The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: January 08 Parents # 207

http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/forums/ind...howtopic=766433

chaosprincess
Gold!
Abbygirl

Hahaha love your honesty Mel, that's the main reason why I scrub my house from top to bottom before visitors, I have to maintain an organised, capable, together appearance roll2.gif

We need to make a pact that if we ever visited each other the host is NOT allowed to run around like a crazy woman and clean before hand. It's so not important at the end of the day.
...... but mmmmm some yummy cold beverages- now that would be the priority!
Donna~
typing 1 handed (for most of it)...

Wil- Alicia is gorgeous in your sig! original.gif My DH thinks I spend too much time on the net too... and I think I do too. I couln't see the pics.

bec- glad elias is a good baby original.gif he sounds wonderful. glad u r recovering well from the c-sec original.gif. It must be so good having craig home for that long, and great news that ezekiel is sleeping through now.

mel- lol, you're not an old fart! Are we supposed to have the kids dental checked now? How much did it cost? lol at the bogan version of champagne. I hate mess too. But I just can't get off my but to gdo anything about it. I want to get different crates for Toby's different toys, but Lenny just chucks them in anywhere and it really bugs me! You have to go searching through 4 boxes just to find one duplo man. I go through cleaning bursts too.

jodie- love the new sig original.gif. Dane sound like he is doing well.

Marika- can I have a new sig too, please? original.gif I miss seeing my boy's face when I post... omg at the dr hitting a nerve in your arm! How is grace today, it is horrible when they are sick sad.gif Hope you're able to get some rest original.gif

Jo- I used to like watching the needle go in, but now I just watch all the blood fill the little vile. happy belated birthday to meg!

Sandra- that's so cute about the coughing game. I can't wait for my boys to play together. Their play is very one sided atm lol! I made playdoh once for Toby, but hejust crumbled it everywhere... I think I'll wait til he is a little older before I make it again. Now I know why it is banned in some houses. Toby no longer has a bottle. We stopped it a month or so before Ben was born, he used to have a bottle of cows milk (cold) upon waking. He has a sippy cup for milk now (have just started offering it with no lid), but has a drink bottle for water, which he drinks in a day (500mL) sometimes he has some out of my drink bottle, and has a cup of water with dinner, and about 2-3 half glasses of milk a day. I think he just wants to be like us- he always says "cheers" when we have a drink together wub.gif.

Kristy- It must be a relief to have some answers. glad u worked out the shopping aisle problem, hope you are able to find a solution.

Camilla- I agree- wedding dresses are too expensive. Life definately is much simpler on the net too.

kat- hi! hows the pregnancy going? bummer about the scan.

lia- oh no about archies head!

Damn the thread just closed! will have to finish this and copy and paste it in the new one.

We need to make a pact that if we ever visited each other the host is NOT allowed to run around like a crazy woman and clean before hand. It's so not important at the end of the day.
lol! If I didn't do the chook with head chopped off thing there would be nowhere to sit, nothing to eat off and the place would smell. Tounge1.gif

Anyone up for a Sydney meet anytime soon?

Things are going well here. BEn was 3 months old yesterday, he is now 7.42Kg, Toby was 7.6Kg at 7 months old! LOL I have a monster! In the last month we have found our new "normal" for our house. We have all adjusted to life as a family of 4 now original.gif. Toby is such a cack! He gets right in bens face then ben flings his arms around (as a newborn does), hit Toby and then toby jumps up clutching the part where ben hit him and cries out "Owwww!" laughing2.gif. He also has a habit of flicking bens dummy out and then putting it back in and clapping himself saying :good boy". hehe.

I go back to uni next week, I'm looking forward to gtting it over and done with. Ben has his trial day at cc tomorrow sad.gif. I'm not going to know what to do with myself!

I think this post is long enough... Have a great day everyone! wub.gif
SimplySweet
Hey

I will also clean before visitors (or hide items like washing baskets) but if people come and it's not done, I am not fussed. Sometimes you have to wonder why we do it. I vacuum and mop knowing full well that within a very short period of time that food will be dropped when munchies come out and kids will make a mess from one end to the other. And when they leave you have to redo it all,lol

My mum was clean when we grew up but was kinda messy, always had things out, table was always full of items, they've get packed up and moved to a counter or a floor if someone come or hidden in the room, never to resurface, she is still that way. So I guess I am the opposite, don't like things out, when they are finished, put them away. I can't even handle paperwork on the counter so I bought a unit with drawers. One for current paperwork (have filing cabinet in walk in) and one for stationary, one for tapes, one for knick knacks (them items that have no homes) one for chargers and one for wrapping paper, bags, cards, etc
I can't hoard anything. Whereas my hubby's shed is a right off, omg he keeps everything, pmsl
I have a far from perfect house, there is no way I can keep it perfect, just not doable but I do what I can so I can relax and enjoy the rest.

But I guess too. We have a 3 bedroom house and 5 kids. We do have 2 living areas but we are very limited with space, so if I let it go, it will turn very messy very fast and my job becomes a hell of a lot harder. We have no spare storage room, no spare space anywhere. So keeping it organised makes life run much smoother around here with so much going on all the time.

