The
Essential Baby forums cover all areas of
parenting and stages development for
babies,
toddlers and
kids as well as
parenting lifestyle areas including
Family Travel,
Finances,
Nutrition & Wellbeing,
Recipes and more!
If you'd like to post and interact with EB's
parenting forums read more articles about
conception,
pregnancy,
babies,
toddlers,
kids or more please visit
Essential Baby for the full site experience.
alimumof3
12/03/2010, 02:19 PM
ok i dont know if i like this one sleep business. makes for a loooooooooooooooooooooooooong day. Oliver is awake, just playing in cot, and DD didnt sleep at all! so i've got her up. she sat in her bed laughing and singing for 2hrs. which i know is good but its not even 3pm and i have to somehow fill in the arvo.
i am v tired actually.
trinyweeny
12/03/2010, 02:23 PM
Yes I agree Ali it can make for a long afternoon. Especially when J decides to only have an hour or so thankfully that hasn't happened for awhile.
Ellangel - Will Holli sleep in the car on the way there?
Bel Rowley
12/03/2010, 02:30 PM
Claudia only had 1/2 hour sleep today! I've just put her down again but it doesn't sound promising. I don't know what is up with her sleep lately.
cassi8
12/03/2010, 02:41 PM
Sharon - we just told them we won't be there until after 12:30 by the time swimming finishes we get changed and get there. FIL asked if N could eat the food, betting he won't touch it. It was going to be Sunday but we have a 1st birthday morning tea to go to. I am hoping N will sleep in the car on the way there so he is at least in a reasonable mood. He is still unwell and grumpy.
My fingers are crossed for you Triny!

N woke, opened his bedroom door to the worst stench! DH did say that he hadn't done a poo yesterday.

he just made up for it! yuck!
trinyweeny
12/03/2010, 03:06 PM
cassi - Jacqui didn't go yesterday and not so far today. Not looking forward to it when it does.
alimumof3
12/03/2010, 03:07 PM
snap cassi! when i opened O's door the stench was there too and a nice sloppy poo!
cassi8
12/03/2010, 03:12 PM

airing out the bedroom too Ali??

Must stop procrastinating and take this box of shakes back. Being lazy and couldn't really be stuffed haling N and the box of shakes downstairs, unloading the stroller out of the car walking all the way there and still having to go via the supermarket to get something for dinner..
Any healthy veg loaded ideas??
Bel Rowley
12/03/2010, 03:18 PM
Any healthy veg loaded ideas??
My veg-loaded ideas tend to be high in fat, sorry. A tofu and vegie stirfry with soy sauce, garlic and ginger maybe?
No second sleep here. Claudia had better be good for BIL tonight.
ellangel
12/03/2010, 03:41 PM
It IS a bit like that until they establish a routine Ali. Give it time. I remember thinking like that. Now we go out, sleep, wake, school pick up.
I would send DH to the lunch and say you and Nathan are staying home as he is no better! LOL.
Well, maybe she might sleep in the car, but to be there by 12, we will have to leave by 10am, so she will just be ready for a nap when we arrive! She will drop off in the car, when Ella is not in the back with her, distracting her, IYKWIM?
gotta go eat....then ballet.
How boring is my weekend about to become? SIGH
DH is staying near the casino in Melbourne, its food and wine festival for the next 12 days and then Formula 1! He better do some work! LOL I am so freaking mad, envious, bored, crazy and senile already!
Hello down there Beagle! Hope you are ok.
cassi8
12/03/2010, 03:41 PM
blondie how does eggplant, zucchini, mushroom, carrot with risoni and ricotta mixed through sound?? The idea sounds good not sure how it would taste..
Bel Rowley
12/03/2010, 03:49 PM
Cassi that sounds delicious!! Almost makes me want to eat healthy food

Ellangel do you want me to go spy on your DH and make sure he's behaving?

