The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: September 08 Parents #150

Pages: 1, 2, 3
beaglebaby
Oh Seepi, sorry, I had to laugh at DD, that is the kind of thing my DD would do - then she'd tell me it was my fault! I hear you on the house trashed bit too, the friend who has looked after mine a couple of times recently now knows why my house is always a mess.

Triny, tell DH to stay in Sydney until he's better and keep his germs to himself!!

Sarina, they are opinionated little people aren't they! Lucas wants to have a toy all the time now when he's eating. The only way I can get dinner into him is to give half finger food that he likes and half in the bowl and spoon it in as he tries to shovel his finger food in, otherwise he just pushes the spoon away, or if I give it to him throws the bowl over the side. Frustrating!

Ali, I'm the same re. childcare, none of mine have gone. I sent DD to 3yo kindy, which just goes for 2 1/2 hours a session once a week which she loved, but was pricey at $25 a session - even after they'd given us a list of supplies to provide.

Key, I saw you there, I've been sending "don't quit" vibes to you all day!

Cassi, I seem to remember somewhere seeing an article on general anaesthetics affecting mood, maybe your DH has been affected by that. I hope he's back to himself quickly.

Tweedy, good luck on the sales.

DD starts school tomorrow, so I've been labelling and preparing. It should be very exciting. I've got so much to do during the day, poor Mum is going to be sleeping in the spare room surrounded by boxes and furniture! I don't think I've got time to sell my baby swing, rocker etc. before then so I've got to find somewhere to store them.

Still in limbo over DH's treatment, I think that means it's all still on track to start Monday. I'm trying hard to be strong and capable, but tears are never very far away, I spent half of playgroup crying yesterday. Once people know and I don't have to say those horrible words I'll be OK.

Sleeps - I'm trying to move Lucas to one long sleep, he does better with 2, but it just doesn't work well with school pick ups. I'll have to remember to turn the phone volume down, today was the second day in a row it's woken him, and I'd been asleep today too when it rang.

Might try to get to bed at a decent hour tonight, I need it!
bellygood
Morning girls! Have to weigh in on the dinner debate. Ivy is also hit and miss. Brekkie: weetbix, no worries. Then a big play, then morning tea (milk, banana). Then she conks out for her nap for 2hrs, waking at 2pm. This is where it goes downhill. She won't eat much for lunch - perhaps half a cup of pasta shapes or half a sandwich. Afternoon tea same as morning tea. Come dinner, some nights she'll hoe in (but never more than 1/2 cup), others she'll just play with it. I am sure she is getting enough milk and carbs, but not sure about fruit, veg or meat... fruit she probably sneaks over the line because of snaces, but veg and meat? Surely not enough. The other thing is water: she drinks milk only, from a sippy cup. I might start giving her sippy cup of milk with meals only, and water in between. WDYT? Perhaps she's filling up on milk + that's why dinner is so patchy?
tweedy08
Morning all!

Had a shocker night here with Tilly! Dont know exactly whats wrong though sad.gif She is carrying on like she does when she has had any sort of dairy but she has had none. I did get her some of those Uncle Toby Fruit Fix things yesterday so waiting to am going to email them this morning to find out if there is dairy hidden in there somewhere. I couldnt see it listed in the ingredients unless I misread them. Only other thing is something in them doesnt agree with her. They are Strawberry, apple & grape flavour so maybe the strawberry? Changed the most disgusting smelling poop ever so something she has eaten isnt agreeing with her.

on the topic of Tilly....she has a new fear....the vaccuum cleaner....lol. I was out in the kitchen making lunches when I heard it come turn on......she started crying, a real fearful cry....I came running in to find her standing over the other side of the room wanting to get past but wasnt game enough too.....was quite funny actually. I have now had to move the vaccy out into another room as she wont go near it.....haha.

