The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: May 08 Parents # 71

ToodlePopsMum
Im here!! My computer is playing up and Im
waiting for DH to fix it so at the moment Im just reading as Im having to use my iPhone to reply.
Later chickies!
paddington13
Just quickly - so glad to see you back Jackie! I have been thinking about you and wondering how you are getting on! So happy you are around again biggrin.gif

Paddy
**dairymum**
Sorry Toodles I didn't say Hi b4, so Hiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii

Paddy Mwah, xxxxxxxxxooooooooooo

Jackie
*~Lisa~*
morning girls.

still no day to get new car hoping today we can finally book the truck. if it doesnt arrive by thursday I have to walk DS to school cause DP needs the car and will be over an hour away and knowing Ballarat weather that will be the day it pours with rain after all thia warm weather.

Off to do my first aid cert today silly me let it expire so I have to sit the whole thing rather an just do the refresher bugger. Got to drop Ds off at school E at day care and be the other side of town by 9am. umm yeah thats do-able NOT! Considing cant drop Ds until 8:40 min and E at 8:30 school -day care is 15 mins apart and from day care to place 20 min on a good day.

Oh well better go.
winelover
Hi girls sorry I have been a bit quiet this week.

Had appt with midwife last week and she is worried that I might be susceptible to antenatal depression as a result of my husbands depression. And I guess the whole thing has just got me down. It's a long rant of a story so I wont bore you with it.

I was going to do personals - but I'm not up to it atm - hope you understand.
luckyaussiemum
hugs bbighug.gif WINELOVER, hope you are okay. I had antenatal depression when preggers with Dempsey mellow.gif which turned into post natal depression which sucks but you muddle thru it somehow, no choice really:wacko: .

Lisa What year is your new car?
paddington13
We are here to listen Winelover! I know I need a gin right now, a BIG one. Is All Saints still on during the day?
I have been busy trying to occupy my devil child so I haven't had the chance to tune in. Where are they up to?

Jackie - mwah back! Ha ha. Perhaps we can swap feral children for awhile?
winelover
Thanks girls.

I have made an appt for my dh at the Dr on Friday so he can have his medication reviewed.(men are so incapable of doing anything) Dh wants me to go with him. I am going to write a list so I don't forget to tell the Dr anything.
Then I have another appt at the preg care clinic on Wednesday with my Dr and my file has been marked so that the Dr will be asking me how everything is going. I just need my husband to help me. As much as I try to be a superwoman/supermum I can't do everything and with this pregnancy and a new bub I am sure it is only going to get harder. At the moment I feel that looking after Tayla is a walk in the park - it is having to do everything for dh that is bringing me down. I wish he could see that I need his help sometimes.

Paddy - AS surely is on during the day original.gif Vincent's psycho woman is causing havoc with everyone.

LAM - I may PM you later and ask you a few questions.

adelaryln
WL- that's hard for you. Hope everything will be ok. Depression is a very hard illness to deal with. we're here for you.

I haven't been on much just busy i guess, or tired. Don't know how much longer i can keep up at this casual job. money is great but i'm getting so tired dealing with heaps of children and i can't lift them which makes things hard, then there's getting on the floor with them and trying to get back up....not fun lol.

*~Lisa~*
I've never been so board doing first aid! Did help that I was unseeing most questions students asked because teacher didnt know and with nursing background I did.

And the car I'm so over it. Its officially ours but its still in Adelaide wont get picked up until friday and wont be delivered til next week so very p*ssed off. If the finance guy transferred the cash Tuesday night instead of Wednesday morning it would of been on a truck yesterday and got here Saturday.

So now I'm without a car tomorrow and I hate not having a car its my lifeline of independence I know its only one day but it sucks.

LAM Its a 2002 Chrysler Grand voyager 4th Gen (so the one with the wood grain dash), will post some pics and get you a review when it arrives I know we are looking at the same type of car.
PM if you want to know how much or any other issues.

off shopping today and getting passport photos done so I can send off paperwork.
kalita
WL I am sorry to hear you are having such a bad time sad.gif Depression sucks the soul out of everything, and I think looking after someone in the depths is like bashing your head on a brick wall. It's so hard, and even harder to do it without being affected yourself, especially in hormonal pregnant state. I am pretty sure I had AND with Claire but as I refused to leave the house or talk to anyone I didn't get any help for it so can't offer advice there, sorry.

Thinking of you xx.

DM: Welcome back!

