The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: September 08 Parents #151

http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/forums/ind...763023&st=0
littlemumma
Gold
trinyweeny

cassi8
bronze

Off to read the last post.
alimumof3
morning everyone

I was only joking yesterday when I said noone missed me.
so many of you assumed I have a life! how wrong is that! hahahah

still on mums computer whih takes about 3hrs to load a page so doubt i'll be around muh today.

I have no idea what is wrong with our laptop. guess it needs to go get fixed. grrr. I take it that they'll wipe all photos etc off of it when they fix it? i have milions of photos on my computer so might have to buy an external hardrive and transfer to there. a lot ar ebacked on cd anywya but still.
melaniejasmin
HAppy anniversary for yesterday Ali! hope you did something nice ! hope your laptop is fixed soon!

Doctors - I like an easy on the eye dr (or nurse!) as well (especially as i think most Drs are tools..). as i used to work in Hospitals I would come across them every now and then. One hottie that I worked with was also very nice and got lots of attention from the nurses (I think he was gay anyway) I'm still friends with him. Another one was sooo hot, was an exchange Dr from Switzerland... obviously wooing me with his German accent and Federer ish looks ( cool.gif ), he called me one day and asked me out on a date! bloody WEDDING RING! I was glum for a whole day as I had to reject him (OK, had to may be a strong word there... I did though because I try to be a good girl wink.gif - oh to be single sometimes!)

dinners - Alexander has also turned into a fussy eater. I'm glad it's not just here, we were starting to worry! It is very hit and miss with dinners (and lunch for that matter!). he will always eat a sultana though glare.gif

track marks are looking terrible today. it could have been worse, but I tried to do minimal lifting yesterday to minimise the damage. Off to the opera tonight and I'm still wearing a short sleeve top as it is hot. I'll just have to put up with the stares!

What else happened in the last thread? I cant remember already! (but I dont have baby brain - apparently it's not real closedeyes.gif )
BBL, should get on wit some work!
bellygood
Meljas, Key: glad I'm not the only one with a Doctor fetish... wink.gif

Just back from playgroup, beautiful day here but hot! Ivy's just conked out with the airco on, I'm waiting to hear hubby's car in the driveway so I can zip out for a while (how great is that, he works closeby so can come home for lunch sometimes!).

Meljas
hope you 'pass' the GTT. Apparently even if you 'pass' you'll still get another GTT at 28w... and maybe at 34w... it's like they simply cannot believe that you will not turn GD at some point during PG. Of course, you can decline the tests as well. I know they put it to you in such a way that it's non-negotiable, but nothing goes ahead unless you give it the nod! I am debating either taking no GTT (but doing some of my own monitoring as I still have finger pricky thing), or doing just the short 'glucose challenge' version which is apparently a 1 hr 'shortened' version of the GTT.
trinyweeny
I was about to do a post but Miss J has decided on a short sleep today. I guess that means we can hit the shops earlier this afternoon. Might have to do afternoon tea as well I think otherwise its going to a long one.

Dinner - Well I'm glad it is happenign elsewhere as well. (Yes Ellangel you can say I told you so).

Better go and get the girl as she is calling.
ellangel
Ali- I kept meaning to ask yesterday where you and also Blondie were! Happy 4 years to you and Dh.

Hope your headache is well and truly gone today. I had a migraine for an entire month from week 16-20 when pregnant with Holli. It was a killer...would even make me vomit. I remember calling out to my neighbour who was at her mailbox, "can you just take Ella off my hands for half an hour?" LOL I well and truly fell into depression mode from that.

GD in pregnancy sounds a bit over the top and sounds like the testing is getting worse!

Took Holli to her first swimming lesson today. She loved it of course but was a bit fidgety towards the end. Of course, monstrous babies younger than Holli, with their fat rolls hanging out. LOL Double the size of her.

Wherever I turn there are freaking SUMO babies!! Even taking Ella to school, ran into a mum with her 9 month old. He is 10kg!

All slept well last night and i finally over my DOWN feeling....yay!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! cool.gif cool.gif Sorry guys, but I didnt want to bring you all down with me!
key4
Ali - Glad the headache has gone away and hope the computer gets fixed soon. My wireless dropped out this morning but managed to fix it via resetting the modems etc.

Sharon - Glad you are feeling better and had a good time at the pool. When our daugthers are teenagers they will be glad of their awesome metabolism, so don't worry about the other babies with rolls of fat!

Meljas - The marks on the arms are embarrassing but I am sure that no one will think you they are for any other reason than a blood test! I would like to go to the opera one day need to find a willing person to go with me though. I went to the ballet once but I didn't really enjoy that might try it again sometime.

Hey Cassi remember all the trouble I had with your Christmas present Angus and Robertson have finally taken responsibility for it I have just received an apology email and a $10 gift voucher, I will make sure I order something I don't want to read striaght away! That was a nice surprise this morning.

Triny - Hope you have a good trip to the shops.

I did not do a workout this morning too much stiffness from yesterday! We had a trial run for the walk to K's new school instead, it took about 30mins to get there so I am figuring leaving here at 7.45 should be plenty of time on Monday for start of 8.35. I was walking home pondering why there are so many hills in this suburb!

