The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: January 08 Parents # 206

Abbygirl
Long day for me, I've agreed to look after my BIL and SIL's 4 month old baby girl once or maybe twice a week, because SIL is going back to work part time (her mum will look after Maddie one day a week) so today was the trial day.
I had her from 9am - 3:30pm which is basically the times I will get her. It went well, so nice having a little baby to snuggle with. Grace was great with her, she did get jealous and kept demanding cuddles and kisses form me, but besides that she was very good. Was fun and games when I had to change Gracies poo bum, Maddie wouldn't let me put her down (recently had her immunisations) so that was hard.
Also getting Maddie to sleep (you have to hold and cuddle her) was hard as Gracie decided to strip herself down - pullup and all - to get my attention
So yeah, this willl be good practice because as you all know I'm champing at the bit to have another baby, it will also prepare Grace a bit too.

Gorgeous pics Jodie, I might have to do it tomorrow I'm so tired I'm off to bed in a tic.
Yay for Dane sleeping well, what a good baby you have wub.gif

Ewwww Mel, I hate blood tests now. My last one was about 4 months ago and the nurse hit a nerve in my arm.. it seemed to be going well then all of a sudden my arm went all heavy and hot, I looked down and it was changing colour to a purpleish pink with white spots, I screambed at her to "take it out take it out" (the needle) and she got very flustered. Then I went all woozy and tired (I think from panicking ) and had to sit there for 20 mins. The staff were asking me if this had happened to me before, and they didn't seem to believe me when I told them it hadn't.
SO yeah they concluded that she'd jabbed a nerve.....
I hope your bloods all come back clear.

Great to hear Elias is such a good baby Bec, it must help that you've had practice Tounge1.gif

Hi Wilga! wub.gif great to see you back in here! I bet Alicia has turned into a gorgeous 2yr old! A belated Happy 2nd Birthday to her wub.gif
Yep, I hear you on the tantrums, Grace is exactly the same, not fun is it.
Looking forward to seeing some photos of Alicia

I bet your house looks great Sandra, (love the smell of fresh paint) how's it all going? Are you wearing paint splattered denim overalls with a white polo shirt on underneath and your hair all tied up - like in the movies? Hahaha, that's what I envision when you talk about it wink.gif
Ooo post us up some before and after pics please?

waves.gif Kristy biggrin.gif

chaosprincess
OMG Marika! Hitting a nerve!! ohmy.gif That hasn't happened to me thankfully. Though today blood leaked under the skin on the first arm so I have a nice bruise happening - yay I look like a junkie laughing2.gif I do remember once when I was pregnant with the twins, the needle came out of the vein and the nurse was just digging around under my skin without pulling the needle out to start again. I was looking at my arm and said "Are you right there?" laughing2.gif It gives me shivers thinking about it.
poss71
Jodie, I love the photo of Dane, he's so gorgeous. DH says I'm not allowed to look at any more brand-new-baby photos because I went 'awwwww' wub.gif - (bring them on though!). laughing2.gif

Snap Mel! I had blood taken today too. My nurse freaked out a bit because I watched her put the needle in (it's my weird thing, I have to watch). I now have a lovely big bruise because she pressed too hard. Oops.

Now to find out if I'm still anaemic from Meggie's birth. oomg2.gif Hopefully not. She turned one today - and I forgot until I was in the chair getting blood drawn! blush.gif Happy birthday baby.

Marika, I hope you and Grace get into the swing of it quickly. Your niece sounds delightful. I hope your DH is ready! He he

Wilga waves.gif good to hear from you!

Bec, poor Miah. I hope she's feeling better soon.

Sandra, I love painting. Hate doing the colour selection though. We were at Bunnings for nearly 3 hours lol. I was leaning on the counter to rest my cankles. I nearly gave the paint dept guys heart failure. It was 35 degrees and only about 2 or 3 weeks before Ellie arrived. roll2.gif They kept asking was I OK, and trying to get me to sit down (somewhere a long way away from the paint dept) roll2.gif .

Bedtime for me. Nighty-night all. Take care
j-o-d-i-e
Marika, hope its not to late to add these two little adorable photos for you to pick from... wub.gif

Dane bath pic 1

Dane bath pic 2

sounds like your going to be nice and busy with your little niece, i bet she feels tiny compaired to Grace, when changing kaiden it just feels like he has grown soooo tall.

