The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: October 08 Parents # 43

http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/forums/ind...howtopic=761649

Small Potatoes
GOLD

Olly just stood on his own - twice. First time ever and I tried calling DH and Mum to tell them and neither answered their phones

Ros Olly holds onto his wang for dear life too and cracks it when I pull his hand away to do up a nappy.
mandabee85
Hello all

I'm new here. I'm under teh assumption that October 2008 is when yuor baby was born?

I'm mum to Isobel born 16 October 2008. She's amazing and wonderful.

Look forward to chatting in the future.

Amanda
Small Potatoes
Amanda Welcome. My October 2008 bubby is Oliver (Olly) he was born on the 19th of Ocotber.
bec8112
Mands/Ros - Ethan plays with his bits occasionally but not all the time. He looks at it if he is about to do a wee so that might make TT easier????

Amanda - welcome. My son Ethan was born 22nd Sept but he was a month early so that is why I stuck with the Oct group ( and they are a great bunch of ladies ). Love the name Isobel.

Ros - I have not seen that fabric, can you point me in the direction on a pic? I had a look and saw a nice choc brown minky one with a cupcake panel which was nice for a girl but not too girly IYKWIM.

Mands - woo woo on Olly standing! He will be walking in no time! Ethan is still not very adventurous with things and he is still not trying alot of things which I worry about. He is too cautious in my opinion.

Mel - How is work going? How is Tom liking daycare?

AFM - had 3 work friend over this morning ( 1 had a baby in Oct 09, 1 just quit work to study and the other is preg now and due 3 weeks before me ) was a great morning.
Small Potatoes
Bec I sent you an email but it is from my work email address
bec8112
Mands/Ros - do you use the bumper bar on the Phil and Teds pram? I am looking at one on Ebay and it is missing the bumper bar so not sure if I should bid or not.

Also what is the difference between the Sport and E3 version?????
Small Potatoes
Bec I don't use the bar anymore, easier for Will to get himself in and out without it. I don't know the diff as I bought mine before they had a heap of different models. Maybe google
bec8112
Mands - did you ever use the bar?
Small Potatoes
Yeah, but not since Olly has been born
Fabulous
Here Bec- I'm planning on buying some of this fabric for Chelsea because I love it so much.
http://nappyaddicts.com.au/showthread.php?...illbrook+auriel
http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_-a1eTtkOyBs/SdgE...00-h/trudyk.jpg
When I picked my customs I got 50% cotton panel at the front and the back 50% minky.
Fabulous
Bec- I've never used the bar because i couldn't work out how to put it on. blush.gif

The E3 is an older model but I don't know what the differences are. I think I looked at it when I was trying to buy for my big girls.
Fabulous
Amanda- welcome to the group, this is definitely the right place original.gif . My little man was born 17 October. I'm really looking forward to chatting with you.
bec8112
Ros - that fabric is cute! I think it looks better as clothes though, the nappy is cute but not as cute as the cloths in my opinion.

How much do you think a second hand phil and teds sport of e3 should go for? Most I have looked at are 2-3 years old.
meeskamouska
Afternoon.
Not alot happening here.
Phil & Teds - I wish I had fo just got this pram when CR was born.
Amanda - Welcome!!

Boring post..sorry.
bec8112
Evening all!

Not much to report from here, boring afternoon.

Called to book in at the Antenatal Clinic at the hospital and they want to see me on the 16th Feb for initial midwife visit and then have to go back on 4th March to see a Doctor as Ethan was classified as Premmie they want to check a few things more regularly, was told possibly more ultrasounds to check some cervical measurement which can be used to check if maybe another early bub????? I guess I will find out more information when I am there. I am not looking forward to waiting at the hospital with Ethan with me.

Small Potatoes
Bec You can have my cervix it stays nice and tight and long. About the time you had Ethan (actually later only about 10days before I had O) I had a u/s for O my cervix was long and close (still 5cm long - WTF).

