The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: September 08 Parents #165

Pages: 1, 2, 3
ellangel
oh that is so lovely Blondie! blush.gif That will surely cheer you up. How thoughtful of them! See, you are always there little girl, no matter how old you get!

We have another party to go to at 12 midday. Our party is at 3.30pm, so I think this is why I am stressing! How unlike me!?

Oliver is huge !!! They look almost the same size Ali! LOL. Size 1 pants are going to swim on Holli. Still in shorts and singlets up here.

Bellyg - goodluck with the DH and sleep training. Yes, hard to shut out the cries of our bubba's. We are their mums and they tug at our heart strings.
Maybe this is a blessing for you also Blondie? To get C's sleep sorted so you can zzzzz all night long when pg!

Another good point about having a bigger age gap. No night waking (IF you have a sleeper, that is).
I got alot of sleep second time round. 1 hour nap (or more) every arvo and 10 hours plus a night. I get VERY tired when pg...all the way through.
melaniejasmin
Blondie - oh, how lovely original.gif what nice parents you have! I would be soo peeved at a 530am phone call. I would have also leaped out of bed thinking it was an emergency!

at Alexander's 18month (he is now 19 months) he was 13kg and 86cm. he has had a little growth spurt though and his size 1 pantsa are starting to look a little stupid blush.gif I have got a few size 2's but they seem to big! I can roll the bottoms up though... cant win!

ellangel - poor thing...! I forgot that your DH's trips were regular. a week at home must fly by sad.gif

Ali - great pics! I have no recent ones of Alexander ph34r.gif I best take some today. I am such a crappy photographer anyway...

bellygood
Blondie what a nice thoughtful thing to do... I love flowers.

Ali Your kids are gorgeous! I think Ivy would be just over 80 as we have unrendered block walls, a brick is 20cm high and she is over 4 bricks high IYKWIM. If I count the grouting I would say she is 83cm or so and size 3 (sometimes 2 but gradually more and more into 3). Not sure of weight though.

Ended up going to the city today to the shops, just one shopping centre was enough really. So many people, just crazy! A good centre for kids though, a good playground and some trolleys with a little car built in for toddlers. Bought Ivy a pair of Dorothy Dinosaur sandshoes at BigW today, $29. Apart from this have only ever bought her a pair of very cheap silver slippers. Tried on a million pretty pairs of shoes but they were expensive, poor fitting and hard to get on her so the sandshoes it is. They passed the test though, she has not taken them off since trying them on, not even at the checkout! Am looking forward to wine o'clock (7pm drinks with girls)!
alimumof3
meljas looks like A & O are roughly the same size. O was 12.6kg with shoes today. but he's certainly not 'fat' i dont think. chubby babyness but not fat.

sharon really? you think he looks almost same size as DD? i must measure her. i know she weighs about 16kg and is on the tall side (comparing with MG kids. infact she is taller than the boys). I guess when I'm 5ft 10 what do you expect....lol. i'm not really, i'm 5ft6.
with what you were saying about the sleeps, yes even thogh mine close together, cos i have good sleepers each pg has been good in the respect i've been able to sleep. i've been lucky.

blondie ohh that is lovely from your parents. how nice.
thankyou for saying they look alike! i dont think they do anymore ( although at the same age they look alike). DD has green eyes and paler skin, Oliver has my brown eyes and is quite olive complexion.

bellygood, thankyou, i think they are beautiful but they are my kids after all! aren't size 2 or 3 too long on Ivy though? DD is still in 2 just moving into 3 pants, but tops shes a 3, although some PP ones that are small i have bought size 4 for winter, she turned 3 last mth.

my kids have been asleep for 3 hrs!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and still no noise.
Sccary
hi all, sorry no personals from me lately, been reading just 'brain Fu@*ed' with parent crap!

KEY: great work on the pay rise I agree things in 3's You will be BFP next month tthumbs.gif

BLONDIE: SO sorry you are still not well. BF 18mths is great and you should be very proud, you are a great mum and don't forget that! I am sure you will have a blondie cub in your belly soon enough.

ELLAGEL: My DH is going away for 3 weeks too as of wednesday sad.gif I think I will finally loose that last 4kg as I don't eat dinner by myself and kids don't eat the same as us all the time either, so I will live on tea and toast and lean cusines wink.gif I will also finally cacth up on the personals biggrin.gif

LARA: Got the gymbaree order in finally bloody websie. Not that much I wanted. SSpent with gymbucks and delivery will be $100 mostly summer dresses for DD1

ok can't remember more.
I am beaing 'stalked as my DH puts it' by Kindy new mums. They keep calling asking to catch up for a play or outing. It is nice just doing my head in slightly as I don't know them well enough to chat for long rolleyes.gif Should I be annopyed or happy that they obviously like either me or DD1?

