The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: February 08 Parents # 73

babybump2
Hello Lovely Ladies...

sniff sniff splutter - aaaacccchhhooo.... urghh got a horrible head cold! blrrrrrrr...

but I am solidering on - even got in the pool for the kids swimming lessons this morning. DH is away this week and a nice new friend (a kinder Mum) invited us round for an early dinner tonight. So sweet! But I had to cancel as I don't think it would be nice me sneezing and spluttering everywhere.

Holly - would love to give some advice - however I have the BIGGEST MONKEY when it comes to bedtime. Urghhh exhausting. He seriously outlasts me some days. Good luck - hope it improves for you.

BEEEENNNNNTTTTYYY!!! Welcome back. Nice to see you hear again. Hopefully life is treating you well.

Well not much to report from me... have uploaded some shots from Miss Moo's birthday on the blog for anyone bored.

Hope everyone's week is going well

SuperKate
Benty you and i are about as slack as each other LOL

There is a bit to report here but as usual Miss Sophie has started just as i have sat down sad.gif Can someone please PM the blog link as i don't have it on the laptop and i will pop in there tonight and catch up properly in private original.gif

So glad things are still going well Amanda! Hi to everyone and i will be back in a bit lol
~Simply*Blue~
I've just posted on the blog...
tortagianduia
Oh my goodness, Rebecca! I have posted over on the blog. Thinking of you right now hhugs.gif.

Megan, I can understand how you feel. I don't drive either. Because I finish work at 10pm, DH comes and picks me up as I wouldn't like having to take public transport that late - hate the thought of just walking to the train station through the city at that time of night. Luckily I only work twice a week. But both nights are on days before DH has to work. Sometimes if I get out late, we don't get home until after 11pm, and then DH always had his alarm set for 4am on the mornings he works, so he is tired and grumpy. Then on the nights I don't work, he usually end up going to bed later than he'd like anyway, so he is still tired and grumpy the next day. It is hard. I am sure the testosterone injections aren't helping in Red's case. I don't really have any helpful suggestions, just sympathy.

Claire, how is your friend going now? I love the name Arabella wub.gif! How lovely! How is Tom going now with his solids? Do you think he prefers the yoghurt because it is sweet? You could perhaps try mixing some fruit / veg puree into the yoghurt and increasing the quantities gradually so there isn't so much yoghurt in it. Will he eat fruit purees? Maybe you could try combos like apple, pear and carrot together, and then start introducing other veg mixed with fruit and increase the veg quantity slowly. Or maybe give him some fruit / cooked veg as finger food if perhaps he will have a go at it himself? Great news about dropping the night feed tthumbs.gif!

Holly, how are you going? Where are the belly pics?!!! I hope Hudson is sleeping better for you. I don't really have any advice.

Sary, a very belated happy birthday for Miss Macy! Hope all your family is feeling better soon.

Ginny, how did your son go at the Anzac Day match?

Benty, nice to see you posting biggrin.gif !

Kate, good to see you in here too original.gif. I'm not sure if anyone has already PMd you, but I have just PMd you with the blog address in case no one else has had a chance to yet.

Everything is going well here. I got the results from the NT scan back last Thursday, and the adjusted risks for the various trisomies it can help detect were all lower than the risks based on my age, so that was good news. I don't think I would terminate if the baby was diagnosed with DS anyway, and considering how long it has taken me to get pg, I would not have had an amniocentesis if I had been considered high risk, because even a 1% risk of miscarriage afterwards is too high for me. But thankfully the news was good. I went to see my GP this week, and now have the referral for the morphology / anomaly scan for 18-20wks - not too far away!

What is everyone doing for Mothers' Day? I have to work in the afternoon, but in the morning we are meeting up with my ILs and going to the Qld Museum and having lunch before I head over to work. I haven't worked anything out with my mum yet as she has a baby shower to go to in the afternoon on Saturday, and is planning to have lunch with my brother on Sunday. Hopefully I can catch up with her for dinner on Saturday night.