Eww Mel, needles suck at the best of times, i have a little lump on my wrist from the canular (spellling?) i got the same thing when i had my op for gallstones..

well my good night sleeper turned bad last night aannoyed.gif he feed at 9pm, 12am, 3am, 5am and 7am blink.gif bloody little pig lmao so my eyes are ganna pop out my head lol will be trying hard to get in a mummy nap today.
joka
Happy 1st Birthday for yesterday Meg, Hope you guys had a wonderful day Jo biggrin.gif

j-o-d-i-e
Happy belated 1st birthday Meg
happinesswith2blue
Happy belated Birthday to Margaret

Yuck I'm another who hates needles.But like Jo I like to watch laugh.gif I got so many when pregnant. I remember getting this huge bruise from one.It took ages to go. I bet I looked like a junkie also ohmy.gif
Ouch at hitting a nerve Marika. I would have yelled "get it out, Get it out" also

Marika- Sounds like you had a busy day with your neice and Grace. Hopefully the more you have her, Gracie will come very fond of her. Very nice of you to have Maddie twice a wk.

Mel- Have a great time today at the Library. How many hours will you do? Glad to hear that William's dental check went well. I probably need to get my wisdom teeth out too. I will take the boys for a check up soon. Aston has got 12 teeth now.

Jodie- Yay on Dane sleeping so well (not last night) Hope you get a nanna nap in today. Bugger about the wind. Poor little man. Aston had wind problems really bad. It used to take a good hour just feed him 20mls. Someone told me to put a little cloth in the dryer just to warm it up then rub the baby's back with it. Sometimes this worked sometimes it wouldn't.
The pics of the boys are so cute. Love the one with Dane in the bath wub.gif Can't wait to see you new sig

Bec- Hope Miah has a speedy recovery. Glad to hear eveything is going well at home with your little family wub.gif

Still painting here. We had a night off. It was too hot to paint. The ceiling is done. That is such hard work and I didn't even do it laughing2.gif Now just the walls. roll2.gif No Marika. I have no overalls with a white polo shirt underneath roll2.gif I had a good laugh reading that. I always wondered why would you wear just all white when you paint.
The boys are good. Aston is starting to copy everything Cohen does. Cohen coughs aston coughs then they turn it into a coughing game and see's who can do it the longest laughing2.gif Cohen sqeals aston's squeals it is amusing.
SimplySweet
I started typing here last night but was suddenly in too much pain to sit so had to go, so will try again to catch up before the kindy run. Lis and Ryan are at cc so it's nice and quiet here.
Ryan went up to the kindy room today, his transition visits had gone well. He was well and truly over the baby room, needs so much more stimulation. And he is with Lis for half a day so might make me leaving a bit easier for him. He has Jean who Lis adores, she has had Jean since she started there and was lucky that when Lis went to new room, Jean had changed rooms.
They will move her briefly into baby room just before I get there today so he won't see me taking her.

Ryan has had his Griffiths test and we got the results in the mail.
It sais A Griffiths test is to gauge a child's development in particular areas and is used to determine whether there is a need for more detailed assessment, or the involvement of other professionals.
I had never heard of it before being referred, none of my other kids had one done.

His results are
Locomotor (gross motor skills) Score : 16mths (much below average)

Ryan is frightened of heights, climbing and big movements such as swinging and trampolines. He can walk and run, seat himself at a table and walk backwards. He cannot jump, kick a ball, climb up or down stairs or jump off a small height.

Personal/Social (skills of daily living) Score : 19mths (below average)

Ryan uses a spoon well, likes an adults to show him a book and he indicated four body parts on a doll. He does not drink from an open cup, open a door, take off shoes and socks, asks for food and drink by name or play with other children (other than his siblings)

Language (speech) Score : 15 ¾ mths (much below average)

Ryan is sociable and makes very good eye contact. He has very few words (about four). He spontaneously said two words that he had never said before (horse and dog) He enjoys pictures books and stories. He clearly identified all the toys in the under- two toy box but did not name them (he named the horse and dog in the over-two testing kit, but this was spontaneous and not on request) He did not verbalise very much at all - he grunted a little but no babble.

Eye and hand co-ordination (fine motor skills) Score : 23¾ mths (average)

Ryan built a 6 brick tower, he can copy circular scribble, he can pour a cube from one cup to another and he attempted to cut paper. He did not pour water from one cup to another (Kristy says is is afraid of water), did not make a toy walk and did not copy a vertical or horizontal line. He attempted to thread beads but was unsuccessful.

Performance (puzzles) Score : Over 24mths (high average)

Ryan completed the reversed hole board from the under two kit and the 4 and 6 hole boards form the over 2 kit. He reassembled three brick boxes including the lids. He replaced the 9 bricks into the box but was unable to replace the lid. He was unsuccessful at opening and closing the screw toy.

It was great fun to assess Ryan. He was alert and enthusiastic and made good eye contact.

Ryan has significant delays in Locomotor, personal/social and language. He has average to high average skills in performance and eye and hand co-ordination.

