The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: September 08 Parents #165

Pages: 1, 2, 3

http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/forums/ind...howtopic=782224

~Elliesmum~
silver wooohooo nope GOLD sorry LM Tounge1.gif

I so shouldn't be here lol

Blondie- if you're up to it I'd jump straight back on too, especially if they feel everything is ok. In some ways I think it would be harder to wait, more taxing on yourselves. I really hope you have no more problems and get pregnant again quickly.

LM- I hope you don't have GF, I won't go into it but I had it when I was 23. Hoping its tonsillitis instead and you recover quickly.

Tweedy- yay for your marks, well done! you're making me want to study, oh and congrats on the weight loss too, something else I need to get around to doing lol.

why do my days go so fast, its school holidays and they are almost half over sad.gif I still haven't booked accomodation for dads wedding on the GC next weekend either, whoops haha. Didn't have any $ until today so probably better do that! hoping for a last minute deal and as its at the end of the school holiday season, fingers crossed.

hey sharon- are QLD on school holidays? when do you go back?
littlemumma
ok, I will take SILVER
laraq75
BRONZE
trinyweeny
(.)(.)

Not going shopping with my sister now as my nephew is still sick. Still need to head to the shops so might go soon and get it done.
cassi8
Go and spoil yourself Triny! A nice coffee and banana bread to share with Miss J. I hope your Nephew is better soon!

Littlemumma - hoping its not Glandular Fever but it and tonsilitis do go hand in hand and is often the only way they pick it up I think, everyone I have heard ever having Glanduar has had tonsilitis as well. I am glad you are feeling better though, don't go and overdo it though, keep resting! original.gif

DH gave me a pressie last night, I think Tweedy will be the only one that gets it though. DH and I both play WoW (online game) and he spotted that they had just released some new plushies. I commented that I liked on of them so he went and bought it, so now I have a cute little baby gryphon hatchingling and an ingame pet that looks the same! wub.gif geeky love! laughing2.gif I can't find a pic, I have gaming sites blocked at work rolleyes.gif

Ok going to go and try and burn through this work so I can do other more fun stuff! wink.gif BBL!
ellangel
must rush...off to Strawberry Farm.

Yes, on school hols Ellies. Back next Tuesday. xx Has not been too bad as Ella watches a movie while Holli sleeps or plays quietly so I still get my free chill out time
Bel Rowley
I'm feeling very active this morning, Claudia and I have already been to the shops to pick up a few things so have had our exercise for the day. I'm a bit annoyed because I thought my bleeding had almost stopped yesterday and I was planning to go swimming tonight but it's heavier again today mad.gif . I've decided to cancel my pool membership because I'm just not using it enough.

Tweedy - you are doing so well with your study, well done! Good on you for quitting the cigs too, it will be great for your health and for the hip pocket if you can both manage to kick the habit.

Lara - nope, no mention of progesterone. My OB still seems to think it's just bad luck having two m/c in a row and will do nothing different until I've had a 3rd (which hopefully won't happen of course!).

Triny - how are you doing physically? I hope you didn't have the kind of pain and ridiculously heavy bleeding that I did the first time. You have been amazingly composed bbighug.gif.

Littlemum - interesting about the aspirin, I think I've read someone on the Miscarriage threads who was doing similar, but I think it can be dangerous during pregnancy so not something I would try? Great that the ABs are helping you, fingers crossed you are back in fine health in a day or two.

Elliesmum - good luck booking that accommodation! It must be nice making a few sales on FB, from what I've seen your clothes are going to be very popular tthumbs.gif.

Other news - can't believe I haven't mentioned yet but I have stopped BFing ddown.gif . I was going to wait until after the Easter weekend because I thought it would be easier while we were away to be feeding her in the morning, but the first morning there she wasn't interested, so it was almost like fate. I did give her a quick feed on Tuesday morning but again she didn't want much and she is perfectly happy without it now so I guess the time has come. It's making me feel a bit depressed that I am not either pregnant or breastfeeding, I thought it would be another 3 or 4 years before I wasn't doing one or the other, but after the two m/cs I'm ready to see if not BFing will make a difference.
key4
Good Morning all original.gif

Littlem - Hope you are feeling better soon what a horrible way to spend the easter break and beyond.

Blondie and Triny - you are both are sounding like you are coping well with your bad news.