We are off to the shops this arvo before we have some friends over for dinner. My friends MIL died on Sunday night in England and her hubby had to rush back to be with her so, poor thing has had to deal with the first week of school etc alone. I thought someone making dinner for her on one night would give a bit of relief. I don't mind the company either original.gif

Sccary
Hi everyone.
ALI: Happy anniversary for yesty. Hope you were spoilt and the migrane is better
CASSI: I have had an Iphone since they first cam eout (gosh 2 years in july) BE WARNED!!! I have broken my screen and xy to fix. They crack/break easily when droped as they are heavy. ALso some times the settings go wrong and if something is a bit weird (buttons not workings etc) just 'hard set the phone' Hold down the button and also the on/off button at the same tie until the apple symbol comes up then let go. I have to do this every few months.

Can't remember more, I have been to take dog to the groomers then at the zoo for the last 3 hours with the girls and a close friend.
Tired not and have house to clean (floors are a mess of sticky Velvet thrown food)
BBL yyawn.gif
Bel Rowley
Hi everyone. I've been in Ocean Grove since yesterday morning and no time for internet, sorry! It was fun, really nice yesterday morning for the beach and Claudia had a ball. Even though the water was called she ran around and splashed, even got knocked over by a wave, swallowed about a cup of water and still didn't cry! She then ran around chasing seagulls for about half an hour. Played lots of Scrabble and cards with my sister, brother and dad, did some preliminary wedding planning with my sister and checked out some possible venues. I can't decide whether to be offended or not, at this stage she's going to have our youngest sister and best friend as bridesmaids and Claudia as a flowergirl, in some ways I want to be in the wedding as I've never been a bridesmaid, but in other ways I think it will be more fun to not be in it, choose my own dress etc, not to mention the associated expenses.

Ali happy anniversary for yesterday original.gif.

Sorry that's all I've picked up so far, I'm feeling a bit out of it after the long drive back in sh*tful traffic.
Clazza

Key - great news about your job - sounds like you handled it perfectly.

Ali - congrats on your anniversary. Mine is on Monday - 7 years!

Meljas - sorry to hear about your bad experience with your GTT. Like someone else said, I remember it as being a blissful 2/3 hours of peace and quiet, where I read my book/caught up on gossip mags and got the occassional jab from a competent nurse.

Blondie - good that you had a nice time away and I understand your feeling regarding the wedding party. We had a similar situation. We had my SIL and my BF at the time. DH had 1 of his 2 bros and his BF and we had his other brothers' daughter as my flowergirl, so that THAT family had a representative when we were missing her father/DH's bro out. He didn't seem to mind...

Dinners - Maddie hardly eats anything at dinnertime anymore, it is so frustrating! Seems she is not in the minority here so it must be an age thing. Can't remember it with the boys though. She WILL NOT allow me to feed her, insisting upon doing it herself and then after 2-4 moutfuls says "Inished!" and if I'm not quick enough, she turfs it over the side. This is very new to me as my 5 year old would happily allow me to feed him every night still, if given the chance. Must be an independent girl thing. huh.gif

Jack had a great first week of school although he broke one water bottle and lost another one so I need to buy more this weekend! Money down the drain but nevermind. His teacher said he is very confident and enthusiastic, so that made me a happy mummy. biggrin.gif

Better go serve mine and DH's dinner - quiche and salad - yum!

Claire
tweedy08
*tiptoes in*

WHERE IS EVERYONE!!!

*tiptoes out*

hehe.

night night all original.gif
~Elliesmum~
kayla is driving me mental with this clingy thing now. Shes like a koala from the moment dh walks out the door of an afternoon until she goes to bed. And lately she wakes up crying after an hour and then starts it all over again where I can't put her down.

if its reassurance she needs I'm happy to give it, the only problem is there's only one of me of an afternoon, I HAVE to put her down to use the stove and oven and chop things rolleyes.gif and she doesn't understand and has a fit/tantrum throws herself at the stove/oven too.

ahhhhhhhhhh what to do? I'm thinking pick her up and cuddle her more and then she'll get sick of it and want to get down (sometimes works but not for long) I try to make being in my arms really boring by sitting or standing somewhere she doesn't want to be, and that sometimes works too LOL. But I don't know what to do in the long run, she seems fine otherwise. It came on all of a sudden last week? when I thought she was teething, but now I don't know, its like someone flicked a switch.
beaglebaby
Sarina seems to be psychic! She rang this afternoon just when I needed her wisdom original.gif Was much appreciated.

Update on DH, his oncologist has decided to postpone and possibly cancel chemo. Initially I was worried and angry, it wasn't done in a very professional manner, but since then DH has spoken to him and he has explained the theory and it will hopefully be for the best. They want to wait until DH has had another scan, a PET scan which shows cancer very specifically, but there is only one machine in the state at a big public hospital so the soonest it can be done is the 23rd. If that is all clear, the rate of relapse is down to 15-20% so probably won't do chemo, if it shows any spread then they'll know what they're dealing with.

Poor DH had me ranting about the specialist, he'd originally told us 50% relapse unless chemo is done, then 10-15% after chemo, so we wanted it done - but apparently that is without the scan results. He also now says he feels like a phony as he's taken time off work and been explaining to clients and school etc that he's about to start chemo. Hopefully I've convinced him people won't think that, really any way to avoid the chemo which gives the same outcome has to be good.

Mum is still coming over though, she decided she was all prepared so will come and see us and let the kids get to know her again so if she does have to come again they'll all be happy. We might actually manage to have a nice week instead of the hell we were expecting.

Hopefully next week I'll be more on the ball with personals etc, thank you all for all your support, it really has helped. Promise to stop depressing you with it all for a few weeks!
bellygood
Hi Girls!

