The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: September 08 Parents #160

Pages: 1, 2, 3

http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/forums/ind...howtopic=776962

ellangel
GGOOLLDD!!!!!!!
Bel Rowley
cassi8
BRONZE!!!
cassi8
Blondie/Triny - I was just thinking the cheapie ones from Kmart/Big W but it would take her a while to get snaps off.. If you want to do cloth blondie I could help you with a few to get you started original.gif My DH only agreed if I would look after them, ie clean and wash and fold, he does it now too biggrin.gif
Great work on getting the bike seat and good news on the full nights sleep as well, it makes such a difference doesn't it!

oh washing is finished.. best go get is sorted..
Bel Rowley
Cool Cassi once I make it through the first trimester I will start thinking about it more seriously original.gif. I really think if I can convince DH of the money we will save and promise to take care of all the washing (which I do anyway!) hopefully he will agree. I never thought I would be convinced because I've never been so into the 'look' of MCNs like a lot of others are, it's more the money saving and the environmental factors that appeal to me.
cassi8
Blondie, if you aren't fussed on the look it will be a whole lot cheaper! wink.gif I'm a sucker for minky! laughing2.gif
ellangel
Oh blondie, you will be addicted like the others in no time. I would not even mention it to DH, just buy some! LOL....great you all got a good nights sleep. Dont know how you survive with 1 car. I know I couldnt as I go out everyday just about.

How did N sleep last night Cass? FANTASTIC weight loss! How long are you going to do the meal replacement thing?

Sold the fisher price activity table thingo for $20 and put pick up my parents place or mine to increase chances of selling. So of course, pickup is at my parents, so am meeting my sis halfway at the shops to drop it off.

Has anyone introduced a time out spot for their toddie yet?

Triny - how are you feeling?
alimumof3
good morning.

sharon funny you talk about time out spots. Oliver threw a tanty yesterday cos we brought him inside from the swings. rolleyes.gif anyone would think we cut his leg off. DD was saying "he needs to go to time out". hahah speaking of time out they are both playing with the dolls house right now and the 'mother' that she is playing with is telling the child 'you will go to time out'. hahh so funny.

cassi that is fantastic on the weight loss! well done! makes it worth while i bet.
i wonder if you can do those replacements when breastfeeding? prob not.

blondie yeah give mcn's a go! it really does save money. and its no problem ie washing etc. not much extra work at all.
ellangel
Blondie - yeah, maybe just do half half...in MCN's during the day and sposies at night when DH 'might' be changing her or next bub! (says me who is an expert on them...NOT)

Timeout - I am a big believer of it...it is quite effective. They need to know they have done wrong and get to miss out and be ignored while you walk away. Not for long...a minute is an eternity for young kids.
I think if you let them get away with lots, then they will walk all over you when they get older. YOU are in control, not them, even though at times, the parent feels outa control!
Ok, that is my input. Gotta go meet sis for coffee and cake and duck into Priceline. I LOVE that shop and cant go in there without purchasing something or trying some makeup on.

Ali - how absolutely cute that A is bossing O around! heeheheh...cute listening in on them isnt it?

Meljas - did you take the side off the cot over the weekend?
Bel Rowley
Ellangel - we haven't started time out yet but we are planning to. Might make that a goal for the week. Unfortunately I don't think Claudia fully grasps when she is in trouble yet and I don't think she would "get" time out. She knows when she's doing something naughty but disciplining her doesn't seem to have much effect.

Ali - Claudia is going through a tanty phase too, and usually when we try to bring her inside from playing on her slide or in the sandpit. She's also been cracking it at dinner time, the 30 seconds it takes to heat up her meals is apparently torture for her rolleyes.gif .

One car - we actually manage pretty well most of the time. DH doesn't mind riding to work two days a week and I really don't need the car every day. Winter will be tougher when the weather gets bad. We have always said we plan to get a second car when we have second baby as I am likely to start needing it more, but the expense of an additional car is something we want to put off as long as possible. Having 2 houses to maintain sucks up all our extra money.

