The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: December 08 Parents # 37

peacey
Hiya! tongue.gif

I can never remember my password laughing2.gif

Fraggles, BIG huge GINORMOUS hugs bbighug.gif I hope everything gets better very very soon - that your family gets healthy and things improve on the finances front. It can seem really overwhelming sad.gif

Hi Sam! Just imagine how much more F will be eating once he starts running around heeheeeee he sounds so very cute! Keep the study up, you're doing brilliantly, you're a super woman. Congrats on your marks!! This goes for you too Nic!!

Nic how is study going? Congrats on the fab results too. You brainiacs!! Sympathies on the sleep front.
We're trying to be hard on F too with the sleep thing but this morning he just shrieked for 1.5 hours straight (4:30am-6am) and I mean shrieking and not crying, just yelling for his brekkie 'Tost? Tost? [toast] More some jam? MORE SOME JAM!!!!!! [SHRIEEEK] MORE SOME JAM!!!!" Arrrrggghhhhhhh sad.gif He loves jam. So how do you do 'controlled comforting' when your child isn't crying, he's just yelling for breakfast....at 4:30am? Like clockwork every morning? It's slowly killing us, really , it is.

Hi Maya, you've done so well with the big bed!! It'll be ages before we get one for F...will have to wait until he's a better sleeper first. Hope your placenta moves - I'm sure it will, but let us know how it's going. Yay on your pram! And especially on your mum too.

Hi ssorento!

Juz your holiday sounds fab. If we could leave the kids with someone for jsut a night we would, but well, there isn't anyone at the moment but maybe one day. It's a dream. Imagine all the sleeping we could do.

Why oh why does he sleep so well in his bed at daycare (they're all on little beds there not cots) but so crap at home?? They say he's the best sleeper there! I hardly believe them only I've witnesed the phenomenon myself. He is waking at 4:30am every morning on the dot, loudly shrieking for his breakfast. Oh dear. I don't know where he gets his energy from, he is never still (I'm still trying to get him into tv with no luck - what a bad parent eh) and only sleeps rarely. I had a melt down a week or so ago and just cried all night. I couldn't stop! Was just so tired. Got home from work really tired and strung out then had the kids being their most demanding - which is not unusual - but for some reason I just felt there would be no end in sight and that this is my life for the next x years with no sleep, no break and no fun. So I kept crying whilst I was making dinner, bathing them, playing with them and cleaning
(I'm a clean freak which doesn't help) and it was just bizarre. Poor hubby was beside himself as I hardly ever lose it. And I was really sore all over from a big fall I'd had (shamed to say I couldnt help picking the massive scab on my knee and elbow and now I Will Scar but oh well who looks at your knees at my age anyway??). Anyway I was fine the next day and back to myself but there you go. Sleeplessness is torture in some places and kills people and here we are...haven't had 4-5 hours straight sleep in at least 2 years.

In other things...I've quit my job - nope sadly I haven't won the lotto, I'm moving onto another job - but it was mega stressful resigning, but I'm looking forward to a new challenge. It's a oretty big step but I'm ready for it.

F eats like a horse but where does it all go?? Into all the running around and STAYING AWAKE I suppose! I just adore him, he is too too cute and his language is terrific to keep up with his big sister no doubt. He's started to tell us 'pooooo! poo poo!' when he's done a pooey nappy which is good so we get to it right away. Given that, we're going to start potty training this weekend, but how do you potty train boys?? Do they sit....? I wouldn't have thought so? Silly question I know.

