The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: October 09 Parents # 24

Essential Baby > Parents' Groups > Join a parents' group here > 2009

http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/forums/ind...howtopic=764976

**Foxy82**
Gold!!!! ddance.gif
Just wasting time when I really should be packing!! waves.gif We are leaving in an hour oomg.gif
Bye!!! biggrin.gif
vfrainbows
silver!

ok.. now to read the last 20 odd threads..
MnM
Bronze

Just back from looking at the house, took heaps of video footage of it so i can plan my furniture... now we have to head off to the tile shop to choose tiles - just had to pop home to put Greta down for her nap first.

Oooh i jus noticed that there is a huge Frangipani tree in the front yard - gorgeous. Oh the pool looked so inviting, i could have jumped, by the time we get in it will be too cold!

Ok best get on, got lots more to do today and im going out on a girly night out tonight an am having a pamper session at the beauty saloon this afternoon waves.gif
Jayniepoo
oooh chocolate for me! biggrin.gif
vfrainbows
Solids - Waiting until 6 mths here. I agree with Kylie, in that introducing solids doesnt have to mean weaning straight away. I hope when the time comes that I'll be able to let William have a bit of fun with flavours and textures for a while, rather than wean. I'm actually quite excited to see his little face with a new flavour. If the look when he gets bath water in his mouth is anything to go by, it'll be hilarious original.gif

Can someone tell me what farex is? Is it what they call 'baby rice' over here?

Kylie - FANTASTIC news on the paed! Stoked she sorted you out, it's about time! It sounds really positive with the Losec hon, I really hope it stays that way original.gif Sorry you've been having a tough time hon x oh and super yay on the job!!

Mandy - hope you had a great holiday hon original.gif LOL at Pymble Ladies College... high school already!!

Homebirth - I wish I could / had! Can't believe how much trouble is going on in Australia about it. The UK pushes homebirth pretty well, and I was offered one stacks of times. We decided against it, and wound up being induced in hospital anyway. I'm going for a waterbirth again next time though, and I'm going to be a bit more forceful getting my wishes heard too!

Amber necklaces - Ah Clari, I'd noticed your boys wearing them in the photos! They look great and hey, if they work, superb!

Needles - William has his 4 mth needles next week.. DTaP/IPV/Hib + MenC + PCV ... three needles! However, they have jabs at 2, 3 and 4 mths here, so thats it for a while! Hurrah!
UK Immunisation schedule

Number 3s - Lisa I LOVE the ad you posted on Facebook. I've forwarded it on to heaps of people original.gif

Must go.. DH finds it hard to sleep without me, and he's been calling out to ask when I'm coming to bed. So much for peaceful mum time!

Hope you guys are all well, sorry for being ridiculously slack!
MnM
OMG im in shock! I just got an e-mail from the highschool we are sending Greta to and they said i need to enroll her before she turns 2yrs old as they get booked up pretty fast! she wont go till 2022! INSANE ohmy.gif oh well guess i should get on with it oomg.gif

Emily: aww so cute about your DH. Yup its baby rice over there. Miles never liked it i just started giving him fruit like a mushed banana and apple etc and he prefered that. See if Greta likes it - shes only 4 months so not on solids yet.

Jess:
erm i guess you could call MIL's hubby DH's step dad but i wouldnt want to be in the same room when you do! DH introduces them as 'Mum and her husband"

Well we picked our tiles for the bathrooms and laundry... biggrin.gif i didnt like the ones DH liked and vice versa so he got the ones he likes for the en-suite and i got my pick for the main bathroom. Now just have to go and choose vanity, bath and toilets! we are gutting the bathrooms and laundry - knocking down walls - look great i hope tthumbs.gif

I think Greta has been effected by her needles, more lathergic than normal and sleeps more, but to be honest thats pretty normal so hard to tell Tounge1.gif she does feel very hot though.

Ok best get on - MIL is com coming to Greta-sit while i get pampered and my hair done and i want her to be asleep so its easy for her waves.gif
koiles
Jo racvia sorry to hear Rachel’s diagnosis, but like you said her school getting funding to help her is wonderful!

Brooke 2bubbygirls 3 parties in one weekend...you’ll need a lie down after that laugh.gif! Where in Melb are you? I hheart.gif DFO.

Mandy wtf HIGH SCHOOL?? ffear.gif I thought it was bad enough me going to look at kindergartens next month...high school?? You’ve totally blown my mind, that is just craziness! Ohh enjoy your girly night tonight, hope you have fun.

Jess miinii I struggle with one kid in the car...I miss the days of ducking in to Safeway for a loaf of bread without it being a big production! Lol and we don’t get anywhere before 10am, I make sure I book anything for after then so go you with the 8.30 drop off! Glad Micah got over his needles pretty quickly.

Brooke honeyfly
hope you had fun at the last course session, that’s lovely you’ll keep in touch with everyone. How’s your little niece Amelia going?

Em yep Farex is a brand of rice cereal...I can’t say it looks overly appealing, lucky I don’t have to eat it lol. Are you any closer to moving back or is it still slow going?

Leish
hope you have a great night tonight, and you’ll look hot no matter whether you wear the dress or jeans!

