The
Essential Baby forums cover all areas of
parenting and stages development for
babies,
toddlers and
kids as well as
parenting lifestyle areas including
Family Travel,
Finances,
Nutrition & Wellbeing,
Recipes and more!
If you'd like to post and interact with EB's
parenting forums read more articles about
conception,
pregnancy,
babies,
toddlers,
kids or more please visit
Essential Baby for the full site experience.
19/04/2010, 10:11 AM
kalita
19/04/2010, 11:47 AM
morning
kgbird34
19/04/2010, 12:52 PM
GOLD AND HELLO AND SILVER AS WELL SINCE I AM NOT "OFFICIALLY" GOLD. Whahahahahaha xxx Rachel.
ToodlePopsMum
19/04/2010, 02:49 PM
bronze

Pad - sorry i haven't done your guessathon! havent been at my pc because it is broken so it crashes all the time.
kalita: sorry your back is still playing up but yay to a nice weekened! i love weekends like that.
ummmm yup that's my brain fried

me: nothing much. just starting to get organised for aleys party on the weekend (his birthday is on friday this week). he is having a small gathering. mainly family but a few of his little friends are coming too. i am doing a farm yard cake. have just been to a play and found little foil covered animal chocolates and woolworths had some sugar craft farm animals so i am going to make a round cake, ice it green, get cadbury chocolate finger biscuits, do a gate around the outside of the cake and then stick the chocolates and sugar animals on it. easy as. i even cheated and bought a packet cake mix. i have a vanilla cake and a chocolate cake so am going to slice each one in half and do alternate layers with nutella in between each layer. will post photos on facebook no doubt
luckyaussiemum
19/04/2010, 04:34 PM
Lisa Is Ellie's bday 21st, thats when I thought it was? But with WL saying happy bday I thought maybe not, I never go into FB these days!
winelover
19/04/2010, 11:00 PM
Told you I would miss the medals!!
Toodles - Can't wait to see pics of your cake creation. A mothers group friend of mine did one like that for her boy when he turned 3 and it turned out really well. She also added a little toy tractor.
Worked today and trained staff for CPR - I am a bit buggered and sore from getting up and down off the floor heaps. Nothing ice cream didn't fix though
paddington13
20/04/2010, 01:27 PM
Toddles - That's ok!
I am going to be induced on Thursday, so will know everything then! Can't wait, have had contractions on and off since Saturday and it's just wearing me out. Was in hospital on Sat, but contractions not going anywhere. Can't wait to meet my little boy! A bit scary having an induction, but I thought it was best to at least try before having a c/s. Luckily my Mum is arriving tonight to help out with B. Hope all other preggy mummys are surviving.
Paddy
*~Lisa~*
20/04/2010, 02:10 PM
GOOD LUCK PADDY!
My SIL is now over due was due yesterday and has had no signs of anything so please send labor vibes her way!
Yes E birthday is tomorrow cant belive she is 2! I can remember her horrible pregnancy and birth like yesterday.
kalita
20/04/2010, 02:56 PM
Oh Paddy how exciting. Make sure they let you sit up and move around to where ever you are comfortable while you are being monitored, I wasn't allowed to at all, in fact they b**ched when I had to use the loo
ToodlePopsMum
20/04/2010, 02:57 PM
Well Pads! no point in doing a guess-a-thon now

good luck for Thursday! I hope your little man goes easy on you with his labour and you are having beautiful newborn baby boy cuddles really soon. Being a mother of two boys, the best advice I will ever give you is......DOODLE DOWN!! remember that when changing nappies and you will be just fine

will be thinking of you on Thursday.
We went and saw my parents this morning. they got home from their 7 week trip last night. was so good to see them. they bought me some beautiful presents - a limited edition Marc Jacobs Daisy perfume and a swarovski crystal necklace that is a daisy too, on a leather look short necklace, so it sits right between the knobs of my collarbones. is gorgeous. the boys were spoilt rotten as well but they loved seeing their nanna and pa again

i have also had an email run in with my brother

he has decided in all his infinate wisdom that they wont be coming to Aley's birthday on the weekend

