The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: September 08 Parents #152

Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4

http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/forums/ind...howtopic=764085

melaniejasmin
GOLD!!!!!

BBL, must get some more work done.

Good luck today BellyG with your scan!
Bel Rowley
cassi8
SILVER!!

too quick for me blondie! wink.gif

BRONZE
Sccary
Morning all, I am feeling ddown.gif today.
I had a specialist apppointment yesterday and I have psoriasis cry1.gif On my right foot that has been getting worse for months and GP just kept upping cortisone cream %.
No cure cry1.gif and I cannot sleep due to the pain and bleeding of the cracks some night.
Apparently genetic, don't know what brings it on, but episodes worsen with emotional stress. Now I have no idea why that would be laughing2.gif Stress in my life nno2.gif never rolleyes.gif

BELLY : good luck today I want to know what you are having too biggrin.gif I love those 3D scans wub.gif

BLONDIE: Hope you get some work done today. I am trying to work with both girls under my feet today, they are just trashing the house ddoh.gif which I hae to ignore

BEALGE: great the scan is earlier and your mum is helping. hugs to you

KEY: Poor K, made my heart break reading your post. tthumbs.gif on the dress and exercise plan

CLIMBING: Don't get me started driving me insane, climbs everything, dining chairr and gets everything off the table ATM Aaarrhhh

ok work to do, sorry those I missed BBL

Bel Rowley
On the topic of climbing, Claudia has just figured out how to climb into her high chair with the tray on! ddoh.gif

Sarina - sorry to hear about the psoriasis sad.gif. Wish there was an easy fix for your stress.
ellangel
Holy Cow! Another thread! Will have to go back and catch up.

Climbing - none here. Except would prefer to climb up and sit on the big lounge instead of the fold out sofa now. Allowed on the lounge, as long as you sit!

I cant believe some of the bubs climb into highchairs, on dining chairs and ONTO table! My kids have never done this. Holli cant even climb onto Ella's bed yet, with her shorty legs! Some of you would have heart failure if you saw the chest pushed up against the fish tank which is on a tv cabinet. And wine bottles at eye level.

Sarina - I have some Melaleuca sample cream I can send you if you like! It is better than cortisone and cheaper and can be used all the time...Its the best seller out of all the products. If you are willing to try, Pm me your address.

Belly - GOODLUCK!!

I am missing Ali!! cry1.gif
melaniejasmin

I've been a little MIA the last few days as DH has been hogging the computer and I hate using the laptop (as if you leave it on the table, small fingers rip out the keys... glare.gif )

Beagle - nice that DH's scan has been moved forward. it's best to know that not know what's going on, as at least then you can plan.

Sarina - oh no! poor foot. cant you just de-stress blush.gif rolleyes.gif ?! I think you should try some of Ellangel's cream, if the steroids arent doing anything, you may as well give something else a go.

Climbing - Alexander climbs around onto a few things but I dont make a big deal about it and he normally stops after a while. he climbs onto the couch which is fine, we read there, and he likes to take his chair into the kitchen and 'help' with things (mostly getting all his spoons and forks out of the drawer). he also likes to 'cut' things with a butter knife.

speaking - Alexander also doesnt say much. he understands everything and follows commands, but doesnt really say anything himself, apart from ball, bubble, book, baa (sheep), button (you can see where I'm going here with the B!), dada, muma, heiss, Ei (hot and egg in German) and does a good A,E,I,O,U also in German (not sure why DH thought that was important!). thats about it.

He got his first baby doll today (Nana bought it for him). he has been pointing out its toes and hands etc and carrying it very carefully wub.gif (by the legs!) he has other dolls, but this one looks like a baby IYKWIM.

Had to come home as the dishwasher repairer is coming soon (ish)... I'm sure it wont be fixed today though.. glare.gif
ellangel
http://www.bzzagent.com/bzzscapes/scape/me...sive-skin-ther/
Just saw your PM Sarina! Great and worth a try. Not sure if this link will work.
littlemumma
Afternoon

Meljas - how cute A with the baby doll, love it.

Sarina - poor thing, My mum gets teh same condition and I have two friends with it who have it really bad. I hope you can find something that works. Have you ever tried going under some kind of light thingo for it, can't think of what it is called?