I think I may have birthing issues too though. I am booking into see a councellor/doula that a friend of mine recommended. She is meant to help you work through these things. Even if I don't have any more children I would like to know why I am so afraid of birth and let go of those fears.

themelster
Hi ladies, sorry I haven't been around much. Going through another rough patch. I'm really quite over feeling like this. I have some good weeks, then it all comes crashing again. I don't know what is wrong with me. I'm having awful feelings. Tom is coming up to 16 months FFS. Surely it can't still be PND. Maybe it's just me.

Bec - I don't know much about P&T prams sorry. I did see a double baby jogger and a double mountain buggy the other day. They both looked good.

Mands - Big should out for Mr O standing on his own! Won't be long now and you'll be chasing him around! I think it is a good idea to talk to someone about your birth if you are still having issues about it. It's good to get it out. I need to get back and see my doctor too.

Amanda - welcome to the group!

Hi Ros, Hi Nat, Hi Annika

Hi to anyone else I've forgotten.

Forgive me if I'm not around much. Just trying to scrape my head together.
bec8112
Mel - big hugs for you! bbighug.gif bbighug.gif bbighug.gif bbighug.gif bbighug.gif

Got some family coming to visit so might BBL, and if not I will pop in tomorrow.
themelster
Bec - I saw this in the recent topics and rhought it might be of interest to you.

http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/forums/ind...howtopic=762774

the new baby jogger looks awesome!!
bec8112
Thanks Mel!

Just had a look at a demo of the pram on YouTube but I am not sure if the seat would lay flat for a newborn, do not really want to buy 2 seats and a bassinet. I love the different configurations of it though. I am not going to like making a pram decision!

The lady I work with who is pregnant is going to buy my Strider 4 so that is good I do not have to sell it elsewhere. mel - how much did you sell yours for? I have the bassinet to sell with it and not sure what to ask for it all as a package.

Fabulous
Bec- what pram did you see a demo for?
themelster
I sold mine for $250 Bec. But I didn't have the bassinet.

Ros - the pram demo was the new baby jogger double.
Fabulous
Morning all,

Mel- sorry to hear that you have been feeling down. sad.gif

Bec- Is it a good antenatal clinic? I went to one in Perth when I was pregnant with my eldest and seriously the average waiting time was 1.5-2 hours oomg.gif and I felt like I was a piece of meat on a factory line. I never went back.

RE-prams for 2 kids, I think it's a case of trying to pick the best of the worst.

Us- our passport completion emails came back the other day which was great, it only took 2-3 days from when they received them until completion. I can't wait to collect them from the post office and have a go at the stupid woman who rejected my photos based on the fact that they didn't have a border and weren't taken at her post office. Thanks to her we had to drive 60kms to get to another post office.
bec8112
Hi all! Sorry been really busy with cooking cookies, mini quiches and Shepards pie for dinner. Might BBL if I remember!

Small Potatoes
Bec Sounds delicious.

Went out to dinner with my mothers group last night (from Will) had a great night. Tired today though.
bec8112
Mands - dinner with the Mums group sounds like it would be fun, do you still catch up on a regular basis? Our group has kind of stopped as there are 4 of us working different days and was hard to organise it, we still chat on FB though so kind of still going.

Ros - the Antenatal clinic is not that bad in terms of waiting, I think the longest I had was 30-45mins. I am hoping to make all my appointments on a Thurs or Fri when I am off work and will try and make them for the morning when they are less likely to be running behind. That is great about the passports! and will be fun to rub it in the nose of the lady who rejected them!

Mel - how you feeling? Do you think work has made you feel better or worse?

bec8112
Another quiet day in here.

I am flat out at work so just popping in during lunch!
DylMah
Hi, finally got the computer issue sorted. I had to buy a new one as my old one was fired. Took me all weekend to get the new one working though. Completely user error, trying to connect too many cables, lol.

