The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: January 08 Parents # 208

http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/forums/ind...howtopic=772688

chaosprincess
Gold.

Just repeating what I wrote in the last thread: Posted on the private site, anyone with medical knowledge I'd love your opinions.

William has his easter bonnet parade today wub.gif The girls and I made up little easter bags for their class last night, they were so excited to be able to hand them out at school biggrin.gif
Lia

ddance.gif

Mel, have answered......

Ben and I went and saw "How to train your Dragon" today...... he loved it!
chaosprincess
Thanks Lia tthumbs.gif
Lia
Tanks for all the Birthday wishes on Facebook ladies biggrin.gif . DH took me shopping and out to dinner tonight..... without kids ddance.gif......I love my boys, but sometimes its sooooo nice to have time together...... also I'm going slightly mad with school holidays wacko.gif

Anyhoo, I got a new watch.... havent worn one in years, feels a bit weird.

Jodie - those pics of the boys are beautiful wub.gif

Mel - sorry about your ahem..... blush.gif

Archie made Bunny ears at DC today and he was a bunny all afternoon..... was not happy taking them off for his bath laughing2.gif
chaosprincess
laughing2.gif Lia thanks.

I did sweet fa today, first day of school holidays and I didn't want to leave the house or do anything biggrin.gif Tuna mornay for dinner.
poss71
Happy birthday for yesterday Lia! Nice to have a grownup dinner. I'm hoping to have one for our wedding anniversary in mid May.

Mel, sorry. I read but have nothing useful to offer. As Lia said, sorry about your ahem grin.gif

Have to go. DH is home at last!
joka
Happy Easter

Just poping in to say Happy Easter, Hope you guys are all having a blast, we have spent the day cleaning LOL.

Mel ~ Tuna mornay sounds so yummy Joel won't eat it so I get left out sad.gif The easter pics of Will on FB are too cute, he looks like he is having a ball.

Wanted to show you all a pic of Patterson that I took the other night (although you have probably all seen it now I think about it lol)

I have my scan at 3 tomorrow although I am sure that I am feeling the baby move I still cannot wait to see that little heart beating away and to find out if this is a girl or another boy. Have decided that it better be a girl so sick of the boys and their obsession with their tackle roll2.gif

Hope you are all having a wonderful day will pop back in tomorrow arvo with some pics (hopefully)
happinesswith2blue
Happy Easter

Thinking of you tomorrow Kat. I hope you get to find out the sex. Can I guess ppinkstork.gif Hope everything goes smoothly. biggrin.gif

chaosprincess
I love that photo Kat!! So damn cute wub.gif

Jo - laughing2.gif cheers, my *ahem* thanks you for your concern tthumbs.gif

Easter was good, the girls woke at 2am!! So we had a mini easter then because they realised the easter bunny had come and left a half eaten carrot. So we discussed what must have happened and they swore they could smell the easter bunny's perfume on their favourite blankies so he must have had a snuggle.
joka
biggrin.gif Just quickly popping in biggrin.gif
Baby is fine I have an anterior placenta and his little heart was beating 154bpm not to mention that he wouldn't sit still.

Yup another little man for our family (pretty sure got a pretty good look at the frank and beans biggrin.gif ) PLEASE keep this from FB, we are not spilling the beans to the family.

Hope everyone had a wonderful easter biggrin.gif
Lia
Did anyone happen to record the Gruffalo this morning off ABC??? I forgot rant.gif . We were watching ABC2!!! Just trying to get hold of a copy!
Kathryn74

Hey everyone!

Have been way MIA! Between uni and placement and family stuff, I have been flat out. We are all well. Luke blows us away with his speech and comprehension. We can have a full conversation with him now and give him 2 or 3 instructions at once and he'll work it all out. He is also very tidy! The other day I had a friend over and Luke emptied out the cooking play stuff and was making meals and cups of tea for her. I went out to say goodbye and when I got back, Luke had packed everything up and put it away. original.gif.

Oh, and yesterday, we were all lounging around when Luke said "I want some fruit!'. Dave and I gave each a 'I so can't be bothered!' look. Luke went out to the kitchen, dragged a chair to the fridge, opened it up, got the ice-cream container of chopped up canteloupe, brough it out and out it on the table and then went back and got a bowl for himself. Then he offered the canteloupe around the everyone! When I went out to the kitchen, he had closed the fridge and put the chair away. original.gif. We get plenty of I love you daddy/mummy and kisses. He just warms our hearts. The tantrums are frequent, but we have taken to just putting him in his cot when he loses it. He climbs out and comes out and says 'Sorry' when he's done. LOL.

Teething- no 2yo molars yet, but DD is cutting her 6yo molars!

TT- not yet. he's done a few wees on the toilet (we're skipping the potty this time and going straight to sitting on the toilet). But he doesn't know it's coming. He is off to 'school' next year- the 3yo kinder at school and he needs to be TT for that, so I'll wait til January if I need to! No rush.

Anyway, sorry, that was all about me, but just wanted to let you know how I'm going. I have 5 more weeks and then 12 weeks off before Semester 2 starts! Hopefully I'll be back properly then!!

Catch you all later!
poss71
Sorry Lia. I missed it too. I turned it over from the 'elephant' dvd Eleanor is currently obsessed with, 20 min into it - a half hour show yyes.gif ...then DH switched over to rally cars or something, so I (err, they) didn't even get to see the end. *pouts*

Have checked the ABC website and it's not on iview, nor is it repeated any time during the rest of the week.