My birthday tomorrow. 34 oomg.gif where did my youth go???? Off to a friend house for dinner (she is cooking a special meal for me) and maybe a drive to kalamunda (1hrs away) to a cup cake specialty tea shop for morning tea with DH in the morning.

ok best go clean and make dinner
ellangel
My DH is going away for 3 weeks too as of wednesday I think I will finally loose that last 4kg as I don't eat dinner by myself
Oh lets eat toast together Sarina! wink.gif
key4
Sarina- Happy Birthday for tomorrow 34 is still young! Have fun with your friends this evening and morning tea in the morning. Bummer on your DH being away for a few weeks.

Blondie - How sweet of your mum and dad. What a way to brighten someones day. Good work on getting the assignment done - I hope they mark yours as quickly as they did mine 3 days this time awesome!

Sharon - Good luck with the party tomorrow I bet you will be exhausted when all that is over.

Ali - Oliver is getting so big and both kids are gorgeous in the photos.

Meljas - how did you go with the essay? I got 2 questions finished on my assignment. I have discovered that referencing myself is a million times easier than trying to use end note I am getting thru it much quicker.

Lara - Life is much busier when you have a runner isn't it! Oh well think of the gym membership fees we all save as parents running after the little ones!

My children have been nice to me today it has been great there is no greater pleasure as a mum than watching your kids play nicely together! But I no longer need to wonder what Niamh will look like if she gets tatoos later in life as she has coloured herself in with textas.

Kaidyn's creativity has blossomed since starting school it is great he is doing craft at the moment making people out of old yoghurt containers. I bought a heap of educational supplies yesterday as well which we are working thru, practising more reading and helping him to write and do maths, he has done really well with them.

Well best be off I was allowing Niamh to have some quiet time in her cot she was becoming a little overwhelmed with things. It is the only place she is allowed her dummy so she sometimes is just happy to sit in there with toys and have a quiet play in the afternoon.
littlemumma
Evening

Ali - what cute pics of Oliver and Amelia, they are so gorgeous and look like the best of friends wub.gif

Sarina - happy birthday for tomorrow, hope you have a wonderful day and get ver spoilt. Lol at being stalked by the kindy mums....its nice, they obviously just think you are a great gal, if you are to arrange something just say you are busy for the next week and arrange it for a weeks time.

blondi - flowers, what a nice thought, always cheers a girl up. Yeh I would be pretty ropeable if someone called my house before 8am!

key - good idea giving Niamh some time to herself, I think they need the down time. I was saying to DH today that I think Max is really going to miss Kai when he goes back to school as they have been playing so well together.

beagle - how is DH doing??

lara - Max is a runner too, and they seem so little still to be walking, well Max does anyway. Max is doing all the actions to the "rock abye bear' song by Wiggles and I can't help but just think he is too little to be able to do that.

Sharon - hope Ella's party is a hoot tomorow, I have no doubt you have it all under control. Please tell her Kai said happy birthday.

melanie - I always thought there was a big difference between size 1 and 2.

So as I said this morning the Dr called and said I didn't have GF. This Dr I saw was not my normal Dr as my Dr was away but he was recommended by the surgery I go to. Anyway, my normal Dr got back from holidays today and I get a call from his receptionist this afternoon saying that my Dr would like to see me in two weeks time so can we make an appointment. She said its nothing urgent. I said to her yes, but why does he want to see me?? Again she just said 'its nothing urgent but he would like to see you in two weeks"...I then said to her, "well I have been sick and had some tests while he was away so that is probably why" and she said "yes". What do you think girls, I think it is odd. I mean the tests came back clear so why would he want to see me, KEY your thoughts?? I can see I'm gunna stress about this for the next two weeks.

trinyweeny
Easter Monday

Today

Blondie - Oh how nice. I forgot DH's work sent me flowers yesterday. Well done on getting your assignment done.

Key - Jacqui is very good at giving herself tattoos as well.

Ellangel - Your day is going to be very busy. Good luck for Ella's party.

Ali - Jacqui was 81cm at 18mths. I agree Oliver does look like Amelia.

Sarina - Have a great day tomorrow.

I have had a busy day. Decided I had to rearrange to loungeroom completely. Then went out with a friend to a play cafe and then we headed out to dinner for MIL birthday tomorrow.

