The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: October 08 Parents # 44

Pages: 1, 2, 3
bec8112
Mel - I have read and replied to the no talking thread! Also forgot to mention I will leave the GF nappies on NA as I should be buying more small/medium ones for the bub not more for Ethan!

Ros - wow that trip date has come so fast, cannot wait to hear all about it! OMG it is really not cheap going on holiday with a big family, good on you for doing it though it will be the trip of a lifetime!
*red~deer*
becYummy anzac biscuits Tounge1.gif. Yay for free baby clothes original.gif

ceres Gee - $8800 is a lot of money!! Wow!

Mel I hope everything is okay with Tom. Does he babble during the day?

We have already told just about everyone that we are pregnant - so hopeless at keeping secrets Tounge1.gif
Small Potatoes
red=deer Congrats on your BFP. How very exciting.

Bec Oh dear about DP putting his foot through the roof. Hope insurance covers it. Do we get pics when it is done? Speaking of pics I will email through the nappy pics today.

Ros How exciting. Hopefully you can gives the occasional quick update while o/s.

Mel That is great Tom is stacking things.

AFM We had 8 lots of people come through yesterday and will get some feedback today. A friend had her baby yesterday a little girl called Charlotte. I am going to see if I can get my new baby sitter to come and so I can go visit, otherwise I will wait till Thursday when they are home.

bec8112
Mands - hope you get to have some baby cuddles! That is great so many people came through the house yesterday, hope someone loves it and has to have it!

Alicia - are you going to find out the sex of the bub? Are you on FB? Most of us are on there and are friends.

Ethan was terrible at daycare this morning, did not want to stay or did not want me to leave. Think it was because we hardly saw him on the weekend and now he is at daycare.

There are some photos on FB of our reno.

I have retired my work pants and am in maternity jeans today, makes me feel like it is really happeing and going so fast!
*red~deer*
Mands One of my friends just had a little girl - Olivia - can't wait to meet her original.gif

bec Yep we will find out the sex - can't wait biggrin.gif. I am on FB - this is me http://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.php?id=1277580656 - yay for maternity pants original.gif

Nothing new from me today - just still in shock Tounge1.gif
bec8112
Alicia - I have requested your friendship on FB biggrin.gif . I cannot wait to hear what you are having, do you and DH have a preference to sex of the bub?

Very quiet in here today
Fabulous
Today is Jack's last day in disposables for 8 weeks so I'm putting him in all my favourites. I'm such a hopeless cloth nappy addict!! biggrin.gif We are going down to Perth Wednesday night so everything has to be dried and put away by then. By the time we come back the weather will be cold and I will just be putting him in his workhorse nappies which will go under his clothes. I'm planning on making him a few more pairs of snazzy minky pants to go over his nappies so at least I can get my minky fix.

Mands- That's good that you got 8 lots through. I hope it sells for you. I think I would be such a mess if I was trying to sell a house with kiddies. Good on you for holding it all together.

Alicias- Yeah it is a lot of $$ and it doesn't even include our internal flight to New York which we haven't booked yet.

Mel- Is it the petites that you are getting? I would be interested to see what they are like. I have heard them referred to as g-strings naps

Bec- that's exciting that you are in maternity pants. It's amazing how quickly it can all happen isn't it, from deciding that you want a baby until it's actual arrival.
Fabulous
Oh also Bec, I saw you qn. on the other forum about sizing and I just thought I would let you know that Jack started wearing medium bubblebubs and sewn in itti's from 7 weeks. He was born 3.1 kgs. IMO I wouldn't buy any new small nappies because you just don't get your moneys worth. Secondhand yes.
bec8112
Ros - thanks for the info about nappies! So sad about Jack being in sposies for so long! I am a cloth addict now aswell, my Mum used sposies at her house and I hate seeing him in them as they are not nice to look at. I often wonder about winter time and Ethan in cloth nappies, we have only done 1/2 a winter in cloth and I struggled fitting Ethan in pants!