Sharon - I miss Ali too sad.gif

KM - how's the homeschooling going? My Kai was a very early talker, he was talking in sentences at this age so I guess that is why I get a bit worried about Max but of course, you shouldn't compare. His comprehension is great though and has no problem following directions, seems to understand very well.

climbing - no climbing here....yet. I don't remember Kai ever climbing, will be interesting to see if Max does as they are so different.

blondi - can't believe Claudia climbed into the highchair...they have no fear do they. Hope you get some work done today.

beagle - hope DH's scan goes ok...let us know. Its great you Mum is with you at this time. I see what you mean about school runs etc now...

BG - did you say you were finding out the sex?

Not much to report, anyone watch Greys??? Next weeks looks interesting.

cassi8
I'd better post before the thread gets away from me! Tounge1.gif

Sharon - yep, we have wine bottles under the buffet where he used to play with them when crawling but doesn't often touch them now. Never climbed anything higher than onto the lounge although given the chance and I am sure he would have a go! This is the same child that cannot get enough of slipperydips, the big ones... Very nice of you as well to offer a trial for Sarina original.gif

Sarina - sad.gif thats awful! I hope you are able to find something that gives you some relief.

Where is Ali.. did I miss something??

Meljas - sounds like he is fine to me.. original.gif We got N a baby doll for xmas and he loves it, carries it around and gives it cuddles and kisses and even has a bath with him on occasion! wub.gif

Littlemumma - I couldn't imagine N speaking sentances at this age, I would never get a break! Kai sounds like a very bright little boy original.gif

Should I try 3rd time lucky for organising a Syd meet up?? Looking at early March. I'm not sure where is good for everyone though. original.gif LMK
ellangel
Cassi - Ali's internet is not working. You musta missed that.

We cant have Sarina hobbling around in pain and putting up with that ?! Gotta try these things
cassi8
oh right... oops... must have missed it. Maybe we should send her a mobile internet key so she can come play Tounge1.gif
ellangel

my page I just did! It says 'Holli's essentials'.

Better go wake this bub or she wont sleep tonight.

Poor Ali. I will see if I can find her mobile and give her a text. x happy.gif
cassi8
aww, nice work Sharon! Tell her we all miss her! wink.gif
ellangel
sorry - couldnt. Thought i had her mobile but i dont. And there are no details on EB. Will look on fb.
Bel Rowley
HI TO ALI!!! Come back soon!

Melanie - so cute Alexander with his German and his baby doll! Claudia is finally liking a couple of her dolls too. She has so many but has had absolutely zero interest in them up until the last couple of weeks.

Littlemumma - funny how kids can be so different, I bet if I have another I'll be expecting them to be just like Claudia.

Cassi and Ellangel - you are so lucky not having climbers, although I'm sure Sharon will say it's because of her good disciplining schools and I am too lax happy.gif . I honestly don't think Claudia is happy if she isn't moving.

Ellangel - love the page, clever cookie you are.

I'm finally getting somewhere with my story. I was even organised enough to utilise this Smarthinking service that Open Universities offer, you submit your essays for any subject and tutors will give you feedback, so I've submitted a draft. Now just waiting for Bellygood to get back and tell us about her scan, and I will PM it to her for advice original.gif.
cassi8
blondie - If N saw DH or I standing on a chair or on the table I would have no hope of keeping him down. He just hasn't thought to do it I don't think. I have had to remove him a few times from the lounge for standing on it but he gets the picture and gets warned if he doesn't sit he will have to get down. Hope you get some good feed back on your story! original.gif
ellangel
If N saw DH or I standing on a chair or on the table
LOL!! I had to read this a few times! Sounds funny but I know what you mean. roll2.gif

E used to be able to climb all over the lounges and do somersaults on them but no longer as that is a bad influence and example for Holli.

Cassi and Ellangel - you are so lucky not having climbers, although I'm sure Sharon will say it's because of her good disciplining schools and I am too lax
LOL!! Blondie! laughing2.gif laughing2.gif Am actually not going to comment on this as you know what i think. IF I had a climber, it would be very short lived!

Sarina - we have playgroup tomorrow at westfield playground and the post office is right nearby so will post the cream tomorrow and HOPE it works!
Sccary
ELLANGEL: Thanks again for the cream :prayer: it works too!
As for CLIMBERS I had a very well behaved DD1 who never climbed or got into mischief (wine bottles down low, stuff everywhre to get into ) BUT and I say BUT Velvet is into everything and it is school of hard love here too with disapline on climbing but she just does not care!!! nno2.gif I can talk sternly to her, smack her hand if she keeps doing it with a firm no and she just does it again another time. I am actually starting 1,2,3 time out soon to see if tyhat works. SHe wil stop and get downs as soon as you say 'uh uh' but will do it again another time (slow learner original.gif )