ETA - Littlemumma - I would be stressing as well. That's just not nice.
alimumof3
littlemumma another one here who'd be stressing. Hmmm its strange. why 2 weeks to wait? is it cos he's booked out til then? i dont get why its 2 wks and not next week. Id ring them on monday and ask to speak to him or for him to call you. put your mind at rest.
triny love the bag over J's head! cute.
you have been busy. oh and you have to see MIL twice in the one week!!!!! ohmy.gif

sarina happy b'day for tomorrow! hope you have a lovely day and are spoilt.

shaz hope Ella's party goes well tomorrow. we also have a party at noon to go to.

key i totally agree how beautiful it is when the kids play happily together. lovely. melts your heart.

it was nice to have DH home tonight, and even better he bought a block of macadamia nut choc home with him to surprise me. (see something as simple as choc works well for me. better not tell him i ate the last bunny yesterday...)

littlemumma
Triny - cute pics of Jacqui.

Ok here are a couple recent ones of Max.

errr didn't work!
ellangel
phew! off to bed for me. The house is clean and if 1 person messes it up in the morning!!!! GGgggrrrrr...wondering if it would be rude to drop Ella at Macca's party at the drive thru and run????!!! roll2.gif

I know I have said it before Triny, but J is so cute! I could seriously just gobble her up! Off to check out your DH to see the similarities. Hope I dont want to gobble him up too!!! roll2.gif

LOL. Ok, yes, I have been drinking wine.

Thanks Littlem ...Ella still talks about Kai and asked if he goes to big school like her. I would be ringing the doctor surgery on Monday and enquiring
alimumof3
oh sharon you're a crack up!

quick triny, lock up your DH, sharon's on the prowl!!!!!!!!!!!1
trinyweeny
Ali - its actually 4 times in one week. I have to see her tomorrow when we drop J off as we have a wedding to go to. We had dinner with them on Easter Sunday.

Ellangel - thanks. I think sometimes she too cute for her own good. LOL I don't think you will want to gobble DH up. tongue.gif I would be doing the drive thru drop off.

ellangel
ROFL Triny!! Not bad at all!!!

I had a glass for Ali, another for Belly and a 3rd for Seepi. Should help me sleep. night gals.

Wont put pics of Holli up, as cant be bothered with PB this late...also, you have all seen the latest of mine, recently. x
trinyweeny
LOL Ellangel - should have guessed you had been into the alcohol.
alimumof3
when is sharon NOT into the alcohol?????????????

just kidding!!!!! cool.gif
trinyweeny
Very true Ali. cool.gif tongue.gif

Sorry ellangel........
ellangel
biatch face Ali! cool.gif original.gif sad.gif rolleyes.gif bbaby.gif happy.gif ohmy.gif & Triny!
I am not in bed...yet.
picking on me now...so, I am going.

LOL
ellangel
QUOTE (ellangel @ 09/04/2010, 10:14 PM) *
biatch face Ali! cool.gif original.gif sad.gif rolleyes.gif bbaby.gif happy.gif ohmy.gif & Triny! (and after all those wonderful compliments I said about your little family!)
I am not in bed...yet.
picking on me now...so, I am going.

LOL

my goodness.!! How did I do that? Just went to edit? LOL
alimumof3
i havent been called a biatch face in years!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! lol. my sister used to alwys call me that!! hahahaha
~Elliesmum~
LM! that is AWESOME! I wouldn't wish GF on anyone. I didn't want to mention it, I had GF followed by chronic fatigue for 7yrs sad.gif of crippling relapses- nasty stuff. Tonsillitis much better lol

thanks ladies for all your encouragement, felt so good to send off 5 orders yesterday! would have been 6 except one ladies payment seems to have gone missing sad.gif And i have heaps of requests which is good, just found yours then meljas! hope I've got enough sz2's! I need to order them from somewhere, still working that out original.gif lol

oh bugger wish I had some alcohol! i guess I could hit the top shelf LOL literally but would rather a wine

Better go and knit, I'm supposed to have a swap done by next monday and I'm about 2 weeks knitting away from being ready hehe.

night ladies!

happy birthday Sarina!!!!!!!!!!! You spring chicken, gosh it REALLY does feel like yesterday I was 34... where did that time go
key4
Sharon - must be my 3 glasses that finds you so funny too.

Littlem - I would not be too concerned about going back to the GP in 2 weeks. Sore throats can be caused by many different bugs one of concern is strep very common and difficult to treat so they are probably ensuring that the antibiotics were effective and there is no residual infection. The tests they would have done would have included a Full blood picture from that they can determine if there are any major nasty things going on and if there was they would not let you wait for 2 weeks. The full blood picutre can even determine for them if the infection is bacterial or viral so they might want to take blood when you go back to. The problem that can occur when you are sick is that you might have an opportunistic virus or bacteria come to the party when the body is focusing on one bug forgets to keep an eye out for the rest. Your GP sounds like they are very thorough and ensuring you recover completely. Hope that helps settle your mind but it does not mean that if you start to feel worse for any reason that you wait for 2 weeks to go see them (sorry but once a mummy always a mummy!). But I hate it when the Dr's surg calls and asks you to come back but won't tell you why - seriously you have to stress for that!

