The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: Multiples 2008 ~ #18

Essential Baby > Babies > Twins, Triplets, Quads and More
Blessed to the MAX
Georgie: Happy Birthday to your girls!! Have a wonderful day, hope DH gets 'better'... Is he trying to get out of helping out today? Mine are nearly 20 months old now and we call them the babies and the 'new' baby.

Kammy: I will be praying for your scan on Wednesday. I am always very worried things are wrong, but a Dutch saying says (translated): People suffer the most from what they fear for, but what never turns up... And that is true, what use is it being scared and dreading something that might never happen, once everything proves to be going well you wish you didn't waste time worrying but enjoying it. Hard though, I am a worrying kind of person myself.

Tommie is talking so much these days and I can understand him most of the time, unfortunately Olivia doesn't seem to speak a language any of us can understand. She is always chatting to us and her toys but strangely enough doesn't like repeating words. I am hoping she will soon start catching up but of course it makes me worried that she was small at birth (2.1kg) and with the hard first year we had before her dairy intolerance was picked up. She is still tiny, I ordered some gorgeous pants for the new baby in size 56 (which is for a big newborn basically) and they fit her fine. And that while Tommie is such a giant.

On Wednesday I have my hosp app (which should have been at 20 wks but couldnt go because of the funeral). The dr will have a look and see if they think my body can handle another natural delivery after the damage the twins did. I am scared!! Oh well, off to do some work for today website post... (still going) so that I can hopefully rest tomorrow.

Have a lovely rest of your weekend ladies.
Georgie01
Well, I have to start by saying that DH is actually sick, had to take him to the doctor today (he was too sick to take himself) and he should be improving by tomorrow... he did eat a lot of the cupcakes for the party every time he struggled out of bed though though so it did look like man flu (OK, OK I'm feeling a bit guilty!)

Simone - Thanks for the birthday wishes. I know that worry about the little one. Ava was 2.1 kg and is definitely behind Kira with language, she talks and I can usually understand her but most people can't, her pronunciation of some sounds is a bit odd - except for a handful of words that she says very precisely "yes", "no", "pasta". She's still a tiny girl too but I do worry less as she gets older and meets her milestones. I've found too that language is one of those things that they can take a while to get going then suddenly take off.

We had to move the party to this evening - yesterday DH was very sick, DD had an infected finger, Ava had conjunctivitus and then topped it off by having the contents of her nappy run down her legs in the afternoon... I declared us a biohazard and postponed party. Everyone was doing much better today though and we've had a lovely evening of sausage sizzle with the cousins.

Enjoy your week everyone!

Georgie
Blessed to the MAX
Thanks Georgie. Your poor DH! Hopefully he'll be better soon, don't tell you thought he had man flu.
Olivia is the same as Ava as in pronouncing a few words very very clear: shoes, nose, cheese, daddy and meouw (cat sound). You can tell she really tries to make them sound perfect. Tommie says lots of words but not as clearly, I just always know what he means. Time will tell I guess!

The babies have been horrible sleepers and I am close to my breaking point. Last night it was 3x Tommie and 3x Olivia and for up to one hour. I am at loss what to do.

Wanted to say, kids have been fussing with their lunches and on the weekend I spotted at Coles little steamed veggie bowls from Birds Eye for just $1.24 (250gr). I bought some to try and they happily ate the whole lot up to last pea so at least they don't go to bed with an empty tummy. And not bad at just 3min in the microwave. Not a freezer meal fan but this was a life saver on a very exhausting day like today. Special goes until Wednesday.
Manicmum
Simone - my two aren't the best talkers either, in fact the MCHN has referred them to have their speech assessed, it's not too bad but, as with you the littler one is slightly behind. They don't finish any words other than mummy and daddy, so 'toilet' is 'toy', 'potty' is 'po'. I'm not too worried but would rather jump on it quickly.

