The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: February 2009 Parents # 54

Essential Baby > Parents' Groups > Join a parents' group here > 2009

http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/forums/ind...howtopic=787121

india732
GOLD!!!
Morning ladies
LittleDCJ
Silver

Off to take D to school and J to childcare. C has his 4you needles today, I think we'll be making a visit to the Transformers section at Target.
summerbub
Ooh Bronze!!!

Always when I am at work.......
Skyjay
boobie prize!!!!

Damn work, they cancelled my meeting, looks like another week before I know what's going on.

Damn Hardly Normal, they have lent me a replacement lead for my laptop until acer send an original but my laptop isn't listed in the manual to the generic lead they gave me so I don't want to use it incase it ruins the laptop.

Had a good morning at swimming with Indi though!!!!
fallen~from~grace

Brissie girls, is the meet up still happening. I saw on FB that Renee has been sick.

mummabubba
I'm still up for Monday. Did we have a place yet? I'm happy to do the playroom at Chermside shopping centre - was that one of the suggestions? what time?

argh - wriggly baby. gotta go...
india732
had a shocker morning this morning and ended up in ED after taking a heavy fall in the back yard...Thank fully bubs is all okay, they did a quick ultrasound to check for heartbeat. But i am sore and bruised down my right side...So I have DH home for tomorrow as I am too rest and might be feeling worse!!!

I better go and help DH while he sorts out dinner

Ineke
fallen~from~grace
OMG Ineke!! I am so glad everything is ok. Make sure you do go and rest though, your DH sounds like he can handle it all hun.

happinesswith2blue

Hope your ok Ineke. Bet that would've been pretty scary for you. Glad that bub is ok. Hope your resting well and you aren't bruised too much.

Took Cohen to the show last night. He isn't a fan of the Monster Trucks. He was shaking the poor thing. So we left that and looked around. Then we went to watch the fireworks at the end and he didn't like that either,so we left. Aston stayed home with dad.He was so tired. He had a big day,he fell down the imbankment in the backyard. He has a couple of scratches on his face.
Then later in the evening,Aston came to me while I was cooking dinner. I looked at him and thought" What the heck is in your hair" Cohen had got the container of Vaseline and had rubbed it all through each others hair laughing2.gif laughing2.gif I'm still laughing when I think about it. I washed their hair so many times.But didn't really come out. So Cohen went to the show with a great hair do laughing2.gif
leita
roll2.gif Janbabyboy, that is an absolute classic. They won't need any styling product for a while!

Ineke, hope you're OK, and taking it easy. My sister has CFS and is pregnant with her second, and really struggles some days.

Have I mentioned how much I love Zumba? All my classes this week have been full, but best of all I can feel my obliques finally growing back- all that booty shaking- ha ha ha.

All looking good for settlement on the 21st for our new house!! YAY!! I am suspicious though, it's all been way to easy. I had a message from the bank this morning saying everything is ready to go... two weeks early? grin.gif

Don't even want to think about packing and moving for the second time in six months... somehow i always skip over that bit in my mind!

Hope everyone is having a super day!!
:-)
crazy*cat*lady
Hi all sorry I have been AWOL.

As Ali noted, I have had a bit of a rough week health wise, but seem to be out the other side now.

For the Brissy meet on Monday I counted the following RSVPs

summerbub (Robyn)
Noah

janbabyboy (Sandra)
Cohen
Aston

mummabubba (Lisa)
Jackson
Harry

fallen~from~grace (Ali)
Elliot
Fletcher

me (Renée)
Claire

so far that makes 5 adults and 8 children - a big meet! I'm happy to be host and provide the nibbles. If anyone has any allergies etc. please let me know.

I will pm my address to those that don't have it, if anyone else wants to come along, let me know and I will send you the details original.gif

Claire is running amok so I need to go, I will try to be back later to do personals.

Renée

eta: meet at 11am?
Teresa
Just popping in to say, reading along and Hi everyone. original.gif

Ineke - glad you and bubs are ok and hopefully you are resting up now.

Janbabyboy - PMSL at the vaseline. My boys have had the powder before, but that was relatively harmless in comparison to vaseline

Renee - sorry to hear you hare having a bad week.

so brissy girls, enjoy your catch up.

Anyway, all ok here. hectic and busy as usual. Jakey turned 6 on Tuesday and we have his birthday party at the swimming pool. It is indoors and heated which is just as well considering the weather at the moment. He wants a spongebob cake, so wish me luck. I just hope it isn't a great big flop.

ok, got to get moving, time to pick the boys up from school

LEGs-R-US
Sorry I've been MIA this week. First week back after a month off and I feel like a bus has hit me... I guess it was to be expected. I think one day I had back to back meetings for six hours. It was horrible so it is no wonder I didn't bring my laptop home from work because I didn't want to be tempted.

not much going on here this weekend (thankfully). The kids are doing my head in so it would have been nice to have Mark here to help with them but he has promised BIL that he would help him get the 'spa' spot ready. I am sure I told you about the $$$$$ spa that they could afford but they can't afford some of the other things and life. Anyway, I can't be too cranky because BIL did spent months helping us build the deck.

