The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: December 08 Parents # 37

http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/forums/ind...howtopic=761648

mayahlb
hmm it is quiet

GOLD!

KA - hope your dh a helps out a bit more and the code brown eases up hhugs.gif

hmm can't remember anyone elses post. well i am working on a public holiday so unhappy. would have prefered to stay at home with my family. tristan is teething again, poor baby and has the sniffles as well. he was so restless last night with waking up and crying, even a does of panadol didn't seem to help much. he actually slept in until 7.25 this morning which is almost unheard of. but he was happy with daddy when i left even though i only 5 minutes of hugs before i had to leave. i really hope these teeth hurry up and pop through already, i hate seeing him in pain. he wouldn't sleep more then an hour yesterday either and was jsut generally out of sorts.
well better go an actually do some work. boo hoo
maya
peacey
Hiya
!
Sorry I've been so crap at posting. How are you all?

Maya crap you working a public holiday and I hear ya on the teeth!

F has his top and bottom molars coming through.

Kate, I can come and give your hubby a bollocking ok! So unreasonable for him to be demanding of you when you've got your hands more than full. huge hugs.

I can't remember the posts but will go back and look them up.

We had a scare last week spending a few days at the childrens with F, they gave him s cathetar and lumbar puncture testing for bladder infection and meningitis as he was so sick. Anyway he had neither and is better now. Just hard to have Gone through it and he still remembers it, he points to his back and tells me it hurts 'boo boop mummy' with the sad face. Heart breaking. It's still bruised.
I met Vince colossimo in there though and angus and Julia stone at a cafe in carlton. Odd. I was pretty distracted, red eyed, snotty and covered in angel cream at the time.

He's fine otherwise, has a big vocabulary to keep up with his sister I suppose and loves play acting. He likes feeding his Teddy and putting it to bed, also likes pretending he's putting stuff in the oven and then pretending to touch it 'hot hot!' then blows his fingers dramatically. Very funny. He is constantly taking his shoes and going to the front door, knocking on it saying 'knock knock' and telling me 'shz mummy 'shz 'shz shz out now'
(shoes). I did become one of 'those' parents when I nearly lost him at the shooing centre, he is so fast!! So I bought him...a backpack harness. HRmmmm Feels weird. Do I walk in front of, behind or next to him?? Then he still tries to dash off but falls over as he's on the 'lead' and I feel like the worst mum ever.

The big one is doing well, she seems to have settled into prep ok. I worry she's in after care too much but she loves it there and our house is cracking and it won't fix itself so...
She's going to be flowergirl at my sisters wedding and she's excited about that.

Sorry this has been a me me me post!!!!

Stay well !
Xo

fraggles
Oh Peacey that sounds so scary, so glad that F is ok.

ssorrrento
Morning waves.gif

Not been posting much. Things are fine. Will try to catch up. original.gif
mayahlb
ssorrento - great to see you are ok

fraggles waves.gif

peacy - omg how terrifying. poor f too.

urg i feel terrible this morning, tristan caught a cold from daycare orientation on friday and decided mummy needs it as well. probably has something to do with all teh big sloopy kisses he has insisted on giving everyone the past few days. he has cut 2 eyeteeth so just 2 more to go. hopefully they are over and done with fast, i am so tired of teething. then it is jsut the 2 yr old molars. and so much for my worry about his vocab, it still isn't real words you fully undertsand but he suddenly has a lot more words that he expects you to understand lol. he has started doing this cute thing the past couple of days too, he will grab the foxtel remote and point it at the tv, as if he is changing teh channel. so cute lol
well jsut popping in should be gettign organised to take t swimming and focusing on not letting babybrain rule the day like ti has teh past couple fo weeks on wednsday. esp. as i ahve a dr's appointment i need to remember to go to
maya
Nic&Al

Another crap non-poster here! Been so busy getting stuff done for school and kids and with Al working a couple of night shifts a week have little time to get on the computer!

Peacey - I saw your posts on FB about Fin, so glad he's ok now! Em had to have a lumbar puncture and catheter etc when she was 3 weeks old, never found what the cause of her weird infection was although they suspected strep b. Was a very scary week in hopsital so I can imagine how scary it would be fo ryou guys, and poor Fin pointing to his back - LPs would be painful I reckon!

Ssorrento - glad you're ok, was wondering where you'd got to.

Maya - daycare germs are the worst, we all have colds courtesy of H starting (at least that's what Im blaming it on). Get used to it for the first 6 months I reckon - when Em started she got every bug going and I was constantly getting called at work to go collect her.

Sam - how is uni going, you must be out on pracs already?

Kate - bop B on the head. You're doing a wonderful job with your two little boys and don't need any extra crap from him. Hope you're getting some sleep and that the feeding is getting better for you?

waves.gif to everyone else

Better go do some work, is meant to be my study day at home while Em at kinder and Haydie at daycare - very unmotivated though after a crap night with the boy. His last canine is coming through then all his teeth will be DONE and I can't wait!

samshine
Hands up here for another slack one. Our household is pretty frantic at the moment. I have a feeling all

WHoever said boys are worth with teething weren't joking. F and his molars have been a 2 week long event of drama and histrionics.

