alimumof3
23/03/2010, 08:29 PM
sharon DD is the total opposite. on the weekends she doesnt want a bar of me!!! which used to hurt my feelings but i guess its novelty having daddy all day. and its nice for them. cos really the kids only see him for an hour and half a day during the week. He leaves before they get up.
Oliver on the other hand, walks aroudn the house saying "mummy? mummy? i want mummy" if i am out of sight.(secretly i love it!!) even when DH home. NOt that he doenst love daddy and spending time with him, but he is at that clingy with mummy stage, and i also wonder if he is sensing the baby.
ellangel
23/03/2010, 08:54 PM
hehehe...that is so cute. H walks around the house saying "mummy?' and looking in every room and says "Noooooo" until she finds me.
LOL. Yes Dh might be a bit confused/grossed out when he sees cloth nappies in 1 bucket and cloth pads in the other soaking! YUCK.
DH even had to physically change my pad for me the first few days after my VB. I was in a bad way and could not even bend to do this. I dont get it...when you had a c/s they give you the meds pretty much every 4 hours, with VB, I had to ASK for them and they'd look at my chart and comment, "but you had VB didnt you?" YES! But I am in agony here!
Off to watch Grey's
bellygood
23/03/2010, 09:32 PM
Ivy also does a 'mummy! mummy!' in a very haughty voice that cracks DH up. She is clingy with a capital C which is pretty tiring for me sometimes.
Daycare gah she is so wired after daycare, I have a real love/hate thing for it. I love the 'day off' but we 'pay' for it in the evening, she is not relaxed and has obviously not rested even though in the daycare book it says she 'slept' 1.5 hrs. I don't believe she has had this sleep. Also, I have to do a huge hunt for all of her goods and chattels when I pick her up as her stuff (cups, lunchbox, sheet, hat etc) is never in the bag and I hate leaving stuff there for a whole week. She didn't cry on drop off or pick up today so perhaps she's settling in.
Ellangel I have asked DH to do many things but never change a pad;-) then again I don't really recall these things you call 'periods'... I've only had one since December 2007...
Diva cups noooo I'm happy using leaves and twine... no honestly I have no opinion on these but will likely never try them - if I ever have another period that is
Cassi Ivy has also given DH a shove now and then, they get very snarky when they don't get what they want! Tiny tyrants.
Seepi OMG you could pop at any minute! 32w already... you kept it secret for so long, it just seems like yesterday that you told us the news!
Ali I want slinky chips too! What a great idea, maybe that's how they make those curly fries? Yum! Actually even the apple slinky sounds gooooooodddd..
Blondie is Citizen Kane the 'rosebud' one? Ah so long since I've seen it... is interesting studying film isn't it.
~Elliesmum~
23/03/2010, 10:03 PM
LOL Yummy I have made curly fries before Ali but used the wrong type of potato IYKWIM and they went all soggy

got a bit disheartened then and didn't try them again. What did you do with all the cores? lol Ds asks now and then can we make curly fries again so I guess I should.
Its funny, I used to be a tampon girl... now I can't stand them, I hate disposable pads too, nasty sticky things, always end up feeling uncomfortable, and now I react to the "stay dry" types. Still use one sometimes though. Id rather not get a period altogether too haha. Dh has seen them on the line (clean), I tend to keep them a bit private but then I forget they are on the line, or in the machine when he hangs out a load lol. But they go in with the nappies and just look like another booster etc