Donna, WOw at 3 mths already. SOunds like the boys enjoy each other and nice to hear you are settling into a family of 4 really well. Hope uni goes well. And I hope Ben goes well at cc

Off to take Lis to kindy soon. I am meant to be going to governing council at half 11 but I have heaps to do today. I have to take her at 12.15 then race to Kmart for last minute camping items, then back at 1pm to do library help (please don't pick up any bugs today, banging wood) Brett had no course today, it was cancelled so don't need to race him to and from that today, he is at school like normal. Tonight Lis has cheer and Jayden starts his comic book course, he met the author last week and Brett has his umpiring training. J started footy training last night so he was rapt it has begun. Thomas's training starts next thursday.
J will have training wed and fri nights, and Thomas's on tues and thurs nights, great, NOT
Of course mine have to have separate nights, I really want to go to the club 4 nights a week, grrrrr. B's training will be on wed nights there too but he starts as J will finish. Add in Dh's training and Lis's cheer. Kinda glad I didn't get my job back, pmsl
Can't wait to go camping this weekend, will be great. We leave as soon as DH gets home from work tomorrow avo.

chaosprincess
I can't hoard anything.

OMG have you seen that show 'Hoarders' on foxtel? Last night there was a lady who had heaps of cats, they came to take them away and found over 70 animals, about half were dead. She said it got out of hand because she had this need to care for animals and then people in the street would move and just dump their cats in her yard. Her shed was basically taken over by feral cats that came and went. They even found a skunk in there!

I used to hoard a little because I'm sentimental - not to the extremes of that show though! But over the years I've learnt to just chuck or give away stuff I haven't used for ages. No point in it taking up space.

Donna - Wil had the check up as part of the dental study he's been a part of since he was born, so it was free. I'm glad we signed up it's been fab, we (Wil & me) get free toothpaste and toothbrushes also, they throw in some for the girls too. The girls were part of a dental study for the first 2 years of their life also, so I rarely have to buy toothpaste and toothbrushes! Wil's study has been extended until he's 4, so he'll have yearly check ups until then.

Marika -
sounds like a plan LOL Cold beverages and forget the mess! I have run around like a mad woman hiding mess when I've had short notice of visitors many times, it's amazing how much can get crammed in to a built in wardrobe or behind a closed door tthumbs.gif I guess we do it because we see the house as an extension of ourselves, and it sort of represents who we are to the guests. But that's a pretty superficial way of looking at things.

I think it's funny how attitudes have changed over the generations also, my Nan had words with me because I didn't cater to every domestic need of my partners in the past. Even before children. My view was they are adults they can wash their own clothes or cook dinner for me, I'm not their maid. But she'd think, that poor man having to iron his own shirt LMAO I'd just think why is it MY damn job to iron HIS shirt. Relationships are give and take and I really hated the idea of gender specific roles.... though admittedly I've ended up the stay at home mum role anyway LMAO
SimplySweet
I record that show each week Mel. I just cannot understand them at all. I know it's a disorder but seriously, they are just OH MY GOD

I remember asking my Nan many years ago at my wedding, what was the secret to a long marriage as they were married over 65 years before Pop died. And basically the same Mel, to care for your man. Keep the house, cook him meals, get him a beer after work, etc, etc
I guess for their generation it worked and look how long their marriages were, I guess they were happy with that, but NOPE, that ain't happening here, pmsl

Donna~
Oh thats right mel- I remember now original.gif How did you get into it? It sounds great! I love being apart of studies original.gif yay about the free toothbrushes/toothpaste. How often are you meant to change them?

DH just called, he might be on Sydney Weekender in a few weeks... he said he was changing a tyre then all of a sudden there was a camera in his face! lol!
chaosprincess
Donna - someone just came around at one of my pregnancy check ups at the hospital, they asked people in the waiting room. Though with the girls I found the study through the Multiple Birth Association website. I think you are meant to change your toothbrush as soon as the bristles start to get out of shape, so every couple of months...

Kristy - yeah it's hard to understand, you sit there thinking, just throw the stupid crap out already! But it's a deep seeded mental issue for them.... I find all this sort of stuff so interesting though, it's amazing how different people are.

Off to pick up the girls from school soon original.gif
Abbygirl
Had my Dr's app today, I think my GP felt sorry for me. I have a sinus infection, an ear infection (just the right ear apparently??) a chest infection and a throat infection which has just turned into tonsillitis.
Hopefully the antibiotics he's given me can nip the tonsillitis in the bud before it gets to bad.

I feel like sh*t, someone please come over and make us dinner and play with Gracie for me.
DH noticed he was getting the cold last night, and he hurt his back today, so now he's lying on the spare matress on the family room floor.

Kathryn74
Hey, just dropping in, and I've only skim read sorry! between 3 days a week of uni and 2 days a week of placement, I am feeling a tad overwelmed. Every day is a logistical exercise and after 2 weeks my head is spinning. LOL. Anywayz...

Just really wanted to share Luke's latest. This morning he appeared in the kitchen announcing that 'I get out cot by self!'. LOL. he's finally worked out that he can climb out. Sigh, I love my cot- was hoping he'd be in there for this year...oh well, I have no bed for him yet anyway, so we'll see what happens!

Okay, the kids are begging to use the computer and I am packing for a camping weekend away (just to add to my workload!). I'll check back soon!!
Donna~
Marika- If I lived a little closer I would make you dinner sad.gif Hope the antibiotics help... hhugs.gif

Mel- thanks original.gif

Kahryn- wow, you are one busy lady! You sound like you are really enjoying it though original.gif . Thtas cute what Luke said original.gif Toby still isn't saying more than 2 words at a time, and they are babble that Lenny and I need to translate to others... we might have to see a speechie in a few months if things aren't improving. Hope you have fun on the camping trip original.gif

Wow, three posts in here in one day! I missed you girls! original.gif
happinesswith2blue
Thanks for the reponses Kristy and Donna- Did you guys just go cold turkey and take the bottle away. Aston is still having one.They both use the sippy cups though.
Aston is really good at using the sippy cups compared to what Cohen was at this age. But then Aston can see what is big brother is doing then he copies. I have brought those take and toss,the Nuby one with the handle and their water bottle is the one where the lid twists. Cohen has a thomas and scooby doo cup which he can drink from. Ryder is like "Just let them have them, if they want it". I told him Cohen is a big boy now laughing2.gif Cohen just wants a bottle for bed or really early in the morning. I don't think he needs it. I think it's just a habit. Same as the Dummy. Today, Cohen didn't have it during the day today.This morning I cut one of the dummies teat off. It was roll2.gif to watch Cohen try and put it in his mouth. I told him it was broken roll2.gif But when I put him to bed at 5 I gave it to him(he was going nut's) I know I shouldn't have and he went "WOW". Aston only had his for about 5 mins then he threw it on the floor,so I took it away. He took a while to settle, but he asleep now ddance.gif
Sorry for the questions. I just don't want them to have them anymore.