ETA - we are starting to enter that bad patch in my DIG when our group is dropping like flies sad.gif. I remember the same time in my last DIG and after the first few m/cs it was my turn. 9 days to wait until my OB appointment and scan, it's going so slowly!
cassi8
We only have one car and it isn't much of an issue for us. There have been very few occasions when it has been a problem but we have managed a work around each time. DH catches the train most Mondays and Fridays so I have access to the car but I don't often use it.

Sharon - We haven't started time out yet but I will take N to his room if he has done something that bad a leave him. By the time he gets back to the lounge he is well aware that its unacceptable behavior and will cuddle and kiss to say sorry. N slept ok last night, woke twice once took a llittle to settle and the other DH didn't get out of bed before he had stopped again. We will see how nap time goes today. Good work on selling the table.

Blondie - I only do part time cloth but I notice the difference when I don't use the cloth for 4 days over the weekend!

I'm on the meal replacements for 4 weeks, so 3 weeks to go before I see the Dr again. I am thinking he will then tell me to eat brekky and replace lunch only. Although he could ask me to do another 4 weeks, who knows.
alimumof3
blondie oh try not to worry. Hard i imagine, but the chances of you having another m/c are very very low. But i know what you mean, in my DIG that was happening and that was also around the time I had that spotting so thought i woudl be next.
I hope the next 9 days go very quickly.
oh, and we use disposable overnight, but cloth during the day. sometimes if we're going out and i think he is due for a poo, which is every 3 days, i might put disp on. but am mostly using cloth, it does save money.

sharon do you think 18mth is too young for time out? i dont think Oliver would 'get' it either. we just ignore him when he has a tanty, which isn't very often. and yesterday he didnt sleep a lot so think that was why he had one. it was late in the arvo, almost tea time and he was tired and easily cranky.
We've only really started time out with DD in the last 6mths or so. and she's only been in there 3 times i think. all for about 45-60 seconds. she always says sorry and for what reason after, which i think is important. the threat of "you'll go to time out" is said all the time though!

those with bigger kids DD still wears a nappy overnight, and now that she holds on for longer and does bigger wees she is wet most morning (linen i mean) unless she does a wee at 1030 when we change her nappy. so my qu is, are pull ups more absorbant or are they just a marketing thing? she is fine in undies in the day. she is in bed for 13hrs overnight.
ellangel
we are starting to enter that bad patch in my DIG when our group is dropping like flies
Oh Blondie!! Am sure everything will be fine for you this time round! Sad that is happening in your group. Dont think I joined my DIG 3rd pregnancy till 10 weeks so I was able to emotionally skip a bit of that.

Off to have lunch and then read back more.
seepi
Hi again!
I am home from work today. What a fiasco this morning. I had to get an emergency dentist appt as a big chunk of my back tooth feel off. DP is on a course and coudlnt' go late. J was to go to daycare, and DD had her first day at preschool. oh - and the washing machine has packed it in.

the dentist was a shocker - they wanted to do x-rays and/or Extraction!! but can't do either while pregnant, so they drilled out the old massive filling, then refilled it as a temporary thing for 4 months. so I get to do it all again after I have the baby - great! I am horrified by the idea of Extraction though - that seems like something for grandparents, not me.

So keep brushing those teeth ladies = and those toddler teethies too.

anyway - I was going to go to work for the arvo only, but felt vile after the dentist, limp mouth, couldn't talk, splitting headache, and couldnt' eat for 2 more hours (hadn't had time to eat before either). So I'm having a sickie. It is better anyway - I need to work more hours, but I have heaps of sick leave so a whole day off makes more sense is a way... I just hope the work doesn't pile up too much. but I am leaving in 8 days (and counting!) so really, it isn't realistic that I can finish everything I have on my list anyway.

Also I want to pick up DD early from preschool - she was clingy and sooky this morning poor poppet. She was so excited to go, but the reality of a bit new place and new people frightened her a bit I think.

Timeout... I don't think Jasper would get it? He has tanties at the dinner table at the moment. He wats to sit on a normal dining chair, but wont' sit still, so we are still trying to get him in the high chair, or the portable high chair on a normal chair. soometimes he will, and other times he just loses it.