Chrissie

kammy

Georgie - I really love your flexibility and ability to take things as they come. Postponing the party sounds like it was the best thing to do considering the circumstances!! Hope everyone is on the improve now (especially DH - man flu is fatal, as we all know LOL)

Well, I had my scan today and... SQUEEE!... there was one beautiful baby with a beating heart original.gif I must say I was relieved it wasn't twins again. My DH doesn't cope too well with chaos and we all know how much chaos twins bring!! As I'm Chief Child Looker-After I am glad I'm only having one this time although I wouldn't have been disappointed if it was more than one...it's just that I feel very much like I will be able to manage my 4 little people. It was so wonderful to see that little heart beating away! I feel so very blessed and so thankful that I get to experience this again. I think because I'm so busy with the kids I forget that I'm pregnant and have to remind myself that yes, I AM having a baby!!

It's been interesting hearing your experiences with your twins and talking. DS1 was a late talker (he signed madly, however and had great comprehension). He didn't really start talking a lot until he was well over 2. I wasn't worried about it but I certainly did ask questions of my dr etc and he's absolutely a chatterbox now with a great vocab (he's 5 in July) and is easy to understand. My twins have been the reverse - they talk all the time and both of them are on par with each other. The other day we had been at Movie World and I was changing Jake's nappy before we got in the car. I said to him, "You're such a good boy for Mummy" and he looked up at me with his big blue eyes and said, "Good boy. Hip hip hooray. Happy birthday to you? Happy birthday, Mummy?" It was as clear as anything and all strung together without a gap. It was so cute and I nearly fell over! The twins talk very similarly and copy each other for pronunciation which is kind of good because I can understand both of them. I have no idea how many words they can say but it's a lot now.

I guess I just think it's a very individual thing - but I'm all for quick action on any potential issues too. DS1 was riding a pushbike without training wheels at 2 1/2 and the twins can't even pedal a tricycle yet, so I think my three have developed very differently...

Having said that, Chrissie, I think you're wise getting the kids to a speechie early if you're at all concerned - early intervention can really be valuable.

Hope you are all well.

Take care. I'm off to bed. Growing a baby is hard work!
Georgie01
Kammy - that's great news! I hope that you feel more relaxed now. There's nothing like seeing a little heart flickering away is there? (well, except for seeing two of them of course original.gif )

I agree about getting a professional opinion about things that are concerning you - much better than having a worry niggle at you (ha! as if a mother doesn't always have some little worry tickling away at the back of her mind original.gif )

Simone - one of my girlfriends is a psychologist specialising in childhood development and a twin mum. She has said that even with a lot of knowledge about what is normal she has to try not to compare the twins and ask "Why isn't that one able to do that? The other one can. I wonder if something is wrong?"

I hope that Olivia's talking takes off soon.

Chrissie - I hope the girls' speech assessment is good.

Well I've got a certified sick husband at home, he's on a "hospital at home" program with a nurse visiting twice each day. Yesterday she arrived at breakfast time and the kids all ate their toast while they watched, utterly fascinated as she pushed several syringes of drugs into his drip. He's much improved though so will hopefully be back to normal next week. Rach and Missy - I am full of admiration for you both managing with your DH's recoveries!

DS started Auskick last weekend and I'm so pleased. We used to go to one that had 300 kids, just super busy and next to a very busy road so a bit of a nightmare for keeping track of the girls. I changed to a closer one that his schoolmates go to - quiet little backstreet and a clubhouse where the littlies can sit on a couch and watch Nick Jr if it's cold or rainy. The girls are SOOO impressed that they don't have to be dragged around an oval in the cold...and there's not 300 kids queuing for a sausage at the end of the game!

Enjoy your weekend everyone.

Georgie
rach1971
HAPPY MOTHERS DAY!
I bet you are all busy. This is my first little break all day. Will be quick as boys want to go out the front on their bikes. A quick question from me though has anyone been to sleep school??
Since going into beds things have gotten really bad sleepwise and I had a friend babysit last night and she works at tweddle. After joking about bedtime we left and she took over and when I got back sha advised me to "book in on Monday" laugh.gif . So I am going to get a referral from the doc and go on the standby list and see if I can get bumped. Other than that all is well. Noah is a chatterbox and Zane is getting there!

Have a great day!
Rach
Georgie01
Rach - I hope you had a lovely Mothers Day. Are you booked into sleep school?