AFM: I may have mentioned I did my back last week. Ended up having to get DH to take the day off work (on my birthday, no less), to ferry me to the closet open Chiro (an hour away rolleyes.gif) so I could actually walk again. But that didn't suck entirely because at least I got to spend my birthday with DH original.gif and my sister, so that was fun. That was Wednesday last week, and only yesterday could I sit at the computer for more than 5 minutes, or pick up DD without any pain. Next weekend I am off to Hobart for the weekend with my sister, I can't wait. We will hate each other by the end of it but I need a holiday.
ToodlePopsMum
hi girls,

just a quick one.

wl: so sorry you are having a hard time honey. stay strong, stay positive and most of all, look after yourself.

dm: hi!! great to see you again (although i have been keeping up on facebook original.gif )

kalita: poooooo to your back pain. can totally sympathise with you as i struggle with it every day still sad.gif hope you are getting some relief. hobart ....... yay! will be nice to get away for a while. you definately deserve it.

okay gotta go. screaming demon in the cot, a hugnry 4 year old on the prowl and half an hour to get it all done and out the doo!

BIG HELLO to everyone i missed original.gif
*~Lisa~*
I'm off to Adelaide! Who wants to come meet me for breakfast?
Turns out the transport isnt picking car up til monday and it would be lucky to make it here by next friday we we decided to just go get it our self. its going to be a long day for me tomorrow. Flight leaves at 6am be there 30 mins before and we live 1.5 hours from airport add that to a 9 hour drive back for me I think coffee will become my best friend lol.

But the good thing is we get our car!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ddance.gif ddance.gif ddance.gif ddance.gif ddance.gif ddance.gif ddance.gif
luckyaussiemum
Lisa Have fun on the road trip!!

Winelover PM me when you are ready dear! original.gif I have a history of depression too, managed well with meds for years, except when I had Dempsey! I have no thyroid tissue though so am prone to it!
kgbird34
Good evening chickens
KATH you poor love, hope your DH gets some desperately needed help and thus you will too. Depression is nasty business; I reckon I go a bit funny in the head after having babies (well I did the last 2 times) - nothing that I had diagnosed but worth watching. I am going to mention it to my ob this time; there seems to be such a stigma related to it but in the end it is an illness just like every other illness and we should recognize it for what it is! Sounds like LAM will be a good support too original.gif .
KALITA I dealt with my depression just like you did rolleyes.gif we are very clever! I do hope your back is feeling better and you have a fabulous time in Tassie. How's uni going, you braniac?
TPM hello petal how's WW going? You so have your head screwed on the right way, could you send some positive weight loss vibes my way? I'm being feral with the easter eggs at the moment; have had too many bad days in a row. Must start trying or it's gonna be harder once this bubba is out!
LISA have a great busy day tomorrow! What colour is your car? How exciting. Maybe you could meet Hope for breaky! Drive carefully.
ADARLYN hope you are able to give up the work soon if it's getting a bit hard. I am aiming for 34 weeks this time so I can have longer at the end, but do have 2 weeks annual leave at the end of April, just in time for Bells 2nd birthday. But I do only work 2 days a week too. Having said that it is hard being on my feet for the whole shift and I am feeling it by the end! The easter eggs I am devouring aren't helping in that department, I'm sure rolleyes.gif .
PADS I'll swap kids with you, you will never whinge about your dear Beth again! I reckon Bella could give any one of the little cherubs on here a run for their money. She is SO pushing all my buttons sometimes I could nearly kill her! And other times she is just too cute. Little bugger.
JACKIE good to hear you are doing so well, so very happy everything is working out so well for you. Some pics would be nice on facebook!
Well I am officially 24 weeks in an hour and 16 minutes so have reached the 'viable' stage! Although I certainly don't want young Edward to come out any time soon I know that they will need to take me seriously at work if anything should start to happen so that relieves me in a way. But I don't want any activity for at least another 12 weeks yet and hope that permeates into little squirmy. He moves about quite a lot; yesterday Grace and Bella were driving me crazy and Ed was doing somersaults inside and I thought 'is there no escape!!?' But still, hang in there young man for at least those 12 weeks. Okay, must be off to bed xxx Rachel.
adelaryln
KG for some strange reason i never realised we were 2 days apart for due date. i thought you were a week or so after me. did your dates change?
as for work, it's up to me as i'm only casual . the director said to come every wednesday until i feel too tired lol. i'm going to ask if after april i can decrease my hours and do the most important hours....ie lunch cover etc. some days i'm there and think what am i really here for. and being a diploma trained i'm paid more than what a casual child care assistant would be paid, so i haven't figured out why i'm there yet, but money's great in my pocket biggrin.gif
paddington13
How many days in a row is it possible for an almost-2-year-old to totally break me? cry1.gif

Ha ha. My ob made me cry yesterday and then asked what was wrong. Gee, I don't know. How about the 500 extra things you are asking me to do in a day makes me want to admit myself to hospital until this baby is born? Vent over!