So most of that we knew anyway, so good to confirm and have on paper. He was fairly co-operative for most of it, but anything physical he hid a lot. We have noticed that he does do some actions when avoiding things uncomfortable or scary to him, which isn't a good sign. But all things to keep an eye on though.

Recommendations were to continue speech at Talking Matters, be assessed by OT at Talking Matters and commence OT there (not wait for public list). Approach GP for another EPCP for the OT (and I've learned of a new scheme called Focused Psychological Strategies whereas I can access 12 sessions of OT instead of 6 with the Enhanced Primary Care Plan. So am seeing Gp in 2 weeks to get that underway if approved. Have a referral to paed who specialises in autism, aspergers and other disorders like this. He has a very long waiting list. And a referral to physiotherapy at the local hospital.

She thinks the possibilty of an aspergers spectrum disorder as he definitely shows some characteristics but then at the same time, he doesn't show some too. And when I look it up myself more is not, than is.
So am hoping it's just sensory and language and with lots of support and help we will help him overcome his issues. Or even make things easier for him

I think I finally worked out the supermarket floor issue. Ryan does not like the Coles supermarket floor near us. When we enter the store it's black tiles for fruit/veg and trolleys, then when it turns to white tiles, he won't step over the line. Eventually he does but is very uneasy on the white tiles. I had noticed him the same on the Kmart floor, would refuse to walk but would in some aisles. At the time wasn't quite sure what it was. Well........... the other night I called into Woolies when I took B to work meeting and he was fine on the brown tiles but then didn't like the white again but noticed him walking ok on the sides then it clicked. It's the light reflection. He does not like the light reflection on the white tiles, hence why it was ok in Kmart down some of the aisles. Maybe it reflects like water to him or something.
No idea how to combat this, I guess that's where the OT help comes in handy hey

Anyway it's good to have more on paper now, bit easier to seek assistance. He has his next speech appt tomorrow so will book in his first OT there.

Had a fairly quiet week, I was very sick on weekend with a bad case of gastro, man it was shocking.
Lis was a bit sick so am assuming we picked it up from kindy on thursday, as I helped out taking kids onto Mobile library. Luckily noone else here got sick.
Monday we missed gymkids and kindy, had a home recovery day just in case. Just had to take B to a work meeting after school.
Yesterday we went to playgroup and called in to see my old midwife, I love calling in for a chat, haven't been for ages and she was keen to see Ryan, wants a new photo of him for her board. She reminded me again how lucky we are Ryan is here, as he had a true knot, she lost another one last week with one. We truly are so lucky. And Lis had kindy.
Last night we had nothing on, Dh had footy training and did J and T's footy registration for this season.
Today kids at cc and then Lis has kindy at 12, tonight B has work after school and I have to do groceries after dinner and before getting him.
Tomorrow just kindy and speech appt. After school B has Umpiring training, Jayden starts a comic book course (it goes for 5 weeks) with a well known comic author (I've never heard of him,lol. Kamal coker or something) Lis has cheerleading and Dh has footy so a busy night.
And tomorrow no plans during day, our chill day. On weekend Thomas has a birthday party, both boys have cricket games and Hubby is playing some footy vs cricket match or something.

We really need to get organised for our camping trip. We leave next friday for the long weekend. There are 43 of us going so will be a great weekend. We were going in Mums caravan but we recently found out we can't use it so we are tenting, half way through having them all worked out. We need to set up 2, 2 room tents for us all. 8 of us going as we are taking B's gf and then all our stuff. Looking forward to a weekend away with friends.

Ok catch up time, will do my best

Mel, I know they are but I do love them. I have had many bowel issues since Ryan and I found most alcoholic drinks would set me off and I'd suffer for days, so not worth it. They don't affect me, so hey am going with it.
It's funny how different we all are hey wink.gif , adds so much character to our group.
Glad you worked out your diva cup and that you enjoyed SOundwave tthumbs.gif Spewing about 2 lines for drinks, how stupid
Well done Wil getting his teeth checked, I need my 4 wisdom teeth out too, hmmmmm

Kat, How did your scan go? Hope all is well

Marika, I love the list, great job. Spewing you lost your Tillytom clip. Someone probably snapped it up quick sad.gif How sweet looking after your niece, I am sure Grace will love another little play mate as she gets older hey.

Jo, I am having Ryan's done in about 1½ week so will post them then, but would be good to make a little list to compare hey

Jodie, Gorgeous pics. Hope your milk is settling now. Sounds like Kaiden adores his little brother wub.gif
Sounds like a great sleeper until last night, hopefully just a one off night and you get a nanna nap today
Hope his wind issues settle, so hard for them they have so much trapped wind.

Sandra, WOOHOO on the painting underway and the air cond. Bet you can't wait. The boys sound like great mates, awwwwwww

Wil, Hi, yeah we use other site but I am currently without my pc atm (borrowing friends spare) as it's being repaired so have no links so can't help sorry. Maybe someone else can pm you the link.