I have been totally flat out, work is so busy and the home computer is getting to that age when it develops multiple quirks, the latest is super-slow internet on some sites - this one included. Worst of all it won't let me do shopping on most sites, I click but things don't go into my shopping bag sad.gif I've taken 10 mins out to catch up in here during "lunch".

Everyone is finally back in good health at home and the twins are just tearing around and hilarious.

I hope that you're all having a great week, I'm looking forward to the weekend already!

Georgie
Lea79
waves.gif ladies

Happy 2nd Birthday Jacob & Matthew!

Hope you are all having a great day Kammy original.gif
I know I posted on FB, but congrats on having ONE healthy bub on board! I have to admit you and Simone kinda make me envious, but I don't think DH will come around unfortunately......

Georgie it sounds like it is time for a new computer. You can't have one that won't let you internet shop ohmy.gif
Glad to hear that everyone is healthy again.

Rach have you got a date for sleep school? I haven't been to one, so I am no help sorry. I hope things sleepwise improve for you soon hhugs.gif

Simone Oscar was a bit the same with his speech. He had a few really clear words otherwise lots were not very clear. It has seemed like in the past month or so his speech has really improved and he is putting words together which Cali was doing months earlier. It is hard not to compare them isn't it? I am sure Olivia's speech will take off soon.

Sorry I haven't posted lately, I have reading but not having alot of time to post, plus FB helps! We have had a bad run of conjunctivitis, DH had a chest infection, kids had a runny nose and I had swollen glands and a cough this week......I really hope this isn't a sign of what winter will be like because I am over it already! It made a fun few weeks with the kids both missing daycare one week and having to juggle work etc. I did end up having just Oscar home with me for one day while Cali went to daycare and it was so nice to have some one-on-one time. He is such as easy kid! He didn't like having his nap on his own and ended up sleeping for two hours on the lounge after crying and screaming when I put him in his cot. He must be just so used to sleeping with someone around now. Otherwise, they are talking up a storm, tantrums are getting more manageable and they are starting to do things like count and signing the words to songs. They are really taking everything in at the moment and are really affectionate and do some hilarious things at times.

Have a great weekend everyone,

Lea
rach1971
Thought I would bump us up!

I haven't had any time to post while the boys are awake as I have to watch them like a hawk.
They are climbing on the benches, today while I was cleaning one mess they went outside and hosed each other down, painted the shower glass with face cream ohmy.gif It just never ends. This stage better not last long or I will have to farm them out or admit myself to the funny farm wink.gif .
I have had Noah back at the doc trying to sort out his asthma and we are trying some new meds so will see how it goes.
Noah is the ring leader for trouble and Zane just follows along. While I am trying to get them to sleep Noah sings at the top of his voice just to stir things up! They are real chatterboxes Noah more so as Zane can't get a word in..
I am going to do some more swapping of beds etc and I might have Mason and Zane share and Noah on his own for a while to try to sort things out. We have been trying some of the tweedle stuff and it has helped.
I have been shopping for a birthday pressie for them and can't find anything we don't already have. They spend lots of time in the street and at the park on their bikes. They have little bouncy balls they call "down balls" so they can play with the older kids. Any ideas??
I have to go and pack bags for creche and I am really looking forward to it. I might book an extra day next week for my sanity! My sister hasn't been well and have been flat out keeping all the balls in the air.

We have spent some rainy days at the play centre which they love. Only two weeks til DH and I have our first night away ( first time we could suck someone into babysitting overnight laugh.gif )
in two weeks so have booked into the Hilton for a night of luxury and have a friends 40th in the City as well. May even try to fit in a show if there is something on.

I hope you are all ok and the pregnancies are running smoothly. Whose birthday is next ?? Kira and Ava??

Rach
Georgie01
Rach - I haven't looked at the list but I think Noah and Zane are next, Ava and Kira were nearly 4 weeks ago original.gif Not to worry, I know too well what it's like to be just so flat out that time just disappears, I've blinked and missed whole weeks original.gif

I bet you're looking forward to a night away. What luxury! Make sure you really spoil yourselves, who knows when you'll rope in an overnight babysitter again?