Have a great night everyone and a lovely weekend too

mayahlb
waves.gif peacey - good news on the job but that's horrible about f still not sleeping much. sorry i don't have any tips. all i found way if tristan was waking at 4 (and eh does occasinoally) he would get a sippy cup of water and that's it. and i know what you mean about the energy, he has jsut learnt to run and has decided that that is how he will do EVERYTHING now. unfortunately he isn't as co-ordinated and we have had several face plants, last night's one resulting in 3 stitches on his forehead after he clipped the couch and cut his forehead open. he is such a boy though, was grinning within 5-10 minutes and was flirting with nurses even with blood gushing down his face rolleyes.gif i was hoping the pleasure of having a kid stitched up was going to be a couple more years in the future though. on the daycare sleeping well tristan will have an hour total at the moment there.
gtg he's got the salt from somwhere and is making a huge mess
maya
Nic&Al
Oh gosh, I don't know whether I'm coming or going these days - just spending a week with my wonderful, amazing parents to try and get centred again, and have put off a crappy assignment in the process. Oh well! sorry in advance for the lack of caps and probable spelling mistakes but I've had a few wines and am typing with the lights off cos it's too hard to ge tup and turn it on LOL.

Peacey - OMG, you poor thing! I can hear how much you need some sleep, poor love! Not sure what I would do with Haydie if he was waking that early - and not being upset just hungry... does he have a bottle anymore? or a sippy cup of milk? anything to get him quiet for at least another 30 minutes! he does have amazing language, although i'm sure you're not so grateful for it at 4am! Not surprised you had a meltdown, any chance of DH looking after the kids for just one night while you go to a motel and revitalise yourself? Then he can have a turn after you do?

Maya - oh gosh, T already having stitches! He's going to keep you on your toes! Hope he is recovering ok and not bothered by the stitches. How is #2 brewing?

Fraggles - I really hope something turns the corner for you guys soon, it's not nice being stuck like that. Fingers crossed something happens really soon xxx

Sam - well done on your assignment, I bet you keep them up! Nice for you guys to have easter together too. Em didn't even start weight=bearing until about the same age as F, and walked around 16 months so perhaps he'll just be a placid little thing like Em was (with a few tanties thrown in of course!). Must catch again soon - got a spare hour in there between work, study, kids, placements, Dh etc etc !!!

Ssorrento - yay, no inlaws! Bet you feel 1,000,000% better now they've gone too. Always weird having people staying in your house. How is the gorgeous Ollie going?

waves.gif to everyone else

Sleeping - OMG, we have Mr Jekyll and Mr Hyde here - some nights he'll do perfectly until at least 5:30 (thanks daylight savings glare.gif ), other nights he'll wake and it will be at least one hour, more like two, until he finally shuts up and goes back to sleep. Driving me bonkers, because his crap nights are invariably before my heavy day at uni or something else important. Day sleeps are (touch wood) still awesome of between 1.5/2.5 hours.

Food - another OMG, don't talk to me about food with this determined, grumpy littel bugger! He hasn't eaten more than 2 mouthfuls for dinner or lunch for over a week now, and is rarely eating more than 1 weektbix for breakfast! he will still have his fruit, yoghurt, crackers, and other snacks for morning and afternoon tea - but a proper meal? forget it. still loving his bottles though which is lucky. trying desperately not to get worried or stressed about it, but it's not really working... any hints? he just cries and cries when put in his highchair for luncho r dinner. no no no no and shakes his head. unsure.gif

Behaviour - he is a little bugger! who chucks paddies when he doesn't get his own way! I'm talking screeching in anger, foot stomping, followed by throwing himself on the ground TANTRUMS! God help me when he's 2...

Been lovely staying with my folks again - although sad today. Went to visit my grandparents in the nursing home and my beautiful nan had just had a fall before I arrived with the kids cry1.gif she had wrecked 2 fingernails and bled everywhere, plus whacked her elbow and wrist quite badly too sad.gif Poor love cried and cried when I got there and gave her a hug, wished I could do more for her sad.gif Thankfully her niece is the manager there and her grandson's girlfriend is a carer so they were both looking after her. Poor old soul.

