The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: October 08 Parents # 45

~Annika~
Sharna - Thank you for your very thoughtful and comprehensive reply re Beagles. That will definitely give me something to think about for sure! Yes, I have also thought a lot about Staffies as I do love that breed also, but not quite as much as Beagles though. Together with your story I will research it more so we can come to a better idea of what we are after! Thank you Sharna!! That's great that your pg is going so well.

I have discussed with DH about doing something drastic to make sure we don't end up having more babies (as I just couldn't do all over again - terrible extended HG, and then my PND, let alone financially!) We have always agreed on 2 kids right from the start, even though DH wouldn't mind having one more. I love having 2 boys and think that having another would put an uneven number in the mix. DH doesn't even want to consider the snip for different reasons, so I told him that I will just get my tubes clamped instead, just a key-hole surgery. DH can totally understand my reasons for wanting this and is supportive of my decision! I have an appointment to see my gyno but not until June so pretty long waiting list to get in and see him, then we will make the date for the op, so goodness knows how long it be. In the mean time I will just have to stick to taking the pill until the op. I hate taking the pill with all the unwanted side effects like fluid retention, weight gain etc. I just really want to get off them!! Sorry, I really don't want/mean to offend any of you with my decision as I know it's a sensitive subject, but hope you will understand my reasons for doing this. Especially sorry to you, Mands, as you have had such a rough time with your DH wanting just the opposite to my DH. Men, who can understand them heh!!
bec8112
Annika - I think that your decision sounds like the right one for your family. I know alot of thought would go into a decision like that. I know that DP and I will be discussing this when this bub is born. We have agreed on 2 kids aswell. Do not really know anything about beagles, sorry! We have a Border Collie and she is the most adorable dog, she was only 1 when Ethan was born and she has never been rough or anything. She occasionally knocks Ethan over when they are playing but she never does it intentionally!

Sharna - glad all is going well with the preg, it is flying by this time! Do you or Dan have any ideas on what sex you think it might be??? DP and I both thought we were having another boy so we were not right!

Mands - how you feeling?

Mel - how was the rest of your weekend?
Small Potatoes
Annika No need to apologise. I would probably be more inclined to stop if I didn't have such great pregnancies and haven't suffered PND. I was thinking when reading your post that our husbands need to swap mind sets laughing2.gif. I am also of the mind set that if one partner wants more children they shouldn't be forced to be sterile, such as you and your DH and you having the procedure and me and miine with DH having the snip. That way on the very unlikely chance we ever seperate if I want more children with another partner I have the option.

Bec I was certain I only wanted 2 children until about 9 months ago laugh.gif.

DH went away today, but I am going to Singapore on Saturday for 3 days ddance.gif eexcite.gif.

Sharna Laugh about the shopping ban. I have already been placed on a shopping ban on the off chance we go again and if it is a girl Danny said she will be a BigW baby.

meeskamouska
Afternoon Girls.
Bit of a rough week last week. DH was home & all we did was argue.....had a major mental meltdown sad.gif ...but feeling a bit better now.

Need to catch up on some reading...did a brief read over.

Mands - hope your ribs r feeling a bit better.
Annika - so sorry to hear about your dog. Hopefully a few sessions with your counsellor will have you feeling a little better. Life is such a roller coaster hey. No more babes here too...I'd sooner throw myself off a cliff......lol....seriously though...its not funny..... I think I would!!! biggrin.gif

Bec - your new babe is going to b the best dressed bubba round..lol.
Hi Mel & Dylmah & Ros....god I'm sorry if I missed someone.
bec8112
Mands - are you taking the boys to Singapore? I am jealous! It is hard to decide about how many kids you want, I am an only child so wanted more than 1 and DP is one of 4 and he did not want a big family so we settled on 2. I do not think I would change my mind as I like the idea of 2 for some reason.