Triny - She is just gorgeous.

Ok alcohol having full effects so will depart before I say anything silly!
beaglebaby
LOL, I forgot it was Friday night until I came in here and found Ellangel and Key asleep under the bar!

Littlemum, glad it's not GF, and good advice from Key even after a few wines! If the doc was worried about you you'd be coming back much sooner than 2 weeks.

Elliesmum, you're definitely going to have to get the logo etc done. Finding suppliers is one of the difficult parts, I've got a stack of bodysuits here that I picked up cheap in the Myer sale and plan to applique, it's worth keeping an eye out there, Big W and Best and Less sometimes have good runouts too - problem is you have to be there at the right time.

Key, keep an eye out at the local shops for school holiday craft projects for K, this week mine decorated tins then planted herbs in them, and kate did a "clock-imal", a clock decorated with fluffy things, felt and pipe cleaners, for free at the shops.

Ellangel, you'll get so used to your routine without DH he'll be a nuisance when he gets back.

Lara, Littlemumma, Another runner here. Everyone else at playgroup complains their children are clingy, I'm forever saying "where's Lucas", maybe I'm just a neglectful mum! He'll run off into the classrooms at school if gets half a chance. He's also learned to open our doors, nothing in the house is safe. He climbed to the top of our slide today, but did bang his chin on the way up. The slide is about 5 feet high, so I'm not liking this climbing thing at all.

Blondie, how nice of your parents to send flowers. I'm glad you had the MG around and it was OK, things could be strange between you and your friend due in Nov for a while, she will be worried about upsetting you.

Sarina,
Happy Birthday
you're only a spring chicken! Don't worry about your stalkers, they just like you! It could be nice while DH is away for you to have some playdates with the girls after school - a bit of adult company to fill the long gap to bedtime. Kate's godmother is just moving to Vic Pk and I was explaining that it was near where Faith lives, now she wants to come and visit Faith and her GM original.gif

The worst of the chemo is done, just 2 short infusions to go on the next 2 Mondays. To say I was relieved would be an understatement. DH is tired, moody from the steroids, has a metallic taste in his mouth, is bald, nauseous and gets the hiccups all the time. I said welcome to pregnancy!! At least he knows he'll feel like crap for the next week or so and then it's over - as long as the scan on the 29th is clear. Leaving the hospital today was great! He seems to already be full on into planning all his work travel etc, sounds like he's going to be away quite a bit for the rest of the year, I might be joining Sarina and Ellangel for lean cuisines and wine online each night!

ETA: If anyone gets any weird friend requests from a Beagle named Brodie on Facebook, that is just me! DH and I agreed not to use facebook, but I'm sick of missing out on peoples photos so I've signed the dog up - Brodie Beaglet roll2.gif
cassi8
rolleyes.gif Sharon, into the wine again laughing2.gif kidding..

Good news littlemumma! Explains why you are feeling so much better! Hopfully your follow up with the GP goes well and there is no ongoing issues

Ellies - great work on selling so many things already! I think I will be fighting meljas for the sz 2 boys things! laughing2.gif

Beagle - Great news about DH, I hope he recovers quickly from this round and that the scans all come back good!

Blondie - what a lovely surprise from your mum!

Sarina - Have a great birthday today! I hope you are really spoilt and have a great day! original.gif

We had a great day yesterday, it all went waaay too fast! I didn't want to leave a the end of the day I was having so much fun. N loved the animals even if he was apprehensive when they moved. We tried him on the clowns where you put the balls in its mouth, hated it and cried.. he was terrified.

Good news, our neighbour is coming tomorrow to come at look at the place so there is going to be some crazy cleaning going on here over today and tomorrow morn. DH is going to take a carload of boxes over to the ILs, he has to go and get his laptop anyway (long story) so that will clear out a lot. Just have to scrub the bathroom and clean the bed room really and thankfully!

Going shopping today to look for that dress and I am meeting a friend to go search Target for some bargains without child! I've got the washing on to help DH out a little before I leave him to take DS finally for his 18mth check and shots!
Bel Rowley
If anyone gets any weird friend requests from a Beagle named Brodie on Facebook, that is just me!

