The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: May 08 Parents # 69

paddington13
babyboy.gif Yay Rach! How exciting!

kalita
Yay Rach original.gif I had a big feeling yours was blue happy.gif Congrats!

I think Blessed is blue as well, and WL is pink. original.gif Hurry up and prove me wrong Blessed Tounge1.gif
adelaryln
that's so cool rach!!love the name too.

we're going to go to newcastle for a 4D ultrasound in april, can't wait.

been doing some casual work at a long day care centre. good money and pretty easy floating in and out as a casual. no where near as stressful as being there every day and directing.

what nappies do your babies wear? and those who are UTD what nappies will you put new baby in?

my sister and i met up at the new mcdonalds this morning. the kdis had a play we had a chat and the best bit was.....neither of our houses got messy!!we'll make it a regualr outing.
oh dear, ds jsut dropped a bowl of yoghurt on the floor
see you all later
kalita
Tell me, what little thing has sparked a sook/tantrum today?

Emma is currently wailing on the floor next to me because she didn't like the sock I put on her foot laughing2.gif
hopeforthefuture
YAY RACHEL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Blue shopping all round.

what nappies do your babies wear? and those who are UTD what nappies will you put new baby in?

My DD wears a variety of MCN. Baby beehind magicalls and itti bitti's mostly. DS will be in prefolds and covers for the first few months. A few different brands of covers (all gussetted) and mostly cotton prefolds but some bamboo prefolds. At 3 months or so, he will go into AIO's. I have bought 6 itti bittis and will buy about a dozen magicalls at the baby expo in March. I will also be buying a few OFSA fitteds.
Tell me, what little thing has sparked a sook/tantrum today?

DD has actually been well behaved so far today. Surprising really, considering she didn't go to bed until nearly 10pm last night, and still got up at normal time.
*~Lisa~*
Congrats Rach I cant wait to meet him!.
My SIl who is due in 9 weeks is having a pink one.

Just means now I have an excuse to buy blue and pink and gush over tiny baby clothes! tongue.gif

Nappies E is in Nappy pants. Its such a struggle to put her in normal nappies not only to get her to lay down for 30 second but she knows how to take them off and she hasn't figure out the nappy pants yet.
They are more pricey but I'm happy to pay that to avoid the arguments.

Just thought I'd share a couple of pics

Last week oh so tired she just crashed on the bean bags lol.

Taken this morning in her new fairy outfit. No idea what the spoon was doing she carried it round all morning.

A couple of weeks ago wearing DS boxers she is trying to learn to dress herself but has a fascination with her belly button lol.

paddington13
what little thing has sparked a sook/tantrum today?

I wouldn't let her eat a tube of toothpaste.
I wouldn't let her tear the stickers off a box of pads.
She couldn't get out of the gap between the wall and the chair she had climbed into.
I wouldn't let her push the button that sets off the alarm and calls security to come.
I wouldn't let her play with a dirty nappy.
I wouldn't let her put her library book in the toilet.

I am sure there is more...
kalita
QUOTE (paddington13 @ 11/02/2010, 01:19 PM) *
I wouldn't let her eat a tube of toothpaste.
I wouldn't let her tear the stickers off a box of pads.
She couldn't get out of the gap between the wall and the chair she had climbed into.
I wouldn't let her push the button that sets off the alarm and calls security to come.
I wouldn't let her play with a dirty nappy.
I wouldn't let her put her library book in the toilet.

I am sure there is more...

roll2.gif
(I am laughing with you, not at you wink.gif)
luckyaussiemum
Winelover LOL re the poo story, TT definately on the cards for you I think! Good luck!

Rachel Woo, hoo a willy! Put a nappy on quick in early days or they'll spray you, other than that they are easier to clean than girls & less demanding IMHO! Best of luck!

Paddy LOL to your list of tantrum starters, a little miss independant there!

Kalita Little darling has fasion sense already, baby girls are so cute!

