01/04/2010, 08:59 AM
themelster
01/04/2010, 10:14 AM
Gold.
If it's not one thing it's another here. I think we have gastro - well tom anyway. Can't keep anything down. Up all night vomiting. Joy.
bec8112
01/04/2010, 12:08 PM
Silver!
Ah Mel that is terrible! We have done the gastro thing and it is not fun at all! Ethan was good and had a few sips of electrolyte stuff when he had it which was all he could keep down.
AFM - well Ethan had his needle this morning, was so brave and only cried for a second. Nurse offered him a lollypop but he did not want it

. In regards to the lack of words from Ethan the GP said not too worry too much and come back when he is 2. She said he was saying a few things and when I was there he mimicked one word I was saying. She also said that family history was a big part of it and when I told her Dave did not talk until after 2 she said he might just be a shy little boy who is taking after his father. I also went and chatted with daycare and his teacher said Ethan babbles to them at nappy change time but was shy when it was all the kids around ( which I knew ). Daycare also said there were 2 other boys in his room of the same age as Ethan and they were not talking either.
GP said we will get a referral for speechie/paed at 2 if things have not improved. I brought up autism again and she said she highly doubted there was any signs of that, she said he just is probably shy, reserved and an observer.
In the mean time we are going to really try and encourage the simple words so need to do some research on what to do to try and help him. I think that we need to read to him more but he does not sit still for long enough and he just wants to turn the pages and then get off and play! Anyone have any tips?
Forgot to add : Ethan is 12kg and 85cms tall!
themelster
01/04/2010, 12:16 PM
That's great Bec! It must put your mind at ease a lot. I too questioned the daycare ladies - they must get that often!
I dread to think how heavy Tom is now - I'm sure he has lost weight during this sicknes. :-(
bec8112
01/04/2010, 12:26 PM
Mel - when is your appointment? I am kind of at ease but still a tiny bit worried! Yeah Tom will be heaps lighter than ethan I think. Ethan is just an eating machine and does not stop wanting food!
themelster
01/04/2010, 01:45 PM
I wish Tom was an eating machine! Although he did eat some broc on it's own last night!!!! I nearly fell off my chair!! He has also started the "I only want to feed myself" phase. But won't use his hands - wants to eat everything with a fork.
My appointment is Wednesday. Very nervous!!
Alis Volat Propiis
01/04/2010, 01:49 PM
Mel - no good about the gastro... I hope Tom picks up again soon and it is just a 24 hour bug.
Bec - sounds like Ethan did well with his needle. Nadia and I had our swine flu/seasonal flu today and she barely flinched, just looked at her arm afterwards shaking her head and saying no no no. My arm however is sore, I am such a baby.
Ok, off to do some packing, housework etc. I picked up an extra shift tomorrow and we are going away camping this weekend.
Have a happy easter everyone.
Sharna
themelster
01/04/2010, 01:50 PM
Oh Bec, I meant to tell you that Tom has stopped saying "dat". I don't know where it's gone - it just went. Now he points to things and says "ga ba Dee". No idea what that means. I thought he was saying garbage bin, but he says it to everything. Strange child.
Hi sharna! I see you posting there.
bec8112
01/04/2010, 02:02 PM
Mel- I have posted a thread about speech in the 12-24 month and disablility section, some good posts in there already! Keep me updated with toms appointment details, I might get some advice from your advice! It sounds like garbage bin when you say it, maybe his love of bins is getting stronger! Ha ha ha.
Sharna - yeah I am a wuss when it comes to needles! Enjoy your camping!
meeskamouska
01/04/2010, 04:27 PM
Just a quick one from me.
Busy week ahead so I might not get in much.
My sister & her family are coming for the school holidays.
so......................... just wanted to wish all my EB Oct mummies a big happy easter.
Alis Volat Propiis
02/04/2010, 06:25 AM
Mel - Nadia for ages was saying ah ba da... we couldnt figure it out and then she started combining it with covering her eyes andrealised it was meant to be peek-a-boo. Good luck figuring it out!