Just in time Beagle, I was about to ignore you! Thinking who the hell is this Brodie and why do they want to be friends with me? roll2.gif

HAPPY BIRTHDAY SARINA!!!
bbighug.gif
trinyweeny
HAPPY BIRTHDAY SARINA

Ellangel
- You are just so mean.......... roll2.gif

Elliesmum - Wow it has really taken off. Good luck with it all.

Beagle - Good news about DH. I really hope the scans come back with great news. Oh and I have added your Beagle as a friend on FB.

Cassi - Sounds like you had a wonderful time at the show. How exciting about the neighbour. I hope it all goes well.

Anyway better get moving if I am going to the shops today before the wedding.
Have a great day everyone.

melaniejasmin
Happy Birthday Sarina!! (I dont think you are old either!)
littlemumma
Morning

Cassi - a childfree morning out, oh exciting, hope you find the dress. Show sounded great, lol at N not liking the clowns but I suppose they are kind of scarey looking. Good luck with the unit tomorrow.

Sharon - what a shame I missed out on all your drunken behaviour last night!

key - or should i say Dr Key. Thank you so much for all that info, it has made me feel alot better. I guess at the end of the day, even though it wasn't GF, the Dr still wasn't convinced it was just tonsilitis so I suppose another check is understandable and what you say does make sense, so thank you...now I won't stress for two weeks!

Bealge - I will be looking out for Brodie, lol. Great news that DH has almost finished his chemo. I will be saying my prayers that the 29th scan is all clear and that you guys can get back to living a normal life again.

ellies - I had a look at your blog, your work is great. I especially love all the nits myself, are you selling those as well or just the dyed stuff?

Sarina- happy birthday, hope you are having a lovely day so far.

Was trying to post some recent pics of Max but I can't remember how to do the photobucket bit as its not working..grrrrrrrrrrr

cassi8
Littlemumma - upload the photo then just copy and paste the IMG tag on the bottom of the pic. original.gif

Must go get dressed! I have DH and N cleaning the kitchen cupboards, so very cute that N is helping daddy with paper towel on the doors and scrubbing them and a bit *phew* wiping his brow! laughing2.gif
~Elliesmum~
LOL at Brodie beagle Tounge1.gif I was wondering who knew me but then thought beagle, hmm biggrin.gif Glad you could join us on FB Beagle, it really doesn't have to be all exposiing you just put what you want wink.gif and don't get sucked into the games everyone sends around. I love to see everyones photos. Sadly its meant that another site I'm part of has gone really quiet and might close as everyone is talking on FB now instead of our site but this groups pretty safe from that isn't it haha.

littlemumma- thanks original.gif I would if I could knit fast enough haha. I will be sewing things for sale soon, but knitting for other people won't be for a long time, at the moment I can't knit enough for me, plus sew and dye quick enough hehe. And knitting is labour intensive so it would be hard to price something that people would then want to buy IYKWIM. But maybe in the future with items that don't take long to knit original.gif

Yep definitely need to get the logo sorted, I might just go with a lady I saw on FB and hope she does a nice job. Also hoping I laybyed more sz2 shirts the other day, otherwise I'll just buy them lol- I think sz 2 boys are the most popular at the moment Tounge1.gif I was actually at BigW yesterday and they had their red light 50% off, but of course dh had to go to work and I gave up waiting in line after 10 mins. There wasn't much there anyway but it would have been nice to get them cheap! I've had a look at one or two blanks sites that someone posted but I have to get some and check the quality and how they dye. If they are great quality it would be worth it, but if they are just the same as what I can get on special then theres not much point hehe.

anyway enough of my ramblings again

beagle- awesome the chemo is mostly done!:D I hope your dh recovers quickly from it, MIL really did ok on the chemo, I think I mentioned that shes amazingly almost clear now! she had an awful prognosis before treatment, but after heaps of chemo and radiation, the last scan revealed it almost gone (and they expected the remainder to disappear with the effects of the radiation continuing)!!! biggrin.gif Shes just starting to get her hair back and had to get her hair cut last week as there were long wispy bits with all the regrowth, she looks great now original.gif and was a bit over wearing headscarves/hats etc. Did your dh shave his hair or wait for it to fall out?

laraq75
so I've signed the dog up - Brodie Beaglet

Beagle - That is too funny and I am glad the worst of the chemo is over for your DH.

Elliesmum - it is interesting how facebook affects some forums. I am sure it won't affect this one.

We are having a day at home today cleaning up. It is a good feeling.
bellygood
Can't keep up girls, fast moving thread! We are doing powerclean today, have a rental inspection Tuesday so wanted to get some big jobs done that we had put off. bbl!
littlemumma
ellies - meant to say before how dreaful it was that you ended up with the chronic fatigue....i have heard GF can cause that, actually happened to a girl I went to school with, just awful. Good news is once you have had GF you are usually immune, of course not in all cases, but hopefully you NEVER get it again, poor thing. Fair enough on the knitting, sounds labour intensive. I will be interested to see your sewing jobs. I just love the knits you do for K though.