AFM another great day from E...he slept on the playmat oomg.gif, I still can’t believe it he does not sleep anywhere but the sling during the day. Next sleep I’m trying him in the cot and if he sleeps I’m divorcing DH and marrying the maker of Losec! roll2.gif

I spent way too much money at the Big W sale today...but nothing that he didn’t really need. Ok well maybe some things he didn’t blush.gif. I bought the most gorgeous soft brown blanket for the pram...he has loads but this was too gorgeous and I asked a lady who was also looking and she told me to buy it, so if DH asks it wasn’t my fault! I mostly got him 00 winter stuff, he doesn’t have much in the next size up and he’ll still be in 000 for quite a while. I bought a couple of Bonds trackies and hoodies, some long sleeve shirts etc. and I got him some of those nice soft baby spoons. He has to take the Losec off a spoon and he bit down on it today and it obviously hurt, oops mummy! The ones I bought are gorgeous! Yes yes a gorgeous spoon, it really is!
Bluey04
kylie - so glad to hear Losec is working!! told you it would original.gif

Mandy - OMG - HIgh School!!! Although i shouldn't be surprised. I've heard stories of people enrolling their unborn children in some private schools at brisbane and of one mum wanting to enrol her 6 month old son only to be told she was too late as they book out even before the baby is born. it's madnes if you ask me! Needless to say, my boys will probably go to a state school as i'm not that organised to book them in so early (and shell out thousands of dollars for a deposit this early on)...

AFM - ok, so i bit the bullet and gave Alex a taste of farex (baby rice) today (it is day 6 or 7 of feeding every 1.5-2 hours and i had enough - it's obviously not a growth spurt anymore). His face was priceless (can't blame him, farex is awful) but he munched up about 6 or 7 baby spoons of it. and then had a wonderful 1.5 hour nap afterwards. Bless him original.gif
chntlrose
Hi All. My name is Chantal and I live in Perth. I have a nearly 3 year old son and a 4 month old son born 18 October 2009. waves.gif

Would like to chat to other mums with babies born in October. It's amazing how you forget how it is having a new baby!
india09
Hi girls, slack poster here! Promise I read most though, just always get caught out when trying to reply!

Hope the Sydney meet went well today, it was very hot, was it indoors? India and I have mums and baby yoga on a Friday so off we went to that, thankfully in airconditioned comfort original.gif

Kylie - Have heard wonders about Losec too, what a relief for you. We don't get anywhere before 10am either and also have just the one bub, you and I are in trouble if we have anymore bbaby.gif

Mandy - Know what you mean about the Sydney school situation. I have had to put India's name down for preschool and school already as I was warned that otherwise we would miss out. Pymble is meant to be excellent, I know a few girls that went there. Where are you sending Miles? We will most prob be living east in a few years due to DH's work so India is enrolled at SCEGGS Darlinghurst from kindy on. Will be a shame in a way though because we love Nth Shore area. How exciting for your big move!

Vfrainbows - Our paed said 5mths is the current recommendation for starting solids so we'll give it a go then...if only to try and get some longer overnight sleeping happening! India must be like William in the bath, all spluttery and goes red when she swallows a drop of water, it is funny to watch! Similar when she had the oral rotavirus the other day!

That's it from me for now, have a great weekend everyone, Celeste

barx_twins+1
Hi Girls. My name is Melinda and I live in Sydney. I have been going to post since i fell pregnant!!! But with it all being so full on i didn't get around to it. But here i am now.

I have a 5 year old son Lachlan and 4 month old twin girls, Scarlett & Piper born 5 weeks early on 11 October 2009.

Looking forward to getting to know you all. Mel
chntlrose
Hi Mel

How is it having twins aswell as a 4 year old? I'm finding it hard enough with 1 baby and 1 toddler! Altho my baby doesn't sleep well so that probably doesn't help! yyawn.gif

Chantal
barx_twins+1
Hi, Having twins is definately a challenge that is for sure.

The good thing about having a 5 1/2 year gap has been that my son is at school so it makes it easier in the day cause it is just me & the girls. I also have my mum come 2 days a week to help me.

I am lucky that they are pretty good sleepers, but they also do their fair share of crying especially around bed time, I think they are just sooooooooo tired.

I certainly don't envy you having a toddler and a baby. I certainly feel blessed that I have the age gap I do. I would NOT have coped with a 2 or 3 year old and twins that is for sure. Someone was looking after me on that front biggrin.gif
koiles
Marina obviously Alex was looking for something more substantial than a milk diet lol. That's great he took to it so well, and a nice bonus that he slept soundly also! tthumbs.gif lets hope that continues for you.

Chantal welcome to the group waves.gif congratulations on your new DS. Look forward to getting to know you.

Celeste the school thing is just crazy isn't it! My heads still reeling from when Mandy mentioned it earlier! I'm starting to look at 4yo kinders next month when I get back from my trip because I've heard they can be quite hard to get into around here, but as for schools...no idea where I'd start. At least E will only be going to a public school so I won't have to worry...unless DH miraculously becomes an overnight millionaire wink.gif. It's crazy being forced into making a decision this early...how would I know now at 4 months old what E's interests will be when he's older...if he wants to be a marine biologist I'd be looking for a school with a good maritime program, if he wants to be a pro golfer I'd be looking at a school with a good golf program, if he wants to be a mathematician I'd be looking at a school with consistently high results in that area. It's insane for you guys to have to make a choice now when you've got no idea whether that school is going to fit your kids needs when they're older! wacko.gif What an unfair system.

