Fabulous
11/02/2010, 07:37 AM
Morning all,
Mands- how old was Will when you went to Canada? I suppose the preferred age would be before they can crawl and then not for the next 3 years.

Not long until our trip and I'm trying to not think about the flight at all because I don't want to get stressed.
Annika- enjoy your time with your best friend. I used to hate my stretch marks until I saw a thread on EB where people were showing piccies of theirs

and then I realised that I had actually been really lucky in that department. I'm envious of Tyler going to Kindy. All of Chelsea's playgroup friends have moved onto kindy and she is left on her own.
Mel- that's great that Tom is enjoying daycare.
Bec- I think my kiddies grew out of newborn nappies after 1 big box. With Jack I had heaps of size 4-8kg babylove nappies that I bought on clearance at woolies for $4 for a huge pack

and they lasted me for ages.
Hi to
Georgia and Nat.
bec8112
11/02/2010, 11:50 AM
Mands - sound like the baby issue with DH is getting more positive which is a great sign. A trip to Canada would be great! How did the photos for the house go? You will have to give us the link when it is listed so we can see how great it looks.
Ros - I will not take any of the nappies sorry!
Georgia - I have never heard of that brand of nappies. Are they NB or small? I only want to start MCN at about 3-4months with bub so do not want anything too small.
Annika - sounds like you have been busy, catching up with your old friend would have been great.
AFM - I went and had a look at the P&T sport today and sat Ethan in it too see how it was and it seemed ok. Also got the Big W Baby brochure in the mail today and there is a stroller in there that suits newborn/baby and toddler for under $300. Not sure of how it would stand up with the test of time though.
Small Potatoes
11/02/2010, 04:05 PM
Bec I wasn't here for the photo but our house looks amazing. So clean and decluttered. Will link when it goes live.
Ros will was 4 1/2 months old.
OMG. i went and saw that councillor/ thing I will put a link...
Empowered birth Australia. She did past life regression and hypnotherapy with me and OMG. I had memories of my birth and it was traumatic for baby me. I had memories of helping my sister, who was my actual sister with her two kids. I gave birth naturally in a lake to a still born baby girl and had a horrible on my back in legs birth. Then got to see what my next birth would be like and it was amazing. I feel so good and it was amazing. It was amazing. I feel like tension has been released in my neck and shoulders and my pelvis and hips. I am going again next Thrusday.
ETA: I know I can tell you ladies this as you won't judge and ridicule if you don't beleive it. You all seem to be very accepting of differnt outlooks and philosphies.
DylMah
11/02/2010, 07:42 PM
Bec - They are NB, so would be too small. The covers are small though.
Mands - wow, souns like an amazing experience. Going to check out the link.
Fabulous
12/02/2010, 04:42 PM
Afternoon all,
So quiet. Not much happening here. Have just rearranged my nappy stash so that I am only using pockets. Jack goes hysterical every time I try to change him, screaming and jerking around so the boosters get all jumbled up. Probably his worst nappy is the auriel because the long booster has to be folded twice. He also gets hysterical and stiffens up, arching his back when we try to put him in his car seat. Such a dramatic child

He has been like this for months.
Small Potatoes
12/02/2010, 04:47 PM
Ros Olly is EXACTLY the same. I am in the process of making heaps of pockets as DH prefers them, he also prefers front snapping so I have to save the auriel for me to use. My machine is in getting a service so his 2nd preference is pocket side snaps so they are at the top of the pile ATM.
bec8112
13/02/2010, 01:25 PM
Hi all!
Been around but not posting.
Out electrician failed to turn up! So annoyed! He did not even call, we called him and he said he double booked and he will try and fit us in next week so we told him to p*ss off and we are going to find another!
So we have 3 big holes in our walls that we started doing so the electrician could reach the wires easily so now have to live with that for a week or so! We also bought all the paint but we do not want to start that until the wall is done so we are just waiting waiting and waiting!
Mands - sounds like the meeting with the counciller was well worth it and sounds like you got alot positives out of it.
Mel - how are you? Hows work?
Ros - yeah sometimes Ethan is terrible at nappy change time but others he is happy to lay there and 'read' his book to me.
Annika/Sharna/Nat and anyone else I may have forgotten - HI!
I have joined up to NA forum and I am on the lookout for nappies, I bought some baby girl clothes so hoping that they are ok when they arrive.
I got my delivery from BBH and the Medium BBH petites looks so tiny, I have it drying now so will be interesting to see if it fits Ethan or whether it will go in the baby pile! I got a pink magicall and it is so pink and girly!
themelster
13/02/2010, 07:11 PM
Mands, that is so great that you got so much out of that session. What an incredible experience for you. I had a look at the website and specifically the "personal breakthrough therapy". I read Tamika's history and it was very inspiring. I think I need to see/speak to someone about my issues. Someone other than my doctor, although I should probably talk to her too. I just really feel that the bond between Tom and I has been damaged due to my PND. I'm not sure how to get that back. I wonder if they could help with that - probably not, the seem quite birth-centric, which is good. When will you see them again? Did you do it in person with someone? In Brisbane? Was it expensive? I hope you get just as much out of the second visit too. Don't forget to put the link to your house up when you can, so we can all have a sticky beak
Bec - Tom is still loving daycare. You know how you said he comes and sits in my lap? Well, he does that with everyone! The daycare lady said when they do story time, he has to sit in her lap.... So it's not just me. He'd come sit in your lap if you read him a book too!