Dinner - we are hit & miss here too. Sometimes she has it othertimes she isnt interested. I am not to worried about it at this stage since she has a bottle at bedtime anyhow. one thing the dietician did tell me is to limit her milk intake to no more that I think it was around 800mls a day otherwise they are filling up on that instead of what they should be. that was when she was drinking over a litre a day though and could have also been her weight that they wanted her to slow up? She now has milk in the morning, at lunch then bottle at bed...if she wakes through the night I make her up another nice warm milk bottle & that usually settles her for the rest of the evening. Just remember a baby wont starve themselves & they will eat if they are hungry original.gif 1 thing I have found though is that if I let her feed herself she is fine but if I try to feed her she wont have anything to do with it. She is getting clever with her fork wink.gif. a nice filling dinner too...pasta & veg with some meat chop through it......tilly loves it & it takes bugger all time to make. Best thing...she can feed herself wink.gif

Beagle - Hope they can get things happening soon for your dh. Thinking of you

Seepi - House trashed...yep I hear ya! I had it so nice yesterday just for it to be trashed within 10 mins of tilly being home! I wonder why I bother sometimes.....lol.

Wet & raining here. Was a bit chilly but now its jsut getting muggy sad.gif Feeling for DS atm since he has to walk to school in it. I would keep him home but he takes enough time off usually during the winter if he gets sick.

Best be off....Tilly is into the dvds again.......my god I am over her pulling them apart....I think they can be moved......but I have no where else to put them sad.gif
cassi8

yyes.gif to the food dramas. I offer it, vegies first then meat which he still doesn't eat much of and if he doesn't want it then he goes without and try again in another hour or so provided its not bed time. Most of the time he will eat it but the last few nights he is a bit over tired and takes him a bit to get started. I know he won't starve and will eat it if he is hungry like tweedy said. I found N loves meatballs with a little tomato pasta sauce wink.gif

Beagle - thanks for that info, I didn't think it would last so long though. I gave him a nice massage last night so he got a better nights sleep and is feeling better this morning. He has tomorrow off work as well which will be good for him.

Tweedy - laughing2.gif on the vaccuum, poor poppet! N was terrified of it as well. We have since spent time with him and showing him it won't hurt. He will walk up to it now when its off, doesn't like to be near it when its on but isn't terrified like before. I hope you find out what has given her the tummy ache, could it have been something from CC?

Ok better get back to work, I have stuff to do today!
tweedy08
Cass - usually if she gets into anything they let me know. They are pretty watchful of her though. I was just reading back on her notees from the pead....she said no strawberries as they are on the allergy list or somthing & they mentioned strawberries being a no no on her list of food she isnt allowed until after her 18 month check up. although I am sure she ahs had them before fresh.......hmmm. Still waiting to hear back from nestle who now own uncle tobys! So much for the get back to me immediatly msg!

She seems ok atm. I have braved it & put her in cloth although I know I will prolly regret that decision should she poop again.....haha. Might give her some colic relief & see if that helps. She is so grump today! I am just tired.....she was worse than a NB baby!! Who needs contraception.......ROFL. I even put her in bed with me & hubby but that ast all of an hour..so put her back in her cot. Every hour she woke uup & when she did finally decide to sleep it was time to get up! She has been up since 6.30....maybe she is tired too! sleep time in around an hour so I think ill go down with her today!
ellangel
Did I not say a month or few weeks ago, as this is the age when they can become terrible fussy eater? They are just testing you guys. Just keep offering all the right foods and spread out the filling up of milk in between meals and all will come together. Frustrating I know.

DD1 home from school today so there goes my nice playgroup morning at the playcentre with just Holli. DD1 was up 1-4am coughing and coughing. Vapouriser worked in the end. But then she woke H with the coughing and she then thought it was time to party in her bed!!! grrrrrr....
ALL females in the house having a sleep after lunch.

Vacuum - yes, have to give H some warning if its going to be turned on.

Tweedy - hope Tilly manages to settle down today.

Holli laughs her head off at PINGU!! it is sooo funny
key4
Oh Seepi the poor cake! She was just trying to be helpful original.gif I am not sure that would be able to be saved though! Niamh has decided she loves helping in the kitchen putting the pasta in the water etc so now we have to add it to cold water rather than boiling but still works!

