The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: September 08 Parents #149

Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4
tweedy08
I remember now why I dread school being back & hubby working.....was up at 5am with hubby for work, then went back to bed just to wake up again to the alarm at 6.20am for the girls. Got them up & again headed back to bed just for a door to slam (wind) and the baby of the house woke up......I gave up then so its up for the day. Had I have gone back to bed it would have been up at 7.30 anyhow for DS......lol. So basically day starts at 5am when all is on in this house......gotta love the weekend....haha

KM - I still think its amazing what you are doing. Hubby was quite interested when I was telling him about it yesty.....he said with the price of school fees for a good school & the lacking education here that we could look into it as an option......thing is we would have no idea what to do nor prolly be disciplined enough to carry it out.......at least if we did take that road he is a whiz with maths so that would be a bonus! My eldest DD was curious about it all too.....she has asked me to ask you what happens come year 10,11 & 12. Will you still home school her and if so how do the exams work? She also asked if you are going to home school for the rest of her high school or just this year.

elliesmum - I would be talking to the teacher.....if this keeps up your DD will get bored very quickly & when they get bored that when they start to slowly get lost in the system. My eldest is pretty advanced & always has been. I spoke to the school & they gave her extra work or work above the grade level as she was always finishing way before the other kids. Definatly get on top of this now.

blondie - Law Abiding citizen is great. A few real gory bits but that about it. Otherwise great storyline original.gif. How did I manage to get them....you just got to know where to look wink.gif To go for a night to the movies for us is over $100 not to mention we are 1 too many for the car, so we just find other ways to see what we want to......hehe. Those muffins look delicious! Might try my hand at making some but changing the dairy for soy alternatives so DD3 can enjoy them as well. Otherwise ill make up 2 batches.....you can freeze muffins so its not like they would go to waste anyhow.......I think the older 3 wouldnt eat them if they were based on soy anyhow.

Triny - I havent had a problem with panadol & staining BUT I did notice on here mini lala last night there is a small stain. Not sure what its from but thinking of putting it through the machine again to see if it will come out. I forgot to remove the booster from inside it so perhaps it jsut didnt get washed properly. Oh well its not like it can be seen & it doesn affect the performance of the nappy wink.gif

I should head off I guess. 3 kids at school, hubby at work.....can have some nice time with just myself & DD3 original.gif

melaniejasmin
morning,

Blondie - thanks for that recipe. I'll make some when I next buy polenta. they sound good.

Triny - I've never had panadol/ dymadon stains either. though I do get stains on my nappies sometimes, they generally come out after a day in the sun.

I have nappies to sell as well. I still havent got round to doing it *sigh*

KM - sounds like first day went well. hope you can keep the enthusiasm up wink.gif you should also think about excursions. I think a good historical trip to Sydney would be good happy.gif

age gaps - I think there is good and bad sides to all! I am going to have a much smaller age gap than that I thought I first would like, but I had a 2yr 9 month gap between me and my brother, and I hated him growing up! I think it was a little to do with the fact I had bee naround for a while (no cousins) and was the centre of attention, then mum and dad went and had another child glare.gif ruined my life laugh.gif

I watched MKR and DHW wives last night. I taped them and started watching 1 hour after I'd started to record. It only took 1 hour and 10 minutes to watch both programs! shows how many ads there are. thats why I dont watch commercial channels (bar SBS) without taping/watching. I've never watch MasterChef so I have nothing to compare MKR with, so I thought it was OK.
I also watched a little of the Isobel Allende interview... but I had to stop as her horridly plastic (surgical) face was annoying me.

OK, I'm off to work. I'm not going tomorrow as I cant be bothered ph34r.gif

cassi8
morning.. yyawn.gif

@ work and bored... I seem to be bored a lot lately.. rolleyes.gif at least at home there are things for me to do.

Blondie - awesome recipe, thanks for sharing. I was just wondering if they would be ok fro brekky. I think N is getting sick of toast and I need something that is car friendly for work mornings. They look really good though, might have to make up a double batch and freeze them. biggrin.gif
Loved the flying water heater and the car split in 2.. I have to be in the right mood to enjoy them though.

tweedy - enjoy the quiet while you can! bummer about the early morning, hopefully you can have a rest later.

alimumof3
morning,

got a lunch on at a lady from mothers group today. (she doenst go to our usual thurs as she works). so that will be nice. I was wondering how'd i'd manage to keep oliver awake at that time (1230 - normally he hits a wall at 1pm and then ready for bed after quiet ish time by 1.30) so i let him sleep in this morning til 8.30 then I've just put him back to bed now for his morning sleep (nearly 1030 - he normally has 2hrs awake of a morn before sleep). so hoping that will mean he doesnt get too tired at lunch. He can then go to bed about 2.30 if he's ok.

cassi hope you find something to do to occupy yourself. imagine if you couldnt go on eb at work! you'd be pulling your hair out.