Huggies!! But today trying ALDI ones as I've heard so much about them at half the price, but heaps huggies on layby. Never had rash probs so thats why. DD had so many rashes with cheaper nappies, switched to huggies and never had any after that so I have become a sucker for them!

Dempsey was horrible y/day, so sooky and wingey, but today his usual self, discovered he had thrown up when he got up y/day morn (was ok at 4am when I checked on him during wee break) so maybe was still crook. PIXI photos tomorrow, hope he smiles & is happy & NOT cranky!

Must dash. At work!

HI to everyone, more personals later, need to go back a bit, been busy!
ToodlePopsMum
Lisa: very cute photos! she is adorable.

Nappies: Aley is in huggies toddler (10kg to 15kg) and I think he will stay in them until he is toilet trained as he only weighs about 12.5kgs. I use nappy pants for after swimming as it is more hygenic than lying him down on the chair or the change table plus it is easier original.gif

Tantrums today: oh god there have been too many to remember!
* I wouldn't let him trash my bag during the ww meeting.
* I wouldn't let him empty my wallet in front of everyone at the ww meeting.
* Pretended to get his toe stuck in the trolley and then said in a very loud voice "OWWWW OUCH" until I took it out and then did it again and again.
* Just general whinge whinge whinge. he is in bed now though. ratbag.

Me: so went to weight watchers and lost 0.7grams this week. Taking my total to date to 16.3kgs. Quite pleased with my efforts original.gif am averaging about 0.5kgs a week since I started and that is what they consider to be a healthy weight loss rate so that's something original.gif

Off to make pikelets now. Aley and I are going to our new playgroup tomorrow and we all have to bring something to share so I figure pikelets are a safe option original.gif Plus my family LOVE pikelets so will have to make a double batch I think.
winelover
You guys were such a chatty bunch today!

Nappies - Like Toodles' Aley, Tayla is in the Huggies 10-15kg. I have't weighed her since the 18month check up when she was 9.9kg. So I think we have a fair way to go in them. I bought a box of the huggies newborns the other day as they are on special. I also bought a pkt of the Woolies select just for something different and because I am over a little miss ripping them off and chucking them in the nappy bin. They seem big for her size, but the little frogs on them are cute and interesting to her.

LAM - re the TT the last few days when Tayla has said "mummy toilet" and ripped off the nappy I have just plonked her on the loo, to sit there for a session. Our potty converts so she sits on the insert on the loo. She is so small, I tell her to sit still so she doesn't fall in. She has a ball just sitting there. I have learnt to take the roll of loo paper with me when I leave her there. (she is allowed a 2 sheet ration - learnt from experience!!) After about 2 minutes she calls out "mummy finished" even though she has done nothing. I then pretend to wipe her bum. All fun! I am sure Demsey will give you a gorgeous smile for your pixi photos.

Paddy - lol the tanty chucker!!

Lisa - Gorgeous pics of E. She so looks like the pics I have seen of you. Does anyone call her "mini me" when they are talking to you?

Hope - Wonder if A will ever be a good sleeper for you? She will probably want to sleep when she is a teenager. O well, then you can get her back and make her wake up and go to school etc.

Us - Went to pick up Tayla from daycare this arvo, when I poked my head in her room she totally brushed me, waved me off and said "no". Think she was having too much fun and didn't want to go home. Then when I got her backpack of stuff she insisted on carrying it. Looked highly funny - adult sized backpack on midget minor. Tomorrow, I am going to use her Dora backpack that she got for her birthday last year and I had been saving it until she was big enough to carry it herself. Guess the time has come.. Little Miss independent... Spose it had to happen. We have been telling her she is "the big girl" in readiness for the new baby. She has even been calling the dummy "baby dummy" so hopefully she will relinquish it too one day.