Anyway, I'm rambling - and best get ready for an early night in case Mr Curls decides to throw a wobbly between 11 and 1 like he did last night cry1.gif Really need to put in a new pic to show you his hair, it's such a talking point - although Al is not best pleased because neither of us have a curl in sight so he's wondering about Haydie's paternity LOL

Have a lovely weekend ladies, will try and get back a bit more often!
mayahlb
nic - wow you sound busy. urg tantrums, T has stitches but still insists on banging his head against things when he dosn't get his own way and screaching at the top of his lungs. i'm at the point of just ignoring it completely as i jsut can't handle it much more laughing2.gif food - well tristan is pretty random still, didn't eat much yesterday buti have also given up stressing about that, though i go and weigh him about once a month and hmm he somehow managed to put on 370g in a week oomg.gif admittedly that was after he was sick. i have found though that he hates it when we try to feed him so he gets a spoon and has to attempt to feed himself. he's getting bigger and oesn't make too much mess now. also maybe try a little chair and table? tristan was much happier to eat at mum's when he wasn't strapped into a highchair. but then he is becoming little mr independant rolleyes.gif sleeping - well tristan is waking up about once a night atm (last night was 3am) and i just give him a cuddle and a drink and tell him to go back to sleep. he whinges a bit and then goes back to sleep. but i ahve found it is on the nights i have gotten up to go to the loo or wander around because i can't sleep that he wakes up, but being pregnant there is NO way i can hold my bladder until morning.

preganncywise - well everything is going ok. am starting to reach the over it point though and i still have 16 weeks to go (hit 24 weeks yesterday). i am bigger this time and well am stressing a bit at the size of this baby, it measured a week ahead in the u/s and well it feels long iykwim. this morning i could feel it at the bottom of my cervix and the top of my bump under my ribs. but i am jsut going to stick my head int he sand and ignore that at this point. i guess it doesn't help that i haven't had a proper fundal height measurement this time yet. and this one is soooooooo active, so i can't forget i am pregnant even when i am distracted by other stuff. i have a scan on the june 18th to check the placenta, but no-one seems to eb worried about ti so i am not going to stress until that scan is done. dh on the other hand is driving me nuts even though he is not doing anything, am blaming pregnany hormones. it's just minor things like last night him trying to take over the whole bed and not moving over. was very close to being brained with a pillow! laughing2.gif

ok so does anyone else have bubs that ahve taken to trying to put things over their heads. tristan attmpts to put his hat on and his shirts now. it's funny to watch. but he is so very determined to do things himself with no help from mummy, if i try to help he screams his head off. thankfully he is happier at daycare now, i can actually leave without him screaming, which is good because as of monday week he will be doing 3.5 days there. mum is leaving for perth on wednesday cry1.gif i am happy she is going down and it means hopefully she will be better healthwise and get a transplant soon but selfishly i jsut want her here and not so far away. am planning to try and go down when bub is a month old hopfully if not sooner is he has the transplant (i told her she can't have it between weeks 36 to the birth laughing2.gif).
well better go, dh somehwo managed to get to be the one to sleep in never mind i ave practically being up since 3am and was finally dropping off when t got up (he is so much happier in the morning with his big bed as he can get up out of his room and into the toy area)
maya
ssorrrento

Fraggles - hope things are improving for you. It must be such a worrying time for you, but things must start getting better soon. Always welcome to have a moan on here.

Maya - O is trying to put things on his head. He puts his hat on, and puts the straps of bags over his head and walks around carrying them. I'm trying to get him out of that, as I'm a bit concerned about the possible dangers. He will take his pj top off if left too long in his cot in a morning. Hope your mum has a safe journey to Perth.

Nic - yet again, you amaze me. Typing with the lights off! Is there nothing you can't do? So jealous that you get to spend time at your parents. Whilst I moaned when mum visited, I used to love visiting her. Her house was so 'homely', even though I'd never lived there. How's your grandmother? It sounds like she's getting some good care - she's lucky to have family around her. How's the sleep going? It must be so hard not knowing what you're going to get from H on a night. Oli is into tantrum territory now. In the shopping centre yesterday. He lays on the floor face down and pretend cries. V funny. Food - will H eat if you sit him on the kitchen workbench with you in front of him? I sometimes feed Oli there if I'm in a rush. How about letting him crayon after eating? Then he won't associate the chair only with food. And well done on your great results. A distinction feels so good, doesn't it?