I'd love to go to some of the F&W festival events, every year I say I'm going to go and I never do.
My picnic food is all ready to go for tonight, somehow the food becomes much more exciting when it's a picnic. I just hope we can find a park near the gardens so I don't have to deal with too much DH grumpiness

cassi8
12/03/2010, 04:16 PM
Thanks blondie! Now to work out what meat...
The out of date shakes were replaced with a new box.
I'm sure I look like an idiot in front of woolies typing on my phone
ellangel
12/03/2010, 04:21 PM
do you want me to go spy on your DH and make sure he's behaving?
LOL. Blondie! yes, get your little butt down there! What a clever idea. They have a 3 bedroom apartment right in the middle of the city? WTF? When he rings later, I will make sure to pinch both girls in order to create chaos sounding mayhem! LOL.
Better get moving or DD1 will be in a bad mood if I rush her to get ready
idiot alert! Cassi typing at the corner supermarket! LOL just kidding
Sccary
12/03/2010, 05:46 PM
BLONDIE:

at DH being grumpy sounds just like mine. Velvet is not sleeping today either. We had Ballet at 10-11 had to drop off a pregnancy belly band thingy to a friend with SP then 20mins to get home.
Home at 12:00noon exactly and straight to bed for V but only slept 1.5hrs WTF?
She was shattered, I so don't think she will go back down either. I hate this one/two sleep thing it is NOT working!!!!
Have a great night out and BTW I can't eat roast withot gravy either
BEAGLE: So sorry things are going so badly, but it does seem DH is coping well considering. I hopethinkgs let up soon and DS is ok, I am sure he is just overly emotional ATM.
Kate and kindy, that sounds terrible. Bloody kids! She must be very upset to be on the 'outs' after being so excited to go. I know that it is not the 'done' thing but I would buy her the things to fit in as I feel first impression stuff at thins age just effects little girls for life. SHe will remember and carry this forever, so for the sake of what $100 I would make her fit in and be happy. Hope that helps her. IF not maybe a chat to the mums?
Faith is Loving it. I have me a group of 7 fantastic mums that already have me going to their playgroup with them on monday mornings. So welcoming and all their kids are fantastic, nice little boys and girls. She has met a little BF called Bethany, and she is enrolled to go to Perth College for upper school too, so that is nice they will have each other (if we can come up with the 17K admission

)
If I can do anything please ask.
TRINY: So hope you have a

positive tomorrow. Fingers croissed for you.
CASSI: I will be very interested in your Optislim diet. I have an appoint with GP next week to see if there is a fast way to loose that last 5kgs as I am over it! I want a quick fix pill although I know this is not the way to do it, but I would go back to healthy eating afterwards anyway. I have been so good to loose the 15kg since birth, and I want to loose another 4-5kg then either TTC or go get my boobs fixed and lipo on the wobbly bits
ELLANGEL: So sorry DH is away so long. I hate the first week, butthen get into a routine and love the free time at night. It's funny when DH is away the house is spotless as I clena after kids are in bed and it always amazes me I am less tired with DH away. When he is home I hate even doing the dishes at night and leave most things to the morning and watch TV instead

Good lucjk with the 2 hour drive. Holli will be shattered that day (and you no doubt)
Ok off to get dinner sorted. Home made pizza as it is 40Deg now at 3:30pm and DD1 has a little frind coming to stay the night
I might ask GP about the Optislim, I could handle that for about 4 weeks
alimumof3
12/03/2010, 05:52 PM
oh sarina i hear you on the difficulty of going from 2-1 sleep! sucks!!! oliver is sleeping a lot LESS now that he is on one, i should just keep him on two! might even put him down for a morn one tomorrow to kind of catch up. hmm. maybe.
your new mum friends sound lovely!
cassi8
12/03/2010, 08:24 PM
Sarina - Optifast is only recommended for >27 BMI, not sure that it would work as well for you. Good idea to check with the Dr.

thanks Sharon!
Hoping you are having a great night Blondie!

