01/03/2010, 07:36 AM
Fabulous
01/03/2010, 07:37 AM
Hello everyone,
Well we made it to LA and are now staying at a hotel in Anaheim. We bought 3 day disneyland passes and were planning on starting our first day today. However it's 1pm and the kids are still fast asleep. The flight was okay. Jack had a bassinette for the flight from Sydney to LA and he slept in that for about 5 or so hours. He only *just* fit into it. The worst part was the flight fom Perth to Sydney. It's frustrating to have to travel for 4 hours before you even begin your journey. Maybe we should just move!
meeskamouska
01/03/2010, 08:27 AM
SILVER!!
Wow Ceres I hope you have a faulous time. Have always wondered weather Charlee would fit in a air bassinet still. Good that he got 5hrs...better than nothing.
Easy day here today. The rain won't go away.
So desperate to get my nails done but have got a busy week ahead. See how I go.
Bit of sewing maybe today. Finally got a piece of boy coloured lycra. Lycra is hard to come by unless you want to pay $30 a metre for the stuff. Bit late in the season for swim nappies but never mind. It'll be good just to stock up.
Enjoy your day girls.
Alis Volat Propiis
01/03/2010, 10:12 AM
Bronze!
I am just popping in to let you know I have my 20 week scan today. This pregnancy is flying by.
Nadia and I are really sick with colds, although she is on the mend, and i am up to the snot, cough, head cold stage. Hope she is right for daycare tomorrow.
Ros - have a great time at Disneyland. Dan and I just went the one day but saw all we wanted to. The kids will love it. Nadia hated the cots when we flew to Europe and she was just 6 months so fit quite well.
Hi to everyone else.
Sharna
bec8112
01/03/2010, 02:26 PM
Sharna - wow that has gone fast, good luck and I cannot wait to hear how it went. Hope you and Nadia are feeling better soon.
Ros- sounds like the flights were ok, I bet that is a relief! Have fun at Disneyland!
Nat - you will have to send me through a pic of the boy lycra and I will see if I want some for Ethan, will need to get a girlie one aswell

and also some of the gorgeous pants on your site!
Busy busy day for me and cannot wait for it to be over! Been getting heaps of BH today and my belly goes so tight, it feels so strange!
Alis Volat Propiis
01/03/2010, 08:02 PM
Scan went well. All good, bub still measuring ahead on dates so EDD is 21st July. Not a very cooperative bubba though and scan took 1 1/2 hours with me needing to go for 3 walks and jiggling around. Didnt get any 3D piccies as bub was head down and all scrunched up.
Bec - i think I have been getting BH but am not real sure. I am not showing much and with my height and build can hide the little bump quite well but I certainly notice that I pop out in the evenings.
Sharna
DylMah
01/03/2010, 09:28 PM
We've had the computer unplugged for the last few days as we've been having monsoonal thunderstorms pretty much non stop since thursday. Didn't want to risk shorting out another computer. The storms finally seem to be easing though.
Ros - Have fun at Disneyland. Hopefully Jack will still fit the bassinette for the flight home.
Sharna - Wow, 20 weeks already, that has gone quickly. Hope you and nadia are feeling better soon.
DH is on leave from tomorrow for 2 weeks. yay! We're flying to Sydney on Thursday for a friend's wedding on the weekend, then flying home on Tuesday so Dylan doesn't miss his therapy playgroup. My mum and my sister will be looking after Dylan and Mahalia. It will be the first time Mahalia has been put to bed by someone else, and I don't know how she is going to go with have a boob before bed. The wedding is on a dinnercruise ferry type thing, so it's not as if I can leave and come back if she needs a feed. The boat leaves at 4pm, and doesn't get back in until 11pm, and it'll be at least an hour travelling time back to M&D's afterwards. Fingers crossed. I so hope Mahalia sleeps well for my Mum and sister. I think I'll be worrying about it all night.
