The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: September 08 Parents #154

Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Sccary
Hi everyone,sorry have not caught up since friday.
Had a crazy weekend, with DD1 borthday party BBQ saturday arvo/night then another birthday party to go to Sunday moring.

BELLY/BLONDIE: Ditto here last night. Velvet was up from 12midnight to 3:15am, tried panadol, teething gel then finally milk at 3:30 as I was"over it" !!!! She is teething - eye teeth on one side and molar on other, but this morning has a runny nose, so I am guessing the first cold from day care glare.gif
We had playgroup this morning and she would not sleep before hand and slept 1.5 hours when we got home with one resettle then when up I sat on couch with her in my arms and she fell asleep AGAIN - this never happens ever I carried her asleep to her cot after 30mins as my arm was killing holding her and she screamed when I put her down.
Hope tonight is better for all of us.

Here are the cake pics from the weekend

KEY: sorry you are not well, hope the fushion works. My MIL has them every month as she is in remission from leukemia and gets really sick, and she says they make her feel good for a week.
Catch up - ok no probs lets make it in a few weeks when you are feeling better

Ok have to clean clean clean as my house is dirty after the weekend.
won't be back in until tues arvo will catch up then, hope youa re all ok.
trinyweeny
Meljas - The petites are the new BBH. Very trim side snapping nappies. Bummer about the pictures.

Key/meljas - I'll PM you.

Sarina - That cake is fantastic!!!! You are so talented.
alimumof3
OMG SARINA!!!!!!!!!!!!! THAT CAKE IS WONDERFUL! You are very very talented, as we keep saying, but that has to be THE best one i've seen of yours. well done.

Triny r u pm'ing about the book? otherwise i will.

hey blondie, we'll have to see who gets the most for their book! lol
oh and how much are you putting ofr postage? i was thinking the satchel for 5.70
bellygood
Sarina express post me a bit of cake will you, I need it to stay awake! I can't believe that three tiny terrors kept three of us poor mums awake last night. Let's hope they have a nice long sleep tonight to compensate.

MelJas sorry to hear scan pics aren't great. I was so impressed with mine, compared to last time where I think I got one pic of a thumb... this time scan was done at a private clinic but on a hospital referral so free. But they took ages and took all sorts of pics and 3D renders. Last time I was living in Cairns so went thru the hospital and it was very short, no pretty pics, certainly no 3D renders.

Key that anaemic feeling is awful, hope you're hooked up onto the iron soon! I notice if I start popping the iron pills, the effect is immediate. Could it be what's affecting your sleep, or is the insomnia related to all the goings-on in your life right no?

Anyone heard from Beagle? I feel like I haven't heard from her in a while... going to do some post-search/detective work. Beagle if you are reading this, hope DH is feling better!
melaniejasmin
Ooh, thanks for the PM triny - I've still never heard of it cool.gif I did a google!

Ali - they dont even offer to look at RPA (I think they are so busy and they were wasting so much time looking for 'bits' that they have stopped). but I didnt see any 'bits', and I think the Sonographer at one stage said 'her' but I cant be certain.... I still have 20 weeks to wait!

Sarina - what a cake! gosh, my Mum just did W.weekly cakes and I thought they were great when I was little, but your cakes are AMAZING!

It is so hot here still (about 32C), and we are having stroganoff because we had meat in the fridge rolleyes.gif
Clazza
Hi there,

Thanks for the advice re the christening present...I went with the bracelet plus the handbag charm (her first handbag wub.gif), the strawberry (just cause I love them) and a pink glass bead, so I'm sure it will be very pretty.

Catch up - yep, I can Monday 8th in the morning. Callum usually has soccatoos at 9:30 but he can miss it for that week. Where and what time? I can do anytime after 10 but obviously preferrably before 12 for sleepy time.

Sarina - WOW is all I can say!

Party animals - we have another one here too. She was awake from 1:30ish til about 4ish when I gave in and fed her, then Jack was up at 5 so I am one tired gal today. Arggh.

LM - terrible about the bike running over poor Max. Glad it wasn't too serious. Jack got run over by a big boy on a bike at a playground about 2 years ago and this was the result -

Better go serve our dinner as DH just walked in the door.
cassi8
ohmy.gif Clazza that is just awful! Poor Jack!

Ok 8th is locked in! wink.gif open to suggestions for where... park, play centre if you know somewhere that is good. original.gif

Sarina - that cake is awesome! I hope Faith had a great birthday!

Ali - got your email, will ask DH after dinner. original.gif
~3boysmummy~
Cassie, Where are you guys catching up at?
Do some good thinking. I won't tell you where I hide it so you can still enter. Tounge1.gif
Cam is ball crazy too. Hahaha, like a dog!!

teething, Cam has been up all night too. Fingers crossed he sleeps tonight as he is driving me batty.