Kat, congratulations!!! yay on seeing a healthy heartbeat and wriggly little worm bubba, and what wonderful news that it is another boy. I know you said you would love a girl so there would be less obsession with bits, but I can tell you, my two don't know they should be leaving it alone when I'm changing their nappies. roll2.gif

Erm, Meg even licked Eleanor's butt cheek tonight in the bath. Well, she kissed it, but she hasn't got the closed-mouth peck down pat quite yet. Sorry, totally TMI. laughing2.gif
happinesswith2blue
So glad to the that bubs is all ok tthumbs.gif Im so happy and jealous Kat biggrin.gif 3 boys will be so beautiful.How very exciting for you all. My boys play with their tackle when they got the opportunity too laughing2.gif

All these babies are making me clucky again wub.gif

Donna- How are Ben and Toby going? Hope they both had a good Easter.

Jodie- How are your tow boys? Is Dane sleeping any better?

Kathryn- How very cute of Luke to help himself to the fruit in the fridge then put the chair back.

Meg even licked Eleanor's butt cheek tonight in the bath. Well, she kissed it, but she hasn't got the closed-mouth peck down pat quite yet.
roll2.gif

Lia
Jo - Yeah I know first thing I did was check the programme guide and Iview sad.gif

Archie is creating another train tack on the floor...... he is Thomas obsessed. Ben is "talking" to his dad on skype..... he's doing IM.
poss71
Lia - oh no. Are we going to have to write to the television station???? I feel so old...

Kathryn - what a sweetie Luke is, putting everything away again. I love that he offered it around! What a generous boy.

Sandra - I'm clucky too. We went to a 3 y o birthday party the weekend and I was chatting to an acquaintance who has a 4 week old baby girl. She was so adorable, even the red face from objecting to a nappy change. wub.gif I got my butt into gear over Easter and emptied out a few more boxes from our move. There were some loose newborn nappies in one... I got a bit teary thinking about how Eleanor and Meg both used to fit into these. blush.gif

So, DH has given me the final word on more babies...
If we win first division,
If it's a big win,
If there are no other winners,
Then we can have another one.
roll2.gif We'll see...
Lia
laughing2.gif Jo....... Oh its on Iview now!!
chaosprincess
Congrats on another boy Kat biggrin.gif
j-o-d-i-e
waves.gif hi havnt been on eb for a while

kat congrats on the little babyboy.gif iam positive i will just have boys, cam stary our own footy team lmao

Sandra danes sleeping in the day is not so good but he sleeps well at night so i am happy with that, hopefully he gets into a groove so i can get more things done in the day wacko.gif

ok thats my time up, the little fella wants another feed before bed.
chaosprincess
Was nice to see Sandra today original.gif Though I was pretty tired, I stayed up til 2am watching foxtel IQ shows I'd recorded wacko.gif I had a nanna nap though today before I picked William up from daycare, yay for nanna naps laughing2.gif
happinesswith2blue
It was good to see you too Mel. I could tell you were tired, yay for the nanna nap. I so could have went for one today thats for sure. I bought some canvas's from Big W and I'm going to do some paining with the boys tomorrow then we will hang them in their rooms. I'm really looking forward to it. Buty I bet Cohen won't sit for 5 mins to do it.

Oh the girls were soooo cute today with Cohen. The girls were holding hands with him, whilst walking around the shops. He had a ball. I'll post a pic of it . So very cute wub.gif

The toddler bed is going really well for Aston, second night in it and hasn't falling out and slept all night also tthumbs.gif Cohen is loving the single bed. He honestly takes the 20+ books to bed EVERY Night. If you miss one, he will get up and go get it and bring it back to bed laughing2.gif

I went to the doctors today. I have had 2 sun spots on my nose that they froze off for me. I thought they would have to cut it out, but then she said "we can do it right here" .Ok then go right ahead. Scared me at first,but didn't hurt.Only a little bit left, but she said they can do it again if it doesn't go.

kat congrats on the little iam positive i will just have boys, cam stary our own footy team lmao

Me too. I wub.gif boys

Jodie- Hopefully soon Dane give you some nice nanna naps throughout the day. He is growing too fast. I loved the pics of them on FB.
I would love to do photography. I did it at school and wub.gif it. I would love that to be my job, I think I would be excited to go to work everyday grin.gif

There were some loose newborn nappies in one... I got a bit teary thinking about how Eleanor and Meg both used to fit into these.

I have some too and did the same.I was thinking "gee, they used to fit in that".
Hopefully, you win Lotto then roll2.gif

Off to get the dye out of my hair ,then off to see the back of my eyelids wink.gif
SimplySweet
Howdy

SOrry I have not been in at all and I have not read back yet blush.gif
Just had a break from EB and now I have my pc back I have no links saved

Can someone please send me link to our private site, cheers

I will be back this weekend to catch up here
Lia
Hi Jo waves.gif I see you.

Kristy - have Pm'd you the site details

Had a wedding today...... was at 10:30am, with Father Bob Maguire (he's well known down in melb), he was so funny. Then the reception was at a winery down at Red Hill (Mornigton Peninsula). Didnt get back till 8:30! Grandies babysat Arch and Ben had a full day of school holiday program - he had a ball!

ZZZZZZZZZZZZZ now ssleep.gif
poss71
Lia, I did a little happy dance. My life is full of such joyous moments.