I
think he just wants to be like us- he always says "cheers" when we have a drink together
that is adorable wub.gif

I can't believe Aston is nearly 13 months. Cohen was this age when Aston was born. Aston still seems so little to me though .

Have a great wknd away camping Kathryn- How cute of Luke to come and tell you he got out of his cot laughing2.gif Very cute.

Oh no Marika you poor thing. I really hope the Antibiotics kick in really soon for you. No wonder you feel terrible cry1.gif It's so hard when your sick and you have to look after a toddler. It makes you feel 10 times worse cause you can't sleep when you want to. How is Grace today?
Hope DH's back is ok? How did he hurt it?
I would come over and play with Grace while you got some rest. Pitty you live so far away.
he might be on Sydney Weekender in a few weeks
Cool I watch that show sometimes.At least we know waht he looks like. I bet he never thought changing a tyre would get him on TV laughing2.gif Go Lenny grin.gif
I can't hoard anything. Whereas my hubby's shed is a right off, omg he keeps everything, pmsl

roll2.gif Ryder is the same. His shed is nearly the same size of our house. He has soooooooooooooooooo much c-r-a-p in there. Everytime he cleans it out. I usually find him sitting on a box flipping through car mags from 15 years ago and nothing gets done rant.gif I would love to go throw most of it out laughing2.gif

I can't hoard anything.
Me either,but Ryder can. I'm sentimental too, but I must admit I have kept most of the boys things..just about everything.

I can't even handle paperwork on the counter
This would be MY pet hate. Silly I know, but I can't stand things on my kitchen bench or the dishes in the sink. I clean it then Ryder puts things there and I get cranky at him..It's my house that I don't like seeing mess. I really don't care what other houses look like,it's just mine. Don't get me wrong there is mess in my house, right now there is a basket of washing that I can't be bothered to fold. It's probably been sitting there for a couple of days. I probably clean if I'm bored or cranky. That must mean i'm both of those things all the time laughing2.gif
Mel- That's awesome that Will can see the denist yearly up until he is 4.I wonder how much it does cost to take them to the denist. I might ring around. I may as use our PHI for them too. Glad you got your blood results back and nothing too bad.

Wow Donna at Ben being 3 months already. Time sure does fly. Good weight for the little man. Aston is 11kg and Cohen is 13kg. Aston was heaps smaller at birth, but sure has caught up to him.
Toby sounds like he is loving his little brother. I bet he just wants to play with him biggrin.gif So cute on taking his dummy and then putting it back in. I remember Cohen did this,but instead of putting back into Aston's mouth he would put it in his. Cheeky boy.
Hope Ben's first trial at Daycare goes smoothly for the both of you and enjoy a nice long shower without interruptions. (I saw your post on Fb). Hope you get to have a lovey day for yourself and you don't miss your little men too much biggrin.gif

Toby still isn't saying more than 2 words at a time, and they are babble that Lenny and I need to translate to others

I was going to ask who toddlers are talking. Cohen can say please but it's like lees,Kass but it's like ass. Yuck, Jack is like dack and he can say daisy. No one esle can probably understand it besides Ryder and I. So I too will see how he goes in a couple of months then take it from there. I think he is getting better though. When I get rid of the dummy I wonder if that will make a difference.

Ryder is working long hours this wk. He hasn't been at bunnings for nearly a month. They over estimated the cost at xmas time and now that have to cut back everyones shifts. Well this wk he has 5 days 5-10pm and he goes to cummings from 8-4. So we havent really seen him, the poor thing.He is so tired. I said to him this morning just before he left I think the boys are missing you and he said in a sad voice I'm missing them wub.gif

Off to have a shower, while eveyone is asleep.
Donna~
He used to get a bottle (100mL or so- never measured it) when he woke up at around 5am, he stayed in his cot and fell asleep again. Over time, every other day we would change it to a sippy cup. He started sleeping a little longer, so we would give him his bottle of milk when he got up- steadily changed it to a sippy cup. original.gif
Lia
Just speed read..... will have to read it all properly tomorrow nite ant work dev (6).gif .

Kathryn - Archie jumped his cot the other day sad.gif

Archie talks heap and he is pretty clear, he sings all the time as well. "Thomas he's the cheeky one, James is lots of fun, Percy pulls the mail on time......." I'm going mad!
poss71
Hi guys! waves.gif

Sandra, thanks for pointing out I've been MIA (in our other group) - I didn't even realise. I've been reading and then wandering off to do other stuff...

