The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: September 08 Parents #161

Pages: 1, 2, 3
bellygood
Littlemumma sorry to hear that Max still isn't better and there's no sign of what's wrong. Stressful for you.

Cassi awful vandalism, so mindless and selfish when people wreck stuff for 'fun'. Hope the police actually *do* something (instead of sitting around with lasers trying to catch people doing 65 in a 60km zone...). Where are you again, and where do you want to move to?

Nothing much happening here, Ivy about to conk out for her nap, DH just finishing off some lawnmowing (day off today). We have an option of going to a casual BBQ tonight but it's 45m drive so I can't see that happening. Playgroup was nice this morning, have a Playgroup BBQ tomorrow night as well then going to see a local play on Sunday. So Good Friday is this time next week/1 week's time? Will put a note in my diary to get shopping sorted on Thurs... bloody Easter ripoffs everywhere. I'm actually thinking of taking Ivy to her first Easter mass, though that could prove a nightmare for both of us... will see how I go.
ellangel
Oh poor Max! What a worrying time for you all. Hope he is ok now and its all over.

Bellyg - so is the mass at midnight? I would not be going if that was the case. LOL.

Well the family do we have on next Easter Saturday, I have decided I am just going on my own. Will leave both girls at home with DH to spend time with. Too bad when I turn up and they all ask where the rest of us are?!! I need some ME time. That way I can spend the whole day eating and drinking and my parents can chaperone (spelling!) me!!
cassi8
BG - near Parramatta in Syd, looking at moving further west to a family friendly neighborhood. Lots of young families, parks and schools.

Next cupboard is empty, now onto packing some books. I can't pack crockery until DH is here to help me with boxes and decide what to keep and to keep N away from the pile of butcher paper!

ellangel
Yes, some friends of ours were living in near Parra and moved to Cranebrook I think?
They are much happier and have a few more friends with small children. It is just so crazy to get anywhere near Parra! I would be stressed out all the time but spose you get used to it.

The area I live in, is being built up around us with new estates all the time, but we still have pony trails and clubs etc nearby so it still has that kind of rural feel to it. The girls dont even blink now when we see a horse going by for a walk, so used to it.

Well my flowers are in the garden. Great time of the day to be planting in the midday heat. LOL. Never planted a thing in my life.

Did you get N to sleep ok Cassi? Was the 4 hours sleep last night due to the crash or N?

Blondie - we missed you!@!!
ellangel
WHY did the smoke alarm battery have to decide to go flat in Holli's room at sleep time? TELL ME WHY? Beep Beep beep. Now she is awake and will be feral for ballet later. Ballet is a big enough struggle as it is, each week?
WHY? rant.gif rant.gif rant.gif I could do an Ali right now and swear, but I wont.!
cassi8
sad.gif sharon, Stupid things aren't they! Lack of sleep was a bit of both, took ages to get to sleep then stupid people, then N woke got to sleep, then N woke.. ARGH! Hope DH comes home with something nice for me to make it all better, its been a crappy week!

I did get him down, took about 10 or so mins so he is getting better. I am expecting a long sleep from him today though, he needs it.
trinyweeny
We had 2 deliveries come whilst J was asleep and of course the 2nd one woke her up. Has only had an hour and we are supposed to be going out for dinner tonight. rant.gif

Littlemumma - Sounds awful.
Bel Rowley
Aw poor Max, it must be tough not knowing what the cause is littlemum.

Sharon how frustrating! Unbelievably bad timing but that's always the way.

I don't know if it's sleep deprivation making me miserable but I'm having a mini-freakout girls and need to vent. I've been feeling so positive about this pregnancy and having symptoms, even thought I noticed my tummy getting rounder. I know it's only 5 days to go to my first appointment so I should be getting excited not more nervous. But I think finding out my friend's news has made me more concerned. All of a sudden I'm starting to panic about showing up at the appointment next week and not seeing a heartbeat/seeing that it's stopped growing again. The last few days my m/s has eased up and that's making me worry too. I have read somewhere that m/s can improve after 8 weeks, did anyone else find that happen? If the baby isn't OK I don't know how I'm going to face my friend sad.gif.
ellangel
She has gone back to sleep! blush.gif I hummed her a little song, gave her a drink of water and walked back out! YES

Oh no Triny! Can Nathan give her some of his zzzzz's?

