The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: January 08 Parents # 205

SimplySweet
Lia, To some maybe, but I guess to attend $25k schools you need be super rich tongue.gif We have them super rich schools here too but they are closer to the city and are for the snobs in town.
$8,000 for us a year is more than plenty.

The other factor to going to public first then private is it's harder to get in and can be a hard change for them, being suddenly in strict uniform with strict rules. Has taken me over 4 years to get J in, so we started Thomas from the start.
Where we live the difference between public and private primary is big too. The support network in privates here is great. If you leave public, there is nothing. They really don't give much of a sh*t. At least with privates here they really try to help them in whichever direction they can. Eg this year B really wanted to get into the welding trade, was contemplating TAFE, he told them that, and instantly they looked how to help him and keep him there and B is doing a Vet course through Tafe 1 day a week whilst still being a full time student. They have made it all work to keep him at school and doing his SACE.
I guess you get the rich kids who get everything and we have plenty of them in the city. But I guess where my boys go, it's still private and still very strict but most parents work hard to send their kids there. Or like us struggle more to send our kids there, so they don't get everything they want, they actually suffer more for it, cause we can't give them so much we want to.
Each family has to assess their kids and the schools they want for their kids. Depends on the child as to whether they are easily led or not. I know if mine attended a local public high school here they would be getting into all sorts of crap and would not do as well as they could be. And it also looks better on their CV when they go for jobs. Sadly that's a reality here.
They have little tolerance for any bad behaviour, J is still being pulled up for his hair, he got another note home as it had some spike to it. But hey that is petty and can bug us, but rules are rules and kids have to learn that sometimes in life you have to adhere to the rules and dress appropriately. You can see the difference in the kids at the publics and privates here

Amanda, COngrats, sounds like the birth went perfectly. I am sure the kids are all still on cloud 9 with the new addition

Lia, To some maybe, but I guess to attend $25k schools you need be super rich tongue.gif We have them super rich schools here too but they are closer to the city and are for the snobs in town.
$8,000 for us a year is more than plenty.

The other factor to going to public first then private is it's harder to get in and can be a hard change for them, being suddenly in strict uniform with strict rules. Has taken me over 4 years to get J in, so we started Thomas from the start.
Where we live the difference between public and private primary is big too. The support network in privates here is great. If you leave public, there is nothing. They really don't give much of a sh*t. At least with privates here they really try to help them in whichever direction they can. Eg this year B really wanted to get into the welding trade, was contemplating TAFE, he told them that, and instantly they looked how to help him and keep him there and B is doing a Vet course through Tafe 1 day a week whilst still being a full time student. They have made it all work to keep him at school and doing his SACE.
I guess you get the rich kids who get everything and we have plenty of them in the city. But I guess where my boys go, it's still private and still very strict but most parents work hard to send their kids there. Or like us struggle more to send our kids there, so they don't get everything they want, they actually suffer more for it, cause we can't give them so much we want to.
Each family has to assess their kids and the schools they want for their kids. Depends on the child as to whether they are easily led or not. I know if mine attended a local public high school here they would be getting into all sorts of crap and would not do as well as they could be. And it also looks better on their CV when they go for jobs. Sadly that's a reality here.
They have little tolerance for any bad behaviour, J is still being pulled up for his hair, he got another note home as it had some spike to it. But hey that is petty and can bug us, but rules are rules and kids have to learn that sometimes in life you have to adhere to the rules and dress appropriately. You can see the difference in the kids at the publics and privates here

Amanda, COngrats, sounds like the birth went perfectly. I am sure the kids are all still on cloud 9 with the new addition
j-o-d-i-e
Congratulations Amanda and family on the nice and easy arrival of Jemima
LaFamilia
Congrats Amanda on your new little addition!!