I'm starting to figure out beds too. I'd assumed that I'd put them together but it would probably work better if I split them so they shared with the older kids for a while, less shenanigans. It's a little way off though, I need to convert the laundry to a bedroom and get them out of my "formal loungeroom" - which doesn't look remotely formal at the moment, usually coated in bedding and brightly coloured plastic original.gif

I got Ava and Kira new shoes, coats and books for their birthdays. They are so hard on books that I always suggest them, nice to have some undamaged ones occasionally.

Lea - I'm entering week 5 of family noty at 100% and I'm over it too. DH recovered from the infection but has had a bad back since from the lack of movement and exercise, Kira got oral thrush from the antibiotics she was on (took me a few days to work out that was what it was, I'd assumed teething, poor thing) and this morning their little noses were runny and I've got a cold too sad.gif I just want everyone to have a good night's sleep and stop being grumpy original.gif

I've got DH investigating a new computer for home, we really need a printer and fax as well. I guess I can survive a bit longer without shopping but it also won't respond to buttons on FB, so no discussions or status updates there, I can read the first page but not comment sad.gif

They are all adorable though, they do a bit of counting (not at all accurately), some ABC and DH is currently on a mission to teach them colours... Ava tells him that everything is "lollipop" colour original.gif

The PM is at one of the other work locations this morning to announce new funding, it must be a large amount for him to turn up personally so that should leave a very happy and upbeat work environment for a while!

Have a great weekend everyone.

Georgie
~plimsol~
Hi all Missy here just incase you are wondering who it is!!

Hope you are all well...

Kammy: hope the Boys had a great birthday and your pregnancy is going well..

i have been having a few problems with my kidneys again so i am back to the specialist tomorrow after 5 different scans to figure out if he will take my right kidney or try and remove stones that are giving me grief.. if you are wondering he isn't just taking the kidney because of the stones, I had about 20% fuction of my right kidney about 10 years ago when i had it tested so the results from the tests I had will tell me the function of my kidneys and if its below 15% he will take it out!! If they are ok he will have to figure out what to do I suppose.
I will let you know the outcome!

well i had better go

take care missy
Da_Boys_Mumma
Hello Ladies,

Missy hope you are feeling better soon.

Kammy i am sorry i think i missed it Happy Birthday to Jacob and Matthew. I am sure they had a great day and i love the cakes you made biggrin.gif How is your pregnancy going?

Simone how are you feeling? How far along are you now?

Rach i hope all your family is well.

Georgie i LOVE that everything is lollypoo colour

Lea i hope you are all well there too.

waves.gif Hi Chrissy how are you?

Well life is crazy her. Dh and i can never help but to over load ourselves with things to do we are crazy lol. The twins are so cute and so cheeky really growing up and really one of the boys now. The big 2 boys are adjusting to realise the little ones are starting to do things like them and that they need to step make and let them have a go.
And we have decided to add to our collection of children roll2.gif and we are pregnant oomg.gif I am so excitited it is so right and i am already at peace with the idea that it will be our last bubs. Of course it is still early days (like 4 weeks) but whats meant to be will be, but hoping it sticks yyes.gif I JUST BEG THAT YOU PLEASE DONT MENTION IT ON FACEBOOK cause we are keeping it quiet for now. I think DH is excited but nervous about what people will say being #5 and wants to give bubs a bit more time to stick. Either way i feel like a pig in mud at the moment and very excited.
Take care

B.
Blessed to the MAX
Just a quickie because I am about to run out the door but YAY YAY YAY for Belz!!!! Congratulations!
Who would have thought: there is so many babies on the way again in our twins 2008... So I guess twins didn't scare us after all?

Fingers crossed for you Belz and I won't say a thing!
kammy
Congrats, Belz!!!! That's awesome original.gif And as someone who can't keep my own pregnancies a secret for more than 3 seconds, I promise I won't mention anything on FB. DH was just saying the other day that he's surprised with how underwhelming people's responses are when we tell them we're having #4. I imagine it will be just the same for you guys with #5. It's like they wonder if they can be excited! Meanwhile, we're rapt that another baby is on the way.

