The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: February 08 Parents # 73

http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/forums/ind...howtopic=771699

tortagianduia
GOLD!
tortagianduia
Liz, I am so glad things are going better for you and Alex. Wow, almost crawling!

Megan, so good to hear Mimie's night coughing has settled! Hopefully that means you are both getting a better night's sleep now. How's the Easter hat coming along?

Sary, sounds like Beau is doing well with tt'ing, apart from the poo incident - I imagine not fun getting it out of a shag pile rug ohmy.gif ! How was the seminar?

Lauren, how is everything going with your boys? Are you still tandem feeding Joel and Max? I hope Joel is feeling better.

Holly, glad you're not feeling sick and everything is going well.

I was having a bit of a panic over the last couple of days that I should have ceased taking my vitamin B6 sooner - I had been taking the Blackmores one which is 240mg, and then I was reading on Wednesday that this may be too high a dosage to be safe during pregnancy (though it says nothing about not taking it while pg in the contraindications / precautions on either the bottle or the website unsure.gif), so then I didn't take it that day and the next morning my temp had dropped a bit, so then I was panicking that was because my body had become reliant on the B6 for adequate progesterone production, and that if I took none, I'd miscarry unsure.gif. Plus I was worrying what I had been taking my have caused some developmental damage to the baby sad.gif. I have been taking Blackmores Morning Sickness Formula as well, which also contains some vitamin B6, but in a much smaller quantity. On the Wednesday, I had only taken one of those, so had only had 25mg. So yesterday after my temp had dropped a bit, I decided to take the full 3 tablets a day, even if not feeling sick, so that would be 75mg, which is supposed to be a safe amount. My temperature was fine this morning, thank goodness. So I think I will just keep taking the morning sickness ones, and wean down if I am not getting sick rather than just stopping them outright. But I am hoping I am worrying for nothing. Surely if it was harmful, it would say so in the contraindications unsure.gif?

I have been having intermittent nausea over the past 2 weeks, but up until this morning I had only vomited once. This morning I got up, took my morning sickness tablet, drank some water, ate a piece of dry bread. I was feeling fine until Coen came up to me 2 hours later and said 'poo'. Then I vomited until there was nothing left in my stomach, then I changed his nappy. I am not loving my cloth nappies at all at the moment. My sense of smell is super-sensitive, and they are getting to me. I hate changing them, I hate rinsing the poo off, I hate washing them; I even hate hanging them on the line rolleyes.gif . DH had put him in a cloth night nappy, but I have now changed him into a disposable, though I hate the smell of them too, but at least I don't have to rinse and wash them.
kaishra
Lauren, how is everything going with your boys? Are you still tandem feeding Joel and Max? I hope Joel is feeling better.

Well they both seem to be better today, no more chucks just gross nappies yuk.
Yep still tandem feeding though with the thrush that has not been fun at times but I'm stubborn and I'm not stopping lol I've been sitting here with my boob hanging in a glass of vinegar lol and not I have vinegar all over my tshirt lol
~Simply*Blue~
Amanda I can imagine how worried you were/are! FWIW I was prescribed B6 tablets by my dr when I was pregnant with Cooper as it can help with morning sickness. My understanding is that they only become a problem when you take them over a really long period of time.
mygorgeousboy
Afternoon girls,

Amanda, i hope your morning sickness eases soon. I know how you feel with the dreaded poos. Not so much with Hudson but the other kiddies just make me want to sick.gif . I am trying my hardest to TT a nearly 3 year old coz i feel so bad gaging everytime i change him. mellow.gif

Not doing much today. We all had a nanna's nap this afternoon. DH has now gone to work, he is on night shift tonight. Hudson has been i undies all day today. I'm still waiting for the daily poo. Gosh i hope he decides to tell me before its too late. He gets an M&M everytime he does a wee or poo on the toilet. Haven't been brave enough to leave the house though. I mind a little girl who is fully TT and only 2 months older than H. Yesterday while H was on the toilet (all of the kids watch one another) she pipes up and says "oh my Hudson has a trunk".......Very cute. wink.gif

Anyway girls i might make a start on dinner so i can have an easy night. Have a fab weekend everyone x original.gif
mygorgeousboy
Monday morning boooooo sad.gif

I had a complete shocker last night. Didn't go to bed til 11:30, got up at 12 to go to the loo, H woke up, til 2am ohmy.gif . I have no idea why he woke, he was happy like he had enough sleep already. Anyway by the time he went back to sleep it was 2:20am. I didn't look at the clock after that but my alarm went off at 7am...... yyawn.gif Oh boy i am so tired. I have 3 children arriving soon. Not sure how i am going to get through the day. H is running around like a mad man, i need some of his energy. original.gif

Yucky day here today. Raining and windy. Inside day today another boooo.

ANyway i'm off, i've had my whinge, thanks for listening. x

SuperKate
OMG AMANDA!!!!!!!!!!! CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!

