The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: October 08 Parents # 42

http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/forums/ind...howtopic=757287

themelster
GOLD

Tom slept in until 6.15am this morning! eexcite.gif It was probably after his lack of sleep yesterday. He woke a couple of times last night but settled himself! I thought I'd try reducing his sleep today to one sleep, but by 9am he was shagged, so I put him to bed.

I haven't read back the last few posts on the old thread - will go and do that now.

Bec - I got Tom fitted at Tammys at Chermside. He is a 5.5G. What size was Ethan? I ordered the sandals I wanted for him (the one with the buckle top and velco toe bit as the ones with top and bottom velcro seem to cut into him as his foot is quite high), but they have sold out and Clarks don't have anymore. I'm going to try Beards shoes at Stones Corner as I am not sure where else will sell the wider Clarks sizes. Did you get yours from Tammys? Did you get buckle or velcro?

XX
Fabulous
Morning all,
I think Jack is finally better after 4 long days of having a really high temp.

Mel- It's funny to think of someone being excited to have to get up at 6:15am. It shows how our lives change when we have kids. No shoes for my boy...maybe I could buy some knee pads instead. biggrin.gif
bec8112
Mel - Just looked and Ethan is a 5.5 F, I got the Clarks buckle top with velcro around the toe area. Ethans are blue and red in colour. Yeah we got his in Tammys ( that is the one in Chermside right? ). Ethan wears his all day Mondays at daycare and he gets some minor red marks on his feet but does not seem to bother him!

Yeah on Toms sleep in! Ethan slept in until 8.15am this morning after going to bed at 6.20pm ohmy.gif , that is alot of sleep but I am not complaining as I got to have a relaxing lay in bed aswell biggrin.gif

Ros - thanks for the info on the Phil and Teds, I will have to have another look at the website. I need to go and have a look in person at the baby shop aswell I think.

I am going to get some waxing done this arvo when DP gets home from work and I am nervous already, I have not been in ages and it always seems to hurt more when you are pregnant!

Edited to say hi to Ros as she snuck in while I was posting! That is great that Jack is finally on the mend and his temps are getting back to normal.
themelster
Hi Ros, I am glad Jack is feeling better. It is funny, the things we get excited about. I think back to those dark months of getting up at 4.30am every morning, all through winter, and shudder. 5.30am is exciting for me these days! anything after 6am is a miracle!

I had to laugh at the knee pad suggestion. My girlfriend actually has a pair!!! They do sell them! Knee pads for crawling kiddies!
themelster
Bec - they are the shoes I wanted! Apparently Clarks is out of them. I'll keep hunting. Yes, I remember the waxing hurting when I was preggers. ouchy. I am so so jealous of what a good little sleeper Ethan is! I hope baby number 2 takes after his big bro!!!!
meeskamouska
Hi Girls.
Mel - With playing with other kids at CC. Appartantly children only play alongside other children till they're 3. Then they'll interact together from there. So definitely don't worry. Yay on the sleep in.
Heading outthis arv to go to the Mooloolabah twilight market. Not sure if its worth the trip or not. Anyway a day out. Will get my nails done whilst I'm out.
Shoes - Not sure what I'm going to do there with CR. She's booked in to get her feet & legs checked out by the Dr next week. I can't even get a shoe on her even in the F fitting. Her toes are curled inwards & her legs are a bit bowed with a rolling ankle to throw in!! Yay...not!!
Bec- waxing when pregnant...ouch!! I had trouble even shaving.

Enjoy your day.
themelster
I'm guessing you've had her fitted Nat? No luck? Is she walking yet?
themelster
I know you ladies think that I am a little bit mental with my concerns with Tom's development, and maybe (hopefully) I am. But I just tested his response to his name, and I can literally sit a metre away from him and call his name ten times and he doesn't look. He is still looking at our mouths when we speak too. Something is definately amiss. April can't come around fast enough.
bec8112
Nat - have fun at the markets and have fun getting your nails done! Yeah I think I must be mad going for the waxing! I will see how much it hurts and if it is too bad I will not go again for awhile! I just found with being pregnant last time it was too much effort to try and shave/trim all the time so waxing was easier!