Marika, I hope the ABs start to work fast, you poor thing with all of those infections, one is bad enough, never mind four. sad.gif

Well, I was going to post Eleanor's comparison from birth to her 2 year stats... but the MCHN was so freaked out by Meg's weight that she dragged out Meg's share of the double appointment and we ran out of time to do Eleanor properly. So now I have to wait until 23 March (when she will be 26 months lol) to get her 2 year stats. *pout*

Anyway, Meg's stats - because I know you want to know wink.gif
at birth:
weight - 3.810kg
length - 52cm

now:
weight - 12.590kg *cough cough* Who's been overfeeding the baby? unsure.gif Tounge1.gif
height - 77cm

Bottles - unfortunately, we are still on bottles here. I say 'unfortunately', because Eleanor has lately started asking for extra ones. She usually has 2 per day, before her day sleep around 11.30 or 12, and one before bed at night around 7pm. She has 200ml each one (half cow's milk and half water) - but she now asks for a bottle when Meg has hers at 9.30am before her morning nap, and sometimes at night she will ask for another (she gets a half measure then if I really can't get out of it).

I have to get sippy cups for her - but I want the really plain ones without the drip-proof thingies - because those are so hard to keep clean. Once I can find some, we'll get started on the cup instead of bottle. Of course by then Meg will probably be ready to go to a cup too, so that might make the transition easier (love sibling rivalry!).

My house isn't tidy very often and it's rarely clean - so I don't have people over. It's sad, but I just don't have the energy sometimes (most of the time). Mum's always running a finger over surfaces lol, but I can ignore her. We also haven't finished unpacking blush.gif - I can't find my nice jeans. sad.gif

Anyway, it's past my bedtime. I was in the office today for 2 hours that turned into 6. On my non work day. I was going to make banana bread with my sad black bananas, but I don't think that will happen now sad.gif - they won't last until Saturday. Maybe I'll freeze them and try on Saturday when Meg has her morning nap.

Oooh, inspired to make b-bread now! Night all. Take care.
chaosprincess
Morning waves.gif

Hanging out for the weekend original.gif My brother and his gf are coming over this arvo and my best mate is too, so we'll get up to some shenanigans tonight I'm sure.

Tomorrow is sexpo, then sunday the girls and I are going to a local park to help out for Clean Up Australia Day original.gif

Bottles & Dummies - I basically go with the flow, the girls gave up bottles at age 3 I think, they were just having one before sleeps, then just one a day before bed. Dummies I got rid of just after Wil was born because I didn't want to create more change around the time of introducing a new baby. They were old enough to understand and I'd cut it back to only using them at sleep times. Then I'd told them as soon as the last one was left on the ground to be chewed by the dog I wasn't buying any more. They are just comfort things and I always figure they won't want them forever so no point forcing the issue if they aren't ready. The kids teeth are fine too, no decay because they never fall asleep with the bottle in their mouths and usually spat the dummies out once asleep anyway. Wil loves his milk in a bottle so I can't see us getting rid of it any time soon LOL

I think because I used to suck my thumb, I'd much rather the kids had a dummy and bottle - things I can take away eventually... I wouldn't want to take away the dummy too early and have Wil discover his thumb!

Words - all Wil says is Thank you, Wow and Beep beep, everything else is grunting or jibberish.

Jo joins the messy club YAY LOL My girls point out the cobwebs in the hallway every time they go past laughing2.gif My theory is I just won't bother looking up, if I don't see it I can ignore it LOL I'll get to it one day. I did however wipe the greasy hand prints off the wall the other day, gold star for me. I guess house inspections are a good thing in a way because then I have to do all the jobs I put off.

Sandra - next time I come over I'm going to dump some papers on your bench laughing2.gif tongue.gif The extra money must be good, but sucks Ryder is having to work so much.
happinesswith2blue
Hanging out for the weekend
Me too

Have a great time tonight Mel- Bring out the Wii and some some alcoholic beverages and have a good time biggrin.gif Have fun at Sexpo tomorrow. Don't go too crazy on the shopping list laughing2.gif tongue.gif

Well Cohen didn't have a bottle of milk this morning. I gave him water instead. But didn't want it. When he got up I gave him milk in his sippy cup.
I cut another tip of the dummy and gave it to him. But it doesn't have the whole sucking thing going so he threw it in the bin.I took him to bed for his nap and I laid down with him and he went to sleep without the dummy so did Aston. Aston didn't have it at ALL last night ddance.gif cclap.gif So here's hoping it all goes.

The extra money must be good, but sucks Ryder is having to work so much.

That extra money would have been great to do something other then it going to rates sad.gif
He has just 3 days next wk. So that will be good.

Tomorrow, we are going to see our friends tomorrow and have a BBQ and a drink happy.gif at their place. Hope the weather is nice so the boys can go outside and maybe a swim.

Boys just woke

Have a great wknd everyone

j-o-d-i-e
iam reading but dont have as much time to post with a little piggie who wants to eat every 2 hrs wacko.gif

dummies, Kaiden stopped having his at 6months, he got really sick and just kept spititng it out so we stopped offering it to him and that was that. i want to get rid of danes early also as it was easy at that age, he Kaiden didnt really get time to become too addicted to it.
he has no idea how to use one now, he put Danes in his mouth the other day and he was just chewing on it not sucking lol

Lia, wow archie is talking very well, so good that he he knows and sings along to songs. kaiden LOVES thomas at the moment, i am sick of seeing it and singing that darn song LMAO
i am going to get him some woodern tracks for his easter present.
i brought him a thomas bath mat (non slip mat) and he thinks its awesome we put it in the shower and he didnt want to get out lol (he was a bit scared of being in the shower as he was worried he would slip over, so now the mat is in there he loves it)
j-o-d-i-e
mel i see you own thepole dancing class, woohooo
chaosprincess
haha yeah I won ddance.gif Now I'm all nervous, I think I'll be so unco and I might really do some damage to myself laughing2.gif If I had some spare $$ I would have bought these cool stripper shoes at sexpo on the weekend they were half their usual price... and everyone needs some stripper shoes LMAO

Off to pick up the girls from school original.gif
chaosprincess
Morning waves.gif
*~*ME*~*
Morning Mel!
chaosprincess
Hi Bec biggrin.gif

Having a frustrating sort of day..... I need a holiday.
Donna~

How are your boys going Sandra with the no dummy? Toby has had a few sad moments where he cries for his dummy, but we just tell him he is a bog boy now. DH and Toby went and bought a new matchbox car for being such a big boy! original.gif If I knew it would have been this easy I would have tried it months ago Tounge1.gif

I really want to meet up with all of you guys sad.gif shame we all live so far away...
chaosprincess
Yeah it is a pity Donna, would be lovely to meet more Jan 08 mums.