Clazza, That photo looks aweful. sad.gif

Sarina, awesome cake. cclap.gif

Meljas, Bugger on the photos. Pity you couldn't get them to look for bits. I am way too impatient.lol

yawn. off to bed. lol
bellygood
Girls, what do you think about polished concrete flooring in a home? I love the look of polished concrete, I prefer it over tile. Everything up here is wall-to-wall tile. I would prefer polished concrete. Is this the pregnancy hormones talking?Polished Concrete Floor

Is it too 'industrial'? Honestly, is it any worse than beige tile (for some reason, tile is always beige...)
cassi8
Not sure what I think of it BG, first thing I thought was shopping centre, but it would be hard wearing and low maintenance! wink.gif

Karen - location is undecided, you are welcome to join us if you have the time! biggrin.gif

Sccary
BELLY: Polished concrete can look great in a modern simplistically styled interior.
You will need some carpet rugs with the little ones. Only draw back is that it is definately colder underfoot than tiles
beaglebaby
Hi, I should have been asleep hours ago, but keep finding more things to do. Just catching up and thought I'd better check in - thanks for worrying Bellygood!

DH started chemo today, the nurses were lovely and Mum was here with Lucas and Kate. DH has come home for the night, started out playing with the kids but the fatigue and nausea later hit so I'm hoping he's sound asleep now. Lucas had a major dummy spit about being put to bed without me here (he still usually has a feed before a sleep) but did end up going down - then woke after 30min but I was home and fed him and put him back - he still wasn't impressed though. Tomorrow Mum will take the older 2 to school and Lucas to playgroup. DH thinks he'll be OK mostly to just be dropped off and left there until he's done, we'll see how he's coping.

We had a wonderful weekend, a good friends 40th on Saturday night where we'd all put in and bought her a beautiful diamond ring, she cried! Then Sunday we went to a 3rd birthday party at a park with a miniature railway. All was great until the last ride when the train broke down and they left them all sitting in the sun for ages, poor DD has a really burnt arm. The cake was seriously good - Thomas the Tank Engine, it rivalled Sarinas for skill and style - but it should, the birthday boys Mum works at a cake decorating shop!

Might have to steal DH's laptop at the hospital tomorrow and do personals!!
Bel Rowley
Hmm, where was I up to?

Melanie - bummer about the short scan. I gather you don't mind waiting to find out the sex?

Key - good idea to get yourself all sorted health wise and finance wise before going for another baby.

Sarina - Claudia is similar to Velvet, both teething AND a cold. No daycare for us but I think the Mothers Group catchups with kids that are in daycare during the week does the job just as well! Your cake is so amazing, I think I will need to fly you over from Perth for my next party laughing2.gif. Have you ever considered doing cakes professionally? I'm sure people would pay top dollar for your beautiful work.

Ali - I haven't put the book up for sale yet so not sure. $5.70 probably sounds right. It's always hard with little things I think because expensive postage will scare a lot of people off.

Bellygood - my 3D scan with Claudia was amazing too. We went to a place that had just opened and they had the GE guy there demonstrating the new machine, so it was brand new technology. The second I started I made clear that I didn't want to know the sex because it would've been totally obvious if they'd gone in the right area. Flooring - the polished concrete is not really my thing, to me it does look a bit industrial, but I am certainly no design expert.

Clazza - great choices on the present tthumbs.gif you will be a wonderful godmother. WOW to that pic of Jack, he looks like he's gone about 10 rounds in the boxing ring!

Beagle - I'm glad the first day of chemo went OK. How long does this round go for?

My night... another pretty bad one. Claudia's snotty nose woke her up about every 40 minutes, she was quite easy to resettle most of the time but after 4 resettles the next time she woke (just before midnight) I decided she could come to bed with me. Slept OK in there and was much nicer resettling without getting out of bed. Today we have my parents coming for lunch, I also have to make a trip to Big W to exchange some bodysuits, I accidentally bought short sleeve instead of long.
cassi8
morning yyawn.gif

I'm staying home today, not feeling the best, run down and with N's cold is not a good mix. I couldn't wake up until 7ish then laid on the lounge until about 10 mins ago..

Thanks for dropping in Beagle, I hope DH is ok and the kids are good for you. Sounds like your mum is being a great help. original.gif
cassi8
so much for a quiet day at home.. DH is on his way home with N, he is running a fever now as well. sad.gif
key4
Beagle - Glad to hear that you had a lovely weekend and that the Chemo was not too bad. Poor Lucas he is probably not quite sure what is happening in life everything suddenly topsy turvy.

Cassi - hope you do manage to get some rest even with Nathan home.

Belly - I can see many pros for polished concrete it would be easy to keep clean as there is no grout, but the concrete would have to be laid correctly for it to work, my slab here was far from perfect!

Sarina - that was an awesome cake I was looking at those castle sets for Niamh last year but thought I would wait until she was a bit older! At least you will get plenty of use from it with 2 girls.

