The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: September 08 Parents #161

Pages: 1, 2, 3
ellangel
search chest of drawers ...you should see it. Is white with fairy knobs
beaglebaby
2 hours to go and up to $88 Ellangel, that is great!

Bellygood, my perfect day would be more like going out for an enjoyable time with the kids and coming home to find the house spotless!!

Nothing much going on here, DS is exhausted from his sleepover and has slept all afternoon, Lucas and DD are out in the garden with Daddy, and dinner will be cooked on the BBQ, steak and wedges, as the oven STILL isn't fixed.

Oops, got called outside an hour ago and never pressed post!
cassi8
evening all!

Phew! What a day! Mum and dad turned up at about 9 after they said they wouldn't be here until 11 and we have so many boxes packed its just not funny. The hall is half full, the bedroom has then stacked in the corners, what a productive day! We seemed to make more mess than clean up but it was very productive. Dad helped DH (or maybe the other way around) put up a curtain rod to finish the bedroom, just needs curtains now, re silicone the bathroom and kitchen where needed and a few other odds and ends mum and I spend most of the time packing. N was a good little man although is running another fever so will have to be back to the Drs tomorrow I think.

Good luck with the drawers Sharon! I'm glad you were able to have a nice weekend up at your mum and dads, sounds like you needed it! original.gif

Beagle - what a cheeky monkey! I'm not going to make the place spotless just do things that should have already been done, like dust and put things away! wink.gif

I might go to bed I think, I am exhausted!

ellangel
my perfect day would be more like going out for an enjoyable time with the kids and coming home to find the house spotless!!
LOL Beagle!! I dont know if it would be my perfect day as such, but mine would be the other way round. Someone else take the kids out for the day while 'I' stayed home to clean in peace!! LOL

It is up to $107! OMG! Seriously thinking of ducking to garage sales the weekends DH is back and getting cheapie bargains on things I know would sell for more on ebay. It is exciting!! I got a lovely dark 4 shelf bookcase for DD1 to match her bed for $82 so that will pay for that.

Cassi - wow!~!~ Cardboard city at your place~! Sorry N is still not well.

Holli and I are both having our swine flu shots tomorrow.

4 sleeps to go....I will seriously cry when I see my DH!!! Holli will run away I think and Ella...well, who knows what that unpredictable child will do
cassi8
cclap.gif Sharon, well done!

Yep cardboard city alright. A heap of it will be shipped off to the ILs on the weekend so that will free up some space. I need to get more boxes though, hoping BIL has saved all his boxes from moving in the last few weeks. I am still trying to get N's flu and chicken pox vax, he just hasn't been well enough! sad.gif
ellangel
now $121!!
alimumof3
whtat did it end up gonig for sharon? scuse typos. can;'t be bothered going back and changing it.

veg scrolls were a bit ho hum. think i needed to roll the dough out a bit thinner..too much dough.

yawn i am ready for bed.
night
beaglebaby
Still has 20min Ali and is at $121! Great result Ellangel. It can be a bit hit and miss on there though, so glad it's someone I know having some luck!

Nearly bed time. I saw the "have you got a favourite child" thread and resisted from posting, I think mine is whichever one is asleep at the time!!!
ellangel
$123.50!!! it sold for! ddance.gif ddance.gif ddance.gif
Off to bed to dream of garage sale bargains now....
~Elliesmum~
Awesome ellangel! well done on your sale!

I need to get listing lol, I have ds's DS up there but have about 50 other things to list rolleyes.gif downloaded the turbo lister and it looks alright I guess...

better get bub up, kids have gone to school and shes chatting in her cot hehe.

btw- is anyone else still giving a bottle, its habit now, she doesn't need it wink.gif just one first thing and one at night, she definitely doesn't need the first one lol
Bel Rowley
Sharon you entrepreneur you! How exciting!

How is everyone? I'm sorry I can't be bothered reading all the posts I missed. I'm so tired I just want to curl up into a ball and disappear. The party was fun on Saturday night, my sister's future in-laws' place was a perfect venue and it was a beautiful warm night. Of course it only took 5 minutes for a family friend to give me a knowing look and say "You're drinking lemonade". I then sat on a glass of champagne for about 2 hours to try to hold the rumours at bay but I don't think I was fooling anyone laughing2.gif. Claudia was good for her grandparents, other than getting them up at 5:45 yesterday morning. Unfortunately I really got punished last night. I reckon I got maybe 4 hours of sleep total. I have so much work to do the next few days and I don't know how I'll find the energy ddown.gif especially when I'm still thinking nonstop about my appointment on Wednesday, only 2 days to go!

Elliesmum - no bottles here, but Claudia has never had bottles, she does still have a BF in the morning. She has a cup of milk in the afternoon and before bed. My mothers group friends that switched to bottles before 12 months are all still giving bottles.
melaniejasmin
bottles - Alexander is also still ahve 2 bottles a day, though sometimes his milk is in a sippy cup. I'm weaning him from them this week, as he has been sick I've let him have them as it's a comfort thing I think (much like BF). I also want to TT him in the next week or two, when I have the time (so not right now as esay due in soon ffear.gif )

Glad you had a nice night at the engagement party, Blondie! I would have taken the champagne straight away to make sure people saw me with it!

Ellangel - well done on your sale! what a mark up! dont tell them what you originally paid when they come to pick it up!

BBL, have to get ready for the day!
~Elliesmum~
Oh good to know she's not the only one! Yes I was just thinking this morning that she is really getting attached to it, the longer they have them for the harder it is to get them off it. But she loves it so much sad.gif Ellie practically weaned herself right off milk at 12 months as she just didn't like it. I think she probably would have gone well on A2 milk too but it wasn't really around then.