This will teach me for being away more often than not sad.gif lol

I am so excited for you!!! biggrin.gif

Not much to report here, we are all sick. Much fun, not lol

Hope you guys are all well and i will head off to read back through the last few threads original.gif
Liz27
Not much sleep going on in this house either. Lachie is cutting his 2 year molars, all 4 of them at once and is waking up throughout the night again, plus not wanting to go to sleep at night either. yyawn.gif Plus then Alex is still waking up for his night feeds, 1-2 times a night. yyawn.gifyyawn.gif

At least the Easter long weekend is coming up.
mygorgeousboy
Where is everyone????? huh.gif

Hope you are all doing well. I'm looking forward to my long weekend. Bring on Thursday afternoon. original.gif
babybump2
Hi Holly! waves.gif I am here... tis quiet round these parts. huh.gif

Soooo looking forward to the 4 days off together too. Macy is bursting with excitment about the Easter Bunny coming. We have to have a word to Easter Bunny this year as Taffy (our dog) managed to eat all the eggs 2 years ago ohmy.gif in our back yard! Eeek! Last year we were away so it wasn't an issue... so Easter bunny has to be tricky this year with his planting of the eggs.

We took Beau and Macy to see Dorothy the Dinosaur on stage yesterday. THEY LOVED IT! Macy was really excited too. Thought she might be too old now but she joined right in with Beau. So sweet.

Not too much planned for the break - just bbq's and catch ups. How about everyone else? Plans for Easter?

x
~Simply*Blue~
i'm here, it's my last day at the dc centre today, soooo looking forward to sleeping in tomorrow! I'll be back for a proper post when I've got more than a minute.
RedsGirl
Just wanted to wish everyone happy easter / happy long weekend!

I've decided not to do the Easter bunny thing, we didn't really do it when I grew up and I turned out OK wacko.gif

Looking forward to some time with Red as he was away last weekend. Nice that its cooling down as its good snuggling weather wink.gif

Sary - Dorothy isn't coming anywhere near me - I remember checking a month or so ago and the show was out in the boondocks, so yep unless there's new dates announced she'll miss out this time sad.gif
tortagianduia
I'm here original.gif! I have been reading but have been too slack to post. I am just so tired all the time. Yesterday afternoon, I was lying semi-conscious on the couch - Jordan arrived home and started banging on the door, Coen helpfully unlocked the front door ohmy.gif , and in came both Jordan and a school friend of his I wasn't expecting - while I am lying there in daggy clothes with my hair a mess and not fully awake blush.gif! Well, that woke me up!

I am so glad I have a day off in between the days I work as I am finding work exhausting. Tuesday evening was the worst - I was put on the short stay surgical ward, so myself and another RN had 10 patients between us, all post-ops, 6 with infusions. It was under control until about 5pm, then more returned from theatre and it was crazy running around trying to get all the obs done (the people with infusions have obs every 30 mins, and with so many, it was like we'd just finished one set and would have to start again), as well as everything else we needed to do - getting people's luggage, giving meds, putting people on pans, etc. By 9pm my back was killing me and I was just so tired, and I still had another hour to go. We didn't think we were going to get everything done by 10pm, but somehow we did, and it was such a relief to walk out. That is the second Tuesday in March I have been sent there, the previous Tuesday I had had off, and I think there was a week or two where it wasn't open. I suspect my manager is going to send me there every Tuesday if it is open on the pretext that I am senior sad.gif. It is so crappy working there. Although we would normally have 5 patients each on the ward, you wouldn't normally be given 5 post-ops, and even if you were, there'd be other people with less that could help you if you were getting snowed under. Plus I have to be in charge and carry the phone, which takes up time, whereas on the usual ward we have another level 2 with no patient load in charge and carrying the phone (this used to be my job until I went on maternity leave, and then Greg took over, and is still doing it). Anyway, enough of my whinging! I just hope I'll be feeling a bit more energetic during the second trimester, because right now I just seem to be tired all the time.

I had intended to tell my manager about my pg on Tuesday, but that didn't happen. I was 20 mins late because my train was delayed due to a fire north of where I live, and then when I arrived Lea was having a meeting in her office and I was told I was on the other ward so had to leave straight away. Luckily there were only 3 patients to start with so it wasn't too big a problem that I was running late.

Lauren, I hope the thrush clears up soon. You still haven't been to see a doctor?

Kate, hope you and your brood are feeling better soon. Nice to see you posting original.gif!

Liz, that sounds exhausting. Hope Lachie's molars will be completely through soon.

Sary, I laughed when I read about Taffy scoffing all the Easter eggs in the backyard laughing2.gif! Hopefully the Easter bunny can be a bit trickier this year wink.gif .

Rebecca, have you enjoyed it at the dc centre? What time have you been having to start? Enjoy your sleep in tomorrow!

Holly, enjoy your long weekend! Does your DH have time off?

Megan, do you have to spend any time with the ILs over the weekend?

I have to work Easter Sunday, because I am on a permanent roster for Sundays sad.gif. We are going to see my Mum for dinner on Saturday night, and then we have DH's parents coming for early lunch on Sunday - I need to leave for work at 1pm, so it isn't too bad.