PS Had to confess I perved on a DIG thread last night - was looking to see if any of them mentioned heartburn/indigestion. Didn't have it when preggers before (must have been the 2 litres of choc milk I drank every day that prevented it)

PPS Finally took a bump pic this morning - hopefully tomorrow I will get around to uploading it.

winelover
BTW - Bleesed - It is time to up the anti on eating hot curries, drinking red wine, doing jiggy jigs dev (6).gif or whatever you need to do to get things happening. I guessed the 13th in the guess-a-thon. So get a move on girlie tongue.gif
*~Lisa~*
morning girls. I've had enought of DS he is doing my head in (read misc for more infor)

Lots of people say E looks so much like me and mum even comments I looked the same as her at that age.

not much else going on. When the kids go to their dads this arvo I'm going undie shopping the most depressing but I'm in dire need of a new bra and DP wants me to buy a "sexy" pair too lol Fat chance I live for sports bras and to find a "sexy" bra in 18E anit going to happen.

oh well better go do some housework
kalita
My mum is coming today to clean my house visit my demon child for a few weeks happy.gif

nappies: E is in Huggies (13kg-18kg Walker, we have always had to go the next size up for her weight). She gets Babylove ones at daycare but I think they itch her around the top, by the end of the day she always is red and has scratches around the top of the nappy sad.gif But no problems in Huggies. All my beautiful cloth is sitting around doing nothing rolleyes.gif I am going to try and get back into it while mum is here.

WL: I think I spent the last 20 weeks living on Tums when I was pregnant with C! And she ended up having heaps of hair wink.gif Although 'heaps' is relative next to my almost bald first one Tounge1.gif

TPM: Thinking of you today in the heat! Go hang out at your mum's for a break I say! At least you can make a cuppa there wink.gif
kgbird34
Good afternoon Petals!
KALITA did C look a bit like E except for E's hair challenge or did she have her very own look? I love babies with lots of hair... unfortunately mine are a little challenged for at least 6 months, just a little spattering. Having said that though, I have loved my own too luckily! I agree with you on the sex guesses all the way, I reckon another pinky for Kath and a blue one for Blessed. We are very clever. Enjoy your mummy!
LISA sorry I didn't get back to you about a coffee! Next week? I'm slack. Sorry you are having DS troubles, I hope they are minor and rack off soon. I love your pics of E, she is absolutely gorgeous. And so much hair! She does look so much like you original.gif .
KATH maybe you should get back onto the chocolate milk and see if that helps the heartburn! I remember when you used to chug that... it's hard to imagine those little ones are now coming up to 2!! How time flies. Where's your belly pic? Mine is getting a bit bigger!! It's a funny shape, I think bubba is pushing up all the fat and it's bigger up the top and not down the bottom!! Bubs is measuring to the umbi but I seem to be 'carrying high' and I remember the same with Bells. Just pushing up the fat is my theory biggrin.gif .
TPM YAY for your weightloss this week! You are amazing. Hope your day goes fast with no power, must be awful in that heat. It's nice here today finally, I hate summer. Hope playgroup was fun!
LAM hope the pixi photos were good and Dempsey behaved! Thankyou for your advice re baby boy - it feels weird all ready! I have seen a baby boy at work pee in his own mouth... now that's clever. No doubt I'll cop a few golden showers!
PADS your last post made me laugh; sounds very familiar!! All that's going on here too but I'm not as eloquent as you to express it! The other day when you mentioned about Miss falling out of her cot, I was thinking 'thank Goodness Bells hasn't figured out how to get out of hers yet'. Well I thought too soon. After yesterdays nap and this morning AND the nap this morning she has got out of her room herself and come beaming down the passage. Bugger. Going bed shopping on the weekend.
NAPPIES we are using huggies walker too, I always go the next size up too sooner than needed.
BLESSED I second Kath, get into some of those labour inducing goodies! We all can't wait biggrin.gif . My wound is healing thanks for asking, still 2cm deep and looks like a baby colostomy in the middle of my tummy above my belly button. Its rather beautiful, if I may say so myself. Hope you are well.
Well that's about it for now, hope everyone is having a lovely day. I've just gone through 4 bags of baby clothes; kept all the unisex and scrapping all the pink! If it comes out a girl we'll have to go shopping roll2.gif . xxx Rachel.
adelaryln
i'll take your clothes kg wink.gif hehe.