Blondie - Hope the sleep drought breaks for you tonight. I remember the last time Niamh had a cold I did try some nasal drops but it was a terrible experience for both of us!

Right off to eat brekkie then off to donate more blood to the local path lab a wee bit of shopping then we are going to walk to mums for arvo tea. Hope DH is home sooner today kids were in bed when he got home yesterday and he was out the door by 6 this morning.
lucy77
Just thought I would pop in to say hi....and to say I am pregnant!!!!!!!!!!!!

I am due on 22 Oct, so Sophie will just be over two.

We were trying (happened the first month only after very few attempts) so I did not think it was possible. When I read the test I was so shocked, I cried....not tears of joy. Worried about how I will get through this pregnancy while dealing with Sophie. Worried about how I will deal with the baby and Sophie. I feel so bad as when I found out with Sophie, I was so happy. I guess I just know what pregnancy and babies entail now. I was really enjoying this time of my life, Sophie is really good with sleeping etc, I love having my wine to relax everyday...ooops....I love being about to take Sophie swimming etc and this seems really hard with more than one. I have only just started feeling better today and realise that it is what we wanted, and it will be nice for Sophie. My brother and I are two years apart, and I cannot imagine life without him so I really did want this to happen. I was sick last week with a cold...apparently a potential pregnancy sign. I am feeling fine at the moment. I am dreading the 24 hour morning sickness I had with Sophie for most of my pregnancy and hope it stays away.

Bellygood - we had polished concrete floors in the kitchen. They looked good, but I found them really cold and mine always looked dirty. Maybe they weren't done properly? We put floorboards over them as we have them in the rest of the house....and the guy who did the floorboards thought we were insane as it is apparently really exxxy to do polished concrete.

Sarina C- I hope you are okay. I love the cake pics.

Clazza - beautiful present. That is really good news about your friend. Your poor little boy. I am going to be paranoid about cyclists in the park now.

Beaglebaby - Sorry to hear about your husband. It is great your mum is there to help.

Blondiebear - I hope Claudia sleeps better tonight

Hi to everyone else!
Bel Rowley
Lucy how wonderful, congratulations! I have had a bad cold the past week so I hope it's a sign for me too wink.gif. I think it's perfectly normal to be a bit apprehensive about your second pregnancy knowing how much hard work a baby can be, especially when you will have a toddler this time around to look after as well. I'm sure you will be fine and Sophie will make a wonderful big sister.

Cassi - 3 sickies, at home, no good! Sending get well vibes to all 3 of you.

Key - I hope DH is home early for you. I've just told mine he has to be here to look after C for a bit tonight, I'd forgotten I am meant to be going to Lygon St for coffee tonight, a friend of mine is starting a book club and tonight is our preliminary catch-up to discuss what book we will read first.
cassi8
Congrats Lucy! biggrin.gif

DH is home with N, he fell asleep in the car on the way home. I can't seem to pull myself off the couch long enough to pee let alone clean but it can wait, DH can do it today! Tounge1.gif

back to the couch for me...
laraq75
Cassi - so sorry you are feeling so awful and that N is sick as well. Angus is sick again too. I am so over it.

Lucy - congrats on your pregnancy.

Beagle - it sounds like you are doing pretty well considering what is happening your life. I don't think Angus would be very impressed with me if i let my mum put him to sleep. Even though he is not feeding to sleep he still wants mum or dad to put him to bed

Key - wow at your iron levels. You must have felt awful. I know when i was a little bit anaemic I was always feeling awful.

I am trying to pack today for our trip to Sydney tomorrow. It is so exhausting thinking of everything I need to take and we are leaving straight after swimming tomorrow so I won't be coming back if I forget anything.

Angus is sick again and is on antibiotics. He has a sinus thing this time.

hugs

Lara
ellangel
I am home from my parents. It was lovely and Holli had a nice time and was perfect angel for them.

The conference was fun and it was a long day. I left at midday yesterday and didnt get home till 11pm last night!

Lucy - wow! You are fertile that is for sure! That is fantastic news! Yes, all normal to be thinking 'holy crap' more often than excitement second time round as you know what you are in for. Will be fine as Sophie will be even more independent by then.

Hope all these sick babies get better. And hope the non sleeping ones shape up!

Cassi - hope you feel better too.

Ali - please share your scrapping pages with me!
key4
Congrats Lucy whilst it is daunting it is not that bad, I hope you do not suffer morning sickness this time.

Sharon - glad you had a good time at the conference that was a long day though.