Bec, Hope Miah is better soon, poor darling. Yay on having Craig home, lap it up as he is usually so busy hey. Elias sounds adorable and well done Ezekiel on his new word, how cute

I love giving blood and do it often (can't at moment) and I have no worries watching it, but I never watch it go in, pmsl

Margaret

Hope she had a wonderful birthday

Sorry for who I missed, kept getting sidetracked making few calls I needed to

Hi everyone waves.gif
chaosprincess

Kristy - Differences are what make life interesting biggrin.gif I have been drinking lemonade in my cheap wine lately laughing2.gif Class-ay. So my own version of a shandy I guess. Dan Murphy's bottle-o has had clearskins extremely cheap lately but I can't stomach them without a bit of lemonade/soda water added laughing2.gif My own version of champagne - the bogan's version roll2.gif I have to say a lot of Ryan's assessment was applicable to Wil - he hardly says any words, but communicates in other ways. So I was interested to read Ryan's assessment. Wil doesn't have the fears that Ryan does though. I'm glad you are on the track to getting the right help you need for Ryan.

Next weekend I'm going to Sexpo with my best mate tthumbs.gif Just sucks that QLD laws make it a more prudish event. I told my friend I'd wear just gladwrap to the event LMAO

Volunteering today was good. I put books away, labeled some folders and covered a sh*tload of books. I'll go in every wednesday for the whole day, hopefully start my tafe course soon also original.gif It was weird being in a school again, brought back memories. Then being in the staff room and seeing the relationships between the teachers.... all interesting. They have little chicks in the library at the moment, hatching so lots of students come in to see them. The girls will be going in tomorrow as thursday is their library day. It's good being involved in the girls school as then I know what's going on and can talk to the girls more about school stuff original.gif
LaFamilia
Hey guys!

Kristy - Im so happy for you that you have the results and everything is on paper, that makes it alot easier to understand. Wow, 43 on a camping trip! How fun!!

Mel - Love your creative drinking choices!!! laugh.gif Sexpo sounds cool, Id love to go, but I am abit of a prude I must admit.

Jodie - How lovely to see your two little men getting along and being affectionate.

Marika - How fun to babysit your lil neice!!! Makes me jealous. Also as you say, good practise for Gracie to get used to having another around!! grin.gif

Myself, my maid of honour, and my bridesmaid are going wedding dress shopping tomorrow! Im so excited. Going to try some things on, find my stuye, then come home and buy one the same on the internet - soooo much cheaper! tongue.gif

I miss you guys, life is so much simpler on the internet. I have sooooooooooooo much drama going on in my life right now, Im caught in the middle of 'differences' between my employer and a former employee, who happens to be my bridesmaid.
Im going on holidays in the 2nd week of april, just for a week, so bring that on I say!!!!

xoxoox
Abbygirl

just breezing through, thought I'd say hi original.gif

Will post properly tomozza
chaosprincess
waves.gif Marika

Hope everyone is having a good weekend original.gif

Camilla - yeah at least with online relationships you can always switch off the computer and the issue goes away! Real life drama is much more stressful. I'm sorry to hear you are being dragged into it all, hope it sorts itself out soon. How exciting about going dress shopping!!
j-o-d-i-e
yyawn.gif very tired today wacko.gif
wil27

Things have been a bit hectic here so not much time online....

Thought I would share some piccies -
Ballerina!!!
Just like mum and Dad!
Off exploring!!!!!

happinesswith2blue
Oh Wil Alicia is just gorgeous. I love the ballerina pic. She has grown so much. Very cute indeed. Hope your well and it's great to see you in here again biggrin.gif

Hope you got the chance to have a nanna nap today I mean yesterday Jodie

Ok ill be back today after I got to bed. I finished painting just a while ago and I'm still up blink.gif
joka
Hey Guys
Sorry been MIA again rolleyes.gif

I didn't end up having another scan Kristy was a bit peeved, we don't worry about the down stuff but usually have the scan. When I saw doc he said no coz I had a scan at 11 weeks sad.gif coz it was a dating scan they didn't even 'look' at the bub. Oh well.

Not much happening here, I have to book into the hospital today. Its freezing and we all have colds sad.gif FUN..

BBL have a couple of grizzle guts laughing2.gif
Lia
WIl - Alica is so cute wub.gif

Kat -that sucks about the US. Its all about the $$, Medicare have a set about that they will pay for and you've had yours rant.gif

Camilla - sorry about the dramas sad.gif

Archie fell off the trampoline on Friday and banged is head, poor little man spewed in the car just after, so we ended up calling Nurse on call and had a very low key day sad.gif

Spent the weekend up at my sisters in Hepburn Springs.... I love it up there, I wish DH could be convinced to move there.......
SimplySweet
Howdy

Hope everyone had a good weekend. I didn't get up to much. Boys had cricket on saturday. We had friends over sat night for bbq and singstar, they left about 3am, was a great night.
And then y'day Dh had a cricket game at footy club. Thomas had a party to go to and I had bank dramas.

