The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: October 08 Parents # 47

bec8112
Mel - super super super cautious! I see you on NA aswell! I have $$$ to spend this week and no nappies to buy! I sold 5 ittis so have a need for more nappies too! Where did you sell your humbug?
themelster
Didn't it end up with you? Or did I have two? I can't remember!!! I am only buying night nappies now. I need some fitted's to go under the wool cover. I'd love some auriel fitted's but don't like my chances!!!

Funny how different bubba's can be. Tom is kamakaze! He has no fear whatsoever. Scares the life out of me sometimes. We need a happy blend of the both of them!
~Annika~
Mel I think that was VERY clever of Tom, he certainly is no dummy, that's for sure!!! Thanks for sharing that with us too, I so love to hear things like that from you girls, keep it up! Thanks for your comments on Bryce too wink.gif I def don't do it to show up your toddlers or to boast about Bryce as such, but just really want to share my excitement over my little man. Oh, on Thursday night (latenight shopping here in WA) we left Tyler at my parents place on our way through to Bunbury so we only had Bryce with us. When we got out of the car at the shopping centre he looked up into thye sky and reached his up with his hand and said "Dark!" Another moment of amazed admiration for my my little Brycie boy!!

Bec I really admire your easy going attitude towards your next birth experience!!! I wish I was like that, but I was the biggest stress freak, and absolutely wanted that VBAC no matter what!! I fought for it the whole way through, before Bryce was concieved and even straight after Tyler's emerg C-sec, I was THAT determined to have a VBAC! All the odds were against me even with being 11 days over due, and during the labour it was looking very likely to end up being another c-sec as about 4 hours into the induction as I wasn't dialating and they like to see a steady progress in VBACs otherwise they get worried about the strain on the old c-sec scar. The specialists freaked out and told me to STAY on the bed as when I was moving around at the start the foetal heart beat wasn't being picked up on the monitor. Then they got out the greens for DH to put on and the specialists went to get ready and set up for the c-sec, I got up and sat on the comode next to the bed and I could FEEL Bryce's head grinding and moving down further into my pelvis. So by the time they came back and did another VA they told me that I was officially in labour - I had dialated heaps! I felt on top of the world!!!!!! NOTHING was going to stop me then, they even had to turn off the induction drips as I was fully contracting on my own at that stage. It was all so unreal to me and I had to keep asking everyone "Is this REALLY happening?" I still wish I had been a bit more relaxed about everything, but I can't help thinking that I may not have been able to experience what I did then without my stubborness, lol!!

Natty Good on your kids sleeping in so well for you. Hope you will have a nice time with your DH home and that there won't be any upsets between you! Have you read the book "Men are from Mars, Women are from Venus"? It makes SOOO much sence with how the male population thinks and how their brains opperate differently to the women. Anyway, have a lovely weekend too!!
themelster
Annika - I don't think your boasting at all! It's just lovely to have other mums to share our excitement with! Thank you so much for sharing that story about bryce's birth. It gave me goose bumps just thinking about how amazing it is!!!
Alis Volat Propiis
A bit of a miserable house here. Nadia has hand, foot and mouth... and i have the mouth ulcers too. I am in absolute agony and can only take panadol which is doing nothing. Nadia's ulcers are worse than mine so i have no idea how she is managing to be just about her usual self... apart from not eating anything. I can barely swallow my own spit. Oh well, isolation for both of us, no daycare this week and i need to negotiate with work.

Sorry for the me post, not much else to say really.

Sharna
themelster
Sharna - a few of the buns in my mothers group have had that and I've heard it's pretty nasty! I'm just waiting for Tom to pick it up at daycare....
bec8112
Sharna - that is terrible for you and Nadia, hope you both get better soon. I have never experienced it so have no idea what it would feel like!

Annika - thanks so much for sharing about Bryces birth, it was a great read. I cannot believe in less than 11 or so weeks I will have to go through whole birth thing again! It has come so fast. I think I am more worried about the BF than the birth, I am really hoping I can do it this time around but I have this feeling I will not be able to!

Mel - na you sold your humbug I think, you were going to give to me but sold I think. I am considering keeping mine as I have not got a huge stash now I have sold a few! I really need to buy some more for Ethan.

Mands - how are you? Still busy?

The baby shower today was good but did not get a chance to really relax and enjoy as I took Ethan ( as DP was finishing the plastering ), Ethan was up the stairs all the time and then of course could not get back down!

I am still so undecided about having my own baby shower, a friend offered to help me organise one but still not sure! Can anyone think of some good wording/poem type thing to say - no baby clothes as presents, the gift of money towards MCN would be great. Or give a few website suggestions???? May be hard with the 'hard to get' nappies.

bec8112
We picked up the new pram this morning! Kind of making it feel more real when we talk about the baby now!

Mel - we used a Wild Child Sz 2 nappy this morning and I liked it! Not too big but with heaps of room left, nice in the rise and alot trimmer than GF nappies. I might have to invest in some more!
themelster
No more new brands for me. If I buy anymore they'll be night nappies. Or fattycakes.
bec8112
Mel- yeah I want to try a fattycakes! Too hard to get though! I am probably going to get a few wild childs in sz1 for bub and maybe 1 more for Ethan. I got the wipes solution so will be able to give it to you at the swap meet we have :-)
themelster
Are they hard to get? I wonder if we could order them from clothish or ikis. I might look into it. Not that I need anymore. I think I have about 50 nappies....