Nic - Hows uni going? Hows all the routine change going in the house? Everybody coping?

Kate - Um he needs harsh words. Or perhaps a day to find out how the other side lives. Can you leave EBM, go off somewhere (close by), relax, have some time out and return and give out about the lack of housework etc?

Peacey - Also saw your posts about Finn, what a horrible expereince, hope he forgets about it soon. Nice getting to meet Vince C though! Hope things are settling down for you after all the dramas.

Maya - I'm with you on the public holidays, I am working one here monday. I hate them, basically as a shift worker here your not entitled to pub hols so we don't even get a day off in lieu. If T is up to eye teeth already - chances are you'll get all or nearly all his teeth in before b2 is born - yay! Charlotte teethed like crazy during F's pregnancy but it was good as we only had one left to deal with with a newborn.

Fraggles
- How was your weekend away?

Hi Ssorrento

Kid wise things are fine here. Mums mental health dubious. I have spent mmost waking hours that I'm not working studying - or at least procrastinating! - We have to submit 4 graded critical thinking journal entries per week, let alone other assignements and prac.I'm sure i will settle into it but I can't seem to get a head space free of someone whinging at me. Have also had to run between, with 2 kids, drs and hospital to get all manner of immunisations - I think if aliens landed here I'd be immune to them.

ANyway just whinging, hopefully it will settle down sometime

fraggles

Sam - Weekend was great. biggrin.gif

Just planning a quick trip to SA at the moment would prob only stay for one night. Actually i need to make a few quick trips to SA this year. Got one in April, two probably in May, one in Sept roll2.gif

I think H is teething again as well, i was hoping to have a longer break before anymore came through, he already has 10 seriously how many does a baby need laughing2.gif
Gabriel'sMummy
Hi everyone.

It is frantic here at the moment, hence the lack of posts!

No time to post properly, but wanted to ask about teeth. Everyone's babies seem to have teeth coming through, except Gabriel. He has 6 (4 top and 2 bottom) and no sign of anymore. Should I be worried? Poor kid needs to start eating harder foods!

And I understand what you are saying Maya about T's words. I am reading about the vocab of the other babies, and thinking, G can't say any of this. He understands what we say, both english and spanish, but won't say words, only sounds.

Sorry about the selfish post.

Hope everyone is well. Peacey - hope F is ok? Its heartbreaking seeing kids like that. (I used to work in a kids hospital).

Have a good night. I willl be back soon to post properly.
mayahlb
waves.gif everyone

garbreislmummy - t has almsot the msot teeth at mother's group and he is the 2nd youngest. some of the other's only ahve about 8 or so. it's actually better for them to get teeth later, means they are exposed to plaque etc for a shoter time (though t gets his teeth brushed twice a day now)

fraggles - i know how you feel. tristan now has 12 with 2 more partially cut, i mean he can chew and eat almost anythign surely he doesn't need anymore tongue.gif

sam - wow you are busy aren't you. i hope it all settles down for you soon

nic - hope the uni work is going well

well tristan had his 1st full day at daycare yesterday. he didn't even notice when i left as he was too busy playing outside with the big kiddies rolleyes.gif they all said he went really well, though he only has 2 hours sleep total and he normally has 3-4 during the day, but he slept there, that is the important thing. all over is seems like he had a good day, and yesterday was soo busy at work i didn't have time to worry about him or even call them, everytime i did something else happened.
well i better go tristan is still in bed at 7 here (he hasn't made noises to get up, i think he went back to sleep) and i am feeling like crap from this cold as my head i now bursting and there is no panadol in the house. BUT i have my 19 week scan in 2 hours grin.gif will post piccies later (might not go to work today if i still feel like crap)
maya
mayahlb
urg i am so over tristan at the moment and the bloody MIL. she has him so ridgedly put in a routine i can't even take him into town on a bloody saturday morning without it all just going crazy! so far he has spent most of the morning since we got back just screaming, refusing the sleep and just basically running around getting into everything. and when i tell her i don't want him in such a ruotine that he isn't felxiable enough to go shopping then i get sputed a whole bunch on nonsense that MUST BE RIGHT BECAUSE A DR SAID IT IN WOMAN"S DAY rolleyes.gif This is MY child, I KNOW HIM BEST!!!!!!!!!!! LEAVE HIM THE HELL ALONE. frankly as i am paying for childcare i think i will jsut make up something he needs to do and get mum to look after him my half days so i can start weaning him away from her. esp. the whole give him whatever he wants, because he is having a tantrum. the whole reason he is having a tantrum is because of YOU and giving him stuff he isn't allowed. you tried to go buy him special treats today, i took teh bag with the reciept and took them back and told her he gets his vegies, cruskits and the NORMAL food we get at home. treats are not being introduced because if he understands they are there i will get more tantrums about them.
sorry a bit of rant but it's like she has no understanding about how i am raising him. and don't even get me onto ryan and him thinking i was going to allow him to give tristan chocolate soy milk (it has about 20% of an adult's daily intake of sugar in 100mls, dose he not remember what happened last time tristan got a hold of something like that). why is it i have to be the sensible one that banns everythign in this house.
maya
ssorrrento

Had a pretty full on time over the past few weeks. My inlaws are here and causing huge arguments between hubby and I. I didn’t want to come on here and just whinge, so thought I’d leave it a while till it calmed down and I could distance myself from it all.