Mel, hi and welcome to the group. Two new buddies in one day biggrin.gif. I think our first set of twins in the group too! Wow, that must be full on - but double the cuddles and smiles would be nice too. That's great that you've got the age gap there too, must definitely help.

AFM we took E down to the St Kilda footy club intra-club match this evening. His first taste of football. He did ok up until just after half time but then it was time for a feed and there wasn't really anywhere easily accessible to warm a bottle up plus it looked like it was going to rain any minute so we went home. It never rained. But we still had a good time seeing friends and watching a bit of footy. E was in the sling the whole time and was fantastic until he got a hungry tum. The noise didn't seem to bother him which was the main reason I wanted to test him out. I want to take him to the games when they start but didn't want him to get there and freak out with the noise.
Lohsmummy
hi girlies

WELCOME to the new ladies

chantal - we are having a perth meet up next week on the 15th and kings park if your are interested in coming? let me know and we can give you the details!

hi everyone else.....FLLLLLYYYYYINNNGGG visit from me. were moving tomorrow and still havnt finished packing. our house is FINISHED!!!!! hoooorrraaayyyy
my next post will be from my study in my spacey house. ohhhh so excited

hope everyone is well
and hopefully i can get on to post again soon

xxxx
MnM
Celeste: I know a few people who live in Mosman and went to Sceggs. Miles will most likely go to Kings... Sending them both to Hills Grammar till high school age - it's a bit cheaper than Kings and PLC!
It's crazy how early you have to put their names down!

Ok best go to bed, wonderfull night out - DH had a nightmare with the in-laws!
vfrainbows
hehe, not a reflection of the school, but more the guy.. when I first started uni, I was elected as a staff - student rep with another guy. At our first meeting, he introduced himself as 'Hi, I'm Alex. I went to Kings'

Hi Alex, I'm Emily, I'm English, and I have no idea what Kings is.

He was rather disappointed. Poor lad. It IS however, a good school!

God, maybe I should look into the school thing. We plan on sending William to Terrace in Brisbane, DH's old school.
MnM
Emily: laughing2.gif funny! It certainly is a rather pretentious school! but in the top 10 every year so its a good school - hope he just gets the good education and not the snobby part!
Actually reminds me of my MIL, dont know if you know Sheffield very much - i certainly dont but they're from one of the nice suburbs there so whenever she introuduces herself to anyone she ALWAYS say "Hi, im Ann and im from Totley"its like a blind date contestant! DH and i have a little compition about how long it'll take her to say it when she meets someone new - even in this country she says it .. half the Aussies dont even know where Sheffield is, never mind a little town there! Actually her new thing is "Hi im Ann and i live in Spain"the reality is that she bought a holiday home there that she hasnt been to in 5 years and is desperate to sell! '

Ok just back from the gym wacko.gif exhausted much blink.gif

Welcome new girls - look forward to chatting.

Taking Miles to the water park thing at Olympic park after his nap.

OK best go waves.gif
K~and~A~plus~7
Hi all biggrin.gif

How disgusting was it in Sydney yesterday!! Blegh! Poor Riley doesnt handle the heat at all and i was so close in calling DH last night to come home form work when she had her 3rd almost dry nappy. She was drinking fine and not vomiting but still those dry nappies are scary! Thankfully this morning she was nice and wet and it is so much cooler too!

I know i did have more to say but of course the mind just went totally blank!

Oh and my little mans pic is on one of the EB articles, the one about the local premmie hero awards biggrin.gif
raky
Bluey - maybe try putting a little bit of maybe pureed apple in with the farex to give it a bit of a nicer flavour, Ollie has the farex in morn with 1 part farex 1 part pureed fruit.. works a treat!

Kylie - so so glad that Evan is responding to Losec!! Awesome news

Am glad everyone who saw my fb pics of ollie having tummy time in the bath loved the idea and have tried it! It's great doing different things! they love it! here's the pic for everyone who hasn't seen it.

anyway Ollie has gone with Ra to her mums house for the weekend, so i am child free till tomorrow afternoon. m going to wave off my sister on her cruise this afternoon!!

Have a good weekend everyone!

kylie
MnM
Oh i 2nd what Kylie says about the fruit with the Farex, Miles hated the stuff, i mixed fruit with it and he'd eat it then but i did only do the farex thing for a few days cos he hated it, he started on pureed apple, actually his first food was mushed up banana- he didnt start on solids till 6.5 months though so he was a little older so could eat a bit better iykwim.

Love that photo Kylie, id love to try it but i cant get Greta in the big bath for Miles! he splashes water on her and everyone so i have to keep her in the baby bath away from him! Trying to get him to be more gentle but trying to get a 2 year old to be gentle! well it doesnt come easily to them - will have a go on her tummy in the bath as soon as i can kepe Miles away!

Well having an in'law free day today. It's lovely to have Greta to myself... i mean its nice that she likes MIl and is happy to sit with her but cos Greta sleeps a lot the few hours she is awak a day MIL wants cuddles and by the time she is done cuddling Greta its time for her nap so im imssing her cry1.gif lovely to get snuggles all day today wub.gif nothing like chubby baby culddles, hmm except perhaps skinny 2 year olf cuddles!

