Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Car seat up to 36kgs?
Essential Baby > Tips & Questions > Car Restraints
mumzy09
I only caught part of the segment, but on sunrise this morning the carseat laws were mentioned and it was said that there will be a new seat up to 36kgs to accomodate bigger children until 7yrs old.

Does anyone know anymore on this? What kind of seat will it be?

Cas Cas wub.gif
sebela
It's part of the new standard released yesterday (or day before?). But I don't think anyone has released an actual restraint yet, that may take a while unless someone has one already made and tested and has just been waiting to be allowed to rubber stamp it. There are restraints sold here that are rated higher OS so it is conceivable but personally I expect we will have to wait for such a restraint to hit the market.
lsolaBella
Yes the standard has been updated Wed this week to include a new type of booster for children up to 138cm and 36kg.

Like PP mentioned it will be interesting to see if a seat like the HiLiner (which is sold as a 54kg/160cm booster seat The Parkway in the US) will be re-packaged or if they will bring out a whole new line of seats.

The actual 36kg seats are meant to accomodate children 4yrs -10yrs (as they are considering in a few years after people get over the shock of needing to keep their children in boosters to 7yrs to extend the requirement to 10yrs cool.gif )

Im A Mummy
So it is the law now to keep your child in a booster seat until 7 years of age?

What are your thoughts on that? My daughter is only 3 and wants to seat on the normal care seat already!! LOL
lsolaBella
Up until 4yrs of age a child is required to sit in a seat with Inbuilt 5pt harness wink.gif . No booster seat, let alone sitting on the 'seat' for your 3yo.

I think that 7yrs for booster seat is INADEQUATE. The law should be to 10-12yrs and/or 135/145cm (whichever occurs first).

3_for_me
Im A Mummy I think you need to read the new laws, if your daughter is in a booster already not only is it dangerous but it's also illegal
gab7
So thats why everyone keeps telling me about some new seat ... We will just have to wait and see I hope they do bring out something soon !!
gab7

I think that 7yrs for booster seat is INADEQUATE. The law should be to 10-12yrs and/or 135/145cm (whichever occurs first).
[/quote]

I AGREE !!!! I personaly think its a height thing they need to be able to use the adult seat belt properly . I guess the ages they have given for the new laws are what the manufactuers recomend for the seat but its just an average! I think the laws should be bassed on height and weight not age !!! and they reckon most people wouldnt know how heavy or tall there child is! I think it would be soooo much easer to say your child has to be so tall or so heavy before they can move in or out of their seat . saying they can be 4ys or 18 kgs wont help poeple leave their kids in till maximum weights (and heights)
Sorry im ranting here
rant over original.gif
slat
I sincerely hope they do not extend the requirement to 10 without adding anything about height/weight as well as surely that has more to do with whether they are safe in a normal car seat or not.

My son is tall for his age and if he stays where he is on the growth charts he will be 5 ft by the time he is 10 years old and I feel it would be ridiculous to still have him in a booster.
TheStick
QUOTE (Im A Mummy @ 26/02/2010, 01:46 PM) *

What are your thoughts on that? My daughter is only 3 and wants to seat on the normal care seat already!! LOL

Yeah, my kids want to ride around in the back of the ute too, but they're never going to!
strawbs77

Im sorry but I don't see that to be a LOL moment. sad.gif

Please tell me she is still in a 'baby seat' with a built in harness.
Millipede
Someone on another forum I visit has seen and laybuyed a 36kg booster seat. I think she saw it at bigW??
I will check.
kittennic
I'm sure Im a Mummy's daughter is still in a proper seat. Nothing wrong with laughing about a child wanting to be like an adult! That doesn't mean they get what they want.

I think any extra laws about keeping children in appropriate seats longer is great! Associated seats to fit the laws are useful too Tounge1.gif
Millipede
http://www.learningcurve.com/product/detai...AU?locale=en_AU

First years Folding compas seat. Apparently for sale at kmart and BigW for around $200.

mumzy09
First years Folding compas seat. Apparently for sale at kmart and BigW for around $200.