Sharon - I hope you are feeling a little better today, there is nothing worse than feeling down and not knowing what is the cause of it all. Sometimes you just need time so try not to be too hard on yourself if you are still having a bad day.

Ali - Yucko to the pooplosion! My lil tike is so tired when she gets up in the morning it can be a struggle to drag her out until 10! She usually gets up around 6.30 to 7 and bed at 7pm at night.

Blondie - Hope that second interview goes well. I discovered a pharmacokinetics book at work yesterday (that is all the math end of drug distribution) no one is using so I am $150 richer very happy! I really needed it to answer a question in this assignment.

Beagle - the big "C" word is terrible. I personally like the remission word better! One of the guys who was a patient at hollywood got that lance armstrong book to read whilst he was having treatment and he found it to be inspirational for him. I was almost going to buy it for your lil parcel but thought I would let you make that call. I am pretty sure his cancer was similar to your DH and it has not stopped him at all original.gif

Cassi - Big hugs to you - what you are going through is so difficult. I find when my DH is down he is very quiet and I feel like there is nothing I can do to help, so I am then helpless, tired, stressed sad etc and trying to be supportative etc. Is he in alot of pain from the recent procedure? That alone causes terrible emotional reactions. I hope you guys can have a reatful weekend together and next week starts afresh.

Tweedy - hope DD3 picks up today. Niamh has always been scared of the vaccum and Kaidyn is just getting over that. I have to have Niamh on my hip everytime I want to use it which can mean difficulties getting into the small corners etc.

Sarina - Glad Faith did ok at school. Sorry to hear the dramas are still continuing with parents you sound like you have 6 kids at the moment - both sets of parents and the 2 real ones. I would love to catch up again soon what days does Faith go to school? Kaidyn when things get moving will be Mon and Thurs.

Food - Niamh has fussy days and good days. Both my kids love veggies and fruit but won't touch meat.

Daycare - I wish I could brave it but just can't bring myself to do it! And the CCB etc seems too hard although to be fair I have never persued it fully. I was thinking I would like to put Niamh in on a Monday whilst K is at school to get some study done but that feels a little selfish on my behalf to just want rid of the kid to be a bit easier for me. My Mum has offered to take Niamh on Thursdays for me so I have agreed to that so they can have some time together.

Me - Yesterday actually went ok! I decided that to go in angry and upset would not achieve anything so somehow I managed to put everything aside and remain neutral. I had my big long list of issues with me which they wanted to read but I said I would rather discuss and then I could direct the discussion. I told them I was upset at the job title as it it not reflect my job nor abilities. They replied with an apology and said wow that is almost as bad as spelling your name wrong to which I replied well actually you did, the owner then said he felt terrible and could understand why I was upset. They gave me some good feedback and asked me what they could do to ensure they don't loose me etc (like they always do when they realise they are in the poo). They have asked if I will take on more responsibility with management etc to which I have agreed but at this point I don't want to work anymore hours for another few months.

i was also told I handled it in a very professional manner as I did not let emotion get in the way of things - good thing he was not a fly on the wall in here!

When I got home DH had a lovely candlelit dinner ready and both kids in bed so that was a great end to the day!

Right off to the biggest looser DVD this dress will fit, this dress will fit!!!!!
trinyweeny
Morning Ladies

I think I have caught the cold, just a sore throat. I will not get it, I will not get it.

Mum and her step mum have just left. Have had a lovely morning watching J play and trying to get her to walk.

Cassi - Meatballs now that's a good idea. Might give them a try tonight. I reckon I can hide some vegies in there as well.

Ellangel - I hope Ella is better soon.

Tweedy - I hope you sort out why Tilly is sick as well.

Jacqui is another one who doesn't like the vacuum cleaner. She also doesn't like the wizz stick thingy either.

better go J has finished her sandwich so need to out her to bed.

Eta - Key - Sounds like you had some success yesterday. Hopefully they will make good on any promises.
melaniejasmin
I am sooo mad!