Kristy, will send it to you in a sec. Hope you guys are all well. How did you cope without the internet? We were without for a bit over a week when we moved. It felt so strange. wacko.gif

Sandra, I'm thinking about getting big-girl beds for the girls (mostly so I can stop carrying a sleeping Meg from our bed to her cot every night, he he). Did it take your boys long to get used to a bed? I seem to remember you moved Cohen over around the same age as you did Aston. Do they jump out of bed a lot, or settle in and flop out?

Mel and Sandra - sounds like you had a fun day out. Lucky Cohen to have two big girls holding hands with him around the shops.

Hi Jodie waves.gif So glad he sleeps well during the night for you.
Kathryn74
Hey Lia, was the wedding at Red Hill Estate? That's where our wedding reception was... original.gif

Where did Ben do holiday program? Claire was at Jets yesterday.

Not much happening here. Claire and James both have a sleep over tonight. Claire made a friend at kinder- Louis and then James made friends with Louis' little brother, Julian. So tonight, James is going to stay at their place and Louis is coming here for a sleepover. I scored the big kids as Julian's not quite up for a sleepover away from home yet. I'm thinking of taking them bowling this afternoon. Can't wait. LOL.

Did I mention that Claire is going on a Girl Guide camp next weekend! 2 night down at Anglesea! She is so excited. I hope she goes okay (she is only 6). Thankfully the next door neighbour is one of the Guide leaders and has known Claire since she was born (otherwise I probably wouldn't have let her go). I think Claire will be fine- just a bit worried she'll drive everyone bonkers. LOL.

Anyway, hope everyone is well! Have a great weekend. School's back next week- where did the holidays go???
happinesswith2blue
Sounds like you had a big day at the wedding Lia. I would need a nap now biggrin.gif

Jo- I changed Cohen from the cot to the toddler bed at 16 months. Aston is only a couple months off. He has been really good in the toddler bed. When I turned the cot into a single bed, it had a spare side rail left and i just put that up against the toddler bed then a box next to it. He hasn't fallen out,so thats a bonus. I will move it away once he gets used to it. He has been sleeping really good in too. I thought I was going to have troubles.
Cohen was harder going into a toddler bed, he would always come out. I ended up putting his drawers next to the bed so he couldn't get out (only to find him in the morning sitting on them) laughing2.gif
Cohen is loving the single bed now though. He is a bed hog thats for sure.
He comes out of his bed, but he won't come out of his room laughing2.gif He knows it's bed time and he knows mum gets cranky if he comes out laughing2.gif He will go back to bed with the 26+ books.He is obsessed with his books at the moment.

Hope the girls go smoothly in their new beds soon. Least know how you go.

It feels strange not to have the cot up anymore cry1.gif but biggrin.gif at the same time

Kathryn- Have fun at bowling. I love bowling, but still need the bumpers as I always get a gutter ball laughing2.gif
I'm sure Claire will have a great time at Girl Guide Camp.

Kristy- Hope you can get your car fixed soon.

waves.gif everyone else.

Kathryn74
Luke is still in the cot, but climbs out now, so we just leave the side down. He is really good and only gets out in the morning. And if he's too early, we just put him back to bed and he goes back to sleep! When we get our renovations done and he gets his own room, we might consider a bed for him...but I love the cot, and this is my last baby! I'm not ready to be done with it. LOL.

Bowling was good. I haven't been for years! Now when you go, the bumpers go up for the kids and down for the adults! Amazing. LOL. I got 104. Kids got 55 and 56. So I won. We went to Dairy Bell afterwards and had double scoops of ice-cream. Yummy.

Kristy- hugs with all the problem with the car and your roof and kids health and everything else at the moment! I hope you get a break soon.
chaosprincess
William is still in a cot, he'll get a bed when I get around to saving enough to buy one! I'm in no rush, he seems to have no issue with the cot, goes straight to sleep when I put him in and he doesn't try to climb out in the morning. I have a single mattress I suppose I could try him on that at some stage, less height to fall laughing2.gif

Weekend was boring as. Hanging out til Wednesday (pay day wahooo), I'm meeting someone for coffee also and then the weekend I've invited my brother over so we'll have a BBQ and he'll be bringing my Wii back so we'll have a few games on there. Also I'm hoping to see a couple of movies on the weekend with a friend original.gif

I'm looking in to Zumba classes too, it looks like fun tthumbs.gif So peeved I didn't get to do the pole dancing classes I won on fb, they were only on in the evenings and I had no one to babysit unless I wanted to spend 2 hours travelling back and forth to my brothers each week cry1.gif

Also at the end of the month I hope to go out to a naughty or nice themed night...any ideas what I could dress up as? I assume most people will go the naughty route. I have devil horns from halloween but that's a little generic.... I also have blue feathered angel wings, but again a bit generic.....
Lia
Archie has just informed me
"Mummy, I got stinky poos....... you want to smell?" roll2.gif

Arch is still in his cot, he's only jumped it once. Friends of ours have the same cot and they have take the side off. We have a single bed all ready stored in the roof, just need a mattress, but we have too much crap in his room atm.

Kathryn - Ben went to the YMCA school holiday program. Was great he went swimming, roller blading and to jets gym. Had a ball. Jo and I are having hot chocolate tomorrow if you are free. I thought about bowling. Did you jus go to the one on Grimshaw ST? Wedding was at the Vines of Red Hill...... fantastic

Jo - 12 is great, do you want to meet at the choc shop?

Kathryn74
Bugger- uni tomorrow. Do it again in 4 weeks and I'll be there!