Speaking of skiiny 2 year olds, we were talking about out kids last night when we went out to dinner and Miles is the only boy in the group - well would you beleive he weighs less than all the girls and he is aolder by 6 weeks than most of them! shocked! He just loves fruit and would live on it, 'specially watermelon which has no calories of course.. oh well, he's healthy so im happy biggrin.gif

So MIL turned up last night as i was heading out the door at 6.30pm, id bathed the kids for DH and fed Miles and Miles was looking at books in his bedroom winding down and Greta was on DH's knee having her feed so DH was gonna put them to bed then order a pizza... so anyway MIL turned up to 'help' brought steaks and a salad she had prepared and put in a bag rolleyes.gif so she starts messing about in the kitchen trying to switch the oven on for the steak - the OVEN! DH is trying to put the kids to bed.. so then she cant manage to get the oven working so asks DH so he goes what are you trying to cook in in the oven for and he goes and switches the BBQ on - cos hes a bloke and thats the only way he can cook so fair enough.. much better than in the oven anyway! So he tells MIL to go make sure Greta is asleep and Miles is settled in his bed.. she walks into Greta's room , and someone wakes her up glare.gif she opens her eyes sees its not Mummy or Daddy and starts to scream so she has a panic and calls for DH - who is cooking the steak MIl ahd come to cook for him to 'help'while im out of the night.. so then DH comes into G's room to re -settle her .. MIK goes into Miles'room to see if he is settled down and Daddy - so poor DH is trying to get Greta to sleep - who was already asleep before MIK woke her up, cook the steak on the BBQ cos MIL couldnt manage to cook it, when DH would just have ordered himself a pizza - and settle Miles down in his bed when he was alreay quite happy in there and nodding off but MIL also upset him! MIL's saw the drama and decided to go out to buy beer cos it was all too hard!
So anyway i asked if the meal was any good and he said the steak they had bought was like the steak you get for a sandwhich it was so thin and pretty awful - we get ours from a local butchers that has the best meat ive ever eaten so we are spoilt.. the salad consisted of lettuce and raw onion.. DH cant not stand lettuce (how can you not know that your own son cant stand lettuce wacko.gif - MIL put the left overs which was pretty much all of it .. in my fridge so the fridge now stinks of raw onion - and so does everything in there! So basically he would have had a great time on his onw but a total nightmare cos of MIL!

Ok after that im going to get ready for our outing waves.gif
Iammum
Hey ladies

Gees im gone for 1 day and there is 3 pages of posts and new people laughing2.gif

Hi to the newbies, Im leish original.gif

Kylie - Awesome things are looking up babe, thats great!

Mandy - MIL's aye! hahaha

thats my crap attempt at personals hahaha, so I had my night out lastnight was good to dress up. We went out to the local pub, at 9pm then left at 11pm wasnt really into it much it was stinking hot too, so we went back to mums friends house and just sat out the back and talked was good then I was getting tired and missing my babies so my sisters bf came picked us up and then I decided to drive home I didnt drink alot. Not a big drinker so I was all good to drive but ohhh it was sooo good to come home and sleep in my own bed and know I was with my boys. Wont be going out for a long time, its just not as good anymore its really boring so I think Id rather be at home with my babies and go to the odd BBQ now and then pubs are just crap! Its good to know now im not missing out on much when my friends talk about going out on the weekends original.gif

Jayniepoo
Hey girlies!!

Cant hang around, but just had to say hi to our new girls! Congrats on the new additions to your families wub.gif Looking forward to chatting to you both!!

Hope everyone is having a good weekend xoxoxox
barx_twins+1
Hey,

Thank you to everyone for your warm welcome. I am very much looking forward to chatting to all of you. biggrin.gif

Well what a day, swimming lessons for Lachlan, then grocery shopping, a little bit of work from home - work for my parents and do a few hours a month for them - so not that bad really!!!! in between all of this both girls have had lots and lots and lots of tears. Don't know what is up with them at the moment. They had their 4 month needles on Tuesday, hopefully it is that!!!!

Raky
- What a great idea for tummy time. Will have to try that one soon. We generally bath girls together, but might try it for something different.

Kylie - Yes, it definately is twice the cuddles and smiles. I love it when they both smile, it really does make my day.

Mandy - I agree MIL's. What else can you say!!

Leish
- I had a few hours out last weekend for the 1st time since the girls were born and all I wanted to do was get home to the 3 kids - but was desperate for the time out huh.gif

Anyway will be off, DH is bathing the girls, then need to finish of feeding them and put all 3 kiddies to bed. waves.gif

koiles
Shell woo-hoo on the house that is so exciting!

Mandy you're so good going to the gym reguarly...I always feel like a slacker when I read that lol. I have been really good with taking E for a walk everyday but I don't really go far or push myself, I need to up my game I think! LOL oh your poor poor DH roll2.gif sounds like Fawlty Towers.

Karen will Riley drink any water between bottles? When E gets hot and agitated I try and give him a bit of water in between feeds...he throws it back up if it's cold or room temp, but if I warm it up to the same temp he has his bottles he'll usually drink between 10-20ml, enough to keep him from getting dehydrated. Off to check out your spunky boy!

