The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: October 04 Parents # 213

Essential Baby > Parents' Groups > Join a parents' group here > 2004
Pages: 1, 2, 3

http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/forums/ind...howtopic=776965

lostmyid
Gold! And let's see who can work out who I am!!!
Mum to Thalia and Dylan
Hey Niki!?!
littleman
yeah nikki lol??bi - omg are you okay?
Winnie The Pooh
I DON'T WANT TO KNOW EITHER CHELLE. Sorry, don't mean to be yelling, but i LOVE surprises too original.gif I didn't find out with either of mine, but I did guess correctly with both.

Pam, when Chelle was saying in her last post that "she" couldn't see so "she" wasn't sure, I'm pretty sure Chelle was referring to the sonographer as "she", not the bubba. But there is a 50% chance that bubba will be pink, lol.

I've been around girls, just keeping a low profile original.gif

All is good.

Glad that school is back and we're getting into the swing of Term 2.

Take care everyone
lostmyid
Yeah, it's me.

EB has been so mean to me of late. It stopped letting me even view posts. Grrrrr. So, I'm back with a new name but I'm the sae old screwed up Nikki. I've missed you guys. Sob.

Chelle, you better not tell me yur secret girly. I'll not be impressed.

Nikki
joshie
Hi!

Yeah - I reckon it's Nik too!

Chelle - nup - don't want to know either! That's not to say we won't speculate and guess!

Bi - glad the chiro worked for you. THey scare me!

How' s this for scary - my gf who lives around the corner and up the road from me rang yesterday - 2 guys attempted to break into her house - while she was home!! They knocked on the door, she peered out from the study and thinking they were more salesmen, she pretended not to home. A few minutes later, they were trying to jimmy open her laundry door! She screamed out and called the police. Poor thing was so shook up. She had a go at me cos I'm pretty lax with my security, needless to say, I've tightened up now. Police told her they're targeting our area at the moment.

Took Cass to a new Speech Therapist yesterday - she was lovely. Said Cassi just needs a bit of tweaking and she'll be all good.

Oh, got offered another job today - while I was at one of them! Another kindy that doesn't have an Admin person atm - she's got to convince the Committee first so we'll see what happens! At this rate, I'll be working full time before I know it!

Alrighty, another meeting tonight - this will be my 3rd one and still counting! There is lots of changes going on in QLD early education, makes for interesting times ahead! Least I get paid for all these extra activities this year!

Bye!
Pam*B
Sherryn do you want to work full time? You must be really great at what you do, everyone wants you!

Vanessa yeah I wasn't referring to that. I was referring to the fact that she didn't know, figuring a penis is pretty hard to miss so maybe it was a girl. But seeing bub was refusing to stretch out and show it off, that doesn't really apply.

Yay Cass! Omg about your friend! I think I would just freeze, maybe grab the cat and run out the other door to the neighbours. It was a bit brave to let them know she was there.

Oh guess who got sent to The Thinking Chair today? Wahhhh! 10 years and no child of mine has even been sent to a thinking chair, until now. Bloody kid, he broke our streak! Apparently he was playing dib dib with some kid when he was supposed to be listening. laughing2.gif He was in awe of the chair before now, I'm afraid that now he's been in it and he saw no disaster occurred, it won't be a deterrent anymore!

How mean am I...Eve thinks the uniform rules at dancing are for her to adhere to only when she feels like it. So today we get in the car and I realise she's left her jazz shoes inside, again, just because it seemed she couldn't be fagged digging them out. She also doesn't wear the uniform if she's not in a black pants/black top mood, doesn't matter what I say. So I figure I ain't getting into this argument again. So I drop her at dancing, and then I txt the teacher..."hiya, Eve has left her dance shoes at home for the 2nd week in a row. Feel free to berate her in front of everyone. She thinks your uniform and shoe policy is optional."

roll2.gif I got a txt back about 30 mins later saying "all done!". laughing2.gif

Anyway....again, what's this about Verity?
laineylaz

Great (hopefully) news...my grandfather is back from hospital. It's been 24 days, poor man. I'm not sure how my grandma will cope, we've set up some support services and fingers crossed they will be enough so that the two of them can remain in their own home together.