Graces party went well, was great get together with all our family and friends. I got to cuddle a 4 week old newborn wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif I think that was the highlight for me! lol
Also the cake turned out great! It was only very basic, but none the less I was proud grin.gif

Grace has already broken one of her toys! She likes removing one leg from her dolls aannoyed.gif

xoxoxoxo
chaosprincess
Camilla - hahahaha removing one leg from her dolls, it's funny what kids do sometimes. Glad the party went well original.gif

Kristy - read on fb you got the results back for Ryan, hope you are ok. Is it anything serious?
SimplySweet
Camilla, So glad she enjoyed her party. Awww at a newbie baby. Hehehe at removing one of the legs off her dolls

Mel, No, nothing serious. The results are from the OT appt we had. We did a sensory profile on Ryan as most of his issues are speech and sensory. He has a few other indicators but they aren't too bad.

The Sensory profile is a standardised measure of an individual's responses to sensory events in daily life. The profile assesses the frequency of the child's responses to certain sensory processing, modulation (regulating and organising sensations) and behavioural/emotional events. The results help us identify individual's sensory processing patterns and how these patterns might be contributing to or creating barriers to performance in daily life.

The results of the profile indicate that Ryan is having difficulties with sensory modulation.
Disorders of sensory modulation are considered present when a child experiences difficulty processing sensory information into appropriate behaviours/responses which match the intensity of the sensory information.

It appears that Ryan is not processing vestibular or tactile information efficiently and therefore has an aversion to activities that require movement (particularly when his feet are off the ground - this is sometimes gravitational insecurity) and light touch.

These aversions also result in Ryan seeking out less sensory input than other children eg preferring quiet, solitary play and avoiding active, messy play.

She gave us some activities to try and has him on a waiting list for OT but suggested we seek private OT in the meantime

It's good to know what sensory issue he has so now we can focus on that and work with him. His frustrations are increasing and his temper/tantrums are changing from a typical 2 yr old tantrum to Oh my this isn't good tantrum
chaosprincess
Kristy - It's great to have a formal verification of what you already knew, at least now you can work with him to improve and professionals with take more notice. Mother's instinct is rarely wrong.

Lazy sort of day, Wil napped for over 3 hours! I was craving Chinese (chicken and vegetables and fried rice with mini spring rolls) so I went and got some when he woke up at 2. Came home, scoffed some then had to pick the girls up from school. They are SO amped up after school, they go a little nuts. It's like caged animals becoming free at last laughing2.gif

Yesterday I met up with a friend, we had a couple of drinks, played pool, had dinner, then chilled out listening to a band... ahhh it's a hard life sometimes.

I got sent the info for the community services tafe course I want to do. It's surprisingly affordable, so definitely a goal for hopefully later in the year. I just have to start searching around for a local organisation willing to take on a student original.gif
Abbygirl

Congratulations Amanda on your newest baby girl! Jemima is a beautiful name, it's actually on our names list wub.gif
So jealous of your easy birth, but then after 3 I think the fourth deserves to be a breeze!

Bittersweet news Kristy, now people will take Ryan's needs seriously, it's such a big step towards better understanding and facilitating of his development, but oh you must be upset sad.gif

Sounds like you had a nice day yesterday Mel. Me - I cleaned, then went to bed late after playing on FB ddoh.gif

Nothing much happening here, bubby's asleep now, so some me time!
Grace and I are housebound, it's too hot to go outside 38 degrees today. We're going to bum around and watch bad movies Tounge1.gif
This morning we watched Hocus Pocus, we were going to watch The Labyrinth but our copy has gone missing, as has Romy and Michelle's High School reunion... So now I have to find some other BAD movies laughing2.gif

chaosprincess
Hi waves.gif

This morning we watched Hocus Pocus, we were going to watch The Labyrinth but our copy has gone missing, as has Romy and Michelle's High School reunion..

I love all those movies. Maybe the other ones disappeared at that garage sale you had, could have been sold? The girls absolutely love Drop Dead Fred at the moment. That movie is hilarious.

Didn't get up to much today, feeling a bit unmotivated this week.

The girls are going great guns at school. They have made lots of friends, I think it helps that they stand out being twins! We get to school about 10 minutes before they go in to class, so that it gives them time to play with their friends while I'm there, making a much smoother transition for me to leave when they go in to class tthumbs.gif William loves the school drop off and pick ups too. He waves to all the kids and parents and runs around laughing2.gif So cute.