Kylie raky gorgeous pic, what a cute little guy. Great idea too, I wish we had a big bath as E loves the water and he would adore lying like that. We've only got a shower and a baby bath unfortunately.

Leish glad you had a nice time out with the girls!

Jayne waves.gif I saw on FB that miss Phoebe has been doing some nice big sleeps for you woo-hoo tthumbs.gif.

Mel your sig is just divine, what a gorgeous little family you have wub.gif. How has Lachlan adjusted to being a big brother, is he loving it or has he found it a bit hard to adjust after all that time with you to himself?

Question on nappy rash - how the heck do you get rid of it??? E has had one for well over a week now and it is just so persistent...it hasn't gotten any better or worse in a whole week. His whole pubic bone area is covered as well as two little sections on the inside of his legs and a small bit on his old fella - doesn't seem to be causing him any pain. I've been alternating between Sudocream and Curash plus the Curash bath liquid but nothing's working, what is good to try? I haven't been able to use my cloth nappies all week because the sudocream wrecks them and I don't know whether the disposables are just keeping his skin irritated...the rash appeared after I'd been using sposies on him all day while we were out. At first I thought it was due to teething because he had a few other symptoms as well, but no teeth, although I can now see them under the gum, and rash is still there.

AFM What a day! We went and visited DH's best mate and his wife, they're newlyweds just back from their honeymoon, so cute. We were meant to go for lunch but we didn't leave til 5pm oomg.gif. Made them nice and clucky lol...normally E acts as a contraceptive to prospective parents but he's been sooooooooooooo good biggrin.gif. Tomorrow is day 4...he has never in his whole life gone 4 whole days without pain, so I've got fingers, toes and everything else crossed.

He's just gone to bed and I'm about to wash his bottles then I'm hitting bed myself. It's funny how when he used to go to bed at 10pm, I'd go to bed straight afterwards, but since he's been in bed for 8.30pm I can't remember the last time I went to bed before 11.30...no wonder I'm always tired. Early night tonight, there's a childrens market on tomorrow morning just down the road from me so I want to head over and I know if I wake up tired I won't go!
barx_twins+1
Just a quick one from me, supposed to be working!!!!

Wanted to respond to Kylie's question about nappy rash. Lachlan used to get nappy rash when he was a baby and when it was stubborn & wouldn't budge I would use Daktozin. It always did the job. I also used & have in the cupboard now penaten. This is also REALLY good. Haven't had to use it for the girls yet - fingers crossed I won't have to very often. Hope this helps and you can shift that nappy rash sooner rather than later.

Thanks I really love that photo. Loch has adjusted to be being a big brother extremely well. He is sooo in love with his sisters. Sometimes a little too much love is given!!!!! We have been blessed really cause we do have a big gap, but he really wanted a baby brother or sister for a very long time and now he has 2 little sisters. I am sure as they get older they will get on his nerves, but for the time being all is going very smoothly.

Anyway, will be off. waves.gif
MnM

koiles: Awww poor Evan with hs nappy rash - Mles and Greta have never had it so no advce sorry, perhaps take him to the GP if ts that bad... we use 'sposies and never had it, im really not a fan of MCN;s ive heard so many people say their lttle ones get nappy rash...poor lttle botty. Fantastic news on the meds working... hope day 4 as good as the last 3 days biggrin.gif

Mel: love the sig wub.gif Greta has been unsettled and grizzly since havng the injections on Thursday...think its that cos shes the most easy lttle baby usually so it must be that - poor luv.

Just headng to bed so night all.
MrsGiggle
Hi girls :-)

Kylie - E's nappy rash prob just needs to dry out. Try and give him lots of nappy free time. Thomas is in MCN and so is Miss A and we have never had nappy rash so i doubt it's the cloth unless you have started using a different liner? in which case just swap to a different fabric.

That is such GREAT news that he is feeling better xoxoxoxox you must feel so relived. Fingers crossed for a good tomorrow.

Mel - Hi....your bubbas are just beautiful xoxoxox and your little man is veru spunky ;-)

Mandy - Glad you got to see your house and take pics/vid's it's exciting planning thing we just need to find a house that bloody doesn't fall through. Grrrr on the MIL :-(

Shell - Great news about the house I'm sure your unpacking boxes as i type this. I'm finding it hard packing up with the kids. Tom wants to get into everything.

Kylie Raky - LOVE the tummy time bathtime pics. I'm trying this tomorrow night with Miss A :-) Oli is very cute

AFM - Well we are all going really well we have 4 kids birthday parties this weekend. 2 down, 2 to go :-) Thomas is buggered. We are still trying to find a house we have had 2 fall through and we are sick of spending money on pest n building. We found another we like this afternoon so will wait and see....fingers crossed.

xoxoxoxoxox
K~and~A~plus~7
Kylie, she isnt a fan of water at all. She tends to sleep between bottles so if we wake her for some water she screams and carrys on until she throws it up and goes back to sleep. Good news after a nice cool day she is weeing for Australia and drinking ofr it too!

Nappy Rash - Riley has a horrible rash in hospital that would not clear up with anything. she has oxygen running on her bum at one point and even that didnt help. With the sudocrem you dont lather it on. I had to educate the nurses on this one. They kept telling me the more the better but too much stops the nappies being absorbent. It is meant to be a clear layer of film when it is applied properly. If you are doing it that way the one thing that i can recommend and that finally done the trick for Riley is called Orabase. Worked wonders!!! Its not a nappy rash cream as such, i think it is used for mouth ulcer protection but they use it in the nursery with great results.