we're not having a good run. everythign keeps breaking on us. the dishwasher door won't close, we ahve to keep it shut using a broom handle. our flat screen monitor died on sunday. we got our computer back but everything is lost on it. the toilet pipe burst and i've had plumbes here since 11am. it's pouring rain and they're still here.
that's my whinge.
i got the dreaded haertburn last night. i hadn't eaten anythgn except a creme caramel. not happy!! that's cute about tayla.
toodles..did you ahve fun at playgroup? how did the pikelts go?
better go, looks like a storm might come. don't want the computer broken again.
ToodlePopsMum

Rach: I have updated the Bump Brigade list at the front with your blue news original.gif Your posts always crack me up. funny lady original.gif i too have been pee'd on many many times by my two ratbags. One whiff of cool air on that things and put it goes and pee follows. Aley used to giggle when the cool breeze went on his doodle - i think that was one of the first giggles he did actually and yup, he is still infatuated with it.

Lisa: i have replied to your misc thread about DS. I hope it helps.

Kalita: enjoy your mummy original.gif i am sure she will love being around her girls for a while.

Adarlyn: pooh to all the things breaking! ummmmmmmm did we miss something?? are you carrying a pink bundle?????

Me: well we still have power and it hasn't been off at all according to my clocks etc at home. Praying it stays this way. I have the portable dvd player charged in case it does go off though.

playgroup was nice. very small group (only 4 of us) as the rest were busy. pikelets went down well - especially because i put sprinkles on them original.gif

blessedwithblueandpink
Hi All

Nada happening here. Ds sick tonight, poor darlin , vomited and feels better now, but its awful to see them sick. dh is abit off aswell, he told me I better hold off till we are all better!!!lol Officially have under a week to go.

WL : Loads of sex here and do accupunure also. I hope I dont go too much over!!

KG : Glad wound is getting better. Any kicks yet?

Kalita : Enjoy your mum coming. All mine have had big heads of black hair!!

TPM : Well done on your weight loss!!! Go girl. you must look like a super model now, esp with your lovely height!!

Adarlyn : I picked that up too - A pink one maybe!!!!!

Lisa : Lovely pics of E! So cute asleep on bean bag.

Hello to everyone else.

Still fat here.

ni ni

blessedxxxxx

Lib

Just popping in briefly before I go out for a walk (first time in WEEKS!). Of course, I've no jinxed myself and something will come up to prevent me going.

News from this end:

DS started Kinder - no problems.

I ended up being called into work on Friday (overtime - yay!), luckily MIL could look after Ellie, and DS was at Kinder. I was ten mins late picking him up though oomg2.gif as the chart I'd spent all morning finishing at work refused to print, so I wasted half an hour trying to make that happen before I had to leave to pick up E then back across town to get DS.

Went to look at a house this morning. Missed the open home as the agent had emailed me the wrong time. Luckily he came back when we rang (and luckily the house was unoccupied). Just as we were about to go in, E slipped and banged her mouth on the edge of the brick steps putting a tooth right through the lip. Ewww. I was wearing a white jacket of course, which is now covered in blood. Poor little mite. I couldn't really concentrate on the house after that.

DH off to Perth for a week on Monday, then we have Sat together, and I fly off to Canberra for a week on Sunday. Poor kids wont know what is happening. I'll be interested to see how Dh copes with getting the kids' lunches and dropping Ds at school, as Dh likes to be at work before 9, but he'll just have to work around that I guess.

Poo stories - hilarious! We have regular "accidents" now that E has worked out how to remove her nappy. Unfortunately we have carpet sick.gif

Blessed - big long walk with a backpack full of groceries did it for me!

Nappies - Depending which is on special - babylove for daytime, huggies for night. But Huggies all round atm as they are cheaper than babylove at Woolies this week. I think the Huggies are better for her bottom, as she has stoped complaining of a sore bottom since we've been using Huggies exclusively.