I just got back from my 2 hour GTT... my arms are like pin cushions. the stupid pathology blood taking person was so hopeless and rude it was awful. I cant believe that I went. I am not going to my 25 week GTT, because 1 per pregnancy is enough.... apart from rendering my veins useless for any further blood giving for years (think: stick needle in multiple times, wiggle it around a few times as cant find vein) she was so unknowledgable that she thought I couldnt drink water throughout the test as she said it would 'dilute the glucose' rolleyes.gif my god. she then called the lab and found that it was OK for me to drink water.... I wasnt going to sit there for 2 hours, having fasted all night and not drink water till 1130am. sooo mad... rant.gif my arms are killing me.

sorry for me post. should have listened to my initial instinct and just not gone... glare.gif

BBL when I'm not on the crappy laptop
ellangel
Oh that sounds terrible Meljas! How horrible for you! I would be making a complaint and also wouldve asked if there was anyone else around to do it!

IF I had another child I would be skipping that awful test. Had to sit there for so long, trying to hold my vomit in and then trying not to pass out when they took the blood. Both times I had to lay down afterwards and wait 30mins before driving home.

I hope you feel better after something to eat and a rest. Your poor poor arm. xx
cassi8
oh meljas! that must have been awful for you! I believe that dehydration makes the veins harder to find but still.. huh.gif I hope you are feeling better soon and tht the test is worth it for you to not go back and 'need' another. original.gif

I was just coming in to ask where everyone is today happy.gif

eexcite.gif guess who is getting an iphone... its a bit of a spurge for DH and I and I am looking forward to getting it. We are going via Chatswood tonight for dinner and iphones then home to the laptop for apps! biggrin.gif (right after I do my chores of course.. wink.gif ) I have been debating about getting one for a while, not sure if its worth the money and the size and if its just a gimmick. I think it will be good though, I'll be able to entering N while we have to wait at places.. Drs ect.

I bought the nappy off Tweedy and I have caught the bug again... I've been hanging out in the TR and nappy forums a lot checking out what people have up for sale and catching up on all the latest developmets.. its bad I tell ya!

Triny - yep, you can hide lots of vegies in meatballs! I'm lucky that N will eat the frozen vegie mix (peas, carrot, corn and beans). Won't touch whole veg though, sweet potato, broccoli or anything but I still try and ask him to at least taste.

Sharon - I hope the little angels are being good for you and you are getting some rest. Hoping Ella is better for tomorrow. Yes you told us so.. ssorry.gif consider me told! Tounge1.gif I'm not giving in to him though..

Key - I'm glad that interview went well and everything was sorted out. you will be able to sleep tonight! original.gif
cassi8
I think I have taken Sharons place as thread killer! Tounge1.gif
tweedy08
I am here Cass. Just trying VERY hard to keep my patience while this child decided to stand there & cry at me. I even laid down with her at about 1.30 so she would actually have a sleep! I really dont know whats wrong with her sad.gif Nestle got back to me & reassured me there is no dairy in the fruit fix's. If there wa it would be noted in bold since nestle always note the allergy stuff in bold or something.

So do I give her colic relief or teething relief. She has literally been crying for 30 mins now & that has been since she woke up at 4pm!

Gotta go....might put her in the pram & go for a walk. My head hurts just from her cryng sad.gif

BBS
cassi8
Go for a walk Tweedy. Even if it doesn't stop her from crying it will stop the noise from echoing. I'd give her the remedy to what you feel is bothering her. You suggested before that it might be tummy so give her colic and see if it works. If it doesn't in an hour or so try the teething, I am guessing you are using Brauers.. hhugs.gif
beaglebaby
I'm here too, just lurking though, trying to get lots of housework done while DS1 and DD are at school and L sleeps. I've got a friend coming to visit later who has never been here - don't think she'll come back, haven't even got my groceries put away let alone cleaned the kitchen or dining room floor, and you can't even see the top of the dining table blush.gif
ellangel
Oh Beagle! She is not a true friend if you cant laugh about the clutterness (IS that a word even)? and for it not to bother her. You have so much on your mind.