We're also about to start looking into having Dylan assessed for aspergers/ASD due to some behavioural and social concerns DH and I have. They are only small things that we wouldn't worry about on their own, but his dietitian asked about it the other day (as her 3yo DD who has a speech delay is being assessed), and even though the OT and speechie at Dylan's playgroup have never said anything about ASD, it is niggling at the back of my mind. I'm going to speak to the speechie at playgroup on wednesday and see whether she thinks I need to have him assessed.
bec8112
01/03/2010, 09:36 PM
Sharna - that is great all is going well! Do you have a guess what this bub will be? Blue or pink???? I have only got a belly in the last 3 weeks so around the 20 week mark is when it really started to show. I might be brave and take some photos soon!
Georgia - Have fun at the wedding and I hope Mahalia goes alright with no bedtime booby! Can I ask what sort of things have got you concerned about Dylan? If you do not want to write it is no worries. That is my biggest fear about having kids is ASD or similar which is hard to assess and confirm IYKWIM.
Anyone doing the GDUNH? I have started to look for a few icons but I do not have the patience! I need to wait for more clues I think, I do not have a very cryptic mind.
Mel - Got the BBH petite nappy in large, did you still want to buy one of them off me? Let me know and we can organise a time to catch up or you can possibly grab it from my work in Virginia on Mon, Tues or Wed if you happen to be in that area.
DylMah
02/03/2010, 01:56 AM
Can't sleep. DH and I were talking about our concerns about Dylan tonight and googling. He pretty much ticks all the boxes for aspergers. We decided that we should make a list of our concerns to discuss with the speechie on Wednesday and then go from there. I was lying in bed with everything going around in my head, so decided to get up and make the list. Boy is it long!
Here it is for you Bec, and anyone else that is interested.
SOCIAL
• Doesn’t seek out children to play with or talk to.
• Would rather play by himself than with other kids, but will let Mahalia and a couple of other kids to come to him for side-by-side and parallel play.
• Only talks about his interests and will often change the subject when you are talking about something, or will stare off into space.
• Does not answer questions about things that have happened in the past (e.g. what did you do today), or about things that don’t intrest him.
• Usually does not talk to people outside his family and a couple of close friends.
• Does not say hello (when he wakes in the morning, the first thing he normally talks about is whether or not the garbage truck is coming that day), and only says bye when prompted. Does not wave unless copying his sister.
• Does not react to emotion in others.
• Does not seem to understand emotion in others, or body language.
• Does not like eye contact.
• Does not talk about feelings, only facts.
• Does not seek out affection for affection’s sake. It is a game, or a means to an end.
• Does not initiate conversation.
• In social situations (e.g. baby bounce), will either cling to mum, sit or play by himself.
LANGUAGE/VOCAB
• Speech delay – no apparent cause.
• Lost language between 12 and 18 months.
BEHAVIOUR
• Lines things up e.g. spoons.
• Loves routine, e.g. setting the table for breakfast, removing bins from rooms before bath time. Deviation from these routines results in meltdowns.
• He likes to dictate the routine e.g. Mahalia has to have her nappy changed first (even if she has had one 5 minutes prior), deviation results in a meltdown.
• Meltdown results from people touching what he has decided are his toys for the day e.g., he will put toys in a wagon, and if Mahalia tries to play with them, even if they are her toys, he will have a meltdown.
• Used to quietly sit in timeout after 3 warnings (1-2-3 Magic), now argues about where and how, and usually ends up having to be held in timeout whilst having a meltdown.
• Items being confiscated due to misbehaviour results in a meltdown.
• Being brought inside due to misbehaviour (after 3 warnings) results in a meltdown.
• Obsession with garbage trucks and garbage bins. On garbage day (twice a week), he stands at the front door waiting for the garbage truck(s). The only way he will allow his nappy to be changed or will eat his breakfast is if I threaten to shut the front door. He is allowed to go to the front door as soon as he hears the garbage truck.
• Appears to have tactile and oral sensory issues.
• Seems to have less and less impulse control as he gets older.
• Will problem solve, but is upset the whole time he is doing it. If he solves the issue, he is very proud of himself, if he doesn’t, and tantrum follows until Mummy or daddy have solved it for him.
• Says no or argues when asked to do something he doesn’t want to or is told about a change to what’s happening (e.g. it’s time to go out). Can result in a tantrum or meltdown.
• Is becoming fearful of things he didn’t used to be scared of, e.g. slides.