Blondie - some positive news one of the ladies at work was pregnant when I was with Niamh lost that baby and another after it had a little girl yesterday. Both of hers were unexplained and she had third time lucky, I was so teary to see the bub yesterday. Try not to let yourself feel depressed about not feeding or being pregnant I am sure it will not be long until you are doing the whole thing over again.

Triny - hope you have fun at the shops.

Sharon - Have fun at the strawberry farm.

Bother I think I need a new computer the keybord has stopped working on many of the letters!

I got my payrise it worked out at about 8% and I did not have to do anything more than work the extra day a week so that was good for me. I was not able to talk my way out of working sundays though got rid of the sats! One small step at a time.

MMHHH- I stopped my oestrogen tablets 5 days ago and there is still no AF very strange I guess I had better get pregnancy test today and make sure it is safe to start the pill again on Saturday.

Right better get on with the day I have an appointment with the bank this morning! I can't remember what time- 10 something I think!
littlemumma
Morning

Blondi - oh goodness no, I didn't mean for you to go and start taking asprin....my friend had to take it for a particular reason and it was only for the first trimester and under strict supervision. You did well with the breastfeeding, its great that Claudia was ready to give it away, makes it a little easier.

key - go get that pregnancy test while you're out at the bank. Great news on the payrise original.gif

cassi - interesting about the link between tonsilitis and GF....I have actually had GF before, when I was 16, was dreadful and I had to have a lot of time off school. Sounds like a nice pressie from DH, boy is he in the good books this week.

triny - hope you treat yourself to something nice at the shops.

Sharon - strawberry farm?

ellies - I'm sure you'll be able to get a good deal off wotif.

Me - feeling a little better again today which is good but I hope its not just because I'm in bed all day...anyway. I rang the Dr for results....he had blood results back but still hasn't got an answer on the GF, apparently that takes a little longer so I need to call tomorrow afternoon. The rest of the results looked fine though apart from some mild irritation of the liver. Will just stay in bed and keep doing what I'm doing. It was Neices 17th birthday today and all the family went out for breaky (except me of course)....bit bummed I missed out on pancakes even though I don't really feel like them.

Have a good day.
trinyweeny
back from the shops. Didn't get anything. I have a wedding on Saturday and nothing really said buy me. Might have another look tomorrow.

Blondie - Physically I have really been fine. The bleeding and cramping was no worse than the first day of my period. The bleeding looks like it is starting to slow down. Emotionally, the pregnancy never felt right and as soon as I saw the spotting on Friday I knew that I was having a m/c. When I got up at 2:30am Saturday and it was a full bleed I had already prepared myself for that outcome. Spent a good 2 hours bawling my eyes out though. Now I have no motivation to do anything. Only doing things when they need to be done.
Oh how sad about Claudia weaning but a big congrats for getting so far. bbighug.gif At least she did wean herself and now you don't have to wonder about whether the B/F will have an impact on your next pregnancy. I'm sure it won't be long and we will be UTD.

LM - How frustrating not having a result. Just keep resting up.

Key - Oh now I am going to have to lurk all afternoon. Have fun at the bank. tongue.gif Great news on your payrise.

Cassi - Wow you have been spoilt this week. Very jealous.
melaniejasmin

just dropping in quickly as I am working on my essay.... glare.gif I wish it would write itself.... I am so annoyed that i have another one due in a few weeks...! I would much rather be reading a book. Just printed out a section to look at. printer was jammed and took 20 minutes to get out all the bits of paper. then I found a coit toy peice wedged in there.... I wonder how that happened....!? Alexander is always hiding things....

Tweedy - great news that you will be giving up smoking! such a waste of money, and not good for anyone's health.

Triny - pity you didnt get anything shopping. though good excuse to go again!

Cassi - I have never seen WoW. I can only imagine what your new pet looks like original.gif

Blondie - you have done really well to BF till now! not sure how much BF impacts on pregnancy, but good to give it a go now with no BF. I am lucky that I dont have a gym membership as I use my parents at their apartment block. I can understand though how hard it is to get to the pool. DH hasnt used his gym membership for 2 weeks now (as he has been sick), and I'm wondering what we are paying for...!

LM - sounds like it is good news if all the other results are looking good. stay in bed and keep resting. I'm sure DH and the boys can make you pancakes when you are feeling better! original.gif

OK, back to it.. I'll BBL no doubt ph34r.gif
ellangel
Littlem - sorry you have not got any results on GF yet. Hope you start to feel better soon and its just a virus taking its course on your body.