Ah, so Jets goes to YMCA and YMCA goes to Jets. Nice. LOL. How much does it cost there? We've only ever been to Jets but Diamond Valley have a program too, so might have to expand our horizons a bit... I'm looking forward to summer holidays when James can start too!
Lia
Kathryn - it's $38 whole day, or $19 for half a day. You have to pay extra for excursions though - I think it cost me about $11 for Jets (they go to the new centre) and about the same for Skaterz, its only $3 extra for swimming. Its the only one in the area that gets the full 50% CCR and you get CCB if your eligible - Jets doesnt get the full amount. Ben really enjoys it, and its great you can do half days.
SimplySweet
OK am back
Will try to catch up a little biggrin.gif

Second week of holidays here. Was loving it y'day, bit stressed with them today,lol
We are carless, finally mine shat itself all together, we had issues for a long time but whatever it is went.
So now we are waiting on a cc in the mail (we had to get one) to get the b*st*rd fixed.
I don't know what I am going to do next week without my car so I hope it hurries in the mail.

So we are very limited this week. I am going to take B to work placement and Dh to work in the morning so I can have the car. I have free movie tickets so want to take them all out.
Brett has work placement all week. He is doing a VET course as well as Yr 11 this year and has to do 4 work placements over the year as well. Luckily it's on Dh's way to and from work (times nearly match too) so it's worked well.
At least we only have footy training in the holidays, no cheer, gym,etc

Not much really going on, more issues than good things. Marriage woes, all sorts. But won't bore you with any of it, lol

Lia, Thankyou for link and lmao at what Archie said. TOo cute

Jo, I had a friend lend me a spare pc so we were still online just had no links and I didn't do much whilst using it. I could probably cope (somehow) without it but the boys must have it for their homework

Kathryn, Hope Claire has a great time at camp. Thankyou, I hope we get a break too, over it all atm.

Mel, Naughty and nice are fairly limited hey. I will have a think

Friend just rang and is calling in for a cuppa so gtg

chaosprincess
Spent last night feeling sick and nursing a sick child. Lucky it was only a 24 hour bug though original.gif But oh it was gross, I hate that sick feeling in the tummy. I think I'd rather give birth than have that!

Got a few things on tomorrow, food shopping and then hope to pop in to a parents group for the first time, I'll be childless but this group organises heaps of stuff in my area so would love to get to know the mums. Then I'm meeting a friend for coffee.

I rang up about the zumba classes and I will start those next week, it's run by the PCYC, so I can get William minded for $1 the morning the classes are on, the classes are only $9 a week too original.gif I need to get off my a*se and start looking after my health a bit more. I think the first class I may nearly have a heart attack I'm that unfit presently!
chaosprincess
Well there go my plans for the day, the car won't start rant.gif

I started walking the kids to daycare and school this morning and a wonderful lady stopped and asked if I wanted a lift. Her little boy is in the same class as the girls and apparently she helps out families in the area with dropping kids off to school when the parents can't make it, so she gave me her number. She also said her husband is a trained motor mechanic so he could take a look for me and see what the issue is. Talk about random acts of kindness!! Gives you back some faith in humanity biggrin.gif
j-o-d-i-e
What a lovely lady Mel

Kristy bugger about the car, i hate not having one for a day, even of i am not going anywhere it just makes you feel stranded, i dont know how my mum went without a car with 4 children... we walked alot lol

lol Lia at Archie, i ask kaiden is he has done poo, poo and he says 'no poo, poo' and goes and hides under the table lol

Sandra sounds like the boys are doing well in there new beds.

ok gotta go, Dane thought it would be cool to bang his nose on the ground during tummy time so now he has a little blood nose sad.gif
SimplySweet
Mel, How good was that. I hope your car is nothing serious and so cool having her number in case of emergency, how lovely is she.
Nice to know there are such loving caring people out there hey
Sorry to hear that you got that nasty bug, it's horrible hey

Jodie, I hate being carless, sucks very very much
We don't have anything close enough to walk to. Just the school and a deli.
Poor Dane, I hope it didn't bleed long.

Home today, took Dh and B to work y'day so I could have his car and we went to the movies. J stayed home but I took T, A and R and we had a great time. Watched How to train a dragon, very good
Last night got the groceries done whilst B was at training.
Dh is working through lunch today to get off half hr earlier, take boys to training then back for B at work then back to footy to get boys and do his training.
Season starts this weekend for boys. DH's started last week.
Brett has 2 games to umpire saturday (country games but only 15min away so easy) Dh has a game and it's at home, again easy. Sunday B is umpiring a game (not sure on details yet), T's game is at 11 and J's at 1.20pm, both at home oval so that works good. Going to be hard with 1 car atm
Kids back to school next week

What has everyone else got planned this weekend?
Lia
Kristy - Ben and I saw how to train your dragon the other day and we both loved it original.gif

Jo - great seeing you! How did the Gruffalo go?
LaFamilia
Hey guys
Im on holidays this week and am concentrating on TTing G properly. She did a poo in the toilet today, like she had done it a thousand times before biggrin.gif

I love being at home, but Im not sure if Id get sick of it or not. I love my job, but NOT all the politics, drama, and BS that goes with it rolleyes.gif

Hows the car Mel? Hope it isnt anything too serious!

