The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: July 2009 Parents #25

Essential Baby > Parents' Groups > Join a parents' group here > 2009

http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/forums/ind...howtopic=756911

~gaby~
brown-eyed girl
Hi everyone!

Welcome back Wendy, glad the move went well! Bummer about the grass though, hope you get that sorted.

Sarah
hubbymeand3
Hey all! Hope you have fun plans for the weekend.. I am having a facial tomorrow... woo hoo! Gaby you still want to catch up Monday? SMS me!

M
hubbymeand3
Had some very nice pancake lunch with Gaby and Liza... and watched the three big kids terrorise all at the pancake parlour while we sat with the quiet little men! Henry is so cute.. the most gorgeous big brown eyes! A great way to get out of the house!

Had a great facial on Saturday (although I didn't walk out supermodelish... darn!)... and a nice quiet weekend!

Hope everyone is well!

BBL - Lucas waking!
~gaby~
Yesterday was great to catch up with HM&3 and the kids. Lucas has grown so much & is just gorgeous. I love his big blue eyes. The 3 older kids enjoyed running roit in the pancake parlour! They were so loud, im pretty sure one of the waitresses was not impressed!

Oh and HM&3, if you look closely at Henry's eyes they're more of a hazel colour with a little bit of grey. It's very weird but looks cool

I haven't really been up to much. I've been staying at home a fair bit. The shops are just boring... never thought i'd say that laughing2.gif It's kind of nice staying at home though.

Henry is doing really well. He loves his food but not his vegies. Doesnt matter, he'll get there!

better go... henry is whinging
Sunshine~Kisses
Hi waves.gif
Sorry I have been a bit MIA lately, it has been so busy. I did actually do a post yesterday but by the time i tried to post it I had been logged out laughing2.gif and I couldnt be bothered doing it again.

Have had my brother, SIL and nephew here since saturday, they flew home (Hobart) yesterday. It was so nice to have them come and stay in our new house and the timing was perfect for them coming up.

House is great, I am very much in love with it. Miss Ruby is fantastic. Crawling everywhere and she now has 2 teeth wub.gif

Where is everyone?!?!?!

ETA - Pancakes, mmmmmm *drool*
hollysmama
hi all

I've been MIA too. Heading to brissy tomorrow. Mainly to see DH's dad as he hasn't met Holly yet. He's in a wheelchair so hard for him to travel. we're staying with SIL and we have to see MIL as well, his mum and dad are no longer together, so it's going to be a busy weekend.

wendy - glad you're enjoying the new house, soooo jealous! The bigger Holly gets, the smaller this house gets. She's got so much stuff and I have nowhere to put anything. And my scrapbooking takes up so much room and the office is chockers as well *sigh* oh well, hopefully soon we can afford a new one.

hm&3 - I had to look at your post twice then, I thought you said Lucas "walking" and i'm thinking what the?? laughing2.gif

connie - i hope all is going ok with your dad and it isn't too stressful, thinking of you all.

I can't believe how quiet it is in here now. Does that mean our lives are too boring that there's nothing to post, or that our lives are to busy that we dont' have time to post. I think mine is a bit of both.

Anyone thinking about having another baby? I'm not really, sometimes I want to, then other times I think, no way. I'm really hoping the answer will just come to me one day and I'll make a decision one way or another. I'm secretly hoping it will happen accidentally so that the decision is made for me ninja.gif

Sunshine~Kisses
Anyone there?? unsure.gif
brown-eyed girl
Hello original.gif

Debra, yes it has been crazy quiet here! I would like to start thinking about another baby, but it's not on the cards too soon.

Wendy, Glad the house is going well!

Pancakes - we had a pancake party here on Wednesday night! Mmmmmm yum!

I've got the inlaws here for a week, over from WA, and it's really nice to see them. I've had my hair cut short and I'm still getting used to it. I pretty much had no choice to get over two bad hair cuts! I'm meant to be starting study in about a week, which is kinda scary. I'll have to find my brain again!

How is everyone?

Sarah
hubbymeand3
quick one.. we have just got back online after the storms in Melbourne which saw 2 inches of water flow through part of the house.. it has been crazy trying to get things sorted for fixing.. no major probs after we got power sorted but have just had carpet ripped up for replacement.....