Hope everyone is doing well!
moo~tickle
hey all
been super busy but good to see our newest bubbas are cooking away nicely original.gif
about the bedtime - madison is also a monkey and it has become a huge drawn out saga most nights. not sure what the answer is??

i am taking cameron to karitane on monday for a week residential stay hopeing to find some answers to his poor day sleeps and constant night waking. the down side is that he has had a cold the past week and the handbook says babies who are sick are not allowed. not sure what to do as i have taken a week off work, arranged care for maddie on the other days and have been hanging out for this. super stressed about it as i would hate to get sent home.

still on me - i am still plugging away with the weight watchers journey. have lost a total of 32kg so far. ill try get a before/after pic happening on the blog soon along with some new pics of the crazy kids.

hope all is well
brooke
tortagianduia
Happy Mothers' Day!!! biggrin.gif

Have a lovely day everyone! Unfortunately I am supposed to be working this afternoon. I am going to call shortly and see if there is any chance I might not be needed, as that would just make things easier. We are meeting my MIL and FIL in the city to go to the museum and have lunch, so I'll have to take my work bag and uniform in and drop it off at work because DH is insisting we take the train in, and I don't want to be lugging all that around with me.

Brooke, that is amazing weight loss!!! You are so disciplined. I am going back on WW once I have had this baby - it is the best thing, I think, so much more flexible than other weight loss programs. You must be feeling fantastic! Hope Cameron is feeling well enough to go to the residential stay considering everything is organised with your work and Maddy's care.

Have a great day, everyone!
BentyBaby
Happy Mothers Day Mummies! biggrin.gif

Look, I have no chance of catching up - but it seems we have a few bellies now ( i'm pretty sure I didn't miss any births Tounge1.gif )

Could someone be so kind to post those expecting for me, in the one post? TY!

Congratulations to all of you, and goog luck to those trying. *sigh* - I love being preggers wub.gif

ginnyk

Happy mothers day for yesterday! hope you all had a lovely day original.gif

We went to my parents for a bbq lunch, my DS played with his cousin all day, they are such good buddies - more like brothers than cousins!

Amanda, great news about the NT original.gif Its all going so fast now!! Thanks for asking, DS had an awesome time at the footy, didn't get a touch, but the kids were sooooooo cute running out onto the field with their little collingwood jumpers on blush.gif blush.gif

ginny
moo~tickle
big fizzer for us. went to karitane on monday and did all the orientation stuff. cameron was seen by paed at 6pm, told me he had bronchiolitis and we couldnt stay sad.gif very upset and disappointed. took cam to my own gp yesterday who said his chest was clear..... what can you do?
rebooked in for 31st may - it cant come soon enough sad.gif
mygorgeousboy
Oh Brooke, sorry to hear that. I did reply t you in the sleeping thread but i remember that when i took H to Tresillian he was also seen to by a Dr on our first day for a check up. I hope it all goes well on the 31st.

Benty, Nice to see you back. Your website looks amazing by the way. I bet you are extremely busy. As for those expecting....i am 24 weeks, due early Sept
Amanda is also expecting due November ( is that right Amanda?)
I'm sure there was someone else a while back, Tasha maybe????? shrug.gif

I had a great Mother's Day. We dorve to Kiama for a lovely picnic with some friends. Although H got a little car sick on the way there and so unfortunatley i spent the last half of the trip catching spew..So gross. poor little thing, i felt so bad. He doesn't normally get travel sickness but we drove some down really steep and curvy roads. sick.gif Anyway once we were there he was fine and had a great day.

Anyway hope you are all well. I check on here everyday and you guys are very quiet lately. huh.gif xox
~Simply*Blue~
I have just found out that another of my pregnant friends is having twins. So I have two friends both pregnant with twins due around the same time how crazy is that! Another friend from another DIG is due to have twins in 2 weeks as well original.gif

Glad it's not me wink.gif
claireabell
Sorry been MIA, so tired and can't get on top of it. Going to get my iron checked i think.