, rather they would prefer to go up the beach house. well i let rip at him in an email and as a result haven't heard back. my parents are really p'd off as well and are going to have a go at him tonight about it. i just said to mum that i dont want them there if they dont want to be there and actually i would prefer them not to come now. the reason i am so p'd off is that we always make such an effort, even when we dont want to, for their birthdays. always "do the right thing" and it is always thrown back in my face. they always have something more important to go to. half of them didn't come to my birthday as they had some school thing on. they didn't come to joshy's either but that was completely ok and understandable as my sil's dad was in hospital and they only made a flying visit for DH's birthday earlier this month - on their way somewhere else, it was almost like we were an inconvenience to them! My SIL doesn't like me and that's okay because i dont like her at all either but I suck it up for the sake of my niece and nephew and my brother but not anymore. i am not going to make any effort with them ever again. it is my SIL's 40th in september and i have already told mum that there is no way in the world i am going to her party. she can stick that up her butt

sorry - should have prewarned you about my little family vent
kgbird34
20/04/2010, 07:19 PM
Good evening Girlies!
PADS best of luck for Thursday, thinking of you and sending great vibes your way. Not long now! I am just entering the 10 week countdown

and it's just starting to get a bit tricky! Ah well I'd still rather him in than out at this stage so no point whinging. There's worse to come!!
TPM BOOOO to your brother. Some people just don't think of anyone else but themselves and can be very nasty! Hope it all gets better soon. Your cake idea sounds glorious, I'm trying to think of one for Bells. It is her birthday the same day as Aley! I must have forgotten that.
KATH I did CPR last week too and the assessor felt sorry for me and said after one lot of 30 that that was enough! Good O I say. When are you finishing work? I am on 2 weeks leave and meant to be going back for a few weeks after this but I think I won't be. My groin was burning after walking around on my last 8 hour shift and I called in sick for the next day; can't imagine doing that 2 weeks bigger too!
LISA hope your SIL has her bubba soon.
OOH master chef is nearly on! TPM you would have been proud of me tonight, I never cook 'new' things - hate cooking at the best of times and made a low fat vegetarian lasagne tonight and it was quite yummy! It looked like crap as I was putting it together and I thought we'd end up having red rooster to be honest but it was much better cooked. I did offer DH some for lunch tomorrow and packed it up for him and everything and he was a little non committal about it. PIG. He'd better take it or I will never cook again. xxx Rachel.
kalita
20/04/2010, 07:34 PM
QUOTE (kgbird34 @ 20/04/2010, 07:19 PM)

I did offer DH some for lunch tomorrow and packed it up for him and everything and he was a little non committal about it. PIG. He'd better take it or I will never cook again.
More for you if he doesn't take it
*~Lisa~*
21/04/2010, 07:46 AM
Just want to say
HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO MY PRINCESS!
Now I know there was about 3 other born the same day in this group but I cannot remember who they are
So Happy Birthday to the other April 21st Babes!
ToodlePopsMum
21/04/2010, 08:52 AM
Happy Birthday Ellie!!!
(Manhattan & Sarah6110 were two who had bubs on the 21st

, not sure if there was anyone else!)
luckyaussiemum
21/04/2010, 12:36 PM
blessedwithblueandpink
21/04/2010, 04:06 PM
Hi All
Just another quick one as Aisling has just woken up. I could have really done with a nanna nap! No nanna naps in this house unfortunately!!!
Kids back at school, well ds anyway, dd1 only in kindy.
School hols was great. i have to say the kids played so well together alot of the time. Nice to see that having them close together pays off as they are great buddies now ( still fight of course, but nowhere near as much!)
Rian is great and is smiling away big time. He is a litle dote.
Well gotta go, no time for personals yet again!!
All the best to Paddy, hope you have a good birth and a safe arrival for your little boy.
blessed
xxxxx
*~Lisa~*
21/04/2010, 08:52 PM
Is anyone paddys sms buddie? If not hoping paddy will get my PM before tomorrow!
winelover
21/04/2010, 09:26 PM
All the best Paddy - will be thinking of you.
Happy Birthday Ellie (I jumped the gun a bit the other day), Julian and Vinne
Blessed - ahhh cute little baby smiles - make it all worthwhile. I love reading your posts - kind of like a prelude as to what I am in for
Rach - yes work is certainly becoming a dirty 4 letter word. Officially my last day is supposed to be 13th May. But we can take 3 sick days without a Drs cert - so I have told them my last working day will be 30th April (next Friday) woo hoo. Work did appreciate me telling them up front rather then phoning in on the morning of. I told them I didn't want to be a wussy gutless wonder! I hear ya and feel your pain "down there"
Toodles - great pressies from your parents - but boo your bro, more to the point SIL!
Us - Our 4 year wedding anniversary today. Had lunch with hubby and our perfect little princess! It was so nice to go out with her for once and not "lose the plot" helped that we sat at closest point to kids playgrgound, she was only one in playgground, and we ordered from the bistro, bang on 12 when they opened! Would do it again - so nice