/back when I have more time!
hollysmama
OMG, I had the biggest scare yesterday. i felt the other day like I was ovulating (AF hasn't returned yet) as I was getting a pulling feeling on the right side of my abdomen. This actually went on for a couple of days. Then we came to Brisbane and we are staying with SIL. They only have full fat milk here, haven't had that in ages, and after my breakfast I started feeling really sick like I was going to vomit. I'm thinking, must be the full fat millk, it felt like it was curdling in my stomach. then I started thinking, sh*t, what if I'm pregnant! I felt sick ALL day and i was starting to think that pulling feeling was pregnancy. So I made DH come with me to the shops and i did a pregnancy test - BFN THANK GOD! I was starting to freak out big time! I felt ok today, but there was still that niggling feeling that what if it was a false negative. Anyways, I think it's time for some contraception because I am in no way ready for another baby! Perhaps it was just the ovulation that was making me feel sick, who knows!
hubbymeand3
Hollysmama: Guess that your scare answers for you whether you're ready for another one yet... (I can understand you being freaked!)... My closest are 20 months apart.. I was pregnant again when DS1 was 1... and can remember at 6-7 months thinking I wouldn't be up for another one for ages.. so it might change! I hope that you are feeling better soon... not feeling sick! I still have no AF.. but with DD (who I fed til 16months), it didn't return until after she went to one feed.. at around 14 months, so I am not looking any time soon! Hope you are having a lovely time in Brissie.
Sunshine: How was Tassie? Were you seeing your nephew? It would have been a nice change of weather! I bet you were itching to get home to your beautiful house!
Sarah: If you are back at study this week (and not next?) I hope it goes well. Baby brain begone! I bet you'll be fine and get right back into things!
Hi to everyone else (where are you all?)
AFM: a great weekend, saw friends, got heaps of washing done and am awaiting a building inspection tomorrow to look at damage to our house... hopefully all covered by insurance. DS1 is loving kinder (although it makes life busier!) and DD isn't missing him too much. Lucas is still not moving.. still no teeth! But loves his food and is generally happy... although another few crappy days after immunisations last week (Gaby, maybe your Dr has it right to space them out, we had 2 very average nights!).. better go and get some sleep...

Night!
mrsploppypants
just lurking in and out to say hi and see what everyone is up to wwhistle.gif
ccct
hi everyone!

sorry for extended absence...just so very busy with the boys, work, my dad's chemo etc. I feel very edgy at the moment, like if jsut one more thing goes wrong, i won't be able to manage.

Tom's had 3 colds in the last 3 weeks (since starting the nursery, so no surprise), and he's had some terrible sleeps - keeps coughing himself awake. Dad started getting some severe diarrhoea after his chemo, and he slot several kilos, but hopefully that seems to be settling now. DS1 started in after-hours school care on the 2 days that I work - he's not so keen on it, but he certainly likes school itself, so that's good.

My whole mouth has broken out in mouth ulcers, which is the pits. hurst to eat and talk, but not even getting any weight loss benefits from it.

Tom may be getting his top teeth, i'm not sure. he's acting like he's teething (only wants cold food, chewing on everything and won't let us near his mouth, and there are some lumps in his gum, but can't see any white bits yet. Are those lumps imminent teething, or have they been there all along?

HM&3: sorry to hear about the flooding, that's aweful. hope things get sorted soon for you.

Debra: ooh, what a scare. Definitely no more for us - i had a mirena fitted to avoid any such scares.

sarah: good luck going back to study.

wendy: congrats on the new house. how is your DS1 going at his new school now? I rememebr there were some initial difficulties.

have a good day,

Connie
Sunshine~Kisses
Connie hhugs.gif Sounds like you have alot on your plate at the moment. Gee those mouth ulcers sound nasty, must be from all the stress? I hope they settle down for you and I hope your dad is doing ok considering what he is going through. DS has settled in a bit more at school thanks for asking. Still hasnt made and firm friends but he is getting there I think. He has met a few kids in the estate that we live in and they invited him to be part of the gang/club yesterday laughing2.gif
Mrs P - Don't lurk woman, come in and post your/any news! It is way too quiet in here!
HM&3 - Your flooding sounds awful! I hope you get it all covered with your insurance. I didnt go to Tassie LOL, my brother and his fam came up here and visited. And yes, my little nephew (to my oldest sister) is doing pretty well. He is breastfeeding like a champ and I think he has reached the 1.8kg mark which is fantastic. He is also off all monitors. The pics of him are amazing, he is soooo small and so gorgeous wub.gif They have named him Tommy.
Debra - roll2.gif That would of scared the sh*t out of you!!I am the same though, I really need to sort some sort of contraception out I am just not sure which one to do. Did you have a nice time in Brissy?
Jands - Hope your having a great visit from you family. Post a pic of your haircut!! I want to get mine all cut off because it is soooo thick and it is so hot up here but I know for sure that I would look like a freak if I did, it just wouldnt suit me.