Nappies = I think cloth is fabulous for babies that don't poo much... or who usually poo in the morning or whatever. cloth for wee alone is fantastic = for at home anyway. And it really does save a fortune. I'm not into the fancy look either, and once you have bought enough nappies, there is no more to pay ever again. Cleaning up cloth nappies with poo on them in not one of my favourite things though. I never really got into them with jasper much. I have kept enough for baby 3 though = maybe I'll get back into it.

One thing I would recommend it to find out which ones you like, then get a whole set of those. It is a lot of hassle swapping between different kinds all day - especially if DH is reluctant anyway.

ali - pull-ups = don't start with them I say. Dd loves them now, and is reluctant to go back to normal nappies = she sees it as a backwards step. and the stupid pullups have 'pretty pictures' on them of princesses etc. but they cost over a dollar each and only come in tiny 10 packs. We are still using one a night. DD has been dry for about 4 nights now, which is great, but we've had this before and then had a few wet ones, so I'm in no rush to stop using them. Beagle tells me 'nappy pants' are the exact same, only no pictures and cheaper, so I must get a box of those next time I actually grocery shop, instead of rushing out for essentials in my lunch hour. If your DD is wetting thru can you go up a size in nappies for nighttime = or try huggies or a brand with a specific thicker night nappy.

BEAGLE - thank you so much for the blueberry MCN pullups for DD. She looooves them. Unfortunatley they are a bit loose round the legs still for miss chicken legs, but they are great to have if we run out of pull ups. And i think they might make a good transition between pull=ups and undies, once she is nearly always dry. I have been meaning to send you a card, but am just not getting around to it. So thank you.

Ok - better go and tidy the laundry for the new washing machine to be delivered. Usually all my spare time at home is spent doing washing. With no machine I dont' know what to do with myself. I bought some mince for spaghetti bolognaise too, so I guess I'll get that on. And I will ring up to see how DD is going at pre-school, once I can talk again.

alimumof3
seepi ouch you poor thing!
we are having spag bol for dinner tonight too.
thanks for tips re pull ups. what are nappy pants? what brand?
she weighs about 16kg and is using the 13-18kg nappies now. perhaps i should get the specific 16kg + ones?
she's using babylove, cos i foudn that even when using huggies she would wet thru.
its such a pain waking her to take her to loo at 1030. half the time she is still asleep and doesnt wee. othertimes she does. but we always change her nappy (unless dry then we take her to loo).
key4
Pull ups - I found to less absorbent that normal nappies. Kaidyn hated them and qucikly became toilet trained in an attempt to use them.

Cars- We have only ever had one and manage fine even with the two kids, Blondie you are organised enough to work with it.

Seepi - You poor thing. I hope you are not in too much pain now.

Cassi - Good work you are doing great original.gif

I shall be back later as I am supposed to be studying. I got news this morning which is Kind of bad but also good for me. My mums uncle has been imprisoned for sexually abusing children - the reason that is good is that my great grandfather did it for years and got away with it. This is his son and it provides so much closure for me that something was done about it in this generation even if was 25 years after the fact. Even though he didn't do it to me he covered his fathers tracks and his punishment makes me feel better. Mum had been brushing it under the carpet as she thought it would upset me, but her Aunt died last night so it came out in the wash as I asked why he was not there when speaking to Granny.

Finally I am starting to feel so positive about things - Much better than last week.
melaniejasmin
Seepi - dentist - yuck! I have had 2 extractions because I didnt have any adult 12 year molars. so the baby teeth have been pulled.... one was done under sedation as I was having the prosthesis put in straight away, but the last one was with nothing and I was so shaken up afterwards!

MCNs- I dont really care about the look either (though I do like my Itti bitti d'lish!), so I use all different types. I think the best types are the slim ones as sometimes MCNs can be too bulky for some types of pants. I havent bought any recently, and I do use sposies at night because after about 10 months Alexander's urine was so strong at night it was giving him a rash. I will use cloth overnight though with the new baby.

Cassi - great going on the weight loss!