Mel - I really would not worry about the calling Toms name and him not responding all the time, Ethan is the same and from what I saw of Tom the other day he is too bust exploring and playing with toys! Ethan also watches our mouths at times and I think that is how they learn to talk, they watch how your mouth and tongue move I think.

Ethan has not been eating as much at lunch times the last 2 days, I am not sure if it is the weather being too hot or he is just not that hungry. He drinks a whole cup of water and eats 1/2 sandwich but that is all. I am so used to him being a guts and eating everything! He is still eating alot of breaky and dinner with the usual snacks of fruit and rice cakes so I think he is getting enough!
bec8112
Big storm coming our way Brissy girls! I am going to turn computer off so will BBL after waxing ohmy.gif
meeskamouska
Bec - Hope the storm didn't hit too hard. I was still at hte coast when it started & it was pouring down. We needed it though...its been so hot & dry.
Mel - R u concerned with his developement?? hearing??? We don't think your mental...lol. A mumma knows best nearly 100% of the time. I know u had concerns with him being austisic/downs. Do u still think this may the case???? You know boys/men can't do 2 things at once...right????????rofl!!!!! jokes.
Not going to worry with shoes till we've seen the DR.

Big day out here but had a lovely day. (CR just stole my mouse..lol) Not sure what time to put Missy to bed now as she slept in the car all the way home. 2hrs!!
Chat tomorrow.
night.
bec8112
Nat - storm was nothing really, just alot of rain and a few loud noises! Was nice to fill up the pool a little bit. Hope you got CR to bed at a reasonable hour.

My waxing went well and only hurt a little bit! Have to go back on Wed night for the underarms as they were not long enough! Have to try and hide them for the weekend now!
Fabulous
Bec- glad the waxing went okay. I get my eyebrows done regularly and that is the limit of my pain threshold.
Nat- which state are you in?
Mel- Jack doesn't respond to his name either.

Well Jacks temp has gone but he now has the rash. At least it doesn't seem to be affecting him.

Yay the passport photos got accepted at the Post office that is 60 km's from our house. We had to redo a couple of parts of 3 of the applications and as a result get the guarantors to redo their sections. We couldn't get hold of those people so luckily my hairdresser/beautician was happy to oblige.

OOPs I bought 2 fluffy bubs nappies tonight when they had their free postage hour. I'm so hopeless. Tounge1.gif One is paw print minky and the other one has a snake embroidered on the back.
meeskamouska
Ceres - I'm in Qld. Country qld though.
Mands - been making any nappies lately???
Bec - I love to get my arms waxed. Vain I know but it feels soooo good.
themelster

Nat - yes, I worry about autism. He has a few red flags. Isn't really saying much yet. We have an appt with a dev pead in April. When do you have your doc appt for CR? I hope she went down at a decent tome for you after her big sleep!!! Are you guys still contemplating moving to toowoomba?

Ros - are you concerned about Jack not turning to his name? I'm so glad the post office accepted your photo's. Must be a weight off! I think eyebrows are the most painful area to get waxed! I hate having mine done! Yet I will happily eppilady my own legs and underarm! Are you going to grab any sugarshots tomorrow? And did you go on the new CK waitlist?

Mands - how are you going chick? You haven't been in for a bit.

Annika - hope you are well and the boys are being there normal angel selves :-)

storm was a bit of a fizzer here too. One massive crack of thunder though!

Tom slept through until 6am again!!!!

We're going to go and look at some properties in Samford today. Mainly just to get out of the house. But we are thinking of maybe moving out that way, onto a bit of land early next year.
bec8112
Mel - have fun looking at properties, I love Samford. The pub there is great aswell, also a great kids playground near the pub! I think we need to do a trip out there soon now Ethan is walking! Yeah on Tom sleeping in again! It was cooler and darker at our place this morning after the rain last night so it was so nice to lay in bed.

Ros - that is great about the photos being accepted, woo hoo! Well on your way now to go to the US.

Nat - I have never even thought of waxing my arms, I think it would hurt!

Mands - how are you? Busy with the house stuff?

Sharna - how are you going? Hows pregnancy stuff going? not sick anymore I hope!

Ethan has gone out for a few mins to Bunnings with Dave so I get some time off! Then I am taking him out for a few hours as Dave needs to work on the wardrobe he is building. Then we are off to Noosa for the night (again) as my Uncle, Step Aunty and Nana are coming up from Sydney so need to see them.

