The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: September 08 Parents #153

Pages: 1, 2, 3

http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/forums/ind...howtopic=765752

trinyweeny
GOLD
cassi8
SILVER!
littlemumma
Bronze - finally a new thread original.gif

Morning

Well I promise I did a post on Tuesday night after B&S but my wireless decided to run out right as I hit reply and do you think it saved my post, of course not...errrrrr.

Blondi - what a bummer about the book...you might have to look at registering for the sniper thingo, don't ask me though as I know basically nothing about ebay. Hope you feel better and get to catch up with the girls.

Ali - how frustrating with the computer. We have a Dell laptop also which was bought when I had Max as well, its playing up at the moment also but seems to be the battery. Is Oliver just having the one sleep now or is he still on two?

Sharon - how nice catching up with a friend you haven't seen in so long. Yes school is busy...this morning I had to drop K to school, drop M to Mum's and be at work by 930am, its full-on in the mornings.

Key - hope you can finish that assignment off. Your poor friend, how dreadful for her, I hate to imagine really, hope she has a good support network.

cassi - its good DH is making progress with getting the house in order, my DH definitely works best with lists....as do I really.

Sarina - I hope Faith had a lovely birthday. Lol at what she said in class, I would have died....kids hey, gotta luv em. I have to say how ADORABLE faith looked in her ballet leotard etc, she is so beautiful, love her dimples wub.gif wub.gif

We had our first parent-teacher interview on Monday night for K.....the teacher said "he is going really well, he is a good helper in class and likes to be picked for things"....lol.

Took Max swimming again on Monday...can't believe after 3 weeks he already knows to turn and grab the wall, amazing how quickly they pick it up....he is loving being in the water with me, stills screams at teh teacher when she takes him though!!
~Elliesmum~
boobies

better go catch up lol
alimumof3
morning

anna oooo how exciting! you coudl be! I know I felt sick before I found out I was pregnant this time. Make sure you let us know asap! we love that kind of news in this group!!

sarina that was hilarious what Faith said!! roll2.gif Myself and DH had a good little giggle at that!

littlemumma he is still having the two sleeps. so an hour in the morning, and 2-2.5 in the arvo...pretty good at the moment! I tried to drop him down to one sleep but he wasnt coping on that! DD needs her sleep too so lets hope baby number 3 is the same.
Very good Max with the swimming!
Oh and yes this batttery is pretty shot too..

sharon i bet you had lots to catch up on after 2yrs!

blondie sorry about the text book. I think that sniping thing shouldnt be allowed! its so annoying.
Optus rang back, they are sending a new modem in 3-5 working days! woot woot. lets hope that works.

key oh dear your poor friend! and wow to your sixth sense.

going to shops today to see if Harris scarfe have the curtains i need want. will shout the kids an icecream while we're there. will be the first time testing out the rear sensors on the car too!

well best get off the comp and pop oliver to bed. Have OB appointment this arvo too.
littlemumma
Oh Anna I missed your post....positive pregnancy thoughts for you.

Ali - That is excellent that Oliver is still having two sleeps, keep up the good work Oliver. I think bub 3 will be fine, don't they say the third just fits right in....hope so. xx
cassi8
Hi Ladies!

laughing2.gif Sarina, outta the mouths of babes.. It would be interesting to be a fly on the wall..

Littlemumma - sounds like swimming is going well. N has figured out he can 'swim' in the bath on his tummy, thinks its great. He hates being on his back in the water, even in the bath.

Ali - I hope the new modem fixes your issues. Good luck at the OB and finding those curtains!

