The
Essential Baby forums cover all areas of
parenting and stages development for
babies,
toddlers and
kids as well as
parenting lifestyle areas including
Family Travel,
Finances,
Nutrition & Wellbeing,
Recipes and more!
If you'd like to post and interact with EB's
parenting forums read more articles about
conception,
pregnancy,
babies,
toddlers,
kids or more please visit
Essential Baby for the full site experience.
teenylita
08/02/2010, 06:01 PM
Ooh so excited it's almost that time again!
For those of you who have not participated before, this is cut straight from the Great Down Under Nappy Hunt website:
http://www.diaperdecisions.com/pages/greatnappyhunt.phpDiaper Decisions and the Australian Nappy Network is proud to bring you the Eighth semi-annual Cloth Nappy Hunt, an internet scavenger hunt from March 1-31, 2010.
By visiting the sites on the hunt during the month of March 2010, you have an opportunity to explore a myriad of excellent natural family sites as you qualifiy for random prize drawings!
The concept behind our virtual scavenger hunt is to introduce consumers to the wonderful WAHMs that are "out there", and many new products!By registering for the hunt, you also get a discount code that you can put in at the checkout, so it's a great time to buy if you are thinking about cloth nappies, or extnding your stash.
Discounts and specials listed
HERESo, did any of you win in September? What did you get and how has it been? What will you be buying in this hunt?
3_for_me
08/02/2010, 06:47 PM
Does anyone know when registration opens? I started cloth nappying right at the end of the last hunt so I missed the fun, looking forward to it this year
Klinkalink
08/02/2010, 06:53 PM
Registration opens on Feb 20 the site says (in the FAQ section)
Looking forward to it!
Finnsmamma
08/02/2010, 07:23 PM
I hope to be doing a little more hunting this time.
And maybe pick up a few cute larges for DS2- I haven't raelly bought anything large yet (waiting to see his build as he gets bigger) and only have about 10nappies left over that I hadn't sold off from DS1
lifehacker
08/02/2010, 10:03 PM
Last hunt I was pg and on bedrest so had heaps of time, I dont think I'll have a lot of time now.
new*to*this
09/02/2010, 08:13 AM
Yay I can't wait!
This will be my first GDUNH and even though bubs will not be born until May I'll probably still be buying up for my nb stash. Boori prefolds and BG pockets at a discounted price are at the top of my list! I might even be able to win myself something for my stash. Fingers crossed work stays quiet so I can fully participate
teenylita
09/02/2010, 08:47 AM
QUOTE (new*to*this @ 09/02/2010, 09:13 AM)

Fingers crossed work stays quiet so I can fully participate

Haha you sound like me last year

I'm going to buy with the discount code:
- more BumGenius V3 OSFM (in zinnia and blossom, as I didn't knowI was having a girl before and need some pink in my stash

)
- Some medium Ittis as Pop is growing so quickly
- more silk liners
- More Aromababy barrier balm (this stuff is a godsend)
- A BBH night nappy and a BBH petite to try
- More thirsties duo wraps - by far my favourite covers - so soft and stretchy and lovely
- A nice sun hat for Poppy
- Wotnot wipes
- Maybe some more Lushies or Daysies from Sustainable Hemp - I love these nappies!
I'm really nerdy about getting the right price, I make a spreadsheet and compare!
pinksjt79
09/02/2010, 01:23 PM
I'm really nerdy about getting the right price, I make a spreadsheet and compare!
Oh my god teenylita, I think you're my twin! DH laughs at me over my spreadsheets. It was terrible when I was into farmville, thank god I'm over that phase now. We really should get together for coffee one of these days since you're only just down the road.
I'm still compiling my list but you're a bad influence, I've just added a few things that I didn't realise I needed

who has raw silk liners? They're top of my list, Adele has inherited her dad's sensitive skin (along with his red hair and... ah... gas problem

)
I'm so excited!!!
taranicole
09/02/2010, 01:25 PM
Noooooo....not again!! I'm still recovering financially from the last one!
I did win a prize though so that was nice!
cassi8
09/02/2010, 02:22 PM

I am looking forward to it and have a few things I am going to look at. Not sure how much I will get away with buying but I have Easter sorted!

Hoping I will get to spend more time on it this time though.
teenylita
09/02/2010, 04:10 PM
QUOTE (pinksjt79 @ 09/02/2010, 02:23 PM)

I'm still compiling my list but you're a bad influence, I've just added a few things that I didn't realise I needed

who has raw silk liners? They're top of my list, Adele has inherited her dad's sensitive skin (along with his red hair and... ah... gas problem

)
I'm only halfway through checking, but when I work out shovhas the best price, I'll let you know!
Poppy will possibly get my DH's red hair too!
dutch
10/02/2010, 06:41 PM
Are BBH a sponser???
taranicole
10/02/2010, 07:14 PM
It doesn't look like it!!