Blondie - dont stress about the MCs! it will happen in every DIG. I'm not really into my DIG actually, I'm not interested in talking about strollers or stressing because someone drank half a McD thickshake before remembering that they were pregnant... who cares. it's not going to kill anyone, but the way people went on about it...! I eat what I want, there doesnt seem to be a range of opinions in the group like my last great DIG original.gif

Timeout - I dont think Alexander would get it. and he would stay in the one place for a minute!

Still feel crappy. didnt sleep very well last night, as my nose was so blocked. I hate colds!

ETA - didnt see your post Key! wow. how horrible. glad there is closure for you.
ellangel
Seepi - oh yucko to the dentist! You poor thing!

Pullups - bought one pack once. Found they did not work as well as normal nappies. I never took DD1 to the toilet of a night.

Key - so glad you are feeling better about life this week! Here is to a good week! Oh that is terrible about your mums uncle. Did he abuse your mum do you think? Shocking.

Timeout - I think you all are underestimating what your bubs understand! We have a clever group remember?? LOL. I mean a few seconds of removing them from say putting items in a video player or something. Telling them NO twice and if they persist, picking them up and moving them to sit somewhere else and saying "no, that is dangerous"
bellygood
Hi Girls!

Tell me why I don't like Muuunn-daaayys (tell my why!).. because it's cleaning day, that's why! Kitchen, bathroom, dunny, laundry: done. Mysterious food stains on couch: not done.

Ellangel time=out here is more me leaving the room rather than putting Ivy on the naughty step or whatever. It does the trick. She toddles on it to find me (usually in my bed/study) and is all apologetic and cuddly. She cracks it quite frequently at indignities such as NOT being able to drag mummy out into the pouring rain for a play, or NOT being allowed to drink the Jif/Cif whatever it's called these days. If she could, I'm sure she'd be on the phone to DOCS...

Blondie yeah it's not nice how the DIGs thin out in the first 12w. I haven't bothered joining a DIG for this PG - are you in two eg this one and a November 2010 one? Too much commitment for me, I like to share the love with this group only! Can imagine the wait for the scan is fraught for you, hope the days pass quickly!

Seepi I lost a big filling on boxing day 2008... luckily I could find a dentist, unluckily they couldn't deaden the nerve so I ended up with a temporary filling and got the 'proper' filling done weeks later, again hard to deaden the nerve. Had so many jabs... awful. Plus paying twice eg once for temporary once for final. When I floss my teeth I have a very sensitive wisdom tooth so I think it'll be the next to be plucked out (have two out already, only two left). Hope yours settles down and you don't have any more worries. They reckon PG buggers your teeth up...

Key revenge is a dish best served cold, glad your mum's uncle is finally being punished for his actions. There was a family in my home town, a really brutish kind of family, and one of the daughters took the father and two of the brothers to court for incest/rape. Very brave girl in a small town but if people don't speak up then the cycle continues. They talk and talk about stranger danger but it really is the family and friends that often turn out to be the abusers. I say hang 'em high!

We are having curried sausages for dinner yuck I just don't like sausages right now. Leftovers from last night, cooked sausages so I figured I'd hide them in some kind of curry. Took Ivy to the library this morning, turned my back for 2 minutes and riip out comes the page from a book. I confessed at the counter but they said they could repair it, no worries (old kids book, easily taped together). She then did a big smelly poo so straight home for us. Some Wiggles, then some 'active play' eg me finally doing stuff with her! Dressing her up, putting shoes on, taking them off, reading her a book (well trying to), pushing shapes into the ball thingy... all good fun. Felt a bit guilty at being so hands-off with her: I take her out a lot but don't often play with her like this.
key4
Sharon - He abused his nieces on his wifes side of the family. Mum was one of the few who escaped the whole saga. Me, her sister and 3 cousins were the target of her grandfather.

Timeout works well here. Kaidyn has it as his major form of punishement as reccommended by the triple p program and Niamh is now having it in her cot when she is throwing tantrums - cot was chosen as she has a tendency to try and make a point by throwing herself on the floor mattress better for the developing brain.

ASSIGNMENT FINISHED yippppppppeeeeeeeeeeee.

