The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: September 08 Parents #158

Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5

http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/forums/ind...howtopic=773560

Bel Rowley
GOLD!!
cassi8
SILVER!!

BBS.

Ok back..

Thanks Beagle for your input. I am going to go slow with it so started with the brekky milkshake this morning and just finished a small nectarine, I am pretty hungry! I'll have a proper soup for lunch annd healthy dinner, hopefully depending on what DH cooks! Then I think Monday I will go Optifast soup lunches in addition to the brekky milkshake and just salad and fruit inbetween. Gives me a bit of time to find the soups in the shops. its over the counter stuff, no script required. I hope DH is feeling better today. Poor DS, Its hard on the kids, maybe a good chat to him and find out what is bothering him. He may just need some one on one time. You are doing a wonderful job! cclap.gif and a hhugs.gif for you! original.gif

I am worried about how I am going to cope, especially being out for meals, like at ILs because MIL fusses so much about things and I don't like being fussed over, made feel special on occasion yes but not fussed over. My parents are fine and I mostly see them at night at our place so I can share dinner with them and make what I like. ssorry.gif its been a bit of a me post..

Better go do some work i guess..
melaniejasmin
bronze!

It's my day at home for studying... of course I'm on here! and have been to Aldi to get a few little things as they are selling baby things this week. I got 3 step stools that weer $3 each. bargain. and a couple of little toys as we had a new cousin born last night (DH's cousin living in Singapore) a baby boy called Charlie William.. not sure if it will be Charles. I hope so... so have bought a couple of little presents to send.

Beagle - hhugs.gif your family is going through alot at the moment. is there someone that DS can talk to? maybe he needs to chat about how he is feeling. it must be very hard.sad.gif

Cassi - good luck with the optifast. my mum did it one but I dont think she lasted very long, though I think that was willpower and not the taste of the drinks. can you eat those bars are well?

Sarina - yuck! we had a poo all through the shorts the other day, but luckily contained. Glad Velvet is feeling better though. must have been all the teeth! Good reminder for the 18 month needles. I will book an appointment today.

Blondie - bugger about the sleeping, or lack of sad.gif the undies over the top is a good idea.

OK, best get on with reading! I have to finish week one and do readings for week 2 as well..... sad.gif

cassi8
Meljas - I saw the Aldi specials as well, I was going to go and get some things today but I had to catch the train so I will go to the one near home tomorrow. Good luck with the study, you can see I am on here procrastinating as well Tounge1.gif
I can have either a bar a shake or a soup. One for brekky and one for lunch, I'm not sure how satisfying the bars would be but i guess it couldn't be any worse than the shake or soup.

Blondie - Poor C, I hope the cold passes quickly for you and for her. Nothing worse than a sick bubba. N kept touching his face this morning and saying hot. sad.gif Hoping you can get some rest today when C sleeps.
trinyweeny

Back from Jacqui's hip appointment. Her hips are ok although on the high end of the scale for normal. We go back in 12months for another checkup, its quite strange making an appointment 12 months in advance. Hopefully I'll be knocked up soon and will see the specialist before the 12months is up as any of my further children need to be seen by the dr.

Meljas - We made a trip to Aldi as well today. I picked up some of the long sleeve tops and a jacket.

Beagle - bbighug.gif
bellygood
Hi Girls!

Beagle what an upheaval the illness is, on the whole family. We don't realize how great 'normal' life is until it's turned upside down! Wishing you lots of strength, sounds to me like DH is coping OK with chemo, he doesn't appear to be constantly ill with side effects which is great. I think alot of the damage cancer does is psychological though: my mum is terrified of a relapse (she had breast cancer 20 years ago) but at the same time lives life to the full so it's a real wakeup call. She had radiotherapy which does not make you ill like chemo does, and really used the few weeks in Brisbane for treatment to reassess her life and start doing the things she wants to do (= travel).

Blondie
bad news on the sleep front, hope the worst is behind you or at the very least just one or two more days of upset sleep. Ivy was up for no apparent reason at 6am today.... we missed our sleep-ins til 8am!