Big W baby! ha ha ha! Mands if you have a girl I will have heaps to hand over!

nat - yeah she will be well dressed and have cute nappies! I cannot help myself as all the pink stuff is just so cute! DP is not as excited as me, everytime I show him something else pink he just rolls his eyes at me biggrin.gif . I will have to get some of your girlie clothes for her first summer so she would be around 6 months.

bec8112
Mands - thanks so much for the nappy in the mail! I love it! I owe you $$!

Nothing much else happening, Ethan is up at Nana's for a sleepover as we have the electrician at our place today doing the new lights so going to be messy with plasterboard dust everywhere! DP is home from work helping out the electrician so hopefully he will make life easier for him and not get in the way biggrin.gif . Cannot wait to have the lights done, then to get the plasterer in and then paint!

Nat - forgot to write, I am sorry that your DH and you had some issues last week.
meeskamouska
Bec - you really r quiet fortunate that you have a overnight babysitter like that. I bet it'll come in handy when this little girl arrives...does that sound weird??? when your litle girl arrives!!! seriously exciting!! I love girls. DH...hmmmm.... not sure what to do with him...trade him in maybe...lol.

Got my hair done today & HATE IT!!!!! The girl was an apprentice I think..... the owner is going to try & fix it tomorrow morning...seriously felt like crying...Bella came in the front door & said..... Mummy what happened to your hair?? Even a 5yr old can see its wrong.
themelster
Hi ladies, been meaning to get in and chat but things have been pretty hectic around here. I've been lurking and reading but haven't had time to sit down and rey. Sorry. I'll try to find the time soon.
~Annika~
Nat - Hope that your hair will turn out better in the morning. What a shame it happened to you in the first place hey! I hate going to the hair dressers as they just don't get what I want done with my hair, and every time I have been I end up spending an hour fixing it up myself anyway (using a mirror hanging up behind me while I stand in front of the bathroom mirror, that way I can see what I am doing at the back.) I haven't been to a hair dresser for a more than a year, I just keep cutting it regularly in the style I want. Must run in the family as my Mum does the same thing, self tought. I cut Mum's hair for her sometimes, plus DH's, Dad's, FIL's, Tyler's & Bryce's hair (but his has only been slightly trimmed for his 1st birthday). Saves money that way and I love doing it too, a little act of love for them. How are you and DH going, are YOU ok now? It must be so tough and draining with all that arguing, I really feel for you!!! Yes, I agree, life is such a roller coaster! Keep your chin up!

Went with Bryce to see the child health nurse today while Tyler was in Kindy. I have had a niggling concern about Bryce's left leg as the foot is slightly turned out. So she got me a referral to see the physio. My CHN said it's quite common for babies to have some uneveness when they start walking, but it's better to be on the safe side and have it checked out, even if it's just for peace of mind. He is 81 cm long now so grown 6cm since he was 1 yr old. He has only put on 200g though since his last weigh in at 12 months, so in 4 months he has gone from 10.3kg to only 10.5kg! CHN said that with all the walking that is normal, and I know that myself, but I still found myself questioning it like I had forgotten about the walking burning off so much to start with. Tyler was exactly the same weight at the same age (12 months) but he put on a whole Kg by the time he was 16 months, mind you that was in winter, so I don't know if that has anything to do with it, plus Bryce is always trying to keep up with Tyler and when I think about it he is way more active that Tyler ever was! So it all adds up I guess. It's not as if he isn't getting enough food, cause he is such a fantastic, easy, good eater, loves his food, and not fussy at all like Tyler was. Hmmm! Maybe he has got worms???? Oh, I'll stop, I could go on all day second guessing myself!