I think I have taken Sharons place as thread killer!
I wasnt at all today, was I ??

O tweedy! That sounds awful. You must be at your wits end! I am not sure what to suggest?

We had a nice play altogether this morning and then both girls slept and i did too.

Holli is really starting to retaliate and go off at Ella if she takes things off her. It is quite funny to watch! Little Holli shouting "NO!: and then Ella crying, heartbroken
cassi8
I didn't mean today, just in the past.. ssorry.gif I should pick on you when you aren't your normal self..
N yells at kids now as well and will tell us no when he doesn't want something, including help! Poor Ella being told off by he baby sister.. original.gif

Beagle - I'm with Sharon, surely she will understand.
tweedy08
Home from our walk. It didnt work...she cried all the way there & all the way back. She only stopped when I picked her up & gave her a cuddle when we got home. She is very sweaty & feels a little warmish but its VERY muggy here atm....I am sweating like I have done a huge workout!!. Gave her a dose of colic relief as soon as we walked in & laid her down after she settled on her lounge with her bear & bottle. Ill see how she goes.

Yes Cass im using brauers. I have found that works much better than pandol or even nurofen for things like teething or her tummy pains.

Might do her just a sandwich for dinner tonight instead of the normal heavy meal.

I have just emailed a friend of mine who might be able to give me some ideas on what it is. Hopefully she will have some advice for me as she knows what Tilly is like. I have jsut got off the phone with daycare just in case she got into something she shouldnt have yesty but they said not as far as they know.

BBS
tweedy08
I think I have taken Sharon & Cass's place as the thread killer Tounge1.gif

Gave Tilly a second dose of Brauers. Daddy is home & has her laughing now. Kinda depresses you when you have had a screaming baby all day just for daddy to walk in & get her laughing. I think the brauers is working though so ill keep it up original.gif

Dinner almost ready so ill BBL

bellygood
Cassi good idea re frozen veg mix/meatballs. Might try these. Dinner tonight - again a joke. Might try give Iyv a proper meat/veg lunch after a big play or swim, I just feel that she's hardly getting any meat/veg at all as dinner is so patchy.

Ellangel I still plan to skip GTT though I had GD last time (v. mild). I spoke to hospy today and declined early testing - which is the ordeal MelJas has just been thru - MelJas that test is hellish with a competent pathologist, let alone some fool who probably uses the wrong end of the syringe from time to time (oooh this one's blunt!).

I struck a very nice doc at the hospy and a bit of a looker to boot. We spent many minutes together, discussing my innards and then him rubbing his coarse hands over my big belly... He even bent me over and stoked my back. OK, this actually did happen but was not the erotic moment that you might expect. Apparently because it's a regional hospy, they do an 'anaesthetic check' on fatties like me to check that if need be, an anaesthetist could do whatever he/she needs to do. They don't assume you'll have a caesar but want to be sure that if you do need an emergency caesar that all the right parts are accessible. The check included my airway (for intubation?), spine (for epidural - apparently some people have a bit fat spine!) and something else that I can't remember now. I have to admit... I always get a tiny crush on docs, both male and female, when they talk about medicine. I just find it so interesting that the 'halo effect' wears off on them. This one, as well as being easy on the eye, had done a lot of Medicins sans Frontiers stuff in far-flung wartorn lands. Sigh...
ellangel
We are the opposite here, with dinner being the best meal of the day!! She will gobble up sausage,pasta, peas, corn any fingerfood put in front of her and then eat her mashed up veg as well and then polish off dessert. It helps having E sit beside her and gobble hers down also!! (well, most nights)

I really dont make a big song and dance if they dont eat.