Rebecca I just responded on the blog - sorry so late.

Incredible about all the twins, seems to be happening to so many people lately. And yes, glad it's not me too. I can barely cope with singletons these days.

Benty and SNappy, good to see you back original.gif

Amanda great news about your low risk. Your pregnancy seems to be sailing by (well it is to me!). Are you tempted to find out the sex at all?

Thanks for the food advice too. We had success with fruit/vege combos (apple/pumpkin, sweet potato/pear etc) and this week have got him to eat just vege (although the sweet ones) and tonight he ate vege soup. He's lost weight - did i tell you guys that? and he's sick atm, and eczema is getting worse. i feel like i am doing the wrong thing by him at every turn. maybe if i had 10 children i would get it right by the last one.

My friend - she is withdrawing a bit sad.gif . But i spoke to ehr today and she said she is still in shock, but feeling a bit better. going to try to catch up with her on the weekend. my friends generally aren't in a good place ATM. 2 diagnosed with PND recently and another one i am sure has it too.

Brooke, oh you poor thing, how bloody frustrating. I wish I could FF to 31 May for you, and i hope Cam's health improves. DS was misdiagnosed with bronchiolitis a zillion times, wasn't until he had a chest xray that we were able to definitely rule it out.

have lost a total of 32kg so far.

that.is.incredible. give yourself a huge pat on the back from me. Seriously, very few people have that kind of willpower.

I'm sure there was someone else a while back, Tasha maybe?????

Yup, Tasha is also pregnant, as is Astro and did NataLeah say she was expecting again too? Come back girls.

Holly Kiama sounds great, i love it there. Poor little H though with the travel sickness sad.gif that is such a horrible feeling. we need a bump pic from you!

We had an eventful mothers day. Went to the park for a picnic and a play, and while DH was watching DD she felt into a pool of revolting, stagnant water - went all the way under. i was terrified, and so, so angry with DH. i cannot swim and am terrified of the water, and always fearful that my kids will drown. He was near her - about 2 metres away, but obviously not close enough. we 'had words' (well, i did).

DD's doing well, although has had a couple of night terrors and OMG that's the right name for them b/c they are bloody terrifying for all involved. She's cheeky as ever and getting right into fairytails ATM, esp 'goldiwocks' and the 3 bears and the gingerbread man. So tomorrow we're baking gingerbread men of our own - yum!

I have been so busy with the kids and then just collapsing into bed every night. Still managing to get some sewing done though, made DD a new winter coat which i am very happy with. Have to pack the machine away soon though as DH is going overseas and i will have very little down time with him not here to help.

so tired girls, gotta go to bed. x
mygorgeousboy
Here comes the weekend. YAY !

Rebecca, Wow alot of twins. When are you friends due? Do they know genders yet? I'm also glad its not me. wink.gif

Claire, How awful for Miss E to fall into that water. I would have also been terrified and i'm sure i would of had words with my DH too. How did E cope with it all. Did she cry? I find my DH to be so laid back about things like this. He always has the "he'll be right" attitude and it annoys me. Like last night when DH went outside to feed the dog and put the bins out for collection, H followed him and i asked him to put some shoes on him. It was bloody 7 degrees outside and windy. But of course he says "he'll be right".......So i put the shoes on so H's feet did freeze. So lazy. mad.gif
And we will have to meet up one of these days. Any days better for you? Weekend?

Anyway H is asleep. We have swimming lessons on a Friday afternoon at 2:30pm which is a really awkward time with sleeps but i try and make him go down earlier. DH is away all weekend working. He will be back Sunday night. My mum and nephew (who is 14) are driving down to spend the weekend with us. I hate being alone. Such a wuss. rolleyes.gif
But before i go quick question, are all you 2yr old still having a day sleep????? Reason i ask, is H has been refusing of late. I still make him go to bed and atleast have a rest but he will lay there for up to 1.5hrs and just refuse to sleep. He seems to handle the afternoons okay without sleep and will go to bed earlier and much faster. Today i had to lay with him just incase he wasn't cranky for swimming lessons. I'm hoping he doesn't drop that sleep just yet. nno.gif

Well I'm off to pack swimming bag and get ready for my Mum...Have a lovely weekend everyone. original.gif
~Simply*Blue~
Holly Miller still has a sleep, he goes down at around 11 and sleeps for a couple of hours. There has been a few periods where he's refused it though. My other boys both gave it up at around 3.