OTHER
• Intolerant to food chemicals (aggression). Under investigation with dietitian. Improves on an elimination diet.
• Does not associate social activities with the fact they are social i.e. he thinks baby bounce is about the cranes at the library (construction work), and playgroup is about the diggers in the car park (construction work).
• As a baby, reacted strongly to sound. Would jump at the smallest sound, and this was commented on by others.
meeskamouska
02/03/2010, 06:21 AM
Dylmah - You've done an exceptional job there with your list. I'm guessing now he's 3 it would be a good time to seek a diagnosis. That way he'll be able to get the help he needs before he starts school. On the upside your bin will always be empty.
Sharna - yay on the scan. No sex to report in then??? You'll get a lovely suprise when its born. That 20 weeks went so fast.
Bec - I've always got BH when pregnant. I liked them...reminded me I was pregnant & an actual BABY was coming soon. How lovely...a baby!!
Hi to everyone else...I've spent nearly half an hour deliberating over what to type...derr to me.
Its pouring with rain here still...I'm offically over it. Feels like it hasn't stopped raining for 3 weeks. Thank goodness I got all the mowing done a few days ago in the rain breaks.
Enjoy your day.
themelster
02/03/2010, 07:32 AM
Dylmah, When do you start assessment? You must be so concerned. Just remember that no matter what the outcome, he's still your beautiful boy. Have you chatted to the ladies in the ASD thread? I have some concerns about Tom too and they are wonderful to bounce things off. Does he point? To ask for things? Or to show you things? Does he turn to his name when called? If you point to something, does he look where you are pointing? Or does he follow your gaze? I thought aspergers had no delayed speech, if anything, were more advanced with speech?
Bec- I'd love to grab that petite if your sure you don't want it. What's happening with those other nappies?
bec8112
02/03/2010, 09:04 AM
Georgia - that is a great list of things to have to show the docs/spechie etc etc. I really hope you get an answer and as Mel has said he is still your beautiful little boy. I tell myself that all the time, I will still love Ethan with all my heart even if there happens to be something diagnosed in the future.
Mel - I got the other nappies sent, was easier than organising it. When did you want the nappy? I can take it to work tomorrow or next week or we can try catch up sometime.
Will BBL, got a bit on at work for a few hours.
DylMah
02/03/2010, 02:05 PM
Charbell - From what I've read, Aspergers isn't usually diagnosed until around 7, before then, I think it is usually a diagnosis of HF Autism. My gut tells me it's aspergers though.
Mel - I'll be speaking to the speechie and OT that run Dylan's playgroup tomorrow. It is run by the children's development team, and I am hoping that because Dylan is already on their books, if I speak to them, they can refer me to the CDT paed without me having to go to the GP to get a referral. If not, they'll be able to reccommend a good paed for assessing Dylan. Dylan doesn't really show us things, or point to things he wants. He will just try and get them himself, and will whinge or demand if he can't get them. He doesn't actually ask for things, he demands them, and then we have to tell him to say please before he gets it. He only turns to his name if he wants to, which is rarely, even though I know he hears me. This morning, I called out for him to come to me, but he didn't respond. I then started saying "where's Dylan? Where's Dylan", and I then heard him copy me and laugh. He didn't actually come to me though. I think usually aspies are advanced with speech, but although less common, a speech delay can be an indicator too.
Bec - I've been adding to the list since last night, lol. I feel like a huge weight has been lifted off my shoulders though.
It seems Mahalia has woken, so gotta scoot.
Small Potatoes
02/03/2010, 02:07 PM
Georgia This would be Will's list and I never thought it to be a problem.
SOCIAL
• Doesn’t seek out children to play with or talk to.
• Would rather play by himself than with other kids, but will let Mahalia and a couple of other kids to come to him for side-by-side and parallel play.
• Only talks about his interests and will often change the subject when you are talking about something, or will stare off into space.
• Does not answer questions about things that have happened in the past (e.g. what did you do today), or about things that don’t intrest him.
• Does not react to emotion in others.
• Does not seem to understand emotion in others, or body language.
• Does not like eye contact.
• Does not seek out affection for affection’s sake. It is a game, or a means to an end.