I might start by cutting her volume down and making it colder, we still warm it a touch but she'll happily drink cold milk from a cup.

meljas- good luck with the TT, I don't want to go there yet, traumatised by the last two haha.

Blondie- I hope you get some rest and can destress about waiting for the appointment

so naughty I never get on the puter in the morning this early, better get off, I feel sooo unmotivated now
alimumof3
just quickly while kids drawing,
oliver still has 2 bottles a day. one before arvo sleep and one before bed at night. he was having one in the morning until a couple of wks ago, but i started putting it into a cup with a straw and he wont have a bar of it!! happy.gif so obviously he didn't need it, just habit.
i'm in no rush to lose the other two. DD was still having bottles til a lot later than 18mths. i dont see the big deal, its only a vessicle for drinking milk. not like they walk around with it in their mouths all day or go to bed with a bottle.

well done sharon! that is a great result.

blondie hope you can get some rest today. I felt very ordinary sun morning and still feeling a bit too tired to be bothered doing anything. nothing really planned anyway. going to catch up with neighbour either today or tom, although its hard to coordinate a time that fits in with my kids sleep and her DD's sleep.

we did some costings on the type of cubby we'd like to build and its about $600 which is money we don't have. the kids have money in their accounts we thought we'd use seeings its money from rellies from xmas, bdays etc. they normally say they would rather give money and we get them what they need/want rather than a whole lot of crapola. on one hand i dont think there is anything wrong with using their money (they'd still have money left in account) but on the other hand i'm not sure either..
i guess if we dint use their money then there would be no cubby house. i know they'd love it. they love the little one they have now which is out of plastic but i dont think 3 kids will fit in it very well.. its only short, whereas the one we want to build will be tall enough for us to stand in.

Oliver's telling me "mummy mummy i want poo poo". sigh. here we go again. i wish he'd just push push push!
ellangel
Yes, still bottles all the way here. 3 in fact. Have not cut out the lunch time one yet as its usually in the car on the way home from somewhere!
Wouldnt get my extra 20mins lie in and bed snuggles with her if she did not have a bottle in the morning!
Ella was about 2 when I took hers away.
I dont want her refusing her milk as she is petite enough right now.
Better go get this one to school! LOVE school!!
bellygood
Bottles Ivy gets a sippy cup with milk at two meals per day but I'd say she's only drinking (in total) about 1 - 1.5 cups of milk per day. She gets a sippy cup with dilute juice in between and seems to prefer that. She's porky as so I'm not worried about fattening her, also she has milk in her weetbix, one 'milky' dessert after dinner eg custard, and bits of cheese here and there so I'm sure she has enough calcium.

Ellangel well done! Lotsa moolah! And only a few sleeps before DH is home...

Blondie the perfect storm of PG fatigue + toddler fatigue + busy schedule + 12w scan stress! At least being busy will make the (awful) days fly by. Hope you get through today.

Ivy woke again last night, twice! What is going on! 'Cost' us only 10m or so each time but you still feel it in the morning. She's still asleep though, making up for lost time. Any ideas? She's doing a 2-3hr daytime nap - is that too long?

Got a heap of work plus housework to catch up on today plus want to take Ivy swimming or something nice... also want to figure out any Easter festivities + shop for them... not going to get lots of eggs or whatever but will get some nice breads or something.

Bel Rowley
Only 1 1/2 hours sleep from Claudia despite her being almost as exhausted as I am sad.gif. I have made some progress on my assignment but still not enough, I keep getting bogged down in the first bloody section.

Ali - I think the cubby is a great way to use the money you were given for the kids. It is something they will all appreciate, and I know when my grandma for instance gives me money for myself or Claudia she prefers to know it has been spent on something special rather than just sitting in the account. So I say go for it!

I just wanted to add on the bottle topic, sometimes it's a real pain that Claudia has her milk out of a cup, if I don't keep an eye on her she will sometimes tip it all out on the floor!

I've satisfied my #1 pregnancy craving today - sausage rolls. For weeks I've resisted them at the supermarket because they're never on sale and too expensive (one of the reasons my grocery bills are low, I virtually never buy frozen food) but finally caved this weekend. It was so good but I'm sure I'll have indigestion all afternoon.
laraq75
Elliesmum - we never did bottles here but Angus has two cups of milk a day still. Sometimes he only has one but he definitely likes one first thing in the morning. My DD had bottles until she was well past two so I wouldn't worry about the bottle too much.

Blondie - good on you for holding off on your craving. I really hope the appointment goes well on Wednesday.

MJ - good luck with the TT. You are a brave woman tackling it so young. Angus would have no idea.

Sharon - well done on the ebay sale.

Ali - i think the cubby house is a great way to spend the money.

Well Angus is full time walking at last. It is amazing how tired they get when they start walking all the time.

We are going to my IL's on wednesday until Monday which means once again i will be MIA.

hugs

Lara
littlemumma

Just quickly

Lara - well done to Angus walking cclap.gif

bottles - max has two, morning and night and at lunch he has a Dinkee cup with a straw. He sometimes has the morning milk in the dinkee cup also...I could probably go to one bottle (the night one) but I'm not fussed, doesn't worry me either way.

ali - yes yes yes go the cubby....DH would also like to do one for the kids but where not sure what sort...

Sharon - well done on the sale, I'm impressed.

blondi - well its good to keep people guessing anyway (re PG)

Max is alot better, no more pains (thank goodness)...but he is very cranky and snappy...think he is still catching up on sleep maybe or maybe he still feels a little off, who knows. I slept alot of the weekend away, was just so tired, mentally and physically but feeling pretty good again.

Hi to everyone else but have to run, will try to come back a little later tonight.
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.