Key - Thats just awful, you must be feeling like your whole world is falling apart with everything that is happening at the moment! sad.gif

DH had a chat to the new room leader at CC yesterday afternoon. She seems well qualified and sounds like she will be great for all the kids. She said she was watching N yesterday and noticed that he happily sits and watches the other kids playing and will go and play if he is invited and engaged in the activity. She suggested more social environments for him to build up his confidence so it isn't hurt so much with any rejection that happens, if that makes sense. No idea how I am going to do that but will have to see what I can organise. I am guessing things like playgroup where he is exposed to different kids and different ages is what she was talking about.
alimumof3
all ready for the shops just waiting for O to wake.

cassi that is interesting what the CC leader said. hmmmmmm. The only thing O does is MG once a week and then play dates with other friends.
I would have thought CC was enough for N in regards to social environments?? Not that playgroup isnt a good idea or anything.
BTW, how is DH?
Bel Rowley
Ellangel - LOL at being more busy with 1 kid at school! Nice that you got to catch up with your friend.

Anna - Ooh, very exciting, I hope you are pregnant! I am hoping to join you soon. I am studying Communications, to eventually major in either journalism or public relations, I am undecided.

Littlemumma- great news from the teacher about Kai, and sounds like Max is thriving at swimming. I didn't go with Claudia and DH this weekend but the teacher she is supposed to have every week was back (she wasn't there the first week) and DH said she wasn't as good as the fill-in! Apparently she is too quiet so you can't hear half her instructions and not as fun as the other one.

Ali - I agree the sniping shouldn't be allowed, not fair at all! I might have to do it though, if you can't beat 'em, join 'em shrug.gif. Good news about the modem. I hope the appointment goes well this arvo.

Cassi - It does seem strange the CC lady saying Nathan needs more social environments, like Ali I would've thought CC was doing that! I am no expert that's for sure but I reckon they just have different personalities even at the age they are now, some are more outgoing and some are more shy or independent. Claudia is less shy with other kids than a lot of the others her age who are in CC full time and always interacting with others.

I did make it to Macca's, it was just me and one lady Anna who usually works full time but has been having to take a lot of time off because of her little boy's multiple illnesses. Poor munchkin was a premie and is always sick with something, she's only been back at work for about 6 months and has already used nearly all her sick and annual leave because of her little boy.
cassi8
CC teacher sounds psyc trained so it was more a this is what I have observed kind of thing and that if rejected that he may not cope well with it. The idea being I think to help build his resilliance and coping mechanisims. That it could make things more difficult and he would speak up for himself as he gets closer to school age. I am the same, hence not many good friends or a huge amount of confidence although N changed that wink.gif
I do value feedback like that though, its good to know how he is away from us and how he is doing. She did say that he is doing very well and will get involved when encouraged and invited in but I don't think he would join in on an activity unless invited..

Ali - DH is doing well, seems to be back to 'normal'. His knee is healing well and Physio is getting full on now as well and he has stacks going on at work. I am watching him though and talking to him lots to keep the stress levels down.
littlemumma
Blondi - I'm assuming your friend 'has' to work given she is doing full-time. It's a shame given that her son's ammune system isn't coping. Could you possibly suggest family daycare, less children, home environment so less likely to get so sick. Some of the swimming teachers are brilliant, others are hopeless!!

cassi - I see what the lady at cc is saying but I def would have thought 3 days of childcare would be enough socialising. But I suppose maybe she would like to see what he was like if you had some playdates, with maybe another child or children....ummm, hard one although I do agree with Blondi that I think it is a personality thing, they are all different, we are all different. Playgroups are good, if you find a good one.

cassi8
The first thing I said to DH is that I thought CC would have been enough for him. Maybe Sharon and her CC training can enlighten us! wink.gif We do swimming as well although not really there to socalise and I will do playgroup if I can find a good one on a day I can do when we move. Not much point at the moment to have to uproot him in a month or 2. I do try playdates and things, i just don't have many people that I can see that have kids his age. My closest friend has 2 kids, 3 and 1 but she is often busy with things so we don't get to catch up too often.
ellangel
Home...ended up going to the op shops! Holli had a ball although kept saying "cupcake" as she knew the bakery was nearby! Weird going to the oppy without Ella. She was my little sifter and bargain hunter at knee height level!
Got some clothes for E but not much for H. I am not sure if she is going to be in O, 1's or 2's this winter so have pulled it all out and man, there is a lot!