Tyler seems to be settling into Kindy nicely now, and finally starting to behave the way the teachers are wanting him to. He has been a bit uncooperative and argumentative with them until now, but when I went to pick him up today they said he had been such a great boy and obedient etc, so they gave him lots of praise! He is not used to having so many kids around him because of where we live. He'll get there! He does really love going there though and didn't like the idea of not being able to go there any longer if he wasn't going to pull his head in. His toileting has improved 100% too!
meeskamouska
Hi Annika - thats good that Tyler is settling in. Funny how they co operate so well for others. Don't worry too much with Bryces weight. I've struggled with Charlee weight too. She's still only 9.5kgs. Nothing I do will fatten that child up. She's very active so perhaps your right & its just the walking they do. Thanks for asking..I've been ok of late...just ok though. Finding life a bit of a struggle ATM. Thinking of heading back to see the counsellor. I hate that I feel so fragile all the time & DH just doesn't get it. Unless I'm the rock of our family everyone falls apart. Its a huge burden. Sometimes I just want to run away....pathetic hey.
Can u explain whats up with Bryces leg/foot??? Charlee's feet are shocking & the DR seems to think they're fine. There's a bit of a push from my family to get an second opinion.....not sure what to do. Weather she will just grow out of it or not....di u end up goin back to see your counsellor or r u feeling on top of things now???
~Annika~
Nat I haven't been to see my councellor yet as her days kind of clash with mine until Bryce swimming lessons finish for the term, hence I think I will just leave it for now. I too am just OK, but will manage until then. It's definitely NOT pathetic to want to run away, Nat, it's a perfectly normal feeling you can get when everything falls on your shoulders. I can imagine with your DH not getting it that it doesn't help your situation at all! Everyone needs support from others in some way or another, so I think it's a great idea for you to see your councellor even if it's just to get things off your chest to someone who is neutral in your life. It can be a tremendous help in feeling understood and supported hence sorting out your feelings and re-establishing your coping strategies. Re. Bryce's foot, it has always turned outwards on an angle even when he was crawling, so his left foot would be tucked inwards and his right one would stick out. Now when he walks he keeps his left foot straight and kind of digs his toes into the ground while the right foot is facing more out towards the right. He is pretty steady on his feet though considering he has only been walking for aprox 2 months, others comment about that too! Occasionally he will walk with one foot on tip toes and the other one flat, so going up and down while he is walking around, but he smiles when he does it like as if he's trying to be funny, so not sure if has anything to do with his leg. I would agree with your family about getting a second oppinion with Charlee's feet, just to be on the safe side. Take care and hang in there, Nat, you are doing a great job!

Hi everyone else!!! waves.gif
bec8112
Hi all! Sorry been really busy! On phone now so a short one from me.
Ethan had a big stack at our place yesterday onto the concrete and now has a big bump/bruise/graze on his eyebrow! It looks terrible. I feel so bad but he was being a silly bugger on his tractor toy and tumbled!

How is everyone? Sorry no time for personals have to go out to the bank and post office!
bec8112
Double post!
~Annika~
Bec Sorry to hear about Ethan having such a big stack and getting hurt! Hope the graze heals up quickly for him!! I am doing a bit better now I think, but could feel a bit more cheerful within myself in order to feel normal. How are you and bubs going? How many weeks are you now?
bec8112
Annika - I am 25 weeks already! Feeling good and getting a big belly now, my choc addiction is not helping!
meeskamouska
My chocoalte addiction isn't helping....LOL...that funny Bec!!!
Charlee is forever falling, tripping & hurting herself...I cringe. Hope Ethans graze heals up soon for you.

Going to take my girls to the shopping centre this arv to get their photos done with Gotcha. I'm not usually one to do such a thing but Bella has been nagging to go & get her photo done. $7.50 sitting fee...I just hate the pressure when you go back to look at the photos. I'll probably end up spending $500.

CR is waking up...better head.....its been quiet in here..... where is everyone.
themelster

Sorry I have been AWOL so much of late - work has been really busy and I can't get on the computer at home until Tom is in bed and by that time I just want to flop in front of the teli for a bit before crashing out in bed. Slack I know!