Happy Easter for Sunday, everyone!!!
kaishra
Lauren, I hope the thrush clears up soon. You still haven't been to see a doctor?

noooo, might be able to go next fortnight if it hasn't gone by then. We're (the boys and I) are going to Melbourne next week so if I can get in to see my old doctor then I'll go whilst we're there.
It only hurts occassionally after a feed on that side. Yesterday we were out and I fed Max, the shooting pain started afterwards so I stuck a can of Coke in my bra and it went away original.gif I'm fine so long as I have a cold pack of some sort available. Looks like i also have a heel spur! FUN!!!
~Simply*Blue~
gosh Amanda I am exhausted just reading that! I did 8.30-4.30 on the first day and 9-5 the next 2 days. I haven't worked for almost 6 years though. It's it's just constant work the entire time, all good though.

Megan - we do easter bunny but it's not a huge deal at all. They are only getting a couple of little eggs each, and we aren't hyping it up at all. Pretty much all they know about it is from preschool.

We bought a few dairy free eggs, but I don't think it's fair that the bigger boys get heaps of chocolate and Miller gets some crappy little eggs, and that's just what they are. With the amount of kids that have milk issue you'd think they'd have a bigger range shrug.gif
babybump2
Happy Easter girls!

Just finished scattering some eggs, a bucket and new t-shirt each in the kids rooms dev (6).gif - I close the doors at night after they have fallen asleep - so Easter-Egg-Eating-Taffy-Dog won't get her chops into them! wink.gif I am pretty excited about the morning! While the kids are cooing over their little buckets (my little pony and bob the builder - no stereo types going on in our house hold! biggrin.gif ) and couple of eggs... DH will be scattering eggs in the yard and keeping the egg theif on a lead! tongue.gif

Amanda - that does sound exhausting! Hope you have a lovely dinner with your Mum and nice lunch with the in laws.

Megan - Hope you are enjoying time with Reds. And nahhh I think Mimie will survive just fine without the easter bit. I think I get more out of it then the kiddies. I looovee chockie!! mmmmmmmmmmmm....

Off to the couch to be a potato with DH and watch a dvd. Just wanted to pop in and say Happy Easter! xxx
mygorgeousboy
Happy Easter!!!!

We just had a little easter egg hunt. H was very happy. We are off to a friends house this morning for brunch. Hope you all have a great day xox original.gif
babybump2
Happy Easter Lovely Ladies!

We had a great l-o-n-g weekend... hoping you all did too??

Yesterday DH and I took the kids to a Little Red Riding Hood pantomime. We went with 2 other families. Poor little Macy Moo ended up curled up in a ball on my lap literally shivering with fear when the big bad wolf came on. Last night I had to cradle her like a baby as she was too scared to go to sleep as she thought the big bad wolf was going to come and try and eat her!!! Eeek! Poor munchkin.

Meanwhile Beau LOVED IT! He even got on stage when they asked for audience participation! biggrin.gif He got a bit wobbly up there with all eyes on him and crumbled and wanted to get off - awwwwww!... but I was surprised how brave he was to even get up there. Think because his 3 year old friend went up and Beau always says, "He my favrot mate" wub.gif and does EVERYTHING/ANYTHING he does. rolleyes.gif

Quiet day today... DH having a "working from home" day and so I snuck off to the gym this morning. Now just plodding along doing house work.

Just wanted to pop in and say hi to all! waves.gif
mygorgeousboy
Morning girls,

Sary, Beau sounds so adorable. And poor little Macy. The big bad wolf scared me as a child also so i feel her fear. wink.gif

Working today, but i have cut back on a few kids so its not too bacd. Today i have three, 2yr olds (including H) so they are all very happy to play together. Unfortunatley its raining here, looks like it will be an inside day. sad.gif
We are off to the the Sydney Royal Easter Show on Friday. Are we MAD????? Anyway we got some free tickets and thought, why not??? Hopefully it doesn't rain and the crowds are not too bad. H will just love the animals, especially the flying and racing pigs. He loves pigs at the moment. I think i've said it before but he is obsessed witht he movie 'Babe'. So we will be spending most of our time avoiding the showbags and the rides. DH will probably take H on a few rides though.

Anyway i'm off. Hope you all have a good day original.gif
babybump2
hmmmmmm.... any of you girls ever wonder if our generation of kids are going to learn the meaning of premature ejaculation WAY before they should? blush.gif

Enough with those creepy ads constantly on the radio already!!! blush.gif
mygorgeousboy
Hahaha Sary, i know what you mean. huh.gif
~Simply*Blue~
Yeah I hate it when they preface it with a couple having sex and the woman disappointed. Want longer lasting sex? Kids really don't need to hear that do they sick.gif

All good here, I go back to uni next week, it's been nice to have a break.

Boys are all great, Cooper's getting teeth and crawling around, and sleeping through every night!! Miller's a bundle of beans, really starting to talk too! Caden's good, settling into daycare now finally, and Talon's great as always, starting to read original.gif

Have a great weekend original.gif
ginnyk
Morning ladies,

Sary - agree with you on the ads, I always change the channel, I don't want the first thing my son knows about sex to be some random ad!!