Mel - I am getting the BBH sent to me so will let you know when they arrive and we will have to catch up.
bec8112
Alicia - FB is being a pain and not letting my request go through! Will try and remember to do it when i am home from work!
Fabulous
Bec- yeah I must admit that I do lose my love for cloth a bit over the winter. It can be hard finding pants that fit over the nappies. Does your mum or DP's mum sew at all?
bec8112
Ros- no neither my Mum or DP's mum can sew! I bought about 3 pairs of jeans for Ethan in Size 1 and 2 when they were on sale last winter so do not think we will be able to use them that much!
Small Potatoes
Bec and Ros I didn't have too much of a drama with pants and the boys and cloth, though like Bec I only did from about June.

alicia I did a buddy request too.

I saw baby Charlotte today. She was sleeping the whole time so I didn't have cuddles but it was good to see her mum. Her second water birth.

themelster
Hey ladies,

Mands - that's a great turnout. I hope someone bites!!!

I have one word for cloth bums fitting under pants in winter - ROOMIES!!!! Bonds have a new range out called roomies and they are awesome. They are like little MC Hammer pants. I took some down to Tassie (as it was cooler) and Tom was in sposies then and they looked so cute and comfy all baggy like that. But they also work really well over cloth - heaps of room and no bum crack!!! The tops are cute too.

I've bought a few for Tom.

Sorry, short and sweet from me. Big day at work and I am shagged.
bec8112
Mel - I will have to check out those Bonds Roomies. But I would also like some nice pants/jeans for going out, any ideas???? Hope you get some rest and relaxation in tonight!
*red~deer*
Bec DH wants a boy - but I am happy for either original.gif

Ros That will be such a fantastic holiday - your children are very lucky!

Mands Hopefully next time you will get some baby cuddles original.gif

Mel Those roomies look really good - I think I might need to get some!

Zoe has a cold atm sad.gif - we spent the day chillaxing and watching ABC2 - god help me I hate In The Night Garden! Iggle Piggle Poop!
bec8112
Alicia - how is Zoe feeling? I wish Ethan would sit still and watch TV, he only sits for about 5-10mins and then he wants to go and walk around/play etc etc ( even when he is sick! ).

Hi to everyone else!

Sharna/Annika - how are you ladies? I have not seen you in here in ages!
themelster
Alicia I hope you guys are feeling better. Colds suck - especially in hot weather. I'm not sure where you are, but it's stinking today in Brissie. Blah.

Bec - Tom doesn't EVER sit still (as you have witnessed). He is constantly on the go go go. He's worked out how to open the baby gate we have between the kitchen and the bathroom too. Little bugger. Only took a few times watching us and he worked it out.

We had a shocker of a night last night. Tom was awake crying between midnight and 3am. He is cutting both eye teeth and I've heard those ones can cause them some grief. Either that or he was hot.

Comfort items - do all of the bubba's have comfort items? Or a toy or two that they are really attached to? Tom doesn't have either - he's never really seemed to form any sort of attachment with any of his toys. I thought most of them did. In a way I'm glad as I never have to worry about him losing a comfort item, or having to take one away from him. But on the other hand it would be nice for him to have some other comfort except from DH and I - for sleeping etc.
Small Potatoes
Mel It has been hot on teh GC too.

Alicia Hope Zoe is feeling better.

bec How are your maternity jeans going?

I feel rotten. Have been fighting a headache all day. having nurofen every 4 hours and feel like I am going to vomit. Thought it might be another migraine, but it should have gone by now anD will spewed at kindy.

I have to go and get another EEG done. A 3 hour fasting sleep deprivation one. What a pain.

themelster
Mands - it was migraines!!!! The thing that I remember smelling things that weren't there was a symptom of. I know that is probably of absolutely no use to you. How are you feeling now? Is DH home to help you out so you can rest up?? Do you know what they are looking for in the EEG? And how long do you have to fast/be awake for?
Small Potatoes
Mel I get migraines, have done since olly's birth. The smells just started in about Oct or Nov. Dh is home tomorrow. Olly has been in bed since 4:30 (he didn't sleep at kindy) and Will is being baby sat by Madagascar.

DylMah
Alicia - Congratulations on your pregnancy. ddance.gif

Bec - Dylan isn't TT either. I think that before the age of two, for most kids, it's toilet timing, not toilet training. And I think the avaerage age for TT boys is 3 -3.5?