Tonight BIL is visiting from Shepparton - he has 2 mates here ATM who have dropped in to say hello as well. Think I will be in bed soon though - boys on beers
Had midwife appt today at preg care clinic - apparently I look big for 33 weeks. I did have two student midwives, so not sure if I am really big. They had a bit of trouble locating heartbeat and also deciding which position bub was in. I can totally understand this - as the bub is inside of me and I have no idea! They were good value.
Last night I got on a real nesting spur. I sorted out newborn clothes and washed them all today - just so they had that nice freshly washed smell !! I think this is when all the excitement of having a newborn came back to me. Less than 7 weeks to go!
Work tomorrow. grrr
*~Lisa~*
22/04/2010, 08:13 AM
Aww all you guys are making me clucky!
DP and I had that talk and come to a decision not ready to tell the world yet though.
shopping today hoping get it done all early and do some cleaning at home, Still no word on Austswim I've hassled every person connected with HR whats even worse is apparently they hire a lot of people 2 weeks ago about the same time as I handed in my resume and was told chances of job were pretty high. Nice kick in the guts thats for sure.
I would never of gone above and beyond had they not promised me a job I almost feel like ringing headquarters and telling about their little insurance stunts. But I kinda cant cause then there would zero chance of job and they are the only ones in Ballarat that will hire me.
hopeforthefuture
22/04/2010, 03:22 PM
Hellllllooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I am once again sorry for my absense. I am just so busy. Getting ready for the baby to come, study, nesting, blah, blah, blah
So Paddy is having her baby today? Good luck!!!!! That is so exciting!
I can't wait for my turn. 2 weeks today. So not long. 2 weeks now, my baby will be 6 hours old and I would have had heaps of cuddles and Annabelle will just be meeting him. (I am waiting until I am out of recovery, back in the room (and after her nap), so I can be there when Annabelle meets DS and I won't be so scary, as I will have some movement back.
Well girls. I have done it. I have got DD sleeping (just in time). DH and I decided that over the weekend just gone, I was going to do sleep training. So I sent DH away (he can't handle CC), and we did it! But no crying needed. So less than a week along, she has spent every night entirely in her bed and last night I only had to go into her once and that was only because DH woke her up getting up for work. It is fantastic. And just in time. I am so proud of her and a little of myself.
We are still not ready for the baby to come, but should be by the end of the weekend. Need to get our arses in gear really. Been a bit slack. I am getting to the lazy end of pregnancy now, so things are getting harder. Motivation is harder to find.
Anyway. Happy birthday to Eleanor and Happy Birthday to anyone else I have missed.
I will come back and stalk for Paddy's news later.
winelover
22/04/2010, 09:00 PM
Hope - the countdown is on for you now!!!!

for info on paddy
us - work

busy day on feet!

sore and in need of a rest when I got home. Thanks God tomorrow is an easier day at work with some "time in lieu" for doing extra today! which means I can duck down the street for a bit of "me time" before I pick up T from daycare.
hopeforthefuture
22/04/2010, 09:34 PM
*~Lisa~*
23/04/2010, 07:56 AM
ToodlePopsMum
23/04/2010, 09:59 AM
Happy birthday to my beautiful little man!!
Happy birthday to Bells too

Hey Rach, maybe Pads little bublet will be sharing our sweet ratbags' birthday
kgbird34
23/04/2010, 02:50 PM
Afternoon ladies! Happy Birthday to Aley, my Izzles twin. And yeah, maybe Pads will pop her bundle out today too! What a lovely baby he would be TPM to share our cherubs' birthday

. Thanks Lisa! I was planning just a little party but have a big family so of course it's blown out of all proportion but what can you do! There's only party pies and saveloys for tea anyway and some party nibblies and an Elmo cake that I only ordered YESTERDAY!!!! I thought I'd have to make it but of course have been too lazy and luckily the cake shop came through! Well just a quickie was lurking for news re our new mother to be, must go and clean the house. Thinking of you Pads

xxRachel.
*~Lisa~*
23/04/2010, 04:09 PM
I have baby news but its not from Paddy.
My SIL finally had her bub today.
Big congrats to SIL Jamie and Brother Neville
Welcome to baby Taylor Mackenzie
Born today at 10:45am weight 8p8oz
blessedwithblueandpink
23/04/2010, 04:15 PM
Happy birthday to Izzles and Aley. Hope ye have a great day!!
blessed
hopeforthefuture
23/04/2010, 04:30 PM
Happy Birthday Alex and Isabelle!!
And congratulations to Lisa's SIL and brother? Lisa - do you live close? Have you had a cuddle?
Come on Paddy! We need baby news!!
I had an OB appointment today. He is a little concerned about how small my belly is (quite a bit smaller than when I was PG with Annabelle). My scan at 34 weeks showed bubby measuring behind (not too far), everywhere but the head circumferance. He is sending me for a scan next week to check on his growth and will check the flow in the umbilical cord. So if he isn't growing, he might come out a little earlier than expected. But hopefully he is just a small bubby.
I am already 36+5, so I am not too worried about him coming out.
DD slept through the night last night, in her own bed.