I gave the girls a haircut, they have bobs now, it looks cute. I mainly did it so I don't have to put their hair up every morning for school laughing2.gif Also it is a better way to help grow out their fringes. Maybe I should become a kids hairdresser laughing2.gif
happinesswith2blue
Firstly Jodie I wasn't saying on FB that your sizing scan you were going to have a small baby cause I did.Personally mine have been wrong both times but that was MINE. I didn't say yours was. As for support. I have said previously I really hope you get to birth the way you want. Nor did I or anyone else say you shouldn't listen to your Ob.. Only you know what to do. I wish it goes smoothly for you tomorrow and for the birth you want.It was nice that your sister was sticking up for you. But i did not mean it to offend you next time I won't post anything.

This morning we watched Hocus Pocus, we were going to watch The Labyrinth but our copy has gone missing, as has Romy and Michelle's High School reunion..

Marika Sounds like you and Grace had a lovely time watching Dvds. I too love Romy and Michelle's High School reunion.

The girls absolutely love Drop Dead Fred at the moment

I love that movie. It was one of my favourites growing up. He is so funny. I remember the jack in the box part laugh.gif
Mel Can't wait to see the girls new haircut. I bet they love it.
Chinese, I haven't had it in ages. Yummo

Congratulations Amanda on the birth of Jemima She is so gorgeous. Well done on the easy birth.

Goodluck for Thursday Bec.Hope all goes well and can't wait to see pics of bubs.

Kristy great news on finding out the name for Ryan's issues. I bet you are so happy to finally knowing. smile1.gif

kat. How is your pregnancy going? 12 wks went fast. Have you seen bubs yet? I love your new carpet looks very nice and I love the colour.

Cohen still isn't walking properly and he is waking up screaming at 2-3am and it's doing my head in. He isn't eating much either. So have made another app for me for the doctors.
I have been organising Aston's 1st Bday party for Sat. I can't believe he is one on Thursday cry1.gif it has gone sooo fast.

Kathryn74
Just a flyby...

Lia: We decided the opposite to you and wanted to invest our money in primary school so they could get a good foundation and a love of learning. We are thinking about Viewbank College for secondary and looking to move into the area in a few years...

Nothing much happening here- just busy!! Kids are settled back into school/kinder/creche/activities. Oh, but we have started some renovations! We are building a decking/al fresco kind of area. Can't wait for it to be finished!!

Anyway, gotta keep going! Talk soon! xoxo
*~*ME*~*
Hi

Not a lot to add, Kristy did you manage to fond in my log in details? havent reeived pm from you yet.
chaosprincess
Morning original.gif

Child free day today. I forgot to pack Wil's toy dugong for daycare though, so I have to drop that down there in a minute. He won't sleep without it laughing2.gif

All my sizing scans were completely wrong also. With the twins I was told the wrong twin was the biggest. J who came out first was supposed to be the larger of the 2 but thankfully H was the bigger one, I'd rather the biggest be second out LOL Though the difference was only 90g anyway LOL Given what you went through with the birth of Kaiden I understand you being worried though. If this baby is a big boy like his brother you don't want complications. I hope the birth goes smoothly Jodie, can't wait to hear what name you picked original.gif

Today I'm just doing a final edit of the helpful hints article I've done for reducing your carbon footprint. I'll email that off and then probably do a bit of washing and cleaning.
SimplySweet
Mel, Exactly that. I know my kids and I know what kids do at certain ages. I know they are all different but basically know when things should start or what is normal behaviour and what isn't.
Yay on the course, sounds great. Hope it all works out
Share piccies of your girls new do's. So great to hear how well they are settling in and making new friends.