Hang in there, baby! I was delighted to read that in the past two weeks my bubba has grown from the size of an olive, to the size of a prune, to the size of a lime. No wonder I've been tired! I'm 10 weeks now so hopefully the morning sickness will ease soon. It's not bad but enough to slow me down. Hope you have a wonderfully uneventful pregnancy xx

And Missy, how did you get on at the specialists? Hope they can find a way to help you. Take care.
Lea79
Congrat Belz!! Hoping it is a really sticky one for you hands.gif

Missy hope you are ok.

Georgie01
Kammy - I hope the MS eases soon, it must be hard keeping up with the boys

Belz - congratulations! Life sounds good for you and your family at the moment

Missy - I hope that you got some good news from the specialist

Simone - you sound super-busy (as we all are I guess original.gif )

I'm very excited today, our babysitter called last night to say she had Saturday night free so DH and I are off for a date! We're trying to have a little bit of time together away from the kids, life at home is mostly organised around the kids and it's hard to focus much on each other with their little angelic faces (and voices) popping up everywhere.

I hope everyone has a great weekend.

Georgie
Da_Boys_Mumma

Georgie, Thankyou, I hope you enjoy saturday night. Life is great although hectic non stop- dh is setting up a mobile mechanic business and of course he has to rebuild an old f100 as his truck rolleyes.gif

Lea Thankyou, hope you are well.

Kammy, thankyou.I am totally excited, like want to stand on top of a building and shout it to the world excited. But it hasn't sunk in yet. For example i was just pouring a glass of milk for the boys and i was think mmmmyum bailey's and milk would be nice right now. Until i realised ummm not i can't. Starting to think through all the things we will need to organise too- and its exciting. And i hope i don't sound ungrateful but i really would love this bubs to be just one. Twins is fun and exciting but ..... i have had my share of twins its someone elses turn laughing2.gif Hope your m.s. continues to pass, im not looking forward to mine setting in.

Simone, roll2.gif no i guess we weren't scared off. How far are you? Are you all organised for #3?

Ok done dinner must put boys to bed, i forgot how tiring growing bubs can be. Oh and can i just say i am very happy to be still in my normal jeans comfortably. By this time with the boys i was always uncomfortable and by 5/6 weeks started wearing maternity clothes. So yes i am enjoying my normal clothes for now Tounge1.gif

catch you all later

Georgie01
Belz - LOL at
and of course he has to rebuild an old f100 as his truck
, there's always a reason to have a car project isn't there?

Saturday night was lovely, dinner at a Thai restaurant then dessert and a drink at our local strip of bars/cafes/restaurants where the people-watching is fab.

The girls are taking their pjs off and streaking aroudn the house so I'd better go.

Have a good week everyone - I'm off to a huge formal dinner on Wed!
Blessed to the MAX
Have fun Georgie!

I am run off my feet by these two, plus so many other things to do. I am 27.1 wks now, getting bigger and more uncomfortable. We are trying to do some long overdue renovations in the house before the baby gets here but it is stressing me out. Having tradies in the house I need to contain the kids in one room, and being the only adult makes it hard sometimes. I have ordered a new pram to fit three so I will be able to go out without toddlers running off.

Off to do more loads of washing now, getting ready for my laundry to be out of order for a few days this week when the builder finally comes around to knock through some walls.
Da_Boys_Mumma
Hello Ladies,

Well unfortunately this little one wasn't a sticky, most likely due to a thyroid problem which has reared it's ugly head. But went to the specialist today and she as put me on some meds to control it. It is a loss and sad but we can move on knowing my body and mind will be more prepared next time.

Hope everyone is well and the little ones are keeping out of mischief tongue.gif

B x
rach1971
bbighug.gif B a big hug to you, take care of yourself.

Well I am organising like a woman posessed my first night away from the boys ddance.gif and I can't wait for some 5 star luxury!
My sis bro and sil are all on duty and hopefully it will all go well. We have booked into the the Crown hotel with Gordon Ramsay restaurant so I really looking forward to it. A browse through the markets in the morning and home by lunch time to relieve the troops.

We are off to a GF 40th in a great little venue on Chapel St so I feel like a real person again!
Off to polish the nails, have a great weekend.