Elliesmum I too have a klingon baby... and have had for ages now. From the minute she wakes it's me that she wants, though throughout morning/arvo she'll entertain herself a bit. But come the witching hour, round 5pm, and she really gets clingy. DH sometimes takes her for a walk in the pram, that helps, but if in the house she will hunt me down like a heat-seeking missile. Which is a bit traumatic as I have some fixed freelance work to do 5-6pm, exactly when she wants to be attached to me (or worse, insists I 'walk' her around holding her little hands). Let me know when you find a solution...

Blondie, had to laugh at your bridesmaid thing, reminds me of your Muriel's wedding pic in your sig/top sig thing. I've been a bridesmaid twice, in a big puffy floral dress getting felt up by some yokel farmhand 'best man', and once at my sister's very stylish wedding where I fancied I looked like a supermodel in blue lame. It was a much classier wedding, though there was still some speculation about getting chatted up by the 'best man', who was the groom's brother and has since gone on to be a highly trained surgeon, so perhaps given my doctor fetish I should have grabbed that chance. Apparently he married someone really dumb, as in someone who asked the brother if he knew her husband's father. As in, his own father. As in, she said to her brother-in-law, 'do you know X?', X being the brother-in-law's father. Anyways.

Beagle PET scanning is quite advanced, from what I understand (limited, but I used to work for a medical imaging company), it is pretty amazing for highlighting any unusual cells. Have you seen PET images? Perhaps google them. I just looked at Wikipedia and it describes PET imaging as 'intense radiolabeling of tissues with high glucose uptake, such as the brain, the liver, and most cancers'. On screen, these light up like a traffic light, everything else stays dark. I can fully understand your frustration though, being told one thing and soon after being told another does not raise confidence. But perhaps if PET scanning helps reduce or avoid chemo, it's a good thing in the long run. Shame it couldn't be faster - does it help to ring frequently and ask re any dropouts/empty slots? Hospitals are always on about patient no-shows, though I guess there's a whole file transfer thing that has to happen, not just spur of moment visit. Grr to inconsistent medical advice though.

Key sounds like the school walk could save you $$ on a gym membership...

Ellangel was swim lesson fun? We had Ivy enrolled but quickly realized she needs to stand properly first for many of the exercises, so we've pulled her temporarily while she finds her feet.

Me I had a surprise night out last night, visited the opening night of an exhibition at the local art gallery, met some folk, drank some dodgy wine, ate some nice (hard) cheese. Was lovely but by the end was a bit tired (no seats, so standing all night) and also realized that 'polite chit chat' skills are lacking. I've never been much into mingling with strangers, though I did see a few people I knew. The art was quite nice, local stuff, mostly good, some um... interesting. I just enjoy art for art's sake, and not the wafty explanations given 'I drew my inspiration from the play of water on the landscape, like the play of emotion in my heart, memories of places that have shaped me as an artiste...'. Painting of a creek, people! Wake up and smell the coffee!
cassi8
morning ladies, swimming this morning so I have to be quick, the shower calls.

Sarina - I have heard they are exxy to get fixed if you smash the screen. I am going to try and get some sort of case for it today while out, not sure what to get but it needs something, I can see how they would be easily dropped. They guy at the store told us about resetting them. He also said that if that doesn't work to reset them through iTunes.

Beagle- its enough to drive anyone nuts! Good news that DH may not need chemo. Its not his fault either if the Dr has changed his treatment plan. It sounds like the Dr had a chat with colleagues to decide the best plan. hopefully all works out for him though and you get to enjoy some time with your mum. original.gif

Clazza - Glad Jack had a great first week. Must have been too busy playing to remember to put his drink bottle away! wink.gif The refusing to be fed isn't a girl thing, N is the same, I just have to clean up the mess after weet bix and youghurt! I figure he has to learn sometime and I am happy for his to feed himself and amended the foods to fit.

Blondie - My brother wasn't in our bridal party, DH didn't ask because he didn't think he would be interested. Mum didn't think to bring it up until a week before the wedding so I exploded at her.. oops.. I can understand that you feel put out though, I certainly would!

Not much happened here yesterday. working on getting the bathroom painted still, hopefully it will be finished tomorrow as we won't get any done today.
Sccary
GIRLS CLOTHES - SIZE 1
Girls do you need any girls clothes size 1 summer or winter?
I am about to photograph and put in trading room, but if you klnow what you want most of it is hardly worn (some even new still)
Have Pj's all in ones/thick ones with feet/bonds grow suits
Jackets/cardi's
Raincoat
dressing gowns
long sleeved t-shirts/short sleeve t-shirts

BLONDIE: Glad you had a nice break with Sis.
I know what you mean about bridesmaid, a bit 'left out heh' Maybe having Claudia was their way of still including you, as you will have to take her to rehersals dress tittings etc. wink.gif
Try to enjoy the wedding withut the stress of involvement, i'm sure if you talk to your sister she will explain and put you at ease.

BEALGE: Glad you got results after we spoke tthumbs.gif
Please tell DH from me I had the same experience about the chemo. I felt like a fraud for not doing it either. People thught I had nothing wrong (except big open cut across my neck) glare.gif
When my oncologist also said I had more of a chance of damage having the nuclear medicine than not (and with my type of cancer I can have it at anytime down the track) Also the risk of secondary cancers increasing with the treatment we didn't do it either.
I totally understand and had to tell work the same. I actually resigned not many months later, just felt like a different person
Hang in there hhugs.gif

KEY: Great work on the walking to school. THis is my plan too! But also 3 BIG hills. Maybe next week when not so hot. Pick ups are easier for me as it is a rush in the moring with Velvets sleeps and we have Gymbaroo now straight after tues drop offs
CATCH UP key/beagle - Tues/Thurs DD1 goes to school and velvet daycare on the thurs.
I have Mon/Wed free with both girls for a catch up or friday after ballet (finishes at 11am in Morley)
Let me know?