Cassi - what a strange assumption for that CC teacher to make. I wouldnt give it too much thought as he is going to grow and change at his own pace, regardless. He is getting plenty of interaction and like you said, he may be a little like his mum and a bit on the reserved side.

Gotta go clean up as having another presentation tonight. I have well and truly found my passion.
Clazza

Just popping in to say hello. Don't have that much time before the school pick up (yes Sharon - I agree - life is hectic with one at school!!) so will just be brief.

Anna - welcome! I hope you pregnant, if that's what you want! How exciting.

Cassi - I think you mentioned somewhere about a March 5 catch up but unfortunately I can't make Fridays. sad.gif Callum has swimming lessons in the morning...could we possibly do aother day, like a Tues or Wed? If not I'll have to miss out this time...

LM - that's great that Kai is doing well at school!

Blondie - hope your cold doesn't get worse.

Triny - yay for Jacqui's increased walking. Clever girl.

Sarina - Faith is gorgeous! So so cute in her ballet outfit and also in her classroom.

Meljas - woohoo at no GD.

How cute is this? When you say "I love you" to Maddie she has now started saying it back!!! Well, it's kind of more like "ILOYOU" in a singsong voice but I know what she's saying cause it's always in response to me saying it to her. wub.gif

Can't remember much else, Maddie had us up for her usual 2 hours last night (she still does this every night, but 99% of the time I don't feed her, we just resettle/ignore her) so I'm tired today.

Claire
cassi8
Clazza - we can make it a Monday if that is better? I am working Tuesday to Thursday so those days are out for me. Maybe we can make it a little later so you can make it if Monday is no good. I am flexable. original.gif
I wub.gif the 'love you' just makes your heart melt doesn't it?!

Sharon - Not going to read too much into it, just interesting I guess. I'm not going to rush out and enrol him in 5 different things and have play dates everyday he isn't at CC wink.gif
Sound like you need to train Holli up to be your new op shop scout! laughing2.gif
tweedy08
Have done sme catch up reading! Sounds like alot of the little bubbas hear are learning lots of words. Tilly is still just a babbler with a few words. Wonder if I should be worried?

I cant be long as I have to run down the post office & post off this letter. Its my application to uni! I got accepted in to do the tertiary enabling program step 2!!! So I dont have to do all the getting ready stuff its straight into it. I have to decide though whether to do bioscience (i have heard its pretty full on) or history. Tough one!

Gotta go.

Chat soon!
ellangel
Sarina - you should get your cream soon! BTW, the sleeping bag is a hit! Thank you so much! She wears it at night...so roomy. 1st night i put it on her, she looked down at it thinking 'what is this?' then the next night fine. BBS...
Sound like you need to train Holli up to be your new op shop scout!
nooo cassi. I would never get her back in the pram without a public fight!
~3boysmummy~
aarrrggghhh crap you all talk way too much. Can you slow down?? rolleyes.gif LOL

trinyweeny
Tweedy - jacqui isn't saying many words either probably says about 5 words. Constantly babbles all day though.

Blondie - Bummer on the uni book. Have you tried fishpond or book depository? Sorry about passing on my cold. (Ewww imagine if you could pass things on through the internet)

Cassi - Jacqui has barely any interaction with other kids. We usually meet up with one mum from mother's group once a week. The occasional visit with her cousin and swimming of course. Looking at starting playgroup in the next few weeks.

Ali - Hopefully a new modem will fix up all your problems

Clazza - wub.gif how sweet!