Gastro - well, not so much gastro as just plain vomiting. Nadia spewed twice last night... milk and yoghurt, ewww... and had a temp. I dont think it is vax related as i did a bit of research and vomiting isnt a common reaction. She took a little bottle at 11pm, and just now woke again so i gave her some more. Fingers crossed it is out of her system now. I had only just got out of the shower with her and both of us dressed in new pjs when she went for the second round. Our house now smells of dettol and indoor drying clothes.
Off to work, thinking of the money.
Sharna
themelster
02/04/2010, 06:44 AM
Sharna, Tom was exactly the same but 3 spews. Seems to be out of his system now.
Happy Easter everyone!!
~Annika~
02/04/2010, 02:35 PM
Bec Just wanted to tell you about the reading for your toddler thing; the experts say that even if your toddler just keeps getting up and walks away tp play that you should still keep reading out loud so they can still hear you and will get used to the sound of you reading to them. Before you know it he will start coming back to you as you're reading out of interest. The other reason this is a good technique is that he will get exposed to heaps more words during the day and it will all sink into his rapidly developing brain (this stage of life the brain grows at the fastest rate than at any other stage later so the more they get to hear things the more their brain will absorb). Keep it up, it will pay off!! Great that you got your mind put at ease more by your dr too. I totally agree with your dr too! You're doing a great job as a mother, Bec!
Hi to everyone, will come back and do the rest of my reply later.
bec8112
02/04/2010, 07:12 PM
Thanks Annika! Great to hear your suggestions, yeah I keep reading to Ethan when he gets off my lap!
Happy Easter long weekend to all!
We took Ethan to the beach this morning, he was much better on the sand this time. He thought it was so much fun watching the dog swimming!
Sharna and mel - how are the little ones?
Hi to everyone else!
bec8112
04/04/2010, 04:45 PM
Happy Easter Sunday to everyone!
We are off to see Alice in Wonderland Gold Class tonight which will be nice and relaxing!
themelster
04/04/2010, 05:42 PM
Enjoy Bec!!! You'll have to let me know what it's like.
Not much to report here. Mark and I both came down with the gastro that Tom had - so a pretty blah Easter!!
bec8112
04/04/2010, 09:48 PM
Mel - I enjoyed the movie but Dave thought it was only ok! Gold class was good, our first time. I got the tix free from work which was nice. I cannot believe people pay $40 each to see a movie! There was a family there ( 2 parents and 2 kids ) so would have been $160 + food and drink for them
Hope you and Mark and Tom are all feeling better!
~Annika~
05/04/2010, 12:29 AM
Mel Sorry to hear that you and Mark both got the bug as well

That really would be a pretty blah Easter for you all! Hope things start to look brighter for you!
Bec Wow, yes, I agree that is a lot of money to spend each on a movie hey! I'm glad you had a good time and loved the movie, but I must say that movie didn't at all take my interest. Each to their own though hey. You're doing the right thing then already in regards to persisting with reading to Ethan. I just got these few tips from one of the many Delivering a Healthy WA brochures; 'Reading with Babies.' Try to make your voice as interesting as possible; loud and soft, happy and sad, whist looking back and forth from the book to him, pointing and talking about the pictures that he is looking at, not needing to read word for word but even just making up stories about the pictures if it gets his interest more. All the best Bec!
Us We have had a lovely relaxing weekend together with DH having NO work responsibilities for once!!! He took Tyler fishing last night then camping in a tent after. Tyler said he had such a great time! I have talked to DH about spending more one on one time with Tyler these days as he is at that age now where he will be needing his dad's influence more than his mum's. For those of you (with boys) who haven't already, please read the book "Raising Boys" it's a must!!!!