BLONDIE: Great on the writing I got know where today faith was bouncing off the walls and noisy so had to get her out of the house rolleyes.gif I have done some design researcha nd know what I want to design in my head just can't ut it on paper without some peace and quiet (mind you both are in bed now and I should do it NOW just can't be bothered now) Have client presentations 3pm fri so best get my act together because tomorrow is kindy and day care days for girls. MOrning meet and greet coffee with kindy parents, off to get foot scrapings and blood tests, then food shopping, pick faith up and drop and nannas then off to the hairdresser pick velvet up from day care and home. So only leave tomorrow night ddoh.gif

ALI: where are you......sorry girls the telapathy thing isn't working either tongue.gif

BELLY: I'm waiting (not very patiently mind you) on your scan 'insert tapping fingers on table here' tongue.gif

ok off to clear the table for some work at least
bellygood
Hi girls!!

Quick post to put you out of your misery!

- It's a girl
- We call her Macy (working title only... may or may not stick - radiologist heard us calling Ivy 'meisje' which is the Dutch word for 'girl', and said 'soon Macy will have a sister! We both looked at each other and kind of nodded!)
- All fine, all fingers and toes accounted for, baby is measuring around 20w which is spot on - will post a 3d pic (not bad, but not great pic) online asap

Thanks for asking! Be back later or tomorrow for personals.
cassi8
glad to hear all is well BG and congrats on the babygirl.gif bundle original.gif

littlemumma
BG - babygirl.gif how lovely, I'm sure Ivy will just love having a little sister to play with, congratulations. Great to hear all is well with her.

Sarina - maybe you work better under pressure, lol....I know I do.

Max can be quite cheeky when I tell him ah ah....sometimes he listens, other times he goes back (ie, he keeps going in the shower) and loves me chasing him down the hallway, drives me bonkers! Same thing for pulling the blinds, just keeps going back for more, cheeky monkey.

ali - she has possibly gone away also, as its her birthday Friday and I know she said they were going away for it.

sharon - loved the scrap page.
Bel Rowley
Aw, Bellygood I am so happy for you babygirl.gif . Two sisters growing up together, what more could you ask for? Ivy and Macy sound really sweet together, you could do much worse for a name!

I'm a bit peeved this morning. The Smarthinking tutor who had a look at my story draft was completely unhelpful. His big suggestion was to write a better headline for the news story. Great advice mate, except that we're not supposed to come up with a headline, it's apparently the sub-editor's job to do that. Then the main thing I asked about, how to cut words because I was way over the limit, his wonderful advice was "I actually think you need more information for the article to arrive with more substance". aannoyed.gif
ellangel
Just quickly as on my way out the door to playgroup!

congrats Belly!! Glad your little pink #2 is growing well! That is very exciting news!

Ella was having a drink of milk this morning and said to DH. "This is cows milk isnt it Daddy? I can taste the udder!" Then she said, "how does the cow make the milk? What ingredients?" BLESS
cassi8
laughing2.gif sharon. She is just so cute! I keep getting ah ah ah! from N when he thinks I am doing something he thinks I shouldn't be doing. Have fun at playgroup!

Blondie - aannoyed.gif so much for being constructive! I hope BG is able to help you out! wink.gif
Bel Rowley
LOL Sharon. Ella is a hoot.

I've just been Skyping with my mum who has given me some much better advice on my story. I'm also going to email it to my super smart friend who has a Masters in Politics so she should give me some good feedback.
melaniejasmin
yay BG - wonderful babygirl.gif news!

Blondie - great feedback glare.gif hope you can get better advice from your friend. I am lucky in that I give mine to DH (uni lecturer). although he isnt a 'health' person, he is good at editing and also giving advice on writing and content.

Ellangel - how cute of Ella! what a critical thinker she is original.gif

Cassi - I think that uh uh, is cute too!

BBL, I must get work done and lots of German homework that is (not surprising by my standards) due in tonight!
key4
Meljas - That would be excellent having a lecturer to review your work! My DH is pretty good though helps with all the grammar side of things.

Sharon - your page was lovely and Ella is a cutie original.gif With all the questions Kaidyn asks I wonder how you ever could have been a parent without the internet!

Belly - That is great that you are having another little girl - I would love to have 2 girls and of course my boy original.gif Think of how much easier life is with one one set of toys clothes can be reused etc.

Blondie - that was just useless! Being external is so much harder than on campus so you need extra useful feedback! I feel like I run blind at this so I was so glad when the tutor gave me a full page of constructive feedback the other day.