Super-busy at the moment as I'm standing for Council (the school governing board) and it's taking some time catching up on all the policies and politics! Today I got 74 emails (SO FAR...they are still coming) from fellow Council members ohmy.gif I kid you not.

Pam, 10 years without being sent to the Thinking Chair--that is impressive! Is there some kind of award for that?

Nik, there is an old rabbinic saying...you change your name, you change your luck biggrin.gif Please thank your sister (and yourself) for the thoughtful hand-written card she sent to me. That was very unexpected. I appreciate it.

Chelle, so nice to have you back wub.gif cuddles to your lovely belly xx How exciting that you know the sex!

Bi, your poor back sad.gif did you bruise?

Sherryn, OMG your g/f and the attempted break-in, how scary!! So, are you planning to take the other job? Sounds like you are enjoying the work, which is great.

Amanda
I'm not emotionally attached to the place - I actually really like it - it has a cheery, positive vibe about it.
Course it does--you live there.

Verity...fill me in please?

Check this, my sis got offered a job yesterday working 2 days a week as a neurologist at a top headache management practice in the upper-west side. They are paying her more for her 2 days of work than she is receiving in her current full-time job! The amazing part is that she is expecting her second child...so she'll have this brilliant income, and 5 days every week at home with her babies.

Ok, better go, my lil sis wants me to read her uni assignment...joy.
Winnie The Pooh
I'm sure you've all heard the NRL sh*te hit the fan. Just wanted to say that as much as I am a diehard Manly fan that this has left me reeling. Of course the bigger picture will be revealed in the coming days, weeks, months. It's just so awful for the fans and for the players that knew nothing of this. Such a mess. I'm shattered for all the Melbourne Storm fans sad.gif

Will they recover?? I don't know, maybe they can. Talk about damage control in such a strong sporting code.

All good here. Can't believe my little girl will be 2 soon ohmy.gif

Take care
joshie
Hi!

Yes, V - what a mess! Wow Miss E 2 ALready?? Where did that time go??

Lainey - awesome news about your sister! Oooh, if ever she has any information she wants to pass on regarding migraines - I'm all ears! My poor mum has just had to go back on epilepsy medication for her migraines.

Pam - no, I don't want to work full time - but more than happy working more days so long as it remains flexible around the kids schooling and activities. This new one would be fun as they've never had an Admin person before and they are a small 1 room unit with lots of problems, so it would be my "baby". But I'll have to wait and see what comes about - the poor teacher is having all sorts of problems so nothing may come of it.

Yeah, I reckon I'd freeze too if someone was breaking into my house - I'd probably hide in the wardrobe or something! I've got a list of security upgrades for Paul to do now!

Pam - is the thinking chair at school? Love the txt to the teacher, must remember that one!

Louise - let me know when you're going to Chermside again, I was there the other day and thought I'd love to run into you again!

Have a lovely weekend - anyone going to any dawn services? I'd love to take my kids - I've been saying that for years, really must do it one year..........

Pam*B
LOL yeah the thinking chair I'm referring to is in the classroom. I don't have a thinking chair...that's a bit too soft for me. My thinking chair is go to your room and shut the door and don't come out till I say so...and none of this 1 minute for every year of their age crap!

BBS...Eve is waiting for me to come watch a movie.
laineylaz
Sherryn, feel free to email me with the history of your/your mum's migraines, and I'll ask my sis for ya xx

Just watched Mao's last dancer tthumbs.gif
littleman
hi

v - glad all going well!

pam - lol atthe thinking chair...we are tryin to figure out a punishment for etana, seems whatever we do doesnt have an effect. how was teh movie?

sherryn - omg about your friend, scary stuff really.

hi Lainey.

well our backyard is almost done, when i say done i mean big stuff all the little stuff to do now, lights, table, complete gerny of the place..should be finished in teh next few weeks, ready in time to mow lawn.

we are starting to paint hosue tomorrow, and have been lucky enough to offload the kids for three whole days and two nights in 2 weeks, so rick and i can really get stuck in and finish the job. a few trips to ikea will b ein order also lol. I also think we are going to go with plantation shutters on all the windows.

anyway got to go, dinner to have, we went out to a friend house last night and she did 7 courses...too much food!
Pam*B
...and when you finish your yard can you come and do mine? laughing2.gif I just look at ours and think of all the things we need to do and it feels so overwhelming I can't imagine it actually coming to fruition.