Basically my FIL is a lazy, beer drinking, tv watching, officious buffoon. A big fish in a little pond at work, who since retirement, still thinks he’s da man.

Whist we are rushing around on an evening, cleaning the house, feeding and bathing Oli and trying to cook a meal that everyone will eat (in itself is a challenge as the MIL won’t eat Pork, Seafood, Chicken with any sauce, or basically anything that isn’t meat and two veg), he sits in front of the TV watching sport, beer in hand.

Hubby says they’re not here to help around the house, only to babysit Oli if we want to go out on a night. I think I’d rather pay a complete stranger that I’d dragged in off the street. I’m sure it’d be easier. To be fair, he has started to get the message from my stare burning into his forehead and my lack of interest in anything he has to say – I don’t think he’s used to it. He has started offering to help, but hubby always refuses, which annoys the hell out of me. Hubby gets then gets annoyed when I ask FIL to help, or say anything ‘challenging’ to him. Sorry honey, but I don’t think the world revolves around your father.

And I’ve just whinged. Oops. Only another week to go. grin.gif

Other than that, Oli is the clingiest baby ever, but utterly gorgeous and now with 2 molars and a total of 10 teeth.

Words – sta = star, boe = ball, muma, dada, rara = flower, doe = dog, balloo = balloon. Other words that I can’t think of at the mo.

Runs away from you when it’s bed time, loves playing outside, gives spontaneous kisses (including to girls at childcare). Adores books and will cheerfully have 20 or so stories read a day. Often the same ones!

And bizarrely, loves laying his head on my feet, or sticking my toe in his tummy button.

I’ve joined a swish gym – 4 weeks of running 4x/week, plus cross training and careful eating hasn’t shifted any weight. Was feeling pretty down after all the effort, so have been very extravagant and joined an all singing, all dancing gym which offered half price corporate membership to government workers. Yippee! Now I just have to go.

Ok, I will catch up and do personals tomorrow.
kathryn-anne
Oh Sarah, warm enveloping hug to you.
Anytime you want to write about in laws, just go ahead. I enjoyed your read...I would like someone with whom to volley the stories...because my MIL thinks that she is the Queen of All Women. I would love to rant on here and am keeping all her deranged emails so that oneday I can write a book. You, me and Maya can all write our memoirs HA HA HA Imagine that

Keep your chin up, it's just the same here in our house
KT
fraggles
Just a quick Hi, Friday's storm and subsequent flash flooding has taken out our adsl, both our modem and lines went, we now have a new modem but have to wait for the telecommunication company to fix the lines, so at the moment am stuck with dial up rolleyes.gif

Will be back on more as soon as this is fixed as dial up is painfull.
mayahlb
fraggles - that must be painful, hope your net is fully functioning asap

kathryn-anne - hugs - my MIL just thinks she know EVERYTHING abotu children and is the perfect parent, even though she treats her 36 yr old son as teenage boy rolleyes.gif

ssorrento - if it gets too much feel free to come on here and rant, as you can see i ahve been doing it when it gets too much, mainly to stop myself from snapping her head off really. hmm i would not be impressed with him not doing anything as well, yes they are your guests but normally polite guests offer to help (at least that is how i was raised), and you help out if it is family. hhugs.gif hopefully not too much longer, my MIL is leaving in 11 days grin.gif

well t is cutting the last 2 eye teeth poor bub and still has a very runny nose. but he is better mostly cold wise. but OMG the smell of his no 2's atm, i can't go anywhere near him as ryan has had to change the majority of them as i almost covered the poor boy in vomit as well. ms has come back a bit, which is driving me crazy, i have actually been enjoying being pregnant. i had my scan on friday and everything was normal and good. only thing was i started feel horrible during it (went for 1.5hours as bub wouldn't co-operate) and ended up going home with a migraine, so i didn't enjoy it heaps.
well hoep you are all having a good day, am off for some morning tea i think
maya
mayahlb
maya
fraggles
Horray we finally after 5 days have back our adsl.

Maya - what a pain about the ms coming back. Hope T's tooth cuts through soon.
Nic&Al

Stupidly busy here, so haven't had time to post sorry. Just wanted to do a quick:

Ssorrento - big loves to you re: the in laws. They sound horrendous and stupid, and I hope they go soon! Good luck with the gym, you can do it original.gif It's something just for you, which often helps me stay motivated.

Kate - how are your munchkins? Hope your MIL has stayed well away of late, she is a complete nutcase. Might have to peck your brains about chooks soon too, thinking of getting some feathered family members.

Fraggles - ergh dial-up, poor you! Hope it's all fixed again soon!

