though. Hopefully will get an answer before I have to decide what to do! Also another guess for girl so fingers crossed!

Annika - enjoy your time away with DH! I am jealous!
meeskamouska
Its still a girl....yay!!
How lovely for you Bec getting to see bubba again. Do u have names picked out?? or r you keeping it a secret till its born???
Annika - enjoy your time with DH. Its nice to get them all to yourself hey. No kids!!! 2 nights.....heaven. Yay on all bryces chatting.

Might head out today I'm on my own. Feeling a little clostaphobic. Paul is always off doing this & that so I find it hard to fit in much of my own stuff. Its my own fault though for not making the time. If I didn't feel tired still I'd go to Toowoomba but I just know at the end of the day I'll b shattered......& grumpy...... & not much fun to b around....lol. Maybe just Kingaroy. There's no decent fabric shops there though. sad.gif

Enjoy your day girls.
No doubt it will b quiet in here over the weekend with a few away. What r u up to Mel, Mands & Ros.
Hi Dylmah if your reading. Noticed you haven't been in for a bit.
bec8112
Nat- no names picked out yet, I have a couple I really like but Dave is not sure!!! Think we will wait until the last minute and reveal when she is born.
Small Potatoes
Quick post. I am offloading both boys tonight. Am getting a takeaway and a DVD any DVD suggestions?
meeskamouska
Probably too late...but AVATAR!!! I loved it.

Easy day here. Spent some ME time in toowoomba. Had a lovely time just cruising getting a few jobs done without thegirls.
Night. CU tomorrow.
meeskamouska
Morning.
Its whisper quiet in here....lol.
I miss chatting with u girls.

Nothing too ecxiting happened here over the weekend. Which is good cause I crave the peace & quiet. Got a bit of sewing done. Had a couple of tiffswith Paul while he was home but thas fairly normal isn't it. Do u have dissagreements??? Paul has this big idiea in his head ATM that he works & I stay at home so I should do everything around the house whilst he does nothing. Don't mind when he's at work but when he's home for 9days straight....come on!! Thars not fair....surely.

I've got to go to Brissy on Wednesday. I have a Gyno app at 2pm. At the QE2...god only knows where that is but I'll find it. So I could do a Wed morning meet. Just putting it out there. It doesn't have to happen.

B in later on. Hope everyones weekends were just terrific.
bec8112
Nat - yeah Dave and I have disagreements aswell, sometimes more often than others if that makes sense. I think it is totally normal. Yeah it is hard when you are not at work and you are expected to do everything! I think that the men do not understand how much work is involved with looking after kids.

I work Wed so I will not be able to catch up then, sorry.

I put in my maternity leave forms today, last day at work will be the 2nd June! I will see how I feel that last week and if it is not going to happen I will just take sick leave.

How was everyones Mothers Day?? We had a great day, Ethan bought me a new frypan and cookbook which I hinted about biggrin.gif . We had breaky with Daves Mum and then lunch with my family. Was a busy day and I was so tired last night but worth it.

Back at work for me today sad.gif , getting more and more tired but need to hang in there for the $!

Hope everyone is well and had a great weekend.
bec8112
Very quiet in here!

Hope everyone is well.
Small Potatoes
I had gastro and have been too weak to stay out of bed for longer than about 20mins. But I don't really get gastro as in nothing comes out I only have stomach cramps and nausea. Still feeling a bit sick today and quite weak.
Alis Volat Propiis
Morning Mands, I see you there waves.gif

Sorry I havent been around much. I have had some issues! Not much more to say on that really. All sorted now though which is great.

Just wanted to quickly add that it looks like I will be down in Brissie for a few days from the 20th-24th May. I would love to see you all. I am pretty flexible with days and will have a car to get around in.

Bec - not long now sweets. I start Mat leave on the 21st June but will probably only work 2 days that week before anyway. Dan's parents get here on the 15th of June... eeeekkkkk!

Annika - I wish I could be in Brissie when you will be there. But i am due right around then, haha, so cutting it too fine i think.

Mands - your website looks great! I hope the businesses are going well.

Mel - glad to hear T has settled down. I think N was a little unsettled after her CP vax also. She is back to sleeping through for me though now... well last 3 nights at least.

Hi Ros!

Hi Natty original.gif

Gotta run, work for me today. If it is a quiet day (possible half day) I am going to go see a movie.. Cheap tuesday. Gotta love it.

Take care, I promise to be around more.

Sharna
bec8112
Sharna - yeah time is flying by! I need to start packing my bag for the hospital I think!

I really hope we are able to catch up when you are down here, will wait and see what Mands, Mel and Nat have on during the time you are here.

