The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: June 08 Parents # 58

TrickyRicky

Helen -I suppose photos of the surroundings, beach and of ocurse you and Yaz original.gif I remember when I took the side off of Ricky's cot and I would hear a bang in the night I would run in there and he would be on the floor but still snoring biggrin.gif I always found it hilarious, they just learn to stay in.

J - Hows your dad going? I love it how you testing the boundarys original.gif

Shell - I'm not too good with advice but I would just keep up with what you are doing and saying to him, he will eventually realise and work it out for himself, hopefully blush.gif

Hayls - My weekend was good, I'll post some photos on FB soon when I can get a good hour to spare.

Bec - The countdown is on for you, I bet your all excited.

US - Well Ricky is finally over the gastro bug but now has a bad flemmy cough, Casey is over the tantrums, I am sort of confident with my exam, work is good, getting paid and studying. Thats about the jist of it. My uncle has come out of hospital but is still in a frail position, he is on meds and is getting physio for his lungs etc.

Ok off to put the washing out and try and get some study done whily Casey asleep and Ricky is next door playing.

Urs
Summerlover

Sorry girls I've just been running around like a chook with its head chopped off!!!

Hayles sorry to hear you have been unwell - hope you get things sorted soon and hope things have improved with DH. We are settling well thanks and we are moving Yas from her daycare - just not happy and think its too big. I have 2 options just came up today actually of 2 smaller centres close to our new home so will move her in 2 weeks when we move into our new home.

Bec - 7 yrs old!! you would have a great little helper on your hands with a toddler and newborn soon. The girls bedroom sounds lovely and girly so I reckon you are having a BOY laughing2.gif I honestly can't remember when you are due?? - is it soon?? Enjoy your wedding.

Urs - hi I see you down below. How is work/life/kids balance going for you??

J - I hear you on the tantrums plus I have a very unsettled bub. I think she needs her stuff around for familiarity. I won't take her shopping anymore for the big weekly shop but I love taking her when I have a small list because I know I can just get out of there if she kicks ups. We had a big crying tanty in the car this morning but she is not well and I think tired from daycare yesterday as she only slept 45mins when she normally is sleeping at least 2.5-3 hours these days. Thinking of you too still.

Shell - how are you?? When you get time can you please text me and tell me its you as my phone died and I have now lost everyone's number. Look forward to hearing from you.

Simone - how are you? - did you decide on a steam mop??

Well we are only 1.5 weeks away from moving into our new place - things should flow a bit easier then and maybe not so much travelling involved as we are closer to things we need like daycare, work etc. Life in Cairns is coming together and we had a hot hot week but its settled down again this week and no aircon needed.

I am getting my hair straightened again next Tuesday as I found a place that will do it for half the price and I love it so its my treat to myself.

Still no photos - I've just been too busy to even get the camera out of its box let alone use it and upload photos but I promise I will get around to it once things settle down.

You all take care of yourself wont you.

Helen

shell~
Hi everyone. I've got some mystery illness and have been really sick all week. Waiting for some test results and having more next week. Hopefully will be back on track and posting more soon.

Hel - I've sent you a text. hheart.gif
Simone - If I can't make it next week I'll let you know. Josh is excited.

Shell xo
sun_kissed
We are all good. Busy Busy weekend. Visiting Dad, then Nan, then an engagement, then today we went to the park and nearly got attacked by and EMU!!!! laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Oh and Eli also stacked it so he now has a big egg on his forehead.
Other than that I am tired
Shell bbighug.gif
Hel: So jealous of your hair treatments LOL
Urs: Seems like all good news from your camp, kids getting better, work, study, exams and your uncle out of hospital. I hope it keeps getting better.

I am having a positive outlook on life at the moment so ...

Thanks for asking about Dad basically he is in palliative care I don't want to bring any more negativity onto these forum pages, so you can get the gist..palliative care is pain management until the end.
BBL xo
mumtomakandissy
Hi Ladies

Been very busy here also. Issy has just gone to day care, Mak's at school and I am about to have a much needed sleep! But thought I would write a quick post before I do!