GTG child awake and screaming
alimumof3
sharon
I never took DD1 to the toilet of a night
you must not have had a heavy wetter (or really long sleeper) like me. Otherwise if i dont take to toilet or change nappy then I'm guaranteed she'll be wet from knees to neck. and its such a pain washing sheets, mattress protector etc.

. I mean a few seconds of removing them from say putting items in a video player or something. Telling them NO twice and if they persist, picking them up and moving them to sit somewhere else and saying "no, that is dangerous"
oh yeah i do this kind of thing but i dont class that as "time out". to me time out is going to the spot (hallway for us) and walking away and leaving child there for a minute.

key oh how horrible. glad there is something being done. scum of the earth. aannoyed.gif
alimumof3
bellygood keep meaning to say, yes the kicks from this baby have been very low. (although are now higher up at 28wks). at my 20wk scan it was the same as you, the sonographer had to fully dig around and press hard down low. really hurt!
i asked OB last wk about the low kicks and she said everything is lower 3rd time around (so would be lower too for 2nd time) cos all the ligaments etc have stretched and lower.
cassi8
Key - How awful sad.gif I am glad justice is being served even if its a long time coming and that you have found some closure from it all.

Seepi - What a day you have had! I hope you are feeling a bit better tomorrow, I hate having tooth work done as well.

Ali - have you tired 2 huggies one over the other? cut the outside of the inner one so the wee can get through to the second one. Sometimes going up a size helps as well as they are more absorbent. or maybe even a mat pad inside to help absorb the extra bit? Nappy pants are huggies as well, just a pull on style rather than a fastening style, not sure on absorbency.
I forgot to say before, no you can't Optifast while pg or BF. original.gif

BG - Those curried snags sound awesome for dinner! I might have to make myself some.. unless I get a better offer, I was looking for dinner ideas. Good on you for getting all that cleaning done!

I was going to clean out another cupboard while N was napping but thought I would have a rest instead and DH could help me tonight. Stupid idea, phone kept ringing so I didn't get much rest!

alimumof3
cassi - yep i've tried your suggestions. SHe is just a heavy wetter, always has been. and oliver is following in her footsteps..
ellangel
Does she drink alot of water/fluids during the day Ali? DD1 did and her nappy would be just about falling off and I often thought 'how on earth will she night train?' Now I try and limit her fluid after 5pm. She knows too, as when DH gives her her milk before bed and its above a cetain line in her poptop, she will say "dad, that is too much...I might the wet the bed!"

Bel Rowley
Seepi - OW to the dentist, doesn't sound fun at all. I had a dental x-ray when I was first pregnant with Claudia (wearing a protective apron) but they wouldn't do the root canal that I needed, and I still haven't had it done ph34r.gif .

Key - It is good that your great-uncle is finally being punished, a bit traumatic for all the family I'm sure but I'm glad you have some closure. Well done finishing your assignment!

Melanie - you're right the DIGs can get full on. I think I mentioned I was posting in TTC after Miscarriage for a little bit but got out because all the "angels flying free" stuff and constantly dwelling on the lost babies wasn't for me. cool.gif I'm also much more relaxed about eating than I used to be, I'm still eating ham & cheese toasties (figure the heat will kill any nasties) and the occasional bit of soft cheese.

Ellangel - I do what you are describing and talk quite sternly to Claudia but no time out as such.

Bellygood - don't worry this group is still #1 biggrin.gif but I do like posting about pregnancy-related things in the other DIG so I don't bore everyone here to death, as well as offering some advice if I can to the newbies.

Claudia and I have been for a walk to the library, gosh she loves it there, it's always near impossible to drag her away. I love the library too but I always feel bad browsing and leaving Claudia to wreak havoc in the kids' section, she refuses to follow me around and has to sit in the bean bags reading books.

ETA - dinner tonight here will be pasta with bacon, broccoli and a cheesy/creamy sauce, one of our favourites. Right now the thought of curried sausages makes me sick.gif but that's just my sensitive stomach. Oh speaking of food ideas, I discovered the best easy satay stirfry recipe in a Women's Weekly cookbook I was given, not authentic I'm sure, but the sauce is basically peanut butter, sweet chilli sauce and some beef stock, stirred through stirfried beef and vegies with hokkien noodles. It's so yummy.
beaglebaby
Chatty bunch today aren't you!