I took a day off work today to stay home and rest, Ethan has gone to my parents for the night as they go away on Thurs for 7 weeks so they are wanting to spend time with him before they go.
meeskamouska
Oh Bec - so they won't be here when Bub is born?? R u dissapointed by that??
Sharna - I'd love to meet up with you. I'll do any of those days to fit with you. See who what where comes out & I'll b there.
Mel - where r u Hon...missing you.
bec8112
Nat - yeah they will be away for the bubs birth but they have had it planner for over a year now. They offered to cancel but I could not do that to them. If it was the first grandchild it might have been a different story. If I have a natural birth this time I only want Dave there anyway.
themelster
Hi ladies, sorry I have been MIA - I've been knocked around with the dreaded gastro bug too.

I'm on my phone now so just a quick helloo. I'll try and jump on the puter tonight and touch base.
Fabulous
Hello,
been busy packing for our move. The removalists arrive this Thursday eek.

Mel & Mands- sending you guys get well vibes. Gastro sux.
bec8112
Mands/Mel - gastro is just not fun! Really hope you feel better soon.

Ros - I hate packing, it must be so hard with all the stuff you must have! We had heaps and it is only DP, Ethan and I!
Fabulous
Bec- actually DH gets our packing and removals paid for by his new employer however he has elected to reduce the costs by packing & obtaining the quotes himself because his contract says that if he leaves or gets sacked within 2 years he must re-pay the relocation costs. It's pretty standard to have to pay it back if you leave but I have never seen a contract where you must pay it back if you get sacked. ohmy.gif Anyway packing ourselves has been good because we have sorted our stuff as we have packed and thrown out heaps. When DS1 was 6 weeks old we moved house and we only had 4 removal boxes plus about 6 or 7 pieces of furniture. Those were the days!
bec8112
Quiet in here again!

Mel/Mands - how are you feeling?

Ros - How is the packing going?

I put in my offical leave dates today and it is all approved so start leave on the 7th June and I will be returning to work ( 3 days a week ) on the 14th March 2011. OMG it is getting scary now to think about having 2 kids!
themelster
Hey guys, Thanks for the well wishes. I am feeling better now. Still sleep deprived, but getting used to that too now. Tom is still waking at night and not wanting to go back to sleep. It's driving me nuts.

Mands - how are you doing? Has the dreaded lurgy passed? You on the mend?

Bec - WOW! So so close now! Have you got everything ready?

Ros - that is crazy that they have a clause to pay back transportation costs if sacked wacko.gif

Sharna - I'd love to meet up! I will have to play it by ear closer to the date though to see what I have on at work and if I can sneak away for an hour or two. Just let me know when you decide a date. It will be lovely to see you and your beautiful belly!

Nat - I have used both of the nappies and will write you a detailed report soon. So far, so good! Tom has even been gratious enough to do a number 2 whilst wearing one. No leakage! They are a little large around the waist on the tightest snap (but not much) and the legs fit perfectly. I really like how you have done the leg elastic so that the outler rolls IN. I hate it when the inner rolls out.

AFU - not much. I'm tired so it's a short post. Mark and I are off to watch Robin Hood at Gold Class on Friday.

Take care!

Mel.
bec8112
Mel-Glad your feeling better, I am sorry about Tom and his sleeping! Really hope it improves soon. Enjoy the movie on Friday!

I am not packed for the hospital yet! I think I will do tomorrow or Friday. I suppose it does not feel so close because I had no baby shower or anything this time around. Started going through all the girls things we have got given or I have bought and there is not as much as I thought, still need a few things.

Mands- are you stocking BBH magicalls yet?

Sorry no more personals, on my phone and it's too much effort!
Alis Volat Propiis
Hey lovely ladies,

I booked my tickets for Brissie today. I fly down on wed and back on sun. The best days for me to catch up will be Thurs 20th, Fri 21st. I hope this works for you guys. I could also do Sat morning but need to see if my sisters can still lend me a car.

Mel - thanks for the comment on my belly. It is definately expanding lately.

Bec - I packed my bag on my due date... lol, so wasnt that organised, and then went 10 days over with N. Cant believe you are that close now original.gif I have a few BBH Med Magicalls (old style smooth with velcro) if you are interested. They are in good condition. I bought them in the TR and used them a few times on N. Pretty gender neutral colours though.

Mands - I hope you are feeling better.

Nat - can you do a catch up next week? I hope you bring CR if you can so we can see the two girls together original.gif

Take care,

Sharna
Small Potatoes
Mel, Bec & Sharna Still some mild nausea and REALLY tired, but doing okay. Very snappy at DH ATM.