Peacey - congrats on the new job. What are you doing? And I completely understand the tears. I've been close a few times recently, but I've put it down to PMT. You're doing well to cope on such little sleep. I couldn't do it. And what about your fall? Can you blame alcohol? Not sure about the jam situation. No idea whether this is appropriate, but could you leave a bottle of milk in his cot before you go to bed?

Samshine - I'm know you'll know from the first time around, but enjoy F while he's still not walking. I sometimes wish O was still less mobile, particularly when we're out and about. And it makes going for a walk in the stroller less viable, as he just wants to walk. He eats heaps too. We've been worrying about the amount he eats, so I'm glad F has a hearty appetite too biggrin.gif I bet you enjoyed Easter - I love it when hubby doesn't work on those holidays, but like you, they are few and far between. And congrats to you too on your results. Now you've set your standard, you can't slip!

Us - things are good. Had a long day with O yesterday as hubby was golfing and then floorballing, so didn't get to see much of him. Still, it was nice. Lots of cuddles and kisses and tickles. He was trying to put his tiny socks on his giant monkey. So funny. His eating is so much better too. We now all eat dinner together, and he's eating more lumpy food. Struggles if it's too dry though.

I'm going to be a bridesmaid at a friends wedding in November. She brought the second dress around on Sunday for me to try on. The colour of the first one didn't work with her dress. Unfortunately, I musn't have been able to hide my disappointment. It was a nice dress, but I knew as soon as I saw it that the style of it would make me look like a big huffer moose. Or in reality, a sack of spuds tied in the middle.
It's a chiffon 'baby doll' type dress that ties with a piece of chiffon, and so has no shape. And the hem is uneven and it fits badly around the arms so that you see your underwear. Which is fine if you have a lovely figure, which she does and so doesn't have to think about what'll suit her.
Yesterday she called and asked if I'd rather attend as a guest only. Apparently I was speechless when I saw the dress and she's been worrying about it as a result. So had I, as I realised that I had been speechless. When she asked me on Sunday if I liked it, I replied that it wasn't if I liked it, but that she liked it. Oops. It just came out because I didn't know what else to say.
Now I don't know if she doesn't want me to be a bridesmaid because I look so bad, or if she's genuinely wanting me to have a choice. I just don't want to let her down on her big day by looking a mess, but equally, it would have been nice to wear a dress that looked nice on me, rather than just looked nice. sad.gif Bummer. Not a good situation to be in.

Nic&Al
yyawn.gif yyawn.gif yyawn.gif yyawn.gif

God dammit Haydie is trying to kill me with sleep deprivation! 2 and a bit hours of whingey, sooking interspersed with screaming and 'mummy' - finally got to sleep at around 5:30 then Em gets up to the toilet and wakes me (and thankfully only me!) up again, poor love. Haydie managed to snooze until 7ish when Em got up again but boy does he owe me a super good lunch time nap today!

WHen I asked Al to have turn at going in to Haydie because my back was sore he said that was 'god's punishment for being dumb' mad.gif oomg2.gif because I hadn't given him any panadol. Needless to say he copped an earful. Prick.

To cap it all off I have buggered my back somehow and can hardly walk, sit, stand or lay without pain so didn't really even sleep because I couldn't get comfortable or move.

Now that I have got all my moans out of the way original.gif

Maya - dont' worry to much about bub's size, scans can be so inaccurate! We were told Haydie would be roughly as big as Em (9lb) and he was a tiny 7lb 12 original.gif Hope your placenta is in a happy spot though. Haydie also likes to put things on his heads, and shoes too - he prances round in Em's pink joggers quite a bit these days original.gif

Ssorrento - oh that's so awkward with the bridesmaid thing, have you talked to her again since? Perhaps you could ring her and say you'd really love to be a bridesmaid, but ask if you could go shopping together, so you can find something that she likes and something you feel comfortable in. Nothing worse than wearing a dress you don't like to such a big event. And I have to ask - what is 'floorballing'???

OK, better go sort out the squeals coming from Emma's room - she is starting to tease and provoke Hayden a bit and he squeals like a hyena and it does my head in on a good day, so heaven help them today!!!