Ali, I used the Huggies nappy pants, not sure if they are more or less absorbent than the standard nappies but DD was able to pull them up and down herself to use the toilet. Have you tried putting a cloth booster inside a nappy? Avoid pull ups at all costs - as Seepi has said, the kids get addicted to the characters etc.

Seepi, what a pity the pants aren't a good fit, can the elastic be tightened? I saw your post in the Huggies toy promotion thread on the weekend, did you end up with some more barcodes? I think I have extras, I used to cut them out all the time, but haven't bothered for a while and still seem to have a stack! You've had an awful morning, hope the day improves. Definitely use up as much sick leave as you can!

Blondie, I was thinking about your problem with Claudia undressing and have another idea for you to try. Do you have any of those Bonds Easysuits? You know the ones they have to be a contortionist to get into? Lucas can now undo the pop studs on his bodysuits and take off his sleeping bags, or just pulls things down if the neck is a little loose, but he's never got out of and Easysuit. Pity they only go up to a size one, and they are getting hard to find - not sure if they're still making them.

Key, I'm sorry your family has had to go through that. DD's godmother was abused by her father, he is currently in prison for it, I had known the family for 20years and hadn't picked up on it, it has made me very wary and careful with my children, but you still just don't know who or where it could be happening. The more people speak out and increase awareness the better. Glad to hear you are feeling better too.

Bellygood, sliced sausages work well in pasta too, with just a light tomato based sauce and some vegies, or in one of those pasta bake sauces. You've got lots done this morning - well done.

Tweedy, we've gone through the rash problems lately too. Usually lathering on the cream when I put the disposable on at night is enough, but we've had to do a full week of disposables. I went to get some anti-fungal cream from the pharmacy and they talked me into buying "resolve", which is an anti-fungal nappy cream. I found it very slow to work, if I need any in future I'll get proper anti-fungal cream.

Cassi, great work on the weightloss, I hope you feel great. Are you doing b'fast and lunch? Is it hard to avoid snacking or does it really fill you up?

Melanie, sorry you're not feeling to flash, colds are the pits when you're pregnant.

Ellangel, I need some of your cleaning and Ebaying motivation!! Where do you get your energy from? We use a similar form of time out to you, removal - it's still the easiest. I still send the older 2 to their rooms too when I've had enough of them.

Busy day today, have done the school run, been to the library, Big W, vegie shopping and Woolies, Lucas is in bed and I'm about to chase DD to bed so they both have had naps before school pick up time. DH has had some chemo this morning and they gave him phenergan too because of his reaction 2 weeks ago, so he's been sleeping since he got home. DS's swimming lessons this afternoon so it looks like the other 2 are going to have to tag along and watch, poor Lucas spends way too much time trapped in his stroller.
ellangel
Ali - she is only 3 ...I would not worry...takes awhile for them to HOLD it. Some of Ella's friends are still in night nappies at 5 years old. I know my nephew still was.

Better go entertain Holli Molli
alimumof3
sharon yes we do try to limit fluids. she doesnt have milk before bed anymore, stopped that probably 6mths plus ago? maybe even a year. can't remember! cos we thought that might have been prob. we also limit water before bed but doesnt seem to hlep.
speaking of milk, she doesnt have a glass of milk each day anymore, maybe a milo or a smoothie some days. do you think that is ok? she has lots of yoghurt and cheese though. each day.
oh, i'm not worried about wearing a nappy overnight, i dont care if she is still in them for another year (except for the $$ factor) its more trying to stop having to wash her sheets umpteem times a week. espec once winter comes.

Beagle ahhh good idea about cloth booster. i could put a BBH trifold thing in there. thanks!
you sound busy today, i thikn i will go to the library on wed for something to do. can't do the craft story time in the monring on wed as Oliver still having the 2 sleeps, but could always go just for a visit later in the day.
How is DH holding up emotionally? (if you dont mind me asking). Hope he is doing ok.
cassi8
Are you doing b'fast and lunch? Is it hard to avoid snacking or does it really fill you up?