Shell: Hope you are ok. I am sending some good vibes and luck your way.

Helen: Glad you are settled. Can't wait to see a pic of the hair too. I am due on the 10th May so about 8 LONG weeks to go. SO over it. Mak is a fantastic helper, I think Issy will be too.

J: Oh dear about the emu. Sounds like something that would happen to me. I hear you on the tantrums too, although I have started to be able to reason a little with Issy so we are negotiating alot! rolleyes.gif Glad you have a positive outlook, it takes a strong person to have an outlook like that when there is so much going on around you. Also sending you some good vibes and a big cyber hug!

Urs: How's work?

Hi to everyone else- its been quiet in here!

Us: Just plodding along. DH's mum is not too good. She is on more stress leave and just stays at home. We saw her briefly on Friday and she offered to come and amuse Issy Sunday whilst Mak's birthday was going on but rang in the morning and said she wasn't up to it. I feel a bit helpless in what I can do so thought I might ring DH's sister today and speak to her. We are very worried she is having a breakdown of some sort.
The kids are good. Issy is just getting more and more gorgeous each day. Chatting away, and last night she actually slept through!

Anyway better go and have this sleep before its time to pick up kids again!

TrickyRicky
HI Ladies,

J - I hope I didnt upset you with regards to asking you about your dad sad.gif , I'm not bothered about negative posts I'm hear to listen and I really care about how you are feeling. I am just so sorry you to have to go through this.

Bec - 8wks OMG its come up so quick. Work is good, I'm enjoying the time on my own and earning some money.

Shell - You poor thing I hope they find out whats going on.

US- Well the boys are still getting over there sickness I was up with Casey at 3am this morning with more Gastro! I have really bad Periods atm so I am home today as I could not stomach going to work when basically I would be in pain all day and spend most of it in the loo. I really need to get to the Dr and sort this endo out. I'm thinking of getting an IUD or mirella (SP) where you dont get your periods for like 5yrs, I just need to find the time to get to the dr. So basically today I have cleaned the house and did some washing now I am studying in peace and quiet.

Oh and I have removed the side from Casey's cot and he has been sleeping in there for the past 2 nights, I do have to sit there for a little while but eventually he dozes off. Last night though I heard a huge thump and scream and he was on the floor, after that he would not go back to sleep so I put him on the sofa bed in our room.

Ok back to it gals.

Urs xx
~Goggles~
Oh Jayde - don't ever feel like you can't come in here and post negative stuff. We are all here for the good times and the bad times. Thinking of you at this tough time and not sure what else to say - life is completely unfair sad.gif

Urs - hope the kids feel better soon. Not nice when they are sick. The Mirena would be good for you i think - sounds like you would have a very rough time every month. I remember those days and i am thankful my body doesn't do that anymore - i used to be out of action two days of every month, in bed with the worst pains.

Bec - sorry to hear about your MIL. Hope she will be okay. I can't believe you only have 8 weeks to go! ohmy.gif
MrsHayley
Hi Girls wink.gif

Haven't really read through all of the posts, but will try to do so tomorrow.

Just wanted to let you know what was going on, on my end - for those of you who have seen my FB posts.

A friend of DH, who he works with, shot himself on Sunday night cry1.gif He had been having similar marriage problems to DH and I, and he had really confided in DH over the last week or so. His wife came home about a week ago, and told him she was done and had no interest in trying to save the marriage, and he was totally devastated cry1.gif They have a 7yr old son, and he wanted to try and get full custody of him - and told DH that he was going to speak to a solicitor on Monday. Anyway....something else has obviously been going on, and he did it Sunday night.

DH has been a mess, and it is totally breaking my heart. We had, an already scheduled, marriage counselling session yesterday - and DH spoke quite a bit about it.

As I said in FB status, as horrible the circumstances, it has just re-iterated in our minds that we really want to try and work our marriage stuff out, and how lucky we actually are wub.gif

OK, will try and come back tomorrow
Summerlover

OMG Hayley I'm so sorry bbighug.gif - that must be so heartbreaking for everyone involved sad.gif

bellemk

Sorry I have been MIA. My mum had another stroke and we thought we might lose her.

