The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: October 08 Parents # 46

Alis Volat Propiis
Bec - just had to come back and add that pramwarehouse.com.au have a sale on this weekend... 20% minimum off everything. The P&T sport is $479.20 and doubles seat $79.96. Hardly worth getting a secondhand one when they are new at that price! original.gif They have them in black, red, apple and navy.

Sharna
bec8112
Thanks Sharna will have to check it out!

Also I have the Strider pram now ( not the one you can attach a toddler seat to ) and I hate it! Way too wide and bulky! I hate getting it out of the car and most of the time am too lazy and take our smaller one which we have at home for my Mum to use when she babysits. I know it is all a personal choice but thought I would let you know. Also Ethan seems to be getting too long for the seat now, he legs are starting to look uncomfortable in the seat when he is in the most upright position IYKWIM.
~Annika~
Natty So good to hear that things are going better for you!!! Hope things will keep going in that direction! Can't wait to see your piccies when you get the CD. It makes sense the decision you made with the package! Take care Natty!!!

Bec I remember feeling those up and down emotions constantly when pg. Really frustrating hey! All the best with your decision about your pram.

Mel Really hope that Tom will be feeling better quickly! It is very frustrating when they don't eat hey, Tyler is going through a horrible phase like that atm for some unknown reason! Bryce is too a bit off his food, but I thought that was because his 8th tooth is half way out and is still giving him some grief. Who knows, but at least these times don't last forever. Re walking on tip toes, Bryce has done that on and off before and shaking his head at the same time. I think it's just them experimenting with all the different things they are discovering they can do. I wouldn't worry about it Mel!

Sharna Great to hear that things are going well for you pg wise. Bryce has a huge vocab as well, in fact the CHN commeneted about it at the last weight check, and wrote it in his progress notes. Sometimes he just babbles non-stop and it sounds like a long full on sentence, really commical to listen to!! But most of the words he says I can recognise and he is learning so fast! How lovely that you are planning to move further south. I can understand about you trying to keep positive regarding your ILs coming to stay for such a long time, I don't know how I would deal with that, so all the best for you!!

AFM Both boys are now snotty AGAIN, and Tyler is coughing heaps!!! But the good thing for me is I am doing fine now, thanks for asking girls! I'm on antibiotics for my chronic cough and already feel heaps better. Got a Seretide inhaler too for helping me breathe easier until it all clears up but it has been giving me restless legs, feeling gittery and insomnia as side effects, so been having a few terrible nights since even though I haven't taken the inhaler at night for a couple of days. sad.gif

Anyway, besides all that things are looking up for us. I had a good talking to DH's 'big' boss up in Perth about how much he is having to work overtime every single day just to get everything done as he just doesn't get the extra help he needs here, and I told him that when my hubby works over time, "well, so do I, and I have been so run down lately as a result!!!!" He was very understanding and was going to look into how to change things to improve the situation (descreatly so as not to let DH know I had talked to him), he wasn't aware of the situation apparently and thanked me for giving him the heads up. The thing is he would have been aware of the fact that DH just requested more money for employing casual staff here as things were getting pretty rediculous and instead for the new financial year the committee cut the budget for casuals by $3,000. What the?!!!! I told him that DH said to me the other night "How much longer do I have to keep going like this before I either have a nervous break down or even a heart attack!!?" (Runs in his family) I told his boss that too and I think he really understood then how bad things have been for DH. I feel like there is some light at the end of the tunnel for us now that I finally got up the courage to address the issues with the appropriate person! I feel really empowered for being assertive like that!!!! Yeeeeeehaaaaaar!!
Small Potatoes
QUOTE (themelster @ 27/03/2010, 07:19 PM) *
Hey Bec and mands,, do Ethan or Ollie ever walk on Their toes?? Tom has started to do that and shake his head and flap his arms. Now I am truly freaking out.