I've just had nearly 2 weeks off work, its been very nice just hanging out with the kids and doing fun stuff - we went to the beach for easter (easter bunny came and did an easter egg hunt, WAAAY too much chocolate, must modify that next year!).
I hired Amelia an In the Night Garden DVD - she is totally obsessed, what have I done! Don't know how she will cope when the dvd goes back next week... I'm regretting getting it a bit, she never had much of an interest in telly until now!

Amanda, hope your MS improves soon! Its hard working with MS, it really does sound tiring... can totally understand why you were caught out napping on the couch ! I was constantly doing that whilst preg - and I don't even have a physically tough job!!

Have a good weekend everyone. We are off to Harvey norman today apparently, according to my DS8, he announced we must go to a "games chaos" sale to spend his pocket money, hehe, hope they have some games for $5!!

xoo
ginny
claireabell
Hello lovelies

Long time no post!

How is everyone? It's so quiet here. Not much news from me, still pootling along. We've had a rough patch with DS's sleeping, although last night was better. Got into a habit of settling him with a breastfeed which I really don't want to do. Rebecca how did you get Cooper back on track?

DD is lovely ATM. So funny and cheeky. She told DH tonight that the dinner he made was 'not too bad' laugh.gif She also 'did' my hair today with six different clips, then told me I was 'so beautiful mummy' afterwards. Bless her!

Toilet training is going backwards and forwards. Last weekend she was great, but the last few days have been nothing but accidents. Any tips?

Holly and Amanda how are your pregnancies going? How far along are you both now?

Hope everyone is well original.gif
tortagianduia
So sorry I have been so slack about posting. Have been reading, but just haven't had much to share.

Still haven't told work about my pg. I wanted to tell my manager the last 2 weeks, but there hasn't been an opportunity. Then I was starting to think I might just wait until after the NT scan, because I have been getting nervous that things might not be okay. This morning I decided to get out the doppler, even though I knew my chances of finding a hb were slim at such an early stage. I looked and looked and was about to give up and then found it, 170BPM wub.gif! So I am feeling a lot better about everything now, and might tell my manager tomorrow. Even felt confident enough to change my ticker happy.gif .

Still getting ms, though it isn't as bad as it was. As soon as I found the hb this morning I had to jump up to go and vomit though, so just when I think it is getting better, it rears its ugly head again. Hopefully it will settle fully by 12w, and not continue through the whole pg like it did last time.

Not much else happening. DS1 is on hols, but is back to school tomorrow.

Sorry for lack of personals. Hope everyone is going well!
mygorgeousboy

I have also been reading but not posting...Not alot happening really. wink.gif

We did go to the Easter Show on Friday and H loved it. He even went on some little rides by himself. ohmy.gif
he loved the animals, especially the pigs and dogs. original.gif

Claire, I am 20weeks on Thursday. Having my scan on Friday and have an OB appointment next week. Can't wait to see the little bub again.

Hudson is just beautiful lately too. He is talking non stop and playing cute little imaginative games. I love watching him play.

Anyway best be off........ xox original.gif
mygorgeousboy
Oh gosh its quiet in here.........Come back everyone !!!!! original.gif

Well i was all set to work today but it seems all of the kids are tired/not well.....so H and i have the day to ourselves.. biggrin.gif

I have my 20week scan tomorrow.....Yay. I'll be back to let you all know how it goes.

Anyway theres washing to be done and bathrooms to be cleaned. xx:)
babybump2
Helllooooooo Holly! I am here!

It is super quiet round here. wwhistle.gif I have been super busy so just watching for a post (would say reading but there hasn't been much to read! biggrin.gif )

20 week scan sounds exciting Holly! Are you going to find out what the sex is?

And your coming along too now Amanda! Both you and Holly will have post belly pics on the blog again!

Just back from swimming. Beau crashed out... and Macy making a mess ahem... I mean playing! rolleyes.gif I have so much to do. MIL arrives on Saturday morning from Perth for Miss Moo's 5th birthday on Wednesday. Wow - 5 years just feels like such a milestone to me. I just can't believe my little baby is a little girl and going to be 5! Oh I am a sap! Useless!

So I have to put Beau in with Macy - get this house into a reasonable order. Start working on making the cake etc etc

Rebecca - sounds like you are doing well with your study. And with all your kids - you are a super star!

Claire - can't really offer any advice on the TT. I have taken the focus off a bit lately. Just doing nappy free time in the mornings before we go out. And not much else really. I am letting Beau guide me. Hope your gorgeous babies are good?

Ughhh I am struggling a bit with 2 year old behaviours. I understand at 2 Beau's get a surge of testosterone and I understand that they push the boundaries to feel safe and understand the rules of right and wrong. I get all of that - but it doesn't mean I can't stand some of the stuff he does. He is constantly hitting Macy. Several times a day. We do the usual thing of saying no - we don't hit. Apologise. Time out if he continues - etc etc. Even Macy has been saying, "Oh Beau this has to stop okay?"