Got the kids hair cut on the Wednesday (my nextdoor neighbour is a hair dresser). The kids look so cute. I've been thinking of buying a GHD (after Tina starting talking about it... damn her for convincing me ... lol). Anyway the hairdresser straightened Gretel's hair. She looked so different... her hair was so long it was gorgeous. I then put her in the bath with her hair up really high so it wouldn't get wet... went in and then she had a bucket on her hair (oh well). I did take photos because it was Liam's first hair cut - just wanted the mullet to go. Will upload to facebook today hopefully.

Last night I got some wonderful news from my friend who had convinced her husband (with some difficulty to have a third baby - she is having twins!!!! Not sure what his reply was at first but they are ecstatic. They will have four children under four (even three and a half I think). She is a grea mother and I am sure she will cope. I think I'm jealous... just of being pregnant (don't think I want twins). LOL.

Will pop back in for personals this afternoon (I hope). After I have made my own 'cake' that the kids wanted for mothers day.

Off to the gym... Leita... I so wish we had Zumba at our gym... I'd love to give it a go. You sound like you are having a ball!

Jen
summerbub
Anyone else's child walking backwards everywhere? huh.gif
JoRiCo

Robyn: laughing2.gif Cohen loves walking backwards and also around in circles. It's probably a new trick he has learnt.

Jen- Hope you get some rest this weekend, I have returned back to work 2 days a week and that's killing me too.

Ineke- I hope you are ok and are getting plenty of rest.

Janbabyboy- roll2.gif at the vasoline, I have been lucky that none of my boys have done anything like that. Shouldn't talk too loudly Cohen will probably be my 1st.

Leita: I love Zumba too, it's fun and boy does it give your belly a workout.

Oops Cohen is awake, will BBL

Dannii
sophiesmum+1
Ineke- OMG how scary glad everything is ok with bub
summerbub- nope i dont think she knows how yet

hope everybody has a great mothersday tomorrow and gets spoilt
leita
ha ha ha, Summerbub, YES about two weeks ago Amalia started walking backwards- she says be be be be (which I think means back back back back) and shuffles backwards, then starts to laugh and clap her hands cos she thinks its funny. She also loves to stand on one leg- or try to anyway. biggrin.gif
pink
Ineke - I hope you are not too sore today. Such a scary thing falling over when your pregnant.

Sandra - the thought of the Vaseline in the boys hair had me giggling laughing2.gif is it all out yet?

Leita - so exciting to be getting close to settlement on your house!! ddance.gif the 21st will be here before you know it. I dont think I would look forward to moving twice in 6 months but hopefully the excitement of this move gets you thru.

Renee - I hope you are feeling better soon, its no fun being under the weather sad.gif

Teresa - how did the spongebob cake turn out? Sophie wants a Dolly Varden cake for her birthday next weekend (the barbie in a dress one) I am attempting to bake a cake in a pudding basin right now but its not turning out so well lol. I think I will need lots of luck too!!

LEGs - cant wait to see pics of the kids haircuts. Such lovely news for your friend having twins wub.gif I think twins would be lovely, hard work at times! but lovely original.gif

Robyn - Jack has walked backwards just a couple of times laughing2.gif bet it looks funny all the time. Jack is a toe walker!!! He had stopped it for a while but is really bad again now, apparently its not a problem until they are over 3 tho so I am hoping he grows out of it!

AFM - I am exhausted today! I had so much energy this morning and that was all used up by taking the 2 big kids grocery shopping on my own. They wanted to come with me and then turned in to right little pains once we got there!! glare.gif Add to that a hard to steer trolley and a belly that is now too big for me to use my core muscles to help me steer!!! lol I wasnt a very happy Mum by the time I got home!!

I have my Mum coming to stay with me next weekend and I cant wait grin.gif I miss her a lot. Its DP's birthday on Tuesday and then Sophies next Sunday so will be a busy week for me. Exciting tho original.gif

I also have a nocturnal baby on board laughing2.gif I barely feel any movement at all until late in the afternoon and then it kicks all night. My pelvis is killing me most days, some days its so painful to walk at all. Apparently the baby was laying sideways when they did a quick scan the other day so I think it might like this position most sad.gif I dont like it so much! Hopefully it turns soon. 23 weeks tomorrow original.gif

awww poor Jack is awake again, his teeth are coming thru and it hasnt been an easy couple of days.

Happy Mothers Day to all for tomorrow. I hope we all have a special day. To those who have lost their Mums, I hope you have wonderful thoughts of her tomorrow bbighug.gif
happinesswith2blue
Happy Mother's Day everyone

Hope you all have a lovely day biggrin.gif

Jo-Hope pudding moves into a better position for you. Yay on being 23 wks. It's going fast biggrin.gif
I'm sure your cake for Sophie's birthday will turn it wonderful and if it doesn't I'm sure Sophie won't even notice original.gif
The Vaseline is out of Asti Marti's hair, luckily he doesn't have much. Cohen hair just looks greasy. I have used so much shampoo,but just won't come out laughing2.gif

Jen

Sounds like you have had a busy wk at work. Hopefully you get to have a good rest today
How lovely of your friend to be having twins. Super woman to be having four kids under 3 1/2.
Gretel would've looked so different with straight hair wub.gif
The GHD does a wonderful job. I'm in love with mine wub.gif How cute Liam must look with his new haircut. When Cohen got his first hair cut, I got the hairdresser to keep a bit so I could put in his baby book. I'm so sentimental laughing2.gif I'm still waiting for Aston's hair to grow before he has a cut.