My boys are 2 next Thursday it is very exciting can't wait! pressies all ready to go just need a mini bake a thon and I am ready to roll!

Rach
Georgie01
Belz - I'm sorry, I hope that you get your thyroid sorted out soon.

Simone - I can't imagine being out of my laundry for a few days, if I don't get some done every day the pile gets soooo huge! I hope the renovations get done quickly.

Rach - I hope you have a really great night, it sounds fantastic!

My night out was great, interesting (and short!) talks, good entertainment and food, met lots of people and had a lot of laughs.

I hope you all have a great weekend, I'm looking forward to a quiet one!

Georgie
Lea79
Belz so sorry to read your news sad.gif I hope the thyroid problem sorts itself out soon.

Rach enjoy your night! Sounds fab! Sounds like you are all prepared for the big 2nd birthday. I am starting to plan for C & O's too.

Simone I am not envious of you doing renos with twins and being pg! I hope you have your laundry back and they renos are finished soon.

Georgie sounds like a good night out. Enjoy your quiet weekend.

We are all relatively healthy (touch wood!) for the first time in months I think! Who knows how long that is going to last though!

Lea
Da_Boys_Mumma
Thankyou for all your kind thoughts. The endocrinologist has put me on medication for my thyroid and all is good to ttc.

Rach hope you had a good night

Simone hope the reno's are going okay we have ALOT to do here rolleyes.gif

Lea its fantasic to hear you are all healthy i hope it stays that way for you

Georgie i hope you had a nice quiet weekend.

Missy how are you going

:waves:Amanda and Kammy waves.gif

All is good here. Just trying to get back ontop of things after a crazy week last week

B xx
Blessed to the MAX
Belz I am so sorry for you, hopefully the medication will work soon and all will go smoothly from here.

Reno's are far from done, let's say that DH 'forgot' to tell me how much he had to do himself to be able to bring the price down.... Grrr.... I can use the washing machine but that is it!

Hosp appt tomorrow and if all is well I think that might be the last one until wk36? With the twins I had so many appts but now being a low risk I hardly have any. We'll see what they say. This baby moves a lot more than the twins, it is amazing. I'm very tired and the twins are testing me all day long. Some days I really wish I could stick them behind the wall paper (as my mum would say). Tommie wants to watch and 'help' all day which is not always convenient. He is gorgeous though, yesterday I came out of the shower and sat down on the couch with bare feet. He went to the washing line, got down two of his own socks (matching) and tried to put them on my feet. Melts your heart.

Off to make dinner for me and DH.
Georgie01
Happy Birthday Noah and Zane! Rach, I was thinking of you yesterday while I was making DD's birthday cakes. I hope that you all have a lovely day.

Simone - that's such a cute story. I love it when they do really thoughtful things like that. Mine are currently obsessed with tights which is mostly cute but not so great when they dive under my skirt or lift up my dress to check whether I'm wearing tights or really long socks - it's happened in public a couple of times.

Belz - wishing you all the best

Not much to report here, just the usual shenanigans original.gif Hope you are all having a good week.

Georgie
~plimsol~
Belz> sorry to hear your news I hope the meds work for you...

I hope everyone else is well...
sorry been mia laely lots goin on I have stones in my right kidney and am now on waiting list for them to be lasered out they have decided to keep right kidney in for a bit longer...
On an up note I have been offered a job at Sitel in the call centre.. It's full time not that i wanted that but money is money...
Better go take care..
kammy
Belz - big hugs to you. sad.gif I'm really sorry for your loss and I hope that your thyroid situation is under control. I've never been through a miscarriage, but I suspect (like failed IVF cycles) at least knowing why brings some sort of comfort?? Look after yourself and your beautiful boys.

Missy - that's great that you've been offered a job. Have you decided one way or the other yet? And if so, when do you start? Hope your kidneys get sorted soon too. Kidney stones are so not fun! I had them at 30 weeks pregnant with the twins and I thought I was in labour!! Give me labour anyday original.gif

Rach - happy birthday to your boys. It's amazing to see all our littlies turning 2. They are such big kids now!