Alis Volat Propiis
Too much to catch up on. Work has been keeping me busy as usual. That and they painting we have nearly finished!

Bec - pregnancy is going well. I have my booking in appt at the hospy on monday with the midwives. I am doing shared care again with my wonderful GP. I have some days where i am still queasy which is surprising as I will be 16 weeks this week. Tiredness is still lingering also. I have lost 5 kilos which was unplanned and perhaps I am not looking after myself that well. I am taking my multivits though. How are you going? When is your scan? How exciting!! I am glad your waxing went well. I got my bikini done at 38 weeks and it was very painful!!!

Mel - I hope it reassures you but Nadia often doesnt respond to her name either. Whether due to her being so ingrossed in what she is doing or stubborness I am not sure. As for interaction at daycare. I second what Mands said. N plays on her own mostly. She will watch other kids but not go over and join in. I agree that joint play comes later.

Mands - great news about your DH considering swinging for a girl. I joined the gender swayers group briefly but they mostly just chat about regular buddy group stuff so I found it hard to join in.

Ros - glad to hear jack is feeling better.

Hi Dylmah, Annika waves.gif

My parents are up for a BBQ this arvo and the weather has been soooooooooooooo windy and rainy. All the secondary effects that come from the cyclones that are hanging around. Lucky for me I love the rain!

Take care everyone.

Sharna
meeskamouska
Only got a quick minnie..I can hear the munchkins waking now.
Bec - Do u go to Noosa often??? I often go to Coolum & have thought about venturing to Noosa. Never been. Have u been to the markets there??
Mel - My CR isn't one of the quick ones either. Bella was up & at it...chatting, walking...doing everything but CR took longer to walk & doesn't talk...except for ...dat dat..... thats about all she says. Our app for her feet is on tues week. When Paul is home so I don't look like the paranoid mother cause he believes her feet aren't right either.
Hi Sharna - 5kgs... a little bonus thrown in but make sure you take care of yourself. What gender were u swaying towards?????

Better head...hi everyone else.
Easy day here though. I need to update my webbie with new stock. Then with that done I can get a page started over at FB. Made the mistake of starting a group instead of a page for my stuff. I've only got 50 fans...lol... so I think the swap will b easy enough.
Mwa.
Fabulous
Mel-I'm not concerned about Jack because he seems to be reasonably similar to his older siblings at that age and all of them are fine. I got an epilator for Christmas a few years back because I thought it would be a cheap way to get what is really the same result as a wax, however I am such a wuss and can't use it. The anticipation of the pain is too much for me.

What is the Cherubs kiss waiting list? I never heard about it. Not sure about the SS. Last stocking I bought 2 on a whim that I didn't even like much. blush.gif They are yet to arrive.

Sharna- glad to hear that your pregnancy is going well. Wow 16 weeks already, I always find that other peoples pregnancy's seem to go so fast. original.gif

Bec- Enjoy Noosa and your rellies. I've never been to QLD at all, definitely on the to do list. Although it would be cheaper for us to go on a holiday to Asia than for us to go to Qld.

Nat- that's right you are the clever one who makes those cute baby shoes. original.gif i must have a look at them again.

Us- Off to the swimming club this morning for time trials. I imagine that I will have to be a time keeper for the races.
themelster
Hi everyone!

Nat - You really MUST get yourself up to Noosa. Hasting st etc is pretty over-rated but Noosa National Park is one of my favorite places in the world. Tea Tree Bay and Little Cove are such beautiful little beaches for a swim and a play when the weather is right. And the coastal walk through the park is stunning. Makes you realise what a beautiful part of the world we live in. I've not been to the markets up there though. I'm glad you are still doing your shoes - are they going well? I didn't even know you had a facebook page! You need to invite all your friends!!! LOL. Is CR really not saying much more that dat either? That makes me feel a bit better. For some reason I thought she had about 20 words! I spoke to my mum and she said my brother didn't say much until he was 2. I can't help but worry though. I guess it is just my nature, unfortunately!

