The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: May 08 Parents # 72

*~Lisa~*
I would never ordinarily dream of making a cake. But it is a bit difficult to buy a dairy free cake, so may have to this year.

Hope- there are people who can do it. When I was preg with E I had DS cake made he has allergies to egg.
Lucky I used to work in a bakery and my old boss was more then happy to modify the cake.
But check the cheesecake shop or a small bakery near home they should be able to help.

No much going on here, my much promised job at the YMCA may not happen thanks to w*n*er HR people. Very disappointed so been hoping like buggery for a call but nothing. So have to drop my resume into the other 2 swim schools one of which I have no hope because they hate people that do training from the YMCA.
I'm more upset I covered their a*se more than once I stepped up to teach a few classes when they were understaffed even though it was illegal and not only my a*se on the line if something happened.
I did nothing wrong. I was polite and always on time for my training and I did everything they asked and I dont think I would of step up beyong was expected of me if I wasn't promised a job I would of done some training elsewhere to gain more experience. But silly me put all my eggs in one basket and it didnt pay off.
It sucks. cry1.gif

hopeforthefuture
Play kitchens - I was in Target this morning and they had a wooden Barbie play kitchen on a clearance special for $83. A great bargain if you don't mind licensed products.

Do you know what I realised today? This baby is being born in less than 27 days. 27 days!!! Somehow that seem so much sooner than 3 weeks and 6 days. OMG!!

(but truely - I can't wait!)
blessedwithblueandpink
Hi All

Well mam and dad went home last week and I miss them so much. The company and general chat was so nice and they seem so far away now.

Rian is doing really well thankfully, but is tending to snack during the day, what is it with me and having babies who snack!!! But at least he is really good at night and just wakes and goes striaght back to sleep unlike his older sister!!! He did 6 hrs last night! He is smiling now and is cute as a button. So delighted to have a little man again after 2 pink ones, great to put blue things on!!!
It is school hols here so getting used to having all 4 at home all the time now that mam and dad have gone home, it is good most of the time, but of course have moments when all hell breaks loose. I am sure the neighbours must think I torture the kids with the noise level sometimes!
The older 3 are going well and I have the girls birthday to plan too as there is only a week between their birthdays.
We are waiting on planning permission for our extension, anxious to gett started. Getting to feel abit squashy here with 6 of us in a 3x1 !!

Hope all you ladies are well

sorry no time for persoanls yet, lucky to catch 5 to get onine these days!

blessed
xxxxxxxxxx
hopeforthefuture
So glad things are going well Blessed.

I crashed my car this morning. Only a minor accident, but thought I should go to the hospital to get checked out. Protocol says I need to be hooked up to CTG for 4 hours!!

And I still have to go to the police station after I leave here.

Stupid me.
adelaryln
omg HFTF hope everything is ok for you. i'm glad you're getting care at the hospital.

we got back 2 days ago from our week with the in laws. was good. those of you on my FB will see the 4d scans of baby. very exciting!
i haven't even thought of presents for ds yet, didn't realise his birthday was so soon. i'd love to make a bus for his cake, he loves buses and trucks. maybe i could do a slab and make it a road and put match box cars on it.
kalita
Nothing going on here. I am sick on living on painkillers - if it's not my arthritis flaring (like last week), it's my back out again (like today). So sick of being in pain, it sucks all your energy.