Strawberry farm is about 10 mins from here. Its only small but pick your own strawberries, some farm animals and a small coffee shop. Girls had fun and then we went to the park.

Tweedy - whoo hooo for you both giving up the ciggies! So proud of you.

Blondie - Wow that C has stopped Bf'ing and yay to nights out and morning sleep ins! LOL

Triny - I was doubled over in pain for a good hour before all passed out with my m/c. It was like a mini labour. Not like AF pain at all. Good you are ok. Just take it a day at a time and you will most certainly be UTD again before you know it! xx

Bel Rowley
Sharon I was the same as you with my first m/c, the pain was excruciating, worse than my labour with Claudia. If only the end of BFing meant a change to my lifestyle, it won't really, I was already having nights out and I still have to get up with her in the morning. If anything it's worse because the morning BFs used to mean an extra 20-30 minutes in bed with her.

Key - fantastic news about your payrise, congrats!

Littlemum - bummer about missing pancakes, I reckon you should take yourself out for some as soon as you feel better and have your appetite back.

Triny - I am in the same boat in terms of motivation. I just want to sit around feeling sorry for myself. I was having some horrible thoughts this morning after reading one of my miscarriage info sheets, it seems like I now have all the risk factors for increased likelihood of another and have to keep telling myself that I can still have a healthy baby. I know it's ridiculous because a lot of women much older than me have babies but I fear that my time is running out sad.gif.

Melanie - that is great being able to use your parents' gym. We used to have a gym and pool at our apartment complex in Florida and it was fantastic. Funniest thing was just before we moved home and sold our TV, the Oscars were on and I never miss them so had to go and pretend to work out for about 2 hours so I could watch laughing2.gif.

As mentioned above I can't be bothered with anything today. I still have to finish my blasted creative writing portfolio - sonnet, haiku and a book review. Will have to go crazy on it over the weekend. Claudia has woken up from her sleep in a foul mood which isn't helping.
ellangel
Blondie - oh no! You poor thing. The pain from my m/c was pretty bad but not as bad as my labour pain. Crap no! Isnt it strange how our bodies are all so different? When DH is at home, he gets girls up and Ella has her apple juice and Holli has her milk in the loungeroom. You could suggest this to DH? No point both us being up at 6.30am!

My friend has a bub a month older than Holli and says how hungry he is and how she has to give him breakfast in the dark at 5am when he wakes! Derrrr....give him milk? He does not have any milk throughout the day at all. Each to their own I guess.

All what you are thinking is completely normal Blondie! You are not alone. I am certain Claudia will not be an only child...your time is NOT running out. For what it is worth, I thought all this too.

Whats with the gift giving Cassi? I have no idea just what it is you got, but you are lucky. Your Dh is scoring lots of points with you!

We have been feeding the neighbours cat across the road since last Thursday. My neighbour said he did not mind if we fed him there or at our house. Um, well last night he slept at our house, under the pergola, and is still there and um now he has his own bowl of food and water and Ella made him a bed!! whooops rolleyes.gif I DID say we 'may' get a kitten soon, so now we just have an already trained cat! hahaha
alimumof3
hi guys, think i've been logged in all day! whoops. had a quick read this morning then went out and forgot to log off.

blondie sorry about the BF'ing coming to an end. is BF meant to increase the risk of M/c? didnt someone suggest that once? i am not sure.. i did ask my OB when i went with this bub as i was still feeding O and she said no. who knows.
could you bring a bottle and bring C to bed with you for first morning feed? i know you still have to get up and make it etc but then you two could have a snuggle back in bed.

littlemumma glad you are feeling a bit better.

key oooh, make sure you let us know asap.

There is a hoarding episode of Oprah. i love watchign it (even though it makes me cringe a bit) cos then i feel a bit better about my messy house! lol

had MG at the park again today. was nice. didnt put O down for a monring sleep today and he was quite good. went to bed at 1pm instead of just before 2. i think we would have struggled if we werent out most of the monring. we also popped into mums - i had to help her with something, Amelia got stuck into her lipstick - sooo cute!! we had a good chuckle.
DH left for Melb at 6am this morning. I cried! sad case that i am. anyway, he will be back 6.30pm tomorrow night. Mum is staying with me tonight!!!!! repeat: sad case that i am.

cassi8
laughing2.gif Sharon, Ella is just so sweet! One thing with cats is that they will live where they can get food! wink.gif Gift giving is partly anniversary but DH has been feeling a little down in the dumps so I think he has been making himself happy by making me happy IYKWIM. I do feel pretty gosh darn lucky! He used up some of those points last night wink.gif Sounds like you have had a great morning at the strawberry farm, YUM!