Triny glad J's hips are ok and hope you are knocked up soon! Will be a whole gang of us with bumps of various sizes...

Cassi I guess there's no doubt whatsoever that OptiFast will work if you can stick to it. It simply has to. I would suggest that until things settle down (eg you get into the swing of it) you politely decline anything other than evening meals with other people. Over time you'll probably become adept at eg swapping lunch and dinner shakes so you can go out for lunch, but in the early days perhaps its more important to give yourself minimum opportunity to slip up.

Just had a nice morning tea at a mate's place, was there for hours and now baby has conked out. It's a lovely drizzly cool day, perfect for napping so in the nicest possible way I hope not to see her until about 2.30pm. Better go do something constructive. Have Mao's Last Dancer on DVD but can't get into it... due back this arvo so better give it a quick watch.

ellangel
Hi All!
Had playgroup this morning and then did a bit of shopping at Target. Winter clothes for Ella.

Cassi - oh please dont despair on the eating out thing! You will be fine....fish, veg, salad...if worse comes to worse, if you are at someones house, just have a small meal. They need to support you. When we were out and everyone was ordering pizza's drinking beer, DH would announce 'sorry guys, I am going to be a pain in the butt and go to Subway and get a wrap and also have some water'.

I am also on a health kick weight loss eating plan. I thought why not while I am on my own? See what results I can get.

Breakfast - coffee and porridge
Lunch - shake and a piece of fruit
Arvo tea - bar
Dinner - something very small!

Triny - any af yet? When are you gonna test? Great about J's hips .

Blondie - oh poor C. Hope she is being good for you today.
trinyweeny
Ellangel - Nope AF hasn't arrived. Haven't got any tests will go and get one tomorrow when I do the groceries if my temp is up tomorrow.
ellangel
How exciting Triny!! ddance.gif Fingers crossed!

Better go sort out Ella's bedroom. Walked in there as she keeps the door shut now cause of Holli and her crafts. There is glue, staples, sticky tape and paper EVERYWHERE!!!
alimumof3
hi gang

had mothers group this morning so didnt give O his mornign sleep. gosh by 1230 when i put him to bed he was beside himself. had a little tanty he was so tired. i probably should have given him 2 today. oh well. will give him 2 tomorrow.

beagle oh dear your poor DS. are there any books that can help him understand?

triny did af arrive today?
thats great J's hips are all good. yes i know how weird it is making appts for 12mths time. I have to do that with dd's appts.

eta sorry just saw you had posted again. yay lets hope it stays away!!!!!

speaking of appts i made O's 18mth appointment and our flu shots for early april. I have decided that i will most likely get it done. I will speak to GP on the day but def getting the kids done.
cassi8
BG - that is great advice! Means I won't have to see the ILs for a few weeks either wink.gif You are right about avoiding slip ups, I have to do everything I can to avoid them!

Sharon - I don't go out that often and when and if I do I will have the choice about what I eat its just when visiting people, mainly ILs, you can/should eat what is offered. I find it hard to refuse or ask for an alternitive, must be how I was raised. Its going to be even harder to watch people eat some of the things that I love and not finish N's meals. I am going to Enjoy Yum Cha On saturday though! happy.gif I am allowing myself this weekend to get my head around it all and then on the wagon as of Monday!

Triny - hands.gif for you. I hope its all good news!

alimumof3
cassi i totally get the bit about finishing the kids meals - that is so hard not to do!! cos you feel wasteful chucking it out, and sometimes too its just so yummy...
Bel Rowley
Only a 45 minute sleep from Claudia today mad.gif . I will try putting her down again at 3 after she's finished her milk. We just went for a walk to the park which she loved, I've also been getting a bit of uni work done and doing some baking. It's DH's turn to take morning tea to work tomorrow, he made a slice last night and I did the icing today plus a batch of oatmeal choc chip cookies.

Cassi - I know what you mean about eating at in-laws, I too was raised to "eat what you are given" and never ask for anything special. I would just try to limit portion sizes and hope they are understanding of what you are trying to do. I still have issues with my in-laws because they always do roasts with no gravy and it bothers me every time laughing2.gif.