Blondie - DH better be home early as I am just about to strangle Kaidyn honestly not one thing has been anything but a whinge or a demand this morning. As he had me up at 3am to 4am this morning and then we started the day at 5.30 there is not alot of love here! Enjoy your coffee this evening.
ellangel
Yes, I second that Lucy. Stay away the dreaded m/s!! Every pregnancy is different so you just have to keep positive until it hits!! LOL

Key - what an early day! OMG! No wonder you have a short fuse...I would also. What was happening between 3-4am? The few times Ella has called out in the night, I always mutter "DO NOT call out again as I will not be coming back...This is the last time...mummy needs sleep too" LOL
key4
Sharon - he freaks out when he wakes in the night with a full bladder, and he did not make it to the toilet in time so wet his pants another thing which puts him into a panic! Thankfully he did not wet the bed!
littlemumma
Afternoon

Lol Key, your post made me laugh...sorry. I would have a VERY short fuse also, don't you hate days like that...hope tomorrow is better. Sorry to hear you need the fusion, not good at all. You won't know yourself once you've had it though, you'll feel so much better.

Sharon - wow, I can't believe the conference went for that long. Did you make some new friends?? Glad Holli was a good girl.

Clazza - I can't believe that photo of Jack, how awful. Thankfully Max's injuries were not that bad.

lucy - congratulations on your pregnancy, what wonderful news. Its normal to have those feelings, don't worry....by the time bubby comes you will be well and truly ready! Are you still working?

blondi - hope Claudia picks up soon, poor darlin.

Cassi - hope you are having a nice rest on the lounge, take tomorrow off too if your not well. Hope N is ok.

sarina - WOW, that cake was amazing, I was so impressed, your DDs are very lucky to have such a talented mummy.

ali - I'm impressed you were able to achieve 3 scrapping pages yesterday!!!!! Any news on your friend?

beagle - hope DH goes ok today with the chemo, so glad your Mum is there to share the load, what a relief. Has DH's parents been around much?

Lara - sorry to hear Angus is sick, typical when you are going away hey.

mel - glad the us went well, even if you didn't get great pics.

Max is still not himself, sleeping well at night but quiet sooky. Has anyone else got a runner....Max certainly is, can't take my eyes off him for a second at the park, he just runs everywhere...ahhhhhhhhhhh
ellangel
maybe a night time nappy? There is nothing wrong with that. Some still wear them til closer to 6 years.

Gotta go wake sleeping beauty and collect Ella. I am excited to see her...!! Havent seen her since yesterday morn!
ellangel
I am always the threadkiller lately! ohmy.gif
key4
Littlemumma - I am sure that I will find this day funny when both kids are in bed!!!!

Sharon - I think it is the sensation of a full bladder that is causing the trouble he has been night trained for 18months and only actually wet the bed once and he was sick at the time so I am lucky!

The day has not got any better Niamh now has a black eye all split open (her brother has fluff between his ears and tends not to think about what is at the end of his arm ) and DH is in big big trouble as he has not returned any of my emails or calls and he has the car so I could not get Niamh to the Doctor, at the time as there was blood everywhere it looked worse than it was thanks to the frozen peas all good now but he is going to cop it when he gets home!!!!
seepi
Oh poor Niahm! these kiddies all seem to be in the wars a bit lately.

Ellangel - I'm so glad you said night nappies are no problem. Dd is still in one, and I am not concerned At All, but DP is keen to get her out of them. I just don't see the rush. I really don't want to be getting up in the middle of the night changing wet sheets etc, if we can just keep her in night nappies until she is dry almost all the time (only dry nappies about 1/4 of the time so far.) she is only 3, so there is no great rush I think.

Jasper was hysterical at bedtime - still overtired from yesterday. but he s quiet now. DD insited on having her door wide open at bedtime, so we are having to creep around. At least they are both in bed and quiet. Off for another mars bar! (only mini ones - treats for DD for dry nappies, but so far she is happy with a smartie, and we are enjoying the mars bars).

Beagle - thank good ness for your mum. My mum is stepping in for one day a week while I work full time next month - I think she will find it hard, but it is only for a few weeks.

Lucy - Congratulations!! Dont' worry - you and Sophie have 9 months to get used to the idea, and it will be lovely for her to have a sibling in the long run.

take care all.
Sccary
SEEPI: my DD (just turned 4 last week) is still in night pull up nappies. She is also only dry 1/3 of the time rolleyes.gif If she does a big wee before bed she is dry but if only a little wee then can be very wet in the morning. I am also not too concerned I mean does it really matter??? DD was hard to TT in the first place, took nearlt 12mths to get the poos sorted .
I figure as long as she is 'trying' to go toilet at night that is all that matters.

KEY: my god poor Niamh what a day you have had. I am sending some prayers your way for better times ahead. I would KILL DH, or at least make him feel VERY guilty biggrin.gif

Nothing else to report except my BF is PG with her 4 th child. SHe has a 5year DD old nearly 4 year old DD and 18mth old DD and is now PG with..........TWINS!!! oomg.gif so excited for her but she is a little sick tired and stressed. looks like one has a slower heart beat and is small in size so may not stay stuck

ok off it get dinner finished as DH will be late - Chilli con carne - yummo
cassi8
morning..