We almost had a car accident this morning. I slammed on the breaks quite hard and started swearing. Holli goes "happened?" and put her hands out! hehehe

Cassi - that is good...10mins. Does he go down without a fight at CC? When do you move?
trinyweeny
Yay Ellangel, I've just put Jacqui back down. Hopefully she will go back to sleep. Otherwise one cranky toddler. Maybe I'll send DH and J out and I'll have takeaway at home. tongue.gif

Blondie - bbighug.gif
cassi8
I think some days they pat and other not. Seeing the other kids lay down means he does too so is a bit of a sheep in that respect. I am sure it will pass, his attitude and mood has improved a little over the past few days so hopefully going to bed will come easily soon.

laughing2.gif Holli is so cute! N's favorite phrase at the moment 'what dis?" and dad has taught him 'okay' complete with hand gesture!

Blondie - you are doing well my love, only 5 days and you will know. Your tummy is rounding which is a good sign, I can't help with the ms but if there is no bleeding then its so far so good. original.gif
Bel Rowley
I forgot to add that Claudia also only had 1 hour sleep today too despite her shocker of a night last night. I have no energy to deal with her and try to get her down again, I know it won't work. Thank goodness she is staying with the in-laws tomorrow night, I'm so ready for a night off from her. Don't know if that makes me a really bad mummy ph34r.gif .
alimumof3
blondie remember that some days the m/s is there and other days it doenst seem to be. try not to worry but i'm sure its still hard. Can you try to get in on monday to ease your mind a bit?

sharon geez thanks a lot? what the f are you saying?????? that i swear all the f;'ing time??? lol
glad you got her back to sleep.
which reminds me we must change our smoke alarm batteries when we turn our clocks back although not you qld'ers.

well the mortgage broker guy will be here in a minute. hope i don't fall asleep at the table. zzzzzzzzzzzz
cassi8
laughing2.gif Ali, go and get the coffee going! One advantage I guess to being in the industry is that you know whats around most of the time. I'm in line for a few discounts as well when we get the mortgage for the house! wink.gif
tweedy08
Afternoon girls,

I am so exhausted atm. I am getting by on about 2-3 hours sleep over the last week & right now I am so tired I could jsut cry. Matilda is refusing her day sleeps and it seems to be a habit forming as this is the 4th time this week she hasnt gone down. She gets put in her cot & once her bottle is empty she decides it fun to throw bear out onto the floor.

I think it is just all catching up on me & im not coping. My head feels like there is a little person in there with a hammer. I cant do this anymore. I cant study & be a mum. It isnt working for me sad.gif Not when I have days starting at 5.30am and continuing until after 7pm at night. Then I have to sit up till at least midnight to get things done. Matilda is a terror and a handful. Yes I know she is a toddler but surely they have to have some grasp of what no means.......all day its Matilda dont touch that, matilda no, matilda get off there. I cant childproof anymore unless I completely empty the loungeroom out.

Anyways just wanted to see how you all were. Blondie, please dont stress sweetie. I agree with what was mentioned about getting an earlier appointment just to put your mind at ease. It is terrible that once you suffer one loss the whole innocence of pregnancy is gone and no longer enjoyable as it should be. Take care of yourself.

Cant remember much else that has happened as everything I read seems to just go in one ear & out the other.

Take care all
bellygood
Tweedy it's not just Tilly getting into mischief, believe me! Hats off to you for studying and parenting: both are hard gigs! Lack of sleep must be like the straw breaking the camel's back.

Blondie
my m/s was on and off, bad one day gone for few days, light for a few days. You have none of the symptoms of your last m/c so no concrete reason to worry, though I can 100% understand the stress. These last few days might drag by a bit - my tactic would be to keep busy if you can and not spend too much time alone conjuring up all the scary scenarios. FWIW I don't know anyone to have two similar miscarriages, though I've known plenty of people to suffer one and then go on with a normal (but stressful) PG soon after.

Girls I know this isn't a commendable question from a PG laydee like myself, but is there such thing as a drinkable (sweetish) cask wine? Am going to a BBQ tomorrow and was thinking of taking a cask along... but don't know which are drinkable or not.

ETA I will of course be having just one small tipple, not the whole cask! It's for rest of the guests.
Bel Rowley
Bellygood I'm going to be a snob and say no. I would take a reasonably priced bottle rather than a cask. I'm also not a fan of sweet wines (unless they are dessert wines and drunk as an after dinner drink) so perhaps I'm not the best person to ask. The thought of a cask of something like a Lexia makes me sick.gif.