Melanie - great bargains at Aldi. I am so eager to start buying baby things again but must wait for that first scan. 3 weeks to go, I don't know how I will get through it. Once I see a hb I will be so relieved.

Triny - good news about Jacqui's hips. It is funny making appointments so far in advance. When we last saw the paediatrician about Claudia's VSD in her heart (this was before she even turned 1), they gave me a referral for a follow up echocardiogram when she's 3! I'm sure I've lost it already laughing2.gif. I'm excited for you testing tomorrow... will be waiting with baited breath and hoping for a November '10 playmate for my little bean!

Bellygood- not sure if I mentioned this at the time but my dad got to meet Mao's Last Dancer himself last year! Can't remember his name I'm afraid, but he paid a visit to the town where I grew up to do some sort of motivational speaking and stayed at our family friends' farm, where Dad was also staying.

Ellangel - that diet sounds like hell to me, other than breakfast! Good luck with it.

Ali - I'm going to take Claudia and get us both flu shots soon, I know it's been discussed before but have they combined the swine flu with the regular flu vacc? I can't remember.
bellygood
Ellangel I've been thinking about a DIY health kick too but with a slightly different angle. I never manage to eat enough fruit and veg (2 and 5 or whatever it is), so I thought: what if I ate normal b/fast, lunch and am/pm tea, but replaced dinner with nothing but fruit and veg, or maybe a simple sauce (eg not carbonara...).

That way I'd be eating the right fruit and veg, cutting down on calories (as it would be a fairly light dinner) and not making drastic changes to my lifestyle. I even thought that eg. frozen veg with sauce would be a great quick, easy but boring dinner! WDYT?

I personally don't think I'd feel deprived as most of the day is just eating as usual. Even if I did this 'every other day' it would be good, right? Or even if I added a bit of chicken?

ETA hi BBear! It is 'vax day' at the hospital today, open clinic, so I am girding my loins to take Ivy up for chicken pox vax and maybe swine flu, and maybe swine flu for me too BUT each and every doctor/nurse I've asked about it has said 'Well the official recommendation is to get it BUT...' and then follows some story about how it's not the pandemic they said it would be and it's new and a bit untested etc. etc. So the SF might drop off the list for us... really not too sure yet.
Bel Rowley
Bellygood that's not such a bad idea. I remember when I was trying to lose weight for my wedding (yes there was a time when I couldn't eat whatever I liked!) I refused to cut out carbs completely, so decided to eat cereal for breakfast, healthy sandwich for lunch and a carb-free dinner, i.e. lean protein with steamed veg or salad. Combined with some extreme exercise it worked really quickly.
cassi8
BG - I found the easiest way to get enough fruit and veg is to replace morning and afternoon snack with a piece of fruit, share with Ivy wink.gif and salad veg or veg soup for lunch and 2 cups of veg with dinner instead of DHs 2/3C of veg. Yes the veg in pasta sauce and salad all counts towards your veg intake! original.gif

Blondie - ph34r.gif they don't know what I am doing, needing to lose weight for health reasons, heck not even my mum knows, just that the Dr would like me to lose a bit, they know nothing about the dietician either just that I am trying to be healthy.. The salad is usually coleslaw, bit of lettuce and tomato (hate fresh tomato) and maybe some cucumber and some snags or tandoori chicken which I can't eat, its too hot.. rolleyes.gif It would be interesting to say that I have 'eaten' and just help N eat his lunch...
trinyweeny
Blondie - the swine flu is part of the flu injection or separately. The separate one is the one they are offering free. Both J and I had the free one. J goes back for her next shot in about 2 weeks.
ellangel
I had a child health nurse at my house last night and she has been busy jabbing everyone she meets! LOL. NO, she told me the swine/flu shots will not be combined anytime soon, so bubs would need 2 swine and 1 flu and adults 1 of each. We are just getting swine vax in this house. Only really get 1 or 2 colds in winter and that is it. VERY lucky so far....