Today kids went to gymkids and then Lis had kindy. I went to shops to get what I couldn't get yesterday.
Hubby on lates all week.

Mel, Sexpo is good fun! We are due to go again. SOunds like your enjoying helping at the library.

Camilla, It does make it easier to get assistance. I know Ryan needs help and I know how hard it is to get support from what we've been through with Jayden. Yay at wedding dress shopping, so fun
I hope the dramas with your work colleagues are over soon, so hard being caught in the middle.

Marika, Hi

Wil, She is just gorgeous wub.gif

Sandra, How's teh painting going?? What rooms are you doing?

Kat, Bummer having no scan. The 18 week one will be here before you know it hey. Hope everyone is well soon.

Lia, Oh no at Archies fall, glad he was ok.

Ok time to walk to get Lis and THomas, bfn
chaosprincess
Finally finished the Sookie Stackhouse books, I had a bit of a break after the 6th book... around the time I got foxtel laughing2.gif I stopped reading as much. I have heaps of books waiting to be read though so now I have to decide what else to start. I'm still reading Scar Tissue also, it's the sort of book I like reading small bits of at a time and have another book going at the same time.

Reading Sandra's fb status today, it got me motivated to rearrange some furniture in my house. I moved the dining table up to the other section of the house, so now what was our dining area is now for the kids to play in... figured that would be better since they always drag their toys from the toy room out to there anyway. We have heaps more space now which is good, it's like a big play corner for them. I think it's better like this.
Abbygirl
Well so much for me 'coming back the next day to post' blush.gif
I've dropped Gracie's day naps 'cause without a nap she gets to sleep at 7:30pm instead of the 9:30 - 10:00pm that she was doing when she slept during the day! As a result I really have no me time until she's in bed for the night, and lately I'm too tired to do anything except go to bed once she's down...

So Jodie, sorry you've had to wait for this

I hope you like it wub.gif

Hi Cam, Ooooo I'm jealous of your wedding planning, I LOVED planning our wedding it was so much fun!

Awwww Wil, she is just gorgeous, what a little cutie!

Hope you've gottten some rest Sandra

Sorry you all have colds Kat, it must be the change of weather affecting everyone.
Grrr about your US, don't they have a duty to check the NF anyway?

waves.gif Mel, you've done what we have, we made our dining/family room into Gracies play room, and it's worked out well as we have a second lounge room anyway, so now she has the bigger room for all her crap toys biggrin.gif
We'll be covering the big bare walls in all her artwork wub.gif and maybe a few paintings from me too

Oh no Lia I'd have freaked out. How scarey, poor li'l chap sad.gif

I really don't know how you do such late nights Kristy! Sounds like you had a great time though.

Well like you Kat, Grace is sick, she woke up 4 times last night, the worst being at 10pm where it took me an hour (with panadol administered) to settle her. I wonder how she'd have been without the panadol, cause even after she had it she still woke up 3 more times sad.gif
Needless to say I'm tired and a bit concerned, not used to my baby getting ill, don't like it. I'm expecting her to wake any minute now and have a repeat of lastnight. I hope not, she really needs some rest, she was so tired today.
She has a cold, and at dinner she threw up a big mouthful-and-some because her nose was so runny that she couldn't breath with the food in there. She didn't seem to mind though, but I had a hard time getting her to eat again.

yep there she goes - she's awake this will be the 2nd time allready

Ok better run, sorry for any spelling mistakes - to tired to edit
j-o-d-i-e
Thank Marika, grwat as always, thank you so much for doing that for me.
Hope grae get sbetter soon, poor thing vomiting up her dinner and i think i would have doen the same with the day sleep, i NEED sleep at night lol

mel good job on the cleaning/organising..i love sexpo, i took DH to his first one and he really wanst enjoying it due to some of the guys in leather ( wacko.gif MEN!!!!) lol BUT he then seen Ron Jeremy up in some room (a vip/green room or something as he was waitiung there until his apprearance at his stand) and then he couldnt wipe the smile off his face and wanted to stay longer LMAO

Kristy your quiet weekends are still so busy lol super mum!

Lia poor Archie, hope his poor little head is doing better.