Annika - I know what you mean when you say you aren't at your happiest. I know I am alot better but am still not the happy, outgoing person I was pre-Tom. I'm not sure if that is the PND still, or just the fact that I don't get to do the things I used to enjoy pre baby like catching up over drinks with friends, going out for dinner with friends etc. To be honest, I hardly see any of my friends anymore. I find that aspect of things quite difficult. I hope that you can find the time to get in and see your counsellor again and that you can find your inner happiness once more! Oh, and Tom is the same as Bryce - he still hasn't cracked the 11kg mark. I think he has put on about 300 grams since he was 12 months old. He is so active though. I think that is why.

Nat - did you get your hair sorted??? What was wrong with it? Cut? Colour? Did you have to pay again to get it fixed? I hope not. And Nat, it is never pathetic to want to run away. I TOTALLY get what you mean. It's just escapism, wanting to run away to a place where there isn't a million responsibilities tied to you. Where you don't have to hold everyone together. I think we all just need some more time to indulge in "mummy" time. I know I do, BIG TIME.

Bec - Do you find Ethan heals really quickly? Everytime Tom has had a stack (which is many a time.....) he seems to heal really quickly. He fell down the stairs the other day (the kid is waaaaay to confident for his own good) and scraped his shoulder, arm and ear. He's always got bumps and bruises on him.

AFU - we had Tom's hearing tested on Wednesday. 100% good. Which I am very happy about, but a little part of me kind of wished they might have found something that would explain his lack of words. I'm on a count down now until the Developmental Pead visit on the 7th of next month. The worry is really starting to effect me. I'd love to hear a mama or a dada. Bec - any words at your end yet?

I get to go engagement ring shopping next week. Yay! The stone fell out of mine over a year ago and I've taken it to a few jewellers who said that the amount it would cost to replace the diamond and do the work that is needed on the crown and shank, I may as well just buy a new ring. I wasn't really all that emotionally attached to the original one so I'm pretty excited at being able to go pick a new one.

Off for dinner with my mothers group mummies tonight.

Mands - how are you going chick? You have been very quite. I hope you have just been busy with stuff and everything is ok.

Chat later
bec8112
Mel-no real words from Ethan yet either. Yeah on the ring shopping! I cannot wait to eventually get engaged/married! Damn Dave bring so not into it! Yeah Ethan heals fast too, his eye is heaps better today. He scraped his knees today aswell, he is in the wars at the moment!

Nat- how did the photo shoot go? Hopefully you don't get pulled in for buying heaps of photos! Did you get your hair all sorted, I am so lucky to have a great hairdresser. He has a salon at home so Ethan comes and runs riot while we are there!

Mands- have an awesome time away if you pop in before you go! Cannot wait to hear all about it!
meeskamouska
Thanks Girls...got the hair sorted. I went back the next day, they totally ruined it even more. I walked out in disgust. Demanded my money back, got it, fixed it myself in 30 minutes flat. Total tossers!! 6hrs it took them to ruin my hair...never mind. Put it down to a bad hair experience...lol. BTW....Not sure if you know but I'm actually a trade qualified Hdresser....lol.

Got the photos done today. Gotcha did them. They were fantastic with Charlee...I dread it though...the total package is $620!!!!!.....I don't doubt I'll want the entire package. She was all glammed up with hats & necklace & bubbles everywhere. I asked about getting them on disk...they said they do but kept avoiding my questions in regards to this..... have a feeling when I go to pick them up there will be no hard copy available....we'll see.

Hi Mel - good to see you. I suffer from Old Lifeitis majorly. I wish for my old life back all the time. I'm hoping at some point I'll get some of it back. Perhaps when I'm 50...lol.

bec8112
Nat- did not know you are a hair dresser! Another talent you have! You will have to show off the photos when you get them!
~Annika~
Bec 25 weeks!!!!! I can't believe how fast that time has gone by!!! Choc addiction hey tongue.gif I had that while pg with Tyler, I LOVED milo, dry, straight out of the tin, I lost count with how many tins I bought and went through in that time, LOL!! I couldn't even stand the smell of choc let alone eat it pg with Bryce, funny how different ever pg can be hey.