Ended up with a yummy dinner!

very clever that I am, made DHs with a tomato sauce and he liked it.
This headache is killing me, not sure if its tired or its the lack of Carbs.. ugh! Hopefully I will feel better tomorrow.
ellangel
12/03/2010, 08:47 PM
Not good about the headache. DH had them about 3 days into it I remember. Last about 4 days until his body adjusted.
Dh has just called. They had a look at a lot of cars today...HEAPS! So many damaged cars, even technicians from O.S. are coming over! So he better get cracking.
They are talking of doing shifts of 3 weeks in Melbourne, 1 week back at home. They would fly home each time. I am not sure if I should be happy/sad or how I quite feel about this, IF this were to happen!
Sarina - thanks so much for advice. You are right you know...more organised and house cleaner of an evening!
cassi8
12/03/2010, 09:04 PM
Noooo, don't say that! Its only been this afternoon so hoping it will go with sleep..
I wouldn't know how to feel either, I think personally I would rather him stay and get the work done then come home rather than disrupting the new routine again and having him leave. Bummer that Easter is so close, another thing to take into consideration!
ellangel
12/03/2010, 09:41 PM
Cass - the headache could be a number of things...tiredness, hormonal, stress, etc. Hopefully after a good nights sleep, you will feel better.
Logging off now to watch end of New Moon. Team Jacob all the way!!
Sccary
12/03/2010, 10:38 PM
CASSI: Just worked out my BMI is 24 ATM so in healthy range but would like to bring it down to the lower end
SHARON: I forgot new moon was on (looking after the 3 kids by myself as DH cam ehome shattered after handing over his project today and leaving at 5am this morning) he went to bed at 5:30pm and is still asleep
ellangel
13/03/2010, 08:50 AM
All this talk of BMI made me curious so I checked it out and mine is 22.
So to starve myself and do the dieting thing is a little silly of me...dont want to be cranky/tired when I have to do the best job I can in the next few weeks!
So going to step up the exercise side of things and 'tone up' these hips, thighs and abs. What abs?
Off to vacuum the house and then take both to swimming. Oh fun!
trinyweeny
13/03/2010, 09:13 AM
ITS A

. EDD 19th November..
ellangel
13/03/2010, 09:22 AM
OH TRINY!!!!! JUMPING FOR JOY FOR YOU LOVE!!! WHOOOO hoOOOO!!!
Excellent news! Congrats to you and DH and Jacqui!!! xxx
alimumof3
13/03/2010, 09:48 AM
YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY TRINY!!!!! I AM SO HAPPY FOR YOU!!!!
WHEN I READ YOUR POST I BROKE OUT IN GOOSE BUMPS! THAT IS FANTASTIC!!!
trinyweeny
13/03/2010, 10:03 AM
Thanks guys. DH can't wipe the smile off his face. I think its still sinking in for me although the heartburn is certainly reminding me.
ellangel
13/03/2010, 10:08 AM
Exciting stuff! Heartburn already? That is very early to be having that symptom?!
Have a great day all.
laraq75
13/03/2010, 10:42 AM
Triny - CONGRATULATIONS. I am so, so, so happy for you. I was really hoping that this month would be the one for you. yay!!!
beaglebaby
13/03/2010, 11:00 AM
alimumof3
13/03/2010, 11:27 AM
BLONDIE is going to be excited to have another november bub!!
beaglebaby
13/03/2010, 11:33 AM
Still excited for Triny!
Cassi, glad they swapped the box for you. Hope it's not what was causing the headache. Hope today goes well with swimming and lunch.
Ellangel, 3 weeks on one off sounds OK, you'll be fine, in fact I find I get grumpy with DH when he comes home and messes up the routine. I totally agree with Sarina about the house being cleaner when they're not around. My place is worse than ever atm, as there always seems to be someone sleeping when I'm free to clean - yesterday had L asleep at one end of the house, DD at the other, and DH on the lounge in between - I couldn't do anything!!
Sarina, DD is still happy at school, just a bit of adjustment, especially with the PPs going every day and then just 9 kindys being there 2 days, the others have their circle of friends already. I need to arrange some playdates - just can't do them at home with DH here so the park should be good with the weather cooling down. I braided her hair at the sides on Thurs and everyone told her how pretty she looked - she was happy!
DH was told on Thurs that it looks like he'll need 4 cycles, seems every appointment it gets worse. We arranged for him to have another blood test next week and if it is better he might get out of the 4th cycle. He's a shocker for putting on a brave face to outsiders and not letting on how rough things are, even his blog fails to mention things like his hospital admission on Monday! I find that hard as people are telling me how great he looks and how well he's doing, they don't see him lying on the lounge not having the energy to get himself a drink. Anyway, the kids are all still managing to do their normal things, and I've got Mum arriving tonight to help out again for the week. Haven't heard from the inlaws for a week, and haven't seen them for about 5!!! I can't imagine any of us letting our children go through this without our support!
Better go see what mischief Lucas is up to in the lounge - there is so much for him to trash!!
Bel Rowley
13/03/2010, 11:47 AM
jotsmum
13/03/2010, 11:59 AM
beaglebaby
13/03/2010, 12:44 PM
Just a quick one - been checking my email and found a huge sale on maternity bras for those who may need them
Here Those prices are in NZ dollars, and you get 12.5% tax taken off, makes up for the cost of postage!!
trinyweeny
13/03/2010, 12:57 PM
Beagle what great prices I think I might need some.
bellygood
13/03/2010, 01:08 PM
Triny congrats