AFM - Ruby is going great. She is such a happy little bubba. She has serious attitude though! I think she is going to be one of those kids you see at the shops lying on the floor chucking a tanty nno2.gif
hollysmama
connie bbighug.gif sorry things are down at the moment. poor little Tommy, hope he is feeling better. Don't forget to take care of yourself during this time, I agree the ulcers would probably be from stress. I hope things pick for you really soon.
hm&3 I hope your insurance covers everything, didn't realise the rain was that bad! I'm feeling better now thank you, I actually think it was ovulation and it just took a while because i felt nauseas for a couple of days, who knows. Hope lucas is better now.
wendy sorry we didn't get to meet up, would have been great to meet you. We stayed in Springwood, and had to visit MIL who lives an hour away, then the next day had to visit FIL who was also an hour away, then the day after that, we were like, no more visiting! We just wanted to have a day in. It was nice to see them, but why does everyone have to live so far away. This is why I like Cairns, nothing is more than 15 minutes away. That's so cute about Ruby, hehe, Holly throws little tanty's too, it's very funny (I don't think I'll be saying that in about 6 months time though)
hi plops come and post!! everyone has disappeared!

I'm sure Holly has to be getting more teeth, her spit is getting out of control. She pulls herself up on the lounge and works her way from one end to the other, and the whole way is soaking wet from her spit! I haven't seen it this bad before.

I'm off to bed, just got home a couple of hours ago and I'm exhausted.
~gaby~
I've been reading. Just not posting... obviously rolleyes.gif

Connie, I get a mouthful of ulcers when im really stressed. They hurt so much. I hope things pick up for you though.

Debra, How scary for you! I actually feel like i don't want another baby. Im happy with what i have!

Wendy, Liza has always had attitude. I knew when i was pregnant with her that she'd be a handful. I was right! I hope Ruby isn't too much of a handful for you

Henry cut tooth no.5 on Sunday. No.6 tooth isn't far away either, once he's cut that one he'll have 4 upper teeth & 2 lower. He just cuts them with no trouble at all which is good.

Henry has just started vegies too. I've tried giving them to him, even with pears, but he always turned away. I started giving him jar vegies & he loved it. Over the weekend i gave him some home cooked vegies & he loved it. Im so happy! Henry loves his food.
froggyem
Hello
remember me? its been a while (oh prob about 6mths) eek

Elijah is doing great, crawling everywhere at 100 miles an hour. Sleeping pretty well overnight but not much during the day. He is down to 4 feeds a day now and has 3 lots of solids & lots of water. Am thinking of cutting another BF out soonish. He has 3 bottom teeth cutting at the moment!! uughh, they will be his first when they appear.
No mummum or dada yet... anyone elses' bubbies chatting yet?

Life has been busy for me, you probably remember I started Tupperware, well I am still going great guns with that, so that takes up a lot of my spare time as well as running my husband's business too.

I am going back to the docs this week as I was trying to kick the PND drug free but think i might need a bit of help sad.gif great to hear all the news on your bubs
I am going to try and update my siggy so you can see Elijah now

x
Em
Sunshine~Kisses
Hi Em, good to 'see' you biggrin.gif Good luck with the cutting of teeth, Ruby was so grizzly the days her 2 teeth came through. But it was only for the day and then they were out. Good luck with the DR's too, I know it can be hard going about PND but it feels good to finally be dealing with it IYKWIM
Gaby - Holy moly, Henry must be a champion teeth cutter! Well done on the vegies. I still mix pear and apple in with Ruby's tongue.gif
Debra - Sounds like you had a busy trip! Bet you are glad to be home. WOW, Holly walking around the furniture. Ruby stands up but keeps her hands touching the ground still, she pulled up on my legs the other day. Won't be long until she is cruising around I dont think.