Well thats a stroke of good luck Milly, My sister just bought this booster for her DD. I was asking as my DN needs a seat for my car as she has just grown out of the royale!

Thanks for that ladies.
lsolaBella
Actually they had this information on their website at the beginning of last year (when the standard was still only to 26kg) so I think it is just the US information copied without the Aust Stds Changes.

The new box in theory would have a height/age guide rather then a weight guide by the New Std

Rainbow Brite
I'm the one Milly is talking about.
I bought that seat original.gif
It is actually on sale at Big W for $128 at the moment if anyone is interested original.gif

-Tina
seepi
It is a pity that someone who is unsure about the new car seat laws gets such mean treatment in here. That won't encourage her, or anyone else to come in here and find out what they should be doing under the new laws.
lsolaBella
Actually the more I think on it I STILL THINK the First Years Seat is incorrectly labeled.

The New Standard was only approved this week. There are no products listed as being approved to the New Standard. The only types of boosters approved are the Type E (which are the old ones - up to 26kg). Most recent being one approve 12th Feb 2010

http://standardsmark.saiglobal.com/Certifi...amp;pageIndex=0
Rainbow Brite
Well, it says to 36 kilos in the booklet it came with.
And on the website.
It is an american booster though.

-Tina
reallyshinyshoes
It is actually on sale at Big W for $128 at the moment if anyone is interested

ohmy.gif That's what I need!! (Well my 5yo really). Tina, would you know how wide the seat is by any chance? I might go and have a look tomorrow. I hope it really does cope up to 36kg...although it looks an awful lot like the Hipod Barcelona with a different cover.
strawbs77
It is a pity that someone who is unsure about the new car seat laws gets such mean treatment in here. That won't encourage her, or anyone else to come in here and find out what they should be doing under the new laws.

Yeah you're right... I did sound mean - I guess I was shocked and maybe take every thing too seriously? But kids sitting on a seat without a booster at 3 is no laughing matter - BUT I guess kids wanting to at 3? Yeah kind of cute/funny happy.gif I am sorry if I miss read that post and was rude.
3_for_me
I'd be surprised if a child would fit in the first years up to 36kg personally. DS is 25kg and not particularly tall for his age and we decided against that one as we didn't think it would last him until he turned 7 let alone until he was 36kg, it wasn't very tall!
Rainbow Brite
QUOTE (3_for_me @ 27/02/2010, 07:19 PM) *
I'd be surprised if a child would fit in the first years up to 36kg personally. DS is 25kg and not particularly tall for his age and we decided against that one as we didn't think it would last him until he turned 7 let alone until he was 36kg, it wasn't very tall!

Really?
Hunter outgrew his Infa secure, but has heaps of growing room in this one, and he is big for his age!
I have some comparison pics, will upload them soon.

-Tina
noname2
My daughter is only 3 and wants to seat on the normal care seat already!!

original.gif My 3 year old wants to sit in the front seat. I told her if 3 year olds don't sit in their car seats their parents get in trouble with the police. Lucky for us she's fascinated by police!
(Not that I would have let her anyway - tho surely that goes without saying).
Rainbow Brite
Here are a couple of pics.
Will take some 'child in seats' pics tomorrow.

http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/forums/ind...howtopic=771384

-Tina
Popeye
QUOTE (lsolaBella @ 27/02/2010, 12:04 PM) *
Actually the more I think on it I STILL THINK the First Years Seat is incorrectly labeled.

The New Standard was only approved this week. There are no products listed as being approved to the New Standard. The only types of boosters approved are the Type E (which are the old ones - up to 26kg). Most recent being one approve 12th Feb 2010

http://standardsmark.saiglobal.com/Certifi...amp;pageIndex=0

So how can I find out? Should I call the RTA? We are at 25.5kg ATM, so I really need one of these.
Bloomer
My problem is my DD heard on the news 7yos can sit in the front set.. she is 7 next week we told her 12..