Anyone having trouble with their 5yo's listening? Jed just. never. listens. You tell him not to do something, he says ok, then he immediately does it. You punish him, he comes out and does it again. He gets me to boiling point. Today we were out and I ask him not to touch stuff and he touches, over and over and over, doesn't matter how many times I say it, within 2 seconds he's forgotten (or dismissed it rather). He'll even look at me while I'm saying it and touch something just to p*ss me off (we were shopping). I get to the point that in my head I'm screaming and I want to throttle him (which of course I don't, in public or otherwise LOL). He's also really really full on right now with energy. I think we need to enrol him in something really physical to direct his energy at. Not sure what...Graham wants to put him in Tai Kwon Do. At first I was annoyed because he's chosen that as it's something he did, and he was good at - he hasn't taken Jed's natural interests and talents into account at all. But of course as Jed is dad's boy now, he just wants to do whatever idea Graham throws out there. But now I'm thinking, it might be a good idea - that combination of the physical and discipline might be just what he needs right now. Thoughts?

Movie was average, it was Imagine That with Eddie Murphy. Was meant to be a kid's movie but there was way too much adult storyline, and not enough kid stuff - not as in PG, just too old to keep the kid's interest. I just bought The Sound of Music, because most DVD stores don't even seem to hire it anymore, what's that about? Anyway it was only $12 so bargain. Going to watch with Eve now. waves.gif
lostmyid
Pam, Steed is like that all the time. He constantly touches and fiddles. It drives me insane. He is worse in social situations, shops, playgrounds etc. And gloriously he doesn't just need to feel with his hands, sometimes it's feet, face, tummy, whatever. 'They' tell me that it's part of his need to meet his sensory needs and it will be a part of him FOREVER. I have made a touch file for him, something soft, rough, silky, etc so that he can sit witha book rather than touch everything within reach. Lord, he sounds 'special' after re-reading that. As for listening, none of mine do. Maybe I just have nothing to say that is worth listening to, lol.

I'm having a bit of a rough time with te kids at the moment. Catherine in particular but the other kids seem to be taking their lead from her. I really feel that I'm hitting my head against a brick wall. Added to what is happening with Andrew I'm feeling quite overwhelmed. This time 9 years ago I was sitting in the hospital waitng to be induced. My idea of parenting has changed a tad in the last 9 years that's for sure.

Nik
GIO
Hi All

Pam - Martial arts are great for discipline and fitness and they learn a lot of respect. i would encourage it. I did karate for a year or two, and felt it was good.

Lydia finally bringing home readers - loving them so far. Oh, did I tell you? Piano lessons were booked out so they said they'd send an invoice once she starts. Well I got an invoice for $150. I'm like Huh? When is she starting? Turns out she'd already started, she just "forgot" to tell me about it.

I been in Bright. I invited mum away - and she said yes - and we had a nice time - her, me & four crazy kids.

Ciao
A
Pam*B
Great that you got to spend some time with your mum.

The taekwondo (sp?) school got back to me for his age group it's 2 classes a week! At first I thought nah, but it is only $10 a class so that's cheap, and I think given the fact he needs this it's probably a good idea that he gets to do it more than 1 hour a week. We can try it for a term anyway. He seems to get tired easily, well prob normal for his age, I'm just used to Eve who has loads more energy, seems to need alot less sleep and can go like the energiser bunny.