Bryce and I stayed home yesterday which was lovely and quiet. I decided to take him out with me to go for our first walk alone (without the pram), and as soon as he walked out the front door he stopped and looked up into the tree branches and leaves being blown around loudly and he pointed with a smile and said "Windy!" Well, I nearly dropped on the spot!!! Last week while at playgroup he exclaimed in his own way about the wind as he was feeling it blowing on his face and in the trees, so I talked to him about it then, never imagining he would remember the correct word for it after only telling him once. Tyler was never this fast with learning to say words, I used to think that he was a bit behind all the other the kids at playgroup etc, but he was a lot more reserved that Bryce is, and now there is absolutely NOTHING wrong with Tyler's vocab, in fact he blows me away constantly with the things he comes out with!!! I guess my point is that you can never really tell from this young age what your kid will be like as they all do things in their own time. I am not thinking that Bryce will be smarter than Tyler just because he is talking heaps more now than Tyler did at the same age.
bec8112
05/04/2010, 09:34 PM
Hi all!
Annika - wow bryce sounds like he has amazing speech! I cannot wait to hear things like that from Ethan. I think it is amazing the difference between siblings, cannot wait to meet our next bub and see what she is like. I might have to get the Raising Boys book!
Mands - how was Wills birthday? I bet he had a great time!
Mel - how are you and Mark and Tom feeling?
AFM - I am all good, feeling so fat at the moment though! I have to stop the choc/sweet eating or I am going to turn into the size of a whale! Got a hospital visit on Thurs aswell as the GD test, can anyone remember if I have to fast for it or can I eat breaky? Appointment is at 9.30 so will go in before for the GD drink and then go back for the blood test.
Got a baby shower on Sat for the lady I work with!
Opinions - is it ok or not to have a baby shower for your second child? I have been asked by a few people but I have not planned anything! Or is there a nice way to say no gifts, but donations towards MCN would be great!
~Annika~
06/04/2010, 12:16 AM
Bec I am pretty certain that with my GD test they wanted me to eat like normal, in fact I remember when I was pg with Tyler (going back over 4 years now) I thought I had to fast for that test, and went in on an empty stomach only to have them tell me to go somewhere in town and get some breaky into me and then come back to have the drink. So I waddled down to a cafe and ate a yummy omlet on toast and had a delish choc milkshake, but I felt so ill after as I wasn't really able to eat much breaky at all with my HG (morning/all day sickness) so when I got back to the path centre, had my drink and sat there waiting for the specified amount of time before the test I had to quickly ask for a sick bag and within a few moments of getting it ALL my breaky and glucose drink came back up!

Yucko!!!! Just as well they actually HAD sick bags there! The ladies were so sympathetic and caring. That memory has really stuck in my mind ever since. They still did the test after though as the food and drink did have enough time adjust my blood glusose levels to show up in my blood test.
As for the second baby shower idea, I think it's lovely, but didn't end up doing it myself, my first one was a total surprise!!! The contributions towards MCNs is a great idea and doubt it would make your friends offended in fact relieved to have something to give to you that they KNOW you would rather want and need. Go for it!!
Small Potatoes
06/04/2010, 07:42 AM
Ooh I keep missing the beginning of threads
Won't stay long as I have the flu and feel rotten. FIL had it and took Will for two days. A couple of days later Will came down with a vicious cough and then Olly had that plus a runny nose and now I feel yuck. Mine is all heady though blocked nose, headache and aching skin. Will had a great b'day. Will try and upload pics into FB.
BBL for personals - hopefully
~Annika~
06/04/2010, 04:46 PM
Mands Sorry to hear that you are sick too. It seems all of us in here have had one thing or another lately! Wishing you a speedy recovery! That's great Will's B-day went well, looking forward to seeing pics!
Heya
Bec I saw you down there too. Hope your day is going good for you!

Hi to all you other lovely girls and toddles and babies in the making! Hoping your Easter was good (those of us who weren't

sick in some way). It's been a bit quiet in here lately, c'mon girls! Missing ya, says I who goes missing in action for weeks at a time in between, lol!!
DylMah
06/04/2010, 11:44 PM
Hi girls, hope everyone had good Easter.