what great news!
Beagle I think we need to place a bulk order, so many baby bumps in this thread now... sorry to hear that DH has yet another chemo course, hope he's feeling better soon
Nothing much happening here, Ivy asleep and when she wakes we have a b'day party to go to, after that I might go catch Bran Nue Day (anyone seen it?). Had a great cup of coffee this morning - a 'bowl' - so still buzzing. After that shopping, library, and now relaxing. Have a great day everyone!
ellangel
13/03/2010, 02:47 PM
bored bored bored, might go bid on something on ebay!
Sccary
13/03/2010, 03:32 PM
TRINY CONGRATULATIONS
yAYYYYYYYYyyyyy !!!!!!!
Just goes to show that so close to due date can still be too early. Glad you retested today? Makes for a nice weekend for you and DH
cassi8
13/03/2010, 03:57 PM

congrats Triny!

So very happy for you and DH.
Sharon are you starting to feel a little on the minority

So our epic adventure is over.. Didn't end up going to swimming, N still coughing and not sounding good and didn't want to have him exerting himself and chilling him down with such a chesty cough. Went to lunch earlier, saw BILs new apartment and after and hour and a half commute, finally home! N has only slept about 30mins all day so he is going to bed early tonight.
Beagle - Poor DH, sounds like he is doing it tough. I am glad you have your mums support though, strange and sad that DHs family isn't around for him although I can see that if I was in that situation that it would be my parents helping out and not DH's.
ok should go do some cleaning I guess...
littlemumma
13/03/2010, 04:30 PM
CONGRATULATIONS TRINY, SO SO HAPPY FOR YOU. WOOHOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
laraq75
13/03/2010, 06:39 PM
Sharon are you starting to feel a little on the minority Tounge1.gif
This is exactly what happened in my other parents group. It was amazing how many of us were pregnant at the same time. All due at different stages.
ellangel
13/03/2010, 07:48 PM
Hi down there Tweedy! You are not posting much these days. Hope you are ok. Saw on FB you were sick.
Cassi - hope N has a great sleep and glad you survived the commute and also lunch!
Sharon are you starting to feel a little on the minority
Oh gosh no! I couldnt care if the lot of you were pregnant, just as long as its NOT me! No way in hell am I having anymore kiddies.
bellygood
13/03/2010, 08:24 PM
Yes come back Tweedy! It has been too long... how are things with you?
Bel Rowley
14/03/2010, 01:33 PM
Hey kiddos. Hope everyone is having a lovely weekend. I got through my first big family gathering last night (cousin's engagement) without drinking and nobody asked anything. It was a really nice party and Claudia was a good girl for DH's parents so all good. She did wake up at 6:15 this morning though, not happy when I didn't get to bed until 12:30! I was so exhausted. DH got up at 8:20 and I went back to bed for a couple of hours, which I usually never do. We're out again tonight, dinner at BIL and his GF's. I hinted strongly when they told us the other night that I really don't like the late starts to family dinners. They and DH's parents are all used to eating fashionably late dinners which is all well and good when you are child-free. I said to DH today that once we have #2 I'm going to insist that we have dinner earlier, we do lunches instead, or I don't go. I don't want to be dealing with bedtime routines for two cranky over-tired children at 9pm. One is bad enough.