And this morning my delightful boy - growled at another boy. Yep growled. Like an animal. rolleyes.gif I was horrified. Then a little girl did something mean to Macy after swimming and Beau ran up to her and growled. rolleyes.gif Ugh! (Guess it is better than hitting - maybe? ughh who knows) And we have hit the world of Beau having to climb in and out of the car himself. (I do remember Macy with this one) so to get anywhere now I have to budget another 5-10 minutes to go for the car bit!

Ahhhh the mighty toddler. Lucky he is so cute and I love him so much.

Hope everyone's week is going well? Would love to hear how everyone else is tracking.

Megan - where are you?

Ginny - your easter sounded great!

Everyone else - heeellllllloooooooo are you out there????

Ps Ohhh and I have been struggling a bit as my world is slightly changing once more. This year Macy is wanting to invite mainly kinder friends and not Mother's group friends (which I guess really were my friends to begin with). And that is fine it is Macy birthday - but it does create funny politics with MG. And one of the Mums has got her nose out of joint as I have only invited her child the same age as Macy and not the sibling. However this year we are having it at a per-head-playcentre and I am only inviting kids Macy's age that she asked for. And her child who has been invited is only one of two from MG that we have invited. Ughhhh politics.... draining! Thanks for letting me vent.

claireabell
Have just posted on the blog - situation with a friend and I am not sure what to do about it.

Poor little DS is sick ATM. i actually took him to Emergency the other day as he got a very suspicious rash and i did the 'press a glass on it' thing and it didn't disappear. This was in conjunction with his cold and fever. But he's okay, the doc is not sure what has caused the rash (which is now faded) but he is okay, just a virus. He's been rather sooky though and keeping me up at night!

Sary I know it's wrong but i giggled when i read about Beau's growling! and it's so cute he is protective of his big sis. E went through a huge hitting stage, it was horrible. Even now she hits occasionally when she is tired or overwhelmed. The only thing that works for us is not reading her her stories at night as a punishment/deterrent. She also thought that she could hit, as long as she said sorry afterwards, so it took a while to explain to her that that wasn't the case.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO MACYMOO (for next week)!

Holly, 20 weeks has gone by so quick! I agree with Sary, need belly pics from you and Amanda.

Amanda thanks for getting a ticker, much easier to keep up with you wink.gif Did you tell your manager?

Nothing new here, just got some new fabric and sewing patterns in the post biggrin.gif A dress, top and skirt for DD and winter jacket for DS, although I think I might make it for next Winter. been doing a bit of sewing/blogging lately. I love it and wish there were more hours in the day.

Better go, have washing to hang out.

PS where's Brooke?
mygorgeousboy
Claire, I have just finished reading the blog and promise to reply after i get back from taking H to get his hair cut.

Just wanted to pop in and tell you all i had my scan this morning.....Bub is great and measuring spot on. I am so excited to meet this little baby. H was wonderful and very excited watching the screen. After i told him "look theres the baby" his reply was "WAAKKKE UP BABY", at the top of his lungs. rolleyes.gif Its was very funny.

Anyway i am being very rude and not replying to everyone but i will be back. cool.gif
ginnyk
At work so a quickie - yay on the scan, H is sooo cute original.gif

Claire, haven't read the blog yet, will do tonight...

Hi Amanda, I see you there biggrin.gif

Us - ok, have a rotten headache, and can't be bothered working, but otherwise same old, same old!!

xoxo
~Simply*Blue~
Can someone send me a link to the blog, I have a new computer and don't have it saved anymore.

Not much happening here, same old thing, am reading just have nothing too interesting to post. Hope you are all well original.gif
~Simply*Blue~
huh.gif No new posts since my last post...

Hope you are all well, I had the swine flu vacc yesterday and OMG my arm is killing me! Have to go to uni today, I so don't want to go but they are compulsory classes glare.gif
mygorgeousboy
I know Rebecca....Very quiet. huh.gif

I have kiddies arriving soon. and i am SOOOO tired. yyawn.gif

I had an OB appointment yesterday so we left early to do a bit of shopping before the appointment. My appoointment was supposed to be at 11am and at 9am (we were already 1hr from home) i got a call from the receptionist telling me that the OB is caught up this morning so my appointment is being moved to 4:30pm. ohmy.gif
Anyway we though we would make a day of it, go shopping, have lunch etc.........What a BIG day. Hudson only slept 10mins in the car. We were bored after 3hrs. rolleyes.gif
ANyway i arrived at 4pm to be told i have to wait till 5:30......I ended up seeing OB at 5:45. and we ended up staying in Canberra for dinner.

Anyway bubs is great. I am 21 weeks this week. My OB is fantastic and very supportive of a VBAC ( we haven't decided yet, are going to wait till around 36wks) I have terrible carpal tunnel and my right hand is numb most of the night. but other than that i feel great and very excited at how fast the time is going. Hudson is understanding alot more and tells me all the time about being a big brother. wub.gif

Rebecca, I Hope Uni is okay today? Do you have to travel far?