Nat "Old lifeitis", LOL, I love it!!!! I didn't know you were a hairdresser, you clever lady you! I just don't trust anyone to do my hair the way I want it anymore, so I fix it myself like you did! Do you still have your gorgeous long hair though? Hope you will get the CD with the photos like you're wanting! They are so sneaky those businesses, they will probably add some rediculous price for you to have that added into the package or something. My best friend (who lives near Noosa) came for a visit about a month ago now and she took some gorgeous pics of Tyler and Bryce totally for free as that's what she loves doing for her friends. She's got her own photgraphy business Giselle Eve Photography. I love her work and she does some really beautiful scenes, she does weddings and babies etc and she tends to work with families at their own homes/gardens and takes pics of the kids in old world style mainly. I am waiting for her to send me a disc with all the pics she did for us, but said she will adjust them a bit and add some special effects like dark fading the edges etc. I haven't got any paintshop pro or photoshop programs on my laptop any more so I am feeling really lost without it, not being able to make and update my sigs. We need to put more RAM memory in our Dell laptop so it can run more programs as it's a bit old now (aprox 7 yrs) but it's been really good to us so far.

Mel Good to see you in here again, and don't worry about going AWOL sometimes, I do the same thing in between, now I'm back in the swing of it again though. I need this outlet majorly, and I don't realise it until it's been a while and then I start getting down in the dumps. I just don't feel as though there is much in my life to get excited about these days, and my mood is pretty flat really, I hate it. I so long for the passion in my life back! I agree with you, we do definitely need more mummy time, so good on you for doing that tonight and going out with your mother's group friends! Our playgroup is planning for a mum's night out soon too, so that will be great, and I do look forward to that!!!

Tonight I totally lost it, cry1.gif couldn't get up to deal with the boys at all, and told DH (who came home at like 7pm) to deal with them for me as I just wasn't coping. So he fed, bathed, and put them to bed and then took all the piled up dishes from days ago and put them through the big commercial dishwasher up at the hall (as there is no groups in here atm). We occasionally do that if things get a bit lax here like that. I have told EVERYONE in my family that if they want to give me something for my 30th birthday in May that they can put in for my dishwasher - that would be the absolute ultimate birthday pressie for me as it's been on my mind constantly!!!! I am the ONLY one who does the dishes (apart from my Mum sometimes, who hasn't been here for a couple of months as her brother and SIL from Norway have been visiting). DH will cook dinner but doesn't do the dishes, ever! glare.gif So I feel as though I am glued to the damn sink, and some days I just don't do them and simply let them pile up instead!
I felt so low while DH was dealing with the boys, and I knew I couldn't talk to DH about how I felt as he just doesn't get it which makes it so much worse for me. He does try to help me though, and I do appreciate his way of showing me his support through helping in acts of service, but it's not always the way I need it at the time. Tonight I needed emotional support and just couldn't expect it from him, so I rang my gorgeous big brother instead and could let it all out freely to him and he is such a great listner and he just 'gets me' completely!! He is the one person in this world that does! So after we talked, and he gave me encouragement, advise and support I feel SOOOOO much better now, he even had me laughing by the end of our 1 hour phone call. He is so awsome, I LOVE him to bits!!!

(Sorry about all that, girls, it was good to vent though!!) Hope you will all have a lovely weekend! grin.gif
bec8112
Annika - I am so glad that your bro was able to cheer you up, your so lucky to have him. Sorry no more time to write just wanted to give you a bbighug.gif
bec8112
Very quiet in here again!

Not much to report from here. Same old same old. Back to work tomorrow sad.gif
Small Potatoes
Hi, Quick post from Singas. The weather is crap, but having a great time. My sister cleaned the house for the open house today and is watching the boys. She says they are great and I spoke to Will this morning. Have been doing lots of walking and a bit of shopping (fro the boys original.gif ).