alimumof3
14/03/2010, 01:40 PM
blondie i don't blame you. we never do dinners in our family. my bro has two little kids with number 3 on the way. we do brunch or lunch. more so brunch these days so the kids can have their arvo sleeps. brunch is always sooo much yummy food so we all love it.
i am just about to burn some of my vid camera to dvd. I am a bit behind. Think i'm up to Oliver crawling...so quite a way behind.
adios!
tweedy08
14/03/2010, 01:45 PM
Afternoon girls <3
Well I am so sick. I have got a damn cold that has hit like a tonne of bricks. My head hurts, my body hurts, my nose wont stop running & I cant stop sneezing. Tilly has a runny nose today & DS has an irritating cough. I think cold season has hit early in my house! I have been expecting it though with the sudden change in weather.
I have been busy trying to keep up with my studies although its not getting far since I am already stuck on some nominalisation thing with English.....damn uni & there formal writing!! I did have to write an informal letter to a friend about being attacked by a crocodile......re-reading it now is quite hilarious

I then had to write it formally which was interesting to see the difference in wording & sentence structure we use depending on the situation! anyhow I seem to be plodding along ok. I did drop Bioscience though since I just could get the gist of it all when not in a lab and the technical terminology was just too much! So am no doing History & Contemporary issues which atm I am finding quite interesting. Not looking forward to all the essays writing though....lol. To top it all off I have finally decided what I want to do at Uni once I have finished this bridgeing course. Bachelor of Arts/Graphic Design. Will go in well with hubby as he starts his mastering Digital Photography Course this week. He also got us a new DSLR Nikon D90 cam with twin lenses. Broke the bank but hey if it works out he will be able to do something he loves & has wanted to do for a long time so its not all bad I guess.
Enough about me...I see we have another BFP in the group! Gratz Triny

Hmmm I am feeling in the minority now....lol. Dont you all go get preggo on me

Not all at once anyhow....haha.
I suppose I should head off. already sneezed a bazillion times just while typing this & I really should get back to more study while Tilly is sleeping (although she is due to wake up soon anyhow). Oh she said 2 new words yesterday......Was playing with her big brother with a car & copying him saying BROOM! Then she went & babbled away to Steph. Anyways something happened & Steph goes oh bugger.......well this little voice said straight back....oh bugger! I was shocked!! Then Steph goes bugger & Tilly said it again. I was like...dont teach her that & Steph said but she says it so cute.....haha. she is also saying Stephie alot clearer now as well. I was getting a little worried about her for a while there as she wasnt doing anything new. Tantrums....this is a new thing too! If she wants something she will now squeal for it or yell.....& I finally found dairy free choc spread too