I generally keep them in a bucket underneath other stuff and wash nappies daily for that few days.
but I wouldnt have considered them a year or two ago, I'm getting hippy in my old age hehe.
Bel Rowley
24/03/2010, 07:27 AM
Sarina - I just tried to suggest KM as a friend for you on FB but looks like you already have her, I guess somebody suggested her already. What did you think of Survivor last night? I liked the blindside in the first ep.
Ellangel - not sure if we will find out. We didn't with Claudia as I was insistent we would have a surprise even though at the 19 wk scan DH wanted to know, now I am more open to finding out but DH isn't, so we'll see. Not sure about making videos smaller, but I have had problems uploading them to FB in the past too. Maybe try photobucket?
Seepi - I am like you, I can handle the thought of cloth breast pads but not the other pads. Breast milk doesn't make me squeamish in the same way.
Cassi - according to the Diva cup threads I have read they are supposed to be better for cramps and for length of AF. I still don't know how I'd go with them though, I'm sure I'd put them in crooked and they'd leak or something. No good about N's bedtime routine. Claudia is usually OK but cracks it occasionally. She also definitely goes through those anti-Daddy phases. 2 nights ago she was up at about 1 and DH got up with her, I could hear the "Mama mama mama mama" for about 10 minutes.
Ali - LOL about DH seeing the pads. I think after my m/c DH could probably handle anything. I was bleeding so badly it was impossible to keep it all flushed so he had to see a bit.
Bellygood- I can imagine daycare is disruptive for Ivy, it would be different if she was there all week but for one day it's probably a lot of stimulation for her. Yes Citizen Kane is "Rosebud". Studying film is great, I'm starting to wish I could do my whole degree on film but don't know about job opportunities at the end... I'm guessing Margaret isn't likely to give up her spot for me on At The Movies anytime soon

More work on the assignment for me today. Hoping to go for a swim when DH gets home tonight as I didn't go on the weekend and probably won't be able to this weekend. I'm a slacker.
cassi8
24/03/2010, 08:26 AM
Thats interesting Blondie, my body just doesn't seem to like having foreign objects in it and would much prefer to expel them
Elliesmum -

on the icky disposable pads, they irritate me too by the end but I'm not sure I could deal with the more ick of washing my own

BG - They do settle in evetually. We had the same wired child when he started CC and once he settled in he slept for longer and he was happier at the end of the day. How frustrating that you have to hunt around for everything at the end of the day though! Surely the carers should be putting belongings away as they go and are not needed.
Sharon - awww, the things DHs do for us!

On N's sleep, he has recently had a few things click so wondering if its a developomental thing. At swimming, can 'monkey' along the wall alone now and jumped in by himself both happened last Sat, many more words, showing understanding of others belongings, further understanding of self, points mummy, daddy , 'natan' as he points to self, trying to do things himself before asking for help, concept of catching a ball, all in the last week or so. He is fighting us with every sleep at the moment! Just have to ride it out I guess.
Ok back to work now!
alimumof3
24/03/2010, 08:34 AM
anyone know where you buy cloth breast pads from? i guess someone in the hunt will have them. hmmmm.
i have heaps of disposables here left over from oliver and i was given a heap aswell. i leak a lot when feeding so def need them in for the first few months at least.
ellies with the core I just cut that in half so it was little and roasted it too.
~Elliesmum~
24/03/2010, 08:47 AM
oh good idea ali, I think we stuck it in whole which didn't really work as it was bigger then lol. I have seen cloth breast pads around a lot, do you need any other nappy supplies/accessories as you can get them from most places.
cassi- yep I agree with you on the ick factor, sometimes I wonder why I do it myself

partly its to save money, partly health and environment and I was always caught short running out of the darn things or leaking with the disposables

I don't run out at all now, and they are much more comfortable lol
wow- what a big week Nathan's had! clever boy. I love watching them learn new things as they grow, it just gets better and better

hope his sleep settles down soon.
cassi8
24/03/2010, 08:54 AM
Ali - a lot of the cloth pad and nappy makers do breast pads as well. you can buy avent and other brands at baby shops as well if you don't want to pay for post. Post in the nappies section or the GDUNH thread and you will get hepas of suggestions.

If I find some on my travels I will let you know.
Robyn - I can almost feel how comfy they would be, even just for liners! Might have to go sus it out before the hunt ends..
alimumof3
24/03/2010, 09:09 AM
how mnay cloth breast pads do you think would be needed? i mean you'd need at least 10 wouldnt you? to allow for washing?
i wonder if they are $$.
i normally buy the disp Rite Aid ones from woolies/big w. they're pretty cheap.
alimumof3
24/03/2010, 09:25 AM
hey cassi or anyone else - how much do you reckon washable breast pads, like the avent ones, would be from target or somewhere?
Darlings down under have a pack of 3 pairs for $17.
trinyweeny
24/03/2010, 09:32 AM
Well we have just some inside after jacqui was stung by a bee. After a b/f and her dummy she seems ok. I tried to put some ice or a wet washer on it but she won't let me touch it. Just wants to play with the ice pack.
trinyweeny
24/03/2010, 09:33 AM
Ali - I have seen them in chemists and I think Target. Heading there this afternoon will have a look.
alimumof3
24/03/2010, 09:37 AM
thanks triny that woulld be great.
poor Jacqui! at least she doesnt seem to upset about it. any bee sting allergies in your family?
cassi8
24/03/2010, 09:39 AM
Just had a quick look around Ali, not a bad price, Cloth pad shop has them for between $4 and $7 a pair, Obsidian has for about $5ish a pair.
I have no idea how much the avent ones are or how many you will need.
trinyweeny
24/03/2010, 09:40 AM
no bee allergies in the family. The foot is just slighty swollen and a little red. Doesn't seem bothered by it at all.
Bel Rowley
24/03/2010, 09:43 AM
Oh Jacqui you poor thing! I hope she's OK. Bee stings hurt