sharon no, i meant how do you konw the bigger gap is easier when you haven't had a small one? (and vice versa for me).
I dont think 2 in nappies is hard at all, you have to change one, might as well do two at the same time. DD has only had 2 tantrums in her life (and they were very short lived) and O is yet to have one so I don't have to worry about that. The bonus is no kindy drop offs/pick ups to interfere with routine, they both sleep at same time giving me 2hrs peace, no jealousy as DD doesnt remember being one and only. I think it does help having a a very placid gentle DD though. But anywya, we wont debate what age gaps are best as I really think there are pros and cons to both. I have a friend who hated her 3yr age gap. so this time she's gone for a smaller one of 20mths. Each to their own and all that! original.gif

meljas did you remember the name of the liners?also where did you buy your terry flats from?

blondie I want to see Valentines Day too. I agree, looks very similar to Love actually, with lots of famous actors in it etc.
and i love that JACOB from Twilight is in it.......mmmmmmmmmmm
Speaking of Twilight, where are you up to in the books?

sharon have you finished Breaking Dawn yet?

KM it does sound like the first day was a success. original.gif

Littlemumma did you enjoy B&S last night? I did. Love that show. Greys is on tonight! yipee
Bel Rowley
I'm back from a quick walk to the park with Claudia, her latest habit is whenever she gets access to the front of the house she'll climb into her pram (not that easy in a P&T!) and yell "Walk! Walk!" until I take her out. laughing2.gif

Elliesmum
- they certainly have a knack of finding the snacks don't they? Claudia knows where I keep all the biscuits, crackers, little fruit cups etc and will go and wait holding the door handle, I'm sure it won't be long before she can open the cupboard.

Tweedy - I'm sure the muffins would taste just as good with soy, would your older 3 really know the difference? I know what you mean about the expense of the movies, even for 2 of us I can't believe how much it is. I had a Village voucher so we took that on Sunday, it was for an adult ticket and we both have student cards so I asked for one adult, one student, didn't realise until after we'd paid that they charged adult price anyway, plus the extra cost for 3D and the extra cost for the 3D glasses it ended up $20 even with the voucher! As for snack, we never ever buy anything at the movies now, $10 for a small popcorn & small drink is just obscene.

Melanie- I think you're right about age gaps, what works for one family won't necessarily work for another. I can see the advantages of having a big gap but I was the same as you in my family, 3 1/2 years before my sister was born and then twins so I went from only child to one of 4 within 2 years. I was never that close to my siblings growing up and they were all so close to each other, I envied it.

Cassi - I reckon the muffins would be great for brekkie, I love recipes like that, suitable for any meal really. I needed them for C's dinner last night because DH and I had chilli con carne, bit spicy for Claudia!

Ali - I have only read Twilight and New Moon, is it Breaking Dawn or Eclipse next?
key4
Meljas - I am with you on age gaps there is no right one! The 2.5 years between my two has been managable I think I would of struggled with less but I look at my friend with 20 and 17 months between her kids and she is managing great as the developmental stages are all similar. And the one coping best is the friend with Twins! On the topic of work it will not be dealt with properly as the manager is the owner! We subcontract to the hospital.

Blondie - You sound like you are having kids like mine insomoniacs! Kaidyn is up at 5am every morning and still awake in his room at 8.30pm even though the bedtime routine is well over and done with by 7pm. He is just in there reading books and he can reach the light switch now so there is the constant battle of us turning the light off him on! And the day time nap history long ago!

Cassi - I hate being bored at work! In the current position I don't get time to go to the toilet so it is not an issue but one job I had there was always a dead time around lunch and it would drive me nuts.

TV- I watched desperate housewives and it made me giggle in parts - I can completely relate to Lynette and how she feels about pregnancy as that is how I felt with the first pregnancy!

I can't remember who said that DH would just one day come out and completely change their mind about no 3 but you were right! DH is very upset about what is happening at work too and he told me to come off the pill get pregnant and then take maternity and parental leave so 2 years off, then get a job somewhere were I am respected. I nearly fell over! Now I am at the jitters point were I need a month or so to get head around that!
alimumof3
blondie Eclipse is next.

key wow wow wow! exciting. !!!!!!
Bel Rowley
Key that is very exciting! Sounds like a great plan!
key4
Exciting and scary!!!!!!

Things are still not perfect after the loss in Novemeber I am still having lots of funny bleeding, so want that to be cleared up as much as possible before I get serious about it.

Blondie - how long do you usually have to wait for assignments to be marked I have been waiting 3 weeks and no word back yet getting stressed!
Bel Rowley
Our assignments take forever to get marked Key, I don't know if it's something to do with being remote students and low priority for the tutors. I also think my body is not back to normal since the m/c, my cycles have been 31 and 30 days so far and I used to have 25-26 day cycles.
cassi8
awesome blondie, I might go to Aldi during lunch and get some things so I can make them up tonight. biggrin.gif

Oh wow Key! I can only imagine what you are feeling. happy.gif

Is anyone else in here still on the weight loss thing and tracking it? Just curious. I've made it back to pre xmas weight finally so all from here is a bonus! wink.gif
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.