Velvet asleep and DH has taken DD1 to the movies to see "the Princess Frog' again! She was scared first time with a friend takig her and wanted daddy to take her wub.gif
Time to clean DD1 room and get stuff together for Baby and kids market in a few weeks
Bel Rowley
Hi girls. What a lazy day today! We did get up early to take Claudia to her first swimming lesson. I was hoping to do my laps while she and DH did the lesson, but of course there were no lap lanes. She had a good time I think, but was clearly the youngest in the group and the only one having her first lesson, she does not respond to instructions like kick your legs, blow bubbles etc which most of the others were. Still she didn't complain and wasn't scared at all.

Meant to say about dinners. Claudia is not too bad, depending on what I give her. I was surprised to discover at my parents' she loves roast lamb. I had already given her a savoury muffin and yoghurt for her dinner, but when we sat down to eat an hour later Mum handed her lamb and she ate 3 pieces! Brought some leftovers home last night and again she hoed into the lamb but didn't touch the roast potato or pumpkin, weird.

Clazza - great that Jack is enjoying school. Needing to replace water bottles is frustrating but if that's the worst thing that happens at school he's doing well!

Elliesmum - hmm, don't know what to suggest with Kayla. I can usually distract Claudia with toys or books if I need some space but it doesn't always work.

Beagle - how confusing! As if you and DH aren't having a hard enough time without getting conflicting information. I guess if he doesn't need chemo it will be good news.

Bellygood - love the sound of your bridesmaid experiences! I know I'm being silly to feel a bit hurt, I've always said I reckon being a bridesmaid would be a drag and I didn't even have bridesmaids at my own wedding so don't really have a reason to feel put out. But nobody has ever asked me to be their bridesmaid and it just makes me feel a teensy bit unloved. I am the same as you with art. I don't need to be told what to feel, I want to draw my own conclusions based on what I see, and if the meaning needs to be explained to me to appreciate it then I don't think it's any good.

Sarina - you are right including Claudia is my sister's way of including me and it will be more than enough work, not to mention expense! I have insisted though that I still want to be included in the professional hair & make up as I don't want to be the only girl in the family not looking extra special happy.gif . The other reason it may be good not to be a bridesmaid is I still don't know if and when I will be having #2, they are planning on March next year for the wedding and if I have a constantly BFing 3 or 4 month old it will be easier to not be a bridesmaid for sure!

I will pass on your clothes this time even though I know they will be lovely, I just splurged on a $140 pair of Jets bathers for myself so DH will kill me if I spend any more! laughing2.gif. I bought these in red and white, my first one piece since I was about 13 but I feel I'm getting too old for bikinis and these looked really good.

OK off to do some more time wasting. I have a friend's 30th tonight, 20s/30s theme, fortunately my trusty sis has lent me an outfit so I didn't have to go shopping.
bellygood
Very nice Blondie! I couldn't help but also look at pages, I feel that I am more suited to the burqini.
Bel Rowley
roll2.gif I love how it has a picture of a curvaceous bombshell in a skimpy bikini around the crotch area. It's almost saying "This is what you're making me keep under wraps fellas."
trinyweeny
We have been at a wedding today. Took Jacqui to the church and then my MIL bought her home.

Blondie - I love those swimmers. My last purchase was a tankini couldn't face the bikini. We had a roast the over night. Jacqui loved the meat but wouldn't touch the vegies. Used to be the other way around.

Blondie/BG - laughing2.gif

Sarina - I would be interested in the tshirts and long sleeved tops. I'll pm you my email address.

Beagle - Oh how frustating with DH treatment. I imagine you would have built yourself up for it. Although it is good that you can enjoy your mum's time there.

need to go and missy some dinner. I have a stinking headache so AF is probably going to show tomorrow.
cassi8
Just quick, what soap/shampoo is everyone using now?? I'm nearly out and wondering what to buy.

original.gif BBL for personals..
trinyweeny
Cassi - Soap - body shop coconut shower stuff (from christmas presents). Shampoo - Sunsilk whatever is on special.

ellangel
Sexy swimmers Blondie!! I can imagine you will look like one yummy mummy in them!

Bellygood - NOT so hot swimmers, but VERY sunsmart!! biggrin.gif

what soap/shampoo is everyone using now?
I am assuming you mean for our bubs Cassi?? LOL. I use a wash from Melaleuca of course, now. Was shocked to see how much % of glycerin is in some kiddie stuff!! Before Mela, I was using Curash body wash, which smelled nice, and was good on Holli's botty and could wash her hair with it etc.

Beagle - So you wait for the PET scan and see what then?? Oh that sux but is good he does not have to have chemo at this stage. What a rollercoaster you are on.

Sarina - I will kindly pass on the size 1 winter also. Have to pull out what I had from Ella but think I will have more than enough. size 0 bottoms may even fit Holli still, if her gut permits it!!