Simone - that's awesome that your pregnancy is going so well but I can imagine how tired you are - and your twins are 6 months younger than mine and you're 16 weeks ahead of me in pregnancy, so no wonder you're exhausted. My two have settled a lot in the last few months and are really good most of the time. I'm emerging from that first trimester exhaustion and am feeling human again. Yay!

Lea - hope your run of good health continues. We've had a housefull of runny noses and coughs for the last few weeks but it's the first time in a while we've been sick, so I guess it's to be expected. I just have to cross my legs every time I sneeze - those pelvic floor muscles aren't what they used to be! LOL

Rach - how was your night out? sounds like you were totally prepared and I'm sure it all went well.

Well, hubby is heading to the US for 3.5 weeks on Wednesday. He's going to visit his family (with my blessing - it was too hard and expensive for all of us to go) but we'll miss him lots. I do the bulk of the caring for the boys by myself anyway so I'm not expecting anything to be that different - I just won't be cleaning up after him too LOL Nah, I'll miss him, but it's important for him to see his family. It's been 4 years since we were last there.

I'm 13 weeks this Wednesday and things are going well, although those of you on FB saw that I came back as high risk for Down's. My baseline risk for my age was 1:410 but I came out as 1:212 (1:300 puts you in high risk) purely because of my blood/urine test results. The baby was fine and we've been told that it's 80% likely it's a little girl original.gif I never thought I wanted a girl but I am excited by the thought.

We're not doing an amnio or anything at this stage as it wouldn't change our minds about the pregnancy anyway, and there's still a 99.5% chance (literally) that the baby doesn't have Down's, so I'm not going to worry about it until something else shows up. They'll do a thorough 19 week scan and if anything pops up then, I may have an amnio just to be prepared - but the sonographer was very confident that everything would be fine, although she did say she's surprised about once a year. What will be, will be, so I'm trying not to let it rattle me too much. Part of me wishes I hadn't had the testing done - all I wanted to do was see my baby on the ultrasound and she (? maybe!) looked just perfect.

I've got my energy back (hooray!) so have been cleaning madly this weekend. I've got most of the house sparkling from top to bottom and have even done horrible jobs like clean out the tracks that the windows slide in and dust the skirting boards and architraves. I also cleaned out my fridge. So, I'm feeling rather virtuous right now! I still need to finish off cleaning the kitchen and then do DS1s room which is a disaster zone. Not sure if I can manage that today or not... Might wait until tomorrow when the twins are sleeping and he's at Kinder.

Have a great long weekend everyone.

Take care
~plimsol~
I start Next monday cant wait actually....

Kammy.. I hope you go ok with the boys while your Dh is away

better go trying to rest while i can...
Lea79
Well I spoke to soon on being healthy......a few days later I ended up sick and still am! I have a chest infection and an awful cough, I am now onto my second course of AB's. Cali and Oscar are both coughing but otherwise not too bad. DH said this morning he isn't feeling 100% now......never ends does it!

Simone I guess this baby has more room to move wink.gif I would love to experience that. Just not at the moment, I don't think I would have the patience at the moment! I understand your need to 'stick them behind the wallpaper' laughing2.gif But in saying that, they are gorgeous funny little creatures at times wub.gif I hope your appointment went well.

Missy well done on the job! I hope it all goes well next week. How are all your boys?

Kammy as I said on FB, my odds for Cali having DS were much higher than yours and she is perfect. The odds are definitely on your side. Great news on the bub being 80% girl! I guess you are holding out on buying all things pink until you get the confirmation at 19wks? I hope your DH enjoys himself. I don't think I could go 3.5wks without mine, not without some reinforcements! Good on you!

waves.gif everyone else.

It looks like we will be moving house soon. Our landlord it selling and out lease expires in August. Can't say I am looking forward to the packing, unpacking and cleaning but we were thinking of doing it anyway as we would like a bigger back yard for the kids. I am hoping I can rope in some help from my mum, just to help keep the kids out of the way while I try to pack/unpack, because as much as they would like to 'help' I can't see them being much help laughing2.gif

Have a good week everyone,

Lea
Georgie01
Lea - you've been having a rough time. It does get better as they get older, at least the older kids don't wake up and want a cuddle if their noses are blocked original.gif I hope you find somewhere nice to move to, a good outdoor area is great.