We're still plodding along here, doing the same old same old,just seem to be so short on time lately. DH hasn't been to sea for a month now, which is nice, but I am looking forward to him going back s I can get some sleep. Mahalia ALWAYS sleeps better at night when DH isn't home, and I am always up to her a few of times a night. Last Thursday, DH was on duty, so had to sleep at work. I put Mahalia down at 7pm, settled her once at 2.30am, and then didn't hear from her until 8am. Go figure. As much as I am looking forward to the extra sleep when DH goes back to sea in a week or so, I do like having him home.
It sounds like most of us have been sick recently. I hope everyone is feeling better soon, and that all the nasty bugs are on their way out the door. We've had a nasty cold virus here, and I still have a constant headache and sore throat almost 2 weeks later. I'm sure I'll get over it in time for the next bug, lol.
BBS.
bec8112
07/04/2010, 06:23 PM
Mel - how did the appointment go????
I will BBL, just getting Ethan to bed
themelster
07/04/2010, 06:24 PM
Hi Ladies!
Mands - I hope you are feeling better - the cold & flu's and stomach bugs going around at the moment are horrendous. I was the sickest I have been in years and I'm still a bit cloudy in the head... How are things going with the house? Have you had many interested parties in yours? Have you managed to get your plans approved through council? We're due for another meet up some time soon when you feel up to it!
Bec - I never had to fast for mine. In fact I can remember howing down a snickers bar on my walk to the hospital to get the test. I remember thinking hmmm, should I be eating a bar of choccy right before my GD test! I think you have to drink the drink and then come back in an hour though???? I may be wrong.
Dylmah - I hope you get some sleep soon! I am still up to Tom quite often (more often then not of late for some reason!) and still having early mornings. Not as early as in the past though. Weird how Mahlia sleeps better when your DH is away. I wonder why that is?
Annika - yes, I have been so slack about getting in and writing. It is because I often check in on my iphone and I hate typing long messages on there. I need to make an effort to get more time on the actual computer. I'm glad you had a lovely family Easter and your DH got time off work so you could all enjoy quality time together. How are you feeling in general? Have you been getting some "you" time in?
AFU - well, we had Tom's big appointment with the Developmental Pead....... and........She thinks he is just fine!!!! She said "I see lots of Autistic kids every week and he isn't one of them" (her words). She took an hour interacting with him, playing games. Asking him to point out things, give things to us. She was looking for joint attention mostly. She also got him to play some pretend games. She got out a dolly and got him to give her a drink and made a cake out of plasticine and got him to feed her some. I didn't think he would do that, but he did. She also got a plastic frog and "hopped" it with her hand and then handed it to Tom wanting him to "imitate" her, which he did. She was also looking for receptive language skills (comprehension) so she asked him to do things like "pick the ball up and put it on the table" etc. She said his receptive language skills were superior to his expressive language skills (would't be hard!) and that that is the most important thing at this age. She said because his comprehension was good, that the language will come (fingers crossed!)/
Anyhow, it has put my mind at ease a bit. I will still worry but hopefully won't obsess about it as much as I have been.
Bath time now. Chat soon.
bec8112
07/04/2010, 06:59 PM
Mel - that is great news! I will come back soon and reply better but I have to pop up to the supermarket!
Small Potatoes
08/04/2010, 05:54 AM
Mel That is soooo good to hear about Tom. I hope you can stop stressing more now (a parent never stops entirely). Would love to catch-up what days suit you and Bec the best?
Georgia Will was similar with going to bed. We wouldn't go to bed and when he did he would stand at the door crying so I would go in and lie with him and then when DH went away he would go to bed with only two stories being read to him.
Bec Unless you are doing the super long GD you don't need to fast (or have you had that appt). Have a second shower. I have a friend that has had a shower for both her babies and one that didn't have a shower until her 3rd. Just put on the invite or get your Mum or a good friend to host send out the invites on your behalf and let them tell people. I have had a few people put a gift registry on their invitations.