Olly still doesn't walk. He took 2 steps for the first time the other day and that has been it. Will did that for ages and so did 3 or 4 other kids from his playgroup. I checked with Dad and my brother with ASD never did that but apparently I did.

QUOTE (Annika)
when my hubby works over time, "well, so do I,

I hear you there. I am glad you are getting and feeling so much better.

Sharna Glad all is going very well for you. Can't wait for you to move down. The optomotrist business sounds like an awesome idea.

AFM Mum and my sister had the boys last night and we may have a resolution to the house plans. I am hoping we win the $30m and I can get anything (and your P&T Bec and your optometry practice Sharna and something for Mel, Natty, Georgia and Annika - hope I didn't forget anyone). All my stock has turned up and I have had my first few orders. I have also been approved to stock bumgenius and am getting some of the organic ones with the clips (my boys pull off velcro).

meeskamouska
Wow Mands - your business sounds like its going to b fabulous. Good for you.
Strider plus - I saw this the other day & have to say I was IMRESSED!! it looked fabulous. Didn't realise it was so wide though. Does that make it hard to get thru shopping checkouts etc. I do really loooovvveee a huge pram. Its not for everyone though thats for sure.
Mel - I hope everything is good for Tom at his appointment. Sounds like he does stuff that could possibly be linked but its my thought that he's perfectly normal & just does toddler stuff. At one stge there CR kept poking her tounge out ALLLL the time...it made her look 'special' to say the least. No amount of worrying will give a diagnosis till u get there so just do your best to try & not worry too much. I'm guessing if they do suspect something at least then you can get a better understanding on how to handle his upbringing etc.
Hi Anika - I'm so glad your cough is easing. Good for you explaining everything to your DH boss. These days boss's expect so much more from employees but offer no more money.It doesn't seem fair.
Hi Sharna - I feel so excited for yuo with the move. I know how it is though...things can change so easily. I know for myself....we just finished half of our retainer, put in shade sails & turf out front & I caught myself thinking...maybe its not so bad here after all. For me though...I need to be strong & do the move.It will bnefit all of us. I'm just as worrier...as u know!!

Better head. Baby shower today. Gotta get cooking.

Mands - how generous of you to think to share your 30mil. Thats really nice.
bec8112
Mands - that is so exciting about the business and getting approval to stock BG! Again Ethan can model if you want biggrin.gif , will have to have a look at baby clothes for the little one! Ah so sweet on sharing the money if you win! I did not even buy a ticket.

Nat - yeah Ethan did the tounge poking out thing aswell! Special was definately the look he achieved with that! Have fun at the baby shower, I am still deciding if I should do one for this baby or not, unsure if it is tacky to have one for the second child???

Annika - Glad your feeling better, hope the boys get better soon aswell. I hate when they are all snotty! Good on your for talking to DH's boss, sounds like it might make things better soon.

Mel - how is Tom this morning?

Sharna - Cannot believe your 24 weeks already, what is your EDD again? I only had the scan so they could check my cervix length as Ethan was born early they are looking for things that may trigger it this time. I was doing shared care with my GP until the hospital told me they would like me to go there due to Ethan being early and stuff! They have been good with waiting times and I have had people mind Ethan so I did not have to take him along.

I am waiting for Ethan to wake up this morning, it is almost 8am and he is still asleep and so is Dave!
Alis Volat Propiis
Bec - my househould is asleep still also! Nadia woke at 3am and had a little bottle and she always sleeps in if that happens. Dan is on late shifts so got to be after midnight. My EDD is 21st July. Good to know that the hospital is keeping an eye on you.

Lotto - i bought a ticket, but havent checked it yet. I love spending the money in my mind. original.gif

Sharna
Small Potatoes
oops I meant the oz lotto 30 mil on Tuesday blush.gif

Bec I only have one range of clothing ATM but should be getting more in the next week or so, so will let you know. If I ever get my ass into gear I will get some models, but Nat and Sharna you will have to come along too for girls (though I could probably dress Olly in pink and get away with that roll2.gif )
bec8112
Mands - your welcome to a newborn model when bub is born aswell! Hopefully she goes out a girl as expected!