Kat bugger about the scan sad.gif gee it feels like your pregnancy has gone fast.

ok better go kaiden has daycare today....managed to get a kinda sleep in this morning woot woot DH got up to kaiden and brought Dane back in at 6 to have a feed, but i feed him laying down and we both feel asleep biggrin.gif got out of bed at 8. he did wake at 12 for 2 hrs wacko.gif then again at 3 so he was a little off last night.
happinesswith2blue
Well done for moving your furniture too Mel. I moved my didning table aslo.I put the play area for the boys where the table was and put the tv on the other side of the room. Next to Cohen room. Looks really good. No motivation for me today. I'm going to do nothing.
I'm loving this weather and I plan to stay in my pj's all day ohmy.gif biggrin.gif

Poor Grace Marika. Hopefully she will start to feel better soon so you both can have some well deserved rest.
I think I too should drop Cohen's day sleep, but he gets soooo cranky if he doesn't have a little nap. I like it also as I have one when they both sleep.
Beautiful sig too biggrin.gif Your so talented

Jodie- I think Dane has your eyes and lips in that pic. Gorgeous sig .

Kat- I think I would have had the NF scan just so I could see bub laugh.gif Well you dont' have too long to go till you see bub again at 19 wks ddance.gif
Hope your pregnancy is going smoothly. Are you going to the same hospital?
How are Harry and Patterson?

Kristy
We had friends over sat night for bbq and singstar, they left about 3am, was a great night

Sounds like you had a great time.I must be showing my age laughing2.gif cause there would be no way I could stay up that late and not me cranky in the morning on little sleep laughing2.gif Singstar is fun though.

Camilla- How was wedding dress shopping? Any pics wub.gif I loved planning my wedding too. It was so much fun. I would love to be a wedding planner. I love to organise things.

Poor Archie Lia- Hope you manged to get the sick.gif smell out of the car. Poor little man. I bet it scared him.

Sat we went and watched the 700 or so trucks go up to Gatton. They do this every year to remember the people who have died driving trucks. Ryder loves trucks. He is like a big kid.
Well Cohen was ok when 5 trucks honked the air horn ,but the next 695 trucks who did this he was a wreck. He lost it,screamed and wanted to sit back in his car seat. He just wouldn't settle down. But little bitti Aston was a big boy. He was waving at the trucks with Ryder and the air horn didn't bother him.
After that we went to Toowoomba for lunch, looked at the shops then took the boys to the park then came home. Big day, but was fun to spend time with just us wub.gif
Well im off for a nap while the boys are asleep.Painting and moving furniture makes you tired laughing2.gif
chaosprincess
cause there would be no way I could stay up that late and not me cranky in the morning on little sleep

laughing2.gif I love staying up late with friends. Dana and I do it most times we catch up, we talk crap, play some board games, have a couple of drinks, whatever. Same with my brother and I we stay up playing the Wii. I can survive on only a couple of hours sleep though or even no sleep at all sometimes.

I was invited to the Lights on the Hill truck and ute convoy thingy, a mate was in it, but then I couldn't be bothered driving out to Gatton laughing2.gif They had a big event at the showgrounds there at the end.

I have no motivation today either, I had an hour and a half nanna nap even because I was having dizzy spells this morning. I had Judge Judy on the TV and it made for some weird dreams about dead beat dads and crazy people laughing2.gif Though I did clear out the dining area a bit to get that sorted. The kids are loving the novelty of the change.

Marika, I have heaps of the kids artwork up original.gif 5 canvases of it, drawings and paintings on the fridge and also some plaster butterflies the girls did. My house is like a tribute to the children LOL.

I'm loving the rain, great cool start to autumn. Real lazy weather though where I just want to stay snuggled in bed... which I have been biggrin.gif I did have a nice relaxing bath and shaved my legs though, only get around to that about once a month hahahaah lucky my leg hair isn't very dark because I'm too lazy to do it more often.

Love the new sig Jodie. LOL about your DH at sexpo. I think it's going to be fun, haven't been for several years now.
SimplySweet
Yay on the moving furniture girls biggrin.gif
I move mine when I can but am very very limited with what I can move, no spare room in this house,lol. We sooooooooooo need the extension done.
Our dining room is the toy room and our dining table is in the family room. I don't do toys in the bedroom,lol. Lis does have her dolls house in there and her barbie cars, bus, etc but it's always kept clean (Im that anal I even dress them and place them on the furniture or in the doll container if not being used. Even have a unit for all the clothes and a tub for all the shoes, etc) The toy room is very organised too, I just can't handle when it's all mixed up. Everything has a home when it's finished being used, I am terrible. But I like that I am installing organisation in my kids, much easier to keep it all clean and organised, makes for a lot less housework.

Marika, I hope Grace is better soon, sounds like an awful cold she has. Have you tried using Olive leaf extract. I have used it on my kids and it really boosted their (all of our) immune systems. http://www.olea.com.au/
I just add it into a drink or some food, they have no idea it's there and totally natural.