Mands - Hopefully you have some answers from the EEG soon. Weird how your migrains have only started since Olly's birth.

DH got home yesterday. I think he doesn't go back to sea until the end of April. ddance.gif
bec8112
Mands - I really hope you get some answers soon about the smell/migraine thing. I suffered migraines when I was in high school and they were terrible! maternity jeans are going great but make me feel fat!

Mel - Ethan does has a toy he is attached to, it is a white bear which we named George. If we say where is George he goes and points to him in the cot and then wants a cuddle. He holds the toy in his hand and sucks his thumb as his comfort. There have been times when the toy has been missing or in the wash and we just put a different toy in there and he seems ok with it and then his little eyes light up when George comes back! It is a Pumpkin Patch toy so I went and bought another one (grey in colour ) for the bub when she come.

Fabulous
Jack doesn't have a comfort item, actually neither of my boys did but all 3 of my girls had/have them. Chelsea has a fleece cot rug that she loves.
Jack took his first steps last week and he is getting more confident all of the time. He still laughs every time that he stands up and takes a few steps. It's so cute. wub.gif

Georgia- Do you have 2 in cloth? I could never manage 2 in cloth. It was the big toddler wees that made it too much for me. Chelsea was a light-medium wetter until she got to 2 and then she started flooding everything.

Mands- I hope that all is well with the EEG.
bec8112
Ros - that is so cute about Jack and his walking! Will make the trip a whole lot more interesting now! ha ha ha.
bec8112
Ros/or anyone who has used Bubblebubs nappies - what are they like? There are some on here 2nd hand and I am not sure about them so thought I would ask. It says they are velour inner? What are they like with absorbancy?
Fabulous
Bec- yes bubblebubs are a well respected brand. Bubblebubs are actually made in Brisbane. Jack has quite a few mediums and they are pretty good. We also have/had other sizes. Chelsea wore the same nappies so they will be chucked out once he has finished with them. They do either velour inner or flanelette inner. Velour is more popular because it wears better. As you probably know neither of them are stay dry fabrics. The inners of bubblebubs have hemp in them due to the drying factor but the booster is bamboo to increase absorbency. I saw the thread you were talking about. I guess if you are doing a pick-up at least you can check to make sure that they are in good condition.
Fabulous
Bec- oh also the nappy hunt starts March 1 and bubblebubs often have a % off for the duration. I just thought I would mention that if you were interested in buying new.
bec8112
Thanks Ros, yeah I have signed up for the nappy hunt so will have to have a look at different brands. I was just going to pick up a few second hand things to save a bit of money. I have become addicted! As this is our last child I do not really want to buy too much! But then again maybe I should buy new and sell after one baby has used???? Or can try get the 2nd hand ones cheaper when the hunt is on, use it as a bargaining tool!
DylMah
Ros - Yep two in cloth. Dylan is a really heavy wetter (he has on occaision out-weed 3 disposables in just over an hour) as he drinks huge amounts of water. So lately, when we go out, he wears disposables otherwise we end up with wet clothes.

Bec - I loved bubblebubs on Dylan, the fit isn't as great on Mahalia. I'm also replacing the elastic in most of them, even ones bought recently. I now a few friends have had the same problem.
bec8112
Georgia - thanks for the info on the Bubblebubs. I got an Mums Grapevine email tonight with a discount code for 25% off so still undecided if I will get any new ones.

bec8112
Mel - do you go near Marooka at all for work?
themelster
Hey Bec, no I don't. My territorry goes from where I live north to brackenridge and west to Arana hills. Why is that?
Small Potatoes
Everyone in my house is quiet. Olly was chatting for a while, but I think he has gone back to sleep. Will hasn't slept in this late for a very long time, but he ate a mouthful of bread on sunday. so maybe the gluten has hit him. better go and get kindy lunches ready
bec8112
Mel - there was some nappies I was looking at 2nd hand and thought you might be able to get them for me biggrin.gif . I think I might leave them for the moment anyway as I have bought a few girlie ones and DP thinks I am spending too much money ohmy.gif

Mands - yeah my house is quiet too, it is 8.00am and Ethan is still alseep. He did not sleep much for his Nana yesterday and was so cranky last night so he went to bed at 6.30pm! Have you managed to take photos of the nappies yet? I feel bad not having paid you for the auriel.