I noticed BBH and Bambooty or Itti Bitti Aus were on there??? I wonder why???
teenylita
10/02/2010, 08:56 PM
Amelia from Bambooty said on facebook that her laptop failed her at a crucial time during the registration process, so she's not in it, however her new prints will be put in march!
I suspect that maybe bbh are in it, but not listed as they have a sale at the moment and don't want to give away their discount amount lest people don't buy the current stock (as they're trying to make room) or because the discount amount is higher/lower...make sense? Itti bitti weren't listed in September either.
dutch
11/02/2010, 08:19 AM
Thanks for that info, I'm dying to get some more BBH petites but they are tricky to get your hands on at the moment. Bring on March I say.
taranicole
11/02/2010, 08:22 AM
You girls are such a bad influence...
I have made a list of all the things I want.
This will be my second hunt and am thinking I may not hunt this year - just shop!!
teenylita
11/02/2010, 09:19 AM
QUOTE (dutch @ 11/02/2010, 09:19 AM)

Thanks for that info, I'm dying to get some more BBH petites but they are tricky to get your hands on at the moment. Bring on March I say.
it's only my suspicion!
Finnsmamma
11/02/2010, 12:27 PM
Itti don't normally come up on the discount list because they change their specials throughout the hunt. Usually you just check out the homepage to see what teh current deal is, or subscribe to the fan list on FB etc for updates.
I don't *think* BBH would miss out, but I don't know that one.
Bambooty definately didn't make it- as PP said she had registration issues and the GDUNH has a limit on sponsor numbers now, so she mustn't have realised until it was too late to register.
teenylita
11/02/2010, 06:35 PM
20% ittis and bulk packs and 10% off everything else until valentines day so might as well buy up now!
I also posted this in 'stockings'
GWTW
11/02/2010, 06:38 PM
I'm really excited about this. I have participated for a few years now in about 5 hunts I think. Last year I actually one a second prize. It was great! I do it for the fun and love looking at these sites.
CupcakeMumma
11/02/2010, 07:39 PM
neither Itti Bitti or BBH are in this hunt.
abeni
12/02/2010, 03:40 AM
woohoo! Cant wait to hunt again!
I won 1kg of Harrys Rocky Road in the last hunt, it was so yummy!
cassi8
12/02/2010, 06:32 AM

I'm doing easter shopping at Harrys this year for everyone, myself included
lisajane666
12/02/2010, 04:02 PM
Can anyone explain what the hunt is all about?
Lisa
the4rugrats
12/02/2010, 06:17 PM
Cant wait until its hunt time again. My first one was in September and I only had a week to get as many as possible, it made for very late nights, all day sitting at the computer and very late dinner times for the kids...I just had to 'find this one or that one' before starting to cook. hehe
This time I will be sure to start the first day, so I wont be so rushed.
abeni... lucky you, winning the rocky road! *licks lips*
lisajane666... I have only done one, but the sponsors who participate, put a little nappy icon on their website, and leave clues for the hunters to decipher and hopefully lead them to the icon. Its an online scavenger hunt, great fun, terribly addictive, and can send you insane trying to work out said clues.
Its also a chance for the sponsors to showcase their wares, and for you to find new products and websites.
Tofu Puff
19/02/2010, 10:42 AM
teenylita - I love the look of the Lushies as well. Will definitely be on the look out for those. Also, some AIO in larger sizes. That balm sounds good, off to google. PLUS I will be on the look out for any discounted non-nappy items such as:
Amber teething necklace
Other teethers (the babystore and supermarket ones are so bulky and often quite ugly.) I like these plain rings/bangles:
http://babyhouse.com.au/category_80/Teethi...ing-Bangles.htmComforter blanket with satin trim like this one:
http://babyhouse.com.au/item_10/Ookie-Bond...forter-Doll.htmIf anyone knows what sites these sorts of things may be sourced as part of the nappy hunt please let me know!
FluffyChickenhead
19/02/2010, 11:08 AM
wow theres some new nappy sites in there that i have never seen before. not that I need many more nappies.
KnightsofNi
20/02/2010, 07:02 PM
Why can't I register?
The FAQ's say that I can register from the 20th of Feb. Well it is the 20th of Feb, but when I click on the registration thingy, it just says it is coming soon.
C'mon 1st of March. I have nappies to buy!! and hunt for.
Obesa cantavit
20/02/2010, 07:13 PM
I cant register either
acemummy
20/02/2010, 10:50 PM
Extremely frustrating...waiti ng....waiting....waiting
jambi
21/02/2010, 06:57 AM
Can't believe it's that time already. Don't have much to buy so will enjoy the hunt and browsing for cool stuff. Going to be a lot harder now I'm back at work.
teenylita
21/02/2010, 07:15 AM
Just read on Favebook that it's open for registration. I haven't tried it yet
Franni
21/02/2010, 07:47 AM
I have just registered - am a total cloth newbie. So I will prob have a annoying amount of q's as the hunt starts.
rainydayz
21/02/2010, 07:51 AM
francisandmae i just registered to