One of my friends are 12 weeks and the other is about 10, due in November. They are also good friends with each other, and they also have another close friend due around the same time but as far as I know only 1 baby. My friend from my other DIG is having a boy and a girl.

Off to Minkey this morning, it's going to be sooo cold! We are also going to a billycart derby tomorrow, that's going to be so good! We actually have tickets to get into the pub and drink an endless amount of alcohol for free, if only we were given them before kids rolleyes.gif tongue.gif
babybump2
Good morning Lovely Ladies!

Sorry been a bit MIA lately...

Rebecca - sounds like there is something in the water with all your friends pregnant with twins! wink.gif Be careful not to drink it! wink.gif

DAY SLEEPS... SLEEP IN GENERAL!.... hmmmmm.... well can I just say 2 YEAR OLDS SUCK! We have MAJOR MAJOR Terrible 2's in our house at the moment. Having moments of really struggling with Beau's behaviour. He is so incredibly strong willed!

I was awake on Thursday night with Beau from 1130PM till 3 in the morning! oomg.gif Was he sick you ask? NOoooooooo he just wanted to be held like a baby! huh.gif And wanted me to spoon him... and generally needed me to hold him just a certain way or he was screaming and sobbing with tears. blink.gif glare.gif

Night time getting him to bed is HORRIBLE! He is such a monkey at bed time and the only time he isn't is when he misses a sleep for the day, and falls asleep during story time.

He feels like he can go without a day sleep - however come 4/5 oclock he is trying to fall alseep. The days I get him to have a day sleep - night time is terrible. But he doesn't really cope without a sleep.

Ughhh.... he is tiring!

Holly - I think you raised the day time sleep thing. So I can offer no advice as I am struggling there too. Hope you are feeling well? Still waiting to see some boodiful belly snaps on the blog!

Claire - that sounds scary with poor Evie falling in! Ahhh these Dads! rolleyes.gif I just don't think they are hard wired like us. I bet he feels terrible now though. And the night terrors sound horrible. Macy has always suffered with nightmare which are bad enough - but the Terror sound awful.

Brooke - so sorry to hear you had to rebook. That must have been tough. As when you book in for that you are ready to get a solution to sleep problems. Hopefully time passes quickly for you this month. And yay for you on your weight loss that is fantastic! Great effort!

Amanda - how is your little jelly bean? Hee hee... another one that needs to start showing off some belly snaps! I still have moments of missing my preggie belly.

Well I know I had a bit of a whinge earlier about Beau... but I am feeling a bit down lately. Maybe the fact it is a Sunday morning and I had too many champanes last night could be adding to that. wwhistle.gif We had a friends 40th last night and DH and I went out together! That part was great...

but girls... I am soooooo out of it when it comes to going out. I worried for weeks about what to wear. What do people wear when they go out? I have had my "Mum uniform" ie jeans and tops for so long - that I didn't really have the right clothes. I got a dress - tick. But I felt so self conscious all night AND my conversations skills are quite lacking! I have been out of the work force for 5 years! And I have kinda lost the art of miggling. Eeekkk... I did struggle a bit.

DH leaves again today for a whole week. Another week on my own with the kids... and shocker Beau and his night time antics. I seriously felt like a new mother this week walking around in that fog of sleep deprivation. Ughhh... wish me luck for this week.