Ok, myst fly and get my walk in before Dh decides he wants to go out.

hopeforthefuture
Hi All!

Just came in to see whether Blessed had her baby yet. Dying to know the name. She always uses such lovely Irish names.

Lisa - Cute pictures. We all have such gorgeous toddlers.

I think it is time we all put recent photos of our little ones (and the bigger ones) up to share.

I will try and come back later with mine.
blessedwithblueandpink
Sorry guys

nada happening!

must be patient must be patient must be patient
ToodlePopsMum
bbluestork.gif BLESSED BUMP GUESSATHON ppinkstork.gif

Blessed Guess:
Gender : boy!!!!( that will be a shock after 2 girls in a row if it happened!!!)
Date of Birth : 17th of Feb
Weight : 9lbs 3oz
Lets see if mummys intuition is right!!

Hopeforthefuture
Date of Birth: 9th of Feb
Weight: 9lb 1oz

Winelover
Date of Birth: 13th of Feb
Weight: 9lb 7oz

Toodles
Date of Birth: 17th of Feb (my birthday!)
Weight: 8lb 9oz

Adarlyn
Date: 15th of Feb
weight: 9p 9oz

Lisa
Date:16th of Feb
Weight: 7lb 8oz

KGBird
Date: 15th of Feb
Weight: 9ld 1oz

Kalita
Date: 24th of Feb
Weight: ???

Thought I would update this seeing as Blessed is soooooo close to popping! So far Winelover and Hope are out of the date race but still in with a chance for the weight and gender original.gif

Hope everyone had a nice weekend and valentines day yesterday. DH and I dont celebrate valentines day (we actually call it "happy hallmark creation day" roll2.gif) so we had two other couples and their kids over for a casual night of drinking, eating and laughing original.gif had a great night. The boys all got torches and were hunting for crickets and frogs in the garden which was very very cute. Actually come to think of it we all had boys! no little girls at all.

I made mediterranean lamb burgers with beetroot tzaziki and chicken & bacon burgers with grilled pineapple for main, hummous and turkish bread and vietnamese rice paper rolls for nibbles and then lemon meringure pie and cherry ripe cheesecake (in the shape of a heart) for dessert. the other girls brought the salads.

Such a nice night original.gif

Lib: Pooooor E!!! Is she okay?? Poor little darling. Apart from that was the house any good? Hope your DH packed from coolish clothes, it is going to be fairly warm here this week (mid 30s all week).

Blessed: Super model I am not but thank you for the compliment original.gif still have a fair way to go and it is a hard slog but I will get there. I am determined to reach goal no matter how long it takes - it may require an amputation to loose the last kg or so but i am prepared for that original.gif
kalita
I guess I will officially put my guess for Blessed original.gif

February 24 Tounge1.gif And I already said I think your bundle is blue original.gif

My uni starts today so I will be either very scarce and actually studying, or here all the time and procrastinating wink.gif We actually celebrated V-day this year, since we had the babysitting. We went to our favourite cafe and got free drinks and lollies for being awesome (and because we go there all the time wwhistle.gif ) Three people asked me where E was, they were upset she wasn't with us!

Sorry this is short and sweet. I have been studying all morning and need a break from the computer. About to persude my mum to go out for pub lunch (that won't be hard wink.gif)
winelover
Hi, just a quick post to upload belly pic from last Thursday (23 weeks + 4 days)
BBL Kath xx

hopeforthefuture
Toodles - Valentines Day is a non-event in my house to.

Kalita - You are a big guess-a-thon cheater!!

winelover - You have a beautiful (but little!) belly. I looooooove preggy bellies!!

Blessed - Have you had the baby yet? Have you had the baby yet?

I could get really annoying, really quickly.