It is so friggen humid up here I am so sick of it. I am just a constant sweat ball. DP came home today wub.gif he is sleeping as he comes off night shift. Be so nice to have him home for the next 10 days. His boys come this weekend and so are his parents so it will be a busy one!
hollysmama
no wonder Holly has been so spitty, i just noticed she has cut 2 top teeth, and I can see 2 more coming up on the bottom. She's been so good though, she's still sleeping really well. A friend's little boy has had 7 teeth for the last month and he's only 3 weeks old than our bubs!

wendy do you have air con in the new place? I have the air con at the moment, there is no way I could sit here without it, it's really humid here as well.

em nice to see you in here again. Sounds like Elijah is doing well, Holly is eating the same as him. I will also be trying to cut out one feed probably next month, it might be a bit hard though, she loves her milk! As for talking, Holly is saying ma ma, da da, blah blah, ya ya, ba ba, I'm sure you get the gist happy.gif Good luck with going drug-free, I hope you have plenty of support.

gaby way to go on gettin Henry to eat his vegies. I'm trying to think up new recipes for Holly's dinner, she's getting a bit sick of the same old vegies. I've never been much of a cook - any ideas anyone??

AF returned today, yay glare.gif at least I know for sure now that I am NOT pregnant!
~gaby~
Debra, I cooked up some carrots & added couscous. You can add that to anything though! Have you tried Holly on meat yet? I used to give Liza a decent chunk just to suck on
hubbymeand3
Hi everyone!

The storm damage was minor, a few toys, carpet to one room and a couple of power points needed fixing... it is just a bit of a pain. Waiting now on the carpet to be replaced, but given what others have experienced, it's nothing!

Lucas is starting to turn in circles and try to hitch up one knee, i think he wants to move... I don't think I want him too, the cleaning after the other kids will commence in earnest, with the lego, little cars, little bits that seem to get stuck everywhere?!?! Ah the joys of cleaning (NOT!)

He is eating up a storm, loving vegies (although everything seems to wind up orange!) and fruit. I have given him a bit of yogurt and after reading Gaby's post might try a little cous cous. When can we do tomato? I was wondering about mixing tomato and zucchini for some variety...

Hollysmama: Poor Holly with the teeth. Lucas still has none... Glad you had a nice trip to Brisbane! LOL at your comments on the traffic.. you should try Melbourne!

Wendy: How's the new house? Hope DS makes some good friends soon.. he will soon fit in I'm sure! Ruby sounds amazing.. I can't imagine Lucas moving so fast! Livewires are fun!

Gaby: I am craving pancakes! He he he. Glad you are having luck with the veggies... Lucas has been loving pumpkin soup... might be worth a try!

Em: Glad the Tupperware is going well... sorry you aren't feeling 100 percent yet.. might be worth seeing your Dr and finding out how good you could be doing?

Connie: Mouth ulcers, how horrible.. I hope they clear up soon. Sounds like you might need some more rest (not so easy though) I hope that your Dad's chemo improves and that you can feel a little more settled very quickly!

MrsPP: What's news with you?

Sarah: Hope the study is fun!

By for now.. off (again) to Torquay this weekend, weather is going to be awesome, and DH is doing a 50km bikeride on saturday miles away and playing a big social cricket match on Sunday... so I figured I might as well hang with the parents!

Oh, and how cute, my Grandma was 95 this week... still living at home and although she's slowed a fair bit in the last 6 months, pretty good in my book!
aaak
Hi all, I have been reading but not posting also. Only because I don't really have much to say really.

Sienna is doing really well, she is standing up by herself now. She only learnt to do it last week but once they figure something out you can't stop them. She can walk if you hold her hands, I wouldn't be surprised if she is walking before her birthday. Can you believe that she is 8 months today, how fast has that gone? I can't believe it, only seems like yesterday she was being born.

We had a big scare with her last week, one of the kids left a packet on the floor and Sienna was playing with it and she managed to rip a piece of it and it got stuck in her throat. She was really choking and gagging, DH grabbed her a started hitting her on the back really hard and he had to do it a few times and I stuck my fingers right down her throat and managed to just get hold of it and pull it out. It was pretty frightening, the kids were freaking out and were quite scared. It just goes to show how easily it can happen, it was a good lesson for the kids as they now know why I'm always telling them not to leave stuff lying around.

Sienna isn't really saying anything that we could be sure was a definite word, we're always saying words to her, both DH and I keep coaching her to be first word she says. But so far no luck. It'll probably be dada, it's usually their first word. She has still only got her two bottom teeth but is chewing on everything and has had a couple of grizzly days so I'm sure that she'll be getting some more teeth soon.