And it makes you boring!! rolleyes.gif

Thinking of all you pregnant women - I can't imagine how I could look after DD and be 30+ weeks. So exhausting. I thought it was bad enough when she was 11 months old was happy enough staying home and crawling around the house all day rolleyes.gif
kgbird34
Good morning girlies biggrin.gif .
I went to the pokies for 71/2 hours the other night cool.gif and only lost $10 in the end! I was kicked out at 3 am and still have not caught up on my sleep. Anyway because I still had my original 'investment' left I went again the next day and won a jackpot of $900!!! I was so excited, I never win!! So I bought the girlies some presents and gave DH $50 to buy some train wheels (he's a model train freak) and went shopping at target for me yesterday and got some new jammies, a couple of tops and some maternity pants and some books! It was so thrilling!! And I still have heaps left to go and do it again dev (6).gif . I am afeared that Edward is getting addicted to the pokies as he comes to life when I am in there, but as Grace reminded me it will be 18 years before he can go roll2.gif . Poor Edward.
KALITA you poor petal, are you seeing a physio for your pains? I know every now and then when something is hurting me it just sucks, and to have it day in and out I can't imagine. Hope you feel better soon.
ADARLYN your cake idea sounds cute and I'm sure would come off very nicely. I don't know if I can be bothered to make Bells or if I will buy it... probably make it as I have 2 weeks off then.
BLESSED you sound very busy! I'm glad Rian is being so good for you, apart from the snacking! I ran into a girl I vaguely know at the gym a few weeks ago and she said something about a certain time being a feed time and I thought WOW, I never had feed times! Just looked for the cues and fed then. Mine have been little snackers too at times but I just go with it most of the time, at least you get to sit down! It's just when there's something exciting to do that it gets bothersome. Plus I've never had a few other little ones running around at the same time, so my next experience will be a little different with cyclone Bells running riot while I am trying to feed the baby!
LISA sorry about the job, keep hounding them (in a good way) until they cave in.
HOPE glad you and junior are okay after your little bingle. Not too long now!
PADS even less time for you!!!! How exciting! I'm going for April 27 because that is my birthday. And what was Beths' weight again? I need to know for my guess.
KATH you looked sexy at the wedding! That blue colour was stunning. And so is your tummy wub.gif.
LAM are you back from Queensland yet? If so how was it? Great, I'll bet. Good luck with your course.
Well. I am 27 weeks and 5 days now, into the third trimester! Wooo. I have 11 weeks and 2 days to go. Almost into the 10 week countdown! Bring it on I say. Ed flaps around like a mad thing and is fairly sticking out now, makes me nervous for the next 10 weeks! Well must be off and relieve the babysitting telly for a while. xxx Rachel.
ToodlePopsMum
Kalita: yup i hear you on the pain front sad.gif my back is still bad so completely know your pain. i went to a physio/pilates studio on friday and they are going to try and help relieve some of the pain for me. if that doesn't work then i will be looking at surgey i think.

hope: glad everything is ok after your bingle! what hapened?

blessed: got your txt. will get in touch next week original.gif

rach: NOICE win original.gif love it when you win cash like that. it is the best feeling!

adarlyn: yup i have seen your gorgeous fb photos! so darn cute!! glad your holiday was nice.

lisa: poo to the job! keep pushing them as much as you can.

me: well it has been all go around here (hence the no posting). had a combined 2 year old playgroup birthday party on friday at a park which was just great. my mil came and looked after joshy which was nice of her until i realised she has let him eat WAY too much food (Im talking snack foods that i keep in the car for the two of them - there was enough in there for 2 weeks for 2 kids!) so i had an out of control 4 year old the whole afternoon so was less than impressed! to top it off my dh said something to her and she said "oh well, there wasn't that much in there!", i had actually only just restocked it so knew exactly what was in there and explictly told her that he can have "one thing" from the snack box. maybe she heard "one snack box". GRRRRR.

i also went to a physio/pilates place on friday afternoon and she seems to think that they can help me with my pain and ease it somewhat considerably so i am heading back for another appt on saturday.
dh has a cold so is dying. i refused to let him sleep in (it IS just a cold!) dev (6).gif and i even asked the chemist if they had a cure for "man flu". she roll2.gif at me original.gif

we started something called play therapy with joshy today. his nightmares have escalated lately and his behaviour & language has been bad. i have found an occupational therapist who does "play therapy" so it will be interesting to see how he goes. he will go once a week for the next three weeks and then we will revised and see what is going on. it is expensive but we wanted to do something about it now rather than wait and it be a problem in a year or so at school.

aley is just oozing bundles of cuteness. i can not believe how cute he is. i had a cold sore last week so haven't been able to kiss him and he was obviously missing his kisses because he came up to when my coldsore had healed, snuggled in and looked up at me and said "diss, diss" whilst pointing to his lips wub.gif i asked him if he wanted a kiss and he replied by opening his mouth and giving me about 5 big sloppy mushy kisses, followed up the following day with "i nub nu mamma" wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif
blessedwithblueandpink

Went to a hens night on sat night( my sil getting married on sat). I ahd expressed etc.. and off I went. I had 5 drinks, oh god did I suffer yesterday. I had forgotten what a hangover was like. So not worth it. I was fun getting out though, it was a lovely dinner and I did enjoy my champers!!!! We have the wedding this weekend, looking forward to that too.

Rachael : Yay for the win!!! Edward lking the pokies made me laugh!! I alwys say about BF, if in doubt whip em out!! He is on and off them esp in the evening for the last 3 to 4 hrs non stop. We are both exhausted at the end of that session!!!

TPM : sorry to hear your back is still playing up. does that mean that TTC is on hold for a while yet then. How does the play thereapy help the nightmares? Sounds really good.

Kalita : Sorry to hear your in pain too, must suck big time. Any thing you can do, or is it a case of been there done that?!

Adarlyn : Glad you had a nice holiday

HFTF : Glad your ok from accident, best to get checked out. At least you get to put your feet up for 4 hrs!!!

Hello to everyone else.

I feel tired today. Think sat night wiped me out, even though I was in bed at 12.
Is anyone getting the flu/swine flu vaccine?

blessed
*~Lisa~*
Hello people!