AFM: Still have this bloody cold and a now a sty (?sp) in my right eye. DH goes away tomorrow to Frankfurt which is good for the dollars, but he only saw Will for two days as Will went to Kilkivan with ILs. I have to do a 4 1/2 drive up there on Friday as we were meant to be going for the weekend (which O and I still are) and have to drive all the way back with both the boys
. Both businesses are doing well esp the cards one. Gotta go and make coffee.
themelster
08/04/2010, 09:55 AM
Awe mands, you poor thing It is awful being sick. I don't know if it is an old wives tale but I've heard rubbing a gold ring on a sry helps get rid of it.
How did your GD test go Bec??
I'm on my way over to tangalooma for the day today. They are one of my accounts and we are having our state conference over there next week so I have to go make the place look good before management get there! Lovely day for it!
bec8112
08/04/2010, 09:59 AM
Just a quick one, at hospital waiting for my blood test. Been told we are having a BIG baby! Was measuring on the 89th percentile! Oh no! Hopefully the diabeties test comes back normal!
~Annika~
08/04/2010, 11:32 AM
Heya ladies! Just wanted to let you know that we have booked our flights to come across to Brisbaine in the end of July to middle of August, so would love to catch up with you girls that live that way!!! I'll let you know dates etc so we can arrange a meet. We will be hiring a car while over there. I'm so excited!!!!
Mel I am soooo happy for you that the Pead was so possitive about Tom's comprehension skills, and that he is def not one of her Autistic patients. Now you can relax about your concerns a lot more! It is such a shame you had suffer so much with being so sick Mel, it's great that you are feeling better now and hope the cloudy head clears up for you in no time. As for 'me' time, well, I haven't been getting enough of that lately at all, and it probably shows through in my posts. Thanks for asking though, and I will be making more effort to achieve that. In fact, I had the opportunity to go for a horse ride the other day, and I was sooo close to joining my ex-neighbour and her friends, but that day I was neck high in sewing winter clothes for Tyler and I really didn't want to lose the momentum, so when she offered to go for another ride on the weekend with me I immediately took her up on the offer! So now I have that to look forward to!!
Bec A BIG baby hey!!! I hope your test come up clear for you! I bet you are excited about meeting your little baby girl when she arrives. Haven't asked you this but are you planning for a vag birth or C-sec? (did you have a C-sec with Ethan? Can't remember). I was sooo grateful that Bryce was a little smaller than Tyler at birth so it made my VBAC a bit easier for me to achieve. They told me the day before I delivered him that Bryce was 4.1kg (I had an ultrasound to messure amniotic fluid levels) and he turned out to be only 3.52kg even though they said that the estimated weight could be give or take 10% either way. Well, they got that totally wrong as it would have meant he would be 4kg at the lightest with their estimate weight. Hopefully your baby will turn out to be on the lighter end of the estimated weight!!!
Georgia Glad to see you again! Thanks for your update on everything on the homefront! Still wondering about Dylan's apponitment with the speciallists regarding his speech etc, any news on that or hasn't it happened yet? That's funny about Mahalia's sleep when it's only you at home with the kids. Take care and hope to see you more often in here!
Natty Where are you??????
Sharna Hope all is going well for you at home and work and that Nadia is feeling better now!
Mands You poor thing, hope you will start to feel better real soon, and that your eye will clear up too! Glad your businesses are doing going well for you, good on you, Mands! Amen to the coffee!! Putting the Kettle on right now.
bec8112
08/04/2010, 11:37 AM
Annika - yeah I had a c-section with Ethan because he was breech! I am waiting to see if this baby turns by 35-36weeks and go from there. If bub is breech then will have another c-section but if the right way I will try and VBAC I think. Oh a catch up would be great, I will have 2 kiddies by then!
Sorry no more time, got stuff to do :-(
Small Potatoes
08/04/2010, 11:46 AM
Annika yay I can't wait to meet you will meet you in RL already feel I know you well.