Maya - I bet that 11 days can't go fast enough, your MIL sounds like a pain too.

MILs - well we haven't spoken to Al's mum for maybe 6 months or more, except once on Christmas day. She didn't send either of the kids a birthday card or present, didn't even ring them, so she is just about out of the picture altogether. Make life easier for me I can say original.gif

waves.gif to everyone else!

Better go, things to do before bed time and I'm moving soooo slowly because I joined a Mixed Martial Arts class tonight that covers Thai kickboxing and Brazilian wrestling so I am sooooooore and will be even more so tomorrow. Loved it though, can't wait to go again!

Take care ladies, think we might need to do a pic theme so we can check all our cuties out again!
mayahlb
fraggles - yah to adsl being back grin.gif

nic - oohh not having to deal with an MIL, bliss. i find her fine when she only comes for SHORT visits and lived interstate lol. though we are going to nsw for christmas this year and hmm, she is already organising things rolleyes.gif she was a bit put out when we told her we were not jsut coming over to visit her, but to go to tassie for a bit of blelated honeymoon (even if it does have kids attached), and that we were also going up the coast to visit my rellies. whys he thought we would spend 5 weeks jsut with them is beyond me. shrug.gif

well my pram is supposedly on it's way to the USPS tomorrow and then from them to me. finally. though it isn't the people who i ordered it from's fault. apparently baby jogger grossly underestimated the popularity of the pram. but lucky i got in when i did as baby jogger have just told them they are now longer allowed to sell their prams to australian customers (and apparently almost cancelled their account with them). mainly because it go out on a forum. oh well it should be here soon. which is good as i have already sold my old pram laughing2.gif
well gtg work finishes in 10 mins
maya

eta - nic - how about a theme of our little helpers wink.gif got this fantastic picture of tristan with the broom and dustpan as he loves to sweep the floor too. jsut need to download it from the camera
fraggles
Maya - Yay to your pram arriving soon. Photo theme sounds good, will have to see what photos i have or take a new one H does love to help with the vacuuming.

Nic - You sound really busy, i don't know how you do it! Good luck with the Martial Arts class, i thought about joining one once, but couldn't find anyone to go with me.
fraggles
sad.gif I am now having a really bad day today. At the moment it is not something i can talk about on the boards though cry1.gif cry1.gif

Sorry girls just had to get some of it out.

Will be back later, hopefully feeling a little bit better.
mayahlb
fraggles :bighugs: hhugs.gif we are here anytime you need to talk (or can)

well t is still teething. pop though you bloody teeth so he isn't in so much pain or unning the horrible fever from it. ggr
maya
samshine

Just popping in to touch base and say hi waves.gif

Bit snowed under here with everything, I keep meaning to come in and post but I feel like every spare moment at home at the moment is study time. I don't think I was prepared for how much time this course was going to take up.

Well, will be back soon as I can for personals but since I am working or on prac or study days 8 of the next 10 days, it's just finding time roll2.gif

Fraggles - Big hugs, I hope things work out ok... Anything at all we can do???

I hope all the mums and tots are well, can't believe how quiet we are.
mayahlb
urg well we had a nice crappy weekend. tristan ended up in hospital on saturday. bloody daycare bugs. he started running a temp thursday arvo, was crook friday with a high temp (1st visit to the hospital, only to be told it was viral and to come back if he got worse), then saturday he got up was completely un-coordinated, wouldn't drink anything or eat anything and his temp would not go down and then he started to vomit. so back to the hospital and we got seen within 20 mins. and by midday he had a NG tube down (that was hugely traumatic lets jsut say) and was been given gastrolyte. his temp finally went down after panadol and some antibiotics (given just in case). so we stayed saturday night and they let him out last night as he was all better and literally starting to try and climb the walls. and i personally hope i NEVER have to do that again. oh and of course now i feel like i have caught the bug

fraggles - hope it is alright hhugs.gif

sam - hope the prac goes well
maya
ssorrrento
Morning :waves

Maya – Wow – sounds like you had a fun weekend. Not. How is T now? I’m wondering it it’s the same thing that O has had. We thought that it was teething with his molars, although he’s had really stinky breath, temperature, sore throat, so off his food, but drinking heaps of water. He hasn’t been vomiting though. He seems to be over the worst of it. So was it definitely viral? Like T, he’s been sleeping in too, which has been great. Although he only seems to do it when it’s hubby’s days to have him. Typical rolleyes.gif They’re just so whingy, aren’t they? O loves the Foxtel remote too, and screams if you try to take it, although we tell him it’s mummies or daddies, say ‘ta’ and hold out our hand. It mostly does the trick. And the sleeping at day care. O only used to have 2x 30 min sleeps when he was there. Luckily, it didn’t seem to phase him. Strangely, since he’s moved to the next room up and has to sleep on the floor, he’s sleeping a lot longer. How are things with the MIL? Count down! And glad to hear the scan went well – shame you’re starting to suffer again though. Never had migraines, but they don’t sound nice. The pram sounds pretty cool. Bet you can’t wait.

peacey – how are the molars progressing? The LP sounds a nightmare, poor love. Has he forgotten about it yet? He sounds pretty advanced with his play acting. The most we get from O is him loving his teddy. We’re thinking about some kind of harness too. Yesterday I had to put his belt through the loop on his trousers as he refused to hold my hand.