Well I am so pooped from 2 kids parties today. Took Ella to a 5th birthday party from 10-1pm and then rushed home and we all went to a 2nd birthday party at 3pm. All sugared out!!
Got some cute garden shots of Holli in her party dress beforehand. Check em out on FB!
here it is
cassi8
wub.gif she is just so very cute Sharon. laughing2.gif yes I should have specified for N. I might go check Lush on Tues as they have natural stuff that is suitable for kids.
I agree on the swimmers, wink.gif you will look great in them Blondie and no getting burnt in BGs outfit! happy.gif

Sarina - Not unless you have any bonds grow suits in neutral or boy colours original.gif Its all I need now but I will need to find out if 1's will fit N. I'm not sure if he will be too tall.

I'm off to bed, Night! original.gif

seepi
Aww - sweet dress Miss Holli = gorgeous!! Girls clothes are so much fun.

Beagle - what a pity the medicos have introduced yet more drama into the equation. My ex boss had a wierd moment also = she was sent to both a chemo expert, and a radiation expert, and they both spruiked their services, and then she was supposed to choose one - it was wierd. With health stuff you just want the experts to tell you what to do - and not to change their mind.
but it sounds like you can now have a nice time with your mum, which might be just what you all need.

Cassi - I use Berts Bees shampoo for me - it is about 17.00 at chemists, but it is fantastic and natural. I use mostly water for the kids, and a tiny bit of our soap or shampoo if they really need it. Water seems to be fine most of the time.

Blondi = I wear two piece swimmers, but only so I can get the boyleg shorts - I love them. I get a tank style top, so I am fairly well covered up. Yours look lovely!

We have all been a bit tired and grumpy in this house today - here's hoping tomorrow is another day eh. One a good note - it has rained a lot - first real rain in about a month, so my garden will be loving it.
~Elliesmum~
lol Cassi- Actually Kayla is using my Lush soap at the moment as she's mostly showering with me Tounge1.gif It was a sweet yummy scented one we got when we went to the GC. And I use curash body wash/bath whatever as well, mostly because I got a whole lot on a discontinued bargain and its fairly gentle. After we finish with the angels delight soap we'll move onto the Honey I washed the kids soap- mmmm that is if I decide to share with the kids, I might hide it dev (6).gif

anything gaia would be lovely though, I love their skin soothing lotion for K and wouldn't hesitate to buy anything else of theirs. Theres another natural one thats lovely too, i had a sachet of it but cant remember what its called.

sharon- awww what a cutie! gorgeous dress too original.gif

beagle- what a rollercoaster you're on, I hope it slows down and makes some sense and the PET scan goes really well.

blondie- lol, we had roast lamb the other night and Kayla went nuts over it, eating all the meat and skipping the veg. She did eat a bit of veg but kept asking for more meat the cheeky beggar, I gave her gravy too wwhistle.gif what a mess!

clingyness- Kayla is driving me bonkers, my patience is so exhausted I get cranky too quickly, so tomorrow I'm just going to pick her up and carry her everywhere until she gets sick of me, because everything else isn't working but reinforcing the fact that she wants up rolleyes.gif which is actually fine as long as I'm not cooking dinner etc I guess. But it does make it hard to go to the toilet etc LOL. Unfortunately she's well past the trying to distract stage she goes into a full on tantrum and screaming rage if I don't pick her up and keep her there, and I can't move because she wraps herself around my legs LOL. But I do try to park myself somewhere really boring so she WANTS to move on. Doesn't work though. This morning she was hysterical at 6am so I got her up and that was it, couldn't put her down so I lay on the lounge and dozed with her for an hour. The big kids got up too but she just watched them and snuggled next to me, I do love snuggles but blimey! She turns it off like a tap as soon as she's picked up so theres nothing else wrong or she'd still be upset.
beaglebaby
I love my Mum, wub.gif she arrived tonight. Lucas wasn't too sure of her, I think he thought she was here to babysit, he gets very unsettled and doesn't sleep when he's babysat.

Soap, not using any! If I really need it I use a little of my organic shampoo, but generally I just put some apricot kernal oil in the bath for L. The older two have the woolies organic brand kids body wash/shampoo combo.

Clinginess, I generally have the opposite problem with Lucas, he just wants to be into everything and doing everything, nothing is safe. He's taken to breaking the flyscreen on our sliding doors if I won't let him outside to play! He has started that awful screaming though, but they are at the age where they know what they want but must get so frustrated at not being able to express it.

Ellangel, what a gorgeous dress, sounds like an absolutely flat out day. If the PET scan is all clear I think DH will just have surveillance (pronounced sir-wal-ense by the Indian oncologist) - blood tests every month and regular CT scans. If not then we are back at chemo, as the type of tumour he had doesn't respond to radiation, and he didn't like the risks of radiation anyway. I am much more relaxed now, I'm sure I'll start stressing again in 2 weeks time.

Blondie, those bathers will really suit you - gorgeous. I had my 2 younger sisters and not the older one as bridesmaids, even though I'd been her bridesmaid. Looking back maybe she was offended blush.gif At the time though I'd been to 2 weddings where DH was in the bridal party and I'd been just left hanging around not knowing many people and I didn't want to do that to her and her DH, and she had 2 kids to organise. I think you'll have a nicer time without "official duties", just don't get sucked into doing all the organising etc.

Belly, I'll have to google the images, I've never seen them but had heard lots about the scans. Had to laugh at your link to the bathers, mine aren't that different, I have speedo chlorine resistant ones if I'm going to the indoor pool, but at home I wear boardies and a long sleeved rashie. All I'm missing is full leg and the hood!