Have you decided on a pram yet? What a PITA about the sparky - bit rude of him not to have even called. Sh*ts me with they feel like they have so much work that they don't need to even show some common courtesy. Either that or he is just very badly organised and forgot. I hope you find another one soon.
Annika - happy to see you back posting. It will be lovely to catch up with your mate. I know what you mean about weight. I really want to lose 5kg. It doesn't sound like much, but it is to me. I'm finding it really difficult and I truly think it is the medication. It has really increased my appetite. I hope Tyler settles into Kindy soon for you too. It must be traumatic for both of you. As for teeth, Tom only has 7 too - with some molars half way through.
We went and had a look at some houses at Samford today. I fell in love with one at Kobble Creek:
http://www.realestate.com.au/cgi-bin/rsear...p;tm=1266052080I'm not convinced I'm ready to make the tree change yet though. It's a long way out and I worry I would feel quite isolated and if Tom is going to be an only child, I'd want him to be near other kids - you know, play with other kids on the street etc. Plus schools etc. Plus, I'm not sure I want to sell our place - it may not be worth much now, but I think in years to come it will just keep increasing in value being so close to the city. But I guess land out there would too. Lots to think about. I think I am still leaning towards keeping this place and buying a little unit up the coast. It was lovely and peaceful out there. And Tom could have a pony. I could have a horse! I think I may be romantasizing it a bit......
Not much else happening here. Still no words from Tom

However he did pretent to talk into my mobile this morning - sounds like something so simple but I was so happy to see him do it! Crazy I know...!
bec8112
13/02/2010, 07:42 PM
Mel - that is so cute about Tom talking into the phone, Ethan puts it to his ear and makes strange faces but no pretend talking yet. I got an iPhone yesterday and still working out how to use it, it is so confusing!
Sorry no more time, really tired tonight!
themelster
13/02/2010, 08:12 PM
Tom was the same Bec - no actual trying to talk, just hding it to his ear!! Let me know if you need any iPhone tuition!
bec8112
14/02/2010, 07:42 PM
Evening all! Hope everyone had a good weekend and Valentines day ( if you celebrate it ).
DP and I do not do Valentines Day so just another day here! Been cooking mini quiches, cookies and a beef casserole for dinners. Mmmmm yummy.
Nothing much else to report, Ethan has been a bit unsettled going to bed the last few nights so not sure what is going on there.
DP is sick with a cold so he is miserable.
Back to work tomorrow

, work 1/2 day Tues as I have an Antenatal Clinic appointment so looking forward to that.
meeskamouska
14/02/2010, 08:04 PM
Evening Girls.
Not alot to report here. Steady day...week actually. DH goes back to work in the morning. I miss him but a big Yay to wave goodbye. We aren't the best match....lol.
Birth counselor thing sounds amazing!! What an experience.
Ceres - Sometimes i wish for AIO nappies..I find the booster thing a pain with CR now. WE've been thru the arching back thing at nappy changing.
Annika - wow...exciting to see your friend.
Can't think of anything else...bit tired. I've.got the flu & I've been a bit miserable with it.
Night.
Oh Mel - Did u have your app for the developement DR???
CR had her appoint for her feet. She has a slight club foot but its flexible & the DR thinks she'll grow out of it.... as its flexible. So yay. No shoes for her yet though. He reccomended to wait.
themelster
14/02/2010, 08:37 PM
Nat - it's not until April. Good news on CR's feet - that she will grow out of it.
Bec - we don't celebrate it here either. Good luck for your appt tomorrow!
~Annika~
14/02/2010, 11:05 PM
Hey girls!
Yeah, we don't do the whole Valentine's Day here either, Well, I had a card saved from ages ago so I wrote in it for DH today and gave it to him, he did really appreciate the words. Apart from that it was just another average Sunday.
Bec - Hope your DP feels better soon!
Nat - Even if you don't feel that you and DH aren't such a good match, you still have a lot in common in your children and life experiences, and he is company for you so off course you will miss him! I would too if my DH went away to work!
Mel - I feel a bit the same way about my PND interfering with my bond with Tyler, I do love him to bits but I distinctly remember not having any feelings towards him (this was before I knew what was going on when he was about 6 months old) and feeling completely empty inside like I had nothing to give, not even love! Here I had a BEAUTIFUL, PERFECT & HEALTHY baby in my arms, and all I wanted to do was hand him over to DH at every opportunity so I could have some space. It was so devestating and I felt extremely guilty for it as I knew I shouldn't be feeling that way AT ALL!! Re. my meds too, I think they are making it hard for me to budge some of my weight, some of the side effects of mine is fluid retention and increased appetite