Teresa-Happy 6th Birthday to Jake on Tuesday. Goodluck with your Spongebob cake. I'm sure he will love it.

Renee
- Glad your feeling heaps better. Hope Dh feels better too.

LittleDCJ
Happy Mother's Day everyone!!!

I'm back from the Mother's Day Classic and have blisters!! My goal was to do the 7.2km run without stopping and in 45-50 min. I'm very happy as I didn't stop at all on the course and completed the course in 44'08", yay!!! The boys are very proud and impressed with my medal.

Now I need to back a roast vegie lasagne for lunch at my sister's. I just want to go back to bed.
summerbub
Happy Mother's Day!!!

cclap.gif for Tina, congrats on the run!

Sandra, that is so funny about the vaseline! hehehe.

Pink, my baby barely moves at all, so be thankful that yours at least has an active time of the day! Noah was laying transverse for the first 29 weeks (I think it was until about then) so I have never experienced the kicks so low before now. When Fergie does decide to give me a boot it is right down very very low.

Ineke - OMG you poor thing falling! Glad you are okay though, and the baby of course.

Teresa, just saw your spongebob cake on fb... you are a legend!! It looks awesome.

Sophiesmum, waves.gif

LEGs, go on!! Get the GHD. I have had mine for 3.5 years and it gets used daily. Freaking cheap if you ask me.

Renee, see you tomorrow. I'll try and bring something... I have to stop by the kindy and do a tour of the new room first so I might be a bit rushed.... but I will definitely try to pick something up from the bakery. No chance of me cooking at this stage! laughing2.gif

AFM, just put Noah down after big morning - we went and met my dad at the international airport at 9am. He is off to Phuket, Hong Kong, Alaska, New York, Mexico, then back to Phuket and home again.... all in 2 weeks. I told him that I don't want to see him on border security laughing2.gif His mate has a plane or something and they do the 'pacific circle' - I'm slightly jealous even though it will be a really quick trip he will see so much of the world.

Noah had the most gigantic sleep yesterday - I put him down at 10.30am and ended up going in and waking him up at 2.30pm oomg.gif - four hours!! I think he was really exhausted from the big week at kindy. I was a happy chappy though, gave me a bit of time out!

Speaking of which, he just went to bed again so I have my pillow and I'm about to have a snooze myself.

Oh and we went to the baby shop on Friday (sis and I with Noah and Emma) and Noah walked backwards through the entire shop laughing2.gif . I don't think I could do that!!

Ciao

ETA - Forgot to mention my mother's day pressie! I got a gorgeous book mark and some artwork from mister Noah that he made himself... and a trip to the Gold Coast next weekend - Friday - Sunday which includes a 3-hour day spa treatment. They do massage, a body exfoliation, wash and blow dry of your hair, and finish off with a facial. I CAN'T BLOODY WAIT!!
July Baby
Happy Mother's Day to everyone!!

Tina - Whooo Hooo on your run. Excellent effort and within your time goals as well. I hope you pull up ok tomorrow and the blisters don't cause too much pain.

Robyn - LOL about Noah walking backwards! I can imagine you'd be in stitches walking around the shop like that. Did you buy any goodies?

Teresa - OMG your spongebob cake is amazing. I'm sure it was a real hit with the kids. They looked like they had a wonderful time. Lovely pics of the boys together too. You must be well proud of them.

Jo - I hope pudding changes position so you can feel more comfortable.

Jen - Wow to your friend having twins! What a massive shock for them! 4 under four sounds daunting doesn't it!? What a massive week you've had. Bet your ready for another holiday now.

Wil has been sick. I got a call from daycare cause Wil had a temp so I went and collected him. Thinking he was just teething he had a good night sleep and seemed well, so back to daycare the next day. Another call from daycare in the afternoon with another temp so this time we went to the doctor expecting them to say I was overly cautious but he's definitely got something but we left without any medicine. Spent two days with grandma and still not all that well. He's got a really snotty nose that is getting worse and now has a dreadful cough. He doesn't cough much but boy when he does he goes red and just looks so uncomfortable. He's still sleeping really well and is pretty happy but I still think it's partly due to the 7 teeth I can see coming through and I think 2-3 are either eye teeth or molars?! Poop pumpkin. cry1.gif Anyway if he's still yucky tomorrow we'll head back to the doc. Is there anything I can give him to dry up his nose or is he still too little. We have a vaporiser in his room which is a blessing while he's sleeping.

Both my boys are asleep so this is my "me time" and what better way to spend it. Yesterday DH and Wil went present shopping while I did the grocery shopping. I forgot how peaceful it can be when you are on your own. grin.gif

For Mother's Day I got a mum coffee mug, a garlic press (which I have wanted but never got around to buying) and an icing syringe with different shape things and two blocks of chocolate, one from each of our dogs! Because Wil hasn't been at Daycare I haven't got that present yet... How spoilt did I get!!! wub.gif

What did others get? For those with older kiddies did you get breaky in bed?