Sharna - does Nadia wake during the night often? How many bottles a day does she have? Ethan has no bottles and been rejecting milk out of a cup at dinnertime aswell. I try and give yoghurt, cheese most days and sometimes he has custard. I worry about his calcium intake! He loves Banana smoothies though biggrin.gif
Alis Volat Propiis
Bec - Nadia LURVES her 'mok' (milk) and bottle. She has 100 mls at daycare and at home before her day sleep and then 200 mls before bed. It is a little ritual I suppose and I wonder how we are going to wean that off! original.gif She also has yoghurt and cheese but is fussy with these somedays. Because she was such a fussy eater and not putting on weight I put her on toddler formula once she had weaned fully of BF. I give her cows milk on her cereal and in a cup occassionally and she seems to like that also. If Ethan loves smoothies I would probably just give him one of those a day... do you put yoghurt in the smoothy too? For special treats I occassionally buy those Bulla frozen yoghurts and N loves them.

Sharna
bec8112
Sharna - yeah will have to make smoothies more often, I am so lazy some days! Oh I must get some of the frozen yogurt. How much does Nadia weigh now? I think Ethan must be the biggest out of all the babies now!

Well we bit the bullet today and put the pram on lay-by. We took the price from the sale $560 for the whole thing and my local baby shop price matched biggrin.gif . We got the red one! Cannot wait to pay it off and pick it up. Mands and anyone else who uses the P&t's - do you have any of the bag accessories or anything else that would be useful for me? Just looking for tips?

Small Potatoes
I have a thing called a Jolly Jumper that goes from one side to the other and you can put your keys and drinks into it. I also have stroller hooks, but didn't get any of the P&Ts accessories except the sunshade
Alis Volat Propiis
Bec - yay on making the committment to the pram! Red would be my colour choice too. I am not exactly sure what Nadia weighs but I am hopeful she is about 11kgs now. She was 9kgs at 12 months and hovered around 10kgs for ages. She had a small height related growth spurt and is back up to 50% for height now. She is getting the combined swine/seasonal flu vax this week and I will get her developmental stats then. I am getting the vax too.

Sharna
bec8112
S*^t day at work for me, so over it! Cannot wait to be off!

themelster
Hope your day gets better Bec.

We went to the docs again today. Tom's throat is looking better and he's eaten some food today. Yay! I'm sick now too. I've got infected tonsils. Blah. She wrote me off work today and tomorrow though. Hopefully Tom will be well enough tomorrow to go to daycare for a few hours so I can get some rest.

Tom is on the light side too sharna. I doubt he'd gave hit 11kg yet - especially after this illness.
bec8112
Thanks Mel, yeah it got better when I got to leave! How are you feeling now? Enjoy your days off work and get some rest if Tom lets you.
~Annika~
I will be going with Tyler to Kindy in the morning (Tues) to help out with Parent Help. Should be good to see just how the kids are going and how Tyler interacts with them. So far he seems to be getting some friendships happening, which is great as he was keeping to himself a bit in the beginning. He hasn't had a lot of other kids around him growing up so I feel he is a bit socially innept, that's why Kindy will be so great for him in that respect.

After lunch I am taking Tyler with me to see the Anaesthetist for his circumcision op in a couple of weeks. He has been having trouble with his foreskin opening being too small and there are lumps under the skin there that have been worrying me, but the only way for the dr to check what those lumps are they have to take the foreskin off first as they can't access them the way it is now.
Sharna Bryce has also been having 200ml bottle of formula but only one every night before bed, and loves it too. I'm not in a hurry for him to give that up as it doesn't interfere with his appetite during any of the meals being last thing at night. I used to give him one as soon he woke up ages ago too, but he wasn't wanting his breaky after it so I stopped that very quickly. He also gets enough calcium in his diet everyday with yoghurt and cows milk on his cereal, plus butter and cheese etc. He LOOOOOOOVES bananas, He would have one whole banana every meal if I'd let him, and he eats them in like 1-2 minutes flat. If he sees me peeling one he says "Naana, naana? Thank you!" Whenever he is finished his meals and has had enough he says "Hop up?" What makes me laugh is whenever he is doing something he knows he shouldn't he says "Naughty" with a cheeky look on his face to see what our reaction is. laughing2.gif

Bec I bet you are hanging out for maternity leave. Sorry to hear you had such a bad day.