Ellangel - I'm having the same dilemma at the moment with clothing for winter size 0 or 1? I must of spent about 20mins in BigW buying pj's today trying to decide which size.
ellangel
I would not worry those that are not saying alot of 'real' words yet. Babbling is still communicating. As long as they are understanding alot of what you say, I would not be worried Tweedy.
How exciting you got into uni! Congratulations and well done! ddance.gif

Triny - aaaccchhhoooo!! Did you get wet???!!! laughing2.gif

Anna - sounds like pregnancy symptoms to me!
alimumof3
my poor neighbour who is due on monday wiht her third has torn her pelvis (or soemthig like that!) she is in agony and had a bleed but has to wait til monday before they'll do a stretch and sweep. poor thing. she's in a midwifery care thing, birthing suite. how on earth is she meant to look after a 20mth old and 4 yr old while in agony??
ellangel
Oh that is terrible Ali! My gosh...she should be on bedrest IN the hospital! Is this through public or private? Public I am assuming? I would be taking her to the hospital if I were her husband. Monday is a long time away to be in that pain. How upsetting...how did you she do it...? (torn the ligaments in her pelvis do you think?)
laraq75

This one parent gig is hard to get used to. Even though during the day i wouldn't normally get help. It is just you have to do the jobs that the partners normally do as well.

Cassi - I am really suprised that the CC room leader. They really aren't suppose to play with other kids at this age. My DD often plays side by side with other kids and sometimes she joins in. I really wouldn't worry about what she said. Angus goes to social things every day but he hardly ever moves off my lap and I am certainly not worried about it. He is just very shy.

Ali - your poor neighbour that sounds awful.

Tweedy - Angus is a grunter and a pointer but he understands things just doesn't verbalise them in the english language. i wouldn't worry about it at all. They all grow at there own pace. I have found the difference from my DD to Angus is huge. He is hardly talking at all compared to her at the same age.

Clazza - that is so cute about maddie saying I love you. awww wub.gif

I need to go back and do some reading of the last thread.

hugs

Lara
Bel Rowley
C and I are back from a mammoth shopping trip. Bought sand for her clam, presents for christening/birthday this weekend and another friend who had a little boy, some groceries and for Claudia - crayons, a ball, sneakers, leggings, and bodysuits. All in size 1 for winter even though she's a bit small for them, I'd rather they big on her and last longer. Unfortunately I mistakenly got short sleeve instead of long sleeve bodysuits so will have to go back ddoh.gif. My cold is a little better thanks to those who asked!

Littlemum - Yes my friend does have to work. I really feel for her, she doesn't want to but as she was telling me today her hubby, who is a mechanic, has a very erratic income and struggles to clear $40K a year, they have a mortgage etc and could not get by without her working. She would like to have another baby too but they can't afford it. This is the same friend who had two miscarriages before her little boy, one at 24 weeks sad.gif. She's had such a struggle. Her son was getting sick often even before she went back to work and put him in CC so I don't know if that's making much difference to be honest.

Cassi - I think waiting to find a playgroup when you move is a good idea. I'm sure N will be fine, socially.

Ellangel - I'm so happy for you finding your passion, we all should!

Clazza - gosh you must be knackered. Lucky Maddie is such a sweet, loving girl to make up for the bad nights!

Tweedy - as I said on FB CONGRATS and I think you should do bioscience. History is very interesting but unless you want to be a teacher there are probably less options for what to do with it. Just my two cents...

Triny (I nearly called you Jacqui lol) - Even book depository is not helping me this time, the book is still $100 there! Might give fish pond a go, I've tried everywhere else I can think of including textbook exchange.

Ali - OOWWWWW your poor friend. Hope they're giving her some good painkillers!

Lara - you're right, it does make a difference not having your partner there even if it doesn't seem like they do much some of the time wink.gif.
melaniejasmin
afternoon,

Blondie - have you tried the library? I am just going to borrow my textbook from the uni library. I am able to borrow from Syd uni or UNSW though which might make a difference... How awful for your friend and her son sad.gif I also couldnt imagine losing a baby at 24 weeks... that would be terrible.