The first time ever in her toddler bed and the first time in 6 months or so at all. huge achievement. Hopefully it continues.
*~Lisa~*
23/04/2010, 04:51 PM
Hope- I live close am going for a cuddle tomorrow. I cannot wait!
They wanted just grandparents today which is the tradition in our family and my mum has seen her says she is super cute.
HAPPY BIRTHDAY ALEY
luckyaussiemum
23/04/2010, 08:11 PM
*~Lisa~*
24/04/2010, 08:27 AM
morning girls have the best day planned taking the go karts out and then going to see my new neice cannot wait for newborn cuddles
winelover
24/04/2010, 12:30 PM
Belated wishes Aley and Bells
Congrats on being an Aunty Lisa - I teach a Tayla McKenzie!! (diff spelling I know)
Hope - Yay to A sleeping good for you

Us off to one of our MG bubs 2nd birthday today. Supposed to be a party in the park - luckily she has a back up plan as it is raining. I am still in my jarmies!! Yay!! So is Tayla!! Yay I am having a "couldn't be a*sed" kind of day today!
Padster - we need news PLEASE!!
luckyaussiemum
26/04/2010, 11:35 AM
Hey ladies. Everyone is obviously having a great weekend and now time to post.
I had a crap day yesterday in bed half the day, gastro me thinks, which i seem to have had a few time in last few months so am wondering if soemthing else, as it isn't usual, normally not something I have bar once a year if then. Really drained today, want to do nothing but have so much to do I cant shove it aside.
Better get back to it before Dempsey wakes from his nap.
winelover
26/04/2010, 08:25 PM
LAM - hope you feel better soon, and work out if it is gastro or something else
Q. Has anyone's bubs got their 2 year old molars?
Anyone want to share any tanty stories?
Us - today at the lake for pram pushers Tayla had her pram, but wanted to go and push another girl off a bike she was riding. I grabbed T and hung on to her cause I could see what she wanted to do - then the rascal child bit the inside of my forearm because she couldn't get her own way! - RASCAL CHILD!!! At least it was me she bit - and not another child!
paddington13
26/04/2010, 08:38 PM
Hi! Sam was born on Thursday, after a 10 hour induction. He was 4.1kg and 55cms. I am tired and just home today! Hopefully this photo isn't too big. Thanks for thinking of me everyone! Paddy.x
kgbird34
26/04/2010, 08:54 PM
PADS Congratulations darling, he is absolutely beautiful

. He has made me very clucky already! What is his middle name and how is young Beth coping? Congrats again

KATH lol to Tayla, Bells is a little bugger most times she is out. Lucky she is cute! You must me next then!! 9 weeks and 1 day to go for me (after midnight to be precise lol).
LAM hope you are feeling better soon poor thing.
BLESSED nice to hear from you! Take care xx
LISA enjoy those baby cuddles.
Not much to say tonight except we are looking at a house for sale on Wednesday, we have been through it before and thought it needed too much work (it's very livable as is but old fashioned and could do with modernizing) but has 5 bedrooms and is on a huge block and has a pool and spa and even a ballroomy type thing!!! Very swish, but old. So we have decided we must have it but depending on the price we offer of course. Fingers crossed because it feels like ours already! It does feel haunted though but I'm sure any self respecting ghost will leave as soon as we walk in the door. I will let you know! xx Rachel.
ToodlePopsMum
26/04/2010, 10:44 PM
Oh welcome to the world baby Sam!!! What a little sweetheart!! Congrats to you and your family Pads!!
Sorry- will do personals tomorrow. Have gastro
*~Lisa~*
27/04/2010, 07:51 AM
Welcome to baby Sam so cute!
I so enjoyed my new born cuddles so cute.
Go kart went ok but mine is a pig to start and we ended up at the A & E yesterday cause DP was push starting it and he tripped and the kart went over his foot poor bugger is laid up for a couple of days now.
E seems to have grown up over night she come back from Xh place with attitude that would make any parent blush!
luckyaussiemum
27/04/2010, 10:28 AM
hopeforthefuture
27/04/2010, 12:52 PM
paddy - Congrats!! Sam is gorgeous! Not quite as big as Beth.
kgbird -
You must me next then!!
What about me?!?!? No way Kath is beating me.
AFM - I am a bit over this pregnancy now. Scan tomorrow, hopefully he is growing nicely so I don't have to have earlier. Only 9 days as it is, I am not ready for him to come any earlier.
I am back to Uni tonight. I can only go to 3 more lectures and tutes and then I will have to take a week off. I am a little concerned about getting behind, but not much I can do about it.
kgbird34
28/04/2010, 10:05 AM
HAPPY BIRTHDAY DEMPSEY you cute little chicky. Hope your day is wonderful! How are you LAM, feeling any better? Your last post certainly looked energetic!!
HOPE Sorry, I stand corrected, you are indeed next! THEN Kath and then Adarlyn and I. Hope you're coping okay! Nearly there.
It was my birthday yesterday and it was great. I got an ipod and dock and have got some great music on it so have been having discos in the lounge with my girls! DH and I took Bells to maccas for lunch, very romantic it was there, then he cooked me rack of lamb for tea and it was beautiful. A lovely day all round. 9 weeks to go, I feel a bit whalish. Am seeing the ob next week and will get a certificate to get the last 4 weeks off work, I can't imagine going back there now! It's all too cumbersome