Marika, No I am not really, as it could be worse. I am still hoping it's nothing more, he has a few indicators we are watching but atm I am hoping it's just speech and sensory. Of course we want our kids to have no issues at all, but I have friends who's kids have issues that far outweigh mine. One of my really good friends has 2 kids, one has autism and one has Muscular Dystrophy. She is a super woman and super mum. Another friends daughter has a Congenital heart defect and had major heart surgery at just a few months old and will need it again. I have 2 friends with children with Down's syndrome. I have another friend who's son has Aspergers and ADHD. My sister's son and foster kids have microcephaly, ADD and ODD. My nephew and niece have dyslexia. If I kept thinking, more would come up. So when I compare I am lucky. As my kids issues I can help them with, and they are happy, healthy kids. So at times you feel down and the system frustrates you, so you have to seek the help and push. But on a whole I am thankful it's nothing more serious atm.
Wow at them old movies, hehehe. It's bloody hot, had enough now. I have actually kept one home today. They are just so drained. The younger 2 weren't meant to be at cc too, but didn't take them. Much cooler at home. Gives the cc staff less children to keep cool. I do have to go there at 4pm for management meeting though.

Sandra, I hope his leg is ok. Definitely good to get it checked out. Did they x-ray it at all, sorry I can't remember what you wrote before. OMG at Aston nearly one, struth

Kathryn, Looking forward to seeing the rest of the piccies as it gets done. Very exciting.

Bec, Sorry I totally forgot, have pm'd you

Not up to much, hiding inside as I had said. The older boys at at school but I let Thomas and Lis stay home today. We have a change coming in tonight and will be a bit cooler tomorrow, not much though,lol. Just been a hot few days (bloody burning sun) with lots on so kids are knackered. I have management at 4 and need to race B to work first, he will have to go in early as I can't take him otherwise. J's cricket is cancelled due to heat. And shopping tonight before I pick B up.

Brett had the dentist y'day for another fluoride treatment. He is going to be getting a plate made at his next appt in 3 mths. We need his front teeth moved slightly forward as he grinds really badly.

Tomorrow Jayden has his EEG in the city in the morning. And Brett has his first day at his course. Ryan has his next speech in the avo and Lis has her cheer. B has cricket training.

Not much planned this weekend. Dh and I are going to a quiz night Sat night, Brett and his gf are baby sitting, will be nice to have some kid free time
chaosprincess
Article edited and emailed - check
One load of washing done - check but admittedly not hung out yet LOL

I've changed my mind on the course I want to do laughing2.gif Someone online reminded me today about being a library assistant. I had my heart set on that for ages and I'd forgotten about it! Can't believe I forgot!! LMAO. I figure I'll go chat to the librarian at the girls school tomorrow after I drop them off and volunteer my time there. Hopefully I can go in once or twice a week. Then I can start a Cert II in Library and Info services. It will only take 9 months to a year to complete, but I need to be volunteering somewhere at least once a week to complete it. So if I can't get that at the girl's school I'll look elsewhere. I think working in a library would be a much better way for me to ease back in to the workforce. If I like being an assistant I can do further studies to be a librarian. It would be great to work in a school library as the hours would fit in better having school aged children. Community service may still be my long term goal though... who knows.... I change my mind about as often as I change my undies laughing2.gif

Kristy - all those appointments and things to keep track of! Do you have an organiser? My memory is so bad I'd have to write everything down or I'd forget. Though you are probably used to having to remember so much.
j-o-d-i-e
Sandra I wasnt offended by your comments.....i have had ALOT of ppl saying 'dont worry about it, be patient, you will be fine, the bay will come when its ready, oh so your over it' etc, etc i guess it kinda gets frustrating cause ppl just think i am 'over' being pregnant which is not the case. i think cause my sister was there for kaidens birth and seen what went on she feels more attached to the situation hence her reaction. She has only ever had 6 pound babies and 3hrs labours so she doesn’t want to say ‘dont worry about the size’ etc cause she doesn’t know what it was like to push a baby out that big and have those issues…however birthing a baby of any size is no mean feat.

the obs are sending me for all theses scans and then do nothing about it, which is so annoying....at 38 weeks Kaiden was measuring 41 weeks and this baby is measuring the same as kaiden was at that same stage...so in order for history not to repeat itself this baby needs to come earlier be it vaginal birth or c-sect. i just want some answers instead of being sent for all these scans and then told nothing but have another scan and come back at 39and a half weeks and we will talk then...