Claire, i had a sticky at your sewing blog and WOW, your very talented. I love love love Miss E's pretty dresses. original.gif

Sary, How was Macy's birthday? I hope you had a great weekend with the MIL.

Amanda, How are your feeling? I hope the MS has eased.

Anyway I'm off. Have a nice day ladies. original.gif
tortagianduia
Hey girls!

Everything cruising along here okay. 8 days until my NT scan, but who's counting wwhistle.gif?! I really hope everything is okay. I managed to pick up bub's hb with my doppler last Monday, and have checked every few days since then, but no success since unsure.gif. I am hoping it is just because it is very early days, and there is a lot of fat to scan through ninja.gif.

I did tell my manager last Tuesday - she seemed very happy and hugged me about 4 times! But she also asked was it planned ohmy.gif ? Kinda rude, methinks. She said she was really happy for me but would miss me, and asked would I maybe not stay away so long this time - as in come back from maternity leave sooner, or perhaps do some casual shifts? I don't want to even think about when I'll be going back, but intend to stay off for 12 months if I can afford to again. And I only work twice a week, so I really don't think I am pivotal to the functioning of the ward, but it is nice to feel needed and wanted original.gif.

I have actually had a few people at work ask if the pregnancy was planned. Obviously they didn't know we were trying, but it is still a rude question.

Rebecca, hope your arm is feeling better. I had the swine flu vaccination too about a month ago, and do remember the site was sore for a couple of days.

Holly, so glad to hear everything is going well. Over the halfway mark already!!! Time is going so fast!

Claire, I did type a big response to your question over on the blog last week, but then the computer crashed ddoh.gif. I haven't had a chance to retype, but just to say I think you are doing the right thing - pointing out all the good things about Tom. Will try and type a better response over at the blog when I get a chance.

Sorry to anyone I have missed. Hope everyone is going well. Gotta dash - working this afternoon and Mum has just turned up...
RedsGirl
Hi Gals,

Reading and not posting...

So glad to hear the bubs are gestating well original.gif . Holly - I can't believe your appointment got pushed back so late! I assume they know you have to travel so far? Very rude!

OK, sort of vent:

*Big sigh*. So Red works night shifts. And I seem to have a permanently grumpy husband. I feel like he is always annoyed at me even though he says hes not. Our routine is that I get up, shower, dress, get Mimie up, dress her, make us both b/f, get her daycare bag ready (if needed) then either I wake up Red to drop her at daycare (3 days p/w) or grandparents arrive to take over the reigns (2 days p/w). The days he gets woken up he is a grumpy, cranky, nasty sh*t - hovering around telling me I am wasting time when I am eating my weetbix or making sarcastic comments about how long I am taking to put her shoes - you get the idea! The days he gets to stay asleep we have to tiptoe around and be quiet - VERY hard with a small very excitable dog (she goes BALLISTIC when PIL arrive) a VERY active 2yo (who's favourite activies are running and jumping) and bloody wooden floorboards.

I've had about enough, but the problem is night shift suits our routine. His day shifts would be all over the shop - can start anywhere from 6am - 4pm and because daycare is not en route to the station and because I don't drive, I can't drop her off - not without leaving the house at 7am walking 20 mins there and 20 mins back and then another 15 mins walk up to the station and off to work. This is also why I cna't take her at the moment and leave him to sleep. Its just not practical. This is compounded by the fact Red is very unhappy at his work anyway, and he has to have testosterone injections which I think have made him grumpier, more moody and aggressive.

Eh, so that's my whinge. We get a few hours nice time on the weekend before he goes back to being a moody old fart again during the week. I've told him repeatedly to work part time/find a new job/transfer/be a postie - anything that will make him happier.

But on the other hand, Mimie is such a joy right now, so cheeky and so much fun. I reckon she will be a stunt woman when she grows up. She takes flying leaps off things, clmbs up on stuff, no fear at all. We had fun at Bunnings on the weekend - they have mini-trolleys with a parent handle for the kiddies- she LOVED it, it was so cute and kept her happy while we did what we needed to do.

Anyway, sorry to be so selfish, but I have to go to my bosses farewell tonight and a bit to do before we leave.!
claireabell
Hello girls

DD is at the park with her grandpa, DS is asleep and the housework can wait.

Thanks for all your advice on the blog. I have just responded again there, no real news to update though, fingers crossed things will get better with time.

Holly have you still got my number from T's birth? You should have called me when you were stuck in Canberra! You guys could have crashed at our place - lots of toys for H and we're close to Dr H's office. I'm glad you like him so much, i really, really like him, always felt in safe hands with him. Have you been thinking of baby names already? Any you can share here or is it going to be a surprise?

One of my MG girls had her 2nd baby 2 nights ago, a little girl called Arabella. She evens up the number a bit as the first four of us to have 2nd babies all had wee boys. Still 2 more mums baking away...

Rebecca how are you managing studying and 4 kids? I've forgotten how many units you're doing but it must be such hard work keeping on top of it all.