I'm home again today. N can't go to CC with a fever so I am taking him to the Dr. Might make the most of being home again and get some things done. I, thankfully, am feeling much better this morning. I will be crashing out after lunch though. Dh was wonderful yesterday, looked after N and even took him out when I fell asleep on the lounge so I could get some rest, Made dinnner, ran me a bath and made me a hot choc when I got out. wub.gif

Key - aannoyed.gif Why do they never answer the phone when you need them most?! I hope Niamh is ok, poor bubba! What a day you had yesterday, I am hoping your day today is better.

Sarina - ohmy.gif wow! that must have been a shock! 5 under 5 will be hard work, hope the pregnancy goes well for her.

Sharon - sorry I left you to be the thread killer ssorry.gif I did see your post last night and was going to post but a few things happened and I forgot.. Sounds like the conference went well and lots of networks were made.

Ali - when you are connected again, yes, please share your scrapping pages with us biggrin.gif
Bel Rowley
Morning! We had a full night's sleep here ddance.gif . Poor Claudia is still sick and miserable but I feel much better for not being up every 30 minutes. The book club catch-up was somewhat successful last night, only 3 of us had submitted lists of books we wanted to read and we were the only 3 who showed up so between us we have picked the final list of 10 we will read for the year, a nice mix of fiction, non-fic, Australian, biography, lighter and more serious etc. Nobody else can complain because they didn't bother submitting a list. shrug.gif

Lara - hope you got your packing all sorted. I still get amazed how much more difficult it is to get organised for even 1 night away these days, I always forget something. Have a good trip.

Key - you poor thing, what a nightmare day. I hope you have punished our DH for being so unhelpful wink.gif. Poor Niamh will certainly be a tough girl with a rough big brother to contend with, she'll be able to handle anything by the time she's a teenager.

Littlemumma
- I most definitely have a runner too. The party we went to in a small park a couple of weeks ago was a nightmare, C was heading straight for the road every time we put her down.

Ellangel - I reckon you're right about night nappies as long as they need them, in the end they're all going to TT eventually aren't they? I mean none of us are still in nappies? laughing2.gif

Seepi - I hate when they get overtired and won't calm down. I hope Jasper had a good long sleep for you last night.

Sarina - WOW to your friend, I think I would have a heart attack! I'm glad for her sake at least a couple of her kids are older so they're not too close together. I think if we ever end up having a 2 and 3 I will be sending DH straight off for the snip after that, 5 would be too much for me for sure. Oh BTW - we are having chilli con carne tonight tthumbs.gif.

Cassi - Glad to hear your DH was a good hubby yesterday. Hopefully N will be on the up soon just like you.
trinyweeny
Morning

Been around but not much to say. Yesterday MIL and her mum were over for a visit in the morning then the afternoon just bummed around home enjoying the cool change.

Cassi - Awww how nice of DH definitely in the good books. Hope N is feeling better soon.

Blondie - YAY on the sleep through. Once we are sure we are finished with kids DH will be getting the snip as well. If you are not there to decide or submit a list how can you complain.

Lara - Have fun in Sydney with DH.

Key - DH would have been in serious trouble. I hate it when you can't get hold of them. Poor Niamh hope she is ok this morning.

Lucy - Congrats on you BFP. I'm sure it won't take long to get excited.

Sarina - Wow I'm not sure how I would cope with that. 5 under 6 yikes!

Ellangel - Good that conference went well.

Ali - I hope you get your internet/computer issues sorted out soon. How frustrating.

Beagle - I'm so glad that your mum is there to help out. Hope the chemo goes ok for DH.

We are heading to the shops this afternoon to get J some clothes and a book for me.

bellygood
Beagle thanks for the update. How long does each chemo session take, and how often does he have to go? My neighbour who is recovering from breast cancer finally looks like her old self again. She got quite ill-looking during chemo but is now looking fantastic. She walks everywhere as the docs told her exercise flushes out the toxins of chemo. Don't know where she finds the energy! I'd opt for rest over exercise - is DH still fatigued or is that temporary?

Blondie I'm sure the babies are conspiring, Ivy was also awful the night before last, woke at 3.30am and didn't settle til 5am. Perfectly happy and wide awake. Last night, thankfully, she went down at 8pm and is still down at 8.31am, what bliss. Sleep = magic. I am so envious of the book-club-meet-in-Lygon-St thing, how civilized! What's the first book? Having said that, I rarely get thru fiction these days, am better off with non-fiction for some reason. Right now I'm reading some GI diet book... Also see my post to Triny below re A New Earth.

Lucy77 congrats! I had exactly the same happy/sad response as you. I'm not 22 w (I think, have kind of lost track) and at last feeling some little kicks. I am suffering bellybutton-itis - have put a thread in the Pregnancy Tips & Qs forum if you're interested. My bellybutton is killing me!

Lara hope the Sydney trip goes well. Where do you live again? Is it a long trip for you?