And I am also feeling really down about one of my mg friends. She has been a friend for 5 years now. We looked after each others children when we had our second babies in hospital. We live 3 minutes away from each other. We have heaps of history. She has rubbed some of our mg friends up the wrong way over the years and I have always stuck up for her and been loyal. BUT I am really struggling with her myself now. I find she makes sly little remarks that I am assuming she thinks goes over my head but are just well... how do I put this MEAN! rant.gif And I don't say anything to her about it at the time. Get home think of all the things I should of said - but then don't broach it with her. And each thing is just building up... till now I just don't want to see her at all.

She is my friend that I have spoken of that we swap and look after each other's children so we can go out with our husbands each month. (A neighbour looked after our kids last night). And I have postponed all the swaps for the time being with her.

I think she realises I am pulling away from her. And I guess I feel sad about it too. But I just can't deal with anymore put downs. And I don't really like confrontation and I don't think I want to address it with her - because I don't know that she will change. She is really competitive mother. And contradicts herself all the time. If she is at my house and my children have a biscuit and I offer her children one- she will insist her children can't have it because it is so bad for them. Then I see them eating cakes that she has made - but apparently THOSE are fine. And she will give the cakes to my children without asking my permissions. WT??... She gave me a barbie book recently for Macy - saying she didn't think it was the right thing for her daughter and she doesn't like the messages Barbie sends out to young girls. WT???...

Her son wanted a microscope for his 5th birthday and I think she told me on about 6 occasions. "And what does Macy want for her birthday again? A Barbie wasn't it?" Ughhhh....

Yes Macy does like Barbies. Yes I do understand that she is a beautiful doll and has the wrong proportions and is not realistic. But it is about how you play with your children and the toys they have. The Barbie movie Macy has is The 3 Musketeers and the theme through it is that a woman can do anything a man can do, and don't let anyone stop you from achieving your dreams. So although I understand some peoples view on this doll - I believe it is just a doll. And I will be the one to shape Macy's view on what a realistic body size is. Ohhhh I am on my soap box!

I have gone to write about this to you girls a few times and deleted it and not written it.

If you are still with me... sorry for the long sorry-for-myself post blush.gif
babybump2
New day.... brighter day.... sorry for the rant yesterday. blush.gif
babybump2
Hello?... worried I have scared you all off with my rant?... ph34r.gif
claireabell
I am here Sary!

How are you feeling? How's Beau's sleep? And how are you going wth DH away? My DH left for Germany yesterday and I rally find it hard. Even when things go relatively smoothly with the kids I miss having him around to just be with.
but girls... I am soooooo out of it when it comes to going out. I worried for weeks about what to wear. What do people wear when they go out? I have had my "Mum uniform" ie jeans and tops for so long - that I didn't really have the right clothes. I got a dress - tick. But I felt so self conscious all night AND my conversations skills are quite lacking! I have been out of the work force for 5 years! And I have kinda lost the art of miggling

FWIW it's worth, your posts are always engaging and i enjoy reading them! i fele the same way though sad.gif I saw some friends on Fri night and felt so out of it - a real social misfit! Even though we work in the same industry i couldn't relate to their discussions about work and they all looked so stylish and i didn't, even though i made an effort. it's hard.

And my SIL sounds just like your friend Sary. she came to stay recently and made so many passive-aggressive comments, just like your friend. eg, her son just does not sleep. we were discussing it one day and she said to me, 'you are so lucky your kids sleep well, but i am just not willing to let C cry himself to sleep'. WTF??! Since when have i ever let my kids cry themselves to sleep? i think she must think i use some cruel methods to get them to sleep but really, i am just lucky. She also made a pointed comment about E eating vegemite toast for brekky and then a vegemite sandwich for lunch the same day (she also had fruit/milk/cheese). Yes, it's not ideal, but either is the way she feeds her son, who is still on purees and farex and over 1 year old!. Grr. just leave me be!