Cassi - Nathan is doing so well at swimming! DH gets frustrated because every time they are supposed to jump in from the side of the pool Claudia will run off

. She is the youngest in the class so can't do a few things that the others do.
Breast pads - I still have about 1/4 of the box left that I bought with C, I didn't use that many.
cassi8
24/03/2010, 09:43 AM
I just saw Triny, aww, poor J! I hope she is ok. I have only ever had one bee sting and man they hurt!
alimumof3
24/03/2010, 09:50 AM
i thought i had a lot of disp ones left over but only have enough for 5 days - that is using 3 pair a day. i do hate how they go all wrinkly in your bra. i think cloth would be better.
thanks cassi, will have a look at that website
cassi8
24/03/2010, 09:56 AM
Ali - Karen has some on her site as well

Can you tell I'm not interested in work today??

Blondie, N loves it but he has been going since 8 mths old as well. He is aout middle/upper end on the class. He will go up to the toddlers I think after next term which is with instructor only, no mum or dad in the pool!
alimumof3
24/03/2010, 09:56 AM
i can get some new ones on ebay for $3 a pair with no postage. not hemp though.
trinyweeny
24/03/2010, 10:06 AM
I think I would want some with either hemp or bamboo for absorbency otherwise I need to be changing them every 5 mins.
Blondie - I think I used over 5 boxes of 100 with Jacqui.
Cassi - It funny how different all the swim schools are. At ours they graduate to the next class till they are 2.5/3years. Jacqui has started to be able to "monkey" just this week. Although we seem to have a bit of regression since she started walking and doesn't like to go under anymore. Didn't put her under this week and much happier. We have been swimming since she was 6 months.
cassi8
24/03/2010, 10:12 AM
Ali - I have to agree with Triny, I found the ones you were looking at, they don't sound very absorbent!
Triny - thats intresting on the swim school. It will depend on when the term starts to whether he will go up or not, he has to have turned 2. Wow, feels strange just saying that.. 2..

anyhow, back on track.. they do a lot of prep work with them getting them used to being with the instructor and climbing out of the pool and standing on the platform. From there its graded on ability rather than age.
trinyweeny
24/03/2010, 10:16 AM
Cassi - We don't have terms either at our swim school. The only time swimming is not on is a public holiday. Usually they only shut down for about 2/3 weeks over christmas. This year was a bit longer 4 weeks because they repainted the whole building.
cassi8
24/03/2010, 10:19 AM
wow, ours run to school terms, so 10 or 11 weeks and a 2 week break. I kinda like having the break inbetween and do other things on a Saturday!
Bel Rowley
24/03/2010, 10:20 AM
While we're on the subject of swimming how much do you all pay for classes? We are nearing the end of the classes that my PIL paid for as a Christmas present and I'm trying to convince DH we should continue them. It's $40/month, does that seem reasonable?
trinyweeny
24/03/2010, 10:31 AM
blondie - Sounds reasonable to me we pay between $11 & $12 depending on how many lessons I buy.
laraq75
24/03/2010, 10:47 AM
Swimming - I am not sure how much we pay per lesson but it is $366 for both kids for a term. Sounds liek a lot when you put it down like that. It is so interesting that they all work differently.
Ok back to hiding away. I just don't seem to have much time. How does everybody else manage to get in here with several kids? You all must be magicians.
hugs
Lara
cassi8
24/03/2010, 10:49 AM
Ours are about the same as well, $10ish for each 30 min lesson, about $85 - $90 per term depending on the number of weeks.
melaniejasmin
24/03/2010, 11:05 AM
morning!
Swimming - Alexander still not going to lessons. I'll start later in the year when we move closer to a pool. I'm not worried about his water skills so I dont think it's necessary at this stage. (then again, if I want him to be the next Ian Thorpe I should probably get him started....