Have a lovely weekend ladies,
Nic xx
mayahlb
oh nic - you poor thing glare.gif at Al though. i really hope your back is better soon and haydie decides that sleep is a good thing. tristan loves shoes too (i STILL can't find my other pair of goos shoes rolleyes.gif and handbags, you really ahve to watch him if we are arounf others as he will head straight tot he handbags to unpack everything)

ssorrento - maybe jsut talk to the bride again like nic says. bridesmaid dresses don't ahve to be all matchy matchy nowdays, they can actually look really nice if they are same colour but different styles (or as mine ended up same style differnt colours). maybe just sit down and have a good chat with her, maybe she thinks you don't want to be her bridesmaid anymore. hhugs.gif oli is sounding so cute at the moment

well tristan got his stiches out on wednesday then proceeded to pick the scab off and have it bleed everywhere (they do not make kid proof bandaids!). at least today it actually doesn't look too bad. he currently has a red marker though and it painting himself so it looks like he is bleeding rolleyes.gif he is finally starting to say a few things though. i figured out he has names for both the dogs, though most f his communication is point and whine. he does have differnt sounds i haven't heard before though.
gtg tristan is trying to type too
maya
fraggles
Nic - I can't believe Al had the nerve to say that to you.

Maya - Oh no at T picking off his scab. I know what you mean about bandaids, H jammed his finger in the cupboard and i wanted to put some antiseptic on it and a bandaid so he wouldn't lick it off, well the bandaid got pulled off and he licked off all the cream rolleyes.gif

I am a little worried about E at the moment, i she was complaining of a sore neck a few days ago so i felt it and the muscle was all tight and i felt a lump so took her to the doctors, the doctor said it was a lymph node and the one on the other side was sticking out a bit as well and her tonsils are swollen but not infected. He neck is not sore now, and her throat is not sore at all but the lymph nodes are still sticking out and her tonsils are still swollen, i have started her on the antibiotics so hope it helps, i had no idea tonsils could make the lymph nodes stick out.
samshine
Argh I never get in here enough lately. I always think I'll wait to post in the parents group until I've got more time, but I never get 'more time'! Will try harder

Fraggles - You poor thing, you are having a really shocking time of it. Your luck has to change soon. I hope things start looking up for you on the job/income front. Big hugs.

Maya - You have a live one there! Stitches already. How are you going since your mum left?

Nic
- Oh god I would have killed Al twice over. I hope he was apologetic? How's your back now?... E sounds like Charlotte with the provoking. I have days where I am consstantly separating him. She's either provoking him or trying to mother him - she's always trying to pick him up and drag him somewhere. Mind you, he's starting to give as good as he gets these days! Do you have any spare time next week to catch up?

Ssorrento - How'd the dress situation work out? It's a tricky one - I think Nic's suggestion is a good one, talking to her. I'm sure she wants you to be happy too. I'm glad someone elses little one is a mass eater. I have two huge eaters and while I know I am lucky I don't have to worry about how to get it into him, I feel like I am a human food conveyer belt and the words 'I'm 'ungry' (Charlotte) and 'more 'ood' (fintan) are heard a million times a day!

Peacey - No wonder you lost it and had a huge cry, you have had such crap sleeping issues, I seriously don't know how you do it. I think that would be me every day if I had to get up as much and as early as you. I like Nics idea about your DH and you each having a night to go off and sleep somewhere else and get a good sleep.... I saw on FB your status or something where you said you'd resigned, but didn't like to ask on your profile. Good luck with your new job -when do you start? - and good riddance to stress.

As for us? Well theres nothing happening here but study, prac, work, more study and the days whirling by. I feel like I need toothpicks to prop my eyes apart each day but I am loving child health prac and am surer each day I am doing the right thing career wise. Sleep in our house is hit and miss between the two of them, but I have nothing to complain about compared to some of your little night owls.