. Trying to heft myself off the lounge suite is proving hard! OOH today we start the old house offers... the suspense will kill me. Ta ta for now xx Rachel.
hopeforthefuture
28/04/2010, 12:11 PM
Happy Birthday Dempsey!!!
Rachel - I am glad you had a nice birthday. It is nearly my 30th!
AFM - Scan today. Really hoping it goes well. I don't want him to come out earlier. But as long as he is safe and well, I suppose it really doesn't matter.
8 days to go!!
winelover
28/04/2010, 12:36 PM
Padster - huge congratulations - welcome baby Sam! Wow - a newborn!! gorgeous!!
Hope - there is no way I am going to beat you - I am NOT READY YET!! Anytime after Tayla's baday (20th May) is fine by me - but not before!!
HAPPY BIRTHDAY DEMPSEY!!
hopeforthefuture
28/04/2010, 03:42 PM
there is no way I am going to beat you
I should hope bloody not! I am a full 3 weeks ahead of you. That would not be fair at all.
blessedwithblueandpink
28/04/2010, 03:59 PM
Happy birthday to dempsey!!!!!
Happy birthday to my dd1!! 4 today. She is super cute! She had kindy today and I did kindy help and made choc chip coconut muffins with white choc icing for all her class mates and they all sang happy birthday. It was very sweet.
Many congrats paddy on the safe arrival of Sam!! He is beauiful. hope the birth went well and you are getting some rest!!! ( I said some!!!)
love to all
Blessed
xxxxxxxxxxx
hopeforthefuture
28/04/2010, 10:11 PM
Happy birthday to Blessed's DD.
Annabelle did her first wee on the potty. Completely unprompted and with great purpose. She was running around naked after her bath, sat down on her potty and did a wee straight away. My clever girl!! Hopefully the big fuss we made about it makes her want to do it again someday.
*~Lisa~*
29/04/2010, 07:47 AM
Morning girls.
Happy belated birthday to DempseyDP has gone back to work today on crutches hoping his boss wont give him a hard time.
I had a pretty good day yesterday DP treated me to a new pair of shoes and we both got out hair cut and coloured well Dp got tips and I got foils I havent had them done in years and was a wee bit shocked at the cost. Now I know why I didnt have it dont for years lol.
Its wet cold and crappy weather today and I have to go do shopping
adelaryln
29/04/2010, 07:55 AM
congrats Pads, what a gorgeous little man!how's he going?
Happy birthday to the birthdays i missed.
8.5 weeks to go and counting but not organised. the people who lent us a cot 3 years ago for my first need it back now. i was going to put ds in a big bed when he turns 2 and we'd only need the one cot (which we have 1) but his room is freeeeeeeeezing so he'l have one of those oil heaters in it at night. i don't trust him with it as he loves power points, buttons and cords, so prefer to keep him in a cot. so now am on the look out for a 2nd hand cot. have possibly scored one that turns into a toddler bed for just $50. have to have a look at it first.
still working 1 day a week. as buggered as i am the next day i want to continue at least til i have only 4 weeks to go as we really need the money.
hope everyone is well
kalita
29/04/2010, 09:17 AM
Sorry I have missed a bunch of birthdays

Hope: DD has done one wee and two poos in the potty, all unprovoked, and that's it. It freaks her out, so I'm letting it go until she is ready. A sounds like she was ready though! I hope she does it again, one in nappies is better than two!
Us: Sorry for no personals. Am about to take DD to my dr (an hour away, I don't like the doctors here) to see if she has whooping cough

ETA: She doesn't have it

Just an upper chest infection - easily fixed!