• In social situations (e.g. baby bounce), will either cling to mum, sit or play by himself.
LANGUAGE/VOCAB
• Speech delay – no apparent cause.
• Lost language between 12 and 18 months.
BEHAVIOUR
• Lines things up e.g. spoons.
• Loves routine, e.g. setting the table for breakfast, removing bins from rooms before bath time. Deviation from these routines results in meltdowns.
• He likes to dictate the routine
• Meltdown results from people touching what he is playing with
• Has never sat quietly in timeout. Always had meltdowns.
• Items being confiscated due to misbehaviour results in a meltdown.
• Being brought inside due to misbehaviour (after 3 warnings) results in a meltdown.
• Has varying obsessions. At the moment it is with stacking 4 blocks in a certain way and if they fall over before he is finished stacking he cracks it
• Will problem solve, but is upset the whole time he is doing it. If he solves the issue, he is very proud of himself, if he doesn’t, and tantrum follows until Mummy or daddy have solved it for him.
• Says no or argues when asked to do something he doesn’t want to or is told about a change to what’s happening (e.g. it’s time to go out). Can result in a tantrum or meltdown.
• Is becoming fearful of things he didn’t used to be scared of, e.g. Olly
OTHER
• Intolerant to food chemicals (aggression). Under investigation with dietitian. Improves on an elimination diet.
• As a baby, reacted strongly to sound. Would jump at the smallest sound, and this was commented on by others. - Both my boys did that and so did I.
I thought alot these things are just being a toddler so I would be interested in what is said. Maybe we need to get Will checked out.
themelster
02/03/2010, 05:28 PM
Mands, I think alot of that is due to being a toddler - ie: the tantrums (depends on the severity and duration I guess), but some maybe not, like the lining things up and eye contact. Don't you start worrying though - there's enough worriers on this forum. Me being the biggest. I'll worry enough for all of us!
Bec - I meant to say that yes, I'm trying my luck in the nappy hunt. I have 14 icons already and 2 extremes. I can see myself getting sucked in and probably quite frustrated....
I won't be able to grab those nappies this week - things are pretty hectic. Maybe I could drop into your work next Wednesday?
bec8112
02/03/2010, 07:56 PM
mel - yeah next week should be fine, I have a meeting from 11-2pm again next Wed. Or are you busy on the weekend? I suck at the nappy hunt!
themelster
02/03/2010, 08:42 PM
No, not busy on the weekend at all. Mark is working Saturday and Sunday so I'm on my own. Wanna catch up?
bec8112
02/03/2010, 08:57 PM
Mel - Sat should work for me, Dave is working on the house I think so might be able to pop out before or after lunch/Ethans nap. Sunday is out for me as we have friends coming for lunch. Where do you want to meet? It is probably going to be raining
DylMah
02/03/2010, 09:07 PM
Mands - Dylan's behaviours have been getting worse. And we are at toddler groups a few times a week, and as much as I shouldn't compare Dylan to other kids, I have noticed that while he is regressing socially, his "friends" are becomming more social. I also discussed my concerns in the DIA07 group on FB, and those with kids diagnosed with ASD all said to get Dylan checked out. I think the biggest thing for me is that I have had this niggling voice in the back of my head for the last 18 months saying ASD that I have been ignoring, but now that I have acknowledged it, I feel like a huge weight has been lifted.
I spoke to the children's development team today, rather than waiting for playgroup tomorrow, and have got the ball rolling. Took Dylan to the GP this arvo to get a referral to the paediatric team at the hospital (they deal predominently with kids with behaviour issues) to get Dylan assessed.
bec8112
02/03/2010, 09:10 PM
Georgia - that is great that the ball is rolling and things are in progress, keep us updated. I bet it will be good to know either way so it is not the constant worry! Do the paed's at the hospital have a long waiting list?
themelster
03/03/2010, 07:16 AM
Dylmah - where snouts are you? Do you mean the Child Dev Network at the mater in Brisbane? That us where I am taking Tom. It took me 6 months to get an appt. He is seeing someone there on the 7th april.
I took him to an indoor play centre yesterday and whilst all the other kids were running around madly playing, he clung to me for dear life - terrified.