Raky, love the bath pics. Riley would flip and be off if we tried that with her. Tummy time is a thing of the past now she can roll both ways.

Hi to the new members biggrin.gif

Small child tormenting small dog...BBL
Bluey04
just quickly as Alex is stirring- kylie, i second barxtwins+1 suggestion of daktozin for nappy rash. brilliant stuff and easy to get over the coutner at the pharmacy. clears it up usually in 24 hours.
koiles
Mel thanks for the suggestion of Daktozin, I might pop out this afternoon and pick some up.

Mandy nah it’s not that bad, definitely not enough to take him to the gp, it’s just red. He’s never had a rash with the MCN’s, it was only when I had him in disposables for a whole day that the rash appeared. It was a hot day, so plastic underwear and heat probably didn’t make a good couple lol plus DH and I have fairly sensitive skin so he probably takes after us. Normally I’ll put him in a sposie when we go out somewhere but it’s only ever for an hour or two at a time, not a whole day like this day was. I only have a few friends who use cloth but they’ve never had problems with rashes...the MCN’s are fantastic at drawing away moisture whereas the old school terry flats don’t!

Kat I’ve been giving him lots of nappy free time – he loves being nude the little exhibitionist – but it’s not helping. The rash is actually really dry, his skin is flaky. No different liners in the MCN’s so like you, I doubt it’s the cloth too...I think I might just bite the bullet and start using cloth when we go out too rather than sposies...the MCN’s are just a bit bulkier to carry round in an already overflowing nappy bag lol. 4 birthdays, woah!! Fingers crossed something nice comes up with a house soon!

Karen thanks for the tip with the Sudocream...yes I was doing a 10inch thick coating over him thinking the more the merrier! Oops! Will try a thin layer on him this morning, thanks for the tip!

Marina thanks I’ll pick some up this afternoon and give it a whirl!

AFM ok, in a few decades time there are going to be a LOT of lonely old spinsters in the area I live! So if you live near me and you have a girl, if she’s not gorgeous or if she doesn’t have a wonderful personality, don’t be expecting grandkids laughing2.gif. Boys on the other hand...even if your kid is not aesthetically blessed, he’s still going to have his pick of the ladies! E is one of 3 boys out of 14 babies in mums group. This morning I went to a second hand baby and kids market down the road from me...there were about 50 stalls...THREE had boy clothes! I was walking up and down the aisles going ‘pink, pink, pink, where the hell is blue?’. I did have a thought that maybe there were more girls clothes because boys tend to wreck their clothes...but there were hardly any baby boys clothes either. I did pick up some absolute bargains though which was fab and most of the stuff was never worn or only worn a few times. Ah I love markets!

Right I have a day of house cleaning ahead of me cry1.gif.
miinii
Chantal ~ :wave: Welcome original.gif

Melinda ~ Your girls were born on my DH's bday and the day after DS's birthday on the 10th original.gif

AFM ~ Have had a very busy day today. We spent a few hours at the playcenter this morning and the came home to give the carpets a good clean with the shampooer. Then Micah and i went grocery shopping, he was such a good boy too...spent the whole time either laughing, talking or giving strangers BIG smiles wub.gif Then came home and had to give 2 girls a shower and one little boy his bath original.gif

We have swimming and kinder tomorrow so there is definitely no rest for the wicked Tounge1.gif
Lohsmummy
IM HAVING A PANIC AND I NEED HELP'!!!

loh was having tummy time today and i notices a big bluish/dark circle on the top of her back/base of her neck....i thought it was a bruise but as soon as i took her off her tummy it went away, DH just gave her tummy time and said...shell whats the bruise on her neck,....i took a pic....what should i do?

angelinsideofme
I have no idea?

Dont it hurt her if you touch it? Touch it while she is on her tummy or not on her tummy?

Is she happy on her tummy?

Lohsmummy
yeh she seemed fine on her tummy, got grizzly after bout 3 mins but thats normal this time of night, we touched it and it didnt seem to bother her
the reason im so worried is because Loh has a sacral dimple on her bottom and when she was born they thought it may have been touching her spine, DH brought up it may have something to do with that......which is y im panicing
angelinsideofme
If it was her spine, I would think she would be in pain and letting you know about it?

Has she been lying on a different surface recently? or hanging out with no clothes on?

hmmmmm I am trying to think?

babywannab
Grace got something like that when her dress had a zipper on the back...

If it only shows up when she's on her tummy though I guess that's not it.

Good Luck Michelle

Grace is actually covered from head to toe in a rash... you guys can tell me tomorrow what you think it is!!

Carly
x
Lohsmummy
nope to both those kyla...
she just had her bath and so i gave her a bit of tummy time before i put her grobag on her and thats when DH noticed itl
ill show you girls tomorrow and you can see how quickly it comes up when shes on her tummy
jemso
Was there a tag on the clothes she was wearing that could have rubbed and irritated her skin?
Lohsmummy
no tag, it comes as soon as she goes on her tummy or lifts her head up, and goes as soon as we take her off her tummy

i dont want to stress...im freaking out a little but not thatmuch because shes not upset or anything..i just dont know if i should do something about it?
angelinsideofme
Was she sleeping on her dummy or was her sleeping bag maybe gathered or had a fold in the back when she was asleep?