I struck a very nice doc at the hospy and a bit of a looker to boot. We spent many minutes together, discussing my innards and then him rubbing his coarse hands over my big belly... He even bent me over and stoked my back. OK, this actually did happen but was not the erotic moment that you might expect. Apparently because it's a regional hospy, they do an 'anaesthetic check' on fatties like me to check that if need be, an anaesthetist could do whatever he/she needs to do. They don't assume you'll have a caesar but want to be sure that if you do need an emergency caesar that all the right parts are accessible. The check included my airway (for intubation?), spine (for epidural - apparently some people have a bit fat spine!) and something else that I can't remember now. I have to admit... I always get a tiny crush on docs, both male and female, when they talk about medicine. I just find it so interesting that the 'halo effect' wears off on them. This one, as well as being easy on the eye, had done a lot of Medicins sans Frontiers stuff in far-flung wartorn lands. Sigh...

Oh bellygood!!! ALL of this made me nearly wet my pants!! SO funny my love!~ Thank you for the smiles biggrin.gif original.gif original.gif Get your butt back on FB and just have us 20 or so as your friends and leave it at that
cassi8
laughing2.gif BG, thats just awesome! I'm glad you have a nice Dr.

Sharon - N is the same, if he can see we are eating the same thing he will eat his as well. I don't make a fuss though. Eat you vegies and then I have some *insert other food* for you.

Tweedy - Glad Miss is feeling better. How are the nappy sales going??

I have new iPhone biggrin.gif now which apps to download..
~Elliesmum~
yay cassi, that sounds like fun. I have a year to go on my plan so although I'd like one - mostly for that massive screen so I can see it - I'm going to wait original.gif

Tweedy, I hope things are better overnight sad.gif

just did my wii fit but as AF has arrived a WEEK early (what the heck is going on there? 22 day cycle, normally 28 exactly) GRRR i've put on weight lol. Have mostly been just having fun but am going to get serious huh.gif . And have stopped eating all unneccessary chocolate and just eating the necessary portions Tounge1.gif and avoiding fat although not stopping eating it altogether. Basically just eating a wee bit healthier and thinking about what I'm putting in calorie wise instead of just going willy nilly wink.gif I'll get more strict as time goes on.

so first off I haven't lost a thing rolleyes.gif in the last few weeks so will start now I think!

ahh why do I always hit the post reply button before I'm finished...

Key have missed whats mostly going on there, but sounds like its picking up for you original.gif

sharon I hope you're feeling better soon!

meljas- that just truly sucks!!! grrrrrrr at pathology lady

bellygood- good on you for sticking to your guns re GD testing, just keep well original.gif LOVE your doctor storytelling, hope you get the same one again next time!
alimumof3
hi,
it seems no body noticed I was missing today.
Bloody stupid internet was not working from last night and all day today. Have ended up borrowing mums laptop. our wireless is working on it but not on ours. stupid thing. rang optus and they did say our tower having probs.

grrrrrrrrr

anyway, have had a massive migraine today so nothing exciting would have been contributed anyway.
Oh, its our 4th wedding anniversary today. original.gif

well going to bed, hopefully I'll be able to get online tomorrow.
seepi
Meljas that sounds awful! Isn't it a bit early to have that test anyway. I'm not having mine til I"m nearly 30 weeks I think. I must be wierd - i dont' actually mind the GD tests. I remember last time I had to have the one that goes for hours and hours, and we were in the middle of moving house, and DD was sick, and it seemed so nice and peaceful sitting around the clinic all morning and reading mags! You need someone who is good at bloodtests tho - normally those path lab ladies are experts. I have massive veins anyway, so they've never needed more than one go.

Jasper is quite a good eater, so not too much drama there. he has discovered the joys of throwing food around though. Thank goodness for wooden floorboards. Our proper dining table is on carpet - goodness knows when we can ever eat there. although the kitchen 'nook' is pretty squashed, it will be interesting fitting another person in there!

Beagle - you poor thing - I'm sure your mum won't mind the spare room. It must be such a nasty shock to all of you. but the prognosis is still very good - just hang onto that.

And yet again I am up way too late. Jasper has also started waking up at 4.30 every night = not nice at all.

Sweet dreams to all!

trinyweeny
Ali - I missed you i just assumed you have a life. Hope the migraine goes away.