Beagle - hope you get some good news re DH soon and that kids allow you to have a bit more sleep soon!

Sarina - hope that foot gets better.

Oh my goodness I am leaving my babies for 2 nights in March DH encouraged me to attend a conference in Adelaide on the 25th and 26th of March. Looking forward to it but this will be the first time I have ever spent a night without Niamh and I have only ever been away from Kaidyn whilst in Hospital with Niamh! Ali I would love to catch up whilst I am there but I don't think I will be able to fit it in as there is only about 4 free hours to myself between the conference and the airport!

Sorry for anyone I missed original.gif
ellangel
Key - you will be fine without them even though I know it does feel a little weird and you dont know what to do with yourself ! Enjoy it! I am sure your mind will be occupied with the conference.

Sarina - your miracle cream (FINGERS CROSSED) is on its way!

I cannot believe it. A mum at playgroup has a bub a month older than Holli and she came to playgroup today with a boob job and a nose job! WTF? I didnt know where to look!!! ohmy.gif happy.gif ohmy.gif Each to their own I guess.
Bel Rowley
Hmm Ellangel if that makes her happy, good on her! I wouldn't know where to look either.

Melanie- you are lucky having DH to help with essays. What does he lecture on? My DH is pretty good with advice too, although he is an engineer he is an excellent writer as well. My mum's an English teacher so again a good source of advice, unfortunately none of these smart people I know have ever written for newspapers which I have learned is a completely different style.

Key - I'm sure the conference will be great, I know it will be tough to leave your babies but make the most of it! We've left Claudia overnight with the in-laws once and it was fine. I'm planning to do it again the night of my sister's engagement party in March which is 3 hours from Melbourne, so that will be a different kettle of fish being on the other side of the state.
Bel Rowley
Where is everyone this afternoon?

I'm so ronery, so ronery, so ronery compretery arone... (not sure if anyone will get that movie reference).
tweedy08
I am here!!

Been so busy with a couple of things over the last few days but will drop back in this evening original.gif Gosh I have so much to read back on too!!!!

Got our new water cooler today from awesum water. It looks so cool and is going to be WAY cheaper than the neverfail water we were getting delivered. Hopefully we will be able to save ourselves in excess of $100 a month since this one uses our tap water then filters it rather than paying for bottles wink.gif

BBS

Oh Cass, did you get the CGR ok? How does it fit N?
cassi8
I've been ph34r.gif all afternoon and no one was around to play. Probably a good thing as I only just got all my work done..

N is in bed, DH is only just on his way home so I have an hour or so to myself!

~Elliesmum~
have been popping in and lurking a bit too lol

hey BG- congrats on a great scan and your baby girl biggrin.gif

tweedy, water filter sounds great, we only have a countertop brita filter, but no way would I drink the tap water, too spoilt lol

awww Ella is too cute sharon, I love the things they come out with

kayla can now tell us when she's got a poo... lovely hey lol. She did it yesterday or the day before but I wasn't sure if it was a fluke, and i picked her up today and she said it and pointed down again, and yep she had one. I am soo not ready for TT though LOL. She has been a little better with the clingy's for the last day or so I hope it stays that way, I can handle picking her up a lot of times, but not when I'm cooking dinner and trying to do the night routine!

gotta go knit biggrin.gif
ellangel
I am here!!! VERY quiet in here. Thought I would have lots to catch up on.

Tweedy - we had a water filter guy come last night. Funny!! One is being installed under the sink type thing, so yes, using our tap water, next week. Thought it was silly detoxing my house full of chemicals and not drinking cleaner water!! Was disgusted and scared at the state of the water we HAVE been drinking!!!

Get this! The guy that came, uses Melaleuca!! hahahahah...how I laughed.~~

Elliesmum - Holli will say 'poo' as she is pushing it out. Does not mean they are ready for toilet training though. They havent learnt to hold it yet!!! I will wait til after winter.

night guys
~Elliesmum~
oh no where near that LOL, just excited that shes become aware of what it is Tounge1.gif

I don't want to TT, worst part of toddler hood in my experience sad.gif both big kids were very stubborn!
cassi8
Robyn I hope Kayla is easier to train when the time comes for you. Very clever of these girls to know what it is! N wached me use the toilet yesterday afternoon and proceeded to pull the seat out for it so he could have a go! laughing2.gif so we sat for a bit, sang some songs, nothing happened but if he wants to I'm not going to stop him.