Ok, I have to go as I am going cross eyed here on the computer.

mayahlb

sam - wow you are one busy girl. it sounds like you are really happy with your choice though. i am sure you will one of those lovely chn's that everyone is always trying to see over the other's laughing2.gif we have yet again a new one at our center, not sure i like her. am missing mum like crazy, our phone bill is going to be hmm big this month i think. have rung her every 2nd day so far and she has only been gone a week. an yes tristan is a live wire, our house just does not feel big enough sometimes. am hassling ryan to fence off a section at the back of the house again so i have somewhere he can run crazy without me having to run 200m after him because he gas headed off down the driveway. he is faster then me at the moment. have not had to worry about exercise this pregnancy that is for sure.

fraggles - i want to know how daycare managed to get him to leave the bandaid on shrug.gif he yet again pulled the scab off, thankfully it is mostly healed underneath now. he'll have a good scar though. i hope em is feeling better, mum's lymp nodes would get big when she has tonsilitis, but if you are worried maybe a 2nd opinion might be in order. hope everything is going well with you

well i was suupose to start my new hours this week (have compacted them down so doing 3 full days and 1 half day), well that went out the window when i get a call yesterday at lunch to come pick up T as he is running a fever. so we are home again today as he was still running a bit of one this monring though i think it is going down. jsut seems like a random fever really, no other signs of illness shrug.gif me today after being woken every 1-2 hours would ahve liked to have gone to work laughing2.gif but oh well there is always tomorrow. is anyone getting stuck for ideas to entertain their bubs at home? tristan jsut wants to be outside most of the day and it is too hot and there is not enough shade over the front lawn for me to let him (and it isn't fenced so i end up chasing him down the driveway, through the bushes and away from other things). i seriously wish the pcyc kindy gym was open days other then thursday and tuesday so i could take him there and burn off some of that energy.
gtg he wants something, oh for his energy
maya
mayahlb
just had to come post this photo. found it on the camera from a month ago when i downloaded the pictures. oh so cute.

bbl hope everyone is well
maya
fraggles

Maya - Cute pic.

Not much different happening here at the moment. Be back tomorrow to post better hopefully.
fraggles
OMG i think i am going to go crazy. H can now climb on everything, he stands up on the kitchen chairs and makes me terrified he is going to fall, he likes to climb on the couch and then try to climb over the edge, he climbs the coffee table, he reaches the top of the bench and yanks anything down he can reach as also the kitchen table, everything was pulled out of all the drawers but now a couple have child lock things on them however he still gets fingers stuck in these and when he comes across one that doesnt have the lock on it, he yanks it out so hard it hits him in the head. rolleyes.gif I swear E never ever did any of this

Oh and the light switches, on off on off, god help me when he can open doors
kathryn-anne
HIYA
.......and well done to those few of you who are keeping the thread going!! I don't need to explain why I can't get on here anymore....I am lucky to brush my hair most days!!! It is mad crazy but I have lowered my standards and am coping sanely that way wink.gif .
Oliver is a darling, just a lovely boy. He is very smiley & unlike hugh who was frowny and suspicious. He yaks away a lot and is basically unflappable so he is a breeze....makes me want another one!.

huge, on the other hand IS A SHOCKER dev (6).gif dev (6).gif dev (6).gif Still insanely jealous and tries to steal everything Oliver has...his blankets, toys, dummy etc and tries to whack him on the head etc. Everyone said they would be 'best of friends' but I am starting to think not!!!! Hugh is basically an emotional wreck and majorly clingy, only wants me etc etc and therefore demands most of my attention. Poor Oliver never gets any!!

MAYA - BE PREPARED!
Peacey - hope the new job is going well - is it a career change too?
Fraggles - I hear you on the climbing on everything front, H is same but at least he is built like a brick s***house so not so worried about falls.
SAM & NIC - goodness knows how you are managing study too. Your DH must be more helpful than my (sometimes) t*at, that's for sure. I got reminded that I needed to lose some weight last week which I thought was particularly helpful.

He has been made redundant but there are plenty of jobs lined up so it is just a matter of which...still it is not ideal as we were going to knock this house over and build another one....but banks don;t like lending when you have only held a job for a year or so unfortunately.

I need some cooking hints for H if anyone has any suggestions...he has turned out to be a better snacker than mealtime boy so I thought savoury muffins recipes if anyone has any?

WILL TRY to be back more often (if I can ever remember my password!!!)