I just finished watching My Sister's Keeper. Absolutely cry1.gif cry1.gif my way through. Exactly the movie I needed was in that sort of mood. Didn't like the ending though.

BG - You crack me up. We had yet another successful dinner. I gave Jacqui some scrambled eggs which she usually loves however they just became more scrambled before handing me each minuscule piece. glare.gif

Meljas - You poor thing. Not good at all.

Cassi - YAY on the iphone. DH's work bought him one. I love it!!! I need one now. Maybe that's what I can buy with the YTBC#2 baby bonus. wink.gif

Better head to bed. Night.
key4
Ali - Congrats on the Wedding Anniversary shame that you had a rotten migraine today so could not enjoy it as you should sad.gif in 4 weeks I have been married 10 gosh I am getting old!

Meljas - that sounds like a horrible experience! I would not be going back for more of that. When I had the last of the HCG tests done in early december the phelb blew the vein and left me with track marks the whole way down the arm which hurt for a week! They have changed the policy with GTT at our hopsital where you are allowed to eat breakfast and just fast for 2 hours - much more humane!

Sharon - glad you got some rest. I am also one that does not fuss over not eating I just keep offering small healthy meals, I think the benefit of experience helps with this as Kaidyn would go for a while eating crumbs then have weeks were we were eaten out of house and home. My little girl has attitude towards her brother and is no longer a push over as well!

Beagle - I am sure your friend does not care what the house looks like but I hope you had a good afternoon with them.

Elliesmum - Since I started this stupid fitness thing I have put on 1.5kg I doubt in 8 weeks I have converted that much fat to muscle! I did a Cardio and Weight workout today and it was so full on it made me sick, I reckon if I do that everyday for the next month I should look mighty fine or I would have dropped dead from the stress on the heart!

Cassi - Hope you are enjoying your apps on the phone original.gif Apparently you can get apps for everything. One of the other pharmacists lent me theirs the other day to work out blood gased for the ICU patients who knew they could be that clever! I have avoided the Iphone as I know I would break the screen I am not the most careful with mobiles!

Ah Belly you make me laugh at least the Doc was good looking. I had one at a visit to the emerg when I was pregant with K and he was enought to drool over. (Luckily or unfortunately) I got gastro when I was 37 weeks with Niamh and needed a drip opted not to have the OB called for something so easy and in he walks again - sudddenly I felt better! Oh and don't get me started on the Paed how looked after Niamh last year when she was ill - lucky I am married!!!!

Tweedy - Hope you have a better night and day tomorrow original.gif And oh how I would love to see some rain!

I am sure I had more to say but might try and early night to bed!
beaglebaby
My friends visit was lovely, she happily stepped around/over toys, put her little boy down to play and joined me at the overcrowded table for a snack. I only realised when she'd gone I'd never offered her a coffee or even water! The kids played nicely inside and outside, Lucas had a ball having a friend. As she's moving reasonably close by soon, hopefully she might even come back! It was lovely after a fairly ordinary day where I'd had to tell the kids teachers about DH's treatment starting, but off course dissolved into a blubbering mess when I tried to say it. The teachers were great about it though and will keep a good watch on the kids, DD's teacher and aide kept her there while I went to see DS's teacher, I came back and they were sitting on the floor reading her a story as she was the last to go. She LOVED her first day at school and wants to know why she can only go 2 days a week!

Belly's got a crush, belly's got a crush (said in a sing song primary school voice wink.gif )Too funny, he does sound rather drool worthy though!

Key, so glad the review went well, sounds like you were very composed. Don't you go exercising yourself into the ground, you don't need to lose weight!

Triny, I just love the food being handed back! I suppose it's better than it getting tossed overboard.

Ali, I too assumed you had a life! Congratulations on your anniversary.

Seepi, I quite enjoyed the child free time of my glucose test last time too, even though it was only the short one - bliss getting to sit and read a magazine, I kept wishing the ladies who checked on me every 15min or so would leave me alone to enjoy it! Hope Jasper sleeps through tonight.