And I have my homeopathic remedies which I think are fantastic and keep things at bay. Which reminds me, may need to contact KM to order more, especially the teething relief and the 1 for keeping colds away.
ellangel
the swine flu is part of the flu injection or separately. The separate one is the one they are offering free. Both J and I had the free one. J goes back for her next shot in about 2 weeks.
ok, I am confused after reading this Triny. I thought they were all free?

Blondie - I am so bored I will try something different and starve myself! LOL Just kidding
trinyweeny
The seasonal flu one for 2010 is free to a certain part of the population like over 65's and those who are sick and would have serious outcomes from having the flu. The seasonal flu one for 2010 (released eariler this week) definitely contains the swine flu (H1N1).
The Swine flu (H1N1) only vaccine is free to all the population.

alimumof3
yeah the dr's receptionist told me that the flu and swine are combined so we are getting both. well as i said i'll ask gp what he thinks about the swine flu one whilst being preg.

DH gets them done at work.

blondie we're the same as you at the moemnt, my kids are having cold after cold. so annoying.
Bel Rowley
My WTEWYE just sold for $14.10! I'm pretty stoked with that, 2 hours ago it didn't have any bid.
cassi8
Now thats more like it, I like it better when you are chatty biggrin.gif

Well done on the sale Blondie! great price! original.gif

Flu shots are going to get done as soon as N is well enough to get his next shot, Dr said we can do them both at the same time. As for which one, will check and see what Dr says about getting swine flu..

bellygood
Ellangel after you peel off your five kilos, dye your hair blonde and get big red fingernails, you can answer the door to DH on his return wearing nothing but a pair of high heels and some glad wrap! Or have I got the wrong idea here? Actually I don't think you've even got 5kg to lose so don't really understand the spartan diet thing. It should be me! I've got 20kg to lose!

Well Ivy has dodged a bullet, she is still asleep and I'm not going to wake her for the vax clinic so looks like it'll be next week. It's a free weekly child health clinic. Oh well, DH can take her, I hate anything to do with jabs. I'll take her down to the shops and maybe to McDonalds for a fruit fizz thingy and a play. I would say McFlurry but I'm pretty sure the soft serve is off the menu when you're knocked up? Might go some fries instead.

ellangel
LOL Bellyg!!! I somehow do not think I will be wrapping my body in gladwrap! biggrin.gif You are with child! So no weight loss for you. I am losing the weight for all those UTD! LOL. There IS weight to be shed, seriously!
cassi8
Sharon Where?? sorry I'm with BG.. wink.gif

DH just found that the box of shakes he got for me yesterday is 2 months out of date! Trying to find the receipt to take them back!
cassi8
unsure.gif where are you all??
ellangel
I am here! Got busy cleaning out my walk in robe...as one does at 8pm!! Now I am heading to bed to read.

That really sux the box is out of date. They are not cheap, so hope you can exchange
bellygood
Dumped by our building designer! No worries though, he was a bit too casual in every respect for me (except price, where he didn't miss at all). We questioned his very one-sided contract and all of a sudden he is now too busy to do our work.

I think now we will not go the building designer $3.5k+ fee route, rather just get a draftsman + engineer combo for about $1.5k. We really don't need the 'creative' work, just the dogsbody drafting with engineers approval. Why pay for more than what you need?

So many things were excluded from our building designers quote that the total fee would have just climbed up and up. Sadly his contract looked pretty typical - we had a few quotes from others, very similar structure. So I'm now looking to go bargain shopping eg draftsman + engineer combo. My bro did this for $1k recently, given that we want a few more detailed drawings I"m thinking $1.5k. Wish me luck!
cassi8
morning..

Sharon - Glad to hear you are being productive while DH is away! wink.gif I found the receipt after a bit of scratching through the in so I will take them back today. I bought a different box today on special and the use by is 2011 so they must have been sitting on the shelf for a while. If it wasn't a nutritional supplement I wouldn't bother.

BG - all the issues you are having makes me thankful that we didn't build. It must be very frustrating!