Anyways best be off for real this time....lol.
hugs to all & chat soon
xoxo
littlemumma
14/03/2010, 02:18 PM
Afternoon
Not too much has been happening this weekend as I have a sick little boy. Kai has a throat infection and has had really highs temps and been quite unwell so he's now on anbitiotics and has been on the lounge for two days, not sure if he'll be able to go to school tomorrow, will see how tonght goes.
Triny - hope you are having a nice relaxing weekend and are enjoying your BFP!
beagle - I hope your Mum has arrived again now. Sorry to hear it looks like 4 rounds for DH, poor things. I can understand how DS would be reacting that way, especially if he is sensative and being that he is a bit older...Just keep talking to him I guess. Breaks my heart, I felt so sad when I read that. With DH's parents, well there is nothing you can do about that so just concentrate on DH and your family.....they need a good kick up the you know what though!!!!!!!!!
tweedy - sounds like you are enjoying the studying some what which is good, hope you feel better soon.
blondi - I would absolutely be putting my foot down about the dinners. BILs family use to do the same thing and expect we go to dinners all the time and when I was pregnant with Max I just stopped going and then SIL stopped going and now they don't do it anymore, think they got the hint!!
ali - well you are good putting stuff on dVD, I haven't put any of the footage ever taken on DVD
Anyway better go check on on Max, he's still asleep.
alimumof3
14/03/2010, 03:23 PM
littlemumma yeah i had this thing where I thought was is the point of having stuff on teeny tiny video cassettes and not on dvd, when am i going to watch it? so before we had oliver i reckon it was, i bought a dvd recorder (which is also a dvd player) off ebay. was under $100 and now i can plug the vid camera into it and record. I also bought it cos i wanted to get our wedding video (which is a diff vid camera) onto dvd. but haven't done that yet. must try and work out if i can do that the same way i'm doing the kids footage..hmmm.
I would recommend doing it as its pretty easy once you have the right recorder. and i'd hate for anything to happen to the original tapes and the kids never be able to see the footage.
think some people can do it through their laptops too but i coudlnt work that out.
the fun thing when its connected to the tv and vid recorder, i watch it as i record it, so funny.
Poor Kai. hope he feels better. Maybe it is best he stays home tomorrow to fully kick it on the head. Do you work on a monday? i can't remember what days you work.
trinyweeny
14/03/2010, 03:57 PM
Had a late one last night as well. Went our high school reunion. It was certainly interesting and had a good time.
Blondie - I agree with dinner it is such a pain. Although it is good to go to my mum's because she will organise for 6ish which fits perfectly for getting kids into bed. MIL on the other hand always has good intentions but often dinner isn't till 7:30 or later which doesn't work well with grumpy and hungry child.
Ali - You have nearly inspired me to do my videos to DVD. I still have our honeymoon to do.
Beagle - Bummer on needing a 4th round of chemo. I hope your mum has arrived. It must be very difficult in your household at the moment. Thinking of you and your family.
Tweedy - Hope you feel better soon. Not much fun being a mummy and studying whilst sick.
Littlemumma - hope Kai is feeling better soon.
cassi8
14/03/2010, 07:01 PM
Evening ladies!
Tweedy - how awful that you are sick! I hope you are able to feel better soon. Thanks for popping in and saying hi!

Blondie - Glad you had a good night last night, I hope tonight is as good for you and C sleeps in a little for you tomorrow. I agree with the meal times thing, its not fair on the kids to have to wait that long and be up so late, selfish IMO.
Littlemumma - poor Kai, seems to be the season for illness at the moment and there is nothing worse that a sore throat. I hope the ABs work soon and He is feeling better tomorrow.
Busy day for us as well, birthday party this morning and parents over this afternoon for dinner. Was busy but nice day really. Nice play at the park although hard to stay away from all the party food

but I got away with just a tiny piece of caramel slice because it was 1pm before we got home and I hadn't had morning tea so I was starving and forgot to grab my fruit.
cassi8
14/03/2010, 07:20 PM
why oh why does he have to... It was bad enough that mum and dad bought us an entire box of block choc but why does DH feel the need to sit on the lounge and eat it!