Lord, he sounds 'special' after re-reading that.
laughing2.gif

So what's Catherine doing? It's prob her age...for the past 12 months Eve has started challening me more. Having said that she still listens and does what we say, it just takes longer for her to concede defeat! God my two children are soooo different! Jed has been such a learning curve for me. When he does ask permission for something and we say no, he'll just do it anyway most of the time. Whereas Eve never ever ever does something we said no to. She might nag us till the cows come home, but at least we can say "we've said no, discussion closed" and we can then righteously ignore her LOL and know she won't just go and do it anyway.
littleman
HI

PAM - sounds good for jed, etana is the same, cannot stills till and does not listen, i feel like a recording tape, saying over and over.

nikki - yep they must all be the same at this age lol.

amanda - glad you had a nice time away.

us - well backyard 90% done, its all the fiddly bits now, light, cleanign table up, hav to gerny the whole lot first, will look so nice when the grass has taken and we have the lawn mowed. I shoudl say even though its nto extravegant it still took alot of time, clearing and redoing evrythgin, we wantd to make it as impel as possible.

ontot inside soon, was hoping the past long weekend but nope, good thing is the kids are going awy for 2 nigths and three whoel days in 2 weeks we jsut plan on ploughign through the painting then, hopefully kitchen will be a little after that.

okay better go got a book to read before bookclub meet tomorrow night.
Pam*B
What are you reading?
joshie
Hi all! Just a quickie from me biggrin.gif

Pam, Josh does Taekwondo - he loves it. Yes it's good for burning energy, disicpline and concentration. But that is dependent on your teacher (think they're called Dans). You may find with Jed's age group he's still easily distracted and concentration span isn't there. A few of Cassi's friends do it and they're the ones doing push ups cos they're looking around the room when they're supposed to be listening - lol! They love getting their belts, that's a buzz!

A gf of mine's son is a black belt and the place he goes to (far more "into it" than where Josh goes) - they have a mildly autistic boy there and apparently he has come along leaps and bounds!

But as you said, see how he goes!

Gotta go!

Pam*B
Good to know thanks Sherryn! The class is for 5-7 year olds so I imagine they'll be used to the energy. I'm all for it now I think it will be good for him.

Have to share this, tonight I made lamb cutlets for dinner. The kids are eating away, Jed's knawing on his cutlet and Eve said something about her lamb having blood on the edge. Jed's head snaps up and he says "is this lamb?". I say "yes, it's lamb". He says "you mean, it's a dead animal?" I say "yes, it is". "ohhhh! Yuk! That's disgusting! That's mean!". I start laughing and say "so all these years you've been eating chicken, lamb, beef, pork, ham and eggs, where did you think it came from?". roll2.gif

Straight away I thought oh great, he's gonna insist on being a vegetarian who doesn't eat vegetables. He'll have to exist on fruit, nuts and milk.
littleman
hey pam - atm its bryce cortneys Permission tree, gotta say its great original.gif Before that was Ice cream Girls..next boook is A thousand splendid suns.

LOl at Jed...

got to run we just got back form a friends house..first time over there it was liek walkgin into a house and garden house..OMG beautiful!!!
Pam*B
I've been reading Anna Karenina on Amanda's recommendation for nearly 4 months! I'm still at around chapter 1 blush.gif I haven't read anything else since I started it, but I do go through a no reading stage every now and then. I think I'll start it up again tonight...I've been experiencing insomnia for a couple weeks now I should start reading myself to sleep again.

Did I mention I bought the mother of all lenses last week? There were two lenses I'd been considering, I had birthday money I'd been adding to until I made up my mind, so last week I made a decision and ordered it from the US. It was supposed to arrive this Friday and I got an early surprise when it arrived tonight! ddance.gif can't wait for daylight to play. Must remember to dress myself, feed children, take children to school.... laughing2.gif
GIO
You'll love it Pam - such a tragic love story.

I'm currently read "How to get rich" books as I'm trying to work out what to do here. Went to council & they "strongly discourage" two story townhouses in the back yard & I'm not sure if we have enough room for a single story.

Lydia has never done as she's told. She thinks that "No" means "Do it yourself" So whenever I say no to lollies, she pushes chairs up to the cupboard and then balances washing baskets and boxes on top and eventually gets whatever she wants.

Frustrating, but I admire her balls.