KT
mayahlb
KA - i have been having moments of wondering how the hell i am going to cope (particularly when the other half is not beig praticularly helpful). too late now though, 3rd tirmester is here so not long now. i think tristan is starting to realise soemthign is going on though as he is bit clingier but well i guess we will jsut have to see how it goes hands.gif

recipes, hmm i am after soem savory ones too. i think there are some on taste.com.au. here a couple though.
Vege Muffins
Ingredients
2 cups grated vegies (can be potato, carrot, zucchini, cauliflower etc)
1 ½ cups plain flour
3 tsp baking powder
1 cup grated cheese
2 eggs
1/3 cup olive oil
½ cup milk
Method
1. Pre-heat over at 180'C and grease the muffin tray
2. Mix vegies and 3/2 cup cheese with flour and baking powder
3. Whisk eggs, oil and milk and add to dry ingredients
4. Stir until combines
5. Spoon into try and sprinkle with remaining cheese
6. Bake for 25min or until golden
*TIP/NOTE/HINT*
Try adding a tbsp of honey to the mix

Zucchini muffins
Ingredients
2 cups flour
1 tsp mustard powder
2 tbsp chopped chives
1 cup tasty cheese
1 medium zucchini grated
2 eggs
2 tbsp olive oil
1 cup vege stock (250ml)
Method
1. Sift flour, stir in mustard, chives cheese and zucchini
2. Separately mix eggs, oil and stock. Add to dry mix and stir gently until combined
3. Pour into muffin try only filling the cups ½ way
4. Bake at 200'C for 25 mins or until golden brown

Carrot Muffins
Ingredients
½ cup pecans or walnuts
2 cups grated carrot
1 large apple, peeled and grated
2 cups plain flour
1 ¼ cup white sugar
2 tsp bi-carb.
½ tsp salt
1 ½ tsp cinnamon
1 cup coconut
3 lg. Eggs
¾ cup oil
1 ½ tsp vanilla extract
Icing
¼ cup butter
125g cream cheese
3 tbsp icing sugar
½ tsp vanilla extract
Method
1. Preheat over 180'C
2. Toast nuts until golden brown then chop coarsely
3. Peel and grate apple and carrot
4. Sift flour, sugar, bi-carb, salt and cinnamon together. Stir in nuts and cocnut
5. In another bowl whisk oil, eggs and vanilla. Fold wet ingredients, apple and carrot into the flour mix, stiffing until just moistened
6. Spoon into muffin tray and bake for 20-25 mins
7. Remove from try and cool for 10 min
Icing
Beat all ingredients together until fluffy

*TIP/NOTE/HINT*
This recipe doesn't need the nuts

also i know it isn't savory but try googling pear and rasberry bread, it is low sugar and sooo yummy.
hth
maya
Nic&Al
Dammit, just came in to post and Hayden's woken up! Typical timing of our household at the moment - cramming in some uni work while he's asleep.

Will do my absolute best to come in this week and do a proper post, maybe even a pic if I get organised enough. Sorry for being so useless, I do miss our chats original.gif
fraggles
Will try and get back with a picture later on tonight. Took E to the Dora concert this morning she had an absolute ball, loved it. H missed out i sent him to Creche as i could only imagine the destruction he would have caused in there, lol.
mayahlb
fraggles - sounds like e had a ball. t has started to learn to climb things too, he moved his highchair over to the kitchen table the other day, climbed up into it and got a hold of some permanate markers and drew all over himself. i found some marks still left over on his scalp today. and his currently obsessed with standing on everything even if it isn't stable and will cause him to fall over rolleyes.gif

nic - don't you love their timing. i was jsut about to fall asleep for a nap myself on monday (had a horrible day won't go into it but it sucked big time) and T woke up. hope you are going well