If she is not bothered by you touching it and is acting like normal, I wouldn't worry to much? As long as she is not in pain.

Anything can upset a babies skin? It could even be a little heat rash from today as it was a bit warm? Sunny gets a red spot on the back of his neck if it is warm!

We will all check it out tomorrow! Try not to worry original.gif
Lohsmummy
yeh i might just see if its there in the morning, then ill show you girls and see what you think. i always over react with these things...but shes my bubba. lol

THANKS FOR YOU HELP LADIES XXXX
jemso
leish glad that your night out was fun. i saw pics of your shoes on FB. they are really cute but look SO SO uncomfortable. how were your poor feet at the end of the night? i remember the good old days when DH and i used to go to the pub. no way we could do that anymore, even if we left emily with someone else for the night it would still just not be the same. very sad.

kylie thanks for your advice bout my friend. i have also instructed my DH about what NOT to say to her.

thats so great that the losec seems to be working. i can only imagine how happy you must be!

its funny that girls are dominant in your area, cos boys are in mine. emily is the only girl out of 7 babies from my antenatal classes, and one of two girls in our whole mothers group (think there are about 11 of us that meet regularly) at least she will have her pick of the boys when her dad lets her have a boyfriend (DH says she cant have one till she is 21 roll2.gif )

emily hope william goes ok with his needles this week.

mandy that is absolutely insane that you have to register greta for high school already!!

chantal hello and welcome!!

melinda welcome! i dont blame you, not having time to post. twins! i can only imagine how insanely busy you must be. at least it sounds like you have pretty good support nearby though.

raky looks like oliver is having SO mush fun in the bath on his tummy. it really is a great idea.

kristy thanks for still coming on friday, i had a really great time chatting to you!

how are the kiddies that started kinder this year going? i know jacob and rylie started, not sure if anyone else did... are they doing full days now? making lots of friends?

so pretty sucky attempt at personals, but meh.

emily woke up at 6:30am today, and i am buggered now. only .5 - 1 hour earlier than normal but i am buggered already. i have just been so tired lately. i am getting about 7 hours of sleep at night, so dont know why that is. i think my body just has a backlog of sleep that it needs, but i never have a chance at a nap, cos DH always "needs" a nap when he gets home from work.

we looked at 5 houses on sat, all crap. then on sunday DH and i had a massive argument about buying a house again. he keeps going on about how we cant afford it, and suggested we rent a house till our unit is paid off (which would be about 5 years cos we would have to reduce the repayments) and then buy a house. he didnt seem to understand why i didnt want to (why go backwards to renting unless you have no choice, and TBH i dont want to have to move again, cos in 5 years time we will have accumulated so much crap - plus a few more kids - and i KNOW he would do basically no helping with packing and stuff) and he kept going on about how by doing that we would be saving about $20k over 5 years.

he was just freaking out cos paying as much as we are now (only $150 extra on top of minumum repayment) on a larger mortgage would mean we would take 18 whole years to pay it off. oh no, 18 whole years. seriously, what is he thinking. 18 years is FANTASTIC, and its not like i am not going to be working ever again, so can make extra repayments when i am working.

so its all good again now, but cos he is also freaked out about how "broke" we will be in the transition period, cos there would probably be a overlap period where we have paid the money for our new house, but have not yet got the money for our unit. so off to talk to the real estate people to see what people usually do in these circumstances, cos we would be pretty tight paying two mortgages.

anyways, sorry for whinging. off to check FB to see if mothers group is still on today
Freyja
Morning original.gif

Jess - It was nice talking to you too! I felt like I got to know you a lot better this time being just the two of us original.gif (plus kids of course) As far as the house situation: 6 years ago we bought our current house after selling our first home. I was so nervous as I didn't think we could afford it and DH put his foot down and said "we're going for it". Fast forward to now and I am SO glad we did it. It all worked out fine and as wages increased it has become more and more affordable. Interest rate rises were not too bad - we felt them but didn't send us over the edge. When I'm working fulltime money isn't something we need to think about so you are right with your thoughts. Soundslike your DH is the very conservative one - hmm, how can you get him to come round?

I am so tired today. My sister's 30th was on Saturday night (dress up pics on facebook original.gif so funny) we got home at 3am and then Owen had a night feed about 5am. Kids were up at 7am. *yawn* I think it's going to take me a week to recover, lol.

I'll try to pop in later for better personals - I haven't had my morning cuppa yet and I'm hanging...
koiles
Shell I would be getting it checked out...I overreact to everything though so perhaps you may not want to listen to me lol! Do you have a phone number in WA that you can call to get medical advice? Here in VIC we have Nurse On Call and also a 24hr Maternal Child Health number, I'd just call and ask. It seems really weird to me that it only happens when she's on her tummy or lifts her neck and then goes away...doesn't hurt to get it looked at and will ease your mind!

Jess miinii lol E does the same as Micah gives the most cheesiest grins to total strangers at the shops...so of course they all stop to talk to him and everything takes twice as long!