KG - congrats on the milestone!
*~Lisa~*
Morning chickens.

I feel much better than yesterday and my 1800km road trip.
But I got home and all went well the car is really nice and I'm happy with it.

Rachel- Its Gold and still has the SA number plates for the next week or 2. So if you see it driving round say hi!
There is another one similar but its more champagne colour. Will post photos later.

E is sick bloody bronchiolitis again so over it poor kids back in bed sleeping it off see how she goes might be another trip to the doctor.

Pad- some people have no idea I hope Beth eases up on you too.
luckyaussiemum
How many days in a row is it possible for an almost-2-year-old to totally break me?
I'll swap you for my 10yo they are more manipuilative and talkative and full of useful, worthwhile replies to all you ask of them! NOT! sad.gif

adelaryln
QUOTE (luckyaussiemum @ 20/03/2010, 02:45 PM) *
I'll swap you for my 10yo they are more manipuilative and talkative and full of useful, worthwhile replies to all you ask of them! NOT! sad.gif

i 2nd that!
blessedwithblueandpink
Hi All

hugs to all!! including myself!!!

Rian 4 weeks now. He is still going well and is over 11ibs already. He is still quiet a good baby but we have had a few evenings of unsettled crying and he still spends half the night in my bed as I cant be bothered trying to settle him in the bassinet! I find myself getting worried that he is going to end up with all the bad habits Aisling had and give me another year of severe sleep deprivation. I will be more strict this time, as i dont want to do that again!
My parents go home on sat, so reality then with the 4 on my own totally. Although Mam and Dad havent been staying with me but have been a good help this last month of course.
I have lost 11 kilos and have 5 more to go, pleased with that as it is my SIL wedding in 5 weeks and I dont want to look like a bowl of blamange!

WL : I hope your hubbie comes to the party, otherwise make sure you get some help for yourself from friends, daycare etc... I hope you will be ok. Thinking of you xx

LAM : I hope your dd gets better soon. I am sure it is very stressful with an older child.

TPM: Hello!! Would love to catch up after easter if you are up for it??!!

Kalita : Belated birthday wishes. Enjoy hobart!

Paddy : Toddlers can be such hard work. Especially when pregnant, they seem to know how to push us over the edge!!!

KG : 24 weeks already wow!! I am sure Ed will stay put til its time. You didnt have any probs with the other 2 as far as i can remember??

Jackie : Helooooooooooooo! Been worried about you. so glad all going well. Thats great news!!!

Hello to everyone else i missed. Brain function not too good with sleep deprvation!

I would like to post some pics but have no idea how to do it? Anyone can help??

blessed

xxxx
luckyaussiemum
Hello everybody- as Grover would say! original.gif

BWB&P Crikey, time flies, a 4 week old already! Hope the sleeping patterns work out, I think that is what scares me re thinking of another bub, especially as I had a bad night with Dempsey last night, and just as I was thinking lately how great he has been, spoke to soon!

Gotta go, BBL (at work still)
*~Lisa~*
Morning girls.
I posted a pic of the Chrysler on facebook so you can have a look.

Not much going on E is getting better I had some medicine left over from the last time rang my GP to check if ok his seen her so many times he said thats ok so with from Pred and ventolin she has come good just with a snotty nose.

LAM Heres my review Depending on your car budget I would take a look at the voyagers. They are super comfy kids have plenty of room doesn't feel like a bus to drive and according to DP who is a mechanic they are easy to fix because all the parts are just bolted together rather than a whole peice that would need replacing you can just replace the small bit thats stuffed.

we got ours on the cheap side because doent have the bells and whistles something I kinda miss now but the small things we can put in. Like reverse sensors (will do ASAP before Lisa backs into something) the length can be a bit deceptive lol.

It was so comfortable to drive 8 hours the drivers seat is like a big arm chain. I'm still having probs with everything being backwards but that will come with time.

I only drove a 2003 Kia and it felt quite heavy to drive and the body roll was there even on small corners, I havent felt it a lot in my car apart from when DP swung it round a roundabout.

Another option may be the tarago, I didnt try one but I liked the new shape and it was out of our budget but apparently they are a good car too.

Good luck on the car hunt I hated it worse than looking at houses. once you decided what you want its so much easier.
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.