I make up a chicken and vege puree mix for Sienna. I got it out of a heinz book, it's chicken breast boiled in a bit of water and mixed vegetables, you can put any sort of veges you like in it and then I put it all in the blender and puree it. I have also tried her with a bit of browned mince mixed with a bit of water to soften it. I was wondering about trying her with mince mixed with a bit of raguletto tomato but wasn't sure if she's ready for that yet. The sauce has herbs & spices in it, I thought it might upset her tummy. But you could do the chicken puree with any sort of meat I think as long as it's pureed. I make it up and freeze it but it can be a bit dry so I just mixed a bit of formula in it. I have been trying to do some baking for the kids lunches, things are getting so expensive these days we just can't afford to feed them! I have been making muffins and popcorn for their snacks which are cheaper than buying packet foods and bars etc... They actually really love it and it's cheap so that's great, I made a banana cake today.

It's really humid here too, I have the air con on nearly all the time. I can't stand the humidity, I am also a constant ball of sweat. My hair has been driving me insane, it isn't really long just below shoulder length but I just can't stand having it on my face or neck, it's just so hot. I'd like to cut it short but I'm not sure if it'd suit me and DH doesn't like the idea. I have been walking the kids to school in the morning and even at 8am it's hot. I was going to the gym but I was getting bored with it and I didn't really want to leave Sienna in childminding 3 mornings a week so I decided to start walking the kids to school instead. Sienna sleeps really well in the pram, sometimes I think that she sleeps better in that than the cot. We are out so much that some days that's the only time she gets to sleep. People can't believe how well she sleeps in it, our kids do a lot of sports and my boys do little athletics so some weekends we are out all day and she sleeps in the pram for a couple of hours sometimes.

I have started helping out in the kids classes with reading and things, they are happy for me to bring her so I am happy to be doing that. It gives me something to do and I can also spend a bit of time in their classes to see what they're up to. I also started playing tennis last week, I haven't played since I was a kid but I thought I'd give it a go. I was quite surprised that I wasn't as bad as I thought I'd be and I really enjoyed it. Sienna was good while I was there, she slept through the first two games so I am hoping that she'll keep that up so I can keep playing. I like that she is so adaptable so that I can generally take her anywhere I go, it means I don't have to rely on anyone else or worry about her being disruptive.

I'm sorry that I don't ever reply personally to anyone's posts, I can always remember what everyone has been talking about but not exactly who said what so I just do a general post to reply to what everyones been talking about, it's easier than going back and re-reading everything all the time. Hope that's ok.

Anyway, that's about all from me for now. I'll post again next time I have some news to talk about.

waves.gif Andrea

funkymumkey56
Sorry for being so slack, MIA for last couple of months really. cool.gif
Life gets so hectic at this time of year, hasn't really slowed down much.
WE just had our house inspected by council for building approval and pretty much all clear once we install another smoke alarm. A huge weight off our shoulders.
Elijah is comando crawling everwhere, playing with all of his big brother's toys and finally liking solids! He has three teeth, the top left tooth gave him trouble and meant less sleep for all of us. I believe the other top one may also be on its way.
Taking my big boy Abs to speech pathologist to check his speech development, he has a slight delay in his talking and just to ease my mind.
I ended up buying a new pram too, a side by side, I got the Babyjogger City mini and love it! I get a lot of people asking whether they're twins I think coz Eli is so big, only 1.5 kg lighter than Abs. They seem disappointed when I tell them they're not and then they have a hard long look at them both then say oh i just thought that because of the pram????...Exactly the same each time. dry.gif ..anyhoo
Take care.
brown-eyed girl
Hi everyone!

We had a nice week away last week... but Jonas didn't sleep well at all. He's gone back to waking up every 3 hours at night, he's grumpier than usual during the day, and his sleeping has improved since we got back but still not great. He's rolling around a lot in bed, he still sleeps better if he's wrapped but he rolls around and gets out of it so it's not working real well. It's all a bit tiring.

It's my first official day back at uni today. I'm going in to see my supervisor and I'll stop by and say hi to my friends (they have offices there). So I'll only be in around 2 hours. It's quite daunting, but Í'm sure it will be fine!

Sorry I haven't got time to respond to people individually. Hope you're all doing well.

Sarah
hubbymeand3
Hi everyone, quick drop through.. will be back later for personals!

We are all ok, Hope you are too!