Henry found some Savoy bikkies today and brought them to me, and asked if he could have one. Lydia would never ask - she'd scoff the lot.

A

Pam*B
Wow Lydia and Jed are separated twins.

So how about renovate & extend? I'm already picturing it.... laughing2.gif Would be a shame to move, your street has such a good vibe.

Well I managed to read myself to sleep last night, although I woke a couple of times but it's still better than being awake till 2am (or 4am like Sunday night!). Turns out I'm way past chapter 1, just still in Part 1. Vronsky has just met AK on the train...I'm assuming it's V she has the affair with? Good...does that mean Levin marries Kitty? Poor man...he's so frustrating though!
GIO
Not telling.

Yeah, I'd hate to pull this place down - as it's the nicest street in the suburb and all these beautiful weatherboards look really lovely together.

Pam*B
Naw! I knew you'd say that, somehow.

Would you pull the whole house down and rebuild? We looked at some beautiful weatherboard display homes last year. Well actually they're technically brick, the back and sides are rendered and the front is cladded in weatherboard...so you get the wb look without the pesky high maintenance wb's.
Winnie The Pooh
Happy 2nd Birthday my darling Elizabeth

wub.gif
littleman
happy second birthday Elizabeth:)
joshie
Happy Birthday Miss E!!

Pam*B
Happy Birthday Elizabeth!!!
GIO
Awwwwww - Happy 2nd Birthday Miss E - Are you having a party??

Well, it's not my preference - one because it would be difficult to finance. And two coz it would change the character of the street - so putting a place on the back - whether we live in either of them or not - would keep the beauty of the streetscape. LOL - I make it sound like I live in some heritage protected area - whereas in reality I live in a crappy, working class suburb that only hasn't had any McMansions built on it coz the people are too poor to build one!!!! hahahahaha - oh my sides.

I'm having leek, zucchini, chorizo and haloumi pie served with mash - can't wait - smells fantastic - just a bit worried that leeks won't be cooked enough.
laineylaz
[happy birthday dear elizabeth!! wub.gif

typing 1-handed cos i have a congested lil bub on the boob who wont let me put her down. i'm in for a rough nite.

not compared to tues tho...the school AGM went from 7pm to 2.15am!!!!!!!!!
littleman
hoe L feel sbetter soon. OMG at your AGM!!!!!

Amanda - i woudl make my house a home lol, I mean stay thee and do it up as you want , it will only value it more anyway and you will enjoy it more too ??

Hello to everyone else.

I feel so tired today my eyes are sore too:( I feel old lol, I looked at the back of my hands, always a give away and they look wrinkly lol, never have been always been smooth!

anyway we have another busy week coming up, we are have a cook off of a sort, south american stle, just goign to ricks uncles house and everyone is cookign lots of yummy south american food..i got roped into deserts lol. Then finish off the back yard on sundya, and then the week starts all over again. i jsut really want to start the iside of this houe now, girls goign away for 3 days week after mothers day so rick and i are going to paint like crazy!!!

okay better go got a man in a van to see regardin gsome shutters for the house, i love shutters.
Pam*B
I just got a txt from my mum and she used LOL. What's the world coming to?

OMG Lainey, I bet it was one of those meetings with lots of people who just love to hear themselves speak. I remember taking minutes at meetings like that when I worked and in my head I would be screaming, because if you took the relevant stuff out of a 3 hour meeting you'd be left with a 45 min meeting.

Gotta, swimming lessons.

Hope Leora is feeling better soon and you get some sleep tonight.
joshie
Hi all!!

Whoo hoo, we got Powderfinger tickets!! I am SO excited!

Lainey - ohmy.gif ohmy.gif I will never again complain about the multitude of Kindy meetings I go to! That is just crazy! Hope they provided food and grog for that! wink.gif

Shaz - that sounds awesome! Have fun!

Amanda - yum, that meal sounds - well yum!