I
I'm on the brekky and lunch and a proper dinner. Its not easy to begin with, only in the last few days have I been feeling more satisfied after a shake. Its only an 800 Cal diet so not much to it really, would be easier if you like fruit. I find it hard to eat fruit and not salad creative so things get a bit boring but while its working...

Speaking of food, off to get a snack..
Bel Rowley
Beagle - the easysuit is a great idea! We have one that she still fits in (just, it's a 0) but I might check Ebay and see if any are going cheap...
alimumof3
blondie what a bummer! i had a size 1 easysuit (it was black and white but dont think that would have mattered) and i got rid of it cos i hated it!

forogt to say, Oliver and DH were playing hide and seek yesterday and Oliver said "i see you daddy". as clear as a bell. was very cute.
seepi
Beagle - I would LOVE some huggies barcodes. I spend heaps on huggies, but on swim pants and the stupid pull-ups. i also used to have a stack of lables, but I wasn't that impressed with the last giveaway, so I turfed them not that long ago - so annoyed.

I think I could have a go at the elastic in the blueberries, but they are not far off fitting. She woer one one night and did a small wee and got up (crying) to go to the loo. so they definitely are better than pullups in that way too (helping them to notice). I am just not ready for the whol drama as yet - I'm not good in the middle of the night, let alone with wet sheets.

Ali - there is also a pad thing you can buy to go on the bed (bit like the things they put on the bed after you have a baby). I forget the name though 'brolly pad' or something. It stops the sheets/mattress protector etc getting wet.

blondi - you might end up like me. I haven't had a dental -ray for years = I am always pregnant when I end up there! It is bad really though, as I have brittle teeth, so the x-rays usually show up a filling or two.

Bellygood - I was so stressed this morning I didn't really cotton onto whether this is a temporary filling or not.... they discussed so many options, and I was upset after leaving DD all clingy and sad, and i was petrified of the drilling etc, as I knew the tooth had snapped off below the gumline I think they want to x-ray when they can, then decide if this filling needs to come back out (or whole tooth - eek) or not. Maybe I'll just not go back.... it is starting to hurt now, but only sore gums etc, not nerve pain, which they said I might get for the next 2 weeks. In my next life I am going to brush my teeth about 5 times a day!

OK - gotta go - off to pick up DD from her first ever day of pre-school. they said she was doing well when I rang earlier = thank goodness. the new pre-school does seem lovely (quite hippy and touchy feely). but separate drop offs for DD and Jasper are a bit of a pain. Especially in the morning = we are in the suburbs, but peak hour traffic dramas have reached us in teh last year or two, and driving anywhere is slooooow as anything and annoying. I can't wait to be off work = that will be so much easier.

- ooh - Beagle - my OB said he would write me a sick certificate for the next two weeks, but I'd feel too slack doing that I think...apart from this sudden tooth thing, nothing is really wrong ecxept tiredness!
alimumof3
seepi ah yeah like "kylies" they call them in hospital. that is an idea. then i just have to wash them rather than the whole bed. where do you buy them from do you know?
gee, i'd be taking your OB up on his offer and take the sick leave! but then again, i hate working.
jotsmum

Ali - I was about to mentione them to you as well they are called Brolly Sheets and you can get them from Darlings Downunder. Are you doing the Nappy Hunt? If you are hunting they are giving a 15% discount with the Hunt code.

gtg actually have some work to do today.

alimumof3
thanks jotsmum. great idea. although geez they are expensive!
beaglebaby
Ali, I'm sure that I've seen the Brolley Sheets on one of the cloth nappy websites, maybe put up a post in the nappy section, they might even be on sale in the Nappy Hunt. Oops - see, Jotsmum was too quick! Not sure really how DH is doing emotionally, keeps it all to himself most of the time. He's pretty good at burying his head in the sand, reminds me, I need to gently push him to ring the Dr again, still hasn't spoken to him about last weeks blood tests.

Blondie, the Easysuit is worth a try. Perhaps even put up a wanted in the TR if it works.