I made my first batch of potato and leek soup yesterday it was so delicious cclap.gif I will have to make more. I take soup for lunch at work. What's your favourite home made soup?

Catch ya waves.gif

pink
Happy Mothers Day girls cool.gif

Tina - well done!! congrats on finishing quicker than planned. Hope the blisters are ok tomorrow.

Robyn - great pressie! I hope you enjoy every minute of it. Hopefully Fergie starts to kick lots and hard Tounge1.gif nothing worse than wondering whats going on in there.

Wilsmum - sad.gif poor little Wil. I hope he is over whatever it is soon. lovely Mothers Day pressies. I love little simple things for Mothers Day, so its not so commercial and the kids always get joy out of making things or buying them at the stall at school.

Pressies - I got so spoilt! DP went shopping and got me slippers, a card making kit and a heatproof bag for my GHD original.gif The kids had a stall at school and Cameron bought me some long lavender candles and a holder (like for the dinner table) and Sophie bought an oil burner and some lavender tea light candles grin.gif they were both so excited to tell me that they didnt know they had bought the same kind of candles until they got home. hehehe so cute!

I got pancakes for brekky and a lovely bubble bath this morning. Has been a really nice relaxing family day. Hope everyone else has had a lovely day too.

Oh and Pudding has seriously hardly stopped kicking all day!! especially in the bath wub.gif obviously wanted to prove me wrong when I said it was a quiet one laughing2.gif
india732
Happy Mother's Day

TIna- Well done on your run, hope you feel good tomorrow after todays run

Wilsmum- Sorry to hear he is sick, I hope he gets better soon

Robyn- Lucky you....I so want a massage etc etc...oh well...I will just wait until after bubs

Jo- Jelly kicks morning and evening, but not so much when I go to bed, which is nice.

Teresa- love the cake, hope it went down well

AFU- Presents- two Slow Cooker cookbooks, card, breaky in bed of eggs, bacon, toast, and tomato and DH did everything today it has been so lovely to have a whole day off biggrin.gif
Dh is currently finishing off the final touches to the walls in Sijbs new bedroom...I did the second coat on the green wall and now my knee is screwed even more after that and the fall...oh well physio needed for that....but tomorrow we should beable to say the room is finished and ready to be vacuumed and bed to be built and Sijb to move in Next weekend YAY can't wait to move the little man into a big boys bed. We chose 3 colours, blue, orange and green for the walls and the cupboard doors have blackboard paint sections on them, for when the kids are slightly older. We are still yet to do the themed canvases for the room (space or undersea)and still need to buy the bedding....but so excited!!! Plus we got his carseat on the weekend, so need to fit it and move him across to the new seat and clean up the other seat for Jelly....22.5weeks today...so excited feels so real now. Plus picked up a secondhand tandem pram for $15, need to tidy it up and see if I can get a hood for the toddler seat..but it means that if i want to walk to the local shops with the two kids then I can. YIPPIE!!!!

Bones is on shortly so best go
Ineke
happinesswith2blue
Tina- Great job on the run. Hope you feel very proud of yourself biggrin.gif Excellent effort.
I'm sure you will sleep great tonight original.gif

Ineke- Sounds like you had a lovely day and got spoilt also.
Sijbs room will look fantastic once it's finished.
Aston has been really good in his big boy bed. Hopefully Sijb likes his new bed. They look so tiny in it.

Jo- What a lovely gifts the kids got you and DP. Lucky girl biggrin.gif

Robyn- Oh how relaxing it will be for you next wkend. I'm sure you will enjoy every moment of it. Lovely present from Noah too, it would melt my heart . So cute wub.gif
Wow ,what a massive sleep from your little man. Must of been tired. I would love a 4 hour nanna nap most days laughing2.gif

wilsmum- Hope Wil is feeling better.Your potato and leek soup sounds delish.

I had a lovely day. I got a Mini sound system for my ipod tthumbs.gif and a mudcake and a lovely card from the boys wub.gif .I love cards. Then we went to the park and had a picnic and the boys played with the balls and the Tonka Truck. Lovley day out.

See some of you lovely ladies tomorrow original.gif
Hope my boys behave original.gif

Now I'm off to bed.

LEGs-R-US
Teresa - that cake is awesome. we have some very talented bakers in here. Can I be honest and say I have never ever watched spongebob (lol)... wouldn't have the foggest who he is - other than to guess he is a sponge.

Tina - fantastic news on the run. My husband was even impressed with that time (I think that means that you'd secretely beat him... lol - men never admit it). I so wish I was a runner.

Ineke - the room is going to be fantastic. this baby is going to be here in no time and it is going to be so excited in here. Did you join a parents group in EB with this one? I loved the experience and meeting all you wonderful ladies.

Robyn - I hope you didn't mind my snugglie/cuddlie jabs (lol). As for the holiday. Where is it at. I was meant to be going to Fiji with my mates in September but now as one of them will be pregnant with twins we are looking for something closer to home. we were thinking Gold Coast or even up to Malaney or something and then book into a spa. I'd love to know where you are going. I think you definately got spoilt. Shaun came through with the goods.