)
Breast pads - I use a mix of both - cloth during the day and disposable overnight (because I sleep on my tummy most of the time = big leaking!) with a cloth one-way stay dry cover thingie. they are great. not sure where to get them, they were my Mums! I used some really crappy ones from Ebay which were terrible and may of well made them myself, and some avent or some such from Kmart. they were expensive (about $10) but worth it. I've already lost a few so will have to stock up again before July.
really should be doing some more studying today.... dont feel like it though. may just email my tutor and ask some questions regarding the essay topic that I want to do, that way it feels like I've done something...!
very excited this morning. the German Film festival films have been released! not happy that they have put the prices up to $17 a ticket! what a joke!
~Elliesmum~
24/03/2010, 11:48 AM
I never used breast pads really, not having a great supply also meant I hardly ever leaked at all, even in mid feed lol. I'll have a hunt and see if I still have a box laying around, if so I'll post to whoever wants them, might have already given them away though. I tried some cloth ones years ago from bigW or something, cheap and uncomfortable.
have been clearing out about 5 years worth of kids clothes LOL. Literally. 1.5 huge bags to go to the opshop and another 2 baskets worth to take pics of and list (think Im nuts really!), not keeping any of ds's clothes except the sentimental ones, just most of Ellies good stuff. Am thinking of selling my maternity clothes too, although it would be good to hang onto them JIC. We just need the room and the $$.
What does everyone think its better to sell here or on ebay? I'm a bit put off the TR after that woman that was buying and selling. I also have no idea on what to put on some things, I know what I'd pay but whether someone else would! But I hate listing on Ebay there must be a quicker way to do it than how I normally would.
Bel Rowley
24/03/2010, 11:50 AM
TR of course has the advantage of no fees, but even with the fees I kind of feel like Ebay is more 'official' and secure. I'm funny about handing my bank details out to anyone so like using PayPal even if it does cost me a little.
~Elliesmum~
24/03/2010, 11:57 AM
yep that is true

People chop and change their minds so much here too

hmm and I also have to list Ds's DS lol on ebay
Bel Rowley
24/03/2010, 12:02 PM
Another good point Elliesmum, on Ebay you're less likely to get that "oh sorry my car broke down I can't afford it after all".
ellangel
24/03/2010, 12:21 PM
Ok, I am sick of being on my own now...I am over it, bored, lonely and needing some affection!!! It has been 2 weeks...
Rang DH to express myself and he goes "do you know how much harder it is, for me to do my job down here, when I hear you talking like that?" Grrrr...well, next time he calls, I will lie and say we are doing fine and I am going great guns!! Stupid males..
Went to the shop as ran out of wine and chocolate.
melaniejasmin
24/03/2010, 12:27 PM
Sharon - I think the 2 week mark is a killer. DH went for 2 weeks in September last year and I found I really wanted to see him by 2 weeks!
Go Ebay
EllieM. I think there is also too mcuh haggling on EB TR. like, if the nappy is already $11 and I'm giving you a discount for buying more, no, I will not pay for your postage as well!
Quite bored here too. waiting for DS to wake up so I can go to work! he's been asleep for almost 2 hours. he is still sick though. I have managed to clean the floors while he was sleeping which is good, and eat a mini snickers.... (very good).
bellygood
24/03/2010, 01:44 PM
This one goes out to Ellangel from Roy Orbison...
Only the lonely (Dum dum dum, dummy doo wah)
Know the way I feel tonight (Ooh yay, yay, yay, yeah)
Only joking, being alone is NO FUN whatsoever! Typical male response to your outreach... bah! Don't know what to suggest. Chocolate? Wine? Fireman calendars? All of the above? Hope your day gets better in any case.
Boy do I feel like a proper mum today, took Ivy to playgroup, actually played with her, AND stuck around for crafts - messy playdough making which was great fun. I usually bolt during craft time, it's in the 'too hard'/'too messy' basket for me!
Had a great sleep last night, a whole 7 hrs straight which for me is a big night! I usually wake automatically after 6 and find it hard to get back to sleep.
Bought a ready-made lasagne from IGA the other day, had half last night and half tonight. So easy and not too bad really... will have to read the ingredients list a bit more closely to make sure there's no nasties in there!
Bel Rowley
24/03/2010, 02:55 PM
Girls I really need to get off this computer. I am today's top poster with 53 posts, and the next highest is on 30