Mel Oh no!!! Now you are sick. Hope you will be getting well soon, and that Tom can go to daycare so you can have a much needed rest. I have been considering putting Bryce into daycare once a week like Tyler used to do last year. It will give me that break too so I can think and do stuff for myself that doesn't have anything to do with kids. I feel like I have lost my identity as the unique, creative, giving, caring woman that I am. I want and need to get some of that back into my life before I can start to get back to being myself and maybe then I could get off these damn ADs!! Are you still on yours?

Natty How are you going my friend? Any more news on the moving front, have you put any plans into action re that yet or is it still just in your hopes and thoughts? Can't remember if you've talked about this previously or not.

Mands I dressed Tyler up in a frilly yellow dress and tied his hair up on top when he was about 2 years old and he seriously looked like a really pretty girl! We even took photos of him then so we could have something fun to look back on in years to come. I haven't tried Bryce in a dress yet, but have been thinking about it to keep the 'tradition' going. He could pass as a girl too with his gorgeous looooong black eyelashes. Hope your business takes off and that you will become a real success!!
Fabulous
Hello,
We are in Washington DC at the moment. It's good how all of the national museums, zoos, monuments and stuff are totally free.. I think it's a bitof a weird place though. Yesterday took the cake when they wanted us to show official ID just to get into a food court to have lunch. wacko.gif That's on top of the usual bag checks and security checks that they seem to have all over the country.

Bec- that's good that you sorted out your pram. I paid $600 for mine with the doubles kit. It p*ssed me off having to pay that much for a pram but I couldn't see any other option. I bought the sunshade separately. Nearly all of the double prams I see in America have the kids seated with their backs against each other (facing opposite directions) and if one of them is a little bub then the capsule just slips into one of the seat spots.

Annika- I'm glad to hear that I'm not the only one who has tried to see what their boy looks like in a dress. Jack looked adoreable in a woollen dress.

Sharna- we stopped at Hooverdam too and had a look around. We were also stopped for 1 hour at the security check point because somebody had a heart attack and they were getting a helicopter in. Surprisingly the kids didn't go feral or anything.
bec8112
Very quiet in here! Sorry I have been flat out with work but almost finished for the week! Woo hoo!

Small Potatoes
I am flat out with work too. And freaking tired ATM.

bec8112
Mands- Hope you get some relaxing time over Easter. Is dh home?

I am taking Ethan to the gp tomorrow for his needles :-( not looking forward to it.

What's everyone got planned for Easter? We are plastering and painting! Ethan is going to grandmas on sat night so we can paint his room and also so Dave and I can go to see a gold class movie! Got some free tix that expire soon so have to use .
Small Potatoes
Bec Good luck with Ethan's needles, though the 18 month ones didn't bother Will at all. Nothing a freddo couldn't fix.

DH is home on Sunday and I am going to Mum's on Friday lunch for a BBQ and then SIL and BIL are going to come over saturday morning - and they are TTCing just started so this time next year I could be an aunty. Then going to Brisbane Saturday arvo and then DH comes home Sunday. We are having a BBQ lunch for him on Monday just family. He is 3 on Saturday. I can't beleive how time flies. In 15 hours 3 years ago I got my first contractions with him ohmy.gif .

bec8112
Mands - Wow 3 years goes fast! Will is such a big boy now. Sounds like you have so much planned for your easter break, hope you manage to get some rest in there aswell.
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.