Seepi, I've still got to go through and check that all of mine are the right thing, then I'll let you know what I've got left. Wish I hadn't thrown away all the Nappy Pants packs - they count for this too.

Cassi, not sure I'd have the strength not to snack but need to do something! I'm sure the weightloss you've had would be good motivation though.

Nearly school pick up time and I've only just managed to get DD to sleep, she really hates having afternoon naps, but needs them or she is really tired and grumpy - argh!
tweedy08
Have added more size 1's to the album ladies wink.gif

Tillys rash seems to be looking better today. So will see how it is in the morning! I have got a couple of night naps from the nappy library on ecobubs to try. I know the genesa forge works but I only have 1 of those & she is out of the material for a while. speaking of nappy library I cant remember which of you were looking into cloth but perhaps thats the way to go first so you can see what works. There is also a wonderful infor booklet that comes with it too and explains everything form the cloth v sposies to what each diff nap does. Its not expensive really imho. I am paying $15 a week to try out 4 diff night naps. alot cheaper than buying them then finding they dont work!

Ill be back soon have to get this little girl organised for bed. She hasnt had a sleep today! I am exhausted, as is she but there was no way I was letting her doze off at 3.30 in the arvo.....lol.

Will catch up then!
ellangel
those brolley sheets are a great idea!! And maybe you can put one on your bed when you think your waters may break Ali!!
You have a message on FB from me!

How clever of Oliver to say that sentence! And how special it was about daddy!

Beagle - I have alot of energy during the day now I am on my super multivitamin from Melaleuca! Of course!
All their vitamins are on the MIMS database so are proven to work and are 80% absorbable unlike other vitamins. The new one they have out, has a new ingredient in it, called OLIGO and just 2 tablets are proven to be the same as taking 35 tablets CENTRUM brand multi's a day! I feel amazing and have heaps more energy~

Tweedy - I will let you know when I have posted you the money so you can look out for it. Thanks love
melaniejasmin
I like the sound of the vitamins, Sharon. Pity I cant take them at the moment, but they sound great for my DH who has (IMO) quite a sh*tty immune system.... I'll look in the MIMS tomorrow! Off to look at the Mela website....
alimumof3
sharon yep have emailed you back.
so with those vitamins, can they be taken while BF'ing? Speaking of xtra energy, since i've been taking the extra iron tabs i am feeling way less tired.
with your Mela - do you have your own website?
oh, and i'm having a scheduled c section so no worrying about waters breaking. although could be handy when i can't be bothered walking the three steps to the ensuite during the night for the millionth time..kidding.
ellangel
I am 99% sure these CAN be taken while PG and BF. How great is that?? Will ring Melaleuca down in Melbourne tomorrow to confirm this for you all.

No Ali, I do not have a personal website. Mela does. http://www.melaleuca.com/ and click on Australia
Gotta fly....I no longer get angry at DH at this time of the evening amongst the madness, as I know he is not coming home! LOL

BBL...
littlemumma
URGENT - what else could be wrong with a baby with stomach pains besides constipation, screaming the house down???????
tweedy08
what about a wind pain?
ellangel
shoot Little m. How long has he been upset? Could be ears, headache, alot of things, or yes, windpain. Give him a bath and see if he stops or a water iceblock. When I thought Holli had dislocated her wrist, I gave her a water iceblock and it calmed her down and she forgot about things and her wrist was fine.

I hope he is ok. Give panadol in case?
ellangel
Are you home on your own Littlem? Hope not
trinyweeny
Littlemumma - No idea but I hope he is ok.
alimumof3
oh god littlemumma that sounds awful! oh gosh my first thought woudl be constipation but you said besides that. hmm. i agree with sharon that it could be a lot of thigns. can you ring a helpline? here in SA we have child health nurses on call 24/7.
I nkow when Oliver is really badly constipated and screaming the house down its when its kind of stuck and half coming out if that makes sense.
Hope Max is ok.
ellangel
Please come back when you can and tell us how he is/went! Know you will when you have a chance. Aunty Sharon will worry! LOL

Those on FB...some interesting convo on KM's status....
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.