Seepi, how frustrating for you boss, patients really need an advocate to help in those situations.

Triny, everything crossed for no AF.

Sarina, Mondays are good, Wed gym finishes 10.15 in jandakot, Fri swimming finishes 10.30 in Melville.

Better get to bed, cant remember what I was meaning to post!

Bel Rowley
Triny- tell us about the wedding? Indoor/outdoor, how was the reception etc, I love hearing about weddings!

Cassi - Most of EB would crucify me but we are still using J&J Bedtime Bath and Baby Shampoo for hair. We bought the giant bottles before Claudia was born (and before I heard on EB how terrible J&J stuff is apparently) and the shampoo is not even half gone! For a long time I didn't use anything. We've had no problems with her skin.

Ellangel - I love Holli's dress, she looks beautiful.

Elliesmum - Claudia is more like Beagle's Lucas, so independent, she's not clingy at all most of the time, except at home when I go into another part of the house and leave her with DH she occasionally cracks it and wants only me.

Beagle - I think you are right and I will be happier with no official duties at my sister's wedding. Not to mention I will have Claudia to deal with if she's going to be flower girl, and hands.gif hopefully a new baby to take care of. I'm glad you have your mum with you, it must make you feel a bit easier knowing she's there to help out with whatever.

The 30th was fun last night, I loved getting dressed up. Caught up with a few people from college (as in residential college at uni) who I hadn't seen for 12 years! Put my foot in it big time though, one girl was saying I hear you have a daughter, asked me about her etc, then I said "You're married aren't you?" as I'd remembered hearing through the grapevine a few years ago. Her response was not what I expected - "No, actually I'm widowed" ohmy.gif . I felt so awful, have no idea what happened to her husband and didn't get a chance to ask my friend sad.gif.

This morning we've been for a play with a few MG girls at Macca's, had to hand over the Tupperware to those who work and we never see on Fridays anymore. It's a gorgeous day here, but I will be spending the afternoon inside preparing for my second interview tomorrow. Lots of work to do this week!
cassi8
its quiet in here today..

Blondie - thanks for that, I just went and bought a refill pouch of JJ bedtime bath laughing2.gif they can criticize all they like I don't use much! I might put it away and see what samples I still have. we only bath 4 or 5 times a week here anyway.

I'm glad your mum has arrived beagle and hoping that she is able to take the pressure off you a bit original.gif

melaniejasmin
blondie - doesnt sound like you put your foot in it, it's just what happens when you do listen to gossip all the time wink.gif (that's positive isnt it?!) poor woman, she must have to explain it all the time.. sad.gif good to go out though!
I like your new swimmers! they are very sexy!

Cassi - we dont really use anything as A. generally has bubble bath in the bath and that is enough. we also have a whole box of different creams, lotions, cleansers from Seba Med, which a company gave me from work as a gift. I hardly use it as babies dont really need hundreds of things. I also just to use sorbolene to wash him.

Beagle - great to here that your mum has arrived safely and is there for you original.gif

Sharon - love the photo of Holli!

I'm a little over all this rain that we are having. kept DH and me most of the night last night glare.gif and Alexander of course then woke at 7am.... yyawn.gif
trinyweeny
Blondie - What a horrible situation.
Wedding was at a community church. Then the reception was at a sports club. We had a 3 veg and meat lunch. Very simple. The bride and groom are Christians and quite religious. They met in Burma when he went to a mission/bible college and brought her over a year ago. It was lovely however TBH (and I apologies if I offend) I was abit over the speeches and the reference to God for everything. Last night would have been interesting for them as they were both virgins (I am assuming they are no longer.)

Cassi - When J actually has a bath we use the J&J stuff (moisturising bath) atm she has been having a shower with me of an afternoon to entertain her. Thus using my stuff.

Beagle - Enjoy your mum time.

We have had a quiet one today. DH is currently making lunch so I imagine J will be awake soon. AF hasn't arrived yet so that's good. Will test tomorrow if it hasn't arrived.
alimumof3
hello gang

Our internet is still being stupid but I seem to have logged on to someones wireless ph34r.gif . not sure how on earth this has happened as I'm no good at computers etc. I promise this will be the only time i use it. (til we get ours sorted i mean).

we've been at a 1yr old party today at the botanic gardens. it was lovely. kids had fun.
although i had a scare. There were two tubs of soft drink in ice and water and oliver kept playing with the ice. next thing he was falling head first, i just grabbed him out, (only his forehead had hit the water). it was such a scare. he was only 1/2m infront of me but my gosh i was unsettled after that. if i hadnt grabbed him there is no way he woudl have been able to get out himself. ohmy.gif

triny I ho9pe af doesnt come tomorrow. hopefully i'll have internet to see if there in progress.

blondie how horrible! but you didn't knw, so don't feel too bad.

beagle glad your mum has arrived. Hope everything is sorted re decisions with your DH soon. I'm sure noone will think anything of him not have chemo at this stage, cancer is cancer.

umm can't remember what else.