just thought i would pop in and say hi. my brain is being turned into mush at the moment at work so i needed a little break. not much happening really. am over the hormonal emotional outbursts pregnancy is causing, and tristan is having a few days where all he does is whinge (drove me completely nuts on monday), i think he is about to have a developmental milestone breakthrough as i think it is frustration hands.gif it has to be either that or teeth and i hope it isn't teeth as that would mean his 2 year old molars are coming through. my neice Eme is 1 on friday too, and she weighs more then Tristan and is wearing size 2 clothes (her mum has always dressed her loosly though) oomg.gif Tristan has jsut graduated into size 2 onsies because of his length. wow she must be going to be a big girl. got her some very cute clothes from best and less for her birthday, was a bargin, 2 tops and 2 bottons $18, and oh so cute.
well should go, am over work but omg it is less effort then looking after T at home at the moment (i hate saying that but it is true)
maya
fraggles
A couple pics

H wanting to wear his sisters nightie

At the park
mayahlb
fraggles - aw H is adorable. love the one with the nightie, that will be a great one to embaressing him with when he is 18/21

well it is official, my husband is from another planet. after informing me that the PIL's visit around when i am due has gone from a week to a month, he told me i have to respect his mum and not act like a drama queen when she comes as she has being through things i don't understand and he is not going to explain (the same woman that basically accused me of neglecting tristan and not being able to cope with one let alone 2 babies within a week of arriving for a "short" visit then staying 2.5 months even though i was hinting it was time for her to leave), and then stating that he doesn't go off about some of the things my mother has said/done. then he says something about making sure i love tristan as much as i do the other baby if it is a girl as he knows i really want a girl blink.gif. i was so stunned from all these comments i couldn't say a thing, jsut did what was normal for tristan in dinner/bath/bed and then went to bed with a headache. looking back on it now i am wondering why the hell i didn't just pick up tristan and leave stating that when he apologised for those comments and decided that he was from this planet again i would come home. i am so tired of his behaviour and stupid comments, i keep thinking it must be easier to be a single mum and not have to deal with this crap. he jsut seems to get worse the further along i go with this pregnancy, if he keeps getting worse by the end of it, he might find i go to perth to deliver because even with the wait for a new liver and she drives me demented when i share a house with her at least i won't be so stressed i don't want to go home some days.
ok have ranted a bit, sorry about that. jsut need somewhere to get it out. i did write out some stuff similar in a letter this morning for him (though not about leaving) so maybe it will actually get through to him hands.gif
maya
crisb1
Hi Maya, it's so good seeing you here. Not long now til number 2. Do you know if Pink or Blue?!
Cris x
mayahlb
hey cris, how's michala going? we didn't find out and hmm bub woulsn't ahve been co-operative anyway had it's legs crossed jsut like tristan?
waves.gif everyone else
maya
crisb1
H Maya, I remember Tristan had his legs crossed. Feels like yesterday?!

Michala's charging along. Running amok, having fun.
Is there a place I need to add my details to join here?

BTW, everyone, I'm Cris (Maya and I shared our first pgs in cyberspace) I have a daughter, Michala born 11th December, 2008
Cris x
fraggles
Hi Cris,
I had a DD who was born in July 06 and DS Hamish who was born 16 December 2008.

Happy Mothers Day for tomorrow.
kathryn-anne
Hi Maya, Hi Fraggles, Hi Cris....

Maya - OH DEAR re the DH issues :-(. I remember mine was particularly selfish and "foot in mouth"...eso with idiot MIL...but you know what?? After MANY arguments and unrest, he has now realized that she is a nasty woman AT LAST. It might just take a bit of time for Ryan to see the true colours....men need to realize that their wives now come first - not their mothers. (Even as a mother of two sons, I realize that one day this might be me!!!! eeeek) bbighug.gif

Cris - I have Hugh 15/12/08 and Oliver 18/1/10 ffear.gif

Fraggles - hiya there. I have lost the thread....did you finally leave that job you had (making you unhappy?)

HAPPY MOTHER'S DAY EVERYONE, hopefully no one gets lame old slippers or a new toaster .....

kt
fraggles
No not yet Kathryn-anne hopefully soon.

I already know what i am getting for mothers day, lol DH decided i needed a memory stick thingy for my phone so got me that unsure.gif It's my birthday in a couple of weeks so hopefully i get something good then.
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.