Jodie, Lol, it was a very quiet weekend. Footy season is almost amongst us, then it turns insane with 3 playing and 1 umpiring. Usually 6 games a weekend.
Yay for a kinda sleep in, take what you can get hey biggrin.gif Love the sig

Sandra, I am a night owl, I don't require much sleep to function. On a normal night I wouldn't go before midnight. I can do all nighters with no issues at all, and love singstar, any games. I love board games. So socialising until the sun comes up sounds good to me tongue.gif
Sounds like a great day looking at the trucks. We have a run here for the disabled. A truck convoy, but now it heads the other direction from us, so we don't always see it. My hubby works for Mack Trucks so the kids love seeing trucks.

Mel, The weather started to change fast hey. We have rain forecast this weekend but we are camping so I hope it doesn't. Lol at your weird dreams. Have you see that street court crap show, lol??

Better get up and do something. Had playgroup this morning, then got caught talking to to a friend until kindy time then just did a few chores bludged with little man this avo. B's gf came here at 1pm, they get off early on tuesdays, B got off at 2pm (and that was with a note) He was not in full correct uniform for the academic assembly last week so had to stay in as punishment. I did let him off an hr early as Em was coming here and he completed his maths in the free lesson he had to stay for. They are now walking to get Lis from kindy and Thomas from school. J is walking his gf halfway home. DH working late, no idea what to do for dinner yet.
Boys cooked last night. Brett and Jayden made the meatballs and I made some muesli bars, then Brett made up some cupcake batter and they both put them in the moulds. I put the pasta on boil for them (as they disappeared for a bit,lol) then after tea, Brett made apple crumble. Dh got home as it was nearly ready so he made the custard. Yummy when you don't have to do much tthumbs.gif
happinesswith2blue
Gee I write a post and aston moves the mouse and it disappeared.

We went to the showgrounds after we watched all trucks. We were behind them for ages, then just decided to go to toowoomba for lunch then come back which we did. After 10 mins it rained so we left as there wasnt much shelter. So many people were just sitting on the hay getting wet listening to the band.

I just made play dough witht the boys again.This time is worked well. Aston ate some of it of course and I don't think Cohen really like the feel of it. I have brought play dough but same thing ,but be the texture.

Who toddler is still having a bottle. I'm trying to get rid of it for Cohen. But it's hard cause he just takes Aston's. I have a sippy cup for both boys and cohen will drink out of a cup, but if he is silly he will get most of it on the floor. I don't want any more bottles here for a while. So I may cut Aston's back too. But he only has one in the morning and night for bed and cohen has one before bed or he just finishes what aston didn't drink.

I'm still in Pj's and I might go start dinner a little earlier today then have a nice hot bath.
j-o-d-i-e
Sandra Kaiden just has a milk bottle before bed, he drinks out of a sippy cup during teh day though, i know i should stop the bottle and put it in a cup but just havnt taken it away yet cause he loves his night bottle, when he has it he pulls out his blanket and pillow and lays down on the mat and starts to chill out ready for bed.
SimplySweet
Sandra, No not here, I have seen first hand (kids friend) what bottle rot does and it's not nice. We took Ryan's away quite a while ago, he also has no dummy.
Ryan uses sippy cups here or kids bottles with water. He can sometimes manage a normal cup but does seem to wear most of it
happinesswith2blue
Thanks Jodie- I have brought so many sippy cups. He will undo the lids and pour the milk on the floor. The only one he doesn't do this to his he water bottle. He can drink from a cup. But he still isn't that confident with how much his mouth can hold laugh.gif sometimes it goes all down his shirt,cause his motth is still full. I'm sure he will get there.

Kristy tthumbs.gif on having dinner prepared for you. I could have came to your house for dinner last night. sounds yummy . Oh I feel like apple crumble and custard. Probably cause it's cold.

The toy room is very organised too, I just can't handle when it's all mixed up

I'm the same. I like the toy room cleaned .All the toys go to bed when the boys do laughing2.gif
I can't stand clutter. If I left them on the floor over night it would really annoy me.
chaosprincess
I can't stand clutter. If I left them on the floor over night it would really annoy me.

laughing2.gif Mess still annoys me sometimes, but for the most part I just ignore it these days laughing2.gif I'd much rather spend an extra 15 minutes relaxing in bed before I go to sleep than cleaning up some toys the kids left out or putting clothes away or something, especially when the toys will be dragged out again in the morning anyway. Though every now and then I get a bee in my bonnet and become a clean freak... the novelty wears off though quick smart laughing2.gif I think because my mum was bordering on obsessive compulsive with her cleaning I'm more relaxed about it. My house is like me, a bit of chaos is fine, keeps life interesting.