. I'm also 9 posts off 10,000, it will be time to celebrate!
Ellangel -

no wonder you're at breaking point, I hope you have some more wine and chocolate! Do you have any friends who could come and keep you company for a while once the girls are in bed?
Melanie - snickers! The M&Ms will be jealous!
Bellygood - pat on the back for your good mum day

. I don't know about IGA lasagnas... my lasagna is so good I won't even order it in a restaurant let alone buy a pre-prepared one, it wouldn't compare.
OK off to give my poor housebound girl a play outside.
alimumof3
24/03/2010, 03:44 PM
lol blondie! when i was having a look in the general section earlier i keep seeing lots of replies from you. I thought to myself you've either been spending a lot of time on here, or you're venturing out and giving your opinion more! In one you even had F instead of what it stands for (as in the swear word!). i had a little giggle to myself.
meljas so do you reckon the Avent ones were good? Think i might go down that route rather than from nappy website as the nappy ones,althoug hthey'd be hemp, are quite dear.
yes i'm a tummy sleeper too.
sharon oh i don't envy you. poor thing. Hope the wine and choc helps a little bit.
lara i'm only hon here so much cos the computer sits on the kitchen table on all day, so i often go check, update,, etc when i have a spare couple mins. its only when the kids are in bed that i can go through otehr areas of EB. Plus, i dont go out much. I have been home every day this week. bad yes. I did have a friend come yesterday but its been quiet this week. normally i see my neighbour but she is sick.
if you read this do you think uyour bread maker saves you money?????
cassi yes i thikn that the ones on ebay would probably be only like stuffing a piece of material down there. thanks for looking.
trinyweeny
24/03/2010, 03:59 PM
Ali - Back from Target. They had the Avent washable pads pack of 6 for $11.99.
BBL need to get dinner ready and get some panadol for J. Her foot appears to be sore. Crying when she puts weight on it.
ellangel
24/03/2010, 04:23 PM
Poor J! I would even get her antihistamine for that. DD1 got stung by a wasp when she was younger. Gave antihistamine, icepack and put lavender oil on it. Teatree oil good too!
I need to mix things up a bit...doing the same old thing is so boring.
Dropped DD1 over at BIL's for the arvo. She is making cupcakes with his girlfriend.
And am going up to my parents Saturday night. Going out to the movies with friends Saturday night and then dinner and drinks after. YES...something to look forward to. This time next week, will be very excited, as DH is back next Thursday.
Thanks for listening ladies. I am just exhausted today. Milo and icecream helped after lunch!
bellygood
24/03/2010, 06:28 PM
Now THAT'S more like it Ellangel! Sounds like a great plan. Things do get very monotonous, I rely on DH *alot* for entertainment and a time out from Ivy so don't underestimate how well you are doing. Milo and icecream.... mmmmmm....
trinyweeny
24/03/2010, 07:32 PM
ellangel - I actually was supposed to go to the chemist to get an antihistamine but forgot. The area is a little swollen and red. After the panadol kicked in she was back to her normal happy self. You are very well with DH gone I usually only last a couple of days and I'm bored. Milo and icecream sounds great I am going to have some now.
Blondie - Wow you have been busy on EB today.
ellangel
24/03/2010, 08:12 PM
Blondie !! Dont know whether or not to say shame on you or congratulations! I really dont stray too much from this group in here. Cant be bothered and dont have the time with FB and EBAY also.
Triny - Hope Jacqui sleeps well and is over the worst of it. Poor little thing.
I am fiercely independent I guess! Guess that is what 2 years of living abroad on your own does to you!
When I first met DH and we were getting a bit serious, he used to joke and ask me if I would marry him someday and LET him take care of me~! LOL.
beaglebaby
25/03/2010, 01:12 AM
I'm sorry you've had such a tough day Ellangel, glad to hear you've made plans for Saturday, now you just need to book in a few things for early next week too. Might need to book yourself a massage and a hairdressers appointment for the Saturday after DH gets home so he can enjoy some daddy/daughter bonding
Blondie, hope you're keeping that 10,000th post for us
Bellygood, we've been known to have a storebought Lasagne or two, mostly they're pretty good compared to other "don't feel like cooking" nights. Unfortunately my oven isn't working properly, so I'm having to think of things to do on the stovetop and microwave atm, DH has booked someone to come and check it on Friday - which is going to be horrendously expensive.
DH finally had some better news last night, his Dr has said after the 3rd round of chemo he can have another scan and if it's clear he can go on surveillance. So very relieved not to be booking that 4th cycle. I was going to try to battle through the third one without Mum as it's school holidays so not vital to be too organised, but after a few stressful days I think I'll try to find her some flights. DS1's teacher caught me this morning to say she thinks he's worried as his demeanor has changed in class, he's doing his work but just isn't focused and happy. I of course ended up in tears outside the classroom with DD asking me why I was crying, and the PE teacher who is a good friend of DH's saw me and came and gave me a hug - rumours will be flying as he's newly single and dated one of the Mums after his divorce!!
Lucas had his 18month checkup today, we ended up there for an hour and a half chatting with the nurse, she's an old friend these days having done our ante-natal classes with DS1, delivered DD and been Lucas's child health nurse. She just watched how he was confident and playing all through her office and the other rooms, climbing on and off the chair and bringing me toys and pronounced him perfect! Stats were a bit rough - we were too busy talking, about 81cm and 12kg - so time to turn his seat around and to sell the capsule! 18months use from it really isn't bad, in fact it's been so good it's sad to stop using it. Have to ring the main vaccination clinic tomorrow too as she wasn't sure if Lucas could have the chicken pox vaccine while DH is having chemo as it's a live vaccine.
Goodnight!
Bel Rowley
25/03/2010, 07:20 AM
Ellangel - good for you organising a few things to look forward to! Hopefully this last stretch of time without DH will fly by. I didn't realise you were on your own when you lived OS, that is brave. I've done all my travelling with either my family or DH so never got that experience of doing my own thing, one day I would like to do a trip on my own just to prove that I can.
Triny - how's Jacqui's sting today?
Beagle - that is good news about the chemo. Thank heavens for your mum being available for you, she sounds like a wonderful mum, no wonder you are too