M
mrsploppypants
iya

all busy here too. katie is rolling every where and is finally enjoying everything except apples now lol. she reacts to mango and baana though so we steer clear of those-a shame because banana is soooo easy to feed them with. still breast feeding here although we ahve introduced a bottle at tea time with daddy so my boobies can hae a break. i have 2 kids at school now and 2 at home. going to the gym but very unmotivated and spend a lot of my time swimming slowly in the pool and relaxing in the sauna hahahaha.katie is still waking at least once a night but having said that we did get a fullnight's sleep off her on sunday-shame the rest of kids were up and sick so i was feeling very sleep deprived yesterday.

hey ho everyone...will try and pop in on a more regular basis.....honest lol

take care now

plops
hubbymeand3
Still getting into the kinder groove... and we've had an intermittent electrical problem (power switching on and off) for the last week which has been driving me quietly insane...

Lucas has been getting overtired (waking at 3pm and not going to sleep until 7pm..) and waking repeatedly through the night... I'm exhausted and it means DH doesn't want to go out at night this weekend even though it's my birthday... he doesn't want to stress the babysitters, which I understand, but it would be nice to get out.... I'm going to try to con my parents into coming over and we go somewhere really local.... we shall see.

Lucas is doing well otherwise, loving food, still BF (still won't take formula.. how'd you get Katie to do it Plops?) and spinning in circles trying to move but not getting traction. He is getting rather frustrated to I am wondering if he might move soon. I weighed him on the weekend (on adult scales)... he's about 9.5kg... DS was that at 12 months, DD not until after 12 months! He's so big (7 months!) insane...

Everyone else is good... just cruising.

Connie: How's your Dad? How's Tommy going at nursery? DS1 settled at school?
Hollysmama: Have you got any more teeth up there?
Sunshine: Has DS made some more friends? I hope he is liking his new school.. and you are loving the new house!
Gaby: How are things your side of town? I am loving this gorgeous weather...
MrsPP: Must be nice with 2 at school.. I am liking 2 at home 2 mornings, with kinder.
5ku7: How are you guys? Has everything settled in your street?
Sarah: Hope you are having fun back at uni!

I wonder how Kylie is going with her pregnancy? I have some yearning for another and then I remember how old I am..
Sunshine~Kisses
Hi guys waves.gif

Just got home from dropping DP at the airport. He is gone for another 11 days ddown.gif Now that we are in our own home, the time is flying when he is here! He has put up one side of the front fence and it looks fantastic. He will do the other side when he is next back, and we have saved some more money wwhistle.gif
Got our new blinds in today, they are mocha and look fantastic. They blend in so well with all the other earthy colours in our house.

Ruby is going great. Went to the health nurse yesterday as I hadnt taken her since xmas eve when she had her needles. She is 7.9kg and 70cm long. She is doing so well, eating pretty good. Full of babbles and loves saying mum mum mum all the time wub.gif She has also been sleeping thrugh the night for a while now and it is just such a great thing LOL. She is crawling everywhere and into EVERYTHING! She loves to crawl into the bathroom and play with the mat and also the laundry and sits and looks out the screen door tongue.gif She is also pulling up on things and quite often just sits in the middle of the floor in a squatting position so it wouldnt surprise me if she just stands up that way one day.

Those on the bottle, how many mils are your bubs having per day?? Ruby only takes between 600-700mls a day adn the health nurse tried to tell me that they should be having 1000ml ohmy.gif I argued that with her and then she changed her tune and said what Ruby i s having is fine and she looks fantastic and keep going as I am rolleyes.gif

Anyway, will go back and catch up on everyones news. Now that DP has gone back to work it is a little quieter around here cool.gif
~gaby~
Wendy, Henry is having between 540ml - 690ml. Some days he has 3 x 150ml bottles with a 90ml roll over feed. Others he has 4 x 150ml & a 90ml rollover feed. Most days he has 3 solid meals.

HM&3, Things are good over here. The weather has been nice. Not too hot but not too cold either. Lucas is doing really well, I can't believe he's 9.5kg ohmy.gif
Sunshine~Kisses
Hope everyone is having a nice weekend.

I am sick with a sh*tty head cold and feeling very sorry for myself bbaby.gif DS was nice enough to share it with me, I am hoping and praying that Ruby doesnt get it.
ccct

Just a quick one.

Tommy's top 2 teeth are coming through, and as a result, his poos are toxic!! Poor little mite has a very red bum.