Not much exciting happening with me, had a friend coming this morning but she cancelled because her DD had a terrible night with teething and rash on her girlie bits! So think Ethan and I might chill out at home as it is not nice weather.

Hi to everyone else
themelster
No worries Bec. If you change your mind let me know as it's no skin off my nose to go grab them.

Must have been sleep in weather this morning as Tom slept until 6.30am after getting up at 5am for the past week. He has his first daycare cold too.
bec8112
Mel - yeah Ethan is still asleep at 8.40am! His room is dark and coolish so think that makes a big difference. Ah you will get used to the daycare colds, Ethan was sick so much over the winter and he only went to daycare 1 day a week! I hope this winter is better as we will have a newborn to deal with aswell ohmy.gif . I will let you know about the nappies if I change my mind, thanks for the offer.
bec8112
Very quiet in here!

*red~deer*
Just saying a quick hello - bit busy in the last couple of days - but I am still here original.gif - it is just about my bed time though, the tired wave is here!
Fabulous
Hello Ladies,
We arrived in Perth after a 3 hour drive last night and then another 3 hours this morning. Poor Jack is petrified of his gran and starts sniffling when she looks at him. He doesn't like strangers. I went to BIG W (none where I live) and saw the Bonds roomies. 2 ladies were looking at them and laughing at them because they reckoned they looked huge in the bum. Anyway I bought 3 of the pants.
meeskamouska
Wow...I've just read back...I seriously should not leave it so long to come in. It took me ages.
Bec - I know it was a week ago but I'm so sorry to hear about your friends baby dying. Devasting. My GF lost her baby at 41 weeks. I went to every single DR app with her. The baby passed meconium in utero. I was in shock myself & couldn't begin to imagine her pain. Even typing this my eyes well up with tears. I hope they get healing eventually.
On a lighter note... what does NA??? stand more...Im such a lose. R u cerain its a girl????

Dylmah - Did u find out what happened to the cleaner??
Mel - I bet you can't wait for Toms app to roll around. CR doesn't stack anything...she pretty much goes around the house all day destroying it. Toilet paper rolls in the toilet, emptying cupboards, pulling out the books. I think Tom is pretty darn clever to stack the blocks. Cr also wouldn't give a hoot when I come home. I get sad sometimes that she doesn't miss me & gets so excited to see her daddy.
Red Deer- Hi I'm Natty. Welcome. Yay on the BFP!!!!
Mands - How r u feeling????? Have you any results yet o your tests???

Me - Been flat out busy. Hardly been on FB or anywhere on the net. Think I'm due for AF as I'm moody as all hell. Got gyno app today. I need to have surgery downstairs to repair damage from baby no 3. See how it goes. Just thrilled bout the whole thing....NOT!!!!! Don't want to have surgery but can't spend the rest of my life with things the way they r. I can barely DTD....sorry...too much information.

TT - With my older 2 I waited till they were ready. Both were ready at 2. Josh was easy...got it straight away. Bella started good then regressed & strted wetting the bed. We stopped & waited a little longer & started again. My only advice is don't rush. People that like to TT at 1 are people that teach the alphabet backwards to their kids at 2. Why would you???? Untill they can feel & say there is a sensation there it'll be hit & miss. Everyone will get stressed. Then it puts everything back anyway. Ohhh. a bit opionated there...sorry...its AF.

Better get ready to go out.
Hi to anyone i missed....Ros..Hi.... where r u Annika.
bec8112
Nat - NA is Nappy Addicts, it is another forum.. No not certain about it being a girl but hoping it was right and if not I will sell all the girlie stuff and use all of Ethans old stuff! Good luck with the gyno appointment, might be TMI for you to share but was it just tearing that caused the damage? I know nothing about that kind of thing having a c-section! Will have to see what happens this preg and I might know about it if I get the chance.

Mel - I have sent a PM about a pickup address for the nappies and I will let you know via SMS.