was meant to have an appointment with a new ob today as a piece of mind and second opinion but she called in sick so now waiting till tomorrow. I want answers and someone to talk to me rather than someone just saying ok yes this baby is measuring big have another scan and come back in 3 weeks...and they expect me not to worry at all, there was no reassurance or any talk of a ‘plan’, it was like she was just trying to get me out the door to see the next person, she didn’t even read my file. My blood pressure was up and she just said 'oh its cause you are just anxious about a big baby' well yeah of course i am, if i knew i was having a nice 6-7 pounder i would be as cool as a cucumber lol but i am expecting at least an 8pounder which if they allow me to go by 39 weeks ,maybe i will get an 8 pounder instead of a near 10pounder

anyway i am rambling now, shouldnt be too long till i have my little man.
SimplySweet
Mel, I have a calendar then on my fridge I have one of these I transfer weekly items to.
http://store.phoenix-trading.com.au/web/co...p;closeup=RBS20

Best thing ever ( I just need more columns,pmsl - Dh and I share one, Brett has one, Jayden has one, Thomas has one and Lis and Ryan share) But each week I write in the weeks events or whatever is on. Then at end of the week rip it off and start a new sheet.
I used to use a diary but I don't anymore

I can see you being a librarian biggrin.gif You would need to be an SSO to get into the school library I would guess
but definitely ask them and see what they say.

Jodie, Everyone has an opinion near the end and even though most people mean no offence or dont' want to hassle you, sometimes it's hard to not feel it's that way hey. I do understand how your feeling as I had a baby with shoulder distocia and was also told my next was going to be big and worried about his birth too. But it all went well for me. And I hope it does for you
Many ob's,etc worry more about the baby's development and brain than the size of the baby. As much as people think a big baby needs to come out early due to it's size, it needs to have fully developed lungs, brain,etc before it's ready to come. So I guess even though they are worried about your delivery, they probably don't feel a need to bring him out too early as he may have other complications if he isn't fully developed iykwim. But at the same time if you have raised bp then they need to keep an eye on you.
I hope this time around it's a lot easier for you. Have faith that it will be hun , our bodies change with each birth. Hey Lis was 9pd 1½ and I didn't even need a stitch,lol, or that the cs goes well if that is the way you go. As long as you are both safe and well, that's all that matters in the end.

chaosprincess
You would need to be an SSO to get into the school library I would guess
but definitely ask them and see what they say.

I went in to the office today and got the forms. You need a blue card to certify you can work with children is you aren't a parent of children attending the school. As a parent I just need to sign a declaration form stating I don't have a criminal history. I'll drop all the stuff off tomorrow after I drop the girls off, see what they have to say. It all goes through the principal to be approved, but they said the library needs help. There's a police station next door to the school, maybe they'll just call up to do a quick check on me LOL

I've been applying for a couple more casual jobs, so hopefully I can make some $$ to fund my studies.

That calender thing is cool, I will definitely need something like that as the kids get older and involved in more activities.
Donna~
Just had a really quick skim read. I haven't forgotten you guys wub.gif.

Amanda- congrats on the birth of your little girl, sounds like it all went well. original.gif

So many babies! Is it bad that my little heart skps a beat at the thought of a new newborn? Ben is just too big, he is no longer my little newborn anymore sad.gif.

Toby is having his first night in his cot with the rail missing, we need to get Ben in that cot asap as he is hitting his head on the side of the cradle.

I'll try and pop in asap to do full personals and have a proper read.

Thinking of you all (FB is being stupid so I have really only been getting Kristy's updates for the last day or so lol!)! wub.gif
chaosprincess
Bec and craig would like to announce the arrival of elias robert. Born today at 848am.. Weighing 5lb14oz.