Does anyone know what pyrex goes for these days? We have broken a few and Aldi have a set of 3 bowls and lids for $20ish, just wondering if its a good price.

So DH was home yesterday with sick N so I could go to work. He was stuffed by the time I got home, just proves we are super women! laughing2.gif nothing got done but a bag full of groceries in 2 trips "cause I only had one hand", complained he couldn't answer work emails, I did warn him that he wouldn't be able to rolleyes.gif All I could do was chuckle to myself about how hard he found it, bad wife I know.. happy.gif I think he was happy to go to work today, he left well before his normal time.
Bel Rowley
Morning! Finally a full night of sleep here ddance.gif . Had a little cry at about 10 but I went and gave her a pat and she then slept through until 6:30 so I'm happy. We just took DH and his cookies/slice to work, Moonlight Cinema is tonight so I'll pick him up from work on the way to the gardens. BIL and his GF are coming to babysit. I'm putting together a picnic for us, thinking I'll make some coronation chicken for bread rolls and take some of the zucchini slice I made the other day. Also just had another Ebay win so there goes the money I made for the WTE book...
I'm so in love with pinafores at the moment, already have 3 for C this winter.

Bellygood - sounds like the right move with the building designer. Good luck getting the price you want.

Cassi - glad you found that receipt, big BOO to them trying to sell out of date stock. LOL about your DH managing with N, mine is the same, he works so hard but would not swap with me for a second, he finds Claudia exhausting.

Ooh I see Triny posting, have you tested???
trinyweeny

Still no AF I tested but a BFN. It was a cheap test as I forgot to get some whilst in the supermarket and that's all the chemist had. Might have to go out later if I do I shall go and get a first reponse one. Have had shocking heartburn which a never have and feeling a bit dizzy.

Cassi - How annoying on the out of date stuff. No idea on the price of pyrex stuff but sounds good to me.

Blondie - Oooo nice. I love overalls I think J has about 3 already and I'm on the look out for more.
Bel Rowley
Definitely time for a FR Triny original.gif. Overalls are a good idea, I might look for some of those now Tounge1.gif.

Where is everyone today? We've been with mothers group girls for 3 hours and only 1 post!
alimumof3
hi girls, i'm here now.
now that O is doing this one sleep thing I don't get a chance to do my morning post when he'd normally sleep.

so we tried playgroup for the first time today. it was quite good. hard to go somewhere when you dont know anyone. but the location is really good. excellent toys and bikes etc and great outside area. kids had fun. amelia loved playing with the other kids and playing hide and seek. there were some naughtey 3+ boys there though sad.gif telling my kids to "go away". Little sh1ts.

triny ooooo let us know asap with the FR. Good luck

blondie yay on the full nights sleep! Hope it continues.

cassi doesn't matter that they're a food replacement, even if it was somethign else i'd still be taking it back being out of date. glad you found the receipt! you should see if you can get it for FREE seeings it was their fault. i'd try it wink.gif
alimumof3
those girls like beagle, lara and sharon that already go to playgroup - what is the ettiqutte (sp) normally? Like i left at 1130 (think it went til 12 or so) cos O was waaaaaaaaaay ready for a sleep. i kind of felt bad leaving with all the stuff out everywhere...
cassi8
I'm home finally and starving! Just trying to get N to sleep before I have my lunch...

BBS
trinyweeny
Looks like I don't have to go out this afternoon after all. Still no AF might need to go out for that test though.

Ali - Congrats on going to playgroup. I am hoping to go next week. I just keep putting it off because I am a chicken LOL.
alimumof3
yes triny i'm a chicken too and normally would have made someone else go with me (ie my neighbour) but she was busy so thought i'd bite the bullet! they also have PG on a monday too with cooking activities etc so might go to that one too. I know DD would love to cook - Oliver prob too young though..

yes you MUST go out later and get a test to put us yourself out of suspense!
cassi8
ok back..

Had to run out this morning to the nearest large shopping centre (parra for the syd girls) PITA! I had to get MIL a present for her birthday and Parra was the closest place I could get it then had to hang around waiting for DH to get back to me.. anyhow, finally home and have done none of the things I was intending to do yet including taking those shakes back.