Tweedy hhugs.gif I know what you're going through, I struggle juggling Claudia and study too. Not just the getting into everything but the constant removal of the nappy. Is it helping getting the break when she's at childcare? I wouldn't give up on your study yet before you've had a chance to settle in and get used to it, it's always hard trying to fit something new into your day.
tweedy08
I look forward to that one day a week she is in daycare as horrible as that sounds but lately that day has been spent trying to get this house in a bit of order. I would put her in a second day but I dont think I can stretch things out that far. Not now that after next pay we will lose Steph off our FTB. Well the full rate anyhow so thats a drop of like $150 a fortnight coming into our house & she is not able to get any form of youth allowance (although I hear that is changing come July). I am just exhuasted both physically & mentally. I really need a break but as a parent you dont get one of those. I am even having issues with not eldest DD but next one down, who has picked up the most attrocious attitude! I am sick of being told to deal with it from her!! DH has come down on her like a tonne of bricks though as he doesnt approve of her talking like that to anyone especially her parents! Then Tilly into everything.....

something has got to give & im scared its going to be me who passes out from shear exhaustion. Hubby said that on Sunday he will let me sleep in.....I just laughed & said...yeah as if that will happen...you dont hear Tilly at the best of times!

I think ill put all study away this evening and go to bed when Tilly does. The tribe can fend for themselves for a change!
cassi8
sounds like a plan tweedy! original.gif give yourself one night where you look after yourself. I can only imagine how hard it is to study and be a mum, I am having enough trouble with my helper packing rolleyes.gif

BG - There are some nice sweet casks around, Brown Brothers make some nice sweet wine, not sure if they do casks though.. I'd go for the higher end of the cask market though so you don't get a cheap one.

Blondie - I like sweet wine but you can keep the Lexia! Tounge1.gif
littlemumma
Blondi - bbighug.gif I know it is hard but hang in there, only 5 more sleeps and I am positive you will see that little heart beating away at you. MS does come and go...I distinctly remember being worried with both my pregancies that it disappeared and then about a week later it was back with a vegence.

BG - I don't know of any sweet cask wines at all, I'm not really familiar with the cask wines, only bottle. Brown Brothers has a great sweetish wine but thats in the bottle.

tweedy - hang in there with the study, would be ashame to give up so soon. As for Matilda, it is normal toddler behaviour so I don't think there is alot you can do there....yes they do understand no but they often don't care...have you tried a 'thinking spot' or similar...might be a bit young though.

Sharon - what a good girl Holli was to go back to sleep. Enjoy your Easter party in peace, sounds like a great idea.

triny - hope miss J does the same and goes back for her nap also...I hoped the chocolate helped with the tearyness, it always helps me.

cassi - can't believe the vandalisim, shocking behaviour, just terrible. Makes my blood boil.

ali - so what is your weekly budget now, sorry if you have already said. What kind of things are you doing to cut down the outgoings?

beagle - I also love the Humpty Dumpty egg....we gave Kai that last year....do you think I should get it again or something different???

better get back to the littleman
trinyweeny
Unfortunately J didn't go back to sleep but did have 30mins quiet time which has improved her mood.

BG - I'm a bit like Blondie no good wine comes in a cask.

Tweedy - I do agree with others. try and hang in there for a little while longer with the study. However I agree it must be exhausting.
cassi8
naww.. I just sneezed and got a "bless you" back wub.gif

Awake after about 3.5 hours sleep.
tweedy08
blondie - Tilly has just started to take her nappy off too. today when she was meant to be going to sleep she decided that taking her nappy off & peeing at the end of the cot was more fun! I am not impressed! She doesnt undo her side snaps but it seems her ittsi & abbygros are now going to be almost a thing of the past sad.gif Saddens me since they make up the bulk part of her stash!

Might go back & have a look at some of the suggestions that were made to you!
~Elliesmum~
hey ladies, just a quick one - if anyone wants any sleeping bags 000-18 months or boys clothes sz 4-8, maternity sz 18 etc, and baby girl stuff, I'm about to spend the night listing on ebay. wink.gif oh theres an easysuit in there too Blondie if you still need any?
seepi
Elliesmum - I am always interested in sleeping bags. I'm looking for a grobag 1 tog, 6-18 months at the moment. soon i wil have the world's biggest collection of sleeping bags we have so many.

Tweedy - I am so tired I can hardly make sense too. One more week of full time work for me, and then i get to rest!! II hope so anyway. Take hubby up on the sleepin on Saturday. Even if you have to wake him up to go to tily, then you go back to sleep = or just rest.