Megan I hear ya on the grumpy husband! My DH is the same and i hate it. He is a great cook and usually cooks dinner. Last night I decided I would and wasn't doing tings perfectly, but was getting there. And then i see in the window reflection that he's shaking his head at me rolleyes.gif 5 mins later he tries to take over,then got really cranky with me when i told him to get out of the kitchen. I wasn't ruining dinner, just not doing it his way.

I reckon she will be a stunt woman when she grows up.

Hehe, this is E too! her latest game is to put the couch cushions on the floor so she has a soft landing when she dives off the couch.

Amanda that is so odd and rude that people ask you if #3 was planned ohmy.gif And how do they think it's their business?!! Good luck for your scan, can't wait to hear about it - and see piccies - goes for you too Holly.

Claire, i had a sticky at your sewing blog and WOW, your very talented. I love love love Miss E's pretty dresses.

Thanks Holly! I feel so guilty for not doing much sewing for T... I have lots here but want to wait for summer when he'll be more comfy in stuff other than wondersuits, and not outgrowing stuff every 5 mins.

Just realised today is MacyMoo's birthday, so HAPPY BIRTHDAY MACY!

E is being so challenging ATM. Sometimes so cute and sweet and funny and at other times just so naughty. Nothing major, just refusing to do what I ask and making small stuff like brushing her hair a nightmare. Last night she told me 'My is being cheeky. No books for me tonight'. So she knows she's being a little ratbag.

T is good, although we are struggling with solids ATM. I am trying to get him to eat food other than yoghurt and it's really hard. The sook in me just wants to give him what he loves but I also really want him to get at least a little bit of meat/vege/fruit. He dropped his night feed three nights ago though, we had 2 sleep-throughs and then last night he woke but let us resettle him without a feed, so that's really good. The breastfeeding is really draining me. I am determined to keep going but am glad to be doing one less feed a day.

I went and had a chat to work yesterday, it's a disaster there. My boss (who I get along very well with) told me that if he were me, he'd be looking for a new job. Kinda hard when I am part-time though. So I am due back there first week of July, or sooner if possible. I like work, but will really miss being at home with the kids. I have enjoyed it so much this time around. I am so, so clucky though, so need to get back to work to earn more mat leave etc.

Hope everyone is well original.gif
mygorgeousboy
Morning Girls,

Yay its Thursday today. My last day of work for the week. And 4 days off. biggrin.gif

Claire, Thank you so much for offering your house. wink.gif We WILL have to meet up soon though. We ended up spending most of the day at Belconnen shopping centre. And yes we have been racking our brains for names, but nothing that is standing out just yet. Picking names is so hard. We didn't really have a girls name picked out for H so we don't even have a girls names to fall back on. huh.gif Oh well plenty of time! cool.gif

Megan, I'm hear you on the grumpy husband. Most of the time my DH is great but when he is on night shift and hasn't slept a great deal he can be quite snappy. Our house is on the small side and its so hard trying to keep H quiet when Dh is sleeping. There is only so many times you you can tell him to shhh when he is just playing and being a 2yr old. Its even harder when i have all of the kids but we normally spend the mornings outside. Anyway, i know how you feel and i hope Red sorts his work out soon.

Claire, What a tricky situation with your work. What do you plan to do? Will T go to the same centre as E?

Amanda, I totally agree how rude it was for people to ask if #3 was planned. huh.gif Goodluck with your NT scan. Not long to go now. Hope your travelling along okay! original.gif

Anyway i have just had to deal with a tantrum from H who wants to be outside with the dog. I hope its not going to be one of those days. rolleyes.gif Talk soon xox
babybump2
Heeeelllllloooooo .... thinking of you all and trying to get a chance to read... but tricky with MIL around.

Surviving and the week is actually going really quick.

Miss Macy Moo's birthday was great yesterday except for the day began at 1:30am!!! Ahhhhh nno.gif Then after 6 more false starts... I finally let her get up at 6!! She was soooo excited. rolleyes.gif

We have her "Barbie and the 3 Musketeers party" on Saturday and she is almost bursting out of her skin. I made the cake today with the barbie in the middle and we decorated her skirt and she is holding a banner with Happy 5th birthday Macy. Will post a pic when I get a chance.

Every night the kids are waking and DH and I are walking around a bit like zombies but surviving.

Then next week... MIL goes home and DH goes away for the week. So I am going to go from one extreme to another. So you will all have to keep me company original.gif

Just a quick one from me as MIL is outside making a call - so can't really hang around. Hope everyone's week is going well

ginnyk
Hi there,

Happy birthday to Macy! her party sounds great - and the cake, a classic original.gif original.gif Hope she has a great time!!

Claire, I hear you on the behaviour front - Milly is mainly great, but definitely testing the waters - and yep, I think "ratbag" sums it up! Hope that T keeps up the night sleeping, that must be a bit of relief. And your boss sounds a bit odd, why would he suggest you get a new job ?