Bec - Congratulations on the pink news! Glad to hear things are going well with baby too. Sounds like you've been busy cooking today, I bet your house smells nice. I've got P&Ts sport too. I no longer use the bumper bar for the same reason as Mands. It doesn't have much storage space, but I've got the panieres for it for when I go shopping.

Mel - Hope you're feeling a bit more normal soon. I think PND can last for quite a while in some cases, but it must be frustrating for you. Are you on meds for your pnd? Maybe they need adjusting? hugs.

Mands - The couselling with the doula sounds like a good idea. have you made an appointment to see her yet? Glad you had a great night with your Mum's group. My mum's group from Dylan still gets together weekly, although we've gone from about 15 of us, down to 5 regulars.

Ros - yay to finally getting your passports sorted. I'd love to be a fly on the wall when you go back to your normal PO with them.

DH sailed today, so I've got to attack Mt Foldmore by myself.
BBT.

meeskamouska
Its been quiet in here. Thought I'd have a million pages to catch up on but no. Finally back on high speed internet. Dial up speed is a killer!! How do people actually survive on that all the time.

Mel - Big hugs. Being a mumma, wife & worker is hard work. The peson I once was is completely lost in nappies & cleaning & its down right depressing. I started an art class this week & I hope this helps with finding myself again. R u enjoying work?? or has it added to the load??

Me- Started an online course doing multi media art. Its not a big diploma course or anything...... just for fun. I'm really loving it. It fits with what I like to do. Has taught me to be a better drawer almost instantly.

Enjoy your day girls.
bec8112
Nat - your course sounds like it would be great fun, I am not an artistic person so I am hopeless at all things like that!

Georgia - thanks for the congrats! Thanks also for the input on the Phil and Teds, I think I just have to go and look at the baby shop and see what I like and what Ethan would be comfortable in.

Mands - have you heard anything from Lesley?

mel - how are you going? How is work and stuff? I bet Tom is enjoying daycare!

Us - we are going to buy our new lights, fans today as we have the electrician coming on Friday. We are then knocking out the wall on Sat/Sun ( we have some friends coming to stay and help out with it ). Then we are going to paint including 2 feature walls which I am looking forward to. I am nervous aswell as DP and I never really done anything like it before.

Ethan is good, he had a good day at daycare yesterday and was happy until bedtime which was nice.

Fabulous
Morning all,
I can't believe how quiet the house is for once. Big kids at school, Chelsea at daycare and Jack asleep. Not sure what I should do with myself, lol.
DylMah
Nat - Yay to getting your high speed net back. Dial up speed is so frustrating. Your course sounds pretty cool. I wish I could draw, stick figures are about the best I can do, lol.

Bec - The renos sound exciting. I bet it will look great when you are done.

Ros - Whatever YOU want! Watch day time soapies, eat ice cream from the tub without getting busted by the kids, sleep.... Hope you're having a wonderfully relaxing kid free day.

Mahalia is being her usual cheeky, bossy self today, and beating Dylan up, lol.
bec8112
Ros - hope you got to enjoy your day without any interuptions!

Georgia - Mahalia sounds like such a little character!
themelster

Sorry I have been AWOL for a bit. Just adjusting to work and getting my head back to a level place. It's weird, I seem to be fine now. I just had a couple of days last week that I went haywire. I don't know why. It happens every now and again and just kicks me in the ass.

Work is good - I do wish it was part time but you gotta do what you gotta do. And it's not all bad - today Tom was in daycare so I skived off work for a bit and hubby and I went and saw a movie together (shhhh!! LOL). We haven't done that since Tom was born, so it was nice. I like the flexibility of being out on the road.

Tom is loving daycare - couldn't give two sh*ts that I am not there, which makes me a bit sad, but I prefer that to the alternative.

Did anyone else's bubba just love daycare from the get go. Now I worry he has attachment issues or something!!! LOL.