Missy - great news about the job. Will you be able to cut back to part time if you want in the future?

Kammy - How exciting to maybe have a girl this time (of course a boy would be exciting too). I hope that your hubby has a great time while he's away, it must be hard to be so far. Travel gets expensive with a few kids doesn't it? I'm going to Perth for a wedding later in the year and the kids are all invited too but it's such a lot of $$ now that they all have to pay for seats.

If I ever got my house tidy and sparkling I'd feel virtuous too original.gif

The nasal bone and thin measurement are great news too, I'm sure everything will be fine.

We had a lovely weekend. The kids have been a bit run down with colds so we opted out of football on Sautrday morning (it was very cold and raining) and spent the morning at a shopping centre, lots of fun, mostly because we were there very early so it didn't matter too much if the kids didn't stay perfectly beside the pram. It turns out that Ava, my delicate little pixie who's just not that into food, loves donuts with a passion! Sunday we visited friends for dinner and I had the second person in a week ask how to have twins! We must have looked like we had it under control original.gif

I'm off for a night away for work tomorrow. DH has the day off but I got the girls into daycare for the day so he'll have a day to himself to prepare for the evening chaos... I'll be having food prepared by other people and no family responsibilities!

Georgie
Blessed to the MAX
Lea: Poor you about the illnesses and moving house! We moved house when the twins were 7 months old and I found it hard (especially because DH didn't get to take a single day off) but I can't even imagine doing it at this age. If the renovations at the moment are any indication of what it is like it will be a challenge. But then in saying that, once you are settled in somewhere you will forget about the moving hassle and really love it. Even though this house has cost us a lot of tears with the many hidden issues we discovered later we still love it and we love the area. Hope you find something suitable soon!

Kammy: I am sorry to hear about your DS screening results but lovely to hear about the possibility it might be a girl. I am sure you would have been stoked either way. I never had the screening done (not for the twins either), as I knew I would not be able to handle the wait/stress/results being pregnant, I felt strongly that if I found out anything was wrong after the baby was born it would be easier because we could see and hold our beautiful baby. And as you say, it wouldn't have changed our thought at all. Hopefully time will fly by and the results will be much better next time. I do recall having an ultrasound at 16wks or so (just for fun with my friend the sonographer) and she confirmed the nasal bone etc which did somehow made me feel better. It made me a little less worried about the 19wk scan too.

Georgie: I had to laugh about the tights/socks check. Without meaning it can be pretty awkward sometimes. Because the twins are both really interested in the toilet these days they both want to go with me. It is not very relaxing sitting on the toilet with one twin next to you on a potty (fully dressed) and another one standing in front of you, both asking for 'wipes' (1 sheet of toilet paper) to then try and reach inbetween/past/around me to throw it in the toilet. But when I try to leave them outside the toilet they cry and bang on the door, the poor things. They think they are so clever understanding the whole toilet routine.

Missy: I hope you will feel better soon and I think you are being very brave taking on a fulltime job, hopefully something with better hours will come up for you shortly.

Nearly 30 wks now, time is flying. My last hospital appt was great. My bloodpressure and bloodsugar were both nice and low, but unfortunately my iron too so I will need to keep an eye on it, it might explain how tired I am. We finally got our new bed set up, after 10 wks of sleeping on the mattress on the floor. It is beautiful and feels and smells like a showroom. I feel less like an elephant trying to get up!
Last week we received a letter from centrelink that according to their records the twins missed an immunisation. I sort of dismissed it because we took them to all their immunisations and all were ticked in the book. I rang the GP and asked them to just ring/fax proof of the immunisation for Centrelink it appeared that the GP had forgotten to give them one of their 12 month needles. I was and still am horrified! We went back on the weekend to get them done, nearly a year late. I still can't get over it.

Well off to work on the website again, still going...
Da_Boys_Mumma
BUMP

How is everyone....?

Hey Amanda did i read right in another thread??????

Bxx
Nee
Thread closed. original.gif

New thread here.
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.