Hayls - I am so sorry for you and DH and other than that am at a loss of what to say.

I hope everyone is well and will come back on a daily basis from now on. I am even writing that in my diary

Belle xxx

Sorry I have been MIA. My mum had another stroke and we thought we might lose her.

Hayls - I am so sorry for you and DH and other than that am at a loss of what to say.

I hope everyone is well and will come back on a daily basis from now on. I am even writing that in my diary

Belle xxx

Belle xxx
sun_kissed
Just finished my working week.

Urs: You are so cute. No you haven't offended me. I was just feeling like I was so negative and bringing everyone down.

Belle: Welcome back honey. Sorry to hear about your mum xo.

Hayles: Thats terrible news. I hope your DH treasures what he has xo

Simone: hope you had a great 6 hours of study original.gif

Bec: 7 weeks! Cant believe you will have number 3 by then.

Us: Well we are still trying for number 3! Looks like we are going into cycle 4. Not used to this waiting!
Thinking I may join the gym or something if AF comes this week.
Eli is really starting to jabber away which is nice.

xoxo BBL when I have some more energy xoxo
shell~
J - I'm never far away if you ever need anything sweetie. Thinking of you and praying for your family.

Belle - welcome home honey! How is your mum doing? How are YOU doing? Are you ok?

Hales - So sorry to hear there is so much to feel sad about in your home too. hhugs.gif

Simone - love your new sig.

Bec - hope the next few weeks go quickly for you and hope your MIL is better soon.

Hel - any pics yet? How is the job going?

Sounds like a lot of sadness in our little family lately. Something for you all.

mumtomakandissy
Hi Ladies

Belle: Glad your mum is okay. What a scary time for you.

Hayles: Sorry to hear about your DH's friend. That is awful,e specially for his child. Hope you are okay.

Hi to everyone else- I am soo tired today ( about three hours sleep last night) so will read back through the posts properly later. Still battling to get Issy to sleep properly at night. Monday and Tues she flat out refused a day sleep and slept all night, no wake ups it was great. Yesterday I made her have a sleep and she slept for 2 hours then woke up all last night. So now I am debating wether I just let her drop the day sleep and sleep all night or continue to battle with her over the day sleep and be up all night! Without her day sleep, she is in bed by 6.30 and we generally don't hear from her til 6.30/7 the next morning. When this baby arrives, I can always have a sleep at lunch time when DH is in for lunch.

I have a tired 7 year old too who just needs holidays.

We are finishing our nursery this weekend although I need some furniture for it and have ordered it but may not arrive in time. Won't matter though- I have the crucial things. Am packing my hospital bag next week too.

Anyway am going to try and lay down now whilst Issy reads some books next to me.

sun_kissed
Awww shell those flowers are so cute!
wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif
Summerlover

I'm sorry girls I'm just bogged down at the moment - just wanted to let you all know I was thinking of you and I'll BBL when I can do a proper post.

Belle - bbighug.gif

ps. our little group is really going through some tough times, what else is going on out there to others in the big bad world - **** we are only such a small group of people in the scheme of things and touched by such utter sadness. ddown.gif

Speak later
Helen

TrickyRicky
Belle - I am so sorry to hear about your mum, I wish you and your family all the best xx

J - Number 3 ????

Helen - Casey only sleeps about 45min at childcare, its probably because there is so much disruption, doesnt bother me though because he is that tired that he crashes by 7.30pm that night.

US - Well this weekend I have a wedding up the coast near our van, I'm a bridesmaid and I am really looking forward to it. Mum is having the boys so DH and I will stay at the van on our own and go for breakky on the beach on sunday morning, we deserve some time on our own. Casey has been sleeping without the side on all week now and is going great guns, sometimes I do find him asleep up against the door biggrin.gif but otherwise he is sleeping all night no probs.

Well I have cooked, ironed, packed and looked after kids today and am exhausted. I will be leaving tonight at 6pm to go up the coast so I will probably have withdrawals by sunday as I will not have my laptop with me but rolleyes.gif I am looking forward to getting my makeup and hair done tomorrow.