Anyway, i guess i'm saying i feel your pain Sary. not really sure how to deal with it, although having a break from her sounds like a good idea. TBH i think she sounds insecure. i bet she knows that she is acting poorly too. Do you think she will ask you why you have withdrawn a bit? if so it might be a good time to bring it up with her. it's so hard though.

gotta go girls, DS's day sleep is shocking ATM (maybe i should ring SIL and tell her tongue.gif )

mygorgeousboy
I'm here too Sary....Just had no time to post.

Sary, it seems once again that our boys are doing the same thing. For the last couple of days H has refused to sleep during the day. I have tried to get him to have a rest/ read books in bed and he happliy just chats away for up to an hour. But then he gets up and says "I'm awake now"...Grrrr. Anyway the night times have been much easier. He has been going to bed at 7-7:30pm and sleeping through. So who knows, i might just play it by ear everyday and let him jugde if he wants to sleep or not. rolleyes.gif

I also know exactly what you mean about fitting in. I never know what to wear anymore shrug.gif and i never feel comfortable in what i choose. I too am so used to wearing "mum clothes". I also have a habit of buying H the most adorable outfits and never spending money on myself for some new clothes. wink.gif

Claire/Sary, I have a SIL just like what you both describe. Although she doesn't even have children. My DH can't stand her. She is always saying "put downs" but ends with a positive IYKWIM???? Eg, "Hudson always looks constipated in photos, its so cute" How could looking constipated look cute????? Anyway its happened for years now and we are lucky we don't live close by but i always try to just ignore it. Until we get into the car and DH and I go off about it.... rant.gif

Amanda, How are you going?

waves.gif to everyone else.

Tomorrow DH is graduating from uni, so we are going to Sydney for the day. I'll post some photos on the blog when we get home. I still need to take some belly pics. I've been so bad this time around. blush.gif
Hope everyone is keeping well. original.gif
babybump2
Thanks Claire and Holly bbighug.gif Both your warm posts came at a good time.

Went this morning to see a prospective school for Miss Moo next year. We have been told we are out of the zone by one street - but all her little kinder friends are going to this school. So was still going to give it a try... Well while I was there - I bumped into this mg friend I have spoken of. She is also out of the zone boundary so I was surprised to see her there. Ughhhh!

Then we met up later at playgroup too. And when she arrived there was a spot free next to me. Ughhh seems there is no avoiding her. And... it is her little peoples joint birthday at the weekend - so going to have to troupe on there too. Ughhh... Our lives are so entwined it is hard to avoid her. But I am emotionally keeping my distance if that makes sense.

Claire - didn't know your DH was going to Germany. How long is he away for? And how did you enjoy the Dorothy concert?

Holly - I had to laugh at your SIL comment about "he looks constipated - how cute!" oomg.gif What a thing to say! Both you and Claire made me feel a LOT better - thank you!

Hope everyone's week is going speedy. Only 2 or maybe 3 more sleeps till DH gets home. Yippeee!

Ps Where is everyone?
~*tasha*~
Hi Ladies.... Remember me?

Just thought I would pop in while I had a minute spare, or should I say, whilst the kids are making a mess!!

So my news is out, I am expecting baby number 3 and our EDD is 01.10.10, however baby will be born by another c section so I am gonna guess a late September baby. I honestly thought after DD I was done, I had no intentions to fall pregnant again, until December when I told DH that was wanting another baby. So I am currently 21 weeks pregnant tomorrow, and we are having another baby girl. DS is disappointed as he wanted another briother, but he will be fine with a sister.

DD is going ahead leaps and bounds, she has toilet trained herself, only wearing a nappy at night time to bed, but takes it off first thing every morning as she wont poo or wee in her nappy when she is awake! I guess it has been since she was about 18 months old. She is just awesome! Still full on though just won't stop. And as our director at the Child care centre says to me.... She is very strong willed and very head strong, when she wants something no one will stop her. Oh and she never shuts up, I think I have a chatterbox on my hands!

I do pop in here every now and then to see how everyone is going, just find it hard to find time to post much. So on that note I have to go and make my children clean up their mess, and I promise that I will pop back in again

Tasha
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.