Kristy - Not much planned for the weekend, just staying home and focusing on G's TT. Fun fun fun!!
Im soo excited to watch The Biggest Loser grand final - anyone else with me?!

xo
chaosprincess
The car only had a flat battery. But I swapped back cars with M, so now I have my hatchback again - will be heaps cheaper in fuel for me to use. I don't need the stationwagon now William hardly uses his pram. I also got RACQ roadside assistance, full cover so I now have peace of mind if anything goes wrong again or I break down. My car doesn't have any issues though, the CV joints need replacing at some stage but nothing too major original.gif
poss71
Lia, we've had a mad week. Planning on watching it tomorrow afternoon for some quiet time...it was great to catch up. Eleanor kept saying "where's Archie?" over and over. "He's gone home with his mummy" was the wrong answer - apparently he was still at the shops. laughing2.gif

Mel, glad it was only a flat battery.

Camilla, wow at G and her TTing. Hope it goes well this weekend.

Eleanor will sit on the loo and stay there for a minute or so, but doesn't do anything yet. I'd better make more of an effort I think. We put Meggie on the loo tonight - so cute!

I've done another "bad mummy" thing...I cut the girls' hair in the bath tonight. Badly. Just the fringes, but waaaay too short. laughing2.gif poor babies. Ah well, it'll grow back. roll2.gif
GIO
Hi Girls

Mel - don't keep me in suspense. What happened to your ahem? I don't have access to the private site.

COT - Bram is still in his. Mostly coz he doesn't climb out - had a couple of falls just after he turned one and that stopped him. But in the last few days he's been getting out. So we might have to get a bed for him, and then Baby J can have the cot.'

Bram - is pretty textbook two year old. Trying to communicate, but not succeeding so throwing lots of tantrums. Very diffucult to explain things to, and impossible to reason with. His big sister was much worse, but his big brother was more mild mannered - so this is the in-between toddler.

He can't sit still - is only JUST getting into telly, but even then can only concentrate for about 5 min before he's off doing something destructive.

I felt so sorry for him the other night, I was doing paperwork in the bedroom, DH was reading a goodnight book to the older two. Bram comes up to me after finishing dinner and his face is covered in tomato sauce "Eeeek, get away from me. Go see your father and he will clean you up." So he goes into daddy who says "Eeeeek, get away from me, I'm reading a goodnight story. Go see your mother." LOL. So we really need to be mindful of not doing that - or else he will start to feel unwanted if it happens regularly.

I still havent' cut his hair so he has beautiful curls. He gets called "she" "her" or even "princess" when we go out.

Lia - my mother went to a wedding with Bob MacQire a few months back - she was raving about him too!

TT - Bram still won't poo on the toilet. He will wee standing up now but won't sit for a wee. So he just asks for his potty when he wants a poo. I tried taking it off him so he was forced to use the toilet and he just held on til a nappy was on (one time he just did it in his pants!). So I'll leave it for a while and try again in a month or two. I just prefer him to poo on the toilet as then I don't have to clean a potty and also then he can do poo anywhere - out shopping, visiting friends etc. Now he will hold on til he gets home.

Big Wave and hello to eveyone!!!
Abbygirl

I've missed you girls!

I've been sooo busy I haven't had a chance to get onto here.

I'm at the tail end of colouring a comic sample for a friend.
If he and the artist like what I'm doing then I'll be the official colourist for the mag - my name will be on it when it's published, which I think is pretty cool.
It's been very challenging and it's really flexed my skills in Photoshop
SO I've nearly finished and have just sent of a sample to get their feedback before I complete it.
Fingers crossed they like it, they've already tried 4 other colourists and haven't been keen on any of them.

Besides the comic I've been crazy busy at home.
Gracie is really testing the boundaries. Which we assumed she would, she's so headstrong. At the moment she's going through the stripping off phase, sometimes she does it 10 times a day! And of course she had to start this when the weather is getting cold too rolleyes.gif I wouldn't mind so much in summer, but where we live gets very chilly!

We're also having problems with her hitting us, she just lashes out, even if she's happily playing with us. It's starting to worry me, so if anyone has any ideas to help us deal with this or even just thoughts let us know. I need it to stop, I worry that she'll hurt another child and I'd feel absolutely terrible if that happened.
I think she learned it from her 4yr old cousin who pushed and hit her when we visited them a couple of months ago.... and now she's doing it sad.gif

Gracie is in a toddler bed, we converted it about 6 months ago.
She's doing very well with her speech, she says full sentences, and uses her 'please' and 'thankyou' as well She still gets very frustrated with it all at times, so maybe that’s why she's lashing out?
She's yet to poo on the toilet, but I don't mind, she's pretty bright, I know it'll happen for her soon.
She loves people, she's the most extroverted child I've ever met ( and I've worked in Child Care) which is great but can sometimes intimidate other kiddies around her.
She loves to kiss and cuddle, she's so affectionate wub.gif

Her eyes are still bad, not sure if I've posted about it on here, but she has a condition where her eyes are turning in.
Thankfully we found out at her last specialist appointment that there is nothing sinister causing it, just hereditary eye turning (runs in DH's side) our next appointment will determine whether or not she'll need glasses, eye patching or surgery. sad.gif The app is in 5 weeks.

And speaking of surgery, my procedures happen on the 27th of this month so 9 days away. I'm to have an endoscopic bowel biopsy and a colonoscopy YAY for me. ffear.gif
These may shed some light on why I bloat so much that I look heavily pregnant, and am uncomfortable a lot.
Personally I think I have a wheat intolerance. So fingers crossed it's just that and nothing else.