Bec - how was Noosa? I hope you all had a lovely time. We didn't end up getting out to Samford - to much going on here getting ready for me to go back to work full time tomorrow. eek!!!!! Mum has agreed to look after Tom one day a month (doesn't sound like much - but it's a pretty big deal! Lets just say she isn't really the "maternal" type.....) then he goes into Daycare 2 days a week and Mark and I will work around the other days. It will take some getting used to it but I am sure we will get into a groove.

Ros - you big wuss ;-) LOL. You do get used to it. I don't even feel it anymore. On my legs anyway. My underarms are still a bit ouchy, but I've not got much hair anymore as I've been doing it for so long so it's not so bad. So tell me, do you worry less with each child? I hope so - I'm not sure I could go through all the worry again with a second bubba. I don't know why I worry so much, but it consumes me sometimes. I'm sure it has aged me just as much, if not moreso than the lack of sleep! The CK waitlist is on her facebook page. We aren't meant to talk about it in other forums but I think Angel just means starting threads about it etc. I'm sure I won't get into trouble mentioning it between our mothers group. It's a waitlist for customs. DH has used up all of our download for the month as of last night - so I doubt I'll get anything in the SS stocking tonight as I am on dial up speed. Nice timing DH! oh well, we are meant to be on a budget now so it's probably a good thing.

Sharna - Glad the pregnancy is going well. 16 weeks! I can't remember if you guys are finding out the sex or not? I've probably already asked that!!! Do you have a preference? Are you guys still planning on moving down this way? Or are you going to stay up in Cairns? We've got LOADS of rain down here this morning too. It's nice - it's cooled it down again. I hope you get a little break for your BBQ this afternoon though.

Not much happening here. Just mentally preparing for starting work tomorrow. I'm both nervous and excited at the same time. I feel bad for leaving Tom with Mark to care for. I know he is perfectly capable, but I feel kind of guilty. So I'm doing menu planning and grocery shopping so we know what is for dinners etc each night. Trying to get organised. oh, and trying to find some work clothes I can wear that still fit me!!!!

Chat later.
themelster
Nat - I just went into FB to become a fan of your site - and I already am. I think I am getting dementia!!!!!

Ros - Just noticed that the waitlist is closed and Lesley has also closed the group to new fans until she gets through the list I think.
meeskamouska
Morning Mel & Ros.
Mel - Cr was saying more then just stopped. Freaked me out....!!! I don't worry bout it though. She'll talk. Hard when Bella was just a total blabber mouth...still is!! As soon as she could put two words together she was talking fluintly. I'm glad I have a quieter one. She generally slower with everything all round. Sits in her room on her own playing. So quiet you forget she's there. I looked up austism in toddlers cause you had me intruiged. Does Tom interact with affection?? play?..with blocks toys etc with you. Gives reactions to things, notices stuff..... like the dog walking by. Does he look??? In america stats show something like 1 in 150 kids have it. So must reasonably common. I swear sometimes I think I have aspergus sydrown....& I'm not just joking about that either....lol. Good luck with work tomorrow. I hope you have a lovely day.
With my FB thing. I started a 'group' instead of a 'page'. I didn't know the difference but its easier to keep people updated with a 'page'. Also can do seperate albulms etc. Will work out how to de activate the 'group' & get everyone over to the 'page'....lol. I'm a tool.
Ros - I've got site up....charleebell.com... better not hyperlink...EB gets toey bout that stuff. No shoes up ATM but they'll get listed in the next couple of days. Its hard work keping it updated. Bout to list a heaps of happy pants. They're popular....seem to sell.
So gotta go & do something...still in PJ's...lol.
themelster
Heya nat, yeah, he notices everything going on around him. And he does interact with us with certain things like hidey etc. Just good ol' mama paranoia. I know a few friends who I'd swear have aspergers - they are all the bill gates IT Techie types. A bit socially awkward but they do really well in life. I don't know you super well but you don't really strike me as "socially awkward".

What are your "happy pants"? I'll have to check em out. Do you do stuff for boys too?
Fabulous
Mel- That's okay, I wasn't going to go on the list anyway. Auriels are actually the last nappy I reach for. I think I just got caught up in the hype. rolleyes.gif I want the ss with the tree. wub.gif
Small Potatoes
Sorry I have been MIA. Had gastro, and a million orders and house stuff and Paulies funeral yesterday. I still can't get over it. He was a couple of weeks off being 49, and in reasonable shape.
by
I am on a nappy buying ban, part of TOCs for DH thinking good and hard about no 3.