BB - good luck with the clean up, hope the realestate is impressed.

OK Cassi - lets try again for PB: Oh and does N like the Wiggles DVD, Max LOVES it.

beaglebaby
Max is looking so cute and so grown up Littlemumma.

I've just had confirmed why I've avoided Facebook. I had a very toxic friend I had to cut out of my life, I haven't spoken or had any contact with her since 2004, and I've just found her as a friend of my Mum, 2 of my sisters and my Brother in Law. All of them only ever knew her through me........ that is creepy ddown.gif

Went and bought Lucas a little ride on with a trailer this morning, all the hand-me-down outside toys are falling apart so I decided he needed something new. He is now asleep, DH is asleep and the other kids are playing quietly in their rooms. I might try to have a nap too. Hope I don't have stalker nightmares!!
~Elliesmum~
awww what a cutie! I really should show kayla the wiggles, we borrowed 2 from the library and I forgot to put them on, oops! its time to take them back.

Yep knitting is fun, but takes too darn long lol. Atm I have to finish my swap item before I'm allowed to knit anything else for K or my nieces! Thanks for liking them though biggrin.gif

Chronic Fatigue sux, I have a friend who got either Ross river fever or GF at the same time roughly and still suffers dreadfully with it whereas I've been able to move on at least.

Bellygood- hope the cleaning went well, I hate RE inspections!

beagle- thats awful ohmy.gif I hope she knows them some other way and thats how she ended up there. You can hide from her I think, some setting so she doesn't see anything of yours? even though you're already hidden, it might be worthwhile?

better go and cook dinner and start the bedtime thing rolling biggrin.gif
Sccary
Thanks for all the birthday wishes.
DH and DD's planned me a surprise breakfast. Let me have a sleep in and made my favourite brekky (French Toast)
DH hand cut out 'Happy birthday mummy' with 3 hearts out of the bread and made it like that laid it out on the plate dusted in sugar and a candle in the middle - so sweet wub.gif Must have taken ages to cut out all those letters.
We then had morning planned to go to Kalamunda (up in the hills 1hrs drive) to a specialty cup cake shop I have been wanting to go to for ages. WE were going to buy extra cupcakes for dessert tonight when we go to dinner at our friends (insead of a big birthday cake)
Got 10mins from the place and velvet fell asleep (she had cried the last 30mins constantly) aannoyed.gif So deided to keep driving to the dam (water catchment area) and let her sleep another 30mins.
Got 1/2 way there and massive accident, 3 young kids with their mum involved, mess all over the road, ambulances, cops got stuck there for a while made it to dam stoped to let DD1 out and play and then of course with the car stoppong velvet woke. rant.gif Back to where shop is and BLOODY CLOSED TODAY! normally open but some emergency rant.gif rant.gif didn't they know it was my birthday?
Ok thought have lunch, got kids juice and vegemite scrolls across the road then went to cafe, ordered and waiting waiting, no order - kids gone feral now! went and asked what the delay was, they had 'lost' our order and hadn't made it rant.gif Got money back and left back in car with pie and sauce from bakery and home
KIds in bed and now looking for somewhere to buy cake/dessert for tonight to buy.......

What a birthday, this is why I DON'T do Birthdays!!!
Apart from DH morning effort wub.gif Bah birthday humbug

BEAGLE: glad DH chemo is over and hands.gif things improve for you. I just signed you up as a FB friend tthumbs.gif Where did you get Lucas's ride on from?

BELLYG: Good luck on tuesday with the inspection. Remember to leave them something easily fixable to 'pick on' laughing2.gif

LITTLEM: love the photos such a cute little man

TRINY: happy shopping. Whos wedding have I missed something?

OK best get ready for tonight BB tomorrow
beaglebaby
Awww Sarina, that is NOT how your birthday is meant to go! I hope you find some delicious cake, although not many can rival the ones you make. I'd offer - but they STILL haven't got the element for my oven and are saying that it could be weeks - or months huh.gif

Ride on - Toys R Us, also got some cute Osh Kosh "sock shoes" for Lucas, I have a pair of Brazilian ones my sister gave him and he LOVES them, would wear them permanently given a chance. These are blue with cars - very cute.

Elliesmum, you've reminded me I need to pull DD's cardigan out of the draw and finish sewing it up - it's been over a year since I finished knitting, hope it still fits!

alimumof3
hi everyone, been reading today and haven't had time to post. or at least i dont thikn i've posted yet!