I had the best day at work today - my confidence has been restored! Oh, don't think I told you about my shocking stuff up the other day - I win the award for worst parent of the week! I was about 20 mins late to pick up my kids all cos I lost track of time! Still can't believe I could be so stupid! I really beat myself up over it - started thinking maybe I had early alzhimers (sp) or something! Poor Cass was so upset. My gf's hubby tried to get them but cos his name isn't down on the list, Cass' teacher wouldn't let her go. Anyway, I've learnt my lesson - I have an alarm set for 2pm now so if I'm home I'm aware of the time. But it was the 1st time in 5 years I've ever been late............Anyway, that and a couple of silly mistakes I made at work had be really doubting my abilities. But all good now!

Lainey - hope little L is better soon!

We've got another long weekend - wish they'd spread them out a bit better! Have a good weekend everyone!
GIO
Awwwww Sherryn - I'm sure I confessed in here about the day I forgot to pick up Henry - actually there's been two of them. But one was the week after I had J so that's excusable.

Looking at Sharon's signature has just reminded me of what people say about Jemima. They look in the pram, or at her wherever she is and say "Oh yeah, another pea for the pod" and then carry on their conversation - coz there's no point gooing and gaaahing over her coz they've done it to the same baby 3 times already.

Sharon - Make sure you show us some photos!

Pam - Hahaha - I remember when I joined EB I wondered for AGES who MIL and PIL where and why everyone went to eat at their house and how come I didn't know them.

J had a hip ultrasound - they are improving, but not where they need to be - so another ultrasound in 6 weeks.

A
littleman
hi ladies just popping my head in to say hi! just been super busy...hopefully come back for an update soon.

hope everone is well.
cheer
Pam*B
Sherryn I've done it too...forgot Eve was finishing school at 1.10pm on last day of term 4 a few years ago. School rang me about 2pm to ask where I was LOL.

Amanda are they expecting J's hips will fix themselves?

Funny thing...today Jed told me the story about a classmate kissing him in the library, and how he has a girlfriend now (not the one who kissed him, that's her friend LOL). So it would seem his girl phobia phase is over, thank goodness. This girl used to be his mate's girlfriend, but "oh they broke up, then 10 days later she asked me to be her boyfriend". I just love the language..."broke up" and all sorts of things it's hilarious. There's a whole lotta romance going on in that classroom, except who's with whom changes from week to week it seems. It's so cute. Oh and I said to Jed "How do you think C will feel knowing that her friend S kissed you in the library?". He says "oh C doesn't know". laughing2.gif So I say "well what if she finds out?" he says "oh I'll tell her S didn't kiss me". I said "so you're going to lie to her?" He thinks about it and says "oh it's ok...S kissed me before I was C's boyfriend". roll2.gif So then I asked him why his friend J and C broke up. He says "oh she got sick of him I think. J was a liddle bit sad on the first day but then he got another girlfriend so now he's happy". laughing2.gif I asked who J's new girlfriend was and he said "I don't know, it's a secret. But I think he will tell me tomorrow".
joshie
LOL Pam, that is too cute! Glad Cassi's not the only one going on about boyfriends/girlfriends!
GIO
Hi!

Yeah, they were expecting them to be fixed this time, and they're nearly there, so will probably be all right by the next ultrasound.

Awwwww Jed's so cute.

Ooops - started reading this this morning
Pam*B
roll2.gif well Jed found out who J's new girlfriend is...that would be Miss C...Jed's girlfriend. Who rumour has it is also romantically link with Master N. laughing2.gif
Winnie The Pooh
Oh dear me Pam, what a tangled web our children weave, lol. That's too cute.

All good here.

We went to the zoo for Elizabeth's 2nd birthday and had a fab time. might think about joining up to zoo friends for a year, one day.

Better choof and get Miss E bathed and into bedk, she's been a little unwell and now with the cold weather coming, brrrrrrr.

Take care everyone.
laineylaz

Just wanted to wish a very happy mother's day to all you wonderful mothers! I hope you each felt loved and appreciated.

L is mostly better. Poor mite caught 2 colds in succession so there hasn't been much sleep happening here yyawn.gif

Vanessa, glad Elizabeth enjoyed her birthday so much. I'd love to see an updated pic of her.