AFM - DD not very happy. Her eye teeth are bothering her. And she has some nappy rash which is causing her grief. So the pain of it all is making her her miserable poor thing. She went down for a nap at 11am today. She normally doesn't go down until 12.30pm. Still asleep now.

I am feeling a bit down in the dumps today. Don't know why. Just for fun I guess. So I bought a mobile and wall hooks for Zippy's room to cheer me up. It didn't. I need to shop more. Hey, at least I'm not buying stuff for me!
*~Lisa~*
I had a good V day I got a puppy! ok not a little cuty puppy but close enough

Here is Rupert a 7 month old cavalier king charles.

DP knows I've been looking at pups for a while and I'd decided on the cavs but pups were a bit out of our price and by pure chance he found this little guy on saturday.

His still very much a puppy and hasent had much in the way of training but his cute and will get there.

Started back training today wasent too bad I sliped in like I hadnt been away at all even though there has been a 8 week gap. Makes me feel better and I should have all my exams done in the next 2-3 weeks.

Doing one next week the kids in the class are good and fun to deal with so should be ok.
Lib
Hi Blessed,

i see you lurking! No action eh?

I'm avoiding doing my tax return. I had it almost finished in Sept, but then baulked at the medical expenses bit as I couldn't find all the receipts, so now I really have to revisit the whole thing again. Damn. I think I'll go clean the ensuite instead. DS can have poor aim if he is distracted (which is most of the time)and both bathrooms are starting to smell of wee.
*~Lisa~*
Blessed have you had the baby yet?

I picked today date so c'mon not often I'm right at something!
ToodlePopsMum
Just updating the Blessed Bump Guessathon......Adarlyn & Rach you are both out of the date race but still in the race with the date and gender original.gif

Haven't had any text messages or EB posts from Blessed so maybe she is in the throws of labour! I promise to come on here straight away when I get the all important text from her ......... but it wont be till tomorrow coz that's when I have guessed original.gif
*~Lisa~*
I'm currently doing my austswim teachers exam online but the net is super slow and since its open book I'm here browsing for news!

Do theory exam today
2 pracs Monday

haven't found a class to do the other yet but should have it all done super soon.

BLOODY SLOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
hopeforthefuture
C'mon Blessed!! We need baby news!!!!!
paddington13
Leave poor Blessed alone! laughing2.gif
*~Lisa~*
ph34r.gif ph34r.gif ph34r.gif ph34r.gif laughing2.gif
hopeforthefuture
It will be your turn to be hassled soon Paddington!

ph34r.gif ph34r.gif
kalita
I know it's early but I won't be here tomorrow, so:

HAPPY BIRTHDAY NIGELLA TPM

Here is something just for you! (zero calories! Tounge1.gif)

happy.gif
winelover
Girls - I reckon blessed is a touch busy!!!

Kalita - yummo. That treat you cyber-cooked up for Toodles looks delicious. I wouldn't say no to a piece!!

Toodles - Happy Birthday for tomorrow!! (it's less than an hour away now)
blessedwithblueandpink
Sorry gus.
Nothing happening here at all. No niggles - nada.

2 days till due date. Really hoping to go then or just shortly after. But, babies have their own agenda God dam it!!!!
Really looking forward to meeting our new baby and just hope and pray it arrives safe and healthy earthside. bbaby.gif

Amazing what people say to you when your pregnant eg...

at school to drop off ds, one of the special needs assistants whom I dont know and never met before said to me on my way out " you look completely worn out", I smiled very nicely and said " thanks very much", she wasnt expecting that response!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I continued to walk out. I thought I looked alright, I was obviously wrong!!

Happy birthday to TPM for tommorow .Hope you have a great day!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

byee

blessed
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
adelaryln
i'm gathering it's TPM's birthday?? so happy birthday. hope you have a great one!!

i'm working casual again today so gotta leave in few minutes, so just a short post.

hope you are all well.
longer post later.
paddington13
It will be your turn to be hassled soon Paddington!

No, everyone will be revenge-hassling you Hope, they won't have time to worry about me! biggrin.gif
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.