oh, cassi we use gaia on the kids hair and i think its J&J in the bath. my kids also dont have any probs with skin.
~~~
Evening ladies original.gif
Just dropping in to say hi original.gif DS is doing well, just very loud and full-on rolleyes.gif

Veronica
ellangel
HI!!

YAY for your mum arriving Beagle!! Enjoy some quality time together~ Your other 2 kids mustve been very excited!!

Ali - how annoying about your internet. You must be lost without your laptop beside you.

Elliesmum - how is the hip from carrying Kayla all day? What happened? If anything, wouldnt that make the situation worse? Holli has good and bad days. Is usually ok at home, except when I am trying to get dinner ready. We are all tired and hungry.

Cassi and Triny - there is nothing wrong with J&J stuff so do not worry about it! I gave H and E a shower this evening instead of a bath. What a mistake that was. H slipped and banged her head. She is ok. Much prefer a bath. You cant get their bits clean with bath anyway~~ LOL

Sarina and Cass - I was going to mention about the iphones but did not want to sound like a negative know it all.!!! FIL has a mobile phone shop and does many repairs on iphones as they are flimsy and bulky and get dropped and cracked screens etc. So be careful. When we were down in Tamworth, we were in his shop and I was deciding what to get next (on a plan so got another 12 months yet). He told me not to even think about an iphone as he wouldnt sell me one~~ NO FAIR!!!

Triny - GOOODLUCK love!!~~~~ GO BFP~~~

Didnt do much today (besides rearrange the loungeroom and toy area) ...lots and lots and lots of rain here.
trinyweeny
Still no AF so really hoping that my temp is up tomorrow. hands.gif Then I will have a chance at a BFP.

iphones - DH bought a otterbox defender case for his. makes it a little more resilient but not against breaking the screen.

Ellangel - Poor Holli in the shower. Ouch! At least as Jacqui is still crawling she just crawls around.

Ali - Hope you get your internet issues sorted soon. We miss you. Very scary experience for you and Oliver.

DH is heading to Sydney again tomorrow. Will be there for 2 nights. Sigh! mainly means I get stuck with spending all day walking with Jacqui. Since taking those first steps hasn't really taken anymore. just wants to walk whilst holding your fingers.
littlemumma
Evening

Been MIA...been reading but not feeling like posting, nothing specific just exhausted from the first week of school (phsically and emotionally) and working the extra day...I have felt like a zombie all weekend.

We have barely left the house all weekend except last night to go to our neices 21st....was only a dinner, but nice all the same.

beagle - Yah to your mum arriving, I bet you feel better just knowing she is there. Hope DH doesn't have to have the chemo. Bet the kids are loving all the attention from your mum.

Ali - I bet that gave you a huge fright with Oliver, and rightly so, lucky you were close by and noticed quickly.

triny - sending BFP vibes your way Mrs.

cass - bath stuff we are using J&J tip to toe at the moment....but I also just wash in sorbelene as well sometimes.

blondi - oh gosh, don't you hate it when you put your foot in it like that....but, you weren't to know and unfortunately it probably happens to her quite a bit.

Ellies- i hope that Ks clingyness improves soon. I'm sure it will, probably just a stage as Max has been through a few clingly stages, some bad ones too but then he is generally more of a clingly baby but has got alot better, has his moments though.

sharon - Holli looked super cute in her dress, party girl. How is Ella finding school, is she tired?

clazza - glad Jack had a good first week, hope he doesn't lose anymore drinkbottles ohmy.gif

eating - Max is going pretty good with food at the moment so I guess he hasn't got to the fussy stage yet.

All going ok here, just gearing up for another busy week, I'm feeling it, I'm so grumpy. Kai had a good first week at school though (although exhausted). DH asked his teacher how his week went and she said he had a great first week and that he is very organised laughing2.gif Max has been a good fella, so active but can't complain he really is a funny baby.

Have a good week everyone.
ellangel
Does J have a walker?? I remember doing that finger holding thing for over a month with ella. Drove me nuts and it was a killer on my back~!! biggrin.gif Holli didnt do it. Just got up and walked just before 12 months.

Ali - I forgot to mention about the water. Didnt they have lids like esky's? If they were tubs, they shouldve been up high hey? Some people.

Gotta go clean up and shower but might be back later.
bellygood
Why am I awake? I woke up at 5am today, just 6hrs sleep. No reason to wake, everyone still asleep, might have a kip when Ivy naps at lunchtime.

Watched part of The White Masai (SBS) last night. Has a dodgier movie ever been made? I think there's a book... I'll be avoiding that like the plague. Too much dust, too many goats for me.

Big day yesterday, plan was to have a day off while DH babysat, drive to city, see a movie etc. Well, DH goes to a party the night before, drinks, doesn't eat, so is sick as a dog on my 'day off'. Well I leave him to his misery but decide to take Ivy with me, so of course no movie, just a day milling around a shopping centre with a toddler. Was ok, met up with a mate and scored some nice cheap maternity tshirts, but not quite the same. We remembered that yesterday was our anniversary is well, so DH is doubly indebted. Will do something nice this coming weekend.

Today is a quiet one for us - I hope. Tomorrow is 'TAFE/daycare day', and Wed is my 20w scan (drive to city again, with full bladder this time), so want to take it easy. Might stroll into town, library, play at McDonalds etc. Why does no other cafe have play stuff? I hate exposing Ivy's developing brain to the golden arches... river of poison that they are.

Got our builder's quote back: too expensive. Back to square one. Bugger!

Blondie I have made many a faux pas but in hindsight realize that I never mean malice, sometimes you are simply not 100% up to date with everyone's back story. My last was telling a mother in mother's group how much her soon looked like her, to which she said (not unkindly) that he's adopted. Thus followed a stilted conversation about adoption in Oz.