HAPPY BIRTHDAY SARINA!! sorry about your ordeals! what a day!

beagle glad to hear DH's chemo is almost over and done with! yay!! good luck with the scan, i will be thinking of you all.
thats sucks about your ex friend and links to family on FB. unfortunately thats what seems to happen on FB with some people, they just accept eveyrone and have a zillion friends. i think thats silly. thats my opinion anyway. but as ellies said you can keep some things private and only accesable to your friends. you can make lists etc.

littlemumma glad you are feeling better! well improved anyway!
Max is gorgeous!! what a little spunk!

cassi we missed you yesterday. saw on FB you had a good time at easter show. original.gif good luck with the neighbours coming in tomorrow.

ellies well done on your orders!! woot woot!!

DD had a party to go to today, she ate sooooo much junk! rolleyes.gif little hoover that she is. DH stayed home with Oliver so he could have his sleep. he was sooo tired around 1130 he was leaning against the walls playing with his hair like he does when he's tired. DH managed to keep him up til about 1 ish with lunch etc.
SO due to the party we didnt put DD down for a nap as needed to do food shopping this arvo. my goodness she was a little nuts! sugar hit and no sleep = a crazy kid! so they both went to bed at 6.30pm!
Oh did anyone watch better homes and gardens last night? we have decided to plant some vegies in our front garden. the backyard is small and doesnt get enough sun due to the fences, pergola etc, so thought we'd plant some in the front amongst the plants. We live on a tiny court that runs off another court so i doubt anyone will pinch anything! so we're heading to Bunnings in the morning and see what we can suss out. we figure anythign that we grow is saving us $ which would be great. Zucchinis would be good to grow seeings they can be quite pricey at times.
anyhoo other than that we have housework to do tomorrow.

catch you all later!
bellygood
Whew, got the cleaning done. It wasn't a 'surface' clean, more some big jobs that really needed doing: windows, patio, carport, lawns. Everything looks good now. House looks 'lived in' but not 'feral'! Not too worried about inspection really, it's an old home and we don't have (too many) wild parties or violent domestic disputes.

The sun is finally out here, Ivy was in a great mood today, in fact we all were. Went out for a counter meal after our 'powerclean' session, really nice. Then to a mate's place for BBQ tonight. Am going to hold a bbq soon. Have been to so many but have never reciprocated as I find our rental so small and old. But our carport would be just fine for say 3-4 couples, esp. in good weather, and we always have the wii/tv for the kids (plus a big yard, just no playground stuff).

Hi Ali - saw you down there typing as I logged on! Vegie garden sounds like a great idea! You can be our 'Costa' biggrin.gif

Sarina - hope the birthday improved 'after dark' wink.gif Sounds like just one of those days today...

Littlemumma DS is so cute, love his little overalls!
cassi8

Littlemumma - Max is a cutie, very handsome!

Sarina - I hope your night is better, nothing worse than having a wonderful day planned out and everything going pear shaped! I hope you have had a better night tonight!

Beagle - I found your puppy on FB and added you original.gif

Ali - Good luck with the vegie garden! Strawberries grow like weeds and the kids love picking them. Carrots are great to grow as well and don't need a lot of space. Zucchini are quite easy to grow as well but I think need a bit more space. I'm sure you will find what you are after for the season ahead! original.gif

phew! I'm cleaning too BG, bathroom done, kitchen looks pretty good as does the lounge room, we just have to tackle our bedroom tomorrow and DH to take boxes over to the ILs. BG I've just done windows as well, definitely invest in some of those Viva window and glass wipes, work brilliantly! I picked up some samples in a show bag from yesterday so the balcony door, kitchen window and the shower screen all look sparkly now! biggrin.gif

N has his vax today and his flu/swine flu shot. 11.4kgs and about 80cms tall although he wasn't co-operating so that may be a little out. DH took him while I was at the shops! biggrin.gif

Have a good night everyone!
Sccary
Well my night was much improved. Our friends had gone all out with some of my favourtites.
Tappers plates for starters wash down with proper champagne 'Veuve' for $200 a bottle tthumbs.gif
followed by BBQ chili prawns and italian sausage and feta - yummo
then they had made fresh pasta from scratch (made pasta and then made it into fetticine with a yummy meat sauce. Downed with a great bottle of red wine.
Followed by icecream cake for the kids and we had this exotic nougat and dark chocolate roicky road stuff DH had bought (mind you $47 for 1 piece of rocky road and 2 x nougat pieces was oomg.gif) it was hand made though and nougat was like black cherry and chocolate and cherry and lemon
then a bottle of dessert liquors (which I normally never drink)
Went home had a big glass of water and 2 nurofen just in case wink.gif

BEAGLE: what a shame no cooking for months....poor you laughing2.gif
Great cleaning everyone wwhistle.gif I need to do that
Sccary
BTW
FLU VAC. Anyone NOT doing this? I am so unsure I did it last year, but the trauma of the needles and I just have an issue of injecting them with a 'little bit of flu' I know this is what immunisation is but that is a necessity, I don't think flu is. I have never has flu in my life, just really bad colds.
ellangel
Wow Sarina!!! Wishing you a very happy belated birthday love!