Alicia - when I was in the early days of being preg this time I was so tired and sick! I lost 8kgs and felt awful. I started to feel better at about 14 weeks and now feel great! I think it is much harder having a little one to deal with and being pregnant at the same time, makes it hard when you cannot rest when it is needed.

Got to go, Ethans awake. Going to the shops today with a friend and her 4 month old bub so looking forward to small baby cuddles!
bec8112
Hi all! Quiet again in here!

I got Ethan some of the Bonds Roomie pants today. Got black, grey and a light demin one. They were on sale at David Jones. I got size 1 and they seem to fit ok but now wondering if I should have got 2 instead!

Also the friend I was meeting got given 2 x bonnibuns MCN's from a friend and she did not want them so she gave them to me, so sweet!
themelster
Hey nat! Good to hear from you again. I hope you get the downstairs issue sorted. Was it from CR? She's bubba #3 isn't she? I had an episiotomy and some tearing with Tom but it healed nicely. My girlfriend had a horrendous time though. Like you it sounds like. She couldn't DTD for ages - not sur how or if she ever got it sorted. How are your markets going??

Ros - you won't regret getting the roomies! I hope the rest of your trip goes well!!

Bec - you got the same roomies as me. I originally got size 1 but they are still a bit big for Tom so I went back and got the same in size 0. Tombis still little. Wvenvthough he is eating fairly well now, he still isn't putting on much weight. Must be because he is so active - I swear he has muscles already!! You can see the definition in the front of his thighs! I weighed him yesterday - 10.7kg so under the 50th % and 85cm long.

Not much to report from me. Went and saw "Shutter Island" the other day and quite enjoyed it. I'm a bug Leonardo fan though.

Off to a girls night dinner tomorrow. Looking forward to it.
bec8112
Mel - I tried the Roomies on Ethan and they are huge in the bum but nice fitting in the legs, they take some getting used to to look at as they look so different compared to normal pants! Ethan is much bigger than Tom then, I think Ethan would be around the 12kg mark but about the same height at Tom. Ethan is active but not as much as Tom, he is still so cautious and will not go near steps/drops or anything like that! I have not heard from the lady about the nappy pickup address. Also I did not get the large petite in the mail so it will probably come on Monday.

themelster
I really like how the roomies are big in the but. I think they are meant to hang down like that - like MC Hammer pants. I think they're pretty cool.

I'm not sure why Tom is so light - he doesn't look skinny to me.

You are lucky Ethan is cautious like that, Tom has no sense of danger. It gives me grey hairs. I often wonder how he'll make it to 5 years old in one piece!!
bec8112
Mel but I worry that Ethan is not 'normal' because he is so cautious and will not try things! How is he supposed to learn if he does not try???

I do not think Tom looks skinny, neither do I think Ethan looks skinny. I just think they are not chubby like most people expect toddlers to be.

Fabulous
I got te size 1 roomies for Jack and he is only 9.5 kgs so I better check that they fit. The size tag says that size 1 is for up to 12 months and size 0 is for up to 9 months.
bec8112
Ros - yeah I noticed the tag says up to 12 months and I had to laugh! Bonds are so strange in their sizing. Jack is so tiny!
meeskamouska
Gotta go check out these roomies..... will google them & then see where I can get some.

Gyno app went well...sort of. The DR doesn't want anything to do with it because of my age.... he's used to dealing with old ladies...lol. Anyway, he's referring me onto a top gyno surgeon at QE2..so thats good. TMI....hmmm.... after having baby no 3, Charlee, the back wall of my vjj tore away, not completely but enough to cause me lots of trouble in the no 2 dept..lol. Can't stand how it feels during DTD. They can repair it. A partial prolapse...I hate that word it makes me feel horrid...anyway...there it is I said it.... I had 3 rapid delivery births & thats what did the damage. Bella was born in 54minutes or something like that...shocker...its not meant to b like that. They controlled things a bit better with CR but still no 2nd stage at all. Same for Josh, my 1st babe, no 2nd stage...rapid delivery.

huge day, tired as. Checked out Ipswich shopping centre while I was there. What a great centre they have.....
Sleep tight.

BTW... CR is only a wee 9.5kgs...she just won't fatten up....what'd you do???
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.