Natty i want a pair of happypants for me. And I want some shoes for Olly. I have 4 nappies cut but my machines have been put into storage for the time being. I have them near the front though so when we sell and move to the rental I can get them out.
I told DH I would make most of the nappies if we go again.

mel Neither of my boys respond to their name. Will is just too busy doing stuff and I think Olly is too. Hope the developmental paed can put your mind to rest.

waxing I get eyebrowns, half leg bikini and underarms every 6-8 weeks. But last time I squeezed it in before Chrissy and not all my eyebrows had grown back and now they are super fez

Storm we must have got the most of it. We had wind rain fork lightening and plenty of thunder.

Mel you should get acreage down here :biggrin:

Sharna took me a while to learn who is who in the GS group but know most of them now. Alot have swayed and were successful for girls so they have been giving tips as there is about half a dozen of us looking to do so.

AFM DH is worried about work as Q is getting two more A380s and parking 2 more jumbos. I think DH should go to the 380 but he is going to sit it out for a while as he doesn't really want to fly the bus if he doesn't have to. We are getting the carpet on Tuesday and then listing on Wednesday ddance.gif. I have been updating my website (on page 1 of google for personalised photo cards ddance.gif) just hehe. Two friends are due for bubs in the next 4 weeks. That is about it

themelster
Ros, I think I really like the Auriels more for some of Lesley's choice of fabric. She just seems to get some really lovely retro / different designs sometimes - like the mushroom and the trains one I have. I have put my name down for one custom slot on the waitlist (no idea how long the waitlist is!) and I would like to get the skulls one that is on her facebook page at the moment. I've had a look at the SS and so far none really take my fancy, thank goodness. I hope it stays that way. I would only be looking at purchasing some plain ones as I'm not really all that into embroidery. Is it the blue tree one you like? Out of all of them, that is the one I like the best - from reading NA, it would seem it is a favourite! I remember I really liked the one in black from the last stocking. I'll leave that one though.

Mands - I hope you are feeling better chicky and that the funeral didn't mess with you to much. I can imagine it would have been a very emotional funeral. I hope you are ok. bbighug.gif Good luck with the house! It is SO exciting selling a house!!!! Lots of hard work too! I hope you get some good early bites. Unfortunately down your way is a little to far for me to go to my work territory (Brisbane North East) biggrin.gif

Off to check out your happy pants Nat!
bec8112
Hi all! Had a good weekend but so tired now! Wish I had tomorrow off work.

Mel - good luck with work, Tom will be fine without you and he will be so excited when you get home!

Mands - hope your feeling better and hope the funeral was not too hard on you.

Sharna - I am sure you are looking after yourself, I lost about 8kgs with being sick so that is probably the same as what happened with you. My GP thinks its a good thing as I had about 10kgs left from Ethan!

No more time for personals, sorry! Going to go to bed.
meeskamouska
Evening.
Can someone fill me in on the SS lingo????? is SS secret santa??? Lol...I know..I'm so not in the loop of lingo. Hicky chicky here.
Mands - yay on page 1. Curious to see if it improves traffic flow/business fo you. How much did it cost to do the search engine thingy anyway????
So loving the rain. ohmy.gif I know.... but seriously... I hate the heat!!
CR is poking at her ears. Wondering if its molars. Hopefully not another ear infection cause that would make about 6 so far.
Going to bed earlier tonight. Had a rotten sleep last night. So did CR. She slept for 3 1/2 hrs today. Mamoth sleep. It was terrific for me. Got heaps done & even napped for 1/2hr.
Night.
Good luck tomorrow Mel.
themelster
Hey nat, SS is sugarshots nappies - they had a stocking last night. Hope you got a better nights rest than last night!!
bec8112
Morning all!

Mel - hope you are enjoying work!

Nat - Hope your night was better last night and you got some sleep.

AFM - at work today so nothing too exciting. We had dinner out at a Thai restaurant in Noosa on Sat night and Ethan ate so much! He ate heaps of Pad Thai Noodles with chicken and tofu, a few peices on veggies out of the chili stir fry and some veggies out of the prawn dish! I thought his nappy would have been fowl yesterday but it was not that bad, stinky but not too messy.