Pam, what does Jed make of his g/f having 3 b/f's at once? Are they confusing friend with boy/girl friend? Where do you think the kids got the idea from--older sibs? Just wondering because it's not happening at all in our school, not even in the upper primary grades (J1 won't even speak to the boys!) Also wanted to ask you if you can suggest a birthday present for Olivia who will be 8 next week? We've come up with one of thos skateboard things (wobble board?) as they are meant to be helpful for left-right brain coordination (O still reverses some of her letters). But not sure she will enjoy it, she's not exactly sporty. I'd like to make her something, just can't really think of what.

Amanda, glad J's hips are improving. Please keep me posted. How are you going with sleep?

Anyone have any tips for removing banana stains? We've started on solids and banana seems to be on everything.

Must dash, Leora's crying for some reason xxx MWA!
littleman
lainey - banana stains no no tips lol, etana loved bananas as a baby i ended up just throwing everything out eventually. Try and just use the already bad clothing for when she eats bananas.

Happy mothers day to all xxx

no time for any other replies, hope all are well .
GIO
Arrrgghhhh - don't talk to me about banana stains. The boys rubbed banana into my doona cover a couple of weeks back. Got it into the washing macine within the hour, had it on the line in the sun all day and it still stained.

Yeah, we don't have boyfriend dramas either - Miss Webb said they weren't allowed - so Lydia doesn't. At least she's listening in one department.

Hmmmm - Looks like I'll have to go back to work.
joshie
Hi all!

Hope you all had a lovely Mother's Day!

Had the builders & Painters here yesterday fixing up from the flood - love the smell of paint! Now upstairs looks tired and I'm getting the painting bug - just need to find time and $$ to do it!

Amanda - do you mean working at the Pub?? Hey have been meaning to ask you, at kindy (seeing as your the Secretary) - do they have a policy on Special Needs kids? We seem to have a huge influx lately and it will slowly sending the kindy broke - I suggested a cap - we only accept 4 or 5 - just curious as to other states and how they cope.

Cass talks about boyfriends too. We must remember Cassi and Jed have Werribee blood in them - they learn quick in Werribee! tongue.gif

Lainey - no help on banana stains, sorry. I find THE best stain remover is the Sard spray and soaker - the beigey bottle with Gardenias or Lily fragrance or something - gets 99.9% of stuff out!

Alrighty, had my coffee, off to go shopping for something for my hair for this weekend - we have a girls day out at the races on Saturday!
Pam*B
Happy {belated} Mother's Day!

No help with the banana stains either, like Shaz I also ended up just throwing stuff away.

Re Olivia's birthday - my friend L bought her daugher C one for her birthday and she's not sporty - in fact she's inclined to be a couch potato which is why L bought it. She loves it and now she's outside all the time riding up and down the street. C is a little bit overweight and L has noticed (and me too) that she's losing weight since she got the board. Eve has one she loves it, but she is sporty. Maybe Olivia has just never found something sporty that she enjoys. Like me with tennis. Another idea, does she like learning facts? A friend told me yesterday about this world globe made by leap frog (or is it leap pad?) that is interactive. Hang on... http://www.worldglobes.com/educational-glo...alkingglobe.cfm

The boyfriend/girlfriend thing...Jed doesn't think there's anything wrong with C having more than one "boyfriend" he has no idea that's not the norm LOL. I did ask him if they were all just friends who happen to be girls and boys and he said "nah, she's my boyfriend" laughing2.gif But in reality they all just play together...they don't actually pair off and find a corner to canoodle. Miss C likes to gives the boys a kiss on the cheek but that's as far as it goes. I'm not sure where the idea is coming from...it seems to be coming from the girls. Miss C has an older sister, who happens to be a friend of Eve's, and she is not into boys, so who knows. Her mother is at a loss to explain it.

Sherryn don't the local council (or whoever the kinders come under) provide funding for each special needs child?

phone...
bears

Just wanted to pop in and let you know that I had my 12 week scan today and everything is good original.gif Low risk everything.

Hope you're all well

Claire xx
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.