Bec I had a scan done at 37 weeks that said Olly was 3.7kgs and two weeks later he would be around the 4.1kg mark also and he came out on time at 3.6kgs so they were well and truly off too.
bec8112
08/04/2010, 12:47 PM
Thanks mands. Makes me feel better knowing they get it wrong sometimes! I think I am going to stop eating so much sweet food, probably won't make any difference but might make me feel like I am doing something
meeskamouska
08/04/2010, 08:02 PM
Having terrible trouble getting noto EB. The pages are taking a really long time to load & then won't open. Its been happening to me for days now.
So, sorry I've been MIA...its not my fault.
Want to catch up on reading but it won't let me...stupid EB or maybe stupid computer...not sure.
Hope everyones easter was good.
Off to try again. I want to see how Mel got on.
meeskamouska
08/04/2010, 08:22 PM
Managed to read page 2...yay cause it had your post on it Mel.
Annika - I'm here. Computer issues. Didu get your horse ride in or is that this weekend?? How exciting ...a visit to Brissy. It would be brilliant to meet you ITR...I can't wait!!!
Mel -I'm so happy that Toms app went well. Hopefully it will rest your mind a bit. I do agree though... we all do worry about our kids being normal. Has your gastr thing cleared. We too had a horrid gastric bug here. I can get Bella to spew into a bucket but CR was walking around the housejust chucking up anywhere & everywhere. Ended up taking her outside for most of the day so I could just hose the vomit away. Disgusting!!
Hi Bec & Mands. Hope all is well with you both. Dylmah...its good to see you posting. I know whats it feels like to be short of time. My DH works away & it just puts that axtrabit of pressure on things.
When does Ceres come home????
Easter was good here. I really enjoyed my family coming to visit. Everyone left today. Feeling a bit low after such a fantastic week. I really miss & love my sister ALOT. Its also nice to have some support when it comes to my crazy mother....lol.
Josh came up for the holidays as well. Not sure if I told you he's living down with his Dad in Sydney ATM to finish his schooling off in a better quality school. Was difficult to say good bye today to him. I burst into tears. Was trying so hard to be the strong mummy... but lost it. Bella has been crying all afternoon on & off saying she misses her brother. Tough day. Was a bit unloving on the phone to DH tonight. I think in some ways I blame him for Josh not being here. If we didn't live in the god forsaken town Josh wouldn't have to b in Sydney. Its not his fault really but he just doesn't understand how restrictive this town is. Anyway...whine over.
Looking forward to a good sleep tonight. I love my bed soooooooooooo much....hehehehehe
bec8112
08/04/2010, 08:42 PM
nat - the photos on FB are so cute, your girls are gorgeous!
~Annika~
09/04/2010, 12:30 PM
Natty So glad to see you again! Sorry to hear that your computer/internet has been giving you so much trouble. I hated it when we were on dial-up for that reason, everything took waaaay too long to load up, argh! My world just opened right up when we finally got the wireless broadband antenna installed (due to our remote location). That would have been really lovely having your family staying!! How sad that Josh has to live so far away from you so he can got to a better school! I don't blame you for crying when he left! I reckon I would feel the same way towards my DH if us living so far away would mean that my son would have to be miles away in order to go to a good school. Really hope for your sake that you will be able to move from your remote spot to where you want to live. Hang in there Natty!!
Bec I'll keep my fingers crossed for you to be able to have a VBAC. It is a fantastic experience, and so empowering!!! Can't wait to see your girl and of course Ethan when we catch up!!
Mands Can't wait to meet you too, I feel like I really know you as well! I am soooo excited about the whole holiday!!
Us Well, things are going heaps better here with DH making a REAL effort to come home by 5:30pm everyday (instead of 6:30pm, sometimes 7pm)! His manager here at camp is supportive of this positive change too and encourages him to stop working so he can make it home on time. I feel as though DH really wants to make sure that I have the support that I need in order to get everything back on track on the home front and emotionally! The boys are both well now and so is DH and I, so life a bit easier for us. I am going to get the application forms for booking Bryce into the Occasional Daycare for Tuesdays, when Tyler also goes to Kindy. I just NEED that one day a week where I can be by myself and get onto things I want/need to without having any mothering responsibilities for some hours, for my sanity! I'm looking forward to that!!
meeskamouska
09/04/2010, 12:56 PM
Over hauled/cleaned up my computer & I'm straight on today...love it!!