Jess 869 yep I'm with you I'd be p*ssed with your DH too. If you can afford to buy, rent is money down the drain. If you can pay a little more to be working towards owning your own house why wouldn't he want to? When I was renting I used to hate paying the rent because it felt like I was paying my landlords mortgage for him...which we were! 18 years is pretty good to pay it off...most people take out 25-30 year loans. Good luck trying to talk him round!

Kirsty ouch that sounds like a looonnngg night. Will have to check the pics out!

Weigh-in day - I lost 300g this week, but I had eaten breakfast and drank 2 glasses of water before I remembered to weigh myself so I'm estimating a 400g loss. I'm happy with that, anything other than another gain is fine by me. Am upping my exercise this week as I feel I've now got my eating on track.

AFM 4 days with no pain from Evan ddance.gif eexcite.gif. As I said on FB I keep thinking there's going to be a knock on my door and this kids real parents are going to want to swap them back! E's too funny...he is now opening his mouth wide when he sees the spoon come towards him...it's only been 4 days of using a spoon and it's only ever been a dissolved tablet of medicine and he makes a yucky face everytime, but this morning I picked up the spoon and he opened his mouth right up for it and closed it when I had the spoon in his mouth. How can he do that when he hates the taste? Crazy kid. Oh well hopefully the intro to solids next week will be easy!
harpsichord
Kylie - I am just so happy for you that the medication is working for Evan...such great news!!! Congrats on the loss!! original.gif

WEIGH IN DAY - I lost another 1 kilo this week, so that's 7 kilos lost so far wooooohhoooo! Only 20 more to go!

Better go,
Rach
Iammum
Hey honies.....

Shell - Yep Id be getting it checked out just to make sure...... have you googled it?? Might be some other cases or other people asking the same question?

barx_twins - Sorry I cant rememer you name... Im bad with names LOL. You sound like a very busy woman original.gif its funny how when your with the kids your like god I wish I could get a rest from them but then when you are away from them all you wanna do is be with them again hahaha.

Kylie - Lucas has nappy rash at the moment too.... doesnt wanna go away. Ive been using sudocream and nappy free time but its being stubborn grrrr. Jake never got nappy rash bad only a lil now and then but it cleared up after a day or two but Lucas has had his for nearly a week. I dunno what caused it either. I wont be getting his 4 months immunisations done until its fully cleared or the diarrheoa will just make it worse! I might try that daktozin too. LOL to all the baby girl... I havent really noticed if there are lots of boys or girls here I think we are even. Im so happy for you that things are sorted with E now its bloody fantastic, now you get to enjoy him original.gif YAY!!!

Carly - oh no poor Grace.... heat rash? new washing powder? putting new clothes on her without washing them first?

Jess - My feet did get sore but not the sorest Ive ever had LOL It was soooo good to get dressed up and feels good to have some new photos on facebook hehe. Pub is crap now! boring.....
Hope you can talk your DH around to buying a house. Renting is just silly.

AFM

well hmmm not alot to tell... didnt get anything for V day but thats ok not really into it anyway. We just hung out at home and made a curry and watched some DVD's was to hot to go out and do anything out doors Lucas doesnt care for the heat too much LOL.

Perth Girls..... dunno if I will make it today to the meet up, I have lots to do at home and cant really be bothered driving all the way up there and I think my car needs fuel and hate having to get it when Im on my own. Sorry sad.gif

for the new ladies or anybody that doesnt have me on facebook my url is.... www.facebook.com/Leishy1986 or my email af.campbell@live.com

Im on FB all day, well logged in anyway original.gif

satiress
HI all

Just popping in to catch up, been so hectic, RE pushed into taking the house 2 weeks earlier (long story) so I had to run around late last week organising cheques/customs etc to get it all organised.
Sorry I missed the meet sad.gif I was really bummed about it all day

We move in tomorrow, the furniture container will be there at 7am, should be fun getting the girls there and out of the way all day... not sure how I'm going to do it all by myself but I'll manage original.gif

Wanted to add, woohoo to Kylie on Evans medication working, I can't imagine how relieved you must be xx

Leish, loved the photos of your night out, you're one hot mumma!

Shell: not sure what it is hon, but it's a good sign it's not bothering her... I'd give my doc a call if I were you, best to be safe then sorry

Jess: sounds like your DH is a tad scared of debt, poor love original.gif My DH is like that too, we are renting for a year until we buy again, not ideal but a necessity atm. Is he visual? maybe doing an excel graph/spreadsheet on how better off you will be in the long run so he can see it.... just an idea, it works for my DH.

Kristy: what a long night, you trooper! Glad you had fun at the meet on Fri, bummer to me for missing it sad.gif

That's all I Can see from here, if the new ladies would like to PM me their details for the list, I'll be happy to add them.

Audrey has been super unsettled the last 2 days, not sure what it is, she screams whilst feeding and bobs on and off the boob, I hope she's not self weaning sad.gif
Off to get lunch sorted for Bella.
miinii
Shell ~ If i were you i would go get it checked! It certainly wouldnt hurt and if anything will put your mind at ease. You would hate to leave it and it end up being something and regret not taking her. Fingers crossed its nothing (which im sure it is) tho it is rather weird that it only comes up when she lifts her head.

Quick one from me, i have washing and housework to do. We have already been swimming and taken Rylie to Kinder this morning and now Amahlee and Micah are napping....well Amahlee is, Micah is being cheeky as always lol.
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.