Bec I don't plan on stocking magicalls yet, but if I put in a BBH order I will let you know and get a magicall or two for you if you tell me what you would like. Did you ask me about a sig a while back? Yes I would love to do one. Just email me or PM me the details and pic(s).

Sharna I can do Thusrday mornings as swimming is on Friday (though if Friday works best for everyone else I can cancel it) I won't have the kids Thursday either so if you want me to bring them Fri would be better.

meeskamouska
Super quick one from me.
Will B in a bit later.
Friday works best for me but I may be able to shift things around if I we decide early enough.
bec8112
I can do either Thurs or Fri.

Sharna - what colours are the magicalls? Do they have the pocket opening or not? How much you want for them?

Mands - thats great you are feeling a bit better. Yeah I have been super snappy with Dave for the last couple of days and I have no idea why, damn hormones! I will email you a pic soon.

AFM - had a hospital visit this morning and all is good. BP was good, measuring a week ahead on the belly measurement. And awesome news is that the bub was head down! Not sure if she will stay there through as she seems to be moving heaps when I lay in bed at night, I feel some huge movements which is probably her moving around.
Fabulous
Our stuff is all gone now thankgoodness.

Yesterday was a dramatic day. A cupboard fell on Sara our 10yo and the health direct lady ended up calling an ambulance for her mainly because of her back pain. Sara had a spinal xray in hospital and was given the all clear thank goodness. All she was doing was opening the cupboard by it's handles and it toppled. It was empty so that would have made it unstable. You hear about kids being killed by cupboards and TV's falling on them and it's scary how easily it can happen.
bec8112
Ros- that is terrible about Sara and the accident, I am glad she got the all clear. Yeah I do not like seeing kids climbing on things that can so easily fall. I am lucky that Ethan is not a climber.

Not much else to report. Ethan has been super tired the last few days and really cranky and not eating as much as normal, hopefully it is only a stage or teething.

bec8112
Mands - have you got the Rockin Greens trial packs yet?
Small Potatoes
No I haven't but will let you know when I do original.gif
bec8112
Thanks mands! How impatient am I!!!
Small Potatoes
I am too I really want a go
bec8112
I was busy looking on the website and I got so excited I almost bought some but I will wait for yours! I am so addicted to this MCN stuff now, DP thinks I am mad!

Small Potatoes
They are waiting on a shipment so she said 2-3 weeks. So if you want to get some to use now I wont be offended.
meeskamouska
I too am addicted to MCN's. I can't enough of them. So sad though that our MCN journey will be over soon. Being my last bub there will b no more for us.

Ceres - So glad your DD is ok. That must of bee nso scary for you. Where r u moving to??? I know you r moving but must of missed to where??? Must be hard work with so many kids & all that packing. How long in between isd there before your stuff arrives????

Meet - I'd rather do Friday if everyone else is available for then too. Thursday is really hard for me. Though is saying that. Not impossible.

Did 2 lots of hair this morning. Actually enjoyed it. Easy money too. I often think about opening a salon again but then I'll probably start to hate doing it again. Cant win & a salon is a big committment I don't know if I'm ready to make. Also am loving sewing ATM. We'll see.

Bec - so close. I'm very excited for you. My GF had a baby yesterday. 6pounds....lucky girl. Not like my heppalump 9 pounder straight up. Yay on head down.

Better head. Got so much to do.
Small Potatoes
I have moved swimming from Fridays to Wednesdays now so I can do Friday
themelster
Mands, I'll definately be getting some rockin green off you when it comes in.

Ros - SO scary! I worry about stuff like that. Remember Julian o'neil? The football player whose little boy pulled a TV over onto himself?

Nat - I didn't realize you were a hairdresser! You can do mine anytime! Did you just cut or did you do mire with the two you did recently?
themelster
I can do this Friday for a catch up too. Do we have a venue? Happy to have it at ours if you are looking for somewhere central.
meeskamouska
Mel - One girl had full head of foils/toner etc plus a small under colour. The other just a few wedges of brown thru the top. Trims etc.
Meet - My vote would be someones house. As long as its not too much to expect. See what the others think. A resturant style place will be hell on CR at this age. She hates the pram & wants to get into everything...lol. Play cafe?????
Better go put CR to bed.
Got a job to do in the morning. CR squeezed out an entire large bottle of Alpha Keri oil onto the carpet....shocker!! Thank goodness we own the house.

BB tomorrow.
themelster
I agree nat - Tom is a nightmare out too. I have a fully fenced in yard withca sandpit and stuff so the kids can run wild.
bec8112
I am cool with the catch up at you place Mel, are we doing morning, lunch or arvo?

I am off to caloundra for the night tomorrow for dave's mums 60th.
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.