Wendy: we've dropped our dream feed now as he was only taking about 40mls at that last feed, so we now give 3 bottles, and he has between 500-600ml a day. if we get to 500ml, we're happy. my clinic nurse said to stop adding up how much he drinks now, as it doesn't matter once he's having 3 solid meals a day. we have calcium in yoghurt, cheese and cow's milk with brekkie, and iron with meat, and fluid with water, so I think we've got bases covered.

have to go, am at work.

BBL,
Connie
~gaby~
I had a friend over this morning. She asked how many teeth Henry has now & i told her 6. I also told her i don't think his lower teeth will be coming any time soon. As im saying this i feeling Henry's gums. Sure enough, he's just cut tooth no.7 ohmy.gif I honestly had no idea he was cutting another tooth. He didn't have any nappy rash or anything
hubbymeand3
Hi everyone!

Nice to "see" you Connie! How long has Tommy been having milk at breakfast? I have been wondering if I can stop with the baby cereal and just give Lucas Wheat Bix and milk (I can't be bothered expressing or buying formula just for breakfast)... maybe I can start now! I hope he feels better soon... not fun having teeth making you bottom sore!

Gaby
: At least you didn't notice Henry getting the last tooth.... surely that's the best way! Lucas is still a gummy wonder and I cannot see that changing any time soon... I can see outlines of teeth in his gums but cannot feel the slightest bump!

Sunshine: Must suck seeing DP off for such a long time... I miss mine when he's missing overnight (or even, dare I admit when he gets home late!).

HollysMama, JandS everyone else HI!

I had a lovely weekend, had my birthday and was well spoiled... had a nice steady stream of visitors and messages through the day to make me feel special and enjoyed plenty of cake! Can't believe its come and gone again... where is the time going! It is flying at the moment!

Anyone got exciting plans for Easter? I think we are going to be doing lots of gardening!
ccct
Happy Birthday HM&3!!

Sorry I missed it..have been absent from here and miss all the details! Glad you had a good day. Mine is next Monday (turning 41, arrgh).

As for the milk, i've been giving him cow's milk for brekkie with weatbix since aged 6 months - my clinic nurse said it was OK, so i went for it! it took him a while, but he eats a whole brick now, and seems to be keen on it. i occasionall mix things up and give him some commercial cereal/oats from a jar, just so he doesn't get sick of the msae thing for breakfast every day.
and I know exactly what you mean about missing hubby - mine will be late home tonight -s tuck at work, and I am NOT looking forward to it at all!

DS1's birtdhay part coming up in a couple of weeks - inviting the whole of his class (trying to secure him some friends, haha) and we're having it at a play centre. hope it goes well.

Connie
Sunshine~Kisses
Has anyone here had a late period, a negative preg test but HAS been pregnant? ph34r.gif
hubbymeand3
Sunshine, Yes..... with DD I think I did the first test too early... retesting a couple of days (maybe 3 or 4) saw a positive come up.....
Sunshine~Kisses
Edited.

I just got my period wink.gif
mrsploppypants
biggrin.gif sk

went for jabs today. miss weighs 10.4kgs and is 77cm long. a fair chunker for sure lol. but she is not fat iykwim? she is definately solid. once again the nurse queried the fact that she was breast fed...sigh....and yes i was feeding her a balanced meal not tubs of lard each feed...sigh...

happy birthday hm&3

ccct-we have been using cows milk for ages too wiht our weetbix. katie eats almost 2 bricks for brekkie with pureed fruit

gaby-7! that's awesome. katie has 2 tiny ones on the bottom poking out and i can see the next 2 bulging in her gums ready to come too.
Swahili
Hi guys! Good to read up on all of your news...I've been very slack with posting, have had a rough few weeks with the kids and DH, feeling overwhelmed, tired, angry etc etc. I started working one day a week last week and I think that helps. I'm just not cut out to be an exclusively SAHM for years on end- it does my head in. And then I feel guilty because the kids are only little for such a short time etc Still, I think just one or two days a week is enough for me to have a break from the ground-hog dayness of it all and re appreciate being with the kids when I'm home. Does anyone else feel the same?

Oliver is doing great, crawling everywhere and pulling himself up to stand. He can stand using a cardboard box for support and then pushes the box and takes a few steps while he is holding onto the box! It's amazing to me because Lily never crawled and took ages to walk. He doesn't have any teeth yet, which I'm kinda glad of, as he still breastfeeds so often.

Sorry, no personals, I'm really tired and have to go to bed. I'm sure a big part of my problem is chronic tiredness- I don't think I've slept through the night in well over 3 years!!