Blondi - I'm sure things are fine. It is so hard not to worry though. I did well this time around by not realising I was pregnant, and missing most of the first stressful bit. I would honestly stay away from the new DIG in the early days too. too much bad news, and it just makes you worry I think. Often MS just relates to what you've been eating. Take some pregnancy vitamins and eat something sickly sweet and you are bound to feel vile (if you really want the MS back!!)

Littlemumma - so sorry about your trials with poor little Max. Here's hoping he improves a lot from here. Medical places can be so frustrating at the best of times.

We had a shocker night last night. DD wet the bed (through a pull-up!), after a whole week of completely dry nights. And Jasper screamed between 5 and 6 AM. It was actually DP who got up with them, but I was still awake. I was soooo tired at work today. I still got a few things done though. 4 more days to go!!!

TWeedy - I am aiming for a sleep in tomorrow too = here's hoping we both get one!!!!

~Elliesmum~
I'm procrastinating aren't I lol. I did want to pop in and catch up with todays chat though.

Yep I'm in the tired basket too, though its mostly self inflicted, see FB status rolleyes.gif problem is I do it all the time and then expect to get up at 6 or 7am. Can't wait for DLS to finish and regain an hour, although K won't care and will be up at the same time lol

mmm wine I could do with one of those! not fussed on the white I have in the fridge but theres a nice annies lane red or something around lol.

seepi- gosh you must be tired working, night wakings and pregnant! hope it comes quickly for you, I couldn't wait to finish work biggrin.gif will pm you, but genuine grobag I only have one of, and it was from the TR and is 2.5tog, I have a mix of PP and bonds mostly.

Blondie, hoping the MS comes back with a vengeance, am sure it will all be fine but hope you can stop stressing sad.gif is there any chance you can get in sooner to ease your mind? My morning sickness did get better early, and just before 10 weeks it was gone altogether. Sending you bbighug.gif

cassi- awww tooo cute!! he's really starting to talk a lot original.gif unbelievable what happened to your fence, so you are moving? and selling?

littlemumma- hope max gets all better soon

oh I can't be stuffed ebaying tonight. I should do dads bookwork which would earn me more money anyway, but I might just go catch up on biggest loser hehe
bellygood
Blondie what's wrong with a nooice cold glass of fruity lexia with a few ice cubes clinking around in it while I watch A Current Affair with rollers in my hair? No I can't stand it either... brings back some dim memory of a horrible hangover when I was about 18...

Brown brothers I think it's crouchon reisling people refer to it, it's a lovely super-sweet wine (bit like Zibobo). I really like kir royale, must be the seedy 70s porn star in me. Saw a bottle of cassis today and thought hmm can a PG woman buy grog? Come to think of it: perhaps the answer to the cheap wine in cask thing is to: add cassis! I'm really not a wine afficionado, I know enough to say 'nooice!' or 'paint thinner!' but no more.

Seepi you poor thing, hope you get that sleep in tomorrow - it's awful how you wake up to their screaming even if DH takes care of it.

Meljas here's a way to practice your German - read up on this bizarre family holiday park built at a defunct nuclear power plant:
http://www.wunderland-kalkar.de/ws/homepage.asp
A colleague went here once for a holiday with his family... and loved it! It fascinates me to this day...

ETA I forgot to mention the whole reason I posted! My $6 Friday night dinner for everyone except Cassi (sour cream mentioned!):

Four sebago potatoes (big buggers) $2
Pack of coleslaw (half price) $2.5
Sour cream $1.5

Added some grated cheese and baked beans from the pantry = baked potatoes! DH loved them, Ivy also wolfed hers down (she got the 'caps' that I cut off mine and DH potato, along with a little bit of scooped out flesh. I know the coleslaw is meant to be a no-no but I couldn't resisT
cassi8
some positive news out of this week at last! DH went and spoke to one of the neighbours, we had a tip off that he was wanting to buy. He was going to chat with his wife but he sounded genuinely interested so fingers crossed we can avoid those nasty estate agents!
Down side to it though, DH said their place is immaculate so if he is coming to have a look here we have ALOT of work to do! Thankfully Sunday had already been set aside for packing/cleaning day so its going to be nuts here..

Elliesmum - he doesn't shut up! laughing2.gif whats dis? in dere..(in there) boots?? (books) read it, so many words its just not funny! Yes selling and moving ASAP! I'm dreaming of backyards, storage space and peace and quiet! original.gif
~Elliesmum~
awww too cute what a clever boy he is, great news on the buyer front, I hope they are REALLY keen original.gif

hehe yes I'm still procrastinating!
trinyweeny
Cassi - Storage space I also dream of. The only problem is I think I will be dreaming for a long time. This house is never going to be built. Turns out the people who are supposed to be supplying the fill have not got council approval to move the stuff yet. rant.gif rant.gif

Seepi - I'm exhausted thinking about it.