plus I feel like my mood is pretty bland and flat, always even, no excitement about things like I used to have! I have decreased my dose to 1/2 now though so hopefully I can taper off them all together soon. I hate being on them and feeling like I am not in charge of me so to speak but relying on meds to keep me coping. Argh!
Mands - my solution to my hassels of dropping Tyler off to Kindy and struggleing with the good bye was just to get DH to drop him off instead and he doesn't mess around and feel sorry for him and pander to him like I do. I was trying to be strong and not show that it was affecting me, but I just kept feeling guilty and as though he felt that I was rejecting him by leaving him there. So I just needed the bad cycle to stop before it would become a real problem in the first place. Now he doesn't get upset at all!
Ros - what a shame Chelsea missed out by only weeks! Now she is the oldest at playgroup so probably will feel a bit lonely to start with, but hopefully some new parents will start going with kids her age so she can make some new friends! I am a bit sad actually that Tyler isn't going to Playgroup any more! I miss him there!! So don't be in a hurry for your kids to grow up, as before you know it they are off to college!!!!!
A BIG
hi to
Georgia and anyone else I may have missed, and
welcome to
Amanda!
Small Potatoes
15/02/2010, 11:51 AM
Here is
our house. Okay I ma freaking out. This is where my boys were born. They have only lived here
bec8112
15/02/2010, 12:07 PM
Mands - the house is great! I did not realise you had so much land where you are. Yeah I would be freaking out aswell but think of all the great memories you are going to have in the new house.
DylMah
15/02/2010, 09:24 PM
Mands - You've got a gorgeous house. I'm sure you will have no problem selling it.
Bec - Have you managed to find another electritian? The one you had booked sounds pretty dodgy.
Annika - You did more than I did for Valentine's Day. DH was home unexpectedly which was nice though.
Nat - That's great news about CR's feet. Do you have to do any physio type stuff with her feet?
Bec and Mel - I just wanted to say, I know how you are feeling about Ethan and Tom's speech, having been through it with Dylan (Mahalia currently says more than Dylan did at 2.5 years). I'm not going to give you the "it's a boy thing, he'll talk when he's ready" crap because that used to p*ss me off no end. If you really are concerned, start asking questions now (MHCN, paed), but be prepared to push it. It wasn't until I took Dylan to see the Children's development Team in August (not sure if they have similar where you guys are) that someone agreed that his speech was behind. I then had him assessed by a speechie in October who put him at 8 months behind. There was no cause for his delay, and when he was reassessed in December, he was only 2 months behind (he has been attending a therapy playgroup since september, no one on one therapy). I would say that now, he has fully caught up. I guess what I am trying to say is that it is possible that Tom and Ethan have speech delays, but, it may not necessarily be an indicator of something else. If you really are concerned, start asking questions now, as early intervention is the key. It may be there is no issue, it could be that Tom and Ethan aren't quite ready to start talking yet (which I think was the case with Dylan), it could be a hearing issue (and Tom and Ethan are not too young to have their hearing tested), or it could be something more serious. But trust your instintcs.
bec8112
15/02/2010, 09:36 PM
Georgia - yeah found another electrician, he is a pommy and seems like a nice guy. He has 3 boys under 5 so he understood when Ethan was whinging for his dinner while he was at our place looking.
Thanks for the info about the speech, I am going to have a chat with the GP at Ethans 18 month needles and see how he is going then. I will push if he has not improved any by then. I suppose it is hard when you do not know what is 'normal' for your child, Ethan has always seemed alot slower/more cautious than others his age so I think I am just hoping one day it will just improve and he will come out with words!
themelster
16/02/2010, 05:59 AM
Thanks Dylmah - especially for not giving me the "boys talk later" speil. It gets under my skin too. We have an appt with a developmental pead in April. Tom will be nearly 18 months then. If nothing else, it will put my mind at ease and if it is something, hopefully she will pick it up and we can work on fixing it.
Bec - is Ethan saying anything yet? Mama? Dada? Tom is still not saying anything.
Small Potatoes
16/02/2010, 06:05 AM
Mel & Bec Will's speech was behind and we got him a referral to a speech patholigist, but since he has been GF his speech has come along great guns. He had a hearing test done in November last year and his low range hearing wasn't very good. The general opinion is that he had a build up of mucus in his ears as part of his symptoms for CD and since then it has cleared. He is also getting more nutrition so that can't harm either.
MelTry not to stress. Just enjoy Tom the way he is until you see the people in April and take it from there. Olly has only just started saying a bit of stuff in the last week or two. Before that he didn't really say anything. He still isn't walking or standing yet. He has stood unaided 3 times and that is it. I am paranoid about his hips as I had bad hips when I was a kid, but I dare say I would have noticed something by now.
Bec I didn't realise we had so much land either