Getting closer to the scan! Cannot wait! Can you tell I am excited. I have been feeling a bit of movement lately which is nice. Got a GP appointment on Thurs so will be interesting to see if I have put on any weight and also to get a referral for the antenatal clinic! Cannot believe I am almost half way through the pregnancy!

Might BBL if I have time at work!
meeskamouska
Easy day here.
Organising some of CR's old clothes to sell at the markets alongside my stuff. Fills the stall up a bit...lol. Hopefully no rain for Saturday...we'll see. So lots of washing going on. Get out any stains, iron them up...make em look good....too much work for the few dollars but it does all add up at the end of the day. Not much else to do around here anyway. Our town is pretty darn quiet.
Whats everyone else up to??
meeskamouska
Hi Bec- We posted together. Glad your weekend was good. I love Thai food. Think I'd enjoy going to thailand.... not for the food...learnt that one. When I went to India they make indian food..not aussie indian as I now call it. Can't eat Indian food anymore ....lol. Enjoy your day.
Small Potatoes
Nat I sent you a PM about the qn's you asked - just don't want the mods to get too cranky with the business talk.
Fabulous
Morning all,
My 3 big kids all went back to school. Chelsea missed out by 7 days otherwise she would be starting today as well (she turns 4 on July 7).

Nat- what is the difference between the Indian food in India and the Indian food in OZ? My favourite restaurant is an Indian one but DH gets heartburn for about 1 week if we go so we no longer go there. I remember my mum was disappointed in the food when she went to HongKong.

meeskamouska
Thanks Mands. So ridiculous you can't talk business....... everybody works...its a part of life. They just want everyone to advertise with them. As if home industry mums could afford it...total tools.
Ceres - Indian food....laugh. I loved Indian food before I went to India. I don't know...I think I was put off by getting Dehli Belly. It was spicier, their yogurt is hot set on the side of the road, everything was generally just not hygenic....lol. Hubby might just be reactive to the spices in their food. And seriously...you just wouldn't eat meat there. I'd go back to India in a flash though...what a brilliant place. My one & only holiday adventure...lol.....still probably didn't answer the Q...... my idea of India before I went was Masterfoods butter chicken in a jar!!!!!rofl.......
Fabulous
When I went to Uni I stayed at the on-campus accomodation which was 95% overseas students from Asia. Anyway one semester break I went over to Indonesia to stay with an Indonesian friend that I was living with at uni. Everyday we ate food that they were selling on the streets. It was soo yummy and I didn't know any better. I didn't even take out travel insurance. ohmy.gif At 19 I didn't realise there was such a thing. I remember her son thought I was going to get sick because I didn't eat rice or noodle for breakfast.
bec8112
Ros - yeah I love the food in Indonesia! Mmmmm yummy. How did the kids go at school? Is Chelsea in daycare or at home with you?

I remember when DP and I were in Mexico the food was nothing like our mexican in Aust! I love Mexican food and it was so different. Good but just different.

Mel - how did your day go?

Small Potatoes
I did a Mumbai trip one time and all the crew except me and another girl who grew up in Indonesia got Dehli Belly on the flight home. So we blocked off a toilet just for us biggrin.gif
themelster
I lived in Thailand for 2 years and ate street food all the time. Never got sick. Mmmmm thai food....

On the road at the moment, be back later tonight to chat.
meeskamouska
I love my kids soooo much but sometimes i wish for none so I could go overseas for an extended period. I'd lloooooooovvvvvvvveeeee to live in India for a year.....I just sighed just of the thought of it.
Did you like living in Thailand Mel????
themelster
You never get the travel bug out of your system nat. We took 6 months off of work before deciding to have kids and just travelled for 6 months. I could still just up and do it again though. I really miss that freedom. I LOVED living in Thailand. I still think if it as my second home and can't wait to take Tom there.
bec8112
Mel - I totally agree that the travel bug never leaves! What did you do for 2 years in Thailand? Work?

We lived in Whistler Canada for a year and travelled the US in a old camper van for 3 months, I have also lived in London for 6 months. I would love to live in an Asian country though, maybe one day!

Mands - ha ha ha on shutting off a plane loo just for the sickies!