Back from dinner and put a very tired baby to bed. Think I'll head to bed myself.
alimumof3
hi

just got back from doing the food shopping, my sister came and sat with the kids (asleep) while we nipped to woolies to do the shopping as we needed easter eggs and I didnt want DD to see them! so now i'm eating some M&M's. (they're on special!!)
we went $20 over budget this week, but i knew with easter eggs we would go over, so will make sure we spend 20 less next week. littlemumma we;re aiming for $170 week groceries and $30 fruit and veg. so some weeks we could be well under, but this week i had to get oliver some nappies for night time which was huggies (those bags) 2 for $22.

the mortgage broker was here for 3 HOURS!! i managed to stay awake (yes cassi we made a pot of coffee) and looks like he has worked out we can save $300 ish dollars a month if we go with a different provider. YAY. that will be soooooooo helpful. prob is it will take about 4-6 wks for all the paperwork to be completed etc etc.

seepi i bet you cannot wait to start M/L. bring on 5pm thursday..

ellies good luck with listing everything on ebay. hope you can make some $. so by selling the maternity clothes - does that mean no more babies??

cassi ooo fingers crossed your neighbour is interested in your place!

triny bloody hell it does seem like its never going to happen! grrr. there is always something holding something up when you build isnt there.
~Elliesmum~
Ali, I don't know about more, wavering atm- but I'm decluttering really wink.gif our house is tiny and I'm not selling all of the maternity, and some were too big the whole way through last time lol. So might as well sell them! I remember going to work and my skirt falling down all day, I had to keep pulling it up! it was a PP maternity skirt, I never did grow into it lol. Great news on the mortgage biggrin.gif hope it goes through smoothly and quickly!

triny hope the delays stop for you and your house gets started!

we have ZERO storage here rolleyes.gif less than in our last 2 bed unit! The RE on their last inspection said we had too much stuff sad.gif

I've been good, no listing on ebay but did finish dads books! woohooo!! I hate bookwork LOL And his are particuarly unorganised rolleyes.gif But have done as much as I think I can. Hope to send it all to him tomorrow and not have to do it again for a very long time or ever biggrin.gif he should pay me too.

still have to do ebay, might put it off until next week actually, too much stuffing around and I want to get creative instead cool.gif
Bel Rowley
Finally Claudia was a good girl and slept through last night! She and DH are at swimming now. So looking forward to dropping her at the in-laws' this arvo. I only made it to half time of the footy last night even though my Bombers were actually doing pretty well against Geelong, I knew we'd end up losing.

Elliesmum - what size is your easysuit?

Seepi - You are lucky not finding out until later, sometimes I really wish I could've found out at about 10 weeks. You are right about the DIG too, I'm taking a little break because some of the girls are driving me a bit crazy wanting to go back for more scans and more blood tests every 2 days.

Bellygood - laughing2.gif at the thought of you watching ACA with your rollers in. I love kir royales too, and of course pregnant women can buy grog wink.gif. I remember feeling the same as you when I was 8 months pregnant with Claudia, we were at the liquor store and I bought a case of champagne for my baby shower. I was so worried everyone was judging me.

Cassi - great news about the potential buyer! I wouldn't worry too much about having the place immaculate, I'm sure these neat freaks will be able to picture your place scrubbed up to their standards wink.gif.

Ali - $300/month saving will be great! Grocery budget - I think I'm weird because after reading a thread in Miscellaneous I've discovered we spend way less on groceries than most people. Never more than $100/week and that's including disposable nappies. I guess we are good tight arses Tounge1.gif.

Probably won't be back today so have a great weekend everyone.
bellygood
Ivy woke up for a little chat at 3am but settled again quickly. The trick is to keep it all very low key, I took her out of her cot and tidied her bedding, sat with her in the (dark) lounge room, gave her a sip of milk and put her back down after 10 m. She jibber jabbered away a bit but was happy to be cuddled. Much as this is a tiring age because of the clinginess, it's also so delightful - I really look forward to her eg waking from her nap in the afternoon because I miss her after a few hours! Life would be pretty dull without a toddler driving us crazy!