ME.
Well getting ready for another busy week of work. I've also had some dramas in my old parents group on EB - we moved to Facebook over a year ago and now one member has decided to just defriend all but eight of us (there are like 40 regular members) and play favs without any explanation. I feel sort of betrayed. We've spent four years together and then to just have no explanation of what happened is just a bit odd and disrespecting.

I had a good day though... Marky did some odd jobs which is all I really wanted. Also went to Jeans West and got some great clothes using the voucher someone posted on EB Hot Specials. The kids helped me sort the books (feel bad but I so need to get rid of some books - I know they are great but my kids never read them... I just feel odd in dumping literature).
Will hopefully chat tomorrow - hopefully work isn't going to be as hectic as I think.

Jen
Teresa
Jo - it brings back alot of memories reading about your pg. I found my fourth the hardest. I am sure that our bodies are just worn out.

Robyn - I was wondering, sorry if you have already mentioned this. But is your placenta at the front of your belly at all. I barely felt William. It used to worry me so much. I don't really remember his first real kicks until I was around 20 weeks and they were always down low. Once he got bigger and my placenta moved up I did feel him alot more.

Jen - spongebob is stupid. original.gif I think it is on Nickolodeon and the boys watch it only occassionally and they have seen the movie watch was really stupid. I don't really like him that much especially after spending 4 hours icing him. fingers, wrists, back shoulders are so sore from all that piping. never ever again!!

Tina - congrats on the run

oops, got to sign off my battery is about to run off.

Happy Mothers Day
summerbub
laughing2.gif
I don't really like him that much especially after spending 4 hours icing him
Cracked me up Teresa laughing2.gif

Yup, my placenta is anterior AGAIN!!! It was with Noah as well. I felt some really good big kicks last night so am less worried now. Let's hope that my little princess turns around sometime soon so that I can get the kicks up high. What am I saying???? OMG I used to hate being kicked in the ribs laughing2.gif

LEGs - I am laughing as much as you are! I can't believe I have a 'cuddlee'! hehehehehe. Don't ever worry that you would offend me.... you have a good sense of humour.
Why did your EB group move off to FB? How did you guys discover that this girl had defriended almost everyone? Man I would be defriending her myself if she was to do that to me.

Sandra , sounds like you had a lovely day and yay for the iPod mini docking station!!

Ineke, wow you are doing well with getting Sijb's room ready! I have purchased the basics, but need to assemble it all. The damned outlaws will be here in two weeks for the weekend cry1.gif so I can't do anything until after they leave. I'll be almost 30 weeks by then - definitely time to get the nursery sorted!!

pink, that is so cute that Sophie and Cameron bought you the same gift! They must have good taste.

Wilsmum - how's Wil going today? I hope he is feeling better. Poor little sausage.
Nope, I didn't end up buying A THING at the baby shop! That's a world record for me.

Holiday - LEGs this is the place http://www.mantraphoenician.com.au/guest-facilities/ I can't find the link to the spa menu... but basically the place is known for the day spa - (Harbour Day Spa is the name). My sister has a lot of connections (finance mgr at Flight Centre) so she just told the Prawn where to book. ahem... I mean she told Noah where to book laughing2.gif

Okay I better head... Brissy meet at Renee's in an hour and I have to make lunch, snacks, etc for the spunkrat and get myself looking a little more respectable.

LEGs-R-US
had a shocker of a morning - so have come home from work. my facebook status pretty much sums it up...

had to get ethan from childcare because he cracked his eye (well the skin above it) open on some blocks at school. Then whilst on my way to the hospital to get it stitched (which it thankfully didn't need) I hit a car... prett much wrote it off :-( and we are also without a car too... day can't get much better.
LittleDCJ
Jen - What a day!! I hope that Ethan recovers well, it's not too hard to get around without a car and that your #3 bad thing for the day is mild compared to the previous two.

Suzanne - I see you reading, how are you and Shae? Haven't heard from you for ages.

Robyn - Noah did really well with his presents for you, hopefully he keeps it up for all the many Mother's Days to come.

Teresa - Loved the cake. I hope he appreciates how much effort it took for you to make it.

janbabyboy - I slept really well last night. Was in bed by 8.30pm and didn't wake until Jarvis started shaking his cot rails at 6.30.

Ineke - Sijb's room is progressing really well, can't wait to see some pics.

Jo - Sounds like you had a lovely day and were very spoilt by your kids.

Wilsmum - I love potato and leek soup but I'm trying to avoid making it while I'm doing BFL as potatoes need to be avoided. I've been making lots of chicken and vegie soup instead.

Well I'm feeling really good after my run yesterday. Blisters were fine as soon as I took my runners off. I thought my legs would be aching today but they are only very slightly sore. I even did a 30 min lower body and abs workout this morning with no problems. I think I am going totally mad but I'm considering doing a half marathon in August. I work best when I have a goal to work towards and would love to challenge myself.

Had a great weekend. We invited 2 families over for dinner Sat night and it went really well but was much later than I expected. I didn't get to bed until 12.30am and then Jarvis had me up at 5.30am wacko.gif I cooked a great meal, we had green chicken curry, garlic prawns, rice and then a lovely sticky toffee pudding for dessert. The pudding was absolutely divine, one of my favourites.