Ali scary esky incident, made worse by imagination! But could have been ugly, glad you were there.

Ellangel are you back on track now? Hope the blahs are well and truly gone. I think they are as you are back cleaning showers and rearranging rooms. You're Holli is a cutey, love the last pic.

Triny Ivy is a finger walker as well, not good for the back! BTW she took her first (three) steps Saturday night! Between two lounges, from me to my mum. DH missed it totally! Since then she has done this same route (between two lounges) a few times, but apart from that all she wants to do is walking holding my fingers. Any temp/test news? I know it's a private family matter but BE SURE TO LET US KNOW VIA WORLD WIDE WEB THE MINUTE PEE HITS STICK!
cassi8
You brighten my morning BG! wink.gif

Triny that case looks good. We just emergency silicone ones until we find better ones. hands.gif for no AF for you.

Sharon - Ouch! on poor Holli's head. N has done that before but he had gotten out of the shower and slipped on the floor. Glad to hear the J&J stuff isn't too bad Tounge1.gif I know so many people that have smashed screens and now owing one I can see how. without some sort of cover they are really quite slippery to try and hold. I think you would love one though, you can organise everything through them! biggrin.gif
I saw that you guys got record rainfall in the last few days. It woke me the other night and I went checking the basement garage to see if it was flooding.

waves.gif veronica. Good to hear from you original.gif

Littlemumma - sounds like a busy week. You sound like you just needed the rest. Thanks for the Sorbolene idea, I might have to give that one a go.

Us - not much happened yesterday. If I hear the word 'no' or 'nup' again I am going to scream! every 30 seconds mostly for no reason, no nup no! argh!! everything seems to be a negotiation. Hoping this doesn't last too long!
DH is going back to see the surgeon again today. Not sure if I will go with him or not yet, I want to but its a long way to go for a 15 min appt. At least he gets to get the bandage off today and hopefully will ease the itching.
Bel Rowley
Glad it's not just me who uses J&J, I was worried I'd get flamed wink.gif.

Triny - Eagerly awaiting test news today! I don't know what's up with me, I should be in the fertile zone but like last month not getting much EWCM which makes me think it's not going to happen.

Ali - oh my gosh, shows how easily little kids can end up drowning, and not just in pools! Thank goodness you were watching him.

Veronica - waves.gif

Ellangel - I agree, showers are hard work. Claudia hates it in the shower too.

Littlemumma - life must get a lot busier with one at school, although you don't have him home it's one more thing to organise. Glad to hear Kai's teacher was impressed with him.

Bellygood - can't believe DH was hungover for your anniversary, tut tut! Hope you get to celebrate at some point. I know what you mean about the golden arches, we don't go that often but it does seem to be the only place where you can be indoors with a decent coffee and a safe area for little ones to play.

Oooh I see Triny is about to post!!!
trinyweeny
Morning ladies

I have tested and its a BFN. My temp is still up so now in limbo land. I guess I just wait.

Ellangel - J has a walker but prefers to walk with us.

Littlemumma - You sound exhausted. Hopefully things will start to settle down for you.

BG - laughing2.gif

Hope everyone is still dry.

ETA - Sorry Blondie the post took so long J needed breakfast NOW!
Bel Rowley
Hopefully just too early Triny.
laraq75
Triny - fingers crossed it is just like what happened to Ali.

Veronica - Hi there. I have been meaning to contact you because I changed my MSN address. Glad to hear things are good with your little man.

Cassi - is the no, nup coming from DH or N. Because if it is coming from N you have many years of negotiation ahead of you.

Littlemum - I hope you get the chance to catch up on some rest.

We have had a busy few days. DH is going away at the end of this week for 3 weeks and I am really not looking forward to it.

hugs

Lara
cassi8
Hoping its early too triny..

Ali - ohmy.gif glad you were close by and avoided anything serious!
trinyweeny
Yep hoping it is too early. I have a shorter LP. I think there will be plenty of trips to the toliet today to check.
cassi8
laughing2.gif you will have to drink lots of water today triny! original.gif I'm really hoping its good news for you!
Sccary
Morning everyone.
I tell you when will kids sleep like teenagers yyawn.gif Not too bad but Faith was up for a drink, Velvet was up oncce but at 4:30am! resettled to 6am and the dog wanted out to the toilet too during the night.

TRINY: I am excited for you, I hope it is just too early too.

BELLYG: You always make me laugh.gif Your posts just brighten my day
I would kill my DH if he did that on our anniversary (mind you I am having a stall at the baby and kids market this month which is on our anniversary blush.gif ) but only from 7-1pm still time together after that.

ALI: Shock abouit the ice bucket. I do the same with my girls (let them play in them at parties) note to self lethal weapon in disuise

BEAGLE: Glad your mum came wub.gif for mums. Monday seems like a good day for a 'play' then. Just see what Key says?

Quiet day today we did so much this weekend for kids (well faith) Just have to post some clothes and get some nappies

* DH took her to 'princess and frog' saturday had twisties as treat in movies
* We had chicken and chips for dinner
* DH made pancakes for breakkie sunday for girls
* Went to lunch in Leederville where there is an indoor (maccas like) play area for kids, they got milkshakes with lunch
* then went to 'San churro' for spanish hot chocolates, chocolates and churrios - yummmo
* home and watched a new DVD withthe girls (kids one)
* Then played with new 'magic sand' DD1 got for her birthday

So I think a very spoilt 'kids' weekend

Oh FACEBOOK
I think I am missing so many of you...Anyone want to tell me who I am missing? thx
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.