Nic – so H nearly has all this teeth? You lucky lucky lady. Are you enjoying the study? Is it easy to keep motivated? Sounds like you have the IL situation sorted too! And LOL at your kickboxing/martial arts. Do you picture anyone in particular when you’re kicking the hell out of things? Good idea on the picture theme. How about ‘blurry picture of toddler as they once again approach the camera too quickly for you to take a decent piccie’?

Sam – another one who deserves a medal for how much stuff they can fit into their life and still find time to turn on the ‘puter. It tires me just reading about what you and Nic have on your plates.

Gabriel'sMummy – O has only recently got 2 molars, and they’re not through enough to make a difference, so I know what you mean. We’re still having to mush his food well or he can’t eat it. Gets a bit frustrating

Kate – love the sound of the book. The MIL is pretty ok, tbh, other than food fussy. She completely understands how I feel, and isn’t too keen on him herself. Poor thing is trapped in the marriage. It’s the FIL that’s the PITA. Roll on Thursday. Whoo hoo – I can walk around in my undies once more. I dreamt that he walked into our bedroom to use the bathroom whilst I was laid naked on bed, and no one said anything to him, roll2.gif I can’t even sleep without him encroaching. How are things at home? Have things settled down?

Hey Fraggles. Hope you manage to sort whatever’s getting you down. bbighug.gif

Me – had a hectic week of lunches, dinner and cinema. (trying to get the most out of the free babysitting that the inlaws offer – they’re not all bad :wink:) Managed to go to the gym every other day, which feels good, and starting to feel that all the exercise is starting to have an effect, although after all the dining out, I think I’ll just break even! O had been really off himself. V. clingy and whingy. Just not a happy chappy. Had to collect him from daycare last week due to his temp.

So - Question re sick toddlers – would you have taken him to the dr’s in this situation? Temp of 38 on Tuesday PM, off his food and very tired, but Panadol reduces temp. Crying through the night, but Panadol helped. Temp of 39 Wednesday. Seems to have a sore throat and off food, but Panadol again reduces temp. Some crying during night. Almost normal temp Thursday, eating a bit better, but sore throat still there. No crying through night. Friday – normal temp, eating better, went to childcare and was just clingy. Really smelly breath til Saturday. Because he was alert and interested in things throughout, and the Panadol reduced the temp, we didn’t take him to the drs, because we didn’t want to put him on antibiotics if we could avoid it. Had his temp continued on Friday, we would have. Also, I’ve phoned the Health Direct help line in the past, and they’ve just told me to use Panadol to reduce fever unless the temp is over 40. I could tell the MIL thought he should go to the dr’s, but she didn’t say anything, so I’m doubting our decision. What would you have done?
mayahlb
ssorretno - i think what you have done with O is right. if it had continued i would have taken him to the dr's. T had a deadline of being better by friday with his cold or a trip the dr's was in order. insetad he came down with another bug. the main reason i took him to the hospital (couldn't get into the dr's) was the way he started vomiting. he had actually been sick since thursday but seemed ok, was still eating a little bit and drinking alright, but then friday arvo the temp went up to 39.5 and took over an hour to get down to 38.9 and then he suddenly just vomited, with no indication that it was a gastro thing. so then i carted him in to be told it's viral. he didn't sleep very well that night and then the next morning when he got up he was well, un-coordinated for some reason and it set of my radar. i said give it 2 hours and if he isn't better he is going in again. then his temp climbed to over 40 and he couldn't keep anything down, adn woudn't eat or drink. and basically within 20 mins of being at the hospital they said he was dehydrated. also he had managed to loose 0.8kg in those 2 days, as they weighed him on friday adn he had gone down to 9.7, then saturday he was 9.4 and had huge bags under his eyes. poor baby really. i guess i just say follow your instincts. like i said i had the nurses asking me what had made me brought him in and i coudn't really pinpoint what it was, but i jsut felt something was really not right. and believe me when i saw them wrap his hands in bandages so he wouldn't be able to pull the nasal tube out and he let them, i knew he was pretty sick. also i think a lot of dr's these days like to encourage kids to get over bugs by themselves to develop their immune system, and well i prefer antibiotics to be only gien if they are really needed

hope that helps a little anyway. also he has now got 3 points on his gums from canines. and gastrolyte really makes babies smell weird and stinky.
maya