Blondie and Meljas - procrastination here today as well. I'd much rather be looking up whats on at the show and cruising around on here that doing data entry..

Meljas - I will find a pic for you when I get home wink.gif He is very cute!

Littlemumma - huh.gif I didn't think you could get GF twice.. Hoping you only have tonsilitis then! original.gif

I'm almost back on the wagon today... only had 2 little eggs and half a sambo with my lunch shake which is a bit of a no no but better than more choc! wink.gif
alimumof3
meant to say, sharon i thought you already had a cat? that is funny. I used to do that all the time as a kid! infact the neighbours across the road had kittens and one monring we heard all these cries and she had walked them all across the rd to our place, all following her in a line, and hid them in our backyard! she owuld have loved to live with us. also, same neighbours, had a dog that kept escaping and playing with us! a beautiful Collie dog.
ellangel
no animals here so far Ali. Animals mean freaking MESS!! LOL. roll2.gif OH, I lie. We have 2 fish.

Oh you little baby getting your mum to stay the night with you! Just having a dig! I am just very jealous
Bel Rowley
We don't have any animals here and I think I'd like to keep it that way for a few years yet! Would like a dog one day but not while I have small kids.

To be honest even if DH did get up with Claudia in the morning I would still be up, I am much more of a morning person than him. Even if she does sleep in to say 7:30 I will be wide awake by 7 and up watching TV.

Ali - I have read a lot of mixed information about BFing and m/c. My OB told me when I was first pregnant that it would be fine to continue BFing. Most of what I have read says there is no proven link between breastfeeding and miscarriage, but there are some doctors who say that hormone levels can be affected by BFing and this can increase the chance of a m/c in some women. I guess at this point I want to give myself the best possible chance of a healthy pregnancy and now Claudia is 18 months I no longer think that continuing to BF her is the highest priority.
melaniejasmin
Blondie - Aren't your breasts killing you?! when I gave up BF, it wasw terrible for a few days and my breasts didnt fully go down for about 1 1/2. and I was only doing the one morning feed! I soo wanted to express it out, but knew it would only prolong it.

Oh, am I back here and not doing my essay? silly me! wink.gif I've got 2 sections from 5 completed. so pretty bad really... I am hoping to get another done this afternoon, then I'll be halfway! the pain, the pain....

Pets - we dont have any either. we wont get any untill we get back from Germany next year anyway. to much hassle. I would like a dog one day though.

Ali - I often go to my parents house for dinner when DH isnt here, I think it's good to get more help!

Ellangel - I love strawberry farms! the last one I went to was in Germany. we are already into the winter fruit down here. the summer fruit has just about run it's course. I am eating some very nice pears though.

OK, must finish this last (well it's not really the last, just for today!) section!! I have to get it done while Alexander is at CC or it is a waste of a day!
alimumof3
blondie yeah well i guess you just donj't know hey. and you've done an awesome job and thankfully C weaned herself. much easier i would imagine (both mine self weaned).

pets we have 2 cats. we had a dog but she had to be put down 2 years ago. Amelia loves our cats. Mum has a dog that we visit to get the "dog fix" and they love her too.
we'd like another dog one day, but like blondie said, not when we have little kids. too much supervision needed, plus dogs are a lot of work!!

it will be good having mum here for the help, not so much for her to be doing heaps, but more just reading DD a book while i give O his bottle in his room before bed etc. and the company for me!
~Elliesmum~
just a quick one as I should be cooking dinner, oops Tounge1.gif

hey LM bummer the results aren't back yet, I hope you start to feel better soon

blondie- You've done an awesome job and it sounds like Claudia is ready too original.gif hope it goes smoothly for you both

oops yeah the accom- better get crackin on that one haha, oh well always tomorrow! my days are going way too fast sad.gif we had visitors this afternoon, twice, which didn't help! and had my first orders paid for to pack and send, 5 on their way, another two to go original.gif plus lots of requests which may or may not turn into purchases (I'm happy either way lol) I just need more hours in my day! plus trying to work out the whole business logo and stationery things, and putting just a quick logo together today so I can send my creations with a little bit of professionalism lol. have so much I need to work on, which doesn't pay money but am in it for the long haul, I've wanted to do this for so long. sorry raving again sad.gif

hmm better feed missy at least, bbl to finish
seepi
Elliesmum - that sounds like great progress, it is only early days yet. Definitely look at getting some stickers with your logo on, or fridge magnets or something. They are very very cheap and it will help people to do re-orders. Or you could think about your own clothing tags - people get rolls of those made too, I'm not sure how much that costs. How exciting!!