I've made an effort to be social and contacted a mums group in my area, they have quite regular meet ups and do lots of things without the kids too. I found the group through facebook LOL Thought it would be nice to know more mums in my area. Also I'm going to the prep parents morning tea on Thursday... hopefully I'll get chatting with some of the mums and find we have some things in common. Would be good to get to know a few mums to be friendly with, we are going to be around each other the next 8 years!

Library volunteering tomorrow original.gif I'll ring tafe about the Library & Info tech course on thursday and hopefully get that started.

This weekend a friend has invited me to go watch her Bollywood dancing performance at Southbank, still undecided if I'll make the trip in there. The girls will be with their Dad, so it might be nice for Wil and I to have a wander around Southbank, could even take him for a swim.

Bah.... I have to mow the backyard, it's so overgrown it's ridiculous. The front is ok though I did that before all the rain started.
Abbygirl
Sorry for no personals, I'm still sick, I thought I was getting better but the last 24 hours I've been feeling gross again. I'll be on my 2nd lot of antibiotics today, hopefully this lot will do the trick.

Leah ~ bbear
Baby's Name: Jackson McKay
Baby's DOB: 18/10/07

Tracy ~ tracy81
Where: Alexandra Hills, QLD
Baby's Name: Oliver Lloyd
Baby's DOB: 12/11/07

Miranda ~ mamasmithy
Where: Brisbane, QLD
Baby's Name: Kadelle Evie
Baby's DOB:15/11/07
Other Children: Baylie Maia

Mia ~ zizzin
Where: Perth/Bunbury, WA
Baby's Name: Max
Baby's DOB: 21/12/07

Mandy ~ Rinnie78
Where: Kyneton, VIC
Baby's name: Oliver
Baby's DOB: 26/12/07 (due 16/01/08)
Other Children: Chloe and
2 x DSS Zachery, & Mason

Tash ~ misstash042
Where: East Gosford, NSW
Baby's name: Lachlan George
Baby's DOB: 27/12/07
Other Children: DSD J

Sara ~Sara~
Where: Northern Suburbs, SA
Baby's Name: Oliver Ronald John
Baby's DOB: 02/01/2008
Other Children: Amelia (05), and Charlotte (09)

Kat ~ joka
Where: Country, VIC
Baby's name: Harrison
Baby's DOB: 04/01/08
Other Children: Patterson (09)

Mel ~ raveness
Baby's name: William Christian
Baby's DOB: 04/01/08
Other Children: Identical twin DD's (05)

Lia ~ Lia
Where: Melbourne, VIC
Baby's Name: Archer David
Baby's DOB: 09/01/2008
Other Children: Benjamin Oliver

Vee ~ Vasquez
Where: Blue Mountains, NSW
Baby's Name: Elliot Laura
Baby's DOB: 10/01/08
Other Children: Indiana (02) and Aidan (04)

Sandra ~ Janbabyboy
Where: Brisbane, Qld
Baby's Name: Cohen William
Baby's DOB: 11/01/08
Other Children: Aston Lee (09)

Anna ~ tomsmum06
Where: Mildura, VIC
Baby's Name: Matilda May
Baby's DOB: 12/01/2008
Other Children: Tom

Rachel ~ rachelemma
Where: Hong Kong
Baby's name: Charlie
Baby's DOB: 12/01/08
Other Children: Emma (06)

Bec ~ *~~~Bec~~~*
Where: Southern suburbs, SA
Baby's name: Ezekiel Gary
Baby's DOB: 16/01/08
Other Children: Miah Thalia Jade (03) and Elias Feb (2010)

Lori ~ unitedus
Baby's Name: Taylin Grace
Baby's DOB: 16/01/08
Other Children: Madaline Alyssa

Marika ~ Abbygirl
Where: SA
Baby's Name: Grace Angelina
Baby's DOB: 17/01/08

Carrie ~ Caz4alex
Baby's Name: Flynn Alexavier
Baby's DOB: 18/01/08
Other Children: Maddison, Emilia & Wilhelm

Kathryn ~ Kathryn74
Where: Greensborough, Melbourne, VIC
Baby's Name: Luke David
Baby's DOB: 20/01/08
Other Children: Claire Rachel, and James Lindsay

Camilla ~ lilmummilly
Where: Hobart, TAS
Baby's name: Grace
Baby's DOB: 21/01/08

Amanda ~ GIO
Baby's name: Abraham Ty Joseph
Baby's DOB: 22/01/08
Other Children: Lydia, Henry and Jemima Feb (2010)

Wilga ~ wil27
Where: Canberra, ACT
Baby's Name: Alicia Denise
Baby's DOB: 24/01/08

Donna ~ d-o-n-n-a
Where: Menai, Sydney, NSW
Baby's name: Toby Leonard
Baby's DOB: 25/01/08
Other Children: Ben Dec 09

Kristy ~ SimplySweet
Where: Northern Suburbs, Adelaide, SA
Baby's name: Ryan Jack
Baby's DOB: 25/01/08
Other Children: Brett, Jayden, Thomas, and Alyssa