She is with DH this morning, I am simply counting the minutes til 8.30am when my cafe opens (how late is that? Too late for coffee addicts) then I'm outta here for a few hours.

Read/speed read 'Thirty something and over it' last night: if I lose interest in a book (as I did with this one after two or three chapters) I just skim the rest, I don't even read it. It's about (spoiler alert) some bird who has worked herself up into a good position in the career ladder, wakes up and feels over it, talks to several dull friends/acquaintances about whether they are also over it, does a meditation course, decides to work part time and one day have a baby. The only interesting thing is that for the few chapters I read, we had a lot in common (type of study, type of work, going overseas etc). But what took her a whole 20 years to realize, Bellygood realized on day 1 of working on the Coles Supermarket checkout at 15: work is alright for the money, provides a certain degree of fulfilment (IF you are in the right job) but it sucks up your whole day/time and you are forced to fraternize with varying ratios of nice people vs idiots.
~Elliesmum~
LOL Bellygood! love the speed reading original.gif Not the most exciting book I imagine! I'm more into Matthew Reilly or Patricia Cornwell type books myself, but haven't read for years. Plus I think I've softened too much, don't know if I can cope with murders or high speed action anymore LOL

Enjoy your coffee, sounds like a brilliant plan to me, I wouldn't mind doing that myself.

Been out and picked up ds from a sleepover, he's shattered hehe. Hoping to do some dyeing today when K goes down for a sleep. Glad I got that bookwork done as its been guilting me out from doing anything fun Tounge1.gif
Bel Rowley
Girls if you want to hear about some heavy reading - I'm almost finished Cormac McCarthy's No Country For Old Men, which the movie was based on. If anything I'm finding it more disturbing in print!
Sccary
what a shocker of a night. yyawn.gif went to friends for dinner so home at 8am and into bed for kids BUT velvet woke at 12:00 and did not resettle. Gave her milk and cuddles and I was up sooo many times to her I lost count. I put her to bed with us (a very first as I HATE co-sleeping) she snoozed on and off for 2 hours, I got fed up and put her in her cot, cried again ddoh.gif gave her nurofen and left her and she slept 3am to 5:30am then up rant.gif little bugger
So I am shattered.

Read yesterday but couldn't be botthered posting blush.gif

CASSI: So sorry about the break in, hope you can sell to your neighbour an dmove soon.

BLONDIE: How on earth do you ONLY spend $100/pw ????? We spend close to $300 some times more oomg.gif
Granted I buy pull ups for DD1 and coke for DH but still my fresh fruit/veg would be $35 and then if I buy meat that would be easily $60. How on earth do you do it? I also bake each week so always need flours/icing sugar or the likes which adds up.

WINE/Cask: Brown brothers crouchen reiseling is nice but Very sweet. I like Yellowglen 'BELLA' pink champagne for a sweetish alternative about $15

TWEEDY: Don't fool yourself Tilly is not the only one being a menace. Velvete climbs everything and is obsesed with toothbrushes and toothpaste I have to hide them. She gets into the fridge and freezer to get icypoles/cheese/fruit andything she likes glare.gif She has a hot little temper and screams blue murder if you say NO and she wants to do or get something. SO you are not alone. I ignore the behaviour and just say no and take things off her (let her scream and learn I say) but it is hard and days I want to sell her on Ebay! Hang in there. I would suggest childproofing everything you can in the lounge, I know I have, boxes up high of DVDs etc now.

BELLYG: Yo always make me laugh tongue.gif thanks!

ALI: Great work on the shopping enjoy those m'ms I am still in denial about putting on 1.5kgs since my thyroid levels are out of wack, I want to start CASSI's optifast but worried I won't stik to it before easter so might wait until after next weekend.

BEAGLE: I forgot to say I am glad your mum can come back (thank god for mum's) and DH is going well. So sorry DS is doin git hard, just remember kids 'deal' in different ways

ELLANGEL: hope you are well and going to enjoy tongiht. You deserve it. My DH just informed me he is away for a car rally for a week in 2 weeks time so I will be home alone mummy too!

DRESS-UPS: Any of your little ones into this? Velvet is obsesed. Anychance she gets she is putting on 'fairy sparkle shoes' of DD although way too big laugh.gif and tutu's and fairy dresses and skirts. SHe just loves dressing up. DD1 was much older when she started this.