Ok bye girls, I hope everyone has a lovely weekend its meant to be perfect in Sydney!

Urs xx
mumtomakandissy
Hi Ladies

Really REALLY struggling with this tiredness here at the moment- so far this week I have had a 2/3 hour sleep during the day! And still tired so off to get an iron test done next week. I can't ever remember being this tired with previous pregnancies.

Am also getting alot of nasty BH's. This morning I had to lie down so thinking perhaps this bub will come a bit earlier.

Just a quick one to say hi to you all and hoping everything gets better for everyone.

sun_kissed
Urs: Bah ha ha ha ha roll2.gif
What's a bet I hex myself now and have twins. so funny xo
Have a great weekend.
MrsHayley
ph34r.gif
The jist of my day today....

F*@K, F*@K, F*@K, F*@K, F*@K

aannoyed.gif

I have hated today...absolutely hated it!!!! And I have a feeling that tomorrow is going to be a repeat!!!!

F*@K, F*@K, F*@K, F*@K, F*@K
sun_kissed
Hayles bbighug.gif bbighug.gif to you. You can get through it! I believe in you xoxox

Me: Just having a Relax day and a junk food day! Have been so good on a diet to TTC and thought I need a break. So I am having a break and relaunching the diet tomorrow. Feeling pretty good for it too ph34r.gif tongue.gif Had a couple of drinks last night first time in a few months I think it may help with my stress levels (if you count west coast coolers as drinks laugh.gif ).

We had a big day yesterday visiting lots of family so eli is exhausted today, so he is resting up too original.gif
Summerlover

J - its great having a 'down day' - Yas still enjoys pottering around the house sometimes. West End Coolers???? wow I haven't had them since I was a teenager!!! I was wondering what you meant by TTC #3

Hayles - hope your day today is better

Urs - yeah I know daycare can cause them to sleep less but when she's crabby in the afternoon because she is so tired is when it annoys me. The next week was better and she went on to have a 2 hour sleep at daycare. The thing is it doesn't matter how long she sleeps in the day - she still goes to bed at 7.30pm and has no problem sleeping and never wakes before 6.30am but usually these days more like 7 or 7.30am which is great. I had to wake her the other morning to get her ready to go to daycare. Great sleeping for Casey. We move this week and Yas will go straight to her toddler bed but she hasn't been rolling around as much on the mattress on the floor. Hope you enjoyed your weekend.

Bec - oh I feel for you. I can't cope with little sleep either. I hope you have managed to get some rest this weekend and I pray that this little bubba will be a better sleeper for you.

Shell - no I haven't got any pics yet sorry. Well we move this week so I will take some pics of Yas in the new garden of the house. TBH we've both just been working and then sleeping when we are not working - I think the humidity is making us more tired, haha. Job is going well - its nice to have 3 shifts now just feel a bit unorganised without all my familiar surroundings around me but only a couple of days to go. DH loves his job too which is great.

Simone - how you going? Hows the gym going? have you achieved your goals with the gym - you were looking good last time I saw you.

Well I've been out shopping today to Cairns DFO and bought hubby his birthday prezzie for Tuesday. I'm sure he will be excited about that as he is a big kid at heart with prezzies. I can't wait to move though because there are no boundaries in this place again for our dogs and I'm waking at 5 or 5.30am because of them again (back to the old days before moving into our built house!) but not long now and they will be sleeping in the laundry (there is no laundry here - just a cupboard with washing machine in it) and I have no kiddy gates to block them off. So I'm very tired all the time - crazy thing is I go out today when Yas goes to bed, hubby goes for a nap too and the whole house gets 2.5 hours sleep and I'm the friggin tired one???????

Anyway no rest for the wicked.

Take care everyone and those I missed

Helen xxx
shell~
ph34r.gif Reading but no time for personals sorry. Sus has Bronchiolitis again and is struggling to breathe. Got the hospital bags packed just in case, but praying she'll come good through the night ok.

bbighug.gif to everyone having a hard time. Sprinkling stardust on us all.

Shell xo
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.