Blondie - I think 18 months is a good time to stop, and if Claudia has made the decision herself then so much the better. I weaned both mine at 12-13 months, and neither of them cared at all. I never got any fullness or anything either time, so maybe they were hardly having any by then anyway.

Ali - we have little dogs, on the elderly side and they are no work at all. unfortunately they do shed hair all over the place though.

MIL is going to pick DD up from preschool tomorrow, so that will be interesting. The whole idea was that she would do it sometimes while I had to work full time, which w ould have been really useful, but it never happened, so now she is doing it tomorrow, on my first week off work, ,when I have no reason not to go myself... people are funny! But I am hoping this will continue once we have baby 3, so I'm not going to discourage her.
bellygood

Not much going here, have been ph34r.gif

Ivy woke at 2.30am and we 'co slept' (this has GOT to stop!) but at least we both had a decent sleep. I've told DH that from now on in he is in charge of all night waking and resettling as in a couple of months I'll be busy with a newborn and can't be getting up to a toddler as well. He's fine with that but it remains to be seen if I'll be able to resist giving her a cuddle if I hear her cry! wink.gif

Had a nice play at playgroup then took her for a haircut, she was an absolute dream and looks really cute. Then she napped, my mum visited and later on we drove out to our block of land and I showed her our house plans (again...). Then back to the shops, mum babysat while I did a quick shop, when I came back Ivy had somehow conned a balloon out of mum.

Quiet night otherwise, might go watch that weird cooking show on SBS where the guy creates things like volcanic puddings etc (kind of a mad scientist?).

BTW saw the DVD Adventureland yesterday and really enjoyed it. Actually a teenage film but a nice one.
alimumof3
well i survived the dinner bath bed routine on my own. even washed both kids hair! mum was here and read to DD while i put O to bed so that was good. otherwise i know she would have wanted to be in his room with us which would have meant he wouldnt have gone to sleep easily i dont think.

seepi its more the picking up dog poo, taking them for walks, training etc etc that i mean is hard work with dogs. and of course if you go away you need a babysitter, although we need this anyway with the cats. I do love dogs though and def see us as a family with a dog one day. that is one of the reasons we got a wagon when we needed to upgrade for 3 babyseats across the back, so then there is room for a future dog in the back.
rolleyes.gif on your MIL! strange inventions these MIL's..

bellygood i hope you dont have to cosleep tonight!
sounds like you had a good day.
I am the same as you, even when DH has one of the kids and i can hear crying i find it really hard to restrain myself from going to see if all is ok. even though i have 100% confidence in DH it must be some kind of inbuilt mummy alarm or something.

triny can't believe how much J looks like your DH! (FB photos i mean).

we have our swine flu/flu shots tomorrow and Oliver has his 18mth shot as well. hope it goes well.
well i'm v tired tonight. getting up early for when the taxi came to pick up DH this monring is taking its toll. night all.
trinyweeny
Ali - I know very much like her daddy. MIL feels the need to point it out every 5 mins.

Seepi - I agree people can very strange sometimes. MIL's especially.

Bellygood - Hopefully you won't have a little visitor in the night.

Anyway need to have a shower and go to bed myself.
key4
Hello,

I think I should have been in bed a long time ago as well sad.gif

What a day - Not pregnant in a way thank goodness and then there is the always disappointing 1 line on the test too. I would have felt bad though fighting for a pay rise yesterday then finding that out today don't think they would have believed I didn't know at the time. Trip to bank sucessful then there was the bargain hunting thereafter - but I left $80 worth of groceries sitting in coles! I called this evening they are still there and I can pick them up tomorrow - see I think I have the baby brain.