Littlemumma Ivy is a little sooky-pants too, has been for weeks. I put it down to teething and just general toddler-ness. I am guiltily enjoying my daycare/TAFE day... it honestly feels like a holiday after six days of demanding toddler dictatorship.

Key aargh they say bad things happen in threes! Let's hope good things do to, and the first one is due to you soon I reckon.

Cassi how are you feeling today? Sounds like that bug is doing the rounds of your family.

Triny what book did you buy? I made a silly purchase the other day. I was flipping thru this book about a woman who spends a year following Oprah's advice (non-fiction) and she kept mentioning this Oprah book club book 'A New Earth'. So I flipped thru that and in a fit of boredom bought it, even though a voice in my head was saying 'self help books are a crock!'. So I've read chapter one and... it's a crock. I think I am not ready to made aware/awake to a new consciousness, which is how Mr Tolle describes people who find his book does not resonate with them... I really hate how he has simply cherrypicked half of a Buddhism 101 text, a bit of the bible, threaded it together with some new age waffle and now he's a gazillionaire! Why didn't I think of that??

Today is clean-the-patio day, having my budgies out there means it's covered in their poo plus every other neighbourhood bird visiting to eat their scrap seed. It's also hose out the 'outdoor room' (=dodgy carport) day. It's also scrub the bath and basin day. I guarantee you that only two of these three things will get done. After that I've got some work to do while Ivy naps, and then we'll take a short trip to the next town up becuase they have a Coles and I want something that only Coles stocks. Tomorrow is a trip to Cairns to catch up with some girlfriends and their babies, which is lovely but a long trip/tiring day.
Bel Rowley
Before I go on with what I was going to post.... a DH vent. Does anyone else have a DH who will hand you something at the most inconvenient time rather than put it away? I don't know if that makes any sense, but on Monday morning he took my FlyBuys card to do the grocery shopping, and came back and just said "here you go" while I was in the middle of doing something on the computer rather than put it back in my wallet. Of course Claudia spends most of her days going through all my books and papers on the table and making a mess of them, and the card has now disappeared. Grr.

Triny - the cool change has been a relief for us too, but I don't think it helps Claudia's runny nose. Have fun shopping today.

Bellygood- you sucker you buying A New Earth! I have no interest in any of Oprah's self help tips, I lump that one in with The Secret. Our first book club book will be Kate Grenville's A Secret River, followed by The Slap. So some good Aussie fare to get us started. I've been meaning to read The Slap for eons so glad I finally have the impetus to do it. I'm currently reading a beauty actually - We Are All Made of Glue by Marina Lewycka, she also wrote A Short History of Tractors in Ukrainian if that rings a bell. I am loving it.
trinyweeny
BG - LOL I like Blondie stay away from Oprah recommended self help books infact I just stay away from self help books. Not sure what I am going to buy. Think I will just wander through Borders to see what takes my eye. I have a gift voucher burning a hole in my pocket.

Blondie - I know exactly what you mean. How hard is it just to put it where it belongs. It really isn't that much extra effort.
bellygood
Blondie I read 'The Slap' last year, around the time that mother was dragged thru the coals for whacking her kid with a wooden spoon. I enjoyed it, but the momentum was lost towards the end... look forward to seeing what you think.

Triny if I had a dollar for every time I've *nearly* bought self-help books I'd be a rich woman! This time I let my guard down... bloody Oprah and her marketing clout...
cassi8
Blondie - I have read the Secret River, awesome book and I'm not much of a reader. tthumbs.gif on the full nights sleep. We didn't get that much... see below. yyes.gif on the DH vent, I even get offered rubbish sometimes when we are out wacko.gif

BG - N brought this darn bug home from CC last week, he has been ok with it until yesterday and it just made me sleepy, so I'm fighting it off, although still feeling a bit off. I should go have a nap while N is sleeping.

Drs verdict was upper respiratory infection, more ABs and tomorrow home as well. He is still running a temp which isn't good, but the panadol seems to be working at least.

melaniejasmin

hope you start feeling better today Cassi sad.gif

Blondie - my MIL read 'the slap' and didnt shut up about it. I dont think she liked it that much though. I havent read it as I dont feel like reading through the swear words, or having to have a discussion with MIL about it wacko.gif !

Lucy - Congrats on your pregnancy! I also havent been as excited with this pregnancy. be careful who you tell though (obviously here is fine) I have had some strange reactions when I say the second pregnancy is just not as exciting as the first! I'm sure you will be fine with coping with two. it is daunting though....

Beagle - good to hear that DH's treatment has started reasonably well. I'm sure he will be quite tired for a while, so it's great that your Mum is there.

Key - poor Niamh sad.gif I would be having words with DH also!

Sarina - I think I would be crying if I were your friend...! 5 under 5/6 is going to be hard work!