I'm just about to email my old bosses to ask them to be referees. It's so scary thinking about going back to work. If I get the jog I'll either cope really well with it or be a complete fruitcake.
happinesswith2blue
If I get the jog I'll either cope really well with it or be a complete fruitcake.
- You must have jogging on the brain Tina laughing2.gif
I hope you get it. I think you will do great.
Glad that you didn't feel too sore and good on you having a good sleep.
You dinner from Sat night sounds so YUMMY. You can come and cook me dinner any day tongue.gif

Jen- Oh no. I hope you and Ethan are ok. How very scary for you.What a terrible start to your wk. I hope it improves.

Had a lovely day today at the Brissy meet. It was lovely to meet you all and your lovely kids.
Cohen and Aston were that tired when we left that they fell asleep before I got to Chermside shops.
summerbub
Masterchef!! YAY love it.

Oh no Jen, that is so awful. I'm glad you are all safe though. How scary.

Sandra, so did you stop at chermside for a sneaky shop? laughing2.gif It was nice to meet you too.

Tina, you will be fine! I really hope you get the job now that you know that you want it!! And that's great that you aren't too sore - it sounds like your half marathon idea isn't out of the question!

Renee, thanks for having us today biggrin.gif we had a lovely time.

Pics: I'm struggling uploading these to fb at the moment. I'm ready to karate chop the computer, even though I know it is fb that isn't working. GRRR!

Chocolate time ninja.gif
happinesswith2blue
Robyn. I did the sneaky shop before hand laughing2.gif But I had to pass it on the way home. I wouldn't even attempt to wake them to go shopping . I think I would have pulled my hair out if I did. They were so tired. They go all silly without asleep, probably just like their mum laughing2.gif

Oh I forgot about the pics laughing2.gif no rush at all. But love to see the ones of Noah giving the boys kisses wub.gif

I should go to bed I'm so yyawn.gif but I have to watch Brother's and Sisters. I'm going to enjoy the piece and quiet
LittleDCJ
This job applying hoo ha is just too hard. It's all so new to me and I have no idea what to do sad.gif . I've only submitted scientific job applications before so it's totally different. Do I have to address any parts of the job description or personal specifications (essential and desirable) in my covering letter, cv or do a seperate sheet?
crazy*cat*lady
Tina: I'd do a separate sheet, but Robyn might be able to offer some better advice...

Thanks to the Brisbane ladies for visiting - you all left food behind, I swear there is more here than before hand... Steve says I should host a meet every week if that's the deal Tounge1.gif

It was great to meet Sandra, Ali and their boys. I forgot how outnumbered by boys Claire is!

I have to run & get ready for work.

I hope everyone has a great day (especially Jen, after yesterday - how frustrating!).

NurseGladys
Hi girls, still here

Jen - Glad to hear that you are alright. What a thing to happen.

Brissy girls - Sound like you had fun, shame you are so far away!!!!

Perth girls - These brissy girls are showing us up big time, when can we get together again??? Anyone????

AFM - Working hard again, lots of weekends which suck for family time but I try to think of the money (not much) that can help us do things around the house so we can sell and move.

Ok, gotta go, school run beakons.

White-Lily
Hello!! Its time i rejoin the internet!! well EB at least original.gif
Been missing for a while now, but the break has been very refreshing.

Its been a long few weeks/month for us so i will attempt to catch you all up
* MIL is driving me nuts - she is the reason i am no longer on FB
* Shae is sick (chest infection i think - off to the Dr when i can get her in) which means DH and I havent slept much for the last few days
* Work is super busy, which doesnt help much with the tiredness
* House is for sale but no takers yet
* Laptop is on the verge of death
* Car is also a bit unhappy but that will be fixed next week hopefully
* Spent some time in hospital with Miss S as she is allergic to suncream or at least something in it? Was pretty scary as her whole face became swollen and red
* Shae still doesnt walk but took a few shaky steps on her own last week, but nothing else since. She seems very happy to crawl
Umm thats about it, between looking after a sick bub and keeping the house clean for the home opens and avoiding MIL at all costs i dont get any time for myself!
Thanks for thinking of us hheart.gif

Perth Meet im in but can only do Wednesdays or Thursdays, but not the 19th

NurseGladys glad work is going well even if it does cut into family time. it will be worth it in the long run

Tina I'd do a seperate sheet too

Jen i hope today is a better day hhugs.gif

Robyn hope Fergie starts to kick a bit more (but not in the ribs) so you can worry less

Thats all i can manage, my brain hurts. Im sure it needs some coffee
Will be in a bit more often, promise blush.gif
belsy

It's been a while but I'm back on EB. Don't know why I didn't continue after Lachie was born but I'm back now and hoping some might remember me from the DIG.

A refresher for those who can remember me (Jo, Ineke and Leita I remember) and an introduction for those that don't.

My name is Bel and I have two son's - Sam a 3yo and Lachie - 23/02/09. Following Lachie's arrival we decided our family was complete so DH had the snip (bribed him with a week of fishing). Lachie has been a bit of a handful- although he is a huge risk taker and has no fear, he is still the biggest mummy's boy you have seen. I went back to work in November and am working 4 days a week.