Apologies for the whinge!
hubbymeand3
Hi Swahili, welcome back! IKWYM about being tired.. it feels like someone always wakes up in our house at night and Lucas is waking once or twice for a feed.... I am trying to feed him more during the day but he gets so distracted!

MrsPP/Connie: Lucas had his first wheat bix this morning with milk... looked a little funny at first but it seems ok! Thanks for the tip...

Gaby: Hope your teething settles down soon... is Henry still just rolling? Every time I think Lucas might have worked out how to crawl.. nothing. He has started pushing himself backwards though!

Hi everyone else!

We had a painful day yesterday. DS1 and DD were playing on the trampoline while I brought in washing.. All of a sudden I hear DD crying and holding her arm. She's hurt it before so I was pretty sure it was a pulled elbow. Packed the three into the car (with my roast lamb in the oven...) off to the Dr's only to wait about an hour before DH arrived after work. He took her to the Children's hospital where it was fixed in a flash and she's fine. I went home with the boys for dinner (it was 6pm) and hung out with MIL (who I'd invited for a roast and who wound up cooking all the veg and gravy for us!). DD is ok today but I'm still mad about the lack of service at the Dr's. Next time I'm heading straight for the hospital.

Better go and do some work...

M
~gaby~
Henry is just rolling but he has also started rocking so i think he may want to start crawling soon
hubbymeand3
I think I might see the start of a tooth coming through for Lucas on the bottom.. which could explain why he has been waking so much at night lately. I'm hoping that's it and it's not just a bad habit of waking, cause I am exhausted. Last night, 9.00, 11.30 and 3.30.... night before 9 and 1, he's been waking about 9 for a week and I don't feel like I can relax.. hope its teeth which might mean it will settle down.

Just wanted to quickly drop by..
~gaby~
Henry saw the MCHN this morning. He now weighs 8.2kg & is 68cm long. He only grew 2cm & gained 755gm in 2mths! He is on the 15th percentile for height & weight though, so at least he's in porportion!

HM&3, I hope Lucas is getting a tooth. At least then there's a reason for his waking
Sunshine~Kisses
Gaby - The percentile charts must be so different for boys and girls (haven't really looked) Ruby is pretty much 8kg now and is only just slighty under the 50th percentile and she is 70cm long and around the 75th percentile for height. My health nurse told me she is going to be long and lean. Def doesnt take after me then!!
HM&3 - Good luck with the tooth popping through!!
Sam - I am usually pretty tired too, but I have had an awful cold all week which has wiped my energy levels. Ruby is sleeping through really well so at least I am getting decent night sleeps.
~gaby~
Wendy, The percentiles are different for boys & girls. Plus i use the WHO growth standards, not the ones in the back of the baby healthy book
brown-eyed girl
Hi everyone!

I've been busy getting stuck back into study so I haven't been around too much, sorry!

Teeth - none here, still a complete gummy!

Night waking - once is normal, but some nights it will be twice or more. I think last night it was three or four times, not sure cos it all blurs together hehe. But I think Jonas is not 100% and I think it's affecting his sleeping. He just sounds a bit snuffly.

Growing - I'll probably take Jonas for a weigh and measure in a couple of weeks. The last proper one was at 6 month. MPP how silly that they advise you to stop breastfeeding! I haven't come across that. Gaby, are you feeling comfortable with Henry's weight? It sounds good to me original.gif

Sam - I think that's great that you're working a bit and enjoying mum-time more original.gif

The study's been going pretty well but it's a little daunting trying to fit everything in! I think it will take a couple of weeks to settle into a new routine.

Hope you're all doing well

Sarah
~gaby~
Sarah, I am happy with Henry's weight. He's in porportion with height & weight. Neither DH or I are big. Im 5ft 5" & DH is about 5ft 8", so we're not tall nor big weight wise. I really don't think Henry will be a big boy!
Sunshine~Kisses
Gee it's a happening group in here laughing2.gif
Gaby - Hope your having fun camping!
Sarah - Hope the study is going well, how is the BFing going now? Did you end up selling your herbs?

DP is home tomorrow ddance.gif missed him heaps. Been a very boring lonely week. It has rained every single day for over a week. Today was the first day that I could actually venture outside for a walk with DS and DD.

How are the melbourne people going after that big storm you had? Looked nasty!

Ruby slipped over this morning and smashed her face into the tiles cry1.gif it was so awful and there was so much blood coming out of her mouth. She screamed and screamed. From what I could see she split the middle part of her top gum ddown.gif
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.