I was so tired yesterday, it was very hot here the night before and we dont have aircon, of course, Alexander chose to wake up extra early so we were all buggered. Had playgroup yesterday as well and A. was too tired to really play that much.

DH is down at the council FINALLY submitting our DA for our renos... it has taken a while... all our fault really, as we just have no idea! now we have to start getting builder quotes I think...!

I'm also awaiting my new course material online for uni...! I hope it is the same textbook as was for last year (I enrolled but dropped out) as I can get it from the library. cant always be certain that the whole course hasnt changed though!

ellangel
HI Ladies...once again I am lagging behind in the personals department.

Went to a friends place for morning tea right after the school drop off. She has a DD 6 and a DS 9 months. Has just moved into a new house and she has baby gates/locks everywhere like a bloomin prison! I am sure she was glad to see the back of me as I kept laughing at how rediculous they all were!! I could not even open the fridge or get to the toilet!! 3 gates to go through. She told me she even has locks on her drawers and cupboards in the bathroom and her DH is getting the sh*ts with it!
I mean yes, some children get into things more than others but you have to teach them, like not running on the road.
When she comes to my house next week, she will find it very different.

Glad most of the bubs slept well last night..

Poor little Nathan.

I have been told from a friend that the swine vaccine is now IN the normal flu jab! Is this true? Guess i will ask the gp when we go next week for H's vaccine.

Off to clean...you know me! biggrin.gif
~Elliesmum~
wow I just realised reading that Hollie was getting vaccine that kayla is 18months too on Monday cry1.gif its all going too fast for me I'm afraid sad.gif

Lucy- congrats!!! I agree you'll feel better about it as time goes on, it is different second time around.

Key- hope you get that transfusion soon

beagle- hope dh's chemo goes ok, and that everyone stays well and healthy!

I think I'll get the swine flu vax too, or the flu one anyway. we're due for a big flu in our house and I don't want one thanks very much lol. I had a nasty one a few years back that floored me for weeks, and my lungs haven't been the same since. I get wheezey now and then. Plus MIL with the chemo and radiation treatment wouldn't have much of an immune system left either.

been a bit MIA, I'm so over everything and everyone needing me, K is getting me down as she is on me constantly, and while I'd love cuddles all day I just can't, I should try the sling again but I don't want to encourage her lol

Been sewing, so thats good, off to find a nice bag pattern now, or maybe even make one huh.gif that'd be game LOL. Am making a couple of things for a fundraiser auction for juvenile diabetes
tweedy08
Just a quick one from me....gosh I have been busy this week! Even today while tilly was at daycare I havent stopped! Trying to get things organised before my study stuff comes which is hopefully in the next day sor so since the course starts on the 1st March!!

We have all been pretty good. Tilly is still a little devil who is really trying my patients as of late and is either into everything or wanting to sit on my knee!

Am looking for suggestions too for a fundraiser for her daycare. They are in desperate need of shade sails as they have one small one which just isnt enough! So I dont know why butI jsut have to be involved in this & do something. it breaks my heart seeing them all huddle in one little area when its outside time and the carers have to ensure that every hour new sunscreen is applied. Have a few suggestions from looking around but am open to any others!

I know a fair few wahm so might even chat with them & see if they would be willing to donate something to be raffled or auctioned off or even get together with one of them & have an auction online & see how that goes.

Oh i really have no idea!

BBS as have to go pick up the little miss from daycare now!

hugs to all & chat soon
bellygood
Drama in our quiet street! We have new neighbours, a young couple three kids seem decent enough. I've heard them blue once or twice but today I heard this awful fight where he was obviously doing something to her or a kid or something precious to her; and she was wailing no, no please stop, no! It was really awful to hear, then I hear the newborn cry and I think well I can't just do nothing so I call 000 and report it. It went on for a good long while, I dragged another neighbour into my house to have a listen, both of us reluctant to intervene. It slowly settled down, then the local police rang to confirm the address but it had all died down by then. I called DH and he came home, I was just feeling shaken and I guess my imagination got away on me when I heard the baby cry. Now it all seems back to happy families (at least, no more fighting going on...). I feel a bit foolish for calling 000 but there was no way I was going to check it out myself being preggers and with a toddler, and I just couldn't live with myself if something happened to a baby. At the very least, I don't think any baby should have had to witness whatever it was that was going on, probably domestic violence or destruction of property of some kind. Grrrr why have they moved in next to me? I don't want Ivy growing up hearing all that, hopefully they get kicked out/move out soon! TBH I wouldn't have called the police until I heard the baby, should two losers kill each other then it's two less losers in the world. But a little baby? Awful.
Bel Rowley
Cassi - glad to hear Secret River is good! I've reserved it at the library so hopefully won't have to wait long. Poor N, respiratory infection cannot be fun.

Melanie - I reckon uni courses deliberately change the books as often as possible for no good reason, the buggers. Fingers crossed you will be able to use the same one from the library.