My DH travels a bit for work so life is very busy.

Our biggest challenge at the moment is Lachie's sleeping and dependancy issues (sounds like I am some sort of a drug original.gif )

Anyway sorry for the hiatus and hope to get you all a bit better soon.

PS For the record - I have a GHD and LOOOOOOVE it. Well worth the expense.
summerbub
Pics are on fb now biggrin.gif

Here's a sneak peek.... wub.gif

Claire, Elliott, Noah, Aston

Welcome back Belsy!! Welcome back Whitelily biggrin.gif
pink
Brissie girls - your toddlers are so cute!!! wub.gif I love seeing them all together like that! You can really see the personalities coming out now too.

Belsy - welcome back original.gif I remember you. I hope you have some success with Lachies sleep and dependancy issues. Its so hard when they just want you all the time!! and they are so hard to resist Tounge1.gif

Suzanne - Welcome back bbighug.gif sounds like life has been a bit too interesting for you lately! I hope Miss Shae is feeling better really soon. She must be doing well to be taking a few steps on her own, looks like the harness helped original.gif Maybe when she is better she might just take off

Megan - DP works nights and his 'weekend' is Thurs, Fri. It is hard for family time but we also think of the money.

Jen - I hope you're feeling ok after your awful day

I had an interesting phone call today from the social worker we used to see at the hospital when Sophie was sick. She is such a lovely lady and I havent talked to her in probably 12 months so it was nice to fill her in on how we are going and the new baby news original.gif She called to ask me to write an article for the Metabolic Dietary Disorders Association's newsletter. They had contacted her wondering if she knew of any families who would like to do it. I said yes of course! Bit nervous about writing something but I take every oportunity to spread the word about the condition and hopefully help someone else out. There is no time limit and I have to write at least 1500 words!! but I'm sure when I start writing that wont be a problem. Soph sure was a complicated little creature for a while there.

Its nice to be able to write about it and also have the positive ending of the transplant and the life she has now. So I am hoping it gives information and hope to families in the same situation. Now just have to write it lol

first I think I need to try and sleep
tashimoo
Hi everyone... I am back. I have been really slack lately but life has just been so busy. I have been trying to keep up with everyone's news. Thanks Lisa for motivating me to come back

Quick catch up from me.. Spencer is doing really well, walking well and just a happy boy and such a delight to be with.

Hubby and I have just come back from 10 days in Italy which was nice but it was so traumatic leaving Spencer behind and then my flight got cancelled due to the Volcano and it took me 50 hours to get home. When I finally got to Sydney I found that My luggage was left behind and took 2 days to get to me. When I got home Spencer acted as if he didn't know me and didn't want to come to me... I was so upset. Anyway all is good now.

We are off next month for 5 weeks in Europe (mainly Greece) so if anyone has any tips on flying with a toddler, i am all ears.

Will do better next time for personals ..

With regards to GHD's i LOVE mine... could not live without it

Brissy Girls - what a cute bunch and lucky Claire to be surrounded by all those handsome boys

Pink - well done for deciding to write the article
Skyjay
Hi All

Hope everyone had a lovely mothers day. On top of my massage voucher I also received some artwork from the girls. DH even got up early to make me breakfast, still not early enough for breakfast in bed (I was up at 6.30am & he isn't a morning person) SJ & DH made me french toast while Indi helped eat it!!!

Sue - Welcome back, glad you had a great time (except the return leg) Must have been Spencer's way of saying 'don't leave me next time'. As for travel tips, I don't have any sorry.

Jo - that's fantastic, you'll write it perfectly & I'm sure help so many families.

Brissy girls - nice pic, just gorgeous.

Belsy - welcome back. I have 2 girls the same age as your boys.

Suzanne - Welcome back, hope Shae is on the mend. Hope you sell your house soon.

AFU - Poor FIL came over yesterday to bolt our shed into the concrete. When he got back to his house & opened his front door he found 2 rather large guys in his house. They pushed him back against the door & ran off down the street. At this stage it doesn't appear like they had stolen much but with MIL still going thru chemo, it wasn't what they needed. FIL is still rather shaken from it all, he is just so lucky they ran off, it could have been so worse. Thankfully MIL was out too otherwise she probably would have been lying in bed.

Poor Indi keeps bumping her head, I think I might have to buy her a helmet!!!! Other than that she is going well. Getting really cheeky, but it's so cute. She will act as if she is going to run up to you and give you a big hug but at the last minute she turns & runs away giggling, I think she likes being chased. She is driving me a little crazy with her day sleep. She always wakes after 40 mins but usually she goes back to sleep if I go in there and put her back down & sleeps for another 40 mins. I thought doing this every day for the last couple of months she would have trained herself to stay asleep. Oh well, could be worse!

For me, the saga continues with Hardley Normal. They cant get a universal charger for my laptop so if they don't get an original charger from acer within the week they will loan me a laptop. Problem is I don't want a loan laptop. I want my fils/pics off my laptop. gggrrr!!!