Jodie ~ J-o-d-i-e
Where: Raby, Sydney, NSW
Baby's name: Kaiden Joshua
Baby's DOB: 27/01/08
Other Children: Dane James Feb (2010)

Joeleen ~ joeleen
Where: Townsville, QLD
Baby's Name: Cooper Robert Scott
Baby's DOB: 28/01/08
Other Children: Isabella (09)

Ayla ~ lovethebelly
Where: Gladstone, QLD
Baby's name: Kayden Reid
Baby's DOB: 29/01/08
Other Children: Lana Claire

Jo ~ Poss71
Baby's name: Eleanor Joy
Baby's DOB: 30/01/08
Other Children: Margaret Genevieve (09)

Carolyn ~ acmtel
Baby's name: Lily May
Baby's DOB: 31/01/08
Other Children: Mitchell, Tyler, and Ellise

Sam ~ snugglybug
Where: Canberra, ACT
Baby's name: Teagan
Baby's DOB: 03/02/08
Other Children: Alannah

Sonia ~ ilovemyalex
Baby's Name: Alexander David
Baby's DOB: 03/02/08

Maddy ~ justpeppermint
Baby's Name: Baker
Baby's DOB:04/02/08
Other Children: Taylah Sage (09)

8th- Tracy (81)
13th- Henry (06)
15th- Tracy's Wedding (09)
27th - Mels Twins (05)
31st - Lia (72)

1st - Baylie (06)
3rd - Sandra (82)
6th - Tom (06)
15th - Alannah (03)
20th - Ellise (06)

Anna ~ tomsmum06
Expecting #3 in April 2010

Mia ~ zizzin
Expecting #2 in May 2010

Kat ~ joka
Expecting #3 in August 2010

Vee ~ Vasquez
Expecting #4 in August 2010
happinesswith2blue
Hope the second lot of Antibiotics work Marika You poor thing. How is Grace and DH are they any better at all.

I wish we all liver closer too sad.gif

Mel- Hope your day at the Library was good.
I'm sure you and William,will have a great time at Southbank. I love Southbank. It's so relaxing.He will love having a swim. He sure does love water biggrin.gif
You should have seen our grass . It was sooo long,especially behind the shed. Now that the sun is out we will have to do it again on the wknd. I love it when it's all mowed and whipper snipped.

Donna
-The first night with Cohen was pretty bad. He screamed the street down. But after an hour he went to sleep and woke up 5am crying. He went to the fridge looking for a bottle, I gave him milk in his sippy cup and he went back to bed till 7.
That's it really. He hasn'tevn wanted a dummy or a bottle. I decided that I will Aston his for a little longer, but no dummy for him either. They both have been really good.

If I knew it would have been this easy I would have tried it months ago
roll2.gif ME TOO.

I was reading a thread on dummies and bottles. Some people were saying it took their child 1w,2ks a month even to ged rid of them and they said it was really hard. So , I probably at expectations on taking a really long time. Bonus that it hasn't. I went out and bought a new sippy cup for Cohen for being a big boy.

So this is my next mission.
Toilet training is still in progress. He went 1 step forward to steps back for ages. He wears undies, will go to the potty all by himself,but just wont pee. But yesterday he was just naked running around the house after he already wet his undies. So, we were cleaning out Aston's room and told him go potty. He went and sat on it and the potty started singing (it makes music sounds when the wee hits the sensor) he gets up and points to his wee and I tell him Mummy is very proud wub.gif He gets jealous if Aston sits on his potty laughing2.gif

Then in a few more months. Aston is going to have the toddler bed, while I turn the cot into the single bed for Cohen. I can't wait to decorate his room into a big boy room wub.gif My babies are growing up way too fast. It's kind of bittersweet really.

Cohen is going to soccer practice with the kids down the road this afternoon. Have already taking his car seat out ready to be put into theirs. I'm sure he will have heaps of fun.

I have mastitis. On antibiotics still.I really have no idea how I have it again,considering I'm not breastfeeding blink.gif and I'm not pregnant.The doctor had no idea why I have it either. So my gp wants me to get a scan done incase there is an underlying issue like a cyst or something. But I'm going new bra shopping on the wknd, so hopefully that will make a difference. I hate boobs

chaosprincess
Volunteering today was good, just covered a crapload of books again laughing2.gif It's weird being in a school environment again, just watching the teachers and students interact, brings back memories. I went and said hello to the girls at lunchtime and they were excited to see me wub.gif It's nice chatting to the teachers in the staff room at breaks too.

Not up to much tomorrow, maybe put away all the clean washing that has taken up residence on the fold out sofa, the pile is huge! Take the clothes we have grown out of (including mine) down to Lifeline....

Might list a few things here in the trading room to make a few $$$ Lord knows I need a few extra $$!
j-o-d-i-e
Mel the volunteering sounds liek its going well

Sandra well done on the bottles and dummies and woohoo to Cohen going on the potty, i was looking at the singing potty bit went with the Thomas one which turns into a step and go on to the toilet. bigger about the mastitis hope all is ok there.

Marika hope your feeling better soon.

Donna hope things are going well with heading back to uni and Ben in daycare.