Tweedy - great work getting into uni! I though you were going to do nursing?? is this a prep course? I'd do bioscience, because it's easier! History means lots of reading and writing long essay (although very interesting) where as bio science will mostly be building on knowledge for exams (or rote learning!).

Clazza - i'd love an 'I love you'! we mostly get 'Grug' (as in the book)!
I can also make mondays Cassi and Triny

Cassi - I wouldnt think that kids this age 'play' with each other either. I havent seen any kids at Alexanders CC or play group actually play together, just play along side one another or by themselves!

Anna - did I say lovely to meet you?! opps! we want to know all the details of your possible pregnancy! start weeing on the sticks now!! original.gif

We went to our first playgroup of the year yesterday. I think that I should have moved Alexander up a level so that there were more structured ativities for him, but it's only 6 weeks till next term (they are doing renos so it started late in this term). there was a new mother there with (very ugly cool.gif ) twin girls.... she was nice however I'm not sure how close we will be given the fact that she is 51!! thats right FIFTY-ONE! my mother is 51.... (I get on great with her, but she didnt want kids at 50!) this woman already has a son who is 27... not really my thing to be having kids at that age.

Not talking to DH at the moment. he let Alexander take a special stone container that my grandmother gave me (now dead) out of the study (he is allowed to touch not to hold) and A. smashed it on the tiles cry1.gif I am totally p*ssed off at him, he is just so blase about somethings, and doesnt seem to notice that I am really upset about it sad.gif It is his fault as he knows that A shouldnt take things away... he was playing on the computer at the time and filing his nails.... !
Bel Rowley
Oh Melanie I would be most annoyed too. DH is always going off at me if I let Claudia get anything of his but doesn't give a hoot if it's something of mine glare.gif. I have tried library for the textbook, unfortunately it's a newish one and borrowing remotely from Griffith is a real pain, they don't let you have books for long enough and textbooks are always in high demand so you can't renew.
trinyweeny
Cassi, meljas & Clazza - i can do mondays as well.

meljas - How heartbreaking cry1.gif Men sometimes just don't get it. hhugs.gif I would be majorly upset and p'd off as well.

Tweedy - Congrats and do bioscience.

Anna - we all love waiting for POAS results here. Hopefully you are UTD and is the start of some BFP's.

Lara - Its the entertaining the kids/child whilst trying to get dinner organised, DH does the bath here so I can get the loungeroom tidied etc.

better go and start dinner for Miss J whilst she is happy. DH away again tonight. Jacqui also gave me a fat lip this afternoon whilst we were playing on the lounge. Its a great look.

ellangel
Ok Meljas - I dont know whether to be angry at your Dh to not have the sense to take the container off A OR laugh at him cause he was filing his nails!! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Blondie - LOL at the mum at 51. Holy cow! OMG...ugly baby girls? Are you sure? Description please.!!!!!!

Better go supervise...popcorn party in the loungeroom.
alimumof3
hi, back from OB.

sharon i think its just wear and tear being third child. the midwife did say to her it could have been avoided if she avoided lifting earlier on..yeah right as if thats possible with other children!

lara i have forgotten, where has DH gone?
I would struggle without DH home.

meljas grr at DH, lol at him filing his nails, and wowzers at mum at 51!

forgot to mention i got the curtains at Harris Scarfe today. yay. so we'll take these ones down and put hte new ones up tonight. current ones are very faded. 6yrs old.
cassi8
51 and twins huh.gif I have trouble imagining ugly babies as well, they are few and far between, toddlers on the other hand.....

Meljas - sad.gif why do they not think... tell him he needs to go and buy something sentimental to replace it and hes not off the hook until its something you like wink.gif
The kids in Ns room do play together, not much or often but I do see them interacting. I'm not worried just thought it was interesting.

Tweedy - Nice work on being accepted. Never done Uni so I can't advise on which subject. How is Miss going at CC now?