eta - i have got an absolute classic photo of T with the remote pointing it at the tv. he figured out that is what you are suppose to do with it lol. should really download everything from the camera.
ssorrrento
Maya - sounds like a nightmare for you guys. And to loose so much weight. I forgot to ask - did you get those DVD's? I sent them ages ago.
mayahlb
i sent you a pm, i must have done something wrong. yes they arrived safely. i might even use them after i have this bub wink.gif oh and would you believe after being on the gastolyte from 1ish on saturday until 9 on sunday he had put the weight back on. was coming up as 10.2kg. so it was mainly fluid loss from being dehydrated, no fat loose, which is good because he doesn't really have any extra.
maya
fraggles
Ssorrento - I would have probably taken H to the doctors but that is given his past with recurrent ear infections. For a child with no history of recurrent ear infections or tonsilitis i think you probably did the right thing.
mayahlb
just popping in to say hi. now have tristan's flu, so feel like very bone in body is aching
maya
mayahlb
hi again waves.gif
wow it is quiet in here.
just have a question? did anyone have a low lying placenta when they had bub's? i can't remember, but just found out that my placenta is low lying this time. i was wondering if anyone knew how far it has to be away before they let you ahve a natural birth? i have a dr's appointment april 1st so will ask then but was jsut wondering if anyone knew here. i know it will move, and they are going to check it at 36 weeks but was jsut wondering.
Tristan has suddenly got really clingy too, he was so very unhappy to be dropped off at daycare yesterday and just seems to want me or ryan all the time.
gtg T is up from a nap
maya
fraggles
Maya - I had a low lying placenta with E about the same gestation that you are now and by my scan at 36 weeks it had moved up out of the way and i had a natural birth. Try not to worry too much as there is heaps of time for it to move up out of the way.
mayahlb
hope everyone is going well.
maya
samshine
Hi guys, wow it's quiet in here.

Maya - Hope you're feeling better? Nothing worse than sickness on top of pregnancy. How's Tristan now poor mite, that sounds like a rotten round of gastro. C has it here at the moment.

Fraggles - How are you? Are things any better

Ssorrento - lol on the whingy bit - males wink.gif The mat on the floor at day care was my biggest worry about F going up a room. Since he doesn't even sleep in his pram, or the car, only his cot for me I was sure he wouldn't sleep on a mat amongst children playing. The carers said they'd try first, but take him back to the baby room if he didn't sleep. Lo and behold, he's sleeping no problem, I couldn't believe it! Good on you on the gym, I have seriously dropped off, I need to find a form of exercise I can do during nap time here.

Nic - Hows uni life? Hows Al coping with things with all your extra study/uni? We'll have to try and coordinate a catch up soon.

Kate - Hope the boys are going well

Peacey - Is Finn sleeping any better? Loved your FB pic in the irish jersey.

Us - Well, I finally have a day off with the kids today, and Charlotte has gastro. We have gone through a million towels and clothes this morning and I'm just waiting for F to start. DH and I had some kind of bug last week and were both nauseous so guessing its the same thing. Lovely.

On the up side, I am loving the child health prac, and its making the huge volume of study and time input worthwhile. I don't feel like I have moment of free time night or day, but I keep telling myself short term loss, long term gain!

Ok, better stop procrastinating study, hope everyone is well original.gif
Nic&Al

Finally get a moment to come up for air! So sorry ot have been MIA lately, I do have a wquick read every few days but don't really have time to post as I'm either reading at uni or while Haydie is napping and I'm meant to be working.

Sam - poor you guys with the gastro, I hope C is better soon and F miraculously avoids it. Such a nasty thing, especially for little ones to get. Great that you are loving the uni work and it's making the end goal that much easier to imagine. I share your mantra of 'short term loss, long term gain'!! Are you into pilates at all? I sometimes squeeze a quick pilates DVD in while the kids are in bed of a night. Or if you're feeling aggressive you can come to a kickboxing/brazilian wrestling class with me on Wed nights, 5-6pm!

Maya - hope you guys are all well again too, nothing worse than being pregnant and sick. How scary with T's visit to hospital, that would have been awful. A friend of mine had placenta praevia (however you spell it) with her last pgcy, and ended up on bed rest and an emergency c-sect - don't mean to scare you, but sometimes they don't move. Am sure yours will though, as hers was pretty uch right over her cervix the whole time.

Ssorrento - how is Ollie now, sounds like he was quite miserable for a few days there. I probably wouldn't have gone to the doc either, although if there had been vomiting or lethargy then I might have. Good work on the gym too, I piked out last night, just couldn't be bothered. Inlwas gone yet? Can't believe he was even in your freams, bit of a big sign he was really encroaching on your life!!

Fraggles - ar eyou feeling any better after your rough time? I hope things are working out for you guys.

Peacey - how's things with you guys?

Kate - hello supermum! Organised that trip to Tas yet?

Big hi's to everyone else, we seem to have dwindled down again haven't we.

AFM - uni is going ok, got a distinction for my first assignment which was a nice way to start off biggrin.gif . Keeping on top of the work so far, but can see it's going to get waaaay busier next semester. Haydie is back to being a sh*thouse sleeper, last night I think I got about 2 hours sleep between his screaming sessions, Al roaming the house wide awake (nightshifts screw his body clock), then the cat escaping from the laundry and meowing his head off at me at 4:30am glare.gif Haydie has all his teeth now which is great, but it doesn't seem to be helping his sleeping at all so we're going down the' tough mummy' approach now and letting him cry a bit more. He's chatting away though, still not many words, but more things are becoming recognisable each day which is sweet. He says Mummy, Memmy (Emma/Emmy), Daddy, yuck wacko.gif , no, broom (cars/trucks), and a whole range of animal noises. He's just discovered a love of dinosaurs too, although he gets really scared when Em makes the growling dinosaur noises LOL.