BBS

bec8112
Hey mands, so glad your having a great time! Is the shopping good for the boys?
DylMah
Hi.
We got back from Sydney last week, but I've been flat out like a lizard drinking.
Poop, Mahalia has just woken. Will try and come back tonight and catch up.
~Annika~
Hoping that everyone has had a good weekend, well, I have!! Been staying at my parent's place since Sat morning to have some time-out from everything, and to make DH realize that things CAN'T keep going the way they have for so long now! Something has got to give, and unfortunately I just wasn't strong enough to do this whole non-functional routine any longer. DH's work has been on the top of his priority list now for ages and I don't take too kindly to that arrangement at all! My IL's happened to be coming to stay at our place for the weekend anyway so they are helping out with the boys so DH can still go to work, but even if they didn't come I would tell him to sort it out himself (eg. take a day or two off until I come home again) as I wasn't going to be taken for granted always being there to take care of our children like a permanent house maid and nanny! I just really needed some space to re-charge as I have been quite run down and haven't been able to shake this painful cough of mine for weeks because of it. DH was good about it all though and is always very confident with having the boys on his own, and reassured me that things would be just fine at home and encouraged me to do this for myself! I think he realizes that he can't really meet my emotional needs like my family can, so in fact I think he was a bit relieved that I was getting some much needed support. My parents have been wonderful and encouraging! So in the morning my MIL will drop Tyler off to Kindy and come by here to pick me up and then we'll go shopping before we go home, that way I will have another whole day of relaxing and pampering myself (pedicures, manicures, face masks etc) pure bliss!!!

Bec Thanks for your hug! biggrin.gif

Mands Hope the weather clears up for you so you can enjoy your holiday a bit better! That's great your boys have been so good while you're away!

Nat How are you going? waves.gif

Mel I hope this week won't be too busy for you at work like previously!!!

Sharna How is your pg going and how many weeks along are you now? How is your gorgeous Nadia these days? Are you still working 4 days a week or was just a temporary arrangement a while ago?

Georgia How are things going your end these days? You mentioned earlier that you were going away or something for a couple of weeks or so? Hope all is ok for you!

themelster

Annika - haven't had a chance to read your mammoth post yet! I hope your doing ok!

Dylmah, I've been thinking of you and I hope that everything with Dylan is going ok.

Mands - you lucky thing! Have fun!!

Flat out at work for me at the moment so I haven't had much chance to write. Sorry!!
bec8112
Hi all! Busy busy busy here aswell.

Ethan is all good, he had a fall at daycare yesterday and ended up with another egg on his head! Think I have a clumsy child ohmy.gif

I booked some tickets to see a concert in April today so looking forward to that already!
themelster
Who are you going to see Bec?? I'm off to see the pixies thurs night. I'm really looking forward to it.
bec8112
Mel - going to see Regina Spektor the Concert Hall at QPAC. Have you heard of her? She is played on Triple J, she is kind of folk/pop/alternative. Wonderful piano player and great unique voice!
themelster
I have heard of her, she has a beautiful voice!
bec8112
Hi all! Sorry been so busy again today!

Went to the movies last night and saw The Green Zone, ok movie but was not in the mood for war/action! Ethan stayed at his grandparents again ohmy.gif , you are all going to be thinking we palm him off all the time!

Mel - how is work? Still busy? How is Tom?

mands - how was the rest of the trip? Bet the boys were happy to see you when you got home.

Annika - how are you feeling?

Georgia - how are you? Back into normal life after being away?

Hi to everyone else, off to eat some lunch!
meeskamouska
Hi Everyone.
Been awol for a few days...just been feeling crap...everyday.
Mands- How lovely your trip is sounding. Enjoy it.
Dylmah - hope you catch up with everything after your trip. How did the kids go?????
Annika - Wow your so brave. Good for you. I hope your time to yourself was just lovely. DH doesn't meet my emotional needs either...in fact he tramples all over them. I often wish I was brave enough to leave him but never do. Something always keeps me here.

Made toasted muesli today...I love the stuff. Often thought I should turn my recipe into a branded product...can you imagine though.... all those oats etc... thats big business...anyway for now I just eat it & enjoy it....lol.
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.