Blondie - just watch posting links to ebay wink.gif Its very cute!

Ali - well done on getting to PG. It will be on my list once we have moved and settled.

next vent, why oh why did they have to pick the city for MILs birthday lunch tomorrow? There are more places around closer to home that do yum cha and they know we do swimming on Saturday! ssorry.gif must be the hormones and lack of food..
ellangel
Hi, I am here. Went to on a big shopping spree to BigW for pillows and Target and toy shop for Ella's birthday.

Exhausted now!

Playgroup - it depends what kind of person you are, but yes, some playgroups can be very 'clicky'. Just chat to your children and gradually talk to some mums that have kids the same age and go from there. I am not a shy person, and usually end up reading the entire group of kids a story with Holli glued to my lap as all the other mums tidy up around us!

Ali - you just leave when you can and help out when you can regarding toys. Some weeks you help out, others are a nightmare. We have a roster for 2 people to bring a plate of food, 1 to do a craft and 1 to stay til last to lock up and vacuum.

Ok, I am so blonde. What is FR?
laraq75
Triny - fingers crossed for you and that it is just too early to test.

Ali - If you have to leave you have to leave. Angus goes a little crazy at the end when he needs a sleep. But we have a roster at playgroup so you have to put your name down for a task. But I just try and pack something away for wipe down benches if I have to leave early. It is hard when they are trasitioning to one sleep a day.

Cassi - I agree i wouldn't want to go into the city. Sydney city is such a pain. I feel like i know it well now after spending 5 days up there.
trinyweeny
FR = first response preg test

cassi - that is a major pain the you know what.
cassi8
blush.gif thanks, I just thought I was being difficult! I don't mind going into the city, but finding parking is a pain and usually 10 blocks from where you need to be. Just have to suck it up!
trinyweeny
and when you do find parking you have to mortgage part of the house to pay for it.
Bel Rowley
Oh Cassi I took down the link I forget sometimes this is not just a private space only we can visit! I know what you mean about going out in the city. DH cracks it whenever we have to go to the city (or the other side of) for anything, he expects all social events to be near us even though we don't exactly live in the most central part of town!

Ali good on you going to playgroup, hope there are some nice people there. I was talking to my MG friends today one of whom goes to a playgroup on Tuesdays, the other went for a while before she was back at work 3 days a week. They were saying the girls there are cliquey too and it's hard to break in unless you're very outgoing. MG is enough for me, as I said to them today I feel like I've got enough 'mum' friends now.

Triny - I'm with Ali you can't keep us hanging! laughing2.gif Although in some ways it may be better to wait and do the FR tomorrow, I was annoyed when I tested too early month before last and ended up getting AF.
alimumof3
blondie yeah i'm not really doing it for the 'mum' friend aspect - i feel i have enough with MG and we are all v v close, its for the kids that I'm doing it. well mainly for DD. and also my sanity to fill in the days!
ellangel
Yes we had a 'new' mum start playgroup yesterday, but she was quite outgoing so I know what you mean. I always try and talk to the new ones. Must be daunting. She had a DD4, DD2, and DS 3 months. Obviously she did not sit down much...I felt tired just watching her!
trinyweeny
I'm the opposite I need to find a playgroup so I can get some "mum" friends currently I have one (IRL and local) from MG.

Can't be bothered going to the shops now. Will do the cheapy in the morning if still BFN I'll go to the shops. Tomorrow AF will be definitely late. So hands.gif that it stays away.
ellangel
Forgot to comment....on your travelling dilemma and lunch tomorrow Cassi. People without small children just tend to forget or they dont think do they?

Oh anywhere to park or go in Sydney is a nightmare! It stresses me out when we are there. Brissy is getting bigger and busier but still easy parking. But all westfields and shops are easy parking here. Maybe suggest that you have swimming so can you make in somewhere closer?

We have a party/lunch thing on in a few weeks and its about a 2 hour drive. From 12-3pm at a restaurant and am already stressing about how/if Holli will fall asleep WHERE?
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.