OK, best go read some mind-numbing crap about nursing in the 1960s wacko.gif Can you believe I have to do a 2 hour exam on this crap?

Have a great weekend ladies xxx
~Fuzjuz~
waves.gif morning

Been a sick week here for us. T has temps of high 39 oomg.gif so she was home tuesday & wednesday. Haylee came down with the same thing friday & saturday & Kane has it now. sad.gif He's very tired & warm but no where near as hot as the girls.

Dh & I have been together 20yrs so I've just booked a 5nights stay at The Meridian in November. tthumbs.gif ddance.gif eexcite.gif I can't wait. Planning on doing the Raintree tour & the Low Isles tour. Relaxing, swimming & NO KIDs. biggrin.gif Plus the apartments don't take kids under 16 so even better. biggrin.gif

Hope you're all well, have been lurking. blush.gif Enjoy your sunday. I'm off to town shortly to get birthday cards & some supplies for Easter Hat making. rolleyes.gif
mayahlb
fuzjuz - oh i hope you are all better soon. bugs this time of year suck. sounds like a lovely relaxing time you are going to have

nic - wow it sounds like you are busy. H sounds so cute having discovered dinosaurs, tristan has jsut started making all these vroom vroom noises with his collection of trucks and tractors. they are his faviourte things at the moment

sam - oh i hope you housefold are all better now. gastro is nasty. T had the flu though poor thign. we are all FINALLY better in this hosuehold though i still have a day of anti-biotics left for the sinus infection i got

well i can tell you tristan get scared silly from teh smoke alarm. the stupid thing went off this morning for no reason. they jsut don't seem to work properly in this house. this is the 3rd one we have had. and we only replaced the battery 2 weeks ago because it started going off for no reason. hte other one we had that was plugged into the mains power with batter backup used to go off within 5 minutes of being clicked in. grr. dh was great though wub.gif he told me to go back to bed and looked after T as it was 4.30 and there was no way t was going to go back to sleep. was looking back over his little baby photos and having a gooey session yesterday. oh and my pram has arrived in australia grin.gif it's at mascot waiting to go through customs at the moment before being sent on to me. hopefully by courier and NOT australia post, as they are just useless. tristan is making a lot more noises now which is great, and will babble stories on the way home from work. oh and we had an appointment with the pediatric dietican (i requested the appointment when he was 8 months old rolleyes.gif ) and she said he is going well with his diet and to just try boosting his dairy, with yoghurt and hiding some cheese in his food and to make sure he is getting a total of about 500-600mls of milk a day and to try and up his protien with nuts, meat and canned fish. he's dopped off his curve lately weight wise but he was sick so he will probably pick it up again. well needless to say we have been going through milk like you wouldn't believe though he will not drink the lactose free cow's milk if he has a choice, loves his soy milk though.
also in other news, mum has been told as soon as she gets to perth she will be on the transplant list, so that is great news. we are just trying to organise everything for her now. i'm sad that she will miss out on bub being born but i just hope it all happens fast and it is all good news for her from now on. i am thinking about flying down for a week's visit after bub is born, though how i would handle 2 kidlets on a plane is beyond me at the moment.
well should go, there is never-ending housework to do and Tristan makes sucha mess. i think i am going to start trying to teach him to put his toys away before bedtime.
oh here is a recent picture, not a greta one of me but wow tristan looks tall when i carry him, he looks much samller when ryan is carrying him

maya
fraggles
Just a quick one for me, i have been struck down with something. DH has tonsilitis, i thought i would escape anything because i had my tonsils removed about 12 years ago, but i feel so sick right now.

Juzzy - Wow that place looks great. Sounds like you and DH will have a fantastic break. Hope your kids are on the mend soon.

Maya - T does look tall in that picture.
mayahlb
fraggles - hope you are feeling better soon hhugs.gif

jsut found out that chicken pox is making it's round around town. i bet tristan will be down with it within a month rolleyes.gif thankfully i am immune as i had it twice as kid, i am just sooo not looking forward to him getting it, how are you suppose to stop a 15 month old from scratching. oh and i swear he is about to ahve ANOTHER growth spurt, at this rate he is going to be my height at 6 lol.
well just popping in, am pretty tied as just cleaned the house as i don;t have any other time to do it lately. house to myself (well and tristan) tomorrow.
maya
mayahlb
i was just wondering what people are doing for lunch and snacks at the moment? tristan normally gets either yoghurt and fruit, just fruit, walnuts, or a muslie bar at the moment for a snack (though he is currently obsessed with peas and jsut ate 1/2 cup for a snack). i'm jsut looking for some ideas of easy to make/carry stuff. luch is whatever i can come up with in the fridge and can be leftovers a lot of the time. though i jsut made up a bunch of fish cakes with vegies and froze half of them. any ideas? also tristan won't eat sandwhiches, which is very annoying when we are going somewhere so i need ideas for portable lunches (i take his lunch to mum's when she looks after him in the arvo)
maya
Nic&Al

Just a quick reply for Maya - will try a proper reply tomorrow after assignment #3 complete.