I tried the wipes wet - MUCH better!! I put some water into a bowl with a few drops of lavender oil and dunked the wipes in there and stored them in an old huggies container. Worked a treat!!
bec8112
Mel - I have emailed CLOTHish and she is not doing any customs as she is trying to get good stock levels for when she open the store in a month or so. Yeah wet wipes are so much better!
Small Potatoes

Have been away for the weekend with the boys and no computer.

Sharna Hope you and Nadia are recovering well. We have luckily missed both outbreaks at our kindy.

Annika So jealous of your VBAC and so great to hear you were successful after many I was in teh VBAC group with weren't including me.

Mel & Bec All these nappies. Speaking of which I am now stocking BBH nappies ddance.gif I will put in my first order in the next day or two.

Bec You may have posted but what stroller did you get? And have you taken any belly pics?

I can only see the last 10 posts so that is all the personals today.

Still have this flu but my stye has gone. DH went again on Friday to Frankfurt and doesn't get back until Saturday, but we spent the weekend wiht the ILs so they helped with the boys. I have been very busy with both shops and just general day to day stuff and feeling pretty miserable. Went to the shops this morning but ran out of steam after about an hour. Boys are playing in Wills room and I will put them to be shortly and have a rest myself. Not much else happening. Still no news on the house front.
bec8112
Mands - we got the Phil and Teds Sport in Red. Got it brand new for $560 which I am happy with! I might have to get some BBH in girlie colours off you once bub arrives, can you get them cheaper? No good on the flu still hanging around. I have not taken any belly photos! Slack I know. I think I just look fat so not really motivated to do it. Bummer about no new on the house front.

Hi to everyone else!
themelster
Wow, it's been so quiet in here!

I'll be over at moreton island for the rest of the week for work now. I'll check in sporadically whilst I am there.

I'm pleased to report that Tom is finally back on his food - with gusto! He's certainly making up for lost time. He's learnt to say "more" and brings us his empty bowl and says more, more. Tonight he had a massive bowl of spag big, watermelon, yogurt and a whole banana! Then all of his milk. Little piggy - it's so nice to see him eating! He's also wanting to feed himself everything and eat everything with a fork.....

We have a couple of words now! More, no and car and sometimes baby. So we're getting there slowly.

Mands, I hope you are feeling better chick. your businesses sound like they are going so well!!! You must be pretty happy about that!

Hope everyone is well!
bec8112
Mel - that is great about Toms eating and his words! We are not getting anywhere with Ethan and his words, think he might be mute ohmy.gif
themelster
Why so quiet in here!????

I'm off for dolphin feeding! I hope they come in!

Hope everyone is well.
Small Potatoes
Emjoy the dolphins. I am strip washing all my nappies original.gif
bec8112
Mel - how was the dolphin feeding? I am jealous, I have always wanted to do that! Got the peechees in the mail today, I like them but not sure how they will fit Ethan.

Mands - Strip washing nappies sounds like so much fun, not biggrin.gif
themelster
Dolphin feeding was fun!!

Bec and mands - have you tried the rocking green for nappies? I really like it and will definately be buying some.

Bec - you know where to find a home for those peechees if they don't work for you!
bec8112
Mel - I saw a thread on NA about Rockin Green but had no idea what it was, I might have to go and research some more.
themelster
It is a laundry detergent specialy formulated for MCN's so you don't have to worry about build up.
Small Potatoes
Funny you should mention it as I sent a request off yesterday about it to the company in the US, so might be stocking it soon original.gif
bec8112
Mel - is it expensive? I will have to go and check it out when I get home from going to the shops!

I bought a Tigernaut set for Ethan and it is so well made but it is a little big yet so might save it for his birthday!
themelster
Mands - that would be brilliant as that way I could pick it up off of you and not worry about freight!

Bec - I can't remember how much it was but I remember it not being cheap - but not really expensive.
bec8112
Ethan is driving me insane today! Thank god he has gone to bed. I am just having one of those days I think. His constant grunting and no attempt at making sounds or words is doing my head in. I just want to hear something other than 'dat'.

Also he has learnt to squeal which he is doing alot because he thinks its funny!

I have no idea how I am going to cope with having 2 kids, I just feel like I am failing as a mother as he is not talking or making any attempt to talk!

Also things are sh*t at the moment with money and think we are going to struggle when I am off work, I am not looking forward to that. I hate not being able to buy things I want for Ethan and the baby.

Sorry for the 'me' post!
Small Potatoes
Bec hhugs.gif . Will went through a stage when he was over two just saying "mufwah" absolutely drove me freaking insane. I hear you on the finances too. We are struggling paying of this mortgage and the block of land, and DH is working extra trips to help pay for it. Which is why he went away again after only 3 days at home sad.gif
Fabulous
Good morning ladies,
Just lost my entire post. Only 3 days until we head back to AUS. Definitely ready to come back. We did universal studios yesterday and are returning for our free day today. The extra day is handy since most of the attractions aren't suitable for littlies so DH and I have to take turns on the bench whilst the other heads off with our 3 big kids.
Jack has setted in well to going from one hotel to another. He naps in the pram or ergo during the day and is sleeping until 9am in the mornings. For the first week after we arrived he was really unsettled. We are well stocked up on childrens levis now. At $10 each I couldn't resist. My local baby shop in Australia sells them for $60 a pair. Jack has now started walking well and of course we had to buy him some shoes. Nikes for $19 a pair, also around $60 in Aus. I'm not really into brand names myself but it's good to be able to buy some good shoes for a reasonable price. DH goes running most days and if he doesn't buy expensive joggers he gets pain in his feet.

Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.