AFM as you would have seen on facebook we started potty training today, we brought a cheap potty and training pants a while back but Kaiden just wanted to push the potty around the house all day so we thought we would wait a bit longer.
then this morning he took his shirt off being cheeky then took his pants off and was playing with his nappy like he was trying to push it off, which its the first time he has ever done that so i thought hmmmm and jumped up and went and got the potty and though well we have to start soon....he was being a bit silly and just getting up and down and having tantrums as we wanted him to get up and down all the time so I took him off it…….i then put the training pants on him and as soon as i done that he wet the pants wink.gif
anyways i seen that toys r us have the little Thomas trains for $3.99 so thought that would be a good incentive so i took him down and brought a few little trains and told him he can have one when he does a wee in the potty then went to the shops and got him a Thomas potty.

brought it home and he couldnt sit on the Thomas one properly (needed to sit back more which we helped him on but he kept moving forward so his pecker wasn’t in so wee would have gone everywhere lol) so we got the old cheapo one out, we sat him down on it for 30mins and nothing and we thought we would try again soon but he didnt want to get off so he stayed on and we put Thomas on TV and then once it was finished we had a look and he done a wee ddance.gif so we jumped around all crazy and then i gave him a train which he was very happy with and kept telling him it was because he done a wee and kept praising him for a while after he done it, it was putting his hands up saying ‘hooray’ lol.

we had dinner and he had a drink and 30mins later put him on the potty again and Thomas went on tv again, after it finished we checked the potty and another wee cclap.gif so another train and us jumping around and lots of high fives lol

I am not sure he realises when he is doing the wee but sure he will work it out soon...

so i am very happy with him....lets see how we go tomorrow.

ok now i have told you all about my sons weeing i will be off lmao

ahh the things we get excited about as mothers hey hehehe

Dane is doing a little better today with his feeds, he has done 2 ½ hrs between a few feeds today which is good. Lets hope it continues and then stretches to 3hrs lol …baby steps Jodie!!! lol
chaosprincess
I'm a menace to society!!! This morning in the daycare carpark another woman and I reversed in to each other! Eeek. I have a thread going in WDYT about it laughing2.gif

Dramas, dramas!!

I also forgot the girl's library bags and books for their library day today wacko.gif We were late to school because of the prang, so then I was all flustered for the prep parents morning tea at the school. I did get chatting to a couple of parents though, finally can put names to faces now tthumbs.gif

now I'm off for a bex and a lie down I think.
Donna~
Haven't read, just need to vent.

Our car has finally hit the fan. It is going to cost over $1000 to repair all the things broken with it, rego is due in 2 sundays. We just need a new car. We don't have the money for either. I hate that the world revolves around money.

sad.gif cry1.gif rant.gif
chaosprincess
I hate that the world revolves around money.

True that! Completely sucks..... though I guess I may not be saying that if I was rolling in it!

Bad news about your car Donna sad.gif Cars are a PITA, they cost so much money to buy, run, repair.... I hate spending money on my car.
j-o-d-i-e
bbighug.gif bug hugs Donna, sorry to hear about your car, when it rains it pours.
cars are great but cost so much and always need fixing at the wrong time.
SimplySweet
Hiya
I don't have much time left, leaving shortly to get Thomas from school. Brett has work tonight, Jayden has football training and the blue light disco tonight. Dh is on late shift this week.
He is ringing me at 4pm with his swimmer results. We rang at 10, told to ring at 2, now told to ring at 4, grrrrrrrrrr
Had a pretty busy day y'day. Brett had his course, boys had school, Ryan had eye appt with behavioural optometrist, then Lis had kindy, Ryan to speech appt, kids from school, kindy and course. Then Brett had umpiring training, Lis had cheer, THomas had footy training and Jayden had his comic book course. I had to get help with one of them as I was just not able to pull it all off otherwise. I seriously need a clone some days.
Today I was going to a meet but decided not to go. Not in a social mood today, happy to chill and catch up on stuff at home, bills, chores, etc

We had a great time away camping, didn't want to come home to the real world. We copped a lovely storm with 40km winds so 4 families packed up and went home a night early but we were staying no matter what. Really enjoyed the family time away, we went with lots of other people, but really needed the time away as a family.
All the kids had some sniffles tues from getting wet and swimming when it really wasn't quite warm enough but they were all fine, except Lis who was pretty sick on wed, high temps, looked like hell, slept nearly all day with no food and then complained of an ear ache. That night she was back to her happy self and has been fine since. Her and Ryan's nose runs a bit but it's clear.
I seriously can't recommend olive leaf extract enough, it's awesome stuff. Boosts the immune system so much, no need for drugs and one day of illness and then right.

Ryan starts OT next f/n. He will do it the session before his speech session. Makes it easier to do them together. He is really connecting with his speechie now, not spending half the session being shy and is really trying to form some sounds. He has been approved for the Focused psychological strategies plan so we now get 12 sessions of OT a year for him. He has one left on his Enhanced primary care plan for speech but the Gp signed that off last year so I can get a new one for 5 sessions for this year. All helps, private sessions are so exxy. He had a very horrible appt yday with the behavioural optometrist, wowzers, it was a nightmare. Mass tantrums and total un co-operation so has to go back at age 3 to be retested. We even took him down a few shops to one with white flooring for her to see his issue and attempt him to walk with some goggles on that would change his vision, well, that was not going to happen, poor shop keeper didn't know what hit her with his mass tantrum, would have scared off any shoppers for sure,lol.
Anyway we are borrowing these things to try ourselves but have little faith we will have any success. But basically she could check enough to rule out any sight issues. Definitely his vestibular and spacial sensory issues. Hence needing to get this OT sessions underway.

Marika, Hope your better soon

Donna, Cars suck, ours is still not fixed, we spent sooooooooo much last year to no avail, I wonder each day if it's going to bloody blow up. Cars suck heaps. I hope you can get it done a bit cheaper. Regos suck, they cost so much. I paid for DH's today and mine came in the mail, grrrrrrrrrrr

Mel, Oh no at having a crash, hope it wasn't too bad and both insured.