Bec - All that cooking sounds divine. I wish I had more time to cook meals. I used to love it. Could spend hours preparing a lovely dinner. Now it's just whatever can go in one pot, that we all can eat, that takes minimal time to prepare and ideally can be done with one hand! Good luck with the painting - the hardest is the prep (taping edges, sugar soaping etc). The actuall painting is easy. I did a lovely rust brown/red feature wall at our old home. It was gorgeous and really made the place. I used Porters paints - they have some lovely rich colours. Unfortunately our place now is VJ's - and I wouldn't attempt painting them myself.

Ros - I hope you enjoyed your down time today and Jack had a nice long sleep for you. Are you getting excited about your US trip yet?

Dylmah - yes, I am on meds. I think they are working for the most part, as I said, it's just the odd day every now and again that bites me. I really don't want to up my dose as I am still hopefull to wean off them in the not too distant future. Thanks for the hugs - and what is Mt Foldmore?? Have I missed something?

Nat - You amaze me with all the things you manage to be motivated to fit into your life. Markets, study, first class mama!

Mands - you too - nappy making, blogs, cards. I don't know how you ladies do it! I'm glad you had a nice night out with mothers group ladies - we are due to do that sometime soon also.

Well, I'd better go - Mark is bathing Tom and then it's bedtime and time for me to watch America's next top model! Yeah! My favourite time of the week.

Annika - hun, where are you?
Small Potatoes
Mel Glad everything is better for you now. Mt Foldmore is the MASSIVE amount of washing that needs to be folded. How was the movie with Mark?

Got to go both teh boys at my feet crying
themelster
I thought that might be it mands!! Movie was pretty average but it was all that was on at the right time - edge of darkness - the new Mel Gibson film. It was nice to go with hubby though.
DylMah
Mel - Yep, Mt Foldmore is washing. I always seem to have heaps everyday. I wash nappies every day, plus living up here, I have to wash towels at least twice a week, and my two seem to dirty clothes within minutes of having them on. Glad you seem to be feeling better today, and that you got some time with your DH. I'm pretty sure that one of the mum's from my DIG for Dylan is still on meds for pnd, so please don't worry if you are on them longer than you want to be. If they keep you functioning, I think it's a good thing.
bec8112
Evening all! I do not have much time tonight as I am so tired sad.gif did not get to relax until 9pm and am now ready to sleep.

Will try and come in tomorrow.

Anyone know when it is "normal" to start getting braxton hicks? I cannot remember when they started with Ethan but I had a few things today that may have been tightening sensations???? Got a midwife appointment at hospital on Tues next week so will have to remember to ask them!

Oh yeah I think Ethan is getting his 17th and 18th toothy pegs! He was super whingey tonight when brushing his teeth and we tried to look and think we could see 2 white buds popping up down the bottom. Also he has some nappy rash which he never gets!
themelster
Bec, I had BH from about 22 weeks. I had lots of them, for ages with Tom.
Small Potatoes
I had BH from 20 weeks with Will and about 16 weeks with Olly
bec8112
Thanks ladies, that makes me feel better!

I had a great sleep last night but did not want to get out of bed to come to work!

Mel - that is great you got to go to the movies, it will make you feel more like your old self when you and Mark can do things like that. Do you ever come up my way for work? Oh yeah Ethan loved daycare from Day 1 and really could not care less that he is being left there, he gets upset probably once every 6weeks or so but he loves it! He gets so excited to see me when I pick him up so I know that he has no attachment issues. I know that Tom is fine in regards to attachment, he loves you! He comes over and sits on your lap when you are sitting with him ( Ethan does not do this ).

Any MCN users - does anyone have and small or medium nappies ( girl or unisex ) that they want to sell? I am looking to get some but thought I would ask in here first. ( hopefully I am allowed to ask ).
Small Potatoes
Bec I have packed most of my unisex ones up. They are in storage and trust me if you have seen the space there is NO chane of getting them. I have one red itti in medium out (which I think is the one you sold me) and 1 christmas GF side snapping one out.

bec8112
Mands - did you want to sell them or keep them just incase??? What is the christmas one like and what size is it?