Elliesmum, well done on getting tough on yourself. I've stacked on the kgs in the last few weeks with stress snacking, so decided to be good, but just read your post whilst eating Sara Lee carrot cake. If only it was as healthy as it sounds!

Tweedy, glad the brauers and some daddy distraction worked for DD, hope you get a good night.

Cassi, I'm jealous, I've still got my little old cheapie Nokia with no features at all, not even a camera. It is good though as it fits into the car kit that DH left in my car from work, so at least I have hands free.

Can't remember any further back, sorry. I'm off to bed, another busy day tomorrow with DD's swimming lessons. A friend wants me to go to Ikea with her afterwards, put our girls in the playroom and have lunch, it sounds lovely except then the kids will miss their sleeps and I won't get anything done at home so I think I'll come home and maybe even have a nap while the kids do original.gif
tweedy08
Morning all

beagle - you have so much going on. I dont think your friend will have minded not being offered a cuppa. Its good that Lucas got to have some fun with another little one & even better that she is moving closer which means you may have yourself a little visitor most days wink.gif Will be thinking of you & DH over the coming days. xoxo

BG - dont you love it when you get a doctor that is easy on the eye....hehe. I remember my sisters doctor who ended up being there t deliver my neice....he was vey nice to look at....so nice in fact we got a pic of him with my neice when she was born....hehe

key - glad to hear you got some things sorted. Sometimes the upfront approach is better than trying to work with what you have. Its wonderful that they listened & are trying to work something out.

Ali - I was too caught up with a screaming bubba to notice anyone missing yesty sad.gif Hope you had a great day though for your anniversary! We have ours coming up on the 15th.......13 years of marriage.....I told hubby im getting a horse shoe for a gift......hehe

BBS to finish this as have a bubba demanding my attention. Shocker night again. She would only sleep if she was cuddled up to me. She has woken this morning with one of her eyes all puffy & a bit red too. She wont stop rubbing it. She was doing this last night as well & had me a little freaked out when she woke about 9pm & wouldnt open her eyes in the light. I noticed when she did open them a little that they were a bit red looking so I took her into the bathroom & bathed them as best as I could. She ended up opening them a bit more but wouldnt stop rubbing them nor would she keep them open in the light. We stood out on the verandah with her & watched the storm pass over.....was so cute as everytime there was lightning she would go oooooooooo. She is a little better this morning but still very clingy & grizzly.
~Elliesmum~
beagle- sounds like you had a pretty good day apart from the teachers etc. I hope you guys just get good news from here on, am also sure your friend would have understood the no coffee offer wink.gif As lovely as Ikea sounds I reckon your idea sounds better.

tweedy- has she got conjunctivitis in her eyes? hope they are better soon

key- wow they really do have an iphone app for everything lol. Oh well they'll have even more by the time I get around to getting one hehe

ali- happy anniversary biggrin.gif I hope you're migraine free today, not fun to have migraines when pregnant and cant' do much about it

dinner etc- kayla is hit and miss atm. She is usually pretty good but once she throws the bowl/plate thats it. I don't feed her (she doesn't let me anyway lol) but she is very good with her spoon now. She has a heinz orange tin now and then as I'm trying to keep her dinnertime to 5.30 and our dinner isn't always ready in time. But most meals she eats fine, sometimes she doesn't eat much at lunch etc but I don't try and force, I just offer and she knows if she wants it or not. Not a fan of repeated offerings of different foods or switching what they have (that creates problems as then they wait and see what the menu is today LOL- btdt wink.gif ) They will eat if they are hungry, and yep some days she eats huge amounts and other days not much. I just figure at the end of it she'll have a bottle so she wont' go to bed with an empty stomach, and if she's hungry then she can't help herself but eat lol. I usually take her plate once she throws it as well as that generally means she's finished, then she takes her bib off lol
bellygood
Happy Anniversary Ali (for yesterday!). Bloody migraines! Bloody Internet![color="#FF0000"][/color]
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.