Ellangel - LOL at the baby gates, one of my MG friends is the same, gates everywhere. Claudia gets into trouble sometimes but I couldn't handle adjusting the whole house to keep her contained.

Elliesmum - no good that Kayla is still clingy. I hate when Claudia gets like that, I need my space. If she could just sit still on my knee I wouldn't mind but she wants to get into everything I'm doing.

Tweedy - I have no ideas about fundraising, but getting everyone you know to donate something for a raffle sounds like a good idea. Maybe also try local businesses, let them know it's for the child care centre and you never know, one or two of them may be willing to donate a prize. Somewhere like a hairdresser or beauty salon would be a good place to start, see if they'll donate a haircut or a manicure or something.

Bellygood - yikes, how scary, I think you did the right thing calling the cops. I hope it's not a regular occurrence.

Claudia has kept up the good sleeping pattern - 3 hours today tthumbs.gif. Still so snotty though the poor dear, and tears keep running down her cheeks. I'm hoping DH will be home early so I can go for a swim tonight. I'm feeling like quite a slob.
ellangel
wow I just realised reading that Hollie was getting vaccine that kayla is 18months too on Monday its all going too fast for me I'm afraid
dont be too sad Elliesmum! I am not! LOL (well maybe just a teensy bit) yyes.gif

Dinner is on cooking so off to play with my girls

Sccary
Hi everyone I am sorry been MIA had a crazy day so far.
I had plans to stay home ALL DAY, clean play with girls and chill as it is HOT HOT HOT
Plus I am booked into the baby & kids market this weekend to sell heaps of stuff, so organise that!
BUT DH threw a spanner in the works this morning. It is our wedding anniversary sunday and we were going to either go down south for a night or a hotel. But at the long weekend costs (inflated) he said lets go to Bali oomg.gif so I have spent all day on the phone and computer and we are going for 3 nights 3 days leaving this saturday morning.
An exclusive villa withour own secluded pool in our courtyard and room to die for.
I am so excited we have not been overseas (except for work) for 8 years ddance.gif
I have so much to organise.
Cook meals for mum and the girls, clean the house, do the food shopping, pack our bags, buy some shoes as my foor is so sore cry1.gif Arrange travel insurance.
sigh i am exhausted thinking about it.
There goes the market this weekend ddoh.gif

Ok off to get organised.

ELLANGEL: I got your pm, foot is not good, but I only started your cream yesterday as I had to use to specialists cream until we got pathology back, it is psoriasis and also tinea too! yuck so have a 6 week course of antibiotics to get when we get home.
melaniejasmin
oh, Sarina, place looks great! I love Bali, I've been a few times. but not stayed in a private villa! My parents did th eother year and they loved it!

DH home,

ellangel
Oh you lucky thing Sarina!
Enjoy! How exciting and double bonus NO KIDS! How many years you been married? Is it a special one? How many nights are you going? Have fun and enjoy the lovely relaxing meals and conversation.

cassi8
I'm here but I don't know how long it will last, I have one grumpy child.. can't wait for DH to get home.

Sarina - Sounds like an awesome weekend! I hope you and DH have 3 blissful days without kids!

Didn't think it would last long BBL

Ok child eating will try again..

Sharon - all those baby gates wacko.gif They have to learn at some point! I get putting locks on cupboards with dangerous things though, medicine, cleaners ect but that sounds like overkill.

Tweedy - just be careful with raffles and the like as they are a competition they should be registered. Thing like book, choc or lamington drives work, especially with easter coming! As someone said, have a chat to the local businesses and see what you can organise. Mothers Day is coming as well which is something you have a bit more time to organise for, chat to the florist and see if you can get some individual wrapped flowers cheap and sell them for a few dollars, run it for a week with a note home to the kids so the dads can pitch in Tounge1.gif
Thats all I can think of right now.

Ok must go, child screaming at me again... sigh.
alimumof3
hi girls, i'm back.

My friend's husband looked at the computer and it seems the virus protection was interfering with the optus wireless thing and causing it to freeze. so we have a new virus protection and so far so good. fingers crossed it stays that way!! i miss the internet.

sarina wowzers!! how exciting. I too, love Bali. Would love to go back. Wouldn't take long to get there from WA either.

Lucy77 congrats!! Yes i felt like that when i got my BFP for Oliver. You WILL get over it. totally normal.

cassi sounds like its been rough in your place lately. HOpe everyone improves quickly.

littlemumma i actually ended up getting 4 pages done yesterday! so 3 the day before, 4 yesterday and 1 today (was too tired today).
Nope, nothing happening with friend yet. she had another internal yesterday, 4cm. she is 40+2 today.

sharon yep i'll photograph the pages and show you soon! might put some on here if I can be bothered. actually its prob easier to do this way than emailing you, cos i have to manually reduce the photos to attach to email whereas in photobucket it reduces it itself.
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.