Also how many nappies ( sposies ) do you think I would need for a newborn for 3-4months until we go to MCN, do not think I will do MCN from birth as it would be alot harder I think. I box newborn and then see how it goes or should I get 2 boxes? Also I might try something other than huggies.
DylMah
Bec - I have some NB girly Green Bums and some girly small jam tots covers. Will take some posts some photos later so you can have a squiz.

House cleaning day to day. Urgh. Both kids have colds again, so hopefully they'll be pretty quiet while I do my thing.

BBL.
Fabulous
I've never had braxton hicks with any of my pregnancies, well not ones that I have actually felt or anything.

Bec- I'm actually putting up some nappies & covers to sell today in the trading room. I haven't finished uploading them yet but I will show you what I have so far. Actually I think all of the ones to come are boyish. http://s226.photobucket.com/albums/dd246/Sale33/nappies/
themelster
Bec - I've really no idea how many newborn nappies - my memory of those days isn't great! The furtherest north I come in my work territory is bracken ridge, so not up your way. I've sold on all my small and medium nappies too sorry!
~Annika~
Hey all!!! I've been MIA for a while again!

Had a lot on lately with Tyler starting Kindy which has been a little bit hard for him, unfortunately. He'll be fine soon though, it's just that initial saying goodbye and us leaving he gets quite upset and cries but after a little while apparently he is happy getting involved in the activities etc. Re. his poo's, well yesterday he had a few accidents at Kindy and went through all his own spare clothes from his bag so that the teachers had to lend him some clothes from Kindy that they keep there. blush.gif They just put his soiled pants in plastic bags I left in his bag and they sent them home for us to wash.

Bryce has cut another tooth so that makes 7 in total (very slow process), he is running around now so heaps more fun for Tyler to play with! They are so cute together chasing each other and playing hide and seek!!

My best friend from Kin Kin (between Gympie and Noosa QLD) has come over here to WA for a wedding (which she is doing the photography for) and is visiting us tomorrow staying with us for a few nights!! It's been 6 years since we have seen each other now and I am so excited!!!!! She is the tiniest thing and looks great after having 3 kids. She even did bikini modeling on catwalks after her first. Not a single stretch mark (how is that possible as her tummy was huge while she was pregnant - amazing!!) I am feeling a bit self-conscious ddown.gif as I am about 10Kg heavier than when she last saw me, and she hasn't changed a bit! unsure.gif Humf!!! That's just her body type though, can eat everything in sight and not put on a single pound. Grrrr!! Anyway, I do need to get out there and exersice more though, but really haven't had much motivation lately. She did tell me that she wouldn't care if I was the size of an elefant and she wouldn't judge me ever. But that doesn't really help my situation, I just want to lose that 10Kg and I would be happy!!! I did lose heaps after I had Tyler with WW (weight watchers at home) and felt really good about it, so I will need to just get in there and get re-inspired!

Take care all you lovely ladies!
DylMah
Annika - How exciting getting to see your bestie after all this time. Hope you have a ball together.

Bec - Here are the links to the nappies and covers. There are 5 nappies with 12 extra snap-in boosters and three lay in boosters (I got them free), and 3 covers.

NB nappies and small covers.
Small Potatoes
Bec I am happy to part with them as if I convince DH for a 3rd, which is kind of looking good, I will make some more. I'll try and take a photo today, if not then tomorrow, of the Chirssy one. It is a medium.

Annika Hope all settles down with Tyler and kindy. It can be quite traumatic for Mum to see the little one soooo upset. I hear you about skinny friends. I have one of those and every time we have lunch she is trying to get me to have a chocolate thick shake. I have about 8kgs to lose.

DH wants to go to Canada next year and was asking how old Will was when we went as that is a good age for a baby ohmy.gif to go.

We are also getting a photographer through the house today to take pics for listing it.

Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.