SYDNEY GIRLS (I think it was bellyg or KM) KARUNA HEALTH CARE
Sydney's ear clinic. anyone know of someone who has attended for ear infections? DD has another perforated ear and infection and it is only grommetts for the 3rd time in ENT opinion. DH and I got the info one of you sent me but would like to know if it is worth the air flights and cost to go over to Sydney to try it? (expensive from Perth) they do phone consultations but told me best to come over so they can assess her properly. HELP PLEASE!

ok dishes calling and a shower.
Have a great weekend
bellygood
Sorry Sarina I'm not in Sydney so can't help. Odd that Velvet didn't resettle? Any obvious reason? Hope tonight she gives you a good sleep. I've been naughty, staying up til 11pm *hoping* that Ivy never has a truly bad night. So far it's just been a few once-off wake-ups at 3am... but I really should get to bed earlier.

Blondie we loved the film, don't know if I could tackle the book though. Does it have this classic 'I got here the same way the quarter did' line in it? Isn't Penelope Cruz now dating hte actor who played the assassin?
melaniejasmin
afternoon,

Ali - MnMs are on sale!!? that's great! I best get some tomorrow. though I am having a little bit of a jelly bean thing at the moment.

Sarina - I'm in Syd, but havent heard about the ear clinic. not sure if there is anything I can do, as going in probably doesnt help much, I dont know anyone who has gone there either. maybe put a post in EB health or kids forum? Sorry to hear that V had a terrible night. hope tonight is better so you can get some sleep!

BG - fun park looks interesting.... happy.gif I probably wont be going. they have lots of funny parks in Germany. they also have this massive indoor waterslide/ tropical park in the east that is totally indoors but is massive (bigger than an aerodrome) also very expensive, but you know those Germans love their sun - even if it's fake!

I havent read the whole thread blush.gif but posting anyway.
DH has gone to a conference for a few hours. he is also going to it again tomorrow morning. what a stupid time for a conference!

my cold is still here and I have a very blocked ear. It's terribly annoying. BBL
Sccary
it's lonely in here today ddown.gif

I have rash all over my face and it hurts (from a facial on thursday, bad reaction to the peel they used cry1.gif) and I am house bound......
cassi8
sad.gif Sounds awful Sarina! Good idea waiting for after Easter to start on any type of diet! wink.gif no idea how I am going to go although I am going to be kind and have a few treats next weekend. I hope you have a better night tonight!

I've been out literately all day and now exhausted! Started with swimming and then had to pick up the photos and do some shopping, met a friend and spent longer looking than I really should have. Didn't get home until 6ish!

Blondie - I have seen the easy suits in Woolies of late so maybe check Safeway, I haven't seen them anywhere else for ages! If all else fails I can grab some and send them down for you original.gif

Robyn - what did you end up dyeing?? I wanna see Tounge1.gif

Well I have mum and dad visiting tomorrow and they have offered to help us clean and pack. Hopefully we will be able to get heaps done tomorrow and the place will look great! original.gif

Off to have a good look at my photos and I'll see if I can upload some. biggrin.gif
~Elliesmum~
Cassi, I had FUN! lol

I ventured out a bit and did some experimenting, a couple of different techniques original.gif they are in the washing machine now and I'm tempted to put them in the dryer to help set them and dry them quicker so I can see what they are like when they dry biggrin.gif

Ben was sooo tired tonight after last nights sleepover hehe. He was up until 1am. Looked in just after 8 and he was sound asleep with the book still in his hand.

enjoy your visit with mum and dad Cassi original.gif

Sarina- hope you can get some answers, my stepbrother had a long running saga with grommits, didn't end well unfortunately
cassi8
I've just popped some of the pics up onto FB, you girls that have it will have to help me pick which ones to upload here for everyone to see! original.gif

Night all!
~Elliesmum~
sorry Cassi I love them all lol. What a cutie. I wish we had some proper photos, we should soon now that K is getting older
alimumof3
hi all

we had a good day today, went to an adventure playground thing this morning which the kids really enjoyed. then took them to maccas for an ice cream. Then i caught up with my neighbour for a coffee, and now we've just finished watcfhing "shutter island". bit creepy!

sarina sorry to hear about your bad night last night. hope tonight is better.

blondie yes i remember you saying your shopping was very cheap. i think you said you get a lot of things from markets? we dont really have anything like that around where we live.

cassi going to have a look on FB in a sec.

ellies sounds like you really enjoy your dyeing!
cute about DS falling asleep with his book in his hand.
beaglebaby
Sarina, what a horror night. Not sure about the ear clinic, but you must be getting very frustrated with what you're being offered here, what other treatment options are there? Be kind to yourself, don't start any drastic dieting until you know why your thyroid levels are out of whack, or at least until they're right.