Off to swimming tomorrow, it's so cold & miserable here I would rather stay snuggled up in bed!!!

mummabubba
Just wanted to say hi waves.gif

Sorry I didn't make it on Monday Brissie girls - Harry had blisters on his mouth again and Jackson was complaining of a sore mouth so I thought they had hand, foot & mouth again. but am now thinking the blisters might be just a teething rash - Harry has his 4 front top teeth coming through, although it doesn't seem to be bothering him other than the chin rash....

So sorry I didn't make it Renee and missed out on meeting the others! sad.gif Ali how about we come up to your place in a few weeks? I'd still love to catch up! I can do Wed, Thurs or Fridays.

Sadly no time for personals right now (there's so much I want to say too!)!, but I'll try and get back tomorrow for some.

Lisa
india732
My little Sijb, did a wee on the potty tonight!!!!!!!!!! Arghhhh.....with the help of the shower!!!! We sit him on the potty as we run the shower or bath, as he wees with running water and he is so interested in the toilet when we go and he can take his used nappies to either the nappy bin or the laundry.......we might keep up the potty sitting at bath time.

since my fall I have screwed up my knee, it has soft tissue damage and I need to head to physio next week or when I have the money....so it will stop me from going with DH to his Poppys funeral up the coast next week, which isn't something I wanted, but I need to get it better before Kurt comes in September!!!

I am going to leave it there as we are going to put up Sijbs bed ready for this weekend...DH is bugging me to get it set up

BBL or another day
Ineke

White-Lily
Quick Update while Shae is out, Spent yesterday arvo in hospital (again)! Shae has bronchiolitis again, we barely escaped being admitted last night due to poor oxygen stats (thankfully they picked up). she is on steroid meds once a day for another few days and ventolin every hour for the better part of the next week. If she doesnt improve we are going back to hospital to more than likely be admitted and Shae will go on oxygen.

We have a check up with the nurse after lunch today and im guessing we will be in hospitial tonight.
Cant seem to catch a break lately.

GTG she is awake and very upset sad.gif
18 mins of sleep is not enough sad.gif
LittleDCJ
Oh no Suzanne, I am so sorry to hear that Shae is so ill. Maybe hospital is the best place for her atm? Give her a big cuddle from all of us and I hope that she improves quickly. Remember to look after yourself and let us know how she is doing.

Application is all sealed and ready to go. Scary stuff........

pink
bbighug.gif big hugs for Shae! Suzanne I hope she gets better so she doesnt have to spend time in hospital. Altho as Tina said, it might be the best place for her. Still not nice tho!

ooh Tina, good luck! very exciting.

Sue - welcome back! sounds like a horrid trip home from holidays and to have your little man not want to go to you must have been heartbreaking sad.gif Hope you are both all settled back in now.

Ineke - yay Sijb!! Jack will sit on his potty so I just keep doing it to keep him used to it. Cant wait for that first accidental wee on it! laughing2.gif their reaction is always so cute!

Me - I have a birthday cake to make tonight and then decorate tomorrow! Sophie turns 10 on Sunday wub.gif My Mum is coming to stay for the weekend and we are all going out for tea tomorrow night so will have the cake then. It will be a Dolly Varden cake (Barbie - cake is the dress) Havent made one before so fingers crossed it works!

Better run, have to get DP organised to go and pick up a mattress for Sophie that I won on ebay yesterday. $60 for less than a year old and only used a few times in a guest room. Sounds good, hope it looks as good! little nervous lol
LEGs-R-US
I saw the wonderful photos of the meet on Facebook. I had to laugh at Elliotts face (on the way above) so intense. Will come back for a proper catch up tomorrow. Just wanted to spread the love tonight and catch up on my reading.

Just wanted to say quickly... Suzanne I so hope Shae recovers quickly. Atleast you can be assured they are going to keep a great eye on her in there. Hopefully the commute isn't far from you.

Me...
Well as your saw yesterday I got gastro - like WTF!!! I can't believe my luck. Seriously what did I do wrong?
We picked up my sisters car yesterday which can fit two car seats in. This makes things slightly easier - it just means I have to ride with one on the bike. But way easier than catching three on the bus.

Jen

PS: Can I just say (to all your neighbors people... I HATE the new Declan? - the old one was so dreamy).
summerbub
PS: Can I just say (to all your neighbors people... I HATE the new Declan? - the old one was so dreamy).
Oh no! I thought that w*n*er was just a stand in for a little couple of episodes. Doh!!

Jen, you have a had a bad run lately (no pun intended Tounge1.gif ) I hope that is it!!

Suzanne, so sorry that Shae is so sick. sad.gif Poor little darling.

Tina, best of luck for your applicaton!

Lisa, just saw your ticker - congrats on the 10kg that is amazing! I hope to catch up soon.

Ineke, yay for Sijb and the potty! What a clever boy.

I don't even own a potty....!! OMG am I really behind here? Where's the manual? When does all this happen??

I should be packing but just arrived home from my sister's house and it is freezing so I'm sitting in bed with my laptop under the doona. I love the cold weather!!

Can't wait to take off on my mini-break tomorrow. I have had such a stressful week at work so it will be fantastic to truly unwind.

Nighty night

Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.