Jodie, Well done on the tting, GO KAIDEN!
Come on Dane, 3 hrs is much better, hehehe

Sandra, Sounds painful, hope it's gone soon. Odd if your not bfeeding hey. Hope it's nothing to worry about and all gone soon

sh*t, gtg
poss71
Hi all - was about to do a nice big post, but Meg is crying her heart out. Best go help DH. Night!
Abbygirl

*~*ME*~*
chaosprincess
LOL Marika!

Pretty uneventful weekend here, so not much to say!
j-o-d-i-e
LMAO Marika
where da party at??? lol

holding off on the TT, just dont think he is ready yet and its very hard with a newborn who wants to feed every 2 hrs and trying and get kaiden on the potty so often, this kid pees every 20mins lol
we did get lots of wees in the potty though and a few accidents but he just does get it yet, tried letting him outside with no pants so he can work out where the wee comes from but was too busy playing so after over an hr and still no pee we gave up on that idea lol. will try again in another month or 2 and see how we go. now all he wants to do is take his pants off rolleyes.gif
Donna~
Hi!

lol Marika. How are you feeling?

Jo- I know the feeling.

Jodie- That's why I really don't want to TT Toby yet. I just can't deal with all poo everywhere. Ben feeds every 2.5-3 hours, 24 hours a day. Though the last 2 nights he has had a 4/5 hour sleep at night which has been nice original.gif I am going to try spacing his feeds out more. It is doing my head in.

Toby has been asleep for 2 hours already... he woke up at 5am tis morning though. I feel like a zombie! lol!

Thanks for the support about the car... you're right Jodie, when it rains, it pours.

I am trying to loose weight, but it's so hard when all I want to do is eat all the time. I need to exercise more, but struggle to find the time. I have 2 years worth of baby weight to shift. It's so depressing!

Any Sydney people planning on going to the easter show this year?

Have a great day! original.gif
chaosprincess
I haven't even bothered trying to toilet train William, the other day he walked up to the toilet after he got out of the shower and was holding his doodle trying to point it up to the bowl laughing2.gif So funny.... he's seen his dad go to the loo in the past and obviously retained that info in his little brain. I put him up on the kids toilet step but he lost interest. Haven't tried again since.

Donna - I wish I had the motivation to be more fit and active also. But the spare time I get to myself I just feel like lazing around! The mental exhaustion of raising 3 children takes it's toll physically.

I have a house inspection Wednesday, not looking forward to cleaning tomorrow.
happinesswith2blue

chaosprincess

House inspection was today, I just went out because I hate being here waiting around and then feeling all nervous incase they complain about something.

Not much else going on.
Donna~
Hi hi!

Mel how often do you have rental inspections?

My landlady is currently outside painting around the roof. I feel like a prisoner, can't even go to the toilet in peace. lol! I have all the windows and blinds shut so she can't see in at all our crap.

Today was meant ot be a day where I got heaps of uni work done... so far not so good. Car hunting has taken priority. Only 4 days left to find one. It's so stressful!
chaosprincess
Every 3 months Donna, it's friggin ridiculous. I will move at the end of my lease in November, it's such an invasion of privacy. They sure know how to p*ss people off... talk about overkill!!
j-o-d-i-e
mel every 3 months is way to much, since you have ben living there for a whle now, after a year you would think they would reduce it to every 6months wacko.gif

Donna, good luck on the car hunting.

and waves.gif everyone

just so stuffed over here, i just cant handle these 2 hr feeds, it is just so draining (and not just on the boobs lol) i know its normal but for me, i am finding it tough which is affect mine and DHs relationship as i am being so moody and snappy as i am so tired (and his lack of help isnt helping) so going to get a tin of fomula and skip 1 BF a day to give my body a tiny little break.
chaosprincess
Yeah I thought they would tone it down after I'd been living here over a year Jodie, but no such luck. If I haven't trashed the place so far, why do they think I might start? Weird.

It is draining having to feed so frequently, lack of sleep is a form or torture and it does put strains on every other part of your life. It doesn't help when your partner isn't as understanding and helpful as they could be. I think the world would be a different place if it was the men who had to breastfeed! Could you imagine the whinging if they had to wake every 2 hours for months.... sorry a bit of generalising from me there laughing2.gif But sometimes I think they just don't understand how hard it is not sleeping properly. Thank goodness it doesn't last forever though! I'm not sure I could handle a baby these days I like my sleep and freedom too much.
Donna~
I thought yo always seemed to be having inspections... its coz you are! how stupid!

Jodie- I felt exactly the same way after Ben was born. It took about 2 months for things to feel 'normal' again- even though ben is the perfect baby! I swear Lenny and I have never fought so much in our lives together- horrible times! Ben is now in a 3 hour/3.5 hour routine original.gif If you still want to BF why not try expressing a feed for Josh to give? original.gif Give it a few more weeks and things will settle original.gif

Lately Ben has been sleeping better than toby wacko.gif . B is still feeding twice a night, thoufgh he falls strait back to sleep. Toby ages ages to resettle. The other night I poked len and told him toby was awake (at around 1am), he moaned and mumbled stuff under his breath and proceeded to get toby up for the day and take him to the tv room. I was like "umm... did you look at at he clock?!". I swear he is able to do stuff in his sleep. lol!
j-o-d-i-e
I am still BFing just replacing 1 bottle...at the moment it feels like i am feeding which takes around 30-45mins and then 1-1.30hrs later i am feeding again so in between the last thing i feel like doing is expressing lol ...I am making the afternoon feed the bottle so around 4-5 as thats when i am getting things ready for dinner so if josh is home he can do the bottle....
I just gave him his first bottle at 4 so will see how we go. so far he has had a good sleep, went to sleep without any issues which is uncommon.
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.