Anyone on facebook would have seen my status I got 91% in my assignment - lord did not think that was possible. The last time I got that was in my business degree that was an easy ride though as at undrgrad level all I had to do there was learn the text. Pharmacy involves knowing the text and the million things that could alter it and all the bits even remotely related. Now the challenge is to replicate that mark!

Littlem - Are you feeling any better? Hope you get the results back tomorrow.

Ali - Good work on surviving the night time routine. Does DH get home tomorrow?

Sharon- Has your DH already left or do you get to have the weekend with him? Hope this 3 week stint is easier than the last for you.

Blondie - 18 months is great effort with the breastfeeding.

Pets - we have 2 staffy's they are Niamh's best friends and the second thing she wants every morning, she has a quick cuddle from me then drinks her bottle with the dogs at the back door! Those 2 dogs are the most patient animals on earth to live with my two kids!

Belly - hope you get some sleep tonight without child in the bed.

Tweedy - Hope Steph had a great bday - wow 16 gees soon you will have an adult in the house! I am already worrying about when the kids drive so thoughts are with you original.gif

Ok gotta get some sleep tomorrow is bin day so I have to be up and dressed well before 7am to stand on the drive and watch the bin man go up and down the street, highlight of my kids weeks! I think I told you before but the bin man has kids same age as both of mine so he tells me all about them every friday! Kaidyn even got a ride in the truck and got to pick up a bin one week

tweedy08
Evening or should I say morning girls...lol.

Where does the time go. Hold tight to you little ones....they grow up so fast. It only feels like yesterday that my eldest Stephanie was born into this world & here we are celebrating her 16th birthday.

anyways I have spent the evening making THIS for her. I hope she likes it.

I will admit I had a tear watching it once it was all finished ssecret.gif

May not be on till later today so take care all.

xoxo

Cath
beaglebaby
Just popping in to say Hi waves.gif This week has just been flat out, I'm exhausted,

Ali, after our experience last week can I suggest giving O panadol before his shots, I've never been one for doing that, but the ED did say they'd seen lots of fevers from flu shots.
strange inventions these MIL's..
laughing2.gif have to agree with you. I owe you a pm don't I, have the parcel just about ready!

Seepi, barcodes on their way.

Blondie, go for it, my Ob said he usually recommends not trying again until you've had a normal period after a d+c, then told me that was for ease of dating and emotional reasons. Nearly 19 months of breastfeeding is a great effort. Lucas still doesn't look like weaning himself, but I don't think he'd mind too much if I decided to. For now it's guaranteed cuddle time!

Key, great work on the mark and the payrise, you're on a roll, BFP next month as these things happen in 3's! grin.gif

Elliesmum, great work on getting your business going, in a few months I hope to be picking your brain and following you!

I need to get to bed, DH has to be at the hospital at 7.30am, which has been a bit of a stretch for me the last few mornings.
bellygood
Tweedy how cute! Well done you! She's going to love/hate you for that 'Oh MUUUMMMM all those PHOTOS online!!!' And she'll roll her eyes, but secretly love it. Really nice idea. Congratulations on the 16th, wow amazing to think that one day my little one will be a teen too!

Beagle
I'd forgotten about your awful experience last week, I am still debating over SF vax... I think I'll send DH but not me or Ivy... he works in schools + has asthma so best that he be protected, better for us too. If there's an outbreak we'll be up there like a shot to get it I suppose.

Ali good luck today, good tip re panadol before the vax perhaps?

Well I think I will do SFA today. We have to do a big house clean over the weekend as we have a rental inspection next week, I might start a few little things there. Then again I might not. I have drinks with some girlfriends tonight, that looks to be the highlight of my day. Should also arrange an ante-natal check, these have totally gone by the wayside though if I look at my 'little orange book' (nifty Qld Health record of ante natal checks) I went one month ago about my bellybutton hernia and got the full going over then. What puts me off this time is the inevitable GTT debate ...

I saw part of a documentary about physical effects of stress last night, think it was on ABC? How stress attacks your 'telemers' (caps that protect the end of your genes and stop them from fraying/you aging... or something). Apparently mothers looking after severely SN kids can 'age' 6 years to our 1 because of the stress effect on the telemers. This is scary medical aging, not cosmetic 'crows feet' aging. The thrust of the show was more about how hierarchy affects stress eg apparently the boss suffers least cardiac problems caused by stress and the lowest person in the ladder the most, and the same goes for groups of baboons. But my take home message was this: next time DH comes home to find no dinner cooked, a dirty house and Ivy and me plonked in front of the TV eating McDonalds, I will say: 'I'm protecting my telemers!'.
melaniejasmin
BG - yes stress is a killer..! Mcdonalds more often original.gif

Tweedy - great montage! I love your DH's hair 16 years ago wink.gif

Ali - yes, give panadol, you dont have to worry so much then, and Oliver wont be in as much discomfort.