Just copied and pasted from facebook original.gif

Congrats Bec and family!!!

waves.gif Donna

I ran out of petrol this morning driving the kids to daycare/school LOL So I had to walk the rest of the way which wasn't far luckily. But then I went back and the car started so I hoped it would make it to the servo a block away. I got to about 15m from the bowser laughing2.gif So embarrassing! Lucky I looked around and found a container in the boot to fill up and pour in. Far out LOL

I have a possible job prospect in the works tthumbs.gif The enviro organisation I volunteer for is applying for funding to catalogue their library resources. If they get approved I could be employed to do that for them original.gif Then I would start the Library & Information Technology tafe course..... fingers crossed it pans out, that would be a fantastic opportunity.
j-o-d-i-e
Congratulations Bec on the arrival of Elias

well i am a much happier chicken today biggrin.gif
appointment went well, the ob was great and understanding and agreed that my concerns were not ridiculous lol i have been booked in for Tuesday night to get gels (start of induction) put in so by the should have my little man by Wednesday yahooo
the ob did and internal to see how i doing and i am already 2cm's dilated the cervix is soft and i think she said it was 2cm long?? (what ever that meant lol) baby has engaged which is great...so she said she wont take me past 39 weeks (next tues) but she thinks i may go myself which is great, she also done a stretch and sweep i am very happy now, had a few period type pains going on last night so my body is slowly getting the job done.

Mel that is great about the course and possible work exp

Donna hope all goes well with Toby tonight with the side of the cot off.

Kristy thanks for your comments biggrin.gif

Sandra hope Aston had a good first birthday

Ok better get dinner finished before it burns!

Lia
Congratulations to Bec on the safe arrival of Elias

Jodie - that sounds fantastic - sending Labour vibes!

Mel - that sounds ideal.... good luck with it!

Archie is obsessed with this song at the moment, he loves it and sings most of the words..... I need to capure him on camera he's a cack!

http://www.justineclarke.com.au/music/2/track/10
chaosprincess
Thanks Lia biggrin.gif

Thankfully my kids have steered away from Justine Clarke.... though admittedly I loved her in Tangle.. go the Australian drama series tthumbs.gif
SimplySweet

Congratulations Bec and family on the safe arrival of your new little man Elias Robert

Looking forward to seeing piccies of your new little guy

Aston

Hope he had a wonderful day today Sandra

Happy Birthday Taylah

for the other day
Hope she had a wonderful birthday Maddy

And

Carolyn

for tomorrow. Have a wonderful day

Mel, Is that all, wow. Easy to get jobs there then, hehehe. Hope they give you some work. Sounds great
Just read your next post. Hope this job works out, sounds great. Oh no at running out of fuel, that sucks. I can't let mine run out as it's on gas and you can't put gas in a container so would need to tow it,lol

Donna,
Hope Toby is going well with the cot side gone.

Jodie, Great news. Hope the s&s helps the thinning and things happen very very soon. If not by next week when you go in, soooooooo exciting.

Lia, Do share, sounds very cute

11.11pm need to get dishes done and kids uniforms laid out.
Been a crazy night so not got there yet.
J's EEG went well today, get results soon. Ryan's speech appt was good. He took ages today to warm to her but did in the end and we got 2 part words. Not really words but sounds similiar to what we have been trying to make him do. Any progress is something.
Scored a weber tonight. Someone put it outside so we picked it up. Has everything in it, just has a loose handle and 2 of the grates are a tad rusty but with a good spray and scrub will be great. Can't pass up a big weber can you, was lucky timing B had called me to get him from cricket tonight.

Not much planned tomorrow. Day at home apart from school run. The temps have dropped so it's nice again now. Weekend not much planned. B and his gf are babysitting Sat night and Dh and I are going out to a quiz night. OMG some childfree time, will be nice
*Mumma-to-A*
Congratulations Bec on the safe arrival of Elias!

Just putting it out there that someone has to have a baby next year on the 11th Feb so I can have 3 for 3 babies on my birthday. Happy 1st Birthday Aston!

Jodie - Good luck for next tuesday. I'll watch facebook for your news.

I went out for lunch today with my mum and sister (& the kids of course) and then hubby took me out for dinner too. He is getting me a playstation 3 with play tv. I have been wanting a tv recorder for ages.

Lia
Happy Birthday
Aston
Taylah
Carolyn
Sonia

Have put a video of Archie on FB
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.