Mel - I totally agree that the travel bug never leaves! What did you do for 2 years in Thailand? Work?

We lived in Whistler Canada for a year and travelled the US in a old camper van for 3 months, I have also lived in London for 6 months. I would love to live in an Asian country though, maybe one day!

Mands - ha ha ha on shutting off a plane loo just for the sickies!
themelster
Bec - Yeah, I worked. It's actually where Mark and I met - we were both woring there. I would really LOVE to visit Canada. Mark and I wanted to do a year there working when we met but he was only a British Citizen then and they can't get work visa's. By the time he became an Australian Citizen, I was to old for a work visa. So we missed out. I have a girlfriend who lives there so we will definately get there one day. I did London for 2 years too - Got stuck working (as you do) and didn't see anywhere near as much of Europe as I would have liked. We also lived in NZ for a year whilst waiting for Mark's Australia Ban to finish.... wwhistle.gif

First day at work went really well. So much to remember though. It is going to take me a while to get back into the swing of things. I think the first month will be the hardest. I swear I've lost brain cells in the last 16 months....
bec8112
Mel - yeah totally agree about the loss of brain cells when you are not at work! Took me a couple of weeks to feel totally confident in the lab when I went back and I only had 7 months off! I have forgotten, are you back working full time? What was Marks Australia Ban? Sounds intriguing!

I hope to one day travel and maybe work somewhere in Europe as I have a British Passport and Dave has an Austrian one so both would be able to work in EU countries ( I think! ). It is a dream but who knows if it would ever happen, maybe a holiday first.

DylMah
Hi, hope eveyone had a good weekend.

Still having computer issues, computer being slow, pages freezing, programs not loading... I keep coming into post, but just get frustrated and turn the damn thing off. The computer doctor is coming on Thursday, so I'll probably wait until then to post again.

Mel - Glad your first day back at work went well. While I was pregnant with Mahalia, my pregnancy yoga teacher said she had read somewhere that it takes 2 years to get over baby brain. Hopefully it doesn't take too long for you to get back into the swing of things.

All this talk of travel has my feet itching. I have family in Canada and the UK, so went there in my teens. I'd love to take the kids travelling around the UK. I also would love to go on holiday to Dubai (we used to have port visits there when I was on deployment in the Persian Gulf). Mum still has a lot of family in South Africa, and I'd love to go there, but at the same time, knowing what Mum and her family lived with (Mum is coloured and grew up with apartheid. Although her Dad was a teacher, and they got treated "better"than most, my uncle was left in a hospital corridor to die after getting beaten up so a white guy could have his heart, but my Grandparents found him and took him home; and my Pa was beaten up by the police for giving another coloured friend a lift in his car), I don't know if I would feel safe going there.

Anyway, I think I'm pushing my luck with my computer, so will leave it there and be back on Thursday (I hope).

themelster
Dylmah - I can't imagine what your patents must have seen and gone through in S. Africa. I don't blame you for not being sure about going. I imagine it would be a bit emotional for you too. It's nice having family all over the world to go visit though. I hope you get your puter sorted soon. Nothing worse. I hope my baby brain doesn't last another 9 months - I'll lose my job by then!! ;-)

Bec - I'd live to live in Europe again. Mark and I were talking about going and living in the UK for a year if we have another baby. He can do a work swap with a firey family over there. And I'd be on maternity leave. And we'd have his family to help (I don't think we could do it on our own again). I would love one day to live in Italy (I'm half Italian) but I'd have to learn the language. Mark got a 3 year ban to Australia for over staying his visa before we met. We had to wait that out before we came back.
bec8112
Very quiet in here! I hope everyone is well and all the kiddies are behaving!

Ethan is on a sleepover tonight so we are not sure if we will go to the movies or stay at home and do some work on the wadrobe or organising the rumpus room.
Small Potatoes
Got new carpet today ddance.gif DH got an LA trip so I am left here with the boys to move the furniture back. Not only that but he is passengering in first class on the brand new airbus. I soooooo want to trade.
bec8112
mands - yeah I think I would want to trade places with your DH aswell. Hope you are able to move all the furniture back on your own. What sort of carpet did you get? We need to replace carpet in the only 2 rooms which have it and not sure what to go with!
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.