Annika - Great idea with the occ care for Bryce. Wish I was brave enough. I'm far too protective over my children. I need to relax a bit. Nice one from DH making an effort..mine hasn't been too shabby of late either.
Trying to not do too much here today so I don't feel blah like yesterday.
Put my pics of the girls up on FB & am blown away by how many lovely lovely comments everyone has posted. I was very happy with them. They came thru relatively quickly although they did make a mistake with what photos they put on my disc. There was only supposed to be the unedited images, which I didn't mind as I like to edit, but they only put the edited images on there. Anyway, rang & they r sending the other images. Shouldb here Mon/Tues.
Going for a quick lay down whilst CR is sleeping.
bec8112
09/04/2010, 02:02 PM
Nat - that is great that they are sending you the other disc of photos aswell.
Annika - that is great your DH is making an effort and getting home at a good hour. Sounds like a good idea getting Bryce into the daycare for that one day a week. I am going to try and continue to put Ethan into Daycare on Mondays when bub is born so I can have some 'spare' time without having him there all the time.
AFM - I had a catch-up with my old mothers group today ( we have not seen each other for about 4 months ) and it was great to see everyone and see all the kids together. They are all so grown up heaps! Ethan is the tallest out of them all and makes him look older

. There are some of them that are not saying much either but one little girl is amazing and copies so many words! Little chatterbox!
Ethan must have been worn out because he went to bed as soon as we got home at 11.30am and is still asleep now at 2.00pm! I even managed a nap on the couch while the nappies were in the wash!
themelster
09/04/2010, 07:34 PM
Nat - it must have been very hard saying bye bye to Josh - how old is he again? What grade in school? Are you guys still looking at moving to Toowoomba? Are you where you are for your hubby's work? Thank you for asking about how Tom's appt went - yes, it was very much a relief. I think I will still worry, but perhaps not so much. I just wish he would start talking. He isn't stupid though, he understands so much. Daycare even commented today on how much he understands. That gastro bug was pretty nasty wasn't it! Did you come down with it also? I was sick for about 36 hours. I felt like total sh*t! Tom's No:2's still aren't back to normal!

TMI there!
Annika - Great that hubby is making a real effort to come home early. I am so very luck that Mark is home alot. I think I take it for granted sometimes. I whinge when he is on night shift because I have to do the dinner/bath/bed routine myself. But I know there are some mumma's that have to do that themselves most nights! Oh, I meant to say last post - Yay to Bryce for using his words! I can't wait to hear Tom's! What a clever little man. Windy!
Bec - try not to worry too much about what size they say the bubba is. I have heard it is a very difficult thing to predict and most of the time they are wrong. I have heard of lots of instances where they were wrong. My girlfriend who has Molly who is 3 weeks older than Tom had a c-sect because they told her bubba was big. She came out 3.2kgs...... She was 2 weeks early (38 weeks), but still...
I just have to do a little brag here..... It probably isn't much but I was so impressed! Tom was having some nudey time this evening and I was in our bedroom putting our clothes away. I went back into the loungeroom and Tom was pulling the wipes packet off of his change table. I told him to leave them but he kept at it and pointing to his willy so I thought I'd leave him go and work out what he was trying to tell me. Well, he pulled a handful of wipes out and went into the loungeroom and started wiping the floor with them. I went over to investigate and he had done a wee and was trying to clean it up! I nearly fell over! He must have watched us the MILLION times we've cleaned his wee's up from nudey time! LOL!
bec8112
09/04/2010, 07:55 PM
Mel - that is so cute of Tom! We try and put Ethan on the potty at night after his shower/bath but he still manages to pee on the floor most nights! Thank god we are replacing the carpet in his bedroom soon!