AFM. We have someone coming to look at the house this morning

So hopefully she will buy it - I know wishful thinking, but I am allowed.
Fabulous
16/02/2010, 08:36 AM
Jack doesn't say any recogniseable words yet but I think it's too early for me to start worrying. By 18 months I will be expecting more.
themelster
16/02/2010, 08:37 AM
Thanks mands - I am a worry wort by nature but I do really feel he should be saying things by now. Even just mama or dada. Have you seen anyone about Olly not standing? He bears weight on his legs though? Good luck with the house visit this morning!!!
Small Potatoes
16/02/2010, 08:40 AM
Mel No I haven't seen anyone. The paed said there would be delays due to him missing out on food when he was exclusively BF'd. Remeber he didn't put on much weight and his muscle development was poor as a result. He generally weight bares but not that often. If I try and get thim to stand he usually drops straight away even when I hold his hands. I am also going to wait till 18 months and see what is going on.
bec8112
16/02/2010, 09:01 AM
Seems like 18 months is the time when we will all be wanting answers!
I just 'hope' Ethan will be quiet and shy like his dad. Dave is one of the quietest/shy people I have ever met.
Cute thing happened this morning, Ethan does hand movements to 'Twinkle Twinkle Little Star' and I was doing the hand movements but not singing and he was singing for me, not actual words but a singing voice. It was so cute! They must have taught him that at daycare.
Mel - I think I have more reason to worry than you as Ethan is a whole month older than Tom
Mands - had Olly stood on his own again??? I worry about Ethans legs/hips as he was a breech baby and he is so stiff! His hips were x-rayed at 6 weeks old but was told they were all good.
What do all you ladies think of black nappies on little girls??? I was going to get some 2nd hand black ones and I am questioning if they will look ok on a girl, they are medium BBH so would last for ages!
Small Potatoes
16/02/2010, 09:05 AM
Bec I worry about Olly's hips just because I had hip dystocia and one of the risk factors is a parent with hip dystocia (or however it is spelt). But no-one seemed to concerned. My friend had all her children check because her husband's sister had 1 child with it. So diff doctors do diff things
themelster
16/02/2010, 09:06 AM
Thanks mands - I am a worry wort by nature but I do really feel he should be saying things by now. Even just mama or dada. Have you seen anyone about Olly not standing? He bears weight on his legs though? Good luck with the house visit this morning!!!
Fabulous
16/02/2010, 09:25 AM
How weird. Mel's post is apeearing twice for me.
bec8112
16/02/2010, 10:08 AM
Yeah Mels post is there twice for me aswell.
Small Potatoes
16/02/2010, 10:41 AM
A woe is me post. We have someone coming to look at the house in 20mins and I tripped and put a broom and my head through a window. Luckily I didn't even get a scratch (well a couple of minor ones). I am beside myself. DH is in Singapore and after him chastising me last week for not doing enough I clearly did too much today
bec8112
16/02/2010, 11:00 AM
Ah Mands that is terrible! I am sure that the person looking at the house will understand.
themelster
16/02/2010, 11:42 AM
Sh$t Mands, you are so lucky it was only some minor scratches. You could have really hurt yourself!!! I'm sure the person looking will totally understand - make sure you let us know how it goes.
Ros - does Jack say mama and dada? I'm sure I am working myself up over nothing.
Bec - I'd put black nappies on a girl. You could pair them with a pretty pink top. I think black and pink works well together.
I've no idea what happened to make my post appear twice - especially with a time gap. How strange.
Fabulous
16/02/2010, 12:14 PM
OMG Mands. Do you mean that you broke the window with your broom and head? At least your house would be too young to have plate glass. I just assumed that the window was open. I hope you are okay.
Mel- I think that Jack just babbles as in mamamama. I remember with Chelsea I was saying to DH that if her speech doesn't improve by the time she gets to x months then I will really worry and have to seek help. So of course just before she reached x months she had a language explosion.
Bec- yeah black is good on a girl. I bought 2 for Chelsea when she was young, a black dot minky itti and a black minky wriggleybumz. Getting that black dot itti back then (2007) was the equivalent of getting an auriel now, lol.
*red~deer*
16/02/2010, 12:20 PM
Can I join your group? I have a DD - Zoe who was born on the 17th of October 2008