I'm not doing my volunteering at the library today, I'm off to the doctors to get my blood test results. I've been feeling a little dizzy the last couple of days so thought the doctor should be the priority. I'll probably put in 2 days next week to make up for it original.gif

I have to take Wil to the doctor also, last week he had some mozzie bites from when he stayed at my brother's house for a night and he kept scratching and picking at them. The daycare centre thought they could be school sores even though I told them they were simple mozzie bits wacko.gif So I need a cert of clearance for him to go back. I guess they have to be careful, but my kid never had damn school sores. Ah well.
SimplySweet
I really need to make the boys make more. Prepare them for the world out there so they can cook for their wives too tongue.gif . They are good at cooking, need to teach them more of the preparing and creating.

I am the same with toys, I will pack up a few times a day (when they are not playing with them) and then always at night before they go to bed, I make them help. I will even clean up a bit when people are over, pmsl. I had the bbq here sat night and when the kids were all laid down, friend had gone to pick up other friend who had taken her kids home, hubbies were out the back drinking, I went in and tidied up all the toys. Then I could relax and enjoy singstar without kids mess everywhere (they had made a big mess) I am very sad, pmsl

No kids here, Ryan and Lis at cc. He is loving the kindy room. I was sitting with him and Lis doing an activity. He is so clever, 4 other kids (and they were all between 3-5) tried and couldn't do it, Ryan did it with ease, and Lis was fine with it. I didn't think he would be able to. He freaked when I left though sad.gif I have to get Lis at 12 and take to kindy then am heading to a friends for a meet, childfree. After school pick up, Brett has work, Jayden starts footy training and I need to call into Big W quickly.

Oops you posted Mel

Hope you get some answers at the drs today. And get a clearance for Wil to go back.
Most of my friends say I have OCD but I don't, pmsl. I just can't relax if it's not done. I would lay in bed knowing they where there so would get back up to do it, too funny
chaosprincess
hubbies were out the back drinking, I went in and tidied up all the toys

See I'd be out drinking and telling the hubbies to clean up biggrin.gif I think because I saw my mum constantly cleaning up after everyone often with little appreciation for her efforts I vowed never to be that person. I'm a feminist b*tch laughing2.gif ... mostly just lazy though tthumbs.gif
SimplySweet
I was out there and went back out there when friend got back from picking up other friend so I did it then. DId the dishes too. Most of the time noone helps me tidy up the food and I will be buggered if I am cleaning it all when they leave at 3am,lol
Hubby cooks the bbq so I am happy to clean up. And most nights he helps me cook or with dishes so I don't tend to make him help there at a bbq. And my hubby can ignore toys very well, pmsl
I wouldn't always do it straight away, but this night I had an opportunity and did it
chaosprincess
My blood test results were all normal except my cholesterol is a bit up. So he said I should do a bit more exercise to bring it down. Looks like I've got a good chance of winning a 6 week course at Pole Perfect Aerobics, so that should help biggrin.gif

23 days until I go see Lady Gaga, the count down is on. I'm so looking forward to it!!!
Abbygirl
Glad to hear your test results were good Mel original.gif

I got my pap smear results today and 'no action; Wooo!

My house and cleanliness depends on my mood.... when I can be bothered I go nuts but if not I've been known to leave dishes unwashed for a couple of days at a time.
If I have ANY visitors however, then I like to present them with a nice clean house. I think it's only polite to do so.

Grace is still sick, and I have it too, it's hit me l ike a tonne of bricks, I feel like absolute a*se. Doesn't help that I've been up tending to her all night for the past 3 night in a row. Fingers crossed she sleeps throught this one, I'm so exhausted. I think that's why it's affected me so bad.
I'm off to the DR tomorrow for some antibiotics.

Boooo

Nothing else to add, I'm too tired and gross ddown.gif
chaosprincess
If I have ANY visitors however, then I like to present them with a nice clean house. I think it's only polite to do so.

Yeah I clean before guests come - it's great motivation for giving the house a once over, I hate people to see my house messy. I can live in mess but I don't like other people seeing it - I like having that facade of togetherness and organisation going on laughing2.gif Sometimes when I'm less motivated though, it can impact on my social relationships because I can't be bothered cleaning to perfection (and depending how well I know the people coming over, I can become OCD about it) so sometimes I'm less inclined to have people over. But a wise woman told me recently to weigh up what's important, a few things out of place and nuturing those social relationships, or secluding myself off when I lack motivation and I feel my house is too messy and people will judge me. So I have had to learn to chillax and really most people don't care if there are a few toys strewn around the place and my washing isn't put away.... and if they do I'd probably think get a life laughing2.gif

Marika - hope you and Gracie get some sleep and the sickness passes soon sad.gif
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.