Thanks for the info on bubs weight, I am trying not to think about it and whatever happens happens in my eyes. Nothing I can do to change it!
Ethan has learnt how to put keys in keyholes and is obsessed with doing it, he does it on DP's car and is so proud of himself!
themelster
09/04/2010, 08:01 PM
Why are they so obsessed with putting things in things. Tom's the same - keys into licks, lipgloss into the case, etc.
bec8112
09/04/2010, 08:20 PM
Yeah we have strange boys Mel! Ha ha ha!
Have the wipes turned up yet? I got 2 wild child in mail today, they are drying but cannot wait to try them!
themelster
10/04/2010, 05:41 AM
Hi, yes the wipes turned up yesterday! I meant to tell you. Do you want to meet up to get them or wait until the auriels turn up too?
bec8112
10/04/2010, 07:22 AM
Mel - when are the Auriels meant to arrive? I think I might wait as I have a baby shower on today and then think we are heading to Noosa for a BBQ on Sunday arvo so might be too hard to fit it in.
meeskamouska
10/04/2010, 08:22 AM
Clever Tom!!
Not much to report here. DH is home today from 2 weeks away. Looking forward to seeing him.
Kids are all still sleeping. Its nearly 8:30. They must of needed a sleep in.
Enjoy your weekend girls.
bec8112
10/04/2010, 08:44 AM
Nat - they must all be tired, hope you got some 'me' time!
Ethan has taken to running his hands along everything when he is walking past! Ah its so annoying and isn't it a sign of autism????
themelster
10/04/2010, 11:26 AM
I don't think it is Bec. And I am the resident Autism expert....

LOL. I'm not sure exactly when the Auriels are meant to arrive. I'm not sure if they were ready to go or if she had to make them. Lets see if they arrive early next week. Oh, I meant to ask - did you get the Peechees? What do you think? I'm not sure I am loving the cloth wipes....... I just feel that I don't get him as "clean". Because they are dry. I think I'd end up spending as much money on the foamy stuff as I would on wipes. DH isn't a fan either. I'll perservere for a bit and see how I go. I'm picking up a Disana wool cover today though - so I'll probably buy a fitted to go underneath it for night time. I think I will make the move to cloth at night so I can ditch the sposies altogether. I just hope Tom doesn't wake feeling wet. Does Ethan get nappy rash at all from having a cloth nappy on for that long? Tom doesn't get any nappy rash and I'm worried this might cause some.
Nat, I wish Tom was still sleeping at 8.30am..... 4.50am morning for us here! Haven't had one of them for a while. Usually it is 5.30am. God, what I would do for a 7am'er!
bec8112
10/04/2010, 12:07 PM
Mel - I think that I read somewhere about the Auriels being ready by Monday coming and then post so maybe mid/end of the week??? In regards to the cloth wipes I have been wetting mine and then using one or two pumps of the foam, I think it works better that way. I just grab a wipe and wet then walk to the changetable, I have read of some people pre wetting and keeping in a huggies container.
Night MCN use - no we did not have an issue with nappy rash but Ethan has never had nappy rash. The cloth nappy in the morning weighs so much but his bum etc seem the same dryness/wetness as it is during the day ( if that makes any sense! ). Don't forget the BBH night one is here for you aswell.
Peechees are coming in the mail this week ( lady gave wrong bank account details so $ was returned to me ) and she was sending express on Fri so hopefully get it on Mon or Tues.
ASM - we took Ethan to the local play centre this morning for a quick play to wear him out as I have to take him to the baby shower and wanted him to have a big sleep! Well he is officially the most unco-ordinated 18month old I think!
themelster
10/04/2010, 12:17 PM
I think I'll try pre-wetting them and putting in a buggies container. That's a great idea!! They need to make a solution to wet them with to go into the container so they are just like normal wipes. Ethan's not unco - he's just cautious!