Cassi, I'll second whoever said not to try to make your place spotless, if it is neighbours they'll already have a good idea of the layout and sizes of rooms and will understand that you're packing etc, I'm sure they'll be keen to avoid agents too.

Blondie, I discovered why there aren't many Easysuits around, Bonds have a new "roomy" suit out, similar design, just looser. I bought Lucas a 2 as his size 1 wondersuits are tight, but the 2 is huge! It did stay on all night though tthumbs.gif I can't believe how low your grocery bill is, you obviously have way more self control than me!

Elliesmum, look forward to hearing how the dyeing went. DS is at his first ever sleepover tonight, he didn't ring to say goodnight but I'm sure he's having a great time.

Lucas has started opening our doors, so he can now get to all the things he shouldn't be touching like the other kids lego etc. He also climbed onto the dining table, and took a pile of his clean clothes and threw them in the bathroom basin. Cheeky Monkey!

Can't remember much else and should be in bed, need to leave early tomorrow to pick DS up and take him to his Auskick "meet the coach" morning. Hopefully he's going to be a happier kid after his sleepover, plus we discovered one of his problems at school was that the kid next to him was frustrating him so the teacher has offered he can move to anywhere he likes, and today he got moved up into the 8-12 tennis coaching group - even though he's only 6 and has only done 2 terms.
bellygood
Blondie I'm also curious how you do it! We do one major shop of $80-90, but through the week I'd top up with about $40, so we never stay under $100. And if it's 'nappy week' then we go way up - add $70 say. I have a heap of mates who buy 'half a beast' eg hundreds of kilos of beef. they reckon it averages about $6/kg, from mince through to rib fillet, but you need a huge freezer to accomodate all that meat. Plus, the butcher slices it for you, probably into big slabs, whereas I prefer to buy a whole rib fillet and ask for it to be sliced thinly so it goes further.

Had a playgroup BBQ last night, very disappointing, only 4 families showed up. On the other hand it turned out to be a really nice evening and the kids were all great. Ivy conked out straight away but woke for about 10 m at 11pm, another 10 m at 2am, and then again at 5am. I took her into bed then, ALWAYS a mistake... she jibbered away till about 6am, slept til about 7am, then got up and wandered around the house. Just now a huge poo has emerged, I reckon that's what unsettled her because she's not unwell.

Not sure what I'm up to today, will think about it once I'm fuelled by hot java. DH is sailing so might drive out for a few hours there, come home for Ivy's nap (and a heap of work I have to finish), perhaps another short trip out and then mum's dropping by and we're going to see a matinee session of a local play. Lamb chops and potato salad for dinner... made the potato salad for the BBQ and have about half left. It's from bestrecipes.com.au, I find their recipes more 'realistic' than say taste.com.au (persian fairyfloss? sumac? what language are these people talking?).

Quick Q: what would your 'perfect day' (realistically, in our situation now being SAHM or WOHMs)? Read a blog from someone who described his perfect day and it was pretty cool - he's a stay at home dad/writer and did his work at sparrow fart so he was free from 2pm onwards, somehow managing two young kids whilst working (don't know quite how that works). Enthused by this I wrote out my perfect day (he suggests you write it out as a text) but I was pretty surprised how much of it eg 8am - 11am, 1pm - 4pm, 6pm - 8pm is out of my hands and in the hands of my little tyrant!
melaniejasmin
No one has psoted all day! are you people all DOING things?! terrible....

sitting in the dark as the light has blown...

We probably spend about $120-30 per week on food. we do buy alot of speciality asian and middle eastern foods though.... and generally are gluttons...!

BG - glad that your BBQ went well. pity not more people came sad.gif

Off to eat some cake. made a orange and poppy seed cake today (I was going ot make hot cross buns, but we are out of sultanas). and have made an Indian Korna for dinner. very happy with moyself original.gif

See you tomorrow!
ellangel
I am home from my weekend up at my parents. It was truly lovely and the girls were perfect.

I am on ebay. That changetable/chest of drawers I paid $20 for at a garage sale is up to $87 with 3 hours to go!! BERRY exciting!~!!!
alimumof3
i've been checking a few times today but didn't have anything exciting to say.

sharon wowzers! wonder what it will go for in the end. i might have a sticky beak on ebay and have a looksie...(if i can find it!)

meljas we're having butter chicken for dinner mmmm.
i'm going to make some vegemite scrolls later too.

ummm what else? nothing really.
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.