Bec - I'd love to catch up Saturday. I'll have a think where. I think there is meant to be a pretty good indoor place at strathpine? And an outdoor one at chermside.
Mands - good luck today. Are you up for a catch up Saturday?
bec8112
03/03/2010, 07:32 AM
Mel - yeah Ethan was scared last time we went to a play centre aswell! Yeah the one at Strathpine is meant to be good, not sure about the one at Chermside.
Mands - how you feeling after your awake night and fasting? Hope the EEG goes ok.
bec8112
03/03/2010, 09:40 AM
Just saw on NA that a Ozebaby auction last night of 2 nappies and a bib went for over $200! That is madness! Yeah the nappies were great but that is alot of money for nappies.
DylMah
03/03/2010, 09:46 AM
Mel - We're in Darwin.
bec8112
03/03/2010, 10:10 AM
Georgia - do you go public or private?
Small Potatoes
03/03/2010, 05:18 PM
I have fractured a rib

. Went into Will in the early hours of the morning as he was crying. I picked him up and went to sit on his bed and totally misjudged and ended up on the floor. I wacked the back left hand side of me against the bed frame and winded myself. I went to A&E on the way home from the EEG place as it was still hurting and films show I have a hairline fracture. Only hurts when I move certain ways or take a deep breath.
themelster
03/03/2010, 05:54 PM
Bloody he'll Mands! That would have gone down well after 24 hours of sleep deprivation!
When do you get the EEG results?
Small Potatoes
03/03/2010, 05:59 PM
I know Mel What A PITA
~Annika~
03/03/2010, 06:11 PM
Mands - Oh dear, that's not good! Hope it will heal quickly for you! Take it real easy until it's better hey.
Us - We went camping the four of us for the first time in our family tent this past weekend and loved it!! The boys were pretty good after the initial night (when they were so excited it took them like an hour to go to sleep). During the day if we were just relaxing at our tent site we brought the port-a-cot out of the tent and Bryce played in it so we didn't have to continuously run after him, otherwise he would just keep running off anywhere he could, exhausting!! It was a great family bonding experience, really back to basics with no TV or computer and mod cons etc. That's what I call quality time! Just what I need in life!
Our dog, Zeth, died the day before we went camping as DH ran over him in the work ute while he was backing out from our place. He didn't even see him laying under there! He always starts the ute up and waits for a little while so that in case the dogs are laying under it they will get out, but Zeth didn't get out this time as if he hadn't even heard the ute start up. DH felt really terrible about it and so heart broken, and he just lost it,

crying after he had to shoot him with the rifle (he hadn't actually died but had bad internal injuries and broken leg!) DH has had to shoot a lot of the animals here before as part of his work like badly injured horses or sick sheep etc. He even goes fox and rabbit shooting often to keep the vermin numbers down, but having shoot his own dog (out of total nessessity) is quite different emotionally!! I felt really sorry for DH and just tried to comfort him as much as he would let me! We had just talked about what to do about Zeth last week as he was getting old and sore and we knew he woudn't last through the winter, but that was not a nice way for him to go out! I miss him, I had a real soft spot for him!!
Sorry for the me post but I really needed to get that off my chest! Not many people here know about it yet as DH is still trying to come to terms with the sad loss of his loyal old dog.
Small Potatoes
03/03/2010, 06:50 PM
Annika Sorry to hear about your dog, poor DH how distressing for him. The camping trip sounds good. We should start camping again too. DH and I used to do it a bit.
DylMah
03/03/2010, 07:54 PM
Bec - We're going public for the assessment, and then will go from there. Dylan's paed isn't practicing at the moment as he has a brain tumour. The paed clinic we have been referred to is still only new, so there won't be much of a wait to get Dylan seen. If they feel he needs to be under the care of a paed again, then we will go private.
Mands - Ouch!
Annika - I'm so sorry to hear about your dog. I can understand why your DH is so upset.
bec8112
03/03/2010, 09:40 PM
Mands - ah that is terrible about your rib, I hope that it heals soon. I had a fractured rib from snowboarding a few years back and I remember it being so terrible to lift things or bend. Hope the boys are letting you rest a bit.