Ali - what can i say but ouch! I hope she is able to get some rest and relief soon.

ok time to pack up and go to my other job... might BBL after the dinner and bedtime madness.
Bel Rowley
Sharon that was Melanie not me. I would never call a child ugly wink.gif.
ellangel
grr at DH, lol at him filing his nails, and wowzers at mum at 51!
roll2.gif hehehe Ali! Nicely put!

Cassi - are you going to move far? What areas are you looking in? Will that mean moving CC's?

I initially struggle with DH away...but the more he did it when it was hail season, the more I didnt really mind it. Once I got over the angriness of being left on my own! laughing2.gif rant.gif

Sharon that was Melanie not me. I would never call a child ugly .
ooops, sorry Blondie b!! I meant meljas in my head!
trinyweeny
OMG KAREN just saw on FB - I am coming to visit when you have some medium BBH petites in stock. I LOVE those nappies.

I initially struggle with DH away...but the more he did it when it was hail season, the more I didnt really mind it. Once I got over the angriness of being left on my own!
That's how I felt as well Ellangel. I actually couldn't wait till the weekend was over so J and I could back to our routine. I am happy though we are down to one night away a week. Just wish now that they could pick a night and stick to it however I believe that isn't possible.

Really need to go and cook Jacqui and myself dinner. Scrambled eggs on toast tonight. How exciting.

ellangel
If only we lived closer Triny! You could come here for tea once a week! LOL.

Cassi - stages of play for kids.
Solitary play - on their own, not really noticing others around them.
Parallel play - still happy to play on their own but sometimes playing beside others and mirroring their actions
Interactive play - chatting to others, games with rules, etc.

Our bubs are somewhere between S and P play I would think, so nothing to worry about.

Gotta go sort dinner out. Dh better be home soon as I have presentations tonight HERE!
melaniejasmin
OK, Ugly may be have been a strong word but I'm in a bad mood! they had really far apart eyes and sort of boggily (they are 9 months old) you can see that they are not the most attractive kids... no one comented on them, normally there is a 'oh, how cute' or so gorgeous' for the new babies at play group... these kiddies... zip mellow.gif

Oh yes, Sharon, DH always files his nails... mostly after he chews them! he also uses eye cream and moisturiser... he must be a metrosexual, but we live in Newtown (inner Sydney) and everyone does it round here laugh.gif

I finally bought some nappy liners. I got some obscure brand called Imse Vimse.... anyone heard of them? unsure.gif they were very cheap on Ebay (with everyone going on, I had to have a look at something!)

ellangel
were they identical ugly twins Meljas? LOL laughing2.gif now that was mean wasnt it?
trinyweeny
laughing2.gif that is kind of mean ellangel. laughing2.gif Thanks for the tea invite. I am usually a bit more organised and have leftovers from the night before but as we went out last night scrambled eggs it was. Don't really know why I bothered as J didn't eat it anyway.

Meljas - I have heard of the brand, I think they also do swim nappies?. I don't use liners so not really sure what any brand is like.
ellangel
It really WAS a joke! LOL. What am I doing on here at this time? Ok, wish me luck tonight guys. I have 3 friends coming over. Even have a bit of bubbly chilling in the fridge as they are those kinds of gals.

Am I missing out on anything on tv tonight that I should be taping?? I cant find my tv guide.
alimumof3
meljas i wish my DH used moisturiser. I did buy him some a couple yrs ago and he did use it when I reminded him but nothing anymore. he does need it around the crows feet.....

sharon good luck tonight!
nah nothing on tv, oh actually Criminal Minds is on on a wed i think.
and then tom night is cougar town! that was funny last week. anyone watch it? and I love How I met your Mother too.
Bel Rowley
My DH will never use moisturiser. He's so set in his ways and hates anything that could be construed as metrosexual rolleyes.gif . He hates going to Spring Carnival races now because all the guys get too dressed up and have their hair done nicely, he longs for the old days when he and his mates would rock up looking completely feral and just get sh*tfaced rolleyes.gif x2.