and don't worry this is my first hunt so i will be asking q's aswell !!
Two plus 1
21/02/2010, 07:53 AM
Woohoo, just registered and my first day of maternity leave is 1st March double WOOHOO
belnryan
21/02/2010, 08:40 AM
I just joined also. This will be my 4th hunt but the last two i mainly bought.
I start external uni on the first of march so need to try and stay focused Lol.
~Bloom~
21/02/2010, 08:42 AM
I just registered as well. Not much on my 'To Buy' list, so I will be able to spend more time hunting, rather than looking for good bargains
~Mo+Moosh~
21/02/2010, 09:13 AM
I just registered too

, last time I was working so didn't have much time to hunt.
WildMum
21/02/2010, 12:49 PM
My 1st and I don't even have a cloth bummed bub yet! Working on it and hoping to get a nice stash at a bargain in March!
What's the recommendations?
Do I need to rush and buy straight away or wait for specials? DO they sell out of things quick or keep up with the demand?
KnightsofNi
21/02/2010, 12:59 PM
YAY!! I have registered.
I don't think I will be able to do much hunting this hunt. I also have uni starting at the beginning of March, so it won't leave much time left.
But I am dying to know the specials. I want to buy some more Sandmans, so I am hoping SHP have some good specials. Also need prefolds, covers, some more MA's and assorted crap. So hopefully I can shop, shop, shop.
erinn
21/02/2010, 04:15 PM
I have just registered - my first hunt! Sounds like heaps of fun.
Can you use the discount code immediately after you get the email or only once the actual hunt start after 1st March. Was hoping to get some specials immediately and then some more after next pay
amyk81
21/02/2010, 04:35 PM
All registered for my first hunt, and looking forward to it, sounds like fun! I want to get some new covers, I have the BBH bamboo nappies, which I'm very happy with, but the plain PUL covers are a bit boring. Unfortunately it seems most of the designs around are more focused on girls than suitable for my little boy, but we'll wait and see.
I've heard good things about the thristies duo wraps (I think that's the name), so will check them out.
The prizes look really good, can't wait to hunt!!
teenylita
21/02/2010, 05:00 PM
I find that bbh covers seem to have the best pul and the best fit over bbh bamboo...
cassi8
21/02/2010, 05:09 PM
all registered!
Miss_Catie
21/02/2010, 05:19 PM
The BBH PUL covers are good if your not worried about poo explosions, but if your child is prone to them, its best to get a cover with gussets. You could also go down the fleece cover road if you wanted something nicer? Maz-a-licious makes gorgeous (and highly reccommended by others, i havent used yet) fleece covers
pinksjt79
21/02/2010, 06:03 PM
how many sleeps till we can start hunting?????????
CupcakeMumma
21/02/2010, 06:03 PM
QUOTE (erinn @ 21/02/2010, 05:15 PM)

Can you use the discount code immediately after you get the email or only once the actual hunt start after 1st March. Was hoping to get some specials immediately and then some more after next pay
The discount doesn't kick in until the hunt starts on 1st March 9am AEDST
MinkyMonkey
21/02/2010, 06:52 PM
I'm so excited for my first hunt! Although I will be on holidays in Tassie for the first 10 day so I hope I don't miss too much

actually it's probably a good thing because we soo don't need more nappies...well maybe just one more!
Hopeforthefuture I was talking to Michelle from SHP at a kids and babies market and she said the sandman nappies were going to be 10 or 15% off I can't remember which.
KnightsofNi
21/02/2010, 07:16 PM
Thanks MinkyMonkey.
aimee28
21/02/2010, 07:41 PM
I've registered, this will be my first hunt too. I'm after night nappies - Mandy Macs will have 20% and Sustainable Hemp Products 10%.
Does anyone know if I'll be able to get a Little Squirt cheap from somewhere during the hunt?