Annika - that is so sad about your dog, he heart goes out to your DH and the rest of the family. I dread to think of the day our dog goes as she is so wonderful and Ethan loves her so much!
Mel - thought about Sat yet?
Georgia - good idea on seeing what is happening before deciding what to do with public/private. The public system around me in Brissy has the longest wait lists for everything!
bec8112
03/03/2010, 10:07 PM
Ladies you have to stop me buying things! I have bought so much 2nd hand PINK clothes and nappies! I have to stop! I am going to be given so much yet I cannot help myself!
themelster
04/03/2010, 10:13 AM
Bec, I'm up for catching up. What time suits you? Maybe after naps? Strathpine?
bec8112
04/03/2010, 01:56 PM
Mel - Yeah I am not too bothered by time but either in the morning about 9am or in the afternoon sometime. Ethan has been napping from 12-3 and sometimes until close to 4pm. So I suppose morning would be easier for me but it Tom sleeps in the morning that is cool we can meet in the arvo.
Mands - you keen or too short notice and too far?
I went to the doc appointment at the hospital this morning and the trial I have to decide on has to start before 24weeks so I have to decide tonight! It is a study into the use of progesterone to help prevent pre term labour. It would be a vaginal pessary (spelling??? ) daily until 37 weeks. There are 2 groups and you have no idea which one you are, the actual progesterone and the other is a placebo. I am so undecided, I will have to talk to Dave tonight and see what he thinks. If we go ahead I have to go to the hospital on Sat to sign up and get all the stuff! What do you ladies think? I need to do some research I think, I got a booklet which explains a little bit.
themelster
04/03/2010, 07:15 PM
Bloody hell Bec, I'd kill for a day nap like that! Tom does an hour, hour and a half max! How about we meet at 9am?
Small Potatoes
04/03/2010, 07:23 PM
i will pass. Am having some breathing probs from the rib today and have a sore stomach and had a vomit.
bec8112
04/03/2010, 08:12 PM
Ah Mands your having a rough patch, I really hope you feel better soon. Let me know if I can do anything to help out.
Mel - yeah 9am would be great, where abouts? Chermside or Strathpine Play centre thing? Or shops or somewhere else?
themelster
04/03/2010, 08:36 PM
You poor thing Mands. You really are doing it tough at the moment. I hope you are getting some help with the kids.
Bec, how about chermside outdoor lay area - kidsspace I think it's called, if it's fine and if it's rainy, the indoor one at strathpine. I think it's called go wild.
bec8112
04/03/2010, 09:15 PM
Mel - too easy, we will work it out on Sat morning by SMS when we know what the weather is doing. Where is the kidspace one in Chermside? In the shopping centre?
themelster
05/03/2010, 06:05 AM
No, I think it's it the park behind the northern end of the centre - before you cross the road to marchant park.
themelster
06/03/2010, 12:36 PM
Wow, it's so quiet in here!
Bec- thanks for the catch up today, I had a great time and so did Tom. I managed to keep him awake until about 5 mins from home, but then he transferred and is still asleep now. I had to sing to him like a crazy woman and tickle his feet but in the end he succumbed to the zzzz's. He was buggered!!!
Mands - how are you going chick? You've been very quiet. I hope the rib is holding up ok.
bec8112
06/03/2010, 01:13 PM
Mel - yeah thanks to you and Tom for coming, it was great. Ethan slept for about 5 mins in the car but then woke up! I gave him some lunch and then put him in bed at 1pm and he is quiet but not sure if he is alseep. Oh well time will tell. Hope you find the nappy good.
Mands - how are you? how is the rib? no more vomiting I hope.
Hi to everyone else, everyone must be busy or have more of a life than me
themelster
06/03/2010, 05:50 PM
Bec - I have to say I'm not a big fan of the petites at all! They're so weird!! LOL!
bec8112
06/03/2010, 07:51 PM
Mel- I thought that first time I used it aswell but
it's growing on me. My large is in the wash so will see if it is
better or worse than the medium. Ethan slept this arvo from 1.30
until almost 4pm! Lazy boy he is!
themelster
06/03/2010, 08:15 PM
What a great sleep Bec! You lucky thing! Does he go down ok at 7pm when he sleeps that long?