- I would love to chat with some more mummies going through the same stages as I am currently.
Thanks!
themelster
16/02/2010, 12:32 PM
Thanks for the support Ros. I'm so glad I can chat with you ladies.
Red-deer - welcome! My DS it Tom and was born on 22nd Oct.
bec8112
16/02/2010, 03:24 PM
Mands - how did it go and how are you feeling?
Thanks for the replies about black nappies on girls. I think I will get them!
Midwife appointment went well, she was helpful in terms of chatting about the possibility of VBAC and giving support telling me that this bub might be different with BF and to wait and see how things go. I have an appointment booked for 1st week in March with the doc at the Antenatal Clinic and I am joining a study they are doing on premature birth and subsequent babies, I will know more when I see the doc.
Baby was playing hard to get with the doppler and she had to get the mobile scan unit to triple check, all is good though. Once bub was seen on scan it was kicking up a storm and doing backflips, then doppler tried again and got a 150bpm reading. Midwife thinks its a girl!
Forgot to say Welcome to Red-deer!
DylMah
16/02/2010, 08:16 PM
Mel & Bec - I wasn't trying to scare you about Tom and Ethan's speech. More wanted to let you know not to let people brush it off if it concerns you. Hopefully you have nothing to worry about though. A friend of mine (who told me who to see to get Dylan assessed) was concerned about her son, but kept believing "he's a boy, he'll talk when he's ready" that she kept getting told. He was close to 3 when she got him properly assessed. Turned out he needed grommets, and because waiting lists can be quite long for speech therapy (especially in the public system, and we only have one private speechie up here), her DS was around 3.5 by the time he started one on one therapy, and still needs it now that he is at school (I think he's 6 now). She pushed me to get Dylan assessed as she feels that if she had trusted her gut, his speech woulodn't have been so far behind. But I really really hope for Tom and Ethan, that you have nothing to worry about.
Bec - Mahalia has a black CK HB that was a hand me down from Dylan. It's sounding pretty positive for a girl. And it sounds like she's happy and healthy too. The premmie birth study sounds interesting.
Mands - How scary, lucky it wasn't more serious. Were the boys home with you? How did the viewing go?
red-deer - Welcome. My DD Mahalia was also born on 17th October.
I am getting so frustrated with Mahalia's tantrums. She is so bossy! She chucks a tantrum if she can't get into the pantry or fridge. And she's not actually after food, she just wants to play in there. And if I open the fridge or pantry to get something out, she is in there as quick as a flash, and then screams when I remove her. Tonight after bathing the kids, I took her toothbrush off her, and she chucked a major tantrum over that. As I was carrying her out of the bathroom, she tried to lunge out of my arms and grab the door. Talk about attitude, she's 16 months going on 16!
bec8112
16/02/2010, 08:29 PM
Georgia - Ethan sounds very similar to Mahalia in terms of tantrums!
Small Potatoes
17/02/2010, 05:30 AM
Georgia Olly is the same. MAJOR tanties. I can't remember Will being this bad. I generally try not to give in but last night I did and was making Will give Olly all his biscuits. Will was just gorgeous and whilst giving me a look of "I can't beleive you are making me do this" he handed over said items.
Ros It was 118cm by 143cm (I had to measure for windscreens O'Brien). The dude told me I was very lucky as the builder had scimped on the glass and put in 3mm instead of 5mm so it broke easier but that was good as that is why most of it fell away before getting me.
Red-Deer Welcome Olly is the 19th of October.
Bec Black can definitely work on a girl.
AFM neither of the people wanted the house (a second man came in when the REA was leaving to show the original lady the house). The lady wanted a bigger house but the land was great and the man wanted more flat, useable land but the house was great.