Have you tried mini quiches, little fritters with grated veg, scrambled/poached/boiled egg, cubed cheese with dried fruit, pikelets, ANZAC biscuits, banana/carrot cake, fruit muffins, raisin toast. Kids often don't mind if something we would eat hot is actually cold!

Also - Maya, T should have been vaccinated against chicken pox so hopefully you will be fine!
mayahlb
nic - the chicken pox one isn't until 18months cry1.gif am going to ask teh chn about it tomorrow. it's not so much that i mind him getting it, it is more i shouldn't be exposed to it being pregnant and all. have to find my paperwork to see how my immunity is and am going to ask teh dr on thursday at the next appointment. i will ahve to try mini quiches again, the last lot gave him well some problems.
gtg T's dinner is on teh stove
maya
mayahlb
good news am immune to chicken pox so if he gets it, well i don't have to worry about anything but him getting better.

oh anyone else having sleep issues???? t has turned into a nightmare with his day sleeps. soemtimes he has one very short one, sometimes two very short ones, sometimes tries to ahve none and then will ahve a day where he sleeps for ages. it is driving me crazy.

happy easter
maya
fraggles
Maya - H is only having one short day sleep now, his big sister has a longer day sleep than him rolleyes.gif

Happy Easter everyone.
ssorrrento

just a quickie

Maya - snacks - yoghurt and fruit, custard, prunes, sultanas, banana, plums, mixed beans. All of these are portable. For lunches - Avocado and tuna or chicken, bread and cream cheese, marmite, vegimite, jam etc, leftovers, spaghetti or beans on toast. Sleeping - Oli went through a nightmare week of only one day sleep of around 1 hour. We persevered and have mostly got him back to two sleeps of over 3 hours in total. Although yesterday he refused to play ball.

Fuzjuz - your holiday sounds lovely. Bet you can't wait. And no kids!

Fraggles - Hope you're feeling better soon. :bighugs:

Nic - inlaws gone, whoo hoo! Is H sleeping better?
mayahlb
waves.gif everyone

ssorrento - waves.gif thanks for the food ideas.

fraggles - aww i hope H's sleep gets longer soon

well tristan slept in his big bed last night tthumbs.gif ok so it did take us 45mins to convince him he had to sleep there but he stayed there all night and was happy in the morning as he could get up himself. day nap on the otherhand well that wasn't going to happen, so he got stuck in his highchair with a hot cross bun while i cut up everything for the slow cooker. turned around and he is fast asleep rolleyes.gif so he is now sleeping in his big bed for his nap.
gtg am running late, i am always running late these days, there is just not enough time
maya
samshine
Hi girls.

Maya - Go Tristan on the big bed, clever boy! Day sleeps are variable for us too. Some days he'll need 2 still, most days one nap 1-2hrs, but other days he completely refuses but in a shocking mood for it. Its frustrating. Great news about your mum being on the transplant list, when does she leave for perth? I love the pic of you, T and bump - fantastic sky in the background.

Ssorrento - Must be nice having the inlaws gone!

Fraggles - Are you feeling better, hope you didn't get sick too?

Juzzy - Hope everyone at your place is better. Wow, that will be a dream trip away, ah the peace. 20 years as well, that's fantastic.

Nic - You sound as though you're doing brilliantly at keeping up with uni, well done. Are you enjoying it? Congrats on the distinction too. I was thrilled to get one too for my first assignment, but I have a feeling in my case, the marks will trend downwards!! Can't believe Haydie has all his teeth, you must be relieved.

Thanks everyone for giving ideas to Maya for snacks, I am completely unimaginative with feeding little people so realised there are so many more things out there.

As for us, all is good. We had a quiet easter, which was nice. It was the first in years I didn't work, which was a novelty. F is pretty good, we've had some bad nights lately but I think its teeth. He's growing madly, and the amount he eats is phenomenal, he eats more than me for a meal, and is constantly hungry like his sister. He's still not walking tongue.gif , his limit is supported standing, which I'm totally not concerned about. So glad he's a 2nd child though I would have been beside myself if Charlotte at the same age hadn't been walking at this age. He's proving to be a much more relaxed personality than his sister, but ilike her is still capable of some impressive tantrums.. must be the red hair.

Anyway, there goes an hour of my study time procrastinating on EB. Hope everyone had a great Easter.

fraggles
Hi everyone, well DH and i are over our illnesses now he had tonsilitis and i had pharyngitis. Kids so far have escaped both.

Otherwise i am still a bit of a mess at the moment, crying at every little thing. H lost his new shoe in the lake on Good Friday and that ended in me in tears rolleyes.gif i am just waiting for things to get better income wise but we will get there, we have to.
mayahlb
fraggles hhugs.gif i hope thigs get better soon
bbl to post better am at work
maya
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.