Sucks bout the job the HR person isnt there today to try again tomorrow.

Bad news is my doc has advised me to stop horse riding its affecting my pelvis too much.
I have DSP (Diastasis Symphysis Pubis) where the gap at the front of the pelvis is too wide. Late last year when it was dianosed the gap was 10mm now its 13mm. The pain is really bad sometimes.
Surgery is not an option apparently because I haven't decided if I want more kids. And it probably wont fix the problem anyway.
Heading to a chiro next week to see if they can help already tried physio and was no help.

Doc said best place I could be was in the water be good if I had a job though. lol.

Really bummed about the horses but I cant enjoy it when I'm in pain. I will still ride but maybe get a nice soft horse to ride the new one is ok but she is a rough ride and is being a downright b**ch today anyway.

winelover
Lisa - you poor thing - you deserve some good luck to come your way. Fingers crossed you get the job you want and being in the water helps ease your pain.

Blessed - Good to see you back in here. Yay for the hens night, boo to feeling it the next day.

Toodles - The play thereapy sounds interesting - keep us posted about how it all goes. Boo the the MIL for too much food from snack pack.

Rach - My preggy buddy - woohooo to the pokie win!! I love having a little flutter - but yours sounds like a serious marathon effort!! Don't think I could sit upright for that long ATM. I hear ya - on the countdown being on. How much longer are you working for?

Kalita - yes being preggers and running after toddler is certainly exhausting!!

Adaryln - have been loving your 4D pics on FB!

Hope - Glad you are all OK.

Us - Had a good time at the wedding on the weekend - loved the dress I picked up on ebay (new) The blue is a colour I don't usually wear - but I felt great in it!! The only downer was I was too short to sit comfortably on my chair at the reception. (from 6pm til 11:30) if I sat forward my back didn't fit into the chair, if I leaned back into the chair my feet didn't reach the floor. As a result for the last 2 days I have felt seriously sore "down there" as I spent most of the night sitting upright. It feels like my fanny is about to drop out!! No one told me that your second one hurt more than your first!

luckyaussiemum
Hey Ladies

Meant to be cleaning as put Dempsey in extra day of daycare so I could catch up from not being home last 2.5 weeks and house looking like a tip.

Read everyone's posts will do personals later.

Queensland was good, not what I had in mind though, and had a tiff right at the end which set things on a downer, probably as we were all very tired- a few late nights and early mornings!

But was a good break nonetheless.

Start TAFE tonight, course will be boring as hell but I NEED to make a move towards something better and this is a means to an end really so a must, and will get my confidence up and hopefully allow me to tackle uni that i have ALWAYS wanted to do and have to date dropped out of 5-6 times (lack confidence greatly I have discovered, scared of failing, blah blah). Anyway, making changes for the better i hope.

TAFE 6-9 tonight so hopefully online after that for personals, or may get a chance before I go!

Cleaning is calling- unfortunately!!
winelover
LAM - come on, we will all do our very best to keep you motivated! Although, coming home from a holiday, then getting straight into TAFE would be really hard. Hopefully there are some nice people doing your course, so it will make it interesting for you.

Us - Yay, Tayla is in daycare for the next 2 days and I am on school holidays!! I'm thinking of it as my practice maternity leave! Will probably swim a few laps in the morning then do the seniors aqua aerobics class. Nothing like being the youngest one in there at the ripe old age of 38!!
luckyaussiemum
Well TAFE was really good. It is a private organisation, so a nice intimate group, better than local TAFE classroom, nice new and friendly feel, facilitator was great, have a positive feeling about something for a change! eexcite.gif

Winelover Enjoy the Tayla free time! grin.gif Glad the wedding went well. Anypics of the outfit to be seen? original.gif

Lisa Sorry about the no horse riding advice, must be hard to hear/take? And you will get a swimming job soon, I feel it in my bones! wink.gif

BWB&P So when is the next Ma &PA visit due? Sorry they have gone and left you! Glad you had a great baby/kid free night!

TPM
Hope the play Therapy goes well for Joshua!! And to cute about Alex and his kisses. llove.gif

Rachel Wot a marathon session at the pokies, wot do you give your DH in return for the time away? wink.gif Congrats on the win, just in time for Bellas birthday! original.gif !!

kalita Sorry you are in pain, hope you can find a better remedy to help ease it somewhat!

HOPE I wish you well and hope everything is fine and all is good with you and bub!!

Adaryln Dont suppose we can get a 4D photo posted in here, I don't go into facebook really!? hands.gif
paddington13
Rach - Congrats on the win! That would be exciting.

I'm going for April 27 because that is my birthday. And what was Beths' weight again? I need to know for my guess.