Sounds like your evening DID improve dramatically! What fantastic friends you have. Glad you ended up having a great end to the day.

I am in the same boat. Had a horrid cold when pregnant with Holli that last eternity cause I could not take anything. Other than that, have never had the flu in my life...only a cold or 2. I am only having the flu shot as it is in with the swine so thought 'why not?' and plus DD1 at school this year, so think that increases our chances of catching something.
Also, with DH away, looking after sick kids or being sick would be miserable.

I got the flu shot each year when working in CC...never had any side effects or symptoms other than a sore arm!

Hope you dont have a sore head today! You are 34 now, so may take you longer to get over it!! LOL...I am only saying this as I am not far behind biggrin.gif
Sccary
would you believe I have NEVER had a hangover..... I can drink spirits all bloody night and champagne and don't get sick. BUT somewhite wines make me sick.gif about 30minsafter I drink them so only ever drink a little wine.
So lucky me bouncy fine out of bed this morning to girls at 6:30am.

Maybe I should just get the needles and be done with it. I too had a shocker cold lasted months with DD! I even broke 2 ribs coughing which is not fun PG. But not the flu!
melaniejasmin
Sarina - sounds like your night improved! plus, getting no hangovers sounds fabulous!

Flu shot
- I have only had the swine flu. I didnt know you had to have two shots though, so when we go back for Alexander's second I will see about the regular one. I have had the flu once or twice when I was younger and it is terrible! you cannot get out of bed and your whole body aches. it's not like a cold at all.

Cassi - when are the neighbours coming to look at the house? glad everything is spick and span!

I have almost finished the essay.... rolleyes.gif I'll do a little more this afternoon, then do the rest tomorrow. I am so lazy, but I hate doing essay work on sundays (even though i was always very happy to go to work on a sunday!)
Bel Rowley
Glad to hear your birthday improved Sarina, last night sounds wonderful! I'm so jealous of you never having a hangover, I've had far too many. I'm not a messy drunk but the next day always kills me.

I'm trying to put the finishing touches on my sonnet so I can get started on my book review but this thing is driving me nuts. We're going to the in-laws' for dinner tonight, DH has called them and asked that we eat earlier because we have to have C home in bed by 8:30. Of course this has nothing at all to do with the fact we don't want to miss Underbelly ph34r.gif .
cassi8

Still cleaning, washing and tidying.. nearly there though thankfully! First time I have sat down since I started at 8ish this morning. They will be calling at around 4ish. All is not lost though if they don't come today, just means less work if we do need to go through agent and people start coming through. My arms and shoulders are sore, I don't think I have ever cleaned and scrubbed this much! I envy you ladies that have to do it for rental inspection!

Sarina I am glad you had a wonderful night! It all sounds very decadent and delicious, you are very lucky to have such wonderful friends.

I have had the flu once before its just awful! I chose to do the shot as DS is in CC and if he picked anything up then no doubt that we would get it as well, no thanks!

alimumof3
hi everyone

flu shot the other thing to remember is that everyone that is immunised against it is reducing the amount of people that can then affect others if you know what i mean. so less people can get it. i know what i'm trying to say in my head just not coming out right! wacko.gif

cassi well done on the cleaning. let us know if the neighbours stop by. i've swept the house and vacuumed the rug in the family room, thats about it! did both bathrooms last night though. floors need mopping and the other rooms need doing. Oh and i've changed all sheets and a couple of loads of washing. theres always something. the ironing is almost touching the ceiling, hoping DH will do that tonight.

sarina glad your night was much better! wowzers sounds like an extravagent "do" you had. very $$ wine! mmm

well we went to bunnings this morning to get some vegie seedlings. DH is working out the next step. DD was soooooo cute pushing around her little bunnings trolley wub.gif i took a photo on my mobile - wish i knew how to transfer mobile photos onto the computer! they had a little play in the equipment and we had a cappuccino.
well while the kids sleep i might do some scrapping while DH does the seedlings.

OOORROOO
cassi8
rolleyes.gif person is in the city helping a mate and won't be over until later this evening... although all the cleaning is done! biggrin.gif
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.