Hey Redsgirl, your situation sounds really difficult at the moment, there is nothing worse than a grumpy partner! Sounds like a new job is in order - of course easier said than done... mimie sounds so cute, - I always forget to get one of those trolleys when I'm at bunnings, the kids seem to have so much fun with them!

Holly and Amanda, your pregnancies seem to be flying by (to me anyway!). Amanda, people say the oddest things without thinking, I can't understand why someone thinks it is acceptable to ask if a pregnancy is planned or not!!

Us: DS is playing auskick at the collingwood/essendon anzac day match at half time, he gets to play in the centre game for collingwood which is pretty exciting (for me, being a lifelong collingwood supporter!!). He has actually only just started playing footy, so its an amazing introduction to the game, getting to play at one of the biggest matches of the year!

Milly is going well - starting to talk a lot (mainly about In the night garden, and babies) - she is obsessed by babies, and every morning asks if we are going to daycare to see her little baby friend, so cute original.gif

Night night

kaishra
Us: DS is playing auskick at the collingwood/essendon anzac day match at half time,

That's fantastic, I'm Collingwood too original.gif

Found out today that DS1 has been picked as his class representative to lay a wreath at his schools Anzac assembly tomorrow original.gif DH is going to come straight from work (in uniform original.gif) and attend as well
mygorgeousboy

Hope you all had a lovely LONG weekend.

Lauren, How sweet to see you DS and DH together on Anzaz Day. original.gif

Back at work for me today. Today one of the children's mum is going in for a c-section. I'm so excited and just want a cuddle. I haven't heard anything as yet. Her little girl was here for most of the day but is now gone down to the hospital. wink.gif

Sary, I hope the party was a sucess. Can't wait to see some pics. The cake sounds great.

I am going on 22 weeks this week. Oh its going so fast. And i have really popped now.

Anyway hope you are all well. xx:)

ETA: Amanda goodluck with your NT scan tomorrow. I will be thinking of you. x
kaishra
Lauren, How sweet to see you DS and DH together on Anzaz Day.

Well the wreath laying was done at 10.30am so DH couldn't come sad.gif but we all went to Gundagai for the dawn service and parade on Sunday which was nice, we had a lovely picnic in the park and the sun came out which was great.
tortagianduia
I had my NT scan this morning. I was supposed to drink 1L of water an hour before the scan time, but couldn't manage. I had drunk 750ml of fluid slowly and eaten a piece of bread, then I vomited most of it back up sick.gif. Managed to get another 500ml of water down about 20mins before the appointment.

I was so worried the sonographer was going to tell me the baby hadn't grown, or something was seriously wrong, but all looked fine. Hb 160, and baby was arching his/her back, and waving legs and arms around wub.gif. We couldn't get bub to get into a good posi for viewing the spine, so I ended up having a transvaginal scan as well. I don't know what the nuchal fold measurement was, and I don't have my results yet as my blood results weren't available this morning. I hope I am not in a high risk category hands.gif.

Sorry for me post. DH had the day off to come to the scan. I am going to take advantage and have a lie down original.gif.
babybump2
ooohhhhh Amanda so lovely to hear the scan went well! wub.gif Enjoy your rest with DH home x
mygorgeousboy
Amanda, Rest up while you can original.gif . When will you have the results? And you poor thing having to drink so much. I was told i only had to drink 600mls before the scan. And i serioulsy nearly wet myself while i was in the waiting room. huh.gif

I have had a shocking day with H today. He is sleeping terribly at the moment. Waking every night at around 2am and then fighting his day sleep. I don't know what the problem is. A few weeks ago he was sleeping from 7:30pm - 7am, and having atleast 1-2 during the day. He has suddenly become very attached to me and wanting me to pat him/ hold his hand to sleep which can take over an hour. Last night he went to bed at 7:30 and was still calling out, getting out of bed and demanding a cuddle (even after 100's of cuddles) at 9:30pm. I really hope this is just a short phase coz i need my sleep......It doesn't help that DH has been on 7 night shifts in a row. Thank god he has the next 5 days off. Although H will still demand me and not DH. Poor DH, he really wants to help but its just easier to deal with it myself. IYKWIM?

ANyway this has turned into a vent, Sorry girls. I'm already dreading bedtime tonight. sad.gif

Any advice????

~Simply*Blue~
Fantastic news Amanda original.gif and wow 12 weeks already!

Hope you have a better night tonight Holly original.gif

We're just cruising, found out yesterday that a friend of mine has just found out she's having twins! She's shocked to say the least, she wasn't even sure about having a third and now she'll have 4!!
BentyBaby
OMG, Amannnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnda!!!! OMG, OMG, OMG! - YayyyyyYYYY!

Sorry guys, I am a bad, bad friend.
I hope you are all well - i've been meaning to get back here for ages, and feel so sad.gif about it sad.gif
Even now, am just going to post this, and then off to bed - soooo tired all the time now - I think it must be old age, lol original.gif

Anyway, same old same old with me.
What's news around here ( besides Amanda ! )

Benty
kaishra
OMG she lives original.gif lolol
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.