Oh who's heard about the earthquake we had in SA?
The epicentre was where I live!!!!
It was very LOUD and so freaky. Having now experienced a minor one I can definitely imagine the potential terror they can induce.
I posted a reply to this just a couple of hours after it happened
http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/news/south-a...3-1225854750895
My post # is 1224 under the name Abby Girl

wub.gif We had some good news last week. My oldest sister gave birth to her 2nd child (Her DD is 10 yrs old, so a BIG gap) and she had a baby boy which is awesome as we have hardly any boys in my family.
The birth went well, but he's been in and out of hospital with joindus, poor thing.
He's very gorgeous, has intense eyes wub.gif

Anyhooooooooo Sorry for no personals, I've only just skimmed this thread, so I'll go back and have a proper read next time.

But here's the list, a little 'Johhny come lately' but hey - at least he came!

Ahem

Leah ~ bbear
Baby's Name: Jackson McKay
Baby's DOB: 18/10/07

Tracy ~ tracy81
Where: Alexandra Hills, QLD
Baby's Name: Oliver Lloyd
Baby's DOB: 12/11/07

Miranda ~ mamasmithy
Where: Brisbane, QLD
Baby's Name: Kadelle Evie
Baby's DOB:15/11/07
Other Children: Baylie Maia

Mia ~ zizzin
Where: Perth/Bunbury, WA
Baby's Name: Max
Baby's DOB: 21/12/07

Mandy ~ Rinnie78
Where: Kyneton, VIC
Baby's name: Oliver
Baby's DOB: 26/12/07 (due 16/01/08)
Other Children: Chloe and
2 x DSS Zachery, & Mason

Tash ~ misstash042
Where: East Gosford, NSW
Baby's name: Lachlan George
Baby's DOB: 27/12/07
Other Children: DSD J

Sara ~Sara~
Where: Northern Suburbs, SA
Baby's Name: Oliver Ronald John
Baby's DOB: 02/01/2008
Other Children: Amelia (05), and Charlotte (09)

Kat ~ joka
Where: Country, VIC
Baby's name: Harrison
Baby's DOB: 04/01/08
Other Children: Patterson (09)

Mel ~ raveness
Baby's name: William Christian
Baby's DOB: 04/01/08
Other Children: Identical twin DD's (05)

Lia ~ Lia
Where: Melbourne, VIC
Baby's Name: Archer David
Baby's DOB: 09/01/2008
Other Children: Benjamin Oliver

Vee ~ Vasquez
Where: Blue Mountains, NSW
Baby's Name: Elliot Laura
Baby's DOB: 10/01/08
Other Children: Indiana (02) and Aidan (04)

Sandra ~ Janbabyboy
Where: Brisbane, Qld
Baby's Name: Cohen William
Baby's DOB: 11/01/08
Other Children: Aston Lee (09)

Anna ~ tomsmum06
Where: Mildura, VIC
Baby's Name: Matilda May
Baby's DOB: 12/01/2008
Other Children: Tom

Rachel ~ rachelemma
Where: Hong Kong
Baby's name: Charlie
Baby's DOB: 12/01/08
Other Children: Emma (06)

Bec ~ *~~~Bec~~~*
Where: Southern suburbs, SA
Baby's name: Ezekiel Gary
Baby's DOB: 16/01/08
Other Children: Miah Thalia Jade (03) and Elias Feb (2010)

Lori ~ unitedus
Baby's Name: Taylin Grace
Baby's DOB: 16/01/08
Other Children: Madaline Alyssa

Marika ~ Abbygirl
Where: SA
Baby's Name: Grace Angelina
Baby's DOB: 17/01/08

Carrie ~ Caz4alex
Baby's Name: Flynn Alexavier
Baby's DOB: 18/01/08
Other Children: Maddison, Emilia & Wilhelm

Kathryn ~ Kathryn74
Where: Greensborough, Melbourne, VIC
Baby's Name: Luke David
Baby's DOB: 20/01/08
Other Children: Claire Rachel, and James Lindsay

Camilla ~ lilmummilly
Where: Hobart, TAS
Baby's name: Grace
Baby's DOB: 21/01/08

Amanda ~ GIO
Baby's name: Abraham Ty Joseph
Baby's DOB: 22/01/08
Other Children: Lydia, Henry and Jemima Feb (2010)

Wilga ~ wil27
Where: Canberra, ACT
Baby's Name: Alicia Denise
Baby's DOB: 24/01/08

Donna ~ d-o-n-n-a
Where: Menai, Sydney, NSW
Baby's name: Toby Leonard
Baby's DOB: 25/01/08
Other Children: Ben Dec 09

Kristy ~ SimplySweet
Where: Northern Suburbs, Adelaide, SA
Baby's name: Ryan Jack
Baby's DOB: 25/01/08
Other Children: Brett, Jayden, Thomas, and Alyssa

Jodie ~ J-o-d-i-e
Where: Raby, Sydney, NSW
Baby's name: Kaiden Joshua
Baby's DOB: 27/01/08
Other Children: Dane James Feb (2010)

Joeleen ~ joeleen
Where: Townsville, QLD
Baby's Name: Cooper Robert Scott
Baby's DOB: 28/01/08
Other Children: Isabella (09)

Ayla ~ lovethebelly
Where: Gladstone, QLD
Baby's name: Kayden Reid
Baby's DOB: 29/01/08
Other Children: Lana Claire

Jo ~ Poss71
Baby's name: Eleanor Joy
Baby's DOB: 30/01/08
Other Children: Margaret Genevieve (09)

Carolyn ~ acmtel
Baby's name: Lily May
Baby's DOB: 31/01/08
Other Children: Mitchell, Tyler, and Ellise