. I thought Claudia was almost the last one in our group rear facing in the car but we switched her over about a month ago! You've done well to keep Lucas RF so long.
Today I am most definitely NOT going to be top poster. Today is my only day this week with the car, I have to go buy my sister an engagement present this morning, think it will be what has become my go-to engagement present - a spice/coffee grinder. I always end up choosing it because I figure it's something a lot of people don't have but is useful. Then this afternoon Dad is coming to watch Claudia and I have a haircut

my first in 6 months. Tonight is The Silver Rose (ballet) with Mum!
cassi8
25/03/2010, 08:10 AM

sharon, I hope you are feeling a little better this morning. It is that reason I work part time, just to get my mind off mummy duties and get out of the house. The extra money is good as well though

Sounds like you have some awesome plans for the weekend, I hope you have a great time!

Milo and icecream thats just
Blondie - you have a great day planned out today as well, bit of self pampering and out to a show, bliss! Have a great day and night!

Triny - Poor J, I hope she is feeling better this morning annd its not hurting so much.
Beagle - good news that DH hasn't needed to book round 4. Sounds like you have a great mum

If the rumors start just tell them where to go, you don't need any of that right now! You are going a great job running the household and looking after everyone, such a difficult job to do!
BG - nothing wrong with an occasional bought lasgne, I have done it on occasion as well and they aren't great but serve the purpose, even better when you can make it last 2 nights!
N was awake a few times last night, idiots cruising around with the car stereo turned up full blast didn't help much at 11:30pm. I feel shattered today, should go get a coffee. He didn't look great this morning but I asked DH to get them to call if he deteriorates any during the day and some extra sleep.
We are off to a funeral on Monday, a friends dad passed away earlier in the week after a nasty accident a number of months ago. He was a lovely caring man.