Excellent work on the mark Key! (I dont think I'm friends with you on FB... I'll look you up original.gif)

Lovely day here today. doing some washing and then walking to 'work' (not much there to do). will also try and get another bit of essay done... sad.gif
key4
Tweedy that is so nice in the baby photos Tilly and Steph are so like.
~Elliesmum~
Tweedy- great clip you put together biggrin.gif well done she is a gorgeous girl, I'm sure she'll like it too.

Beagle- yep come join me lol, plenty of room for everyone out here original.gif can't wait to see what you will do!

Key- great work on the mark and the pay rise! Bummer on the preg test, are you trying though?

seepi - great idea, might look into something soon. Maybe some of those swing tags if they are able to be bought, or something similar. Still working on a logo atm, theres so much work and thinking to do behind it all lol. Need to get logo and business cards done ASAP I think.

Hayfever is going crazy this morning, might go take something and get off the puter and start the day lol. Heaps of dyeing to do today so need to get the house sorted first!

catch you later guys

littlemumma
Morning

Just a quick one...Dr called this morning and I don't have Glandular Fever eexcite.gif must have just been a very bad case of tonsilitis, so just need to keep taking the antibiotics and get second course made up. I am so relieved. Anyway, back to rest as still no energy.

Hope everyone has a good day.
alimumof3
beagle yep i gave panadol to both kids at 8.30 this morning, appt was at 9. i hadn't checcked EB this moring but your experience made me do it!
How is DH going? is your mum still there?
Yep no rush for the parcel, still couple months to go.

littlemum yipeeeeee! glad its "only" tonsilitis. I used to get it every couple of wks til i had them out at 23. i used to feel absolutely rotten.

key bad luck on the bfn, hopefully next month. but great work on the payrise and the excellent mark! smart cookie you!

ellies i hate hayfever. so annoying.

So the vaccs were a bit of a flop this morning. DD cried her little eyes out, oliver screamed down the place even when just being measured..
my inj didnt hurt at all! so now to go back in a month for the other half of the swine part. b hell..
Bel Rowley
Hi everyone. Had mothers group here this morning so very busy cleaning the house and baking orange & date scones - which were so delicious! Told the girls about my m/c, this is horrible to say but fortunately my good friend who is due Nov 7th didn't come today so I didn't have to face her yet ssorry.gif .

Melanie - haven't had any problems with the boobs, I don't think Claudia was drinking much from them, they haven't felt full or sore at all. I hope that essay is nearly finished!

Elliesmum - I think it's fantastic all the work you're putting into your business and I'm sure it will pay off in the long run.

Seepi - MILs certainly are strange creatures. I hope the pick up goes well today, will be nice if she can continue it when you have #3.

Bellygood - I have been half cosleeping the last few nights too ninja.gif . We got a phone call this morning at 5:30 which woke all 3 of us up and we couldn't get back to sleep, not happy! I can't believe you've had Ivy's hair cut, I won't let scissors near Claudia's for a long time yet laughing2.gif. Mum has told me that a trim will help it grow better but I'm not sure.

Ali - I think shots are no fun whenever you have them, poor kidlets sad.gif. I have that inbuilt mummy alarm too, I can't stay away if I hear C crying.

Key - as I said on FB congrats on your result, it's brilliant and you deserve it original.gif.

Tweedy - your video made me cry1.gif . Absolutely beautiful. I can't get over how much you when you had Steph looked like she and Ash do now. Also had a little laughing2.gif at your DH's early '90s haircut wink.gif.

Beagle
- I think what you said about waiting a month after D&C is what I've heard from most people, there's no reason health wise why you need to wait. How has DH been doing this week?

Littlemum - WOOT for no GF!!!
alimumof3
blondie dont feel bad for saying you were glad that woman from MG who is due early nov wasn't there. you can't help how you feel.
my house is a bomb site. i need to have things here more so i;m forced to clean up!