Melanie I do agree there are ugly babies out there, I've seen a few. After Claudia was born I ordered some birth announcements from the guy who took photos of the babies in hospital, and I accidentally got sent the wrong family's. I opened the envelope expecting to see my beautiful Claudia and instead saw a little child of Frankenstein laughing2.gif .

Good luck tonight Ellangel!

ETA
- Tonight I watch LOST!!!
trinyweeny
talking about ugly babies my mum calls my sister the ugliest baby ever seen. roll2.gif

Ali - I like cougar town as well. I love how I met your mother.

My DH will never use moisturiser. He's so set in his ways and hates anything that could be construed as metrosexual rolleyes.gif
yep Blondie that's my DH as well.

alimumof3
well we just put up the new curtains. they look nice. however i probably should have ironed them..(not sure if you can even iron curtains with the block out backing?) oh well the creases will fall out. (mum will be horrified)
cassi8
Sharon - nope no change in CC, its near work so hoping he won't have to change for a while if at all! We are moving about 15mins west of where we are now. I hope your party goes well! original.gif

Meljas - yep I have heard of them and I have heard some good reviews of them. I can bring some Bambineo ones to the catch up for you if you like so you can compare. Yes they also make swim nappies and a few other things.

seepi
Just quickly - Cassi - I think extra activities are good for kids. My DD is quite outgoing and bossy around kids she knows (eg - childcare), but goes super shy and clingy in any new environment. she is a bit better since we've done playgroup, dancing and swimming. I wish I'd done playgroup a bit earlier. That said, I didn't start going til she was close to 3, so I don't think you need to rush out and do stuff right now!

Jasper copies other kids in his baby room at daycare - I guess that is paralell play.

Words - we have hardly any. Lots of chatting, and he loves animal noises, but hardly any actual words. I hardly even get Mum Mum - he can say Shoes tho - and loves dancing. I could have a real little metrosexual on my hands there!!

there was a super ugly baby in my mothe's group for DD. but luckily she really resembled her mum, who looked nice as an adult - it was just a look that didn't suit a baby at all. Big chin and droopy mouth, and smaller eyes and pointy top of the head. Mum was really tall and athletic looking and had nice blonde curls, and looked great, but baldy baby all you noticed was the cone-head and the droopy big lips and she was huge too. I was shocked at the time tho = I hadn't noticed any unattractive babies up til then either.

Big day today - craft at the national museum, mum came over and then swimming this arvo - I am exhausted now.

ps - Ali - your poor friend! I haven't been told to avoid lifting in particular, have you??
Sccary
I honestly cannot be stuffed with personals tonight - sorry girls blush.gif

BLONDIE: Cupcake photos as requested in the 'princess theme'

ALI: I feel for your friend I have bad sciatic pain atm and had it during PG2 poor thing

SHARON: cream arrived today :bighugs: thanks I will try it

Anyone heard from BEAGLE??? thinking of her atm

KEY: Wow what a week you have had. I so feel for you. How about a catch up next friday after Ballet. Finishes at 11am and still give BEAGLE time to get back for 2:30pm school run.

ANNA: I want to know all the preggo symptons too. SOunds up the duff to me. Now wee wee wee

I have just come m efrom maternity hospital my close friend (my physio from PG1 that came a good friend) gave birth would you beleive on Faiths birthday with the same midwife too! laughing2.gif (oops just wrote olo not lol) Cameron John, had a 36hr labour and vaccum but all ok now. So cute and little but I wasn't that clucky really so that surprised me shrug.gif

Ok best go BBtomoroow
beaglebaby
Sarina, I've been reading, just keep running out of time or energy to post. I won't be able to catch up next week, but you and Key should still do it and I'll make it next time. Those cupcakes are spectacular, all the other Mums at school are going to hate you biggrin.gif

Ugly Babies, we had one in our mothers group, luckily she's grown into her looks!