Sam ~ snugglybug
Where: Canberra, ACT
Baby's name: Teagan
Baby's DOB: 03/02/08
Other Children: Alannah

Sonia ~ ilovemyalex
Baby's Name: Alexander David
Baby's DOB: 03/02/08

Maddy ~ justpeppermint
Baby's Name: Baker
Baby's DOB:04/02/08
Other Children: Taylah Sage (09)

1st - Baylie (06)
3rd - Sandra (82)
6th - Tom (06)
15th - Alannah (03)
20th - Ellise (06)

2nd- Amelia (05), Lia's wedding anniversary (98)
16th - Madaline (05)
23rd - Aidan (04), Zach (06)
24th - Joeleen's Wedding anniversay
27th - Jodie (83)
29th - Vee (79)
28th - Mia (77)
31st - Sam

Anna ~ tomsmum06
Expecting #3 in April 2010

Mia ~ zizzin
Expecting #2 in May 2010

Kat ~ joka
Expecting #3 in August 2010

Vee ~ Vasquez
Expecting #4 in August 2010

j-o-d-i-e
Marika wow how exciting about the comic and you name being in the mag, hope the guys like what you have done..
Good luck with the op, hope it all goes well for you, will be nice to get soem answers.
My nephew has an under developed optic nerve and he is legally blind in one eye which turns in, he can have surgery to straighten it up but it can only be doen 3-4 times...so my sis is going to get it done when he starts school, when he is in high school and he can get ti done as an adult, however he cant do high contact sports as if he gets a big knock his it eye and cause it to turn again.
i remmeber when they done patching on him, the poor little sasuage coudlnt see a thing and would bump into things was funny but sad at the same time lol my sister stoppe dthe patching as it was to hard seeing him like that, he just couldnt see out that eye so patching was not going to help.

Amanda sound sliek Bram is doing very well.

jo i can just imagine the short fringe lol i remember doing that to myself then had to face my friend at school blush.gif

mel glad you have a car back that works

camilla yay on holidays and grace TT

ok thats all ic an see back lol

really havnt been on eb much at all too much of a fb addicit lol of and kiddies keep me nice and busy.
Josh is having 2 weeks off in may so we are going to go away for 5 nights at nelsons baby (port stephens) which will be nice to get away.
Kaiden is doing well, another who test ALL the limits, i guess it comes with the age. he is starting to say more words can say a 3 word sentence but i am happy with his progress. He enjoys his day at daycare they all says he is such a happy kid, always excited and laughing...hmmm they havnt seen him at home lmao he is VERY full on and busy all the time, never stops.

Dane is doing well, still feeding alot during the day but sleeps well at night still so happy wiht that, had his needles the poor little monkry, he is 9 weeks this week oomg2.gif going very fast.

Ok off for the next feed biggrin.gif (ps excuse the bad spelling lol)

hi to everyone i missed biggrin.gif
happinesswith2blue
Thats excellent about the comic Marika. Hopefully your friend and the artist like what you have done.
My sister had a turned eye when she was little. It was pretty bad. She ended up wearing glasses for a bit and had to do some eye exercises. It seems pretty good now. When she gets tired her eye still turns in a bit.
Hope Grace's app goes well and for you I'll be thinking of you in 8 days. Sounds pretty scary,but I hope they can figure out what's going on.
Cohen was doing the hitting thing too. I think he was around 15 months. He has pretty much stopped. I would just tell him "No" it hurts people in a firm voice and I would give him time out for a bit. Not really helpful. But hope Grace passes this stage soon.

oomg.gif at the earthquake. I would have been so scared I would have pooed my pants roll2.gif

How lovely of your sister to have a baby boy. What did they name him wub.gif

Jodie
we are going to go away for 5 nights at nelsons baby
you have baby on the brain laughing2.gif
I think you will have a lovely time away. I can't wait to have a little holiday. I can't wait for Ryder just to have holidays.
I can't believe Dane is 9 wks already. That has gone soooo fast. Hope his needles went ok.

Amanda-
He can't sit still - is only JUST getting into telly, but even then can only concentrate for about 5 min before he's off doing something destructive.

Cohen is exactly the same. He can watch the Wiggles and that's it. He gets into everything and now his brother is now following him wacko.gif
Aston has curls at the back, but I don't want to cut them either. His hair is taken forever to grow. Cohen had about 3 hair cuts at his age.

Jo- I can imagine the girls fringes. I bet they still look cute wub.gif I have cut Cohen's hair with a few chunks of hair missing laughing2.gif oops
How cute of Elleanor to ask where Archie is.

Mel-Glad that it was just a flat battery in the car.
How was your wknd?

I got a phone call from Ryder's mum. She said she talked Deborah (Ryder's sister)who works in a school(she is not a teacher) and they were talking about Cohen who isn't talking in sentences.Deborah hasn't seen Cohen in over a year. He can say Jack,mum,dad,Daisy,please,thank-you, yes, car,duck bubby,kass(girl down the road) and his new word is yummy,yummy(the Wiggles). He doesn't say them all very clear ,but we can understand him. He shows what he wants,he points or takes our hand to what food he wants in the fridge or cupboard. He can understand us (get your pillow, find teddy get your shoes ect )just not talking in whole sentences and not very clear on his words.He can do the actions to some of the the wiggles . I'm not over concerned, well I wasn't until I received the phone call.
Some of my friends boys didn't start talking until they were nearly 3. So, I'm just going to wait and see how he goes in the next few months. I personally think he is getting better in his speech. But if it doesn't improve I will see a GP.
When Aston had his check at 12 months I got Cohen checked out also. She said his was fine ,but if it didn't improve then bring him back.