Quiet day here today. DH had to take the car to work so there goes my dash to the shops for a few winter clothes and a new pair of shoes for N. I can't believe that this same pair that fitted him not even 3 weeks ago are now way too small! I just have to decide whether to buy another pair of sandals or just get joggers. Suggestions?
Bel Rowley
Speaking of TT, DH bought Claudia a potty last night! So we are ready to at least start getting her used to it, not too fussed if it takes a while.

My news story has been submitted ddance.gif . My clever political friend gave me some good feedback, DH had a read, and I think I'm happy with it. At the very least I should do better than last time based on the topic choice and the sources, so that hopefully means somewhere in the 75 range, but we'll see.
ellangel
Go the sandals with socks Cassi!! roll2.gif NOT. I feel so sorry for kids when I see this
cassi8
tthumbs.gif blondie.. so you can relax today? wink.gif

roll2.gif sharon! that doesn't work for anyone!! Those poor kids will look back on their baby photos and thing WHY??? laughing2.gif Its still too warm for shoes I think but he won't get much wear out of a pair of sandals, or will he??
ellangel
His feet may sweat in sneakers. Yes, sandals till around April/May I am thinking? Better go feed the tribe
Bel Rowley
I don't know what's the best thing to do about shoes Cassi. Claudia's feet are too big for the Havaianas she has been living in all summer, so I bought her a cheap pair of sandals from Target I thought would last until winter, but they're so big they slide off her feet. Trainers/closed shoes in the same size stay on her feet, so I often go with them instead. Ugh.

Yep, I can mostly relax today. Mothers Group this morning, then this arvo have to post some textbooks from last Study Period I've sold, go to Big W to sort out some drill bits for DH (he realised when he got home some were missing glare.gif), and go to the library to sort out my exam situation. So sort of relaxing! At least I can get out of the house, between the extreme heat and the storms yesterday C and I have been housebound for the past 3 days with no car.
trinyweeny
Morning girls

Have been ph34r.gif but have had a shocking headache. Also been down in the dumps with the whole TTC. Feeling better now. Had some retail therapy yesterday with mum.

Cassi - Early March for the meetup sounds good. We are available anytime except the 11th March as that is Jacqui's hip appointment.

Sarina - The clothes arrived today and are great. tthumbs.gif

Shoes - Still haven't gotten J any. LOL at the sandals and sock look its so wrong.

Blondie - YAY for getting your assignment done. Sounds like a busy day ahead.

Not much happening here. Might need to go grocery shopping this afternoon. I bought a new epilator yesterday so need to tackle the forest on my legs.
Bel Rowley
bbighug.gif Triny, I'm right there in the dumps with you and it's another 11 days at least before I'm due for AF! I just know it's going to come though.
trinyweeny
Blondie - I think that TTC should be counted as a form of torture. bbighug.gif
cassi8
hhugs.gif triny. I know its the worst thing one can say, but try not to worry too much about it, it will happen when nature intended. original.gif
tthumbs.gif for early March, if No one else is free we can still catch up. 11th is a Thurs so I am working anyway wink.gif
Bel Rowley
Definitely Triny! I was reading a thread in Misc about people who discovered they were pregnant after first trimester, and I was thinking how great that would be in a way. To not think about TTC and the stress of the first trimester wondering if everything is OK, just wake up at 12 weeks, go for a scan and see something that actually looks like a baby well on its way.
ellangel
Gosh that is pretty amazing Blondie, for those women to fastrack their pregnancy like that! Wouldnt that be nice? As if you would not know you were pg though? I would be vomiting at week 3, the day after AF was due.

Off to take H swimming
melaniejasmin
Blondie - not sure if I would like that either... I would have been drinking the whole way through the first trimester had that happened to me! cool.gif I'm not sure actually how you couldnt notice, it's not just AF missing that changes!

Triny - hhugs.gif Dont stress too much. It will happen! It took a few months with us for Alexander to 'happen'. should you try doing the Temp thing? I'm not sure how much breastfeeding affects ovulation when it's not 'full time', but maybe taking your temp would help with knowing?

Cassi - I can also do early March. Thursday is also bad for us, as Alexander is at child care. Also, Tuesday is bad as Alexander start his playgroup again next week.

Not much happening here today. have a bit of work to do and trying to work out how I could get out of going to a 'vintage market' with a friend tomorrow... I'm not really inot the 'vintage' clothes that are 4 times the price of new clothes. not that I dont like the look, would just perfer it if she wanted to shop at vinnies and not have to do the 'trendy' Surry Hills market... *sigh* I'm just being lazy... I wanted to go to the beach tomorrow!
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.