Cassi, exciting that you are getting closer to selling. I'm with the others, I think N sounds totally normal and delightful. My DS1 did lots of activities, plays well with other kids now but is still painfully shy with adults. Lucas on the other hand seems quite outgoing, does play alongside other kids mostly, but at playgroup I did notice him giving a little girl his age a kiss wub.gif

Ali, I try the "let the creases fall out" approach with so many things! Ouch for your friend, if it gets really bad she should just front up at the hospital and demand help!

My DH is another non-metrosexual, although he is a little too fond of a good aftershave.

Ellangel, hope tonight was a success.

Triny, glad your DH has cut down on his travel, it's hard to get that happy medium between enough help and messing up the routine isn't it.

Key, what a difficult time for your friend. Obviously you'll be there to help, but you are so busy, don't let it drain your energy.

Blondie, I hate those Ebay snipers too.

Can't think much more for personals, sorry.

Our nice little holiday of hoping for good test results is over. The cancer has spread to a lymph node and the oncologist has said that it's a bit like an iceberg, what shows on the scan is only usually about 10%, the rest is microscopic and not yet noticeable. He is confident that chemo will knock it all out though, and if not it will shrink it and they'll move on to surgery. So the first of 3 rounds of chemo starts Monday. Mum has offered to come back, we just need to arrange her flights - at this short notice frequent flyer seats are hard to get so DH is going to ring frequent flyer and see if they can help. Luckily the kids all love her, especially Lucas who lapped up all the extra attention from her.

So girls I'll hopefully be reading and keeping up, but may not manage to post as much as I'd like over the next week or two.
Bel Rowley
Triny your poor sister laughing2.gif. Apparently when I was born, I guess my dad wasn't used to seeing newborns and asked the doctor if I had down syndrome.

Ali - I'm sure I wouldn't have bothered ironing the curtains, I don't iron much!

Seepi - you're right some looks don't suit a baby. We have one girl in our mothers group who I'm sure will be beautiful when she's older, the mum is stunning, but I think she's one of the less-cute babies now.

Sarina - you really are amazing, your cupcakes look brilliant. Beagle is right the other mums will be so jealous!

Beagle - Please don't feel like you have to keep up with personals when you are going through so much at the moment. I really don't know what to say other than we are all here for you and I'm sending all my positive vibes to your DH. I've no doubt he's getting the best possible treatment and it's great the doctors sound so positive.

I finally think I have the textbook situation sorted out. I am meeting a guy in the city tomorrow afternoon who will sell me the book for $40, a bit of a pain to go in but at least it's a good price. I also have someone else selling me all the movies I need to watch for the same class (Screen Analysis), I had been so looking forward to watching movies for uni but didn't think about the cost of getting them all! I will pay $70 for I think 8 of them, it saves me stuffing around to find them separately and hopefully I will be able to sell them on at the end of the Study Period.

My cold has got bad again, as often happens I felt worse at night and could not sleep, eventually nodded off on the couch watching Stephen Fry at about 11:30, woke up at 1:30 and went to bed but then woke DH up with my snoring so he had to go to the spare room. I'm hoping a cup of tea will fix me up this morning. We're meant to have a playdate here this arvo and I have to make a slice.
cassi8
Ok ladies.. 12:20pm Syd time.. Turn the tele on and Watch Lachlan in the heats. (Mens Short Track) I'm going to go an commandeer the tele remote in the kitchen here wink.gif

hhugs.gif beagle. I hope flights can be organised. We are all thinking of you both!

tthumbs.gif on the study material Blondie. PITA to have to go pick them up but at least its cheaper.

Sarina - cupcakes look awesome! I hope they are or were enjoyed!

Off to get some work done. BBL!
alimumof3
oh beagle as blondie said, don't feel you have to keep up, honeslty EB is the last thing i'd be thinking of in your situation. Just pop in when you can and let us know whats happening in YOUR life, don't worry about ours. Honestly.
Thinking of you guys.
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.