Do you think I should take him to see someone?
I said to Ryder I wasn't overly worried and annoyed that deborah was talking about Cohen when she hasn't even seen him to know what he is saying rant.gif
I know all kids develop differently. But it's like people think once a child turns 2 they must start talking immediately

j-o-d-i-e
lol sandra oppps yes to much baby on the brain tehehe
i wouldnt be too stressed just yet, boys tend to take longer to pick up words, our nephew is a yr older than kaiden and kaiden said more words but they have just taken the dummy off him and he is saying SO much now.
Kaiden says some words that only josh and i understand but they will all get there. there are a few of other kids i know kaidens age and they talk better then him and some who talk alot less.
grrr to them to be talking about Cohen, if she is that concerned she should be talking to you directly about it.

Ok Marika Kaiden is also into the pull pants down stage, its so annoying he wont keep his pants on (a bit like his father bahaha)
he wont keep is socks on either. rolleyes.gif
chaosprincess
LMAO Amanda, just a bit of low cervix action going on. Thought I must have had an undiagnosed uterine prolapse after giving birth..... yeah taken me 2 years to figure my bits out properly and self diagnose during AF I can actually feel my own cervix very low, hence why the diva cup never sits right. Though speaking to my sister it might just be genetic. She hasn't had kids and she freaked a couple of years ago thinking she had some tumor or something, went to GP who referred her to get an ultrasound and they told her it was her cervix laughing2.gif Though why the GP couldn't tell is a bit of a worry wacko.gif So yeah now everyone knows about my vag laughing2.gif

Marika - awesome about the colouring job. Hope they like it!

Sandra - you know William doesn't talk in sentences yet either. I'm not worried. The girls were quite late with their speech... they communicated in other ways, and even until they were 3 a lot of it was still jibberish to everyone else but me. The GP and daycare staff have never been worried, he seems to be on par with most of the other kids his age... I'd have to assume they wouldn't have moved him up to the older room recently if they felt he was behind. Different children develop differently, but most get there in the end.... I think I'd be concerned if factors other than speech were worrying me too, like if I felt he didn't understand what I was saying, or had other developmental delays. But I'd be annoyed other people were discussing the development of my child, especially if they haven't even seen them! That's just weird.

My brother and his girlfriend came and stayed saturday night. He whipper snipped my back yard for me and will probably come over this weekend to do my front yard original.gif He took a whole heaps of clutter back to his house too, stuff I hadn't sold at the garage sale, CDs, DVD's, his girlfriend took a few bags of clothes. I've still got heaps to get rid of though. I'll hire a trailor for the rubbish I just want to dump and one weekend have a market stall I think for the rest.

Today I felt like crap, so tired...... I've got my sleeping pattern all out of whack... going to sleep at 2am or later and then feeling absolutely drained in the mornings. I've always been a night owl, I feel great at night, but that doesn't work with children! I'm going to have to break the cycle. Tomorrow morning I'm going to go to a Zumba class original.gif Get active and hopefully it'll sort things out a bit.
happinesswith2blue
Thanks Jodie and Mel. Yeah I think I was annoyed that they were talking about his development. She has no idea.

Last night I was about to put Cohen to bed and I asked Ryder if he brushed Cohen's teeth. He said yes. I said well, why is Cohen at the bathroom door.I went in and he hadn't brushed them. But then Ryder was calling Cohen a snitch for dobbing him in laughing2.gif I thought it was so cute that Cohen went to the bathroom to brush his teeth wub.gif

Mel I read
He whipper snipped my back
i didn't see the yard part. I was thinking WHAT that would have hurt roll2.gif ddoh.gif then I read on laughing2.gif
I have no idea how you can function after having late nights. I would be so cranky. But when it's late you get time to yourself,so that's always a bonus.

Glad you had a good wknd with your brother.

What everyone got planned for the long wknd. I might take the boys to the city for Anzac Day march.
chaosprincess
That's why I stay up so late, that time to myself... plus I seem to have heaps more energy at night and sometimes feel more motivated to do stuff, or my mind races around with ideas on what I would like to do.

Zumba today was great, pretty fun, even though I felt extremely uncoordinated with some of the steps. But a bit of practice an hopefully I get better! Sexy swinging hips and wriggling butt here I come!! laughing2.gif
GIO
Mel - Glad your cervix turned out to be OK. I also thought something was wrong with mine after J's birth which I couldn't believe because I do my pelvic floor excercises religiously and she had a tiny head that just flew out - so couldn't see how it could have been damaged. Turns out it was fine and I must have been feeling the wrong thing (didn't want to keep feeling as this while while I still had lochia).

Have I missed something? Have you broken up with your fella? Oh, just looked at you on Facebook and it says you're single - I was just thinking that your last few posts sounded like a single woman speaking. Hope it wasn't a horrible breakup. Was it over the Datsun?

Behaviour - I have a girlfriend with a two year old who is going through a horrible stage. Lucky I'm good friends with her and she's not uptight so I can say stuff like "Nobody wants you around til your daughter stops bashing everyone!" Hahahaha. This kid was writing on the wall the other day and the mum leaned down to tell her off and the kid slapped the mum across the face with all her might. Make me laugh so hard - only coz I'm glad it's her child and not mine!

A
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.