As for the petites, I can't see myself getting used to it. It sat all funny on him and I could see the white inner sticking out. It was just, well, weird

Maybe Tom is a weird shape because the Humbugs worked for you and not me too.
Small Potatoes
07/03/2010, 05:51 AM
I haven't tried the petites. On a nappy buying ban
bec8112
07/03/2010, 12:12 PM
Mel-we put Ethan to bed at 7pm and he chatted and played with his toy and was asleep at 8pm when I checked on him. He slept until 7am. He us having an early nap today as we have friends coming at 1pm for a late lunch at about 3pm so hoping he will not be too cranky later.
Mands- yeah think I have to stop buying aswell! Bought slot of 2nd hand girl nappies and clothes! How are you feeling?
Hi to everyone else.
~Annika~
08/03/2010, 12:58 AM
Hey all! Have read back a bit but not in depth, sorry! Been a bit out of the whole internet routine again. It's just a phase though, and before you know it you will see me back in here daily like before!
I don't know what's up with me lately. I have been really lacking motivation with everything again like ages ago, almost like a bit of a PND relapse or something. Hope not, going to see my councelor next month, but really could do with a few sessions right now I think. Thanks for your kind words re. our dog! We are slowly getting used to the fact that he is not around any more, but the memories of the events the day he died still haunts me! DH hasn't talked about it much at all, I think he still feels a lot of guilt about it so tries not to think about it. I have always told him that once Zeth would die I would love to get Tyler and Bryce a little dog to grow up with them, and a Beagle is something I have ALWAYS been wanting to get, plus it would be a good little dog for the boys I reckon! What do you guys think? Any of you have a Beagle or know of someone who's got one so know what they are like generally?
Georgia - read through your concerns re Dylan and Aspergers. Just want you to know that I am thinking of you! I have a family friend who is in her mid-thirties and she has JUST written a book "My Life with Asperger's" by Megan Hammond
Visit My Website She is a lovely girl and she did a fantastic job with writing her book about her life. You are doing the right thing with seeking further adivce and assesments for Dylan, good on you. It takes a lot of courage to take those steps and then you'll know more about what is going on with him so you can tackle everything the right way from a very early stage if there are definitely concerns with him. You may even find that he just has a bit of Obsessive Compulsive Disorder, who knows. Hang in there and keep your chin up! You're a great Mum!!
Hi to EVERYONE!!!!
Alis Volat Propiis
08/03/2010, 07:44 AM
Annika - i just had to reply.. sorry to hear about your family dog. Regarding beagles... My sister originally got one as a puppy, completely adorable as they are. Virtually impossible to train, she was innattentive, a digger, an escape artist, a climber (over fences!) a jumper, would never come when called etc. Beagles need ALOT of training to get them to focus as they are easily distracted by scents etc. She wouldnt walk on the lead even after obedience school and howled all day if they werent home. So, they got a second older beagle for company. The beagle rescue society in WA should be able to get you in touch with people/breeders who are surrendering their beagles for different reasons and looking for new homes. The second beagle was alot more placid as she was older and had come from a breeders home. However together they were like cyclones. Same problems just doubled. In the end they surrendered their orignial beagle puppy as she was just too much hard work. They really tried everything with her and were quite upset at having to give her up. They have the older one now and life is quieter but I know my sis has said she wouldnt get a beagle again if they knew what they were going to be in store for. Now, someone else might have a great beagle story but I know the problems they had. Beautiful, cute, medium sized breed... terrible behaviour. Have you thought about a staffy or staffy X... similar size, wonderful temperament for kids, easy to train, hardy dog etc. Not my style but they always get great reviews from families. If we were getting a dog we would probably get a lab. Good luck in your choices.
Mands - hope you are recovering and able to rest your rib.
Bec - we didnt find out the sex at our 20 week scan as Dan had put me on a buying ban anyway... lol. Yay on all the pink things.
Mel - how is work going? Settling back in?
Ros - how is the holiday?
I have my OB appt at the hospital today, just routine so not expecting much. All going well here pg wise.
Take care,
Sharna