Kids flu shots were $40 (combined). geez. they should make it free for everyone. not just the swine one.

today was day two of operation getting oliver to one sleep. yesterday was easy cos we were at MG at the park in the morning for a couple of hrs. today was harder. at 1030 he was acting tired so thought i'd give in to him (thought injection might have made him tired) but he started to fuss when i laid him on sleeping bag so kept him up. he spent a lot of the time with his head on my chest, but we got to 1245 so that is pretty good! DD's gone to bed too. one good thing with only one sleep is that he's ready for bed by 6.30pm!

oh, olivers stats were:
weight 12.6kg (with shoes)
and height was about 86cm i think.
Bel Rowley
Gosh he's tall Ali! Well done with the one sleep.

I've had a double whammy with sleep today. After this morning's 5:30 phone call, we had another wrong number 40 minutes after I put Claudia down for her sleep this afternoon!! Of course it woke her up. I've taken her to play with FIL for a few hours, been for a swim and will now try to do a bit of work (or relax wink.gif).
laraq75
Littlemum - glad to hear that you don't have GF. It can be hard work to get over it.

Ali - Wow, Oliver is really tall. Well done on getting all the immunisations done. Angus is booked in next week for his. I thought Oliver had already moved to one sleep. You have been lucky keeping two for this long. Does DD still sleep?

Blondie - I don't think you should feel bad about the other girls at MG. I know I found it really hard after mine to face anybody who was pregnant.

Ellesmum - well done with going ahead with your business. Very exciting times ahead for you.

Tweedy - great photos on FB.

Nothing much to report here. Angus is walking everywhere now and he gets into everything. He is a new little boy and we even managed to get through last weekend with a cold and no antibiotics. It was quite amazing.

ellangel
I am here...just busy and flat out trying to get party things organised for tomorrow with 2 kids under my feet.

Dh leaves Sunday evening Beagle. Trying not to think about it. wwhistle.gif Last time was just 3 weeks to get through. This time its a regular thing.
alimumof3
lara i tried to drop him down to 1 a little while ago but it didnt work.
yep, DD still sleeps, well i put her down each day, sometimes she sleeps, sometimes not, but she is happy in there for a couple of hrs.

blondie who on earth rang you at 5.30??? i'd be ropeable.

hmm you've got me thinking tha tmaybe 86cm is wrong. let me go check...

actually the form says 87cm. i assume his head was whack bang against the end. but either way would only be a cm out or so.
DD was 84.5 at 18mths.
how tall is eveyohne else?

actually i think it makes him about the 80th percentile
Bel Rowley
Claudia is 81cm. People often think she is tall, but I think that's because she's so skinny she looks taller.

No idea who it was who called this morning, DH answered the phone and his response to the other guy was "Wrong number you *very naughty word*" laughing2.gif.

Lara great news about Angus! You must be really having fun with him now.

I have finished and submitted my first assignment! ddance.gif
bellygood
Blondie I don't hesitate to take the phone off the hook totally at nap time. 5.30am - you have got to be kidding! Awful.
alimumof3
i think i might re-measure him at home tonight.
he def is tall, like people always comment. hmm.
speaking of our bubs we should put photos up of them, recent ones. i will go a-hunting..
laraq75
Ali - I just measured Angus. He is only 78cm. So would be tiny compared to Oliver. It puts Angus in the 10th percentile which is an improvement from not being on the chart. I have no idea how much be weighs.

Sharon - I remember DD's birthday last year. There was so much preparation. I feel your stress already.

Sarina - how did you go with your Gymbo order last night? My friends and I only had a small order and I actually borrowed somebody elses gymbucks because they didn't want them
Bel Rowley
Belly I do often unplug the phone but don't always remember. The 5:30 call was just ridiculous, who is calling anyone at that hour? And if you are calling someone you know will be up, what's wrong with their mobile?
alimumof3
oliver is still in size 1 for pants and stuff.

here's some pics from that park we went to the other weekend:

Bel Rowley
Gosh they look alike in that second pic Ali!

Most of you have probably seen all my recent photos on FB, but here is the Easter album for anyone who is interested.

Oh my gosh I think I'm going to cry... a big bouquet of flowers just arrived from my mum and dad wub.gif .
laraq75
Blondie - that is so sweet of your mum and dad.

Ali - Angus hasn't even started on size 1 pants yet, we are still in size .
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.