Yeah, it can't be then because it is also my SIL's birthday and she would be cut with me. Ha ha, if he wants to come then he will have to wait. Have you got any plans for your birthday? Beth was 4.5kg. Massive. I am hoping this bubba will be smaller if I have to deliver. I can hardly walk already though due to pelvic pain. Can today be my guess please?

blessedwithblueandpink
Paddy : Make it the 28th, thats my dd1 birthday!!! I hope he is smaller for you! I am sure you are ready for him to come now.

Hi to everyone else!

Gotta go
Eating chocolate and must make dinner.

xxxxxxxxx
*~Lisa~*
HI everyone been a busy few days around here and some big decisions made.

The horse is on the market and most probably sold. I have another horse arriving Monday but its more to break and sell cause his too little and was already coming before doc told me.

And I brought myself a go-kart to start racing!
DP has just started with them and as much as I found motor sort very boring I had a go of one and found it fun.
I pick up my kart on Sunday. Its all a bit exciting I've done nothing but horses for 7 yrs so to have something new to play with will be great.

The pride will be hurt though DP smashed me in a race we had last night but he made up for it by getting me chocolate lol.

I'll be racing with the boys and be the only women driver in the club. I'm happy to give it a crack and if I stuff up its my own fault.
You can see a piccy of my kart on facebook and one of DP racing the other day.

Got Ellies party tomorrow cake is baked but not put together cause I'm an idiot forgot to get cream this morning.

Busy busy must keep cleaning.
luckyaussiemum
Make it the 28th, thats my dd1 birthday!!! AND Dempsey's!! ddance.gif
winelover
Very quiet in here wwhistle.gif

Happy Birthday Ellie - I saw some cute pics on FB

Nice day here today. Did some gardening. Went to a 30th tonight.
Not much else going on really.
luckyaussiemum
Happy 2nd Birthday Ellie- babygirl.gif eexcite.gif ddance.gif sorry belated! Working all weekend, didn't get chance to log in y/day!!

Whos' bday next? Do we need a list? I know the May babies!

Cut and Paste to add????

Dempsey is 28th April

Winelover Thanks for the well wishes re TAFE too. I am feeling VERY positive about something for a change. The group seems a good one, small intimate with a variety of experiences to contribute to learning. And you went to a 30th? That ended early! huh.gif And getting straight into TAFE was easier than re4turning to work after almost 3 weeks off, TAFE a choice, work a necessary evil (that said went bowling with residents I work for and to the movies at work yesterday ph34r.gif )

Gotta go have a shower, work in 30mins! waves.gif waves.gif waves.gif waves.gif tthumbs.gif
kalita
Hi girls original.gif

Back still buggered, and now I can't take painkillers for it as I reacted very badly to them rolleyes.gif Having a good weekend despite that though - into town yesterday to scope out b'day presents for E (and have decent takeaway ph34r.gif), and today we went out to a local winery to get a present for a friend (and for me - the wine was delish wink.gif and had brunch out there, they do woodfire pizza on Sundays, very yum. And then coffee at our favourite cafe, and now E is asleep. Awesome original.gif
luckyaussiemum
At work STILL yyawn.gif

WOODFIRED pizza sounds yum, would have preferred that to the chinese takeaway I just had- was yuk!

I DO think WE are going to try for number 4, well number 4 for me anyway, number 3 for DP. I was in 2 minds re the whole thing, edging on no as of camping at Easter, was going to get a tubal ligation, BUT after a LADIES day procedure last Wed (D&C, polup removed, and a hysteroscopy) I woke up very clear and calm for a change about quite a few things in my life. Re children, school, work, house etc. And I decided to stop being scared and to go for it! What will be will be. Now for the fella to actually move in BEFORE we TTC! rolleyes.gif That is the next step! ph34r.gif He stays over mostly all the time anyway!

back to work
winelover
LAM - tthumbs.gif good for you tthumbs.gif The 30th was still going when I left at 9pm. Had to take one very tired T home - poor fat pregnant me. Although the host did offer her a bed to snooze in, I really just wanted to come home, slip into my jammies and chill out. Besides I wasn't a fan of everyone smoking. (gosh I sound like an old Nana)

Kalita - your day sounds divine!

I'm doing a days casual tomorrow. Yay - training staff in CPR.
Bet there is a new thread tomorrow - and I will miss out on all the medals - go for gold girls!!

Q Why do I feel like fruit tingles at this hour of the night? I have none in the house. Maybe I could suck on a Tums and pretend! lol

*~Lisa~*
Hi everyone, its not Ellies Birthday yet big day is on Wednesday but she got all her presents on Saturday cause she wont know any different. But thanks anyway.

Picked up my new go kart today just been out the shed tinking with it. Need to loose weight